Prime Minister David Thompson

There has been a clamour by some if not many that Prime Minister David Thompson should have been obligated by law to reveal the nature of his illness a long time ago. Unfortunately the Prime Minister had to return to New York this weekend to undergo an emergency procedure. Our prayers are with him and his family at this time.  It seems that the recent medical complication has driven the Prime Minister to go public with details about the state of his health. In a telephone radio linkup this week from New York Prime Minister Thompson advised he has authorized Dr. Ishmael (his personal physician) to provide Barbadians with details about his condition.

Commonsense suggests that any individual who assumes the office of Prime Minister must expect to share personal information with the public when the situation demands it. There is a point when the need for a public official like the Prime Minister to divulge personal information intersects with what is required in the national interest. The question therefore is – should the Prime Minister when he was first diagnosed with his sickness been legally obligated to disclose publicly the nature of his illness?

Although BU is sympathetic regarding the Prime Minister’s condition it seems obvious that the Prime Minister should have communicated with the nation a long time ago. He has agreed to do so next week.

Barbadians should rightly believe that the members of parliament they voted to form the government are always positioned to make the best decisions in the national interest. It has become painfully obvious in the absence of Thompson that Barbadians have become fearful in the prevailing economic conditions. Much of the fear is motivated by a public perception that the government minus Prime Minister David Thompson appears to be clueless.  Despite the foregoing BU remains ambivalent whether the requirement to disclose personal information should be left to the judgement of the person holding office or be legislated. If we want to do it properly we should legislate the requirement to disclose both medical and financial information. Both have the potential to compromise our governance pillars.

Barbadians always deserved to know what ails our Prime Minister. It is a matter of national interest.

135 responses to “The Public’s Right To Know”

1. Been in town too long Avatar
    Been in town too long

Whoa! BU agrees with me on something.

I can see no reason why the Prime Minister’s health should be a state secret. We are not in a state of war or civil unrest that public disclosure of ill health could be a threat to national security.

If it is a passing complaint with a good prognosis then why keep it a secret. If the prognosis is more dire aren’t we going to find out in the end anyway. So who is being fooled here?

And no I don’t subscribe to the crap about the PM’s health being a private matter. He is not a private citizen. He is public citizen Numero Uno, put there by us to manage our affairs and therefore he is responsible to me and you as well as responsible for me and you.

I have to ask myself if the delay in reporting to the country has therefore been for some personal or political advantage. I feel used and cheated, which could have been avoided by an honest disclosure earlier on.

I am very disappointed, though on reflection not entirely surprised that Mr. Thompson chose this route.

As far as legislating on the matter, I am not sure how this would work. Do we really want to know when our PM has a cold or diarrhea. TMI. What is considered a serious enough illness that we should know and when?

I seem to remember that Prime Minister Sandiford had an angioplasty and the country was told about it. That’s why I am even more puzzled by what is happening now.

Of course it has not helped that Mr. Stuart’s performance was less than stellar and the Government seems to be on pause. Maybe it is them who need our prayers, as well as the unfortunate young ladies who perished last week.

Not sure how to solve this one, David.

2. I think we should refrain from debating the pros and cons of the decision of the Prime Minister to withhold detailed information on his illness. We do not know the full details and maybe there is a good reason why the PM has decided to wait until the time is right to make a full disclosure on his personal health issues.

I fully expect that his physician will, this week, brief the Barbadian public on what exactly is ailing the PM thereby putting our minds at ease. Let us pray for his speedy and full recovery rather than judging his decisons, this is a sensitive issue with far reaching implications for the Country and the stability of the economy.

3. The Prime Minister, in my opinion is treating us with disrespect and we dont deserve this. When he was leaving to get what ever done he held a press conference the same day he was leaving, he returned we heard he was back we did not see him or hear his voice next thing I read in a daily news he is in NY and it is not known if he is on official business then the next thing u know he is on a phone telling bajans he had complications and had to return to NY. Complications from what? He is taking this country and the people here for a ride.

