Submitted by Terence Blackett

WASHINGTON โ€” Conservative commentator Glenn Beck and tea party champion Sarah Palin appealed Saturday to a vast, predominantly white crowd on the National Mall to help restore traditional American values and honor Martin Luther King's message. Civil rights leaders who accused the group of hijacking King's legacy held their own rally and march – AP

Yesterday was the 47th anniversary of the historically memorable – I Have A Dream prophetic speech on the Hill* of the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, DC. Words which still move the heart, minds and consciences of men everywhere โ€“ words, worthy of their rightful place in sacred cannon. But let us not be fooled โ€“ like all prophetic utterances, time is still the crucial determinant factor.

In Dr. Kingโ€™s own words โ€“ โ€œWe must be careful at this point not to engage in a superficial optimism or to conclude that the death of a particular evil means that all evil lies dead upon the shore. All progress is precarious, and the solution of one problem brings us face to face with another problem. The Kingdom of God as a universal reality is not yet. But just as we must avoid a superficial optimism, we must also avoid a crippling pessimism. Even though all progress is precarious, within limits real social progress may be made. Although manโ€™s moral pilgrimage may never reach a destination point on this earth, his never-ceasing strivings may bring him closer to the city of righteousnessโ€ฆโ€

On this anniversary of Dr. Kingโ€™s speech, political demigod, FOX News commentator and Tea Party activist Glen Beck and an army of predominantly Caucasian supporters gathered at the said Lincoln Memorial and sought to upstage the legacy of Kingโ€™s prophetic historical window in time by โ€œbilling itself as “restoring honour” to the US and rekindling what Beck and other speakers saw as the spirit of the American Revolution โ€“ family values, low taxation and cutting the Federal deficit.โ€ Beckโ€™s speech was peppered with references to God* and the fact that it was time for American to forge a new direction – โ€œWe have had moments of brilliance and moments of darkness. But this country has spent far too long worried about scars and thinking about the scars and concentrating on the scars.โ€

But what if the โ€œscarsโ€ are still visibly offensive? Can we sell the truth โ€“ in order that we may purchase and accommodate a lie?

Is this the same guy who called Americaโ€™s 1st Black President a racist and someone who hates white people? Where is this โ€œreverse speakโ€ coming from? As Goebbels said – “Tell a lie often enough, people will believe it.”

Aug. 28, 2010 Attendees (Beck's Restoring Honour Rally') were discouraged from bringing political banners, so some wore their sentiments on their shirts instead. Nikki Kahn-The Washington Post

Elitist Caucasian Americans have realized that Martinโ€™s Dream is gaining greater traction while on the other hand, many Blacks due to economic uncertainty in these difficult times are developing and โ€œadopting a fatalistic philosophy stipulating that whatever happens must happen and that all events are determined by necessity.โ€

Dr. King opined in โ€œShattered Dreamsโ€ that โ€œfatalism implies that everything is foreordained and inescapable. People who subscribe to this philosophy succumb to an absolute resignation to that which they consider to be fate and think of themselves as being little more than helpless orphans cast into the terrifying immensity of space. Because they believe that man has no freedom, they seek neither to deliberate nor to make decisions, but rather they wait passively* for external forces to decide for them. They never actively seek to change their circumstances, for they believe that all circumstances, as in Greek tragedies, are controlled by irresistible and foreordained forces. Some fatalists are very religious people who think God as the determiner and controller of destinyโ€ฆโ€

Dr. King also suggests that this view is expressed in a verse of one of our Christian hymns:

Though dark my path and sad my lot,
Let me be still and murmur not,
But breathe the prayer divinely taught,
Thy will be done.

King believes that fatalism purports an appalling conception of God for everything whether good or evil is considered to represent the will of God (even racism). He believes a โ€œhealthy religion rises above the idea that God wills evil. Although God permits evil in order to preserve the freedom of men, He does not cause evil. That which is willed is intended, and the thought that God intend for a child to be born blind or for a man to suffer the ravages of insanity is sheer heresy that pictures God as a devil rather than a loving Fatherโ€ฆโ€

The power within the โ€œSERMON ON THE HILLโ€ destroys the mythology and the paralysing determinism which King concludes that most of us think we are:

But helpless Pieces of the Game He plays
Upon this Chequer-board of Nights & Days
And that we need not trouble about the future, for
The Moving Finger writes: and, having writ,
Moves on: nor all your Piety nor Wit
Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line,
Nor all your Tears wash out a word of it.

Click on the link as a reminder today of how far we have come and how much further we need to goโ€ฆ

Be blessed!!!

255 responses to “The Long Pilgrimage: Bankrupt Moral Leadership And The Fatalism Of Evil Upon Our Shores – Has Anything Been Learnt Since Dr. Martin Luther King’s Speech – “I Have A Dream"?”

1. @Anonymous | September 1, 2010 at 12:55 PM

Mr. Anonymous, Sir, let me acquaint you with a quote from LDS scripture (B.O.M. to be precise, from the from the book called Mosiah, chapter 3). Go check it out for yourself. That verse explains it all.

