Like the moth which is attracted to light so too BU’s recent predilection with Commissioner Darwin Dottin’s stewardship of the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF). Are we worried that Dottin and his deputy Bertie Hinds are not singing from the same song sheet? Hell yes! A disunited RBPF against a criminal element which has organized itself using ‘best in class’ strategies, tactics and weapons cannot hope to efficiently deliver on its mandate to protect and serve.

At a recent press conference Dottin basked in the moment created by the capture of two suspects who have subsequently been charged in connection with the Campus Trendz matter. BU is on record applauding the good work of the force which responded hastily to the public outrage by registering a quick capture. Regrettably the traditional press allowed itself to be overwhelmed by the moment and did not place our top cop under any pressure if we are to judge by questions asked.

What progress has the Cold Case Squad made in the last two years?

What grade has the top cop given Operation Road Order Maintenance?

What strategy is the RBPF implementing to stop the exodus of policemen to more high paying jobs abroad?

Last week the price of gold closed at near record  $1,292.55 an ounce.  This nugget of information resonated because the word ‘underground’ is that there has been a rash of burglaries where the MO is to steal gold. Barbadians would have observed the many newspaper advertisements with cash for gold offerings in recent weeks/months.  A recent high profile crime it is alleged involved cash for gold. While the Commissioner of Police seeks to reassure Barbadians that we are not as badly off as out neighbours, BU has taken little solace from his utterance. What we know from the ‘underground’ is that we have a trendline which is headed in the wrong direction.

In addition to the cash for gold crimes, we have the worrying reports that a recent rise in crime in the Caribbean has been linked to deportees from the USA. It seems at no time has the Commissioner of Police confided in Bajans the extent to which deportees are playing a part in organized crime in Barbados. Yes we accept that national security requires certain confidentialities to be maintained however the police cannot* fight crime successfully without the participation of Barbadians. BU continues to marvel how Barbados unlike other countries in the world has never*convicted a corrupt politician. How is this relevant you ask? Think about it!

Say what you like BU has not forgotten the incident which occurred recently when Deputy Commissioner Bertie Hinds flipped a decision made by Commissioner Dottin as soon as he was at the airport. Those who have observed the two at close quarters and other members of the police hierarchy have informed BU that the body language indicates there is clear tension within the top brass of the RBPF. A true leader will always be challenged to lead and therefore the expectation from Barbadians is that Dottin must find an answer to deflate what tensions currently exist or resign.

31 responses to “Do We Have A United Police Force?”

1. A true leader will always be challenged to lead and therefore the expectation from Barbadians is that Dottin must find an answer to deflate what tensions currently exist or resign.
    ————————————-
    RESIGN
    not now ever since

2. Did we hear the news correctly that there is ongoing discussion to have a one regional police force?

3. On the news today, we hear that the security heads of OEC countries are meeting to discuss the feasibility of a single police force.

4. so suppose de Commish wants to kisss n mek up but Bertie will have none of it, or vice-versa. wah gun happen? stupseeeee. as far as i concern, dem could speak or doan speak, just as long as dem know when/how to put their differences aside when it comes to the job, it’s just fine wid me. some people ya just cannn ‘gree wid man. bad attitude, miserable, picky, petty etc. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeee

5. Bosun
    and de Headquarters gun be in B/town? LOLL, not being insular.

6. @Bonny

You know that a good relationship by the top brass of any management group is key. In the case of the RBPF even moreso.

7. @Bonny, we aint’ part of the OEC States, then again,T&T is not part of the CCJ.

8. David
    That is why I said that as long as they know how to separate business from pleasure, all’s well that ends well. Good work ethics? Yes. Good relationship? Not necessary. Is it a social gathering? As long as the two heads know how to come together and work for what’s best for us, they could hate each other’s guts when they finish. Matters me none. And David, if both are strong-headed, we will get nowhere trying to pacify this spat betwix dese two. (de Commish real cute doe n tall n slim n shoulders broaddddddddd) lawdddddddddddddddd, lookaaaa downnnnnnn pun meh.

9. Eff yuh really study dese tings’ …Stupse …I tell yuh …

10. Bosun
    Soooooooooooooooooooooo?????????????????

11. @ David | September 27, 2010 at 2:56 PM |
    “Did we hear the news correctly that there is ongoing discussion to have a one regional police force?”

We’ve heard from time to time “all things are possible,” but is this practicable? Can you envision how this could work?

12. Man from East not allowed to speak free on “active” member of public office. But man from East feel same way about present commissioner as with previous commissioner as with commissioner before previous commissioner…. I believe commissioner before previous commissioner should resign and never show face or sissy voice in public again…no?