4. My question is does David Thompson deserve to be treated with kid gloves during his illness?

Isn’t this the same David Thompson who made the nasty comment about Owen Arthur being past his “best by” date shortly after Owen Arthur’s 3rd daughter DIED shortly after her birth? Yes, yes, we all understand that it is unwise to start a pregnancy past the age of 50, and even though we might have whispered similar things in the privacy of our homes we were not so insensitive as to say so in a public place where Mr. and Mrs Arthur were sure to hear and be HURT. It was unbelievably insensitive for a man as well educated as David Thompson to make such a comment in public. Maybe this was another statement fed to him by his principal political adverser. But we expect our Prime Ministers and those who desire to be Prime Minister to be WISER that their poorly educated principal political advisers.

At the time David Thompson made that statement (and it must have hurt Mr and Mrs. Arthur to the core, grieving as they were at the death of their new born) not a fella in the DLP or not one of the preying fake Christians, or not one of the believers in sensitivity reprimanded David Thompson for his insensisivity. David Thompson must have though that he was far away from his “best by” date. But none of us can see the future, not one of us has a day put down.

Let us see who is past their “best by” date now.

God don’t like ugly.

I’ve never met David Thompsn nor Owen Arthur, I’ve never belonged to either party, and I’ve voted on many occasions for both parties and I hope to continue doing so.

J neither B nor D.

5. It is time to stop the game of “let’s pretend” and time to start asking the hard questions.

If as is widely believed David Thompson has pancreatic cancer we should ask:

Does cigarette smoking increase the risk of pancreatic cancer? (and other cancers)

Has David Thompson ever smoked cigarettes?

Has he ever lived in a house with cigarette smokers?

Was his mother a smoker?

His father?

His step-father?

Is smoking in the presence of children even more dangerous that smoking in the presence of adults?

Is this the reason (not forgetting Dr. Gale’s highly commendable decades long anti-smoking campaign) that we have finally got around to banning smoking in public places, generations after developed countries have done so?

When will be ban driving when impaired by alcohol?

Are we waiting for a Prime Minister to get killed (or to kill someone) in a drunk driving accident before we ban drunken driving as developed countries did generations ago?

When will we compel merchants/landlords to install emergency fire exit doors?

Would merchants/landlords comply if they had to pay a fine of $5,000 per day until such time as they complied?

Are we waiting for 6 tourists to be killed in a store, nightclub, hotel fire before we COMPEL merchants/landlords do what developed countries have done generations ago? If we think that a 3 minute silence or a day of mourning means we have done something about the problem we are so mistaken.

When will we stop taking money, plane rides, flat screen tv’s in order to pretend we don’t see when the monied class is creating problems for yes I will say it poor black people?

When will our leaders stop fooling us that “having a car at every door” means that we are a developed country?

When will we stop believing our leaders lies?

When will we start to THINK for ourselves?

And to Carson C. Cadogan: You told me if I have nothing to say I should shut up.

My dear Carson: I have much more to say and I won’t shut up. I ain’t your wife Carson, never was, never will be. You can’t speak to me like that. If your wife accepts such from you, then she is a fool Carson.

6. I am still out on whether its private or not. But will say, if he had not indicated he would have ‘disclosed’ on his return the first time, then people may not be wanting to hear the ‘words’ from the PM. Whenever, they come, there will be grieving a plenty.

Who thinks that Mia has the black clothes in one draw and the acceptance speech in the other? Heaven help us.
    Adams will definitely rise-up through the concrete.

Definitely frightening either way…… Better dust off the visa, & search for the work permit, since … not staying here.

7. @David
    [should the Prime Minister when he was first diagnosed with his sickness been legally obligated to disclose publicly the nature of his illness?]

[put there by us to manage our affairs and therefore he is responsible to me and you as well as responsible for me and you. ]

Legally obligated???? Put there by US????? Wunnuh gine continue with this foolish pretend of what does not exist? It is laughable.

8. I do not know the nature of the Prime Minister’s illness but from reports, I have a “reasonable” idea of the situation, and I do believe that what is being done is in the best interest of Barbados.
    One could argue that in not fully disclosing his illness a mistake was made. However, it could be said he and his advisors decided to err on the side of caution.