19 For the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be, forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit, and putteth off the natural man and becometh a saint through the atonement of Christ the Lord, and becometh as a child, submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon him, even as a child doth submit to his father.
    20 And moreover, I say unto you, that the time shall come when the knowledge of a Savior shall spread throughout every nation, kindred, tongue, and people.

2. Since de hood and GP are such good buddies, the Book of Mormon is an approved scripture now!

3. @Anonymous | September 1, 2010 at 1:43 PM
    Has been for almost 200 years now, Sir! And fully approved by the Lord Jesus Himself.

4. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Get a copy, Anonymous, and have a good read. Might be the very best thing you ever did with your sorry self!

5. @Anonymous | September 1, 2010 at 1:43 PM
    Has been for almost 200 years now, Sir! And fully approved by the Lord Jesus Himsel

By de hood on September 1, 2010 at 1:59 PM

๏ฟผ
    Get a copy, Anonymous, and have a good read. Might be the very best thing you ever did with your sorry self!

By de hood on September 1, 2010 at 2:02 PM

Well aint this rich!!!
    Hoodie my boy, if you think you and GP on the same page, think again!
    Wunna aint even in the same library…lol.
    Why would you even recommend the book of Mormon to anyone as the best thing you can do with your sorry life. By GP and Zoe’s debunking, that book is utter nonsense, not to mention the denomination…lol. Check BU for the thread.
    @ GP…
    Can you explain this to me….’Has been for almost 200 years now, Sir! And fully approved by the Lord Jesus Himself.’
    I am confused once again.

6. Hi Techie,
    Long time no hear. However, in reply to your scoffing all I have to say to you and everyone else is that time will tell! BTW, it ain’t long now either!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is food for thought, taken from 2 Peter 3-14 :-

3 Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days scoffers, walking after their own lusts,
    4 And saying, Where is the promise of his coming? for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation.
    5 For this they willingly are ignorant of, that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of the water and in the water:
    6 Whereby the world that then was, being overflowed with water, perished:
    7 But the heavens and the earth, which are now, by the same word are kept in store, reserved unto fire against the day of judgment and perdition of ungodly men.
    8 But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.
    9 The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.
    10 But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.
    11 Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness,
    12 Looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God, wherein the heavens being on fire shall be dissolved, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat?
    13 Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwelleth righteousness.
    14 Wherefore, beloved, seeing that ye look for such things, be diligent that ye may be found of him in peace, without spot, and blameless.

7. Sorry, Techie, that quote above is from 3 Peter. ๐Ÿ™‚

8. Since when has de Hood and GP been buddies? It is well known that GP and Zoe hold different opinions to de Hood on Biblical issues. But what is clear is that neither of them have opted to be stupid to try to castigate Glen Beck for his sucessful rally because he is a Mormon. I think that they didnt know that he was Mormon, and having now found out that he is, they are still more interested in the message he brought rather than his Mormonism.

I am sure that both of them were smart enough to see that ac was trying to stir up strife when she stated that Beck was a Mormon. Note that both GP & Zoe ignored the moron, and did not comment, because they were more interested in the content of Beck’s message rather than his religion. Why do you think that de Hood GP and Zoe must go to war because of the things Beck said, if thy are sensible to see that Beck’s principles were sensible?

If Beck was a BLACK Mormon would his religion have come into the equation?

Should deHood and GP be at war because GP does not favor the Book of Mormon? Did GP or Zoe say that they accept the Book of Mormon? When GP and Zoe and de Hood want to fight and war, they will do so, without your instigation.

What is very apparent here is that de Hood and GP and Zoe are of one accord with respect to the issues raised by Beck. Note that at no time did Beck say he was quoting from the book of Mormon. Note that Beck had folk of all denominations on the platform, and that the Mormon Tabernacle Choir was not featured.

It was not a Mormon rally, it was a peaceful rally.

9. @ Technician

BTW, I have already made it quite clear that I am well aware that Doc GP and myself do have our differences but that does not stop me from respecting what he has to say from time to time. After all, if this world was made up of all “hoods” or all “Techies” what a sad world it might be. Agree? ๐Ÿ™‚

10. Techie
    de Hood and GP on the same page with respect to his quote on 2 Peter 3. There is no more appropriate Scripture for him to quote with respect to this thread and the issues raised by Beck at his rally last Saturday, except that 2 Chronicles 7:14 could be added to the mix.

2 Peter 3:9 is one of my favorite Scriptures

11. Seems to me though, that some folk think that ‘Mormons” (BTW, that’s just a nickname for the LDS church) or Seventh Days or Jehovah Ws or Jews should not be allowed to express ANY opinions in some fora.

12. @ Doc GP

I believe I misquoted the scripture reference as coming from 2 Peter whereas it should really have been 3 Peter. My humble apologies to all.

13. De Hood
    I am unaware of a 3 Peter in the KJV.

You quoted from 2 Peter chapter 3. Sir

14. @Doc GP
    Ooopppps.

Of course, you are quite correct Doc! I actually gave the correct reference in the original comment but somehow or other got all mixed up and made a false correction. Thanks for “box on the ears” (or should that be “slap on the fingers”?). ๐Ÿ™‚

15. So Jesus approved of the Book of Mormon? Can you give us the reference in the only Book that extensively records His activities and words before His ascension.

16. AC,
    My problem is narrowed minded ignoramuses like you. You are no more than a bible toting, bible parotting intellectual midget. Plantation minded “Stepin Fetchits”like you, just don’t understand

17. A wealthy old Gentleman decides to go on a hunting safari in Africa, taking his faithful, elderly dog named Killer, along for the company.

One day the old dog starts chasing rabbits and before long, discovers that he’s lost. Wandering about, he notices a leopard heading rapidly in his direction with the intention of having lunch.

The old dog thinks, “Oh, oh! I’m in deep doo-doo now!”

Noticing some bones on the ground close by, he immediately settles down to chew on the bones with his back to the approaching cat. Just as the leopard is about to leap, the old dog exclaims loudly, “Boy, that was one delicious leopard! I wonder if there are any more around here?”

Hearing this, the young leopard halts his attack in mid-strike. A look of terror comes over him and he slinks away into the trees. “Whew!”, says the leopard. “That was close! That old dog nearly had me!”

Meanwhile, a monkey who had been watching the whole scene from a nearby tree, figures he can put this knowledge to good use and trade it for protection from the leopard.

So, off he goes, but the old dog sees him heading after the leopard with great speed, and figures that something must be up.

The monkey soon catches up with the leopard, spills the beans and strikes a deal for himself with the leopard.

The young leopard is furious at being made a fool of and says, “Here, monkey, hop on my back and see what’s going to happen to that conniving canine!”

Now, the old dog sees the leopard coming with the monkey on his back and thinks, “What am I going to do now?” But, instead of running, the dog sits down with his back to his attackers, pretending he hasn’t seen them yet, and just when they get close enough to hear, the old dog says…
    “Where’s that damn monkey? I sent him off an hour ago to bring me another leopard!”

Moral of this story…
    Don’t mess with the old dogs….. age and skill will always overcome youth and treachery, and brilliance only comes with age and experience.

18. When Glenn Beck became a Mormon it was due in part that he was having a hard time financially and as a favour to a friend after several times of being invited to visit the church he decided to go. It had nothing to do with becoming a born again Anything. He was simply doing his friend a favour.
    The hypocrisy of the GPS and the Zoes is that all of a sudden they have seen the light because of Glenn Beck rally .After several days on Bu via another thread they left no stone unturned in debunking the Mormon Religion They need to apologise to all Mormons worldwide for the way in which they unleashed religous bigotry towards them.
    Now they are on another mission trying to debunk Dr. Kings message

19. @hood
    Leos are strong headed and independent thinkers and are not easily swayed by anyones opinion.

@techie

You too is very opinionated and have the ability to see through a person of deceit . You have a special gift of discernment. No one should take your opinions lightly for one they are well thought out
    and more often that not correct.

@Gp
    Your wealth of knoweldge is admirable. However you are arrogant in the way you dispense it even though you are quite to share.

@Zoe
    You are a master! or shall I call you Rabbi. a good example of those who know the law and would not bend to accomodate other thinking. However Jesus did not show much respect for the writers of the Law in Bibical times.

BTW > I love all yuh

20. More from Martin on “A Tough Mind And A Tender Heart”

“Let us consider, first, the need for a tough mind, characterized by incisive thinking, realistic appraisal and decisive judgment. The tough mind is sharp and penetrating, breaking through the crust of legends and myths and sifting the true from the false. The tough-minded individual is astute and discerning. He has a strong, austere quality that makes for firmness of purpose and solidness of commitment.”

“Who doubts that this toughness of mind is one of manโ€™s greatest needs? Rarely do we find men who willing engage in hard, solid thinking. There is an almost universal quest for easy answers and half-baked solutions. Nothing pains some people more than having to think.”

“Undue gullibility is also seen in the tendency of many readers to accept the printed word of the press as final truth. Few people realize that even our authentic channels of information – the press, the platform and in many instances the pulpit – do not give us objective and unbiased truth. Few people have the toughness of mind to judge critically and to discern the true from the false, the fact from the fiction. Our minds are constantly being invaded by legions of half-truths, prejudices and false facts. One of the great needs of mankind is to be lifted above the morass of false propaganda.”

“The softminded man always fears change. He feels security in the status quo, and he has an almost morbid fear of the new. For him, the greatest pain is the pain of a new idea… The softminded person always wants to freeze the moment and hold life in the gripping yoke of sameness.”

“Softmindedness often invades religion. This is why religion has sometimes rejected new truth with a dogmatic passion. Through edicts and bulls, inquisitions and excommunications, the church has attempted to prorogue truth and place an impenetrable stone wall in the path of the truth-seeker. The historical-philological criticism of the Bible is considered by the softminded as blasphemous, and reason is often looked upon as the exercise of a corrupt faculty. Softminded persons have revised the Beatitudes to read, ‘Blessed are the pure in ignorance: for they shall see God’.”