13. Perhaps a Regional Police Force will boost recruitment for all the countries concern,who are now facing acute shortages of manpower. Many adventurous young men,and possibly women, would opt to serve in a”foreign” country more so that at home. In some other fields we cannot get our people to work,but these same people push to the head of the queue to cut cane in Florida and pick fruits in Canada.

14. The point was raised by an earlier commenter, (independent maybe) the decision which has become fashionable in the region to hire police commissioners from outside the region. Has the time come for Barbados to consider hiring a non Bajan police commissioner?

15. This effort is going to take lots of consideration from all parties. Equal wages across the board for each rank?

Having an exchange of man power among the countries may well be worth it; it might help to cut down on the corruption and bad press.

16. Maybe time come to hire Contractor General from away ..no?
    Maybe time come to hire Jurist from away …no?
    Maybe time come to hire Water Authority chief from away ..no
    Maybe time come to hire Town Planning head from away ..no?
    Maybe time come to hire Fire Chief from away no ..?
    Maybe time come to hire FTC Chair from away … no?
    Maybe time come to hire Public doctors from away ..no?
    Maybe time come to hire talk show moderators from away ..no?

17. Intelligent agent just inform that
    CBC Chief from away … no change no?
    Director of Public Prosecution from away … no change no?
    QEH Head from away … no change no?
    Maxine and Richard always away … NO CHANGE NO?

18. 60% of world crime is committed by Latin America and Caribbean which represent 10% of world population. Hope BU got that stat right. It was delivered by an official at a OAS sponsored conference in Barbados.

Further the homicide rate is twice the world average. Yet we want to play the ass with our police force. Crime stands to destabilize our societies man. Look at Guyana, T&T and Jamaica.

19. Robert Deschappé Avatar

Reports in the media recently suggested that there is some conflict between COP Dottin and DCOP Hinds. However, if we analyse the crime situation in Barbados, it is evident that this conflict has no fundamental impact on the operations of the police force. Also, bear in mind that both COP Dottin and DCOP Hinds (who is near 65 years) will be retiring soon.

Despite the statistics that indicate an overall low crime rate in Barbados, this is not immune to perpetration of various crimes that are being reported in other jurisdictions. Historically, the Barbadian society is often more reactive than proactive. I think that we should be proactive as it relates to an overall improvement in the quality of persons being recruited for the police force, as well as to implement policies to further develop those already in the service with the necessary skills and expertise, which would improve the quality of service provided by policemen. By this I mean that the force would be equipped with the appropriate expertise to deal with certain crimes that may confront us, instead of relying on help from overseas.

For example, instead of pursuing the traditional law degree, officers with the necessary prerequisites could, with the help of the government/police force, pursue other undergraduate or postgraduate degree programmes such as the BSc (Hons) Forensic Science, and Forensic Investigation provides a unique opportunity to acquire a high level of scientific expertise with varies and advanced analytical, problem solving and transferable skills, as well as a focus on policing and investigation of crime scenes and the subsequent evidence analysis. BSc (Hons) Database Administration and Management to ensure that the force makes best use of its data resources (i.e. crime and intelligence data bases). The unit of the force that deals specifically with fraud could benefit from officers qualified in Computer Forensics, Fraud Investigations and Forensic Accounting, or Economic Forensics. Detectives would benefit significantly from degrees such as Forensic Psychology and Criminal Investigation, Policing and Criminal Investigation, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Terrorism and Security, Criminal Psychology, Social Work, and Sociology. Through a process of continuing training, police officers would develop better report writing, presentation, and interpersonal skills.

Then the government must make the salaries commensurate with the qualifications

20. Robert Deschappe
    You have made some very, very sound comments. The best I’ve seen in a while. You said a mouthful but was very deserving.
    But wait, ya mean dat my son is entitled to a ‘raise’ all like now? Lemma kno now dat I could wuk pun um. LOLLLL.
    Again, Robert, very enlightening.
    Kudos ol chap.

21. Robert
    But wait de Commish is a young fella man but DCOP Hinds is the only one of the two who is near to retirement. DC Hinds was in the Force before Noah start to build de Ark. LOLLLLL

22. Yes Robert’s suggestions are sound but the problem we see is the lack of facilities to accommodate the skills. Who will train in those sciences not to be able to practice? The RBPF is very badly equipped.

23. All the lotta long talk about training does not change the fact that Barbados policemen are grossly underpaid and have always been underpaid.
    When that issue is addressed then you can put training programs in place and you will attract the kind of young men who see Policing as a good career opportunity.

24. Hants | September 28, 2010 at 9:06 PM |

You said: ”All the lotta long talk about training does not change the fact that Barbados policemen are grossly underpaid and have always been underpaid.
    When that issue is addressed then you can put training programs in place and you will attract the kind of young men who see Policing as a good career opportunity.”
    Sir, if it were possible that I could reach out and shake your hand for the comment you made above, that I would most sincerely do.
    We had a mentally challenged poster (someone named C.C.C.) here on another thread some time ago who was most vehement that there was nothing underpaid about our police personnel. If that was so it would leave one to query why then was the RBPF not attracting a more “qualified” recruit. Why would any sane, sensible, educated young person want to work under such stressful conditions for “peanuts” as a salary? They could go sell coconuts and make a better income! So once again thanks for your timely,welcome comment.
    I wonder if David/BU would remember that thread and bring it back forward from the archives. I think it was entitled, “Men in Blue real blue (vex)” or something like that. You remember that one, Hants?

25. Here is the blog mentioned – The Men In Blue Seeing Blue!

26. @ David
    Thanks David. Yes, that’s the one to which I was referring. Yuh real quick on de draw, man! 🙂

27. Robert Deschappé Avatar

@ Hants and De Hood

All civil servants in this island are underpaid.

We can use this forum to put forward suggestion on how the Barbados Police service can be improved.

Over the years, many police officers have resigned from the service and have used their training and skills to become Chief of Security (hotels, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill; security firms, National Conservation Commission, Barbados Port Authority, to name a few); work as security guards, or in the insurance field, while others have combined their training and law degrees to become lawyers. Some have joined the police service in islands such as Bermuda, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos and the British Virgins Islands, where the pay is exceptionally good.

As it relates to Barbadian joining the police services of our neighbouring Caribbean islands, we must ask ourselves an important question, and that is: If the remuneration and conditions of work are so good, then why do the citizens of these countries not join the service, so that the authorities would not have to solicit recruits from the region?

Another thing I would like to know is if the Barbados police service is still using the traditional guidelines of the Judges Rules (which was developed in 1912 by the then Home Secretary in England), as guidance for police officers. Five rules were added in 1918, and these rules were further developed in 1934, and reissued in 1964. However, the British replaced these rules in 1986 by the Police and Criminal Evidence Act 1984.
    The Rules:
    • allowed the police to question any person with a view to finding out whether, or by whom, an offence had been committed
    • required the police to give a caution when they had reasonable grounds to suspect that a person had committed an offence
    • required a further caution when a person was charged and prohibited questioning afterwards charging save in exceptional circumstances
    • required a record of questioning to be kept
    • gave guidance on the best way to record a formal written statement

The police services of some countries have implemented a police code of practice, such as the Code of Practice for Custody, Rights, Investigation, Management and Evidence (CRIME). This new code gives guidelines on matters such as the powers of arrest; the cautioning of suspects in a manner in which they can understand, especially those who are of impaired intellectual functioning; the rights of the suspect; the role of the custody manager; the detail recording of the condition of the suspect prior to his/her entry into the custody system; and the electronic recording (video/tape) of statements from suspects.

28. @ Robert D
    Why is it that over the years that the Police Association (Union) have not had the “testicular fortitude” (in Bajan parlance, de ballz) to put a proper case for the rank and file of the RPBF re emuneration and conditions? Have anyone had a good look at the conditions of the station compounds lately. Well quite a few of them are literally being held together just by the termite trails! These men and women are supposed to be PROFESSIONALS, just like any lawyer or doctor or accountant. However it appears that they are being looked at as 2nd class citizens.
    Why is it that over the years each subsequent government of the day has chosen to ignore the importance and plight of these men and women who put their lives and safety on the line every day?
    Perhaps, by properly compensating the police then there would be less funds left to go jolly riding (flying) around the globe on !st Class tickets with 5-star hotel accommodation for the slightest excuse!!
    I don’t know if this is the best place to mention it but I would like to know if someone from some government office could enlighten me as to what are the rules in place for that “intersection” by the Polytechnic where that left hand lane diverts and then meets with traffic coming from the same Polytechnic round-about ( traffic circle) to go lefy into Parkinson Field. I was of the impression that traffic using that left diversion were supposed to yield to traffic to the right that is flowing from that round-about. The reason I ask is that this morning when I left the round-about to proceed left into Parkinson Field this vehicle came straight through on the left (I was on his right coming out of the round-about) almost colliding with me as I was negotiating to go left into Parkinson Field, needless to add the cuss out and horn blaring that was directed at me. I have observed previous “near collisions” at this same intersection with traffic refusing to even slow down much less YIELD when coming from this direction! So like I said could someone please help, I mean officially.

29. DCOP Bertie Hinds has to go he has outlasted his time.
    By his body language he wants to go.

30. Pixma
    so wah stoppin he? he is look so all de time. LOLLLLLLL