If he is very ill, it might have been thought prudent to have certain structures and procedures in place for a smooth transition, if that became necessary. To disclose the full nature of his illness and the prognosis, although giving immediate full disclosure to the general public; would not have enabled the stability that a smooth transition of authority, that a little time has bought.

I have no political axe to grind; the Prime Minister although the leader of our country, is still a man with a wife, children and family and should be accorded a measure of compassion at this time.

To suggest he is an elected politician, therefore that abdicates all the compassion accorded to a fellow human being when ill, is simply wrong.

As I said long before he was elected Prime Minister and I only repeat it now for consistency; David Thompson is one of our great sons. Some will only realize the importance of him, when his hand is not on the tiller.

9. @hottie | September 10, 2010 at 10:35 PM ” he returned we heard he was back we did not see him or hear his voice”

And why do you think that was, I suspect not disrespect at all. Do not hear from someone for a week and then they call, apparently from hospital.

I always heard that one and one makes two.

Be sensitive, but face reality. It is fairly clear what is happening and I wish him and his family well, but from a political viewpoint, the Government need to do more to demonstrate solid leadership at this time, if only to give the reins temporarily to someone who is demonstrably strong in deeds and words and to come clear as to future direction.

The worst enemy of stability is uncertainty. As it stands, significant uncertainty exists as to future leadership and direction.

This must be addressed. Unfortunately, I suspect why and in sensitivity must now stop.

10. We must appreciate that the proper governance of Barbados is paramount in this discussion. Anything or anyone* which compromises the ability of our governance system to execute must be addressed as a matter of urgency. The fact that the PM has decided to give the public details supports the above.

Being dispassionate about what has to be done does not* mean the predicament of the PM is not being viewed with compassion.

11. Why are many Barbadians so afraid to know the true extent of the PM’s illness, that they keep insisting that he has a right to privacy? If he wanted a private life he would not have run for office or be in politics. You can’t both have your cake and eat it too!

We can discern from statements that he is in a fight for his life, and that the recent complications is that he is gravely ill. It is time that Barbadians stop burying your heads in the sand. There is a chance that he might not make it. What are the implications for the present governments. Do they have the leadership necessary to take the helm?

I am sad when anyone falls prey to illness, however as important a job as the PM of a country, we should be informed. Let us for once try facing reality straight in the face.

12. I have seen some comments here to say the least are insensitive. To make a point: When Mr. Thompson said Mr. Arthur “was past his sell by date” it was meant in a “political context” as leader of the BLP and did not refer to his general health or death. That is how I interpreted his remarks at the time and still do now.

In case it is of interest to anyone, I have never had a favour from either the BLP, DLP, or PDC neither do I seek one, and in no way am I associated with any party. I seek no employment, status or pecuniary gain. . . I write what I do simply as a native of the soil.
    I am sure there are “many” in the same position. . . I simply have stated mine.

13. Our thoughts hopes and prayers go out to Prime Minister David Thompson as he faces a very stiff health challenge at this time.

Our prayers with his wife and family in these very trying times.

Almighty bless.

14. THE PDC ALSO NEED TO PRAY FOR THE COUNTRY AS A WHOLE ITS RUNNING IS LIKE A TIME BOMB JUST WAITING TO EXPLODE

15. @ Yardbroom
    Thanks.
    …..a voice of reason and unselfish caring.

The truth is that whether the PM was healthy or not, we would continue to face insurmountable challenges and declining circumstances.
    Common decency dictates that we give the benefit of any doubt to the PM, his advisers and doctors in deciding what information they should disclose – and when.

History will eventually judge the rightness or wrongness of their judgment.

Over the past 30 years when we were making our national bed, and when the seeds of wickedness were being sown (as GP so often likes to highlight) where were the voices of outrage?

When Owen was calling people at 2 a.m. and cussing them into submission where was J’s outrage? When the likes of David Ellis were tamed like pussy cats – who wanted to know why?

….now we are making an ogre of a PM who has fallen ill and seems reluctant to share the intimate details with the likes of Mia and J…..

Give the bushman a break!!!
    …… no wonder we are beginning to smell hell. A people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

16. @Bush Tea

A very difficult matter all will agree. In your last comment you not once addressed that the illness of the PM which has led to his absence appear to be impacting how Barbados is being governed at a difficult time.

As a public figure the latitude to make personal decisions is greatly diminished. The issues you mention concerning Owen, Ellis are not relevant. In matters of national interest sentimentality must take a back seat.

17. @ David
    You err on both counts.

As I said, whether the PM was ill, or working 24 hours per day would make little difference to “how Barbados is being governed at a difficult time.”

….we still don’t get it. There are no magic answers. The Titanic has ALREADY struck the iceberg….. it matters little who goes down as the captain of record….. (pun intended)

Secondly, the issues which influenced our national character over the past generation ARE the critical factors to be considered.
    To use the Titanic example again, what would have mattered would have been routine navigational decisions and actions BEFORE they hit the iceberg.
    …..what happened afterward was just academic – like how many spaces were available on lifeboats and who got them.

18. There go the bleedings hearts again. Wake up! The man is a ‘professional’ politician as can clearly be seen from his record. He played for time with his first announcement hoping the collection of amateur misfits he is saddled with could keep things together until he got back – only this time his strategy didn’t work and a relapse has caused the need to come clean. But he’s still playing for time by the delaying tactic of authorising his doctor to make a statement. He could have said, “I am very ill with ******* and hope you will pray for a speedy recovery.” End of speculation. That he did not is just another example of the curent governmental indifference towards the public at large – and hey, it’s not confined to Bimsire!

19. David you see what I mean that you should keep your business private.
    Here is J waiting to gloat about his illness. She does not know the true illness but she sees the end and is now saying that he made nasty remarks about Owen Arthur’s child death and that God is not mock. Which he did not.
    Some of the BLP supporters want him to die full stop. That is not the Barbadian way. J be careful what you wish for. The DLP may get so many sympathy votes that you will have to come on this blog and cry for another five years.
    J
    You project David Thompson as this cruel person but from my observations he cannot compare to either Owen Arthur or for sure Mia Mottley when it comes to cruelty.

20. Could a permanent secretary decide to limit his period of work to say two hours a day because he is undergoing medical treatment? Could a policeman decide that he would not go on patrol because he is too tired and unwell as a result of his medical treatment? Everyone else is expected to perform all duties once on the job, why not the PM? A public officer is allowed by statute a specified number of days sick leave. Usually periods of sick leave in excess of this time must be applied for and usually implies a reduction in pay for that period of incapacitation. If the period of incapacitation is very long or appears to be indeterminate the officer may be subjected to a review by a medical “board”.

I do not want to know anything about the PM’s health concerns. That is his private business. I do, however, want the PM to be treated in the same way any other civil servant would be treated if in the same position. So if a PM, a minister of government or a parliamentarian became very ill and the required medical treatment was of such a long duration rendering that person incapable of performing his duties while treatment was being administered, what rules regarding leave, remuneration, determination as to whether the person could continue in the job etc would apply?

Recently in Nigeria, the then President Yar Adua became very ill and sought treatment outside of Nigeria. His prolonged absence resulted in a power vacuum as the constitution did not address such a situation. I am not asserting that the same obtains here. I do think that instead of inquiring about on the nature of Thompson’s illness, we should familiarize ourselves with the rules governing such situations (i.e. prolonged absence of Ministers and parliamentarians due to sickness) and debate the appropriateness of such rules.

21. Hottie,

Out of respect for the above lead article, we would not wish to engage you on the matter of the fact that so many of the country’s social political material and financial affairs are in severe crisis.

However, we were only minutes ago thinking about the fact that on the “back page” of the September 10, 2010, edition of the online newspaper, Barbados Today, there is information to the effect that Pastor Courtney Selman, President of Prayer Warriors International, and this latter organization itself, have come together with another organization, Crime Stoppers Barbados, which itself is part of Crime Stoppers international, to offer rewards for information leading to the arrest of suspects in Barbados, in light of the terror attack that was carried out by two assailants on Tudor Street last week Friday night.

We were thinking, too, in particular, about how Pastor Selman and his Christian group must be really applauded for demonstrating strong civic enterprise leadership in regard of their being part of the national responses that have been apportioned to making sure that those assailants are brought to justice.

Why we commend Mr. Selman and his organization is primarily because there appears to be a burgeoning thrust in this country among many of its people to be so self-serving, even communal, in their customary symbolic rituals and acts, that they are almost/ indifferent to, very unbothered by and so unsympathetic to the plight of others, even when it is patently clear that they themselves can in the future be possibly affected by many of these circumstances that are in fact pointing to severe crises in many of the social, political, material and financial affairs of this country.

Moreover, it seems that many among us are prepared to purely react, in whatever ways, to many of the events trends that otherwise have been indicating that are severe crises and troubles affecting various social political material and other sectors in this country.

What is even worse than that – very appalling too – is that when many of us do react many times, we do so not with inventive effective methods, but with many especially old and tested failed methods, and when such is not the case, with pure unadulterated crap talk write, whilst these crises worsen.

It seems therefore that the emphases by many Barbadians seem not to be on finding solutions, or even partial solutions, to these problems, but again on fostering pure rambling irrrelevant repetitive hot air talk and frothy write.

Such an observation brings us to this point in our submission whereby we have to state, and with a great degree of displeasure, that we have discovered that in the case of a very recent BU blog – Hartley Henry’s contribution entitled: Commentators Need To Tell It, Like It Is – there have been some persons ( NOT Georgie Porgie though – who it is clear has made a significant contribution to this country ), who have been bent on exhibiting this talkitis writitis syndrome.

While we would not say that these persons should not have contributed to the particular blog, what we are saying though is that their very partisan monomaniacal behaviour – which they must know about – seems to be part of a wider campaign on their part and on the part of others to look for the earliest available opportunities to engage in “conversations” – not just talk/write, that are best suited for the emailing process, and which have nothing at all to do with the points that Hartley Henry raised; and to engage in such “conversations” too whilst a bariffle of problems engulf this country in which most of them live, and whilst they come up with no viable solutions to them.

Such behaviour is clearly contemptible!!!

So, Hottie, in the face of much of this indescribable selfishness and lack of patriotism displayed by those who the cap fit so far on the particular blog and generally on BU, and elsewhere throughout this country, at this very crucial time in our country’s history, we must again applaud Pastor Selman and many other Christians, including Reverend Lucille Baird, who are prepared not just to evangalize Christianize proselytise debate one another but also to take active roles in dealing with many social and other problems that are taking place in this Barbadian society.

22. Yardbroom is correct in his interpretation of the Owen past shelf life statement.

J has definitely overstepped the mark on this one.

23. @ Adrian Hinds

“Legally obligated???? Put there by US????? Wunnuh gine continue with this foolish pretend of what does not exist? It is laughable.”

Please expand Adrian. Not sure what you mean. Not sure where you coming from or going to. CLARIFY please.

24. Public Servants in Barbados are adept at hiding information : information that is relevant and necessary for the public. There are so many things in Barbados that we should know that we do not know because of the culture of secrecy practised by the jokers who cant seem to shake the damn colonial yoke from off their backs and necks and asses (arses)- I heard David Thompson himself speak to this unnecessary holding back of information and unnecessary secrecy from PUBLIC SERVANTS who are afraid to speak and reluctant to inform the public about matters that THE SAID PUBLIC should be made aware of.

David Thompson and his advisers are simply falling in line and playing the same game.
    What does he have to hide and why is he hiding whatever it is ? Why ?

This country is some shite else in trute though !

25. I am truly disappointed to read some of the comments on this blog.

I must be a truly arrogant Bajan.Maybe it is because I went to Kolij and thought that I was bright. Whatever it is, I Hants truly believe that there are a few thousand Bajans who are capable of being leaders in Government.

I believe that while David Thompson provides exceptional leadership, the rest of the Ministers are quite capable of taking care of the Government until the PM is healthy again.
    The perception that “all roads lead to the PM” and “we have no one to take over if required” is bovine excrement.

Clearly PM David Thompson is satisfied that he has a competent cabinet and is still able to manage his team from afar.
    This is not 1910.
    This is 2010 and we have computers,blackberries,iphones and video conferencing.

Let us hope that God helps the PM to recover from his illness.

26. Yardbroom | September 11, 2010 at 6:41 AM |
    I
    In case it is of interest to anyone, I have never had a favour from either the BLP, DLP, or PDC neither do I seek one, and in no way am I associated with any party. I seek no employment, status or pecuniary gain. . . I write what I do simply as a native of the soil.
    I am sure there are “many” in the same position. . . I simply have stated mine.
    ————————————————————-
    I am too but I still get call names
    They got some real jackass views out there
    Trust me !

27. @Bush Tea
    “Give the bushman a break!!!
    …… no wonder we are beginning to smell hell. A people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.”

Your statement sounds illogical Bush Tea. You must be drinking too much bush tea!!
    WHAT IS IT EXACTLY THAT YOU THINK WE HAVE GOTTEN?

Seems to me that you are fully in support of the circumstances that led to us getting what we have, yet you are now admonishing the people by saying they deserve what they got ????? YOU GOT ME CONFUSED WITH THIS NONSENSE, but I am not surprised. This is the behaviour of unrepentant political Yard Fowls.

28. @Bushie (forgive the influence of Dr. George R)

Forgot that there is a clash of philosophies when discussing matters like this with you i.e. Fatalism v Optimism

29. I am yet to understand what his illness is has to do with being elected as PM. After being elected, he’s supposed to declare everything about his personal life too. That he is ill is good enough for me. The type of illness is not my concern. Will it change anything if he discloses? Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

J
    you got a real convenient memory and to mention Owen’s third daughter is indeed a classic. did we know of the previous two? i always thought that he was firing bare ‘blanks’. behave yaself do. ya too young fa alzheimers.doan mek ma cry.

30. @Bonny Peppa & Hants

The issue here is not whether the public should know the nature of his illness per se but to have a transparent system where the public can be comfortable that our governance system is not being compromised. They are some who say the PM’s word is good enough, others subscribe to the position he is a public figure and the same principles which some use to preach for integrity legislation the same should apply in a case of ill-health of key public officials.

31. @YardBroom

“I have seen some comments here to say the least are insensitive. To make a point: When Mr. Thompson said Mr. Arthur “was past his sell by date” it was meant in a “political context” as leader of the BLP and did not refer to his general health or death. That is how I interpreted his remarks at the time and still do now.”

Sure YardBroom, continue claiming to be unbiased, while simultaneously producing bare-faced rationalisations for all of Mr.Thompson’s ill-advised public comments.

And why is it that so many bloggers here have to preface their comments with a disclaimer that they DO NOT belong to this political party or the next? As though belonging to a political party precludes someone from making objective, informed, unbiased remarks.

Look, YardBroom, I am generally NOT a supporter o the DLP, but believe you me, it hurt me deep inside when I saw the PM in his present state. My heart went out to him and his young family. That does not mean that we have to gloss over his past insensitivities. He must be made aware of them, as it could assist him in repenting of such behaviour.

32. @Bush Tea….

“we still don’t get it. There are no magic answers. The Titanic has ALREADY struck the iceberg….. it matters little who goes down as the captain of record….. (pun intended)”

Bush Tea, you sound like a man living with a perpetual defeatist attitude. Do you remenber in 1994, when the Titanic has also sunk, with employment at nearlt 30 percent, and the Foreign Reserves reduced to scratch grain?

Did we not find a new Government that literally wiped out those situations, after having promised they would do it?

Well, seems to me we are back to square one now. Don’t be a defeatist. We can do it it again.

33. anonymous @10:44
    you just mek some real good points even though ya claim dat ya doan support my party. I could live wid dah. but like you said, it sounds so STUPID when some claim to be neither B, D but you can see their affiliation everytime. Pure hog-shoite. we can’t be all for de same party or there’d be no need for parties like my favorit PDC :-). and if ya ask me, all politicians are one n de same. a lotta hot air n promises. (i would still like ta meet Donville doe)

I thought that transparency was referring to ‘politicians doings’ not politicians illness or wellness. Will declaring his illness change anything? That he is ill is good enough. wah wrong wid he exactly fa de malicious people not me. I is a lotta tings but not malicious. 🙂

34. Put Yourself In My Place..

35. @ David
    Fatalism is a belief in predestination – usually based on illogical pessimism.
    Nothing could be farther from what Bushie knows to be the case.

But Cuhdear, if the bushman finds himself on the upper deck of the Titanic (having been shaken by the impact of the collision with that notorious iceberg), how can you classify bushie’s philosophy as fatalism for simple explaining the inevitable consequences of the resulting damage below deck?
    …… what do you want BT to do? run around reassuring everyone and telling them to go back to bed and snuggle up in their bunks with their sweethearts?

Man what fatalism what??!! …that is called perceptiveness and it results from a comprehensive understanding of the overall picture, of how the ship is constructed, and of where we are now….

It is called the truth and sometimes it hurts….. But Bushie still tight with my friend George R.

@ Anonymous
    Your statement sounds illogical Bush Tea. You must be drinking too much bush tea!!
    WHAT IS IT EXACTLY THAT YOU THINK WE HAVE GOTTEN?
    LOL Ha Ha Sweet Anon!….
    But two errors;
    1 – There is no such thing as too much bush tea – LOL

2 – Can you not see what we have gotten?
    >We have no national focus
    >We define our success on economic achievement – when even those with far too much are hopelessly confused and unhappy
    >Our prospects (economically) are dim and getting worse by the month
    >We have challenges in EVERY major area of national life -from education, to health, transport, drainage, water, agriculture, waste disposal, crime ….. (want me to go on….?)

…and all this at a time when we have more educated leaders, workers and peoples than EVER in history.
    ….a time when we have more access to technology and knowledge than ever before even contemplated
    ….a time when global communication is instant, cheap and available.

You still want to know ‘what we have gotten’?. …. or you going and brew up some bush tea like me….?

36. To Bush Tea. I meant “UNEMPLOYMENT” not EMPLOYMENT was at nearly 30 percent.

37. @Bonny Peppa

Let’s use an example to make the point. Suppose the PM has a problem with his kidneys which require that he undergo dialysis treatment 6 hours per day. Do you think the public would be sympathetic to him continuing in the job? More importantly would it be fair for him to withhold that info?

38. @ Bush Tea,
    You are really not as bright as I thought you were. My question “WHAT IS IT EXACTLY THAT YOU THINK WE HAVE GOTTEN?” was clearly rhetorical, and was meant to be a critism of your position whereby youseem to be praising the circumstances that led to what we have, but still punishing the citizens for doing what they did to get what they have.

I know full well what we have, I don’t need your education. You need to supplement your Strict Bush Tea diet.

39. @ David
    …not a very strong line of argument.
    Indeed such a PM may be more effective since that may well mean 6 hours every day that could be dedicated to the countries business while undergoing the treatment….(instead of gallivanting with rich people…)

One of the best ever US presidents was seriously handicapped…

I think that Anonymous (Lord knows which one…) put it best;
    >What are the rules with respect to illness on that job?
    >What should happen at specific points of time (in terms of continuing on the job – not spilling personal health details)
    >…and what changes should we now lobby to make to those rules.

LOL David – don’t test my girl Bonny P on this one…

40. @Bushie

With respect, the example of the wheelchair seated Roosevelt is not a good one. Yes he was physically challenged but to compensate he would have had an army of secret service people to cart him about.

41. ebony hair chocolate skin=goddess Avatar
    ebony hair chocolate skin=goddess

Bajans are always ready to point and laugh at others not like them. i think the PM is aware of this, the nature of his illness plus the fact that he has a young family. it might be protocol to reveal his illness but sensitivity should give way to protocol depending of the illness. i am sure it is not cancer, if it was we would all know. it must be something that could cause embarrassment to his family and him. as far as i am concern what would it change if we knew what his illness is? we, and his Party know he is ill. would he by telling us change the economics of Barbados? i have observed recently the actions of his Party and summarized just by their callousness to certain issues in the island, that he must be ill with something that they firmly believed is no coming back. We are all subject to weaknesses, if he is ill from something that he brought on, they who among us should criticize? they are some here on BU who very well are going thru the first stages of the same illness and no even be aware. I know of a family who left Barbados ’cause of the mother’s illness and the gossip that went on. Today 20 yrs later, she is still alive; very successful; the children are adults and many of the very people who gossip without feeling are dead. the gossip propel the family to leave the island- in doing so, she got help

42. Roosevelt ? I thought Bush tea was referring to Reagan! LOL

43. @ Anonymous

@ Bush Tea,
    You are really not as bright as I thought you were
    LOL What does that say about you Anonymous?
    You thought that a bushman would be bright LOL HA HA hah … rotfl

Secondly what rhetorical what??!! you think bush tea is GP or Hants that went to big school and deal with Rhetorical and malapropisms and those sort of things?

…man if you meant to put a criticism of BT’s position whereby I seem to be” praising the circumstances that led to what we have ..etc”
    WHY NOT SAY SO?

Anyone who was on BU for a while would have been able to tell you that BT has been crying out in the wilderness LONG before we struck the iceberg. WARNING of the consequences of our course even when things were SWEET and we could splurge millions on all sorts of gimmicks.

What praising what circumstances that led to what we have what??!!

…but this is the sweetest part Anon…. you accused BT of..
    “…but still punishing the citizens for doing what they did to get what they have.”
    ROTFL, HA HA

Skippa, you think Bush Tea is GP?
    PUNISHING THE CITIZENS!!!??? ME BOZIE??
    You looking to kill the poor messenger Anonymous. Gimme a break yuh hear?

44. @ Anonymous
    Roosevelt ? I thought Bush tea was referring to Reagan! LOL
    Wrong again Anonymous.
    Reagan or ‘George W’ could have been the answer if the Bushman had said “one of the worse ever US presidents was heavily handicapped” LOL

45. DLP yardfowls and supporters will say that he should not disclose. Some BLP supporters will say that he should disclose. The neutrals will say that he should disclose , I am sure.

The DLP YARDFOWLS such as Bonny Preppa pontificating , pusyfooting and purposely avoiding and SUPPORTERS alike need to get real

46. Bush Tea wrote “When Owen was calling people at 2 a.m. and cussing them into submission where was J’s outrage?”

If Owen Arthur called and cursed people at 2:00 a.m. or 2:00 p.m. then that was wrong and outrageous behaviour.

Owen Arthur can’t call at my house and cuss me becasue as soon as the first bad word come out I would unplug my phone and go right back to sleeep. He could cuss the night air as much as he feels like.

If Barbados’ journalists had any sense they would do the same and soon enough Owen would learn that his 2:00 a.m. cussing ain’t gettin him nowhere.

We tolerate bad behaviour and then act surprised that we get more of the same.

47. Yardbroom wrote “When Mr. Thompson said Mr. Arthur “was past his sell by date” it was meant in a “political context” as leader of the BLP”

And my question to you this afternoon Yardie “Is David Thompson past his “sell by” date as leader of the DLP”

Tek ya time answering Yardie.

48. None of us can see the future.

Not one of us has a day put down.

Not one of us know when our “sell by” date will come.

49. Bush Tea wrote “….now we are making an ogre of a PM who has fallen ill and seems reluctant to share the intimate details with the likes of Mia and J…..”

I should add that I’ve never met Mia Mottley either and I have no desire to do so.

50. Bu
    Why not poll the question: Does the country have the right to know the nature of the PM’s illness?
    Would be interseting. I agree that D’s probably would vote “no”, B’s “yes”, but what about the “neutrals”