“Softmindedness is one of the basic causes of race prejudice. The toughminded person always examines the facts before he reaches conclusions: in short, he postjudges. The softminded person reaches a conclusion before has examined the first fact; in short, he prejudges and is prejudiced. Race prejudice is based on the groundless fears, suspicions and misunderstandings. There are those who are sufficiently softminded to believe in the superiority of the white race and the inferiority of the Negro race in spite of the toughminded research of anthropologists who reveal the falsity of such a notion. There are softminded persons who argue that racial segregation should be perpetuated because Negroes lag behind in academic, health and moral standards. They are not toughminded enough to realize that lagging standards are the result of segregation and discrimination. They do not recognize that it is rationally unsound and sociologically untenable to use the tragic effects of segregation as an argument for continuation…”

“There is little hope for us until we become toughminded enough to break loose from the shackles of prejudice, half-truths, and downright ignorance. The shape of the world today does not permit us the luxury of softmindedness. A nation or a civilization that continues to produce softminded men purchases its own spiritual death on an installment plan.”

21. @ac September 1, 2010 at 5:56 PM |

You wrote:- “Leos are strong headed and independent thinkers and are not easily swayed by anyones opinion.”
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    OK, ac, now that you have let the cat (or lion?) out of the bag, I have no choice but to plead……..”guilty as charged”. ๐Ÿ™‚

How are things with you? Well, I hope.

22. @Anonymous

Are you confusing me with someone else . The above comments you posted about me does not fit my profile.I need an explanation . No apology needed.

23. Terrence
    Martin dead man, and after all that fancy talk blacks still seeing shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh……………… te!

24. ac,

Why attack the man (GB)? Look at the message. The US of A has lost its way, spiritually speaking. Apparently one cannot even mention the name of God or Jesus Christ publicly anymore for fear of offending the other minorities in the country. America is a great nation with promise, nevertheless, but “she will be forced to her knees” until “she” acknowledges the power of Almighty God once more.

25. @Guess who

Enjoy your story or joke.You can add this one to your list of ‘Moral of the Story” You can teach an old dog new tricks ! ah lie

26. On Sunday night March 8th 1968, I attended a Gospel meeting in a fledgling Baptist church in Ch Ch just to please my girl friend at the time.

I was at the time “an Anglican of the Anglicans” and written down my the rector of Ch Ch Parish Ch to surely become a priest. That night I heard a gospel message from John chapter 12, and I gave my heart to the Lord. I went from being a “confirmed sinner” to become a SAVED SINNER BY GRACE THROUGH FAITH.

If Glenn Beck was having financial difficulty and went to church to please a friend and his life was turned around, who am I to judge him.

Everyone knows that Zoe and I expressed our odeas concerning the Mormons, and we have said so. Yesterday I gave examples of how I go about coming to a decision and a decision. Because I do not agree with Mormon doctrine, I am in no war with de Hood. And if Glenn Beck said things that are correct in principle, I am not going to say now that I think he stated wrong principles because I have discovered he is a mormon. America needs to return to God.

I have been watching Beck’s show for a while. He is not the greatest orator or the smartest tool in the shed, but he certainly provides food for thought, and some interesting principles. And he does have an effect on myriads of people in the USA.

It seems that the Obama supporters are quaking because of his political teachings on his program. I find that funny too.

27. More from Martin on “A Tough Mind And A Tender Heart”

“Let us consider, first, the need for a tough mind, characterized by incisive thinking, realistic appraisal and decisive judgment. The tough mind is sharp and penetrating, breaking through the crust of legends and myths and sifting the true from the false. The tough-minded individual is astute and discerning. He has a strong, austere quality that makes for firmness of purpose and solidness of commitment.”

“Who doubts that this toughness of mind is one of manโ€™s greatest needs? Rarely do we find men who willing engage in hard, solid thinking. There is an almost universal quest for easy answers and half-baked solutions. Nothing pains some people more than having to think.”

“Undue gullibility is also seen in the tendency of many readers to accept the printed word of the press as final truth. Few people realize that even our authentic channels of information – the press, the platform and in many instances the pulpit – do not give us objective and unbiased truth. Few people have the toughness of mind to judge critically and to discern the true from the false, the fact from the fiction. Our minds are constantly being invaded by legions of half-truths, prejudices and false facts. One of the great needs of mankind is to be lifted above the morass of false propaganda.”

“The softminded man always fears change. He feels security in the status quo, and he has an almost morbid fear of the new. For him, the greatest pain is the pain of a new idea… The softminded person always wants to freeze the moment and hold life in the gripping yoke of sameness.”

“Softmindedness often invades religion. This is why religion has sometimes rejected new truth with a dogmatic passion. Through edicts and bulls, inquisitions and excommunications, the church has attempted to prorogue truth and place an impenetrable stone wall in the path of the truth-seeker. The historical-philological criticism of the Bible is considered by the softminded as blasphemous, and reason is often looked upon as the exercise of a corrupt faculty. Softminded persons have revised the Beatitudes to read, ‘Blessed are the pure in ignorance: for they shall see God’.”

“Softmindedness is one of the basic causes of race prejudice. The toughminded person always examines the facts before he reaches conclusions: in short, he postjudges. The softminded person reaches a conclusion before has examined the first fact; in short, he prejudges and is prejudiced. Race prejudice is based on the groundless fears, suspicions and misunderstandings. There are those who are sufficiently softminded to believe in the superiority of the white race and the inferiority of the Negro race in spite of the toughminded research of anthropologists who reveal the falsity of such a notion. There are softminded persons who argue that racial segregation should be perpetuated because Negroes lag behind in academic, health and moral standards. They are not toughminded enough to realize that lagging standards are the result of segregation and discrimination. They do not recognize that it is rationally unsound and sociologically untenable to use the tragic effects of segregation as an argument for continuation…”

“There is little hope for us until we become toughminded enough to break loose from the shackles of prejudice, half-truths, and downright ignorance. The shape of the world today does not permit us the luxury of softmindedness. A nation or a civilization that continues to produce softminded men purchases its own spiritual death on an installment plan.”

@ Expatriate

Here is Martin’s answer to your dilemma – “Transformed Nonconformist”

“Every true Christian is a citizen of two worlds, the world of time and the world of eternity. We are, paradoxically, in the world, and yet not of the world. To the Philippians Christians, Paul wrote, ‘We are a colony of Heaven.’ They understood what he meant, for their city of Philippi was a Roman colony. When Rome wished to Romanize a province, she established a small colony of people who lived by Roman law and Roman customs and who, though in another country, held fast to their Roman allegiance. This powerful, creative minority spread the gospel of Roman culture. Although the analogy is imperfect – the Roman settlers lived within a framework of injustice and exploitation, that is, colonialism – the Apostle does not point to the responsibility of Christians to imbue an unchristian world with the ideals of a higher or more nobler order. Living in the colony of time, we are ultimately responsible to the ‘Empire of Eternity’. As Christians we must never surrender our supreme loyalty to any time bound custom or earth-bound idea, for at the heart of our universe is a higher reality – God and His Kingdom of love – to which we must be conformed.”

โ€œThis command not to conform comes, not only from Paul, but also from our Lord and Master, Jesus Christ, the world’s most dedicated nonconformist, whose ethical nonconformity still challenges the consciences of mankind.”

When an affluent society would coax us to believe that happiness consist in the size of our automobiles, the impressiveness of our homes, and the expensiveness of our clothes, Jesus reminds us, ‘A man’s life consisteth not in the abundance of the things which he possesseth’.”

“When we would yield to the temptation of a world rife with sexual promiscuity and gone wild with a philosophy of self-expression, Jesus tells us that, ‘whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart’.”

“When we refuse to suffer for righteousness and choose to follow the path of comfort rather than conviction, we hear Jesus say, ‘Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness sake: for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven’.”

“When in our spiritual pride we boast of having reached the peak of moral excellence, Jesus warns, ‘The publicans and harlots go into the kingdom of God before you’.”

“When we, through compassionless detachment and arrogant individualism, fail to respond to the needs of the underprivileged, the Master says, ‘Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me’.”

“When we allow the spark of revenge in our souls to flame up in hate towards our enemies, Jesus teaches, ‘Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you and persecute you’.”

“Everywhere and at all times, the love ethic of Jesus is a radiant light revealing the ugliness of our stale conformity”

“In spite of this imperative demand to live differently, we have cultivated a mass mind and have moved from the extreme of rugged individualism to the even greater extreme of rugged collectivism. We are not makers of history; we are made by history. Longfellow said, ‘In this world a man must either be an anvil or a hammer’, meaning that he is either a moulder of society or is moulded by society. Who doubts that today most men are anvils and are shaped by the patterns of the majority? Or to change the figure, most people, and Christians in particular, are thermometers that record or register the temperature of the majority opinion, not thermostats that transform and regulate the temperature of society.”

28. @Anonymous

Since you are unwilling to give an explanationon your comments
    9/1@5.30p.m.Let me share some info. about ac

1. The only book i tote is my bank book
    2. It donot trot. I drive a BMW.
    3 I like parrots and i am over 5 ft tall . Maybe much taller than you.
    4. I would not be consider a canadiate for the House of Assembly there is were you find the “”ignoramus”
    5. I don’t step or fetch anything. I have others do that for me.
    BTW.

29. Man wunna really confusing Techie man.
    From the time GP came on BU he has been teaching how to divide the Word correctly. From what this dumb person (Zoe’s words) can figure out, there is only one truth.
    Cut the baloney and smoke and mirrors man, I have seen Zoe rip to threads the JWs, SDAs, Mormons and Catholics on BU, with GP in agreement. Regardless of what book you all agree on, according to Zoe and GP, Hoodie ma boy, ya loss!!….cause in the end ya still divide wrong..lol.
    See, I still trying to grasp this divide thing. I have always asked questions, some out of pure innocence and some by being….ammm..wicked ๐Ÿ˜‰ but GP promise to work on me in NY (going back up in 2 weeks)
    I said all that to say this, by GP and Zoe’s teaching, only those who divide the word correctly will make it. Hoodie believe he too will make it yet still his division is flawed, along with so many others….who is right?
    This aint like Networking where you can get the same results by different methods at all ๐Ÿ™

30. @Hood

When some person uses a political platform all of a sudden to invoke the bible in his speeches . I find it suspect. Why did he not do the same when it was about Civil Rights in the sixties and after .
    Glenn BecK speech is about Taking Back America. I wonder take it back from what. If you travelled through america there is a church in every nook and corner. Glenn Beck is a fraud whose ambition is to put america especially black into those dark days gone by. He has constantly attack the president to the point of calling him a racist. Tell me howis that going to help healed the racist wounds inflicted on blacks. Do you thinkthat kind of rheortic really helps. If he was sincere in what he said at the rally he would have started his speech by apologising to the President.He has in no way lead byexample. Using the bible is another way of gaining right wing poitical power.His message has only done more harm than good because it has serve no good purpose other than to divide the country.

31. @ Anonymous

Here’s Martin – “A Knock At Midnight”

“It is midnight within the social order. On the international horizon nations are engaged in a colossal and bitter contest for supremacy. Two World Wars have been fought within a generation, and the clouds of another war are dangerously low. Man now has atomic and nuclear weapons that could within seconds completely destroy the major cities of the world. Yet the arms race continues and nuclear tests still explode in the atmosphere, with the grim prospect that the very air we breathe will be poisoned by radioactive fallout. Will these circumstances and weapons bring the annihilation of the human race?”

“When confronted by midnight in the social order we have in the past turned to science for help. And little wonder! On so many occasions science has saved us. When we were in the midnight of physical limitation and material inconvenience, science lifted us to the bright morning of physical and material comfort. When we were in the midnight of crippling ignorance and superstition, science brought us the daybreak of the free and open mind. When we were in the midnight of dreadful plagues and diseases, science, through surgery, sanitation, and wonder drugs, ushered in the bright day of physical health, thereby prolonging our lives and making for greater security and physical well-being. How naturally we turn to science in a day when the problems of the world are so ghastly and ominous.”

“But alas! Science cannot now rescue us, for even the scientist is lost in the terrible midnight of our age. Indeed science gave us the very instruments that threaten to bring universal suicide. So modern man faces a dreary and frightening midnight in the social order.”

This midnight in man’s external collective life is paralleled by midnight in his internal individual life. It is midnight within the psychological order. Everywhere paralyzing fears harrow people by day and haunt them by night. Deep clouds of anxiety and depression are suspended in our mental skies. More people are emotionally disturbed today than at any other time in human history. The psychopathic wards of our hospitals are crowded, and the most popular psychologists today are the psychoanalysts…”

โ€œThe popular clergyman preaches soothing sermons on ‘How To Be Happy’ and ‘How To Relax’. Some have been tempted to revise Jesus’ command to read, ‘Go ye into all the world, keep your blood pressure down, and, lo, I will make you a well-adjusted personality’. All of this is indicative that it is midnight within the inner lives of men and women.”

It is also midnight within the moral order. At midnight colours lose their distinctiveness and become a sullen shade of grey. Moral principles have lost their distinctiveness. For moral man, absolute right and absolute wrong are a matter of what the majority is doing. Right and wrong are relative to likes and dislikes and the customs of a particular community. We have unconsciously applied Einsteinโ€™s theory of relativity, which properly described the physical universe, to the moral and ethical realm.”

“Midnight is the hour when men desperately seek to obey the eleventh commandment, ‘Thou shalt not get caught’. According to the ethic of midnight, the cardinal sin is to be caught and the cardinal virtue is to get by. It is all right to lie, but one must lie with real finesse. It is all right to steal, if one is so dignified that, if caught, the charge become embezzlement, not robbery. It is permissible even to hate, if one so dresses his hating in the garments of love that hating appears to be loving. The Darwinian concept of the survival of the fittest has been substituted by a philosophy of the survival of the slickest. This mentality has brought a tragic breakdown of moral standards, and the midnight of moral degeneration deepens.”

32. Glenn Beck was a Catholic. In 1999 he became a mormon. So it took him11 yrs to figure what he is saying about America The Beautifu from sea to Shining Sea. Give me a break.

33. Dr King had a real reason and a real message to bring to the Ameican people. Not some cooked up nonsense like what Glenn Beck is spewing.

34. Techie
    We have all seen Zoe rip to threads the JWs, SDAs, Mormons and Catholics on BU, with GP in agreement

But neither of us has said that if you donโ€™t divide the Word like us that you are lost. We have both said that salvation has to do with believing on the Lord by grace through faith as the Bible teaches in Ephesians 2:8 and other places.

There are doubtless individuals in all denominations that believe in Christ by faith despite holding their denominational dogma.

There are also lots of folk who live morals lives who do not beieve in Christ by faith.

35. But neither of us has said that if you donโ€™t divide the W
    ord like us that you are lost.

Well, I will be honest and state now for the record that I thought all along that was what you and Zoe were trying to prove…well slap me and call me stupid!!

There are doubtless individuals in all denominations that believe in Christ by faith despite holding their denominational dogma.

There are also lots of folk who live morals lives who do not believe in Christ by faith.

This last part had me smiling though but one question GP…will these others, who believe in Christ by faith but dividing the word incorrectly, make it to the Pearly Gates?

36. Generally speaking, a person will do what they believe. If a person fails to do something, anything, it’s because for the most part they did not believe enough, that it was worth their time or their effort. Also, “A person convinced againgst their will, is of the same opinion still.” Most of us refuse to accept the one thing that is constant in life, change. We look at change with the same level of difficulty, as we do brain surgery. Dr King was one of the greatest men in history, cetrainly in USA history. But, there are those that refuse to tweak his dream for the twenty first century. It is as if some of you are woefully stuck in the past. Allow Dr King his time honored ceremony, but also know that he also made mistakes, and that his dream, although great, did not start out that way. Long before Dr King, there were folks like David Walker, who at the height of the American Revolution, challenged Thomas Jefferson. We must endeavor to know the history of ourselves, before we crown some folks, as the saviors of our race. Why is Martin King so revered, and not Malcolm X? Maybe, it’s because Malcolm was speaking truth to power in ways that, annoyed the black church folks. Some of us black folks, are whiter than snow, and more protective of the status quo, than the people that own the status quo. Every now and then we should dabble into the thought of perhaps, tweaking things just a little bit. Perhaps, by trying and entertaining different ideas, we may find a new age of leaders in our midst.

37. My name is MARTIN
    I have a tough mind, characterized by incisive thinking, realistic appraisal and decisive judgment. My mind is sharp and penetrating, breaking through the crust of legends and myths and sifting the true from the false. I am astute and discerning with a strong, austere quality that makes for firmness of purpose and solidness of commitment, BUT I AM DEAD! And my followers are a stupid as a do do bird Did I die like a fool?

I do not doubt that toughness of mind is one of manโ€™s greatest needs. And I am one of a rare breed willing to engage in hard, solid thinking. I donโ€™t believe in the universal quest for easy answers and half-baked solutions. I like to kick against the pricks, and bash my head against the wall. SO NOW I AM DEAD! And my followers are a stupid as a do do bird Did I die like a fool?

I am not unduly gullible and I know that the tendency of many readers to accept the printed word of the press as final truth is nonsense. I am one of the few people who realize that even our authentic channels of information โ€“ the press, the platform and in many instances the pulpit โ€“ do not give us objective and unbiased truth I am one of the few I am one of the few people with the toughness of mind to judge critically and to discern the true from the false, the fact from the fiction. My mind is never invaded by legions of half-truths, prejudices and false facts. It has been lifted above the morass of false propaganda.โ€ BUT I AM DEAD! And my followers are a stupid as a do do bird. Did I die like a fool?

I am definitely not a softminded man who always fears change or think that security is to be found in the status quo; nor do I have any fear of the new. But since 1963 I have been frozen and my life is held in the gripping yoke of sameness. For I am dead. And my followers are a stupid as a do do bird. Did I die like a fool?

38. Tech
    If my memory serves me correct. Ido remember GP and Zoe callking those who divide the word not in accordance with their teaching “Flase teachers “of the word.. So therefore those teachers would be lost until they are able to divide the word accordingly.
    By their theological teachings The Mormons would be lostas their Bible teachings are at odds with some of traditional christian teachings .

39. @ Techie
    “But neither of us has said that if you donโ€™t divide the word like us that you are lost.”
    ************************ROTFL************************
    What divide what word what Techie??!!

…..and still can’t tell you why God made the devil?
    …..and still can’t fathom why Jesus deliberately spoke in parables to confuse and mislead those listening….
    …..and still on about some ‘trinity’?

….. GP and Zoe are just as confused as the rest of us….. They are just not brave enough to admit it.

40. Techie
    one question GPโ€ฆwill these others, who believe in Christ by faith but dividing the word incorrectly, make it to the Pearly Gates?
    Techie the yardstick is to accept Christ by grace through faith.

Heree is a scenario. Do you know that many folk who genuinely accepted Christ as Savior in mass evangelical meetings have had no proper follow up teaching? Guess what ? They wrongly divide the Word.

41. 2 Timothy 2:15

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

42. The command is to RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD, not divide it like Zoe and I.

No where does the Scripture teach that those who wrongly divide the word are lost.
    If a person had correctly divided the Word they would know this . Would they not?

43. Here is logic at its zenith

Zoe and GP believe the Trinity- a doctrine accepted from the beginning of both Christianity and Christendom.
    CONCLUSION: Zoe & GP are confused.

Zoe & GP allegedly do not know why God made the devil or do not share the view of the most omnisient one.
    CONCLUSION Zoe & GP are confused.

Zoe & GP have demonstrated over and over that they have a good grasp of the Scripture
    CONCLUSION Zoe & GP are confused.

Some of you may be confused. But I am not. And the one who is behind the confusion is certainly not confused either.

44. So since you and Zoe come on BU as having correctly divide the word. The term Rightly Dividing The word Should be applied to both of You as it is almost impossible for others of differing faiths or “Dividers Of The Word” to be in agreement with your theology.

45. The command is to RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD, not divide it like Zoe and I.

No where does the Scripture teach that those who wrongly divide the word are lost.
    If a person had correctly divided the Word they would know this . Would they not?

By Georgie Porgie on September 1, 2010 at 9:49 PM

Have to admit GP…I am at a lost trying to understand this.

46. Its very simple Techie
    Here you are a teenager. You know nothing except you have some sense of right or wrong.
    You meet some street preachers or you go to church to please your girl friend.
    You hear a Gospel message the basic tenants of which are
    1 You are a sinner
    2 The Bible teaches that the soul that sinneth it shall die- spiritually and be separated from God for eternity
    3 You can not save yourself
    4 Christ died to save you. Salvation is by Christ alone It is a gift of God by grace which you asccept by faith.

You have a choice. You can debunk the above as gunk.
    Or you can accept Christ by faith.
    Maybe you do. Can you divide the Word rightly at that time ? NO. Do you get saved by rightly dividing the Word NO. Do you have to know who created the devil? NO You need only to accept that Christ died to save your sinful soul.

Folk who genuinely do this experience a change in thier lives.
    Most of these folk continue in the the Word as directed in John 8:31. Many of these will read the Word for themselves. OTHERS WILL SEARCH IT AND STUDY IT SEQUENTIALLY AND SYSTEMATICALLY.
    OVER TIME THEY BEGIN TO GROUP SIMILAR SCRIPTURES TO GETHER Thery learn to CUt it straight or RIGHTLY DIVIDE IT.
    For examples you might over time note certain scriptures teach the eternal security of the believer, or the concept of the sealing of the Spirit, or the virgin birth, or the millennium or the antichrist etc

In a good teaching church these things are taught. Maybe you would buy books and read commentaries just as you might do for your hobby or school work or vocatin and you might learn faster. Hope this helps

If you had to rightly divide the Word to be saved who wouuld be saved?

Remember the Phillipian jailor asked Paul WHAT MUST I DO TO BE SAVED

PAUL REPLIED BELIEVE ON THE LORD JESUS CHRIST AND THOU SHALT BE SAVE

Some folk will try to interpret it by Some

47. @ Techie

“No where does the Scripture teach that those who wrongly divide the word are lost.”

Actually I think it does. See the excerpt, but you should read the entire chapter to make sure I’m not pulling a fast one.

2Jn 1:7 For many deceivers are entered into the world, who confess not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh. This is a deceiver and an antichrist.
    2Jn 1:8 Look to yourselves, that we lose not those things which we have wrought, but that we receive a full reward.
    2Jn 1:9 Whosoever transgresseth, and abideth not in the doctrine of Christ, hath not God. He that abideth in the doctrine of Christ, he hath both the Father and the Son.
    2Jn 1:10 If there come any unto you, and bring not this doctrine, receive him not into your house, neither bid him God speed:
    2Jn 1:11 For he that biddeth him God speed is partaker of his evil deeds.

48. It is clear Beck is pushing and emotional rhetoric to mobilize the conservative of America.

It is interesting to date he has succeeded in mobilizing White hick America.

It is interesting the same base which is captivated by his message are very receptive to Sarah Palin.

Beck is another Limbaugh, another nutcase produced by the land of the free.

To be discussing Beck in the same breath as MLK a man who demonstrated he cared by his repeated actions he cared is nonsense.

49. All this diatribe just to support Glen Beck’s attack on Obama. Is it only now that America needs to get back to God? Are we to believe that only with Obama’s election has America moved away from God? It is implied that America at sometime in the past was firmly and totally with God. Yet it is notable and an indisputable fact that one of most egregious failings of America of the past was its mistreatment of minorities, particularly people of African descent. It is thus incredible that we are told that America needs to RETURN to God and only now that Obama is President. This advice from some on this blog is accompanied by an attack on one of the most revered symbols of the opposition to racism. If someone wants to support Beck that is their right. I have no problem with anyone opposing Obama but what is disconcerting that some feel that they have to pull down the work of Martin Luther King in order justify their support of Beck and opposition to Obama. They vehemently excoriate Dr King’s written words for not being Biblically consistent and ask “what has King done other than organise marches and make speeches?”. However for them, they “have been watching Beckโ€™s show for a while. He is not the greatest orator or the smartest tool in the shed, but he certainly provides food for thought, and some interesting principles. And he does have an effect on myriads of people in the USA.”

Some may fervently deny it but for them, an America racist in law, supportive of the exclusive right of white, male, Christian persons to occupy positions of authority and power, uncritically supportive of capitalist exploitation of labour and natural resources and the relentless use of American military and financial power in the support of a Zionist Israel is an America that is well with God.

50. @ Anonymous
    ” Some may fervently deny it but for them, an America racist in law, supportive of the exclusive right of white, male, Christian persons to occupy positions of authority and power, uncritically supportive of capitalist exploitation of labour and natural resources and the relentless use of American military and financial power in the support of a Zionist Israel is an America that is well with God.”

Powerful STUFF!!!