Submitted by Terence Blackett

WASHINGTON โ€” Conservative commentator Glenn Beck and tea party champion Sarah Palin appealed Saturday to a vast, predominantly white crowd on the National Mall to help restore traditional American values and honor Martin Luther King's message. Civil rights leaders who accused the group of hijacking King's legacy held their own rally and march – AP

Yesterday was the 47th anniversary of the historically memorable – I Have A Dream prophetic speech on the Hill* of the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, DC. Words which still move the heart, minds and consciences of men everywhere โ€“ words, worthy of their rightful place in sacred cannon. But let us not be fooled โ€“ like all prophetic utterances, time is still the crucial determinant factor.

In Dr. Kingโ€™s own words โ€“ โ€œWe must be careful at this point not to engage in a superficial optimism or to conclude that the death of a particular evil means that all evil lies dead upon the shore. All progress is precarious, and the solution of one problem brings us face to face with another problem. The Kingdom of God as a universal reality is not yet. But just as we must avoid a superficial optimism, we must also avoid a crippling pessimism. Even though all progress is precarious, within limits real social progress may be made. Although manโ€™s moral pilgrimage may never reach a destination point on this earth, his never-ceasing strivings may bring him closer to the city of righteousnessโ€ฆโ€

On this anniversary of Dr. Kingโ€™s speech, political demigod, FOX News commentator and Tea Party activist Glen Beck and an army of predominantly Caucasian supporters gathered at the said Lincoln Memorial and sought to upstage the legacy of Kingโ€™s prophetic historical window in time by โ€œbilling itself as “restoring honour” to the US and rekindling what Beck and other speakers saw as the spirit of the American Revolution โ€“ family values, low taxation and cutting the Federal deficit.โ€ Beckโ€™s speech was peppered with references to God* and the fact that it was time for American to forge a new direction – โ€œWe have had moments of brilliance and moments of darkness. But this country has spent far too long worried about scars and thinking about the scars and concentrating on the scars.โ€

But what if the โ€œscarsโ€ are still visibly offensive? Can we sell the truth โ€“ in order that we may purchase and accommodate a lie?

Is this the same guy who called Americaโ€™s 1st Black President a racist and someone who hates white people? Where is this โ€œreverse speakโ€ coming from? As Goebbels said – “Tell a lie often enough, people will believe it.”

Aug. 28, 2010 Attendees (Beck's Restoring Honour Rally') were discouraged from bringing political banners, so some wore their sentiments on their shirts instead. Nikki Kahn-The Washington Post

Elitist Caucasian Americans have realized that Martinโ€™s Dream is gaining greater traction while on the other hand, many Blacks due to economic uncertainty in these difficult times are developing and โ€œadopting a fatalistic philosophy stipulating that whatever happens must happen and that all events are determined by necessity.โ€

Dr. King opined in โ€œShattered Dreamsโ€ that โ€œfatalism implies that everything is foreordained and inescapable. People who subscribe to this philosophy succumb to an absolute resignation to that which they consider to be fate and think of themselves as being little more than helpless orphans cast into the terrifying immensity of space. Because they believe that man has no freedom, they seek neither to deliberate nor to make decisions, but rather they wait passively* for external forces to decide for them. They never actively seek to change their circumstances, for they believe that all circumstances, as in Greek tragedies, are controlled by irresistible and foreordained forces. Some fatalists are very religious people who think God as the determiner and controller of destinyโ€ฆโ€

Dr. King also suggests that this view is expressed in a verse of one of our Christian hymns:

Though dark my path and sad my lot,
Let me be still and murmur not,
But breathe the prayer divinely taught,
Thy will be done.

King believes that fatalism purports an appalling conception of God for everything whether good or evil is considered to represent the will of God (even racism). He believes a โ€œhealthy religion rises above the idea that God wills evil. Although God permits evil in order to preserve the freedom of men, He does not cause evil. That which is willed is intended, and the thought that God intend for a child to be born blind or for a man to suffer the ravages of insanity is sheer heresy that pictures God as a devil rather than a loving Fatherโ€ฆโ€

The power within the โ€œSERMON ON THE HILLโ€ destroys the mythology and the paralysing determinism which King concludes that most of us think we are:

But helpless Pieces of the Game He plays
Upon this Chequer-board of Nights & Days
And that we need not trouble about the future, for
The Moving Finger writes: and, having writ,
Moves on: nor all your Piety nor Wit
Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line,
Nor all your Tears wash out a word of it.

Click on the link as a reminder today of how far we have come and how much further we need to goโ€ฆ

Be blessed!!!

255 responses to “The Long Pilgrimage: Bankrupt Moral Leadership And The Fatalism Of Evil Upon Our Shores – Has Anything Been Learnt Since Dr. Martin Luther King’s Speech – “I Have A Dream"?”

1. GP said BU is the place he come to get his comedy…that is so true. This from Zoe has to be the joke of the Millennium….
    .’Glen Beck, on the other hand, went back to the foundation on which America became the greatest nation EVER, notwithstandings its terrible failures, and what exactly was it? A foundational, deep, and abiding belief in Almighty God, His Son, the Lord Jesus Christ, which ultimately gave rise to the abolition of slavery, etc, etc., AND, because America has TURNED away from these foundational, spiritual principles, IT IS FAILING in every which way, so, Beck, sincerely, as best he could, called on AMERICA, to turn back to the ONLY ONE who made her great in the first place, and

Instead of acknowledging this, the โ€˜Leftistโ€™ here on BU, in the absence of any objective, coherent, reflection, launch ugly, nasty, ad hominem attacks on Beck, myopically fixed on RACE, colour, failing utterly to see and understand the bigger picture, and the TRUE AGENDA of the wicked, evil, World Order elite, who control all American policy, of which, Clinton, Bush, and now Obama, who happens to be black, is just another puppet, like all the others!

Ignorance, ( lack of knowledge) is a terrible thing
    Lord help them!!
    I guess when the KKK were hanging our brothers and raping our sisters in the name of God….it was ok.

2. @ Dr. GP
    1Cor.13:12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Dr.
    Perhaps this verse could be applied to most of the those who are trying to ridicule you in this discussion.

Christ also warned us that some of us would have eyes but would not see and have ears but would not hear! ๐Ÿ™‚

3. what will they think of next Avatar
    what will they think of next

OFFTOPIC

Policeman killed in shootout with police.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Policeman-killed-in-shootout-with-police

4. Technician
    I see that you are back! Hope you did well in your exams.

Two things. You donโ€™t have to die to go to heaven. Some folk will have the privilege of going to heaven without dying. Cf Emoch Genesis 5:24, Elijah

See also I Thessalonians 4:13-18 & I Corinthians 15:51-57
    Jesus also taught this concept in John 11.

You are again engaging in your sport of trying to debunk what Zoe said.

I am sure that you know that many persons from Europe fled to America because of religious persecution, so that they could exercise religious freedom.

It is true to say that America is the only country that claim to have be developed on the basis of the Word of God. It is therefore true to say that the foundation on which America became the greatest nation EVER, notwithstandings its terrible failures, was A foundational, deep, and abiding belief in Almighty God, His Son, the Lord Jesus Christ

It is true to say that because America has TURNED away from these foundational, spiritual principles, IT IS FAILING in every which way

These are all undeniable facts, just are the fact of slavery and the KKK. And ZOE DID SAY THAT AMERICA HAD ITS FAILINGS!

It is also true to say that the need is for America to return to God according to the tenets of 2 Chronicles 7:14.

It is true to say that Glen Beck , who has apparently recently found Christ , but is a poor articulator of his faith sought to wake up America to their need to revert to the principle taught in 2 Chronicles 7:14.

Here is the principle Sir.
    13. If I shut up heaven that there be no rain, or if I command the locusts to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among my people; 14. If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.
    It is true to say that It is true to say that certain posters on BU have not given Beck the benefit of the doubt, but in their OMNISCIENCE they โ€œin the absence of any objective, coherent, reflection, launch ugly, nasty, ad hominem attacks on Beck, myopically fixed on RACE, colour, failing utterly to see and understand the bigger picture, and the TRUE AGENDA of the wicked, evil, World Order elite, who control all American policy, of which, Clinton, Bush, and now Obama, who happens to be black, is just another puppet, like all the others!

I suggest to you that there is much merit in what Zoe has said. It might not accord with the views of the majority . But it is sound argument.

This is my problem with BU. Often times folk are expressing the correct view , and are unnecessarily laughed to scorn. You will now come and say โ€˜How does one know what is the correct view, or a reasonable opinion?โ€ I leave you to judge that for yourself.

But Zoe is not wrong because he defended Beck whom some think is anti Obama. Who is actually doing a very good job of FURTHER steering the American ship of state aground. The Healthcare system is a blatant example. We can discuss this in due course.

5. David
    I repeat
    The NT teaches that WE ARE TO TEACH THE WORD NOT GO AND PROMOTE WHAT WE BELIEVE IS RIGHT AND JUST
    The WORD IS SHARPER THAN ANY TWO EDGED SWORD
    The reason why the American blacks are not liberated, is because teachers of Black Liberation Theology DO NOT TEACH THE WORD OF GOD.
    GOD CAN OVERCOME THE DEFICIENCIES OF ANY TEACHER BECAUSE IT IS THE WORD NOT THE TEACHER THAT MATTERS. God can make the hearer hear.
    Yeah David MLK was, a great and superior communicator and DEAD! It is vey easy to whip up a crowd into a frenzy. I can do that on BU now with very little effort. I just have to tell the truth LOL
    Re The reference to change agent was not about changing people but moreso adopting a style which is conducive to people wanting to switch from a heathen lifestyle that which is righteous i.e. a style which tillates their interest, a style on would use to boys on the block, or a bad boy in prison.
    WELL SIR DAVID THE PURPOSE OF TEACHING THE WORD IS TO CHANGE HEARTS. IT IS TO CHANGE PEOPLE. OK IT CHANGED MARTIN LUTHER AND ZWINGLI AND THE REFORMERS.
    It has changed countless millions David. And Moody and others were not sweet talkers nor WAS JESUS OR PAUL OR PETER OR JOHN OR JAMES. Read the NT and you will see.
    David I want you to know that my style and mode of delivery in teaching is accepted everywhere else but on BU. But you know what they say about a prophet in his own country. LOL
    Re you would not feel so if you did not try to make these discussions about you or Zoe and you versus the rest.
    David I am not stupid. These discussions are about denigrating the clear teaching of the Word that Zoe and I have sought to bring to BU It is clearly Zoe and I vs the rest. Yesterday Zoe brought a correct view, and the morons were off and running. They did not try to see any merit in what he was sayingโ€ฆ.and he was quite correct. See my response to my buddy Technician above. Now Techie is a persistent and perennial mocker of Zoe.
    David I try to tell the truth at all times. And it has reached the point where I know visit laughs or timeout etc. Because my vision of what BU should be or can be is a mirage. Because of lack of moderation, it is a free for all. And I will call a spade a spade. I am tired trying to show leadership on BU by engaging allcomers and let the onlookers learn from the exchanges and decide for themselves?
    And whereas folk are welcomed to their own religious views what the Bible teaches is quite clear! It is black and white.
    Why do you presume to tell me the methodology I should use, and why do you believe that the BU family want to learn anything? Or the truth?
    What on earth is Black Theology for example? Or Black Liberation Theology? How come this nonsense is only taught in the USA? Has these blