Prime Minister David Thompson

There has been a clamour by some if not many that Prime Minister David Thompson should have been obligated by law to reveal the nature of his illness a long time ago. Unfortunately the Prime Minister had to return to New York this weekend to undergo an emergency procedure. Our prayers are with him and his family at this time.  It seems that the recent medical complication has driven the Prime Minister to go public with details about the state of his health. In a telephone radio linkup this week from New York Prime Minister Thompson advised he has authorized Dr. Ishmael (his personal physician) to provide Barbadians with details about his condition.

Commonsense suggests that any individual who assumes the office of Prime Minister must expect to share personal information with the public when the situation demands it. There is a point when the need for a public official like the Prime Minister to divulge personal information intersects with what is required in the national interest. The question therefore is – should the Prime Minister when he was first diagnosed with his sickness been legally obligated to disclose publicly the nature of his illness?

Although BU is sympathetic regarding the Prime Minister’s condition it seems obvious that the Prime Minister should have communicated with the nation a long time ago. He has agreed to do so next week.

Barbadians should rightly believe that the members of parliament they voted to form the government are always positioned to make the best decisions in the national interest. It has become painfully obvious in the absence of Thompson that Barbadians have become fearful in the prevailing economic conditions. Much of the fear is motivated by a public perception that the government minus Prime Minister David Thompson appears to be clueless.  Despite the foregoing BU remains ambivalent whether the requirement to disclose personal information should be left to the judgement of the person holding office or be legislated. If we want to do it properly we should legislate the requirement to disclose both medical and financial information. Both have the potential to compromise our governance pillars.

Barbadians always deserved to know what ails our Prime Minister. It is a matter of national interest.

135 responses to “The Public’s Right To Know”

1. @J, yes I know …I was being tongue-in-cheek.

@Independent, I will not get any further into logic discussion. On your second point@ 11:38pm agreed. But, as proven by the Cico bailout, some things are happening and instead of us knwoing what they are, people are so busy chasing on the PM’s illness, that they are missing the actions.

This is why I said that perceptions are important. Firstly, as you say, it looks like nothing is happening, this is not conducive to stability. Secondly, now something is, it ‘looks’ like it was hastened while Thompson was here, for what reason, then to leave three days later (after complications) ?

Could Stuart not have explained that this action was coming and the reasons thereto. After all, the Government has represented that the country is in good and effective hands. But, as you have commented, it looks like nothing is happening.

THIS is what I said to focus on events, not the PM’s illness.

This was not done in a kosher manner. Interesting too, that Thompson spoke to David Ellis before the news of this Cabinet approval came about.

So, David Ellis et al may call Stuart and ask him? As temporary leader, he must have all the answers.

I see, as expected Arhur has latched onto this, not without cause.

We have an additional bDS$314 Million debt, but noone has yet explained it.

A few questions.

Is this merely to assist investors, or to assist in selling Clico as an entity?

Is there a potential company on Board for Clico’s purchase?

Can we hear more details on the bailout?

2. The hands are the hands of Esau but the voice is the voice of Jacob. Can Peter of D Peoples Business put the spin to this saga for the rest of the people please? It looks like the cat bite the tongue of the cabinet.

3. Firstly I hope the PM’s medical emergency is not as bad as we think.

In terms of revealing his illness. I don’t think it will make much difference. We’re all ‘Doctors’ ‘over here, so even if we were told it was cancer we would still be debating the symptoms etc.

In my opinion all we really need to know is whether or not the PM is or will be fit enough to do his job and the timescales involved. Decisions can then be made.

I think it is actually very sad that Mr Thompson for so many years longed to be PM. He finally succeeds only to succumb to some type of serious illness to hinder him from doing his job.

Right now in my opinion the PM needs to concentrate on himself, his health and his family and that is it.

I think he only came back because the BLP had the DLP under a lot of pressure. So it was a case of coming back to stamp his authority.

If unfortunately he is unable to continue in his role then the DLP and Barbados have a real problem.

Although premature in my humble opinion there is no obvious eligible choice for a successor. It’s a shame in a way Maxine McClean, I assume, would not be eligible. She speaks clearly and with confidence and gives the impression she knows what she is talking about. She comes over as a no nonsense person but would obviously need a lot of support.

Regardless we have to take one step at a time.

4. @Pearl

Some of us have already stated we don’t care about the details of Thompson’s illness, the challenge however is how can one determine fitness for job unless we know what the ailment is all about? The other points you make about Thompson waiting so long etc is irrelevant to the issue.

5. @David
    Is it for us the public to determine his fitness for the job or his Doctors, himself and God?

Re my comment about Mr Thompson wanting the position of PM, is just my own expression of how sad the whole situation is. To want something for so long and when you finally get it to face such difficulties. The whole thing is just sad.

But yet I do agree the country still has to go on, issues have to be faced and resolved as per usual. Once we are advised whether the PM can go on is his role or not, then the necessary decisions, course or actions can be taken.

6. @Pearl and David,

The public did not elect David Thompson to be the PM. The voters in St.John elected him as their MP.

He was chosen to be PM by the elected members of the DLP.

This is why Mia better watch her back in 2017.

7. @David, Off topic but we could discuss this issue. It has implications for some of us.
    “Barbados can no longer afford to have approved residential lots of land remaining vacant indefinitely, says Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins – considering the heavy demand for residential land.
    link to story in The Nation.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/town-planning-eyeing-unused-lots/

8. Hants give Dem long 2017?

9. @Hants

Why you don’t craft a couple of paragraphs giving your perspective? You could submit via confidential at top of page.

10. @David.
    Here is my perspective. I suspect the CTP made that comment without consulting a Lawyer.
    What legal framework is in place to allow Government to compulsorily acquire developed lots for Housing?
    Rich people develop their lots in quick time because they have lots of cash.
    Poor and middle class Bajans have to save or pay a mortgage to acquire land. This can sometimes take 20 years.
    Overseas Bajans sometimes buy land and then save until a few years before retirement to have cash to build their “retirement home”.
    It is Sunday but I have to go do some work so that I will have enough money not to worry about what the CTP or GOB may or may not do.

Prehaps a better solution would be to acquire a golf course,a plantation in St.Lucy or build an Island west of Paradise beach.

11. A Prayer for Gregory.
    Rasta Business.

12. @BT

Should never pull a lion’s tail eh?

You just solved Hants problem because the boy who went to Kolij don’t seem to have writing skill!

lol

13. @ Bush Tea,
    Let me be pellucid muh boh. Hants does not own or control any property in Barbados that is not either rented or in good condition.

Hants knows enough about T&CP and the MOH to follow the regulations.
    Hants also is a firm believer that mosquitoes,rats and other vermin do not discriminate so I would not want to enhance their lifestyle.
    Just remembered that my two (now deceased) godfathers were Public Health inspectors and I remember the reasons why pans and washtubs had to be turned down. get my drift?

14. @David,
    Yuh write. I ent got nuh rightin skill. I ent nuh brainiac like GP.

15. Hold guys, transferring to a separate post!

16. look what Barbados c0ome to doh nuh ?
    cheese on bread
    ah cant believe um
    never before have I seen a Government like this in Buhbadus ?
    cheese on bread !

17. rasworldorder
    GREGORY ISAACS – Sad mood tonight

18. @ Anonymous | September 11, 2010 at 8:10 PM |
    WAIT!! Didn’t notice it, but the BUFFOON heard his name and instinctively came to BU’s Board, where he now sits proudly at the “HELLUM” of this very page!!
    ============

Seriously. You should go to the head of the class for that brilliant pun cum deliberate malapropism! A lot of so called leaders in Bim are truly at the HELL-UM in trute! VERY GOOD STROKE SIR!

I LIKE UM

19. @ Pearl | September 12, 2010 at 11:50 AM |
    Is it for us the public to determine his fitness for the job or his Doctors, himself and God?
    No Its for GOD , his doctors and himself LOL

Re your comment about Mr Thompson wanting the position of PM, for so long and when you finally get it to face such difficulties. The whole thing is just sad

Yeah. It sad fuh trute. It must have been sad way back in 87 for Leroy McClean who used to go around the constituency with Dipper when sweet Davie had not yet got into long pants, when he was sent to Miami with the Skipper’s body, only to return to see sweet Davie boy entrenched in the trenches. Oh and it must have been sad way back in 87 for the doctor in Four Cross Roads when sweet Davie boy and Co steam rolled in to his office and commandeered it and his phones for the by election campaign. Oh and it must have been sad way back in 87 for the doctor in Four Cross Roads when sweet Davie boy and Co set up the sign on his office building DLP HEADQUARTERS and the patients stopped coming there, and the constituents swarmed his office on Saturday mornings.

Pearl I wonder ma dear what Leroy and the doctor thinking today I wonder ma dear. I would love to talk to them now and hear what they think, and what they have to say…..but I aint see them for donkey years

20. GP

You forget Clyde Mascoll, that Thompson used to protect his political future then threw him over when he was ready. Did not help him, did not assist the young struggling Parliamentarians, it has been said even undermined Mascoll in the 2003 campaign to ensure he did not win the gov’t.

GP you should remind McClean, doctor, and mascoll about the scriptures these persons should remember. Fret not thyself about evildoers; Man proposes but God establishes his steps; God will have mercy on whom he will have mercy. Finally and not least of all, all things work together for good to them that love God and are the called according to His purpose.

21. Democratic Labour Part-he
    is a Part-he
    in DECLINE
    This does not feel like a Government in its first two/three years but a Government in the last two/three years of three terms.

Having said that, this DOOMED DLP government has not even reach 50% of the performance potential of the BLP.

22. I second that Kissmya

23. It is now Wednesday and no word from Dr. Ismael. Why does officialdom take the public for granted?

24. David.
    I am a bit confused regarding the statement by the PM pertaining to the disclosure of his illness by Dr. Ishmael. He said that the doctor will inform the public and he will speak after. Based on that statement it looks like the PM might not make it, thus he don’t have to face the public regarding to his health. Remember his illness is a 7-month illness and his prognosis started in March. Did you listen to his drowning voice. Think about it.
    GP. You tink I lie.

25. Dear David:

Any word from Dr. Ishmael yet? Dr. Ishmael is a decent fellow so I find it surprising that he hasn’t spoken yet. Remember neither the PM nor Dr. Ishmael has to come to Barbados to speak to us. They can speak to us via digital video conference so that we can all see and hear each other. I am sure that the hospital has DVC equipment.

The PM has been on sick leave now since May 18th I think and even though he is entitled to sick leave like anyother Bajan I can’t imagine what the doctors will learn about his illness in th next 3 days that they haven’t learnt in the past 4 months.

David since you are in close contact with the PM’s principal political adviser can you please ask Hartley when Bajans can expect to hear from Dr. Ishmael and/or the PM?

26. Bajan Truth

I agree with you 100%

27. J | September 15, 2010 at 8:58 PM |

J, Read between the lines, the answer is there for all to see, hiding in plainsight, yuh want the poor man to spell it out?

Cuh dear, man.

28. Yes.

Got to spell it out for some ‘o we, cause ‘o we di’n go to Harsun

29. J
    It seems that the prognosis has become more “guarded”.
    It seems that they are in a position where things are not going as well as hoped. Consequently, the wise decision has been put off to delay any announcements except for the very close family members etc who must know.

30. But GP how you know this? I didn’t know that an announcemnet had been made? Have I missed a newscast?

31. @ J let me spell it out fuh yuh. Most Bajans only want to hear what is wrong with the PM so they can gossip about it.

This is what Bajans do at all levels of society.Talk bare shite bout other people.

It is already obvious that his illness is debilitating and life threatening. Does it really matter whether it is Heart problem,Lung problem,Cancer or hadenoughuhigruntbajans problem?

The Barbados government is functioning without the PM.
    All a wunna gine get up tomorrah an guh to work an waste half de day talkin shite bout wha wunna read pon de Net.

Then tomorrah nite wunna gine cum back hey writin more ite and de guvment will still be functionin.

@J,
    I went to Harsun but David sey I can’t write too good an he does have to get Bush Tea to write proppa an articlelate my prognostications so you might not be able to read between my lines.

Hants extends continued best wishes fuh de PM.

32. @GP I know dat you already done diagnose, figure out de treatment and can predict de result.
    Nuff respect fuh not being tempted to satiate de gossip mongrels.

33. Cheeze on bread Hants, not ya got me lost entirely.

34. @ J
    But GP how you know this? I didn’t know that an announcemnet had been made? Have I missed a newscast?

This is the sort of things doctas does do! LOL

35. Man you 2 Harsun fells got me lost entirely. I going to get some sleep and maybe tomorrow, my studiation powers will be better or maybe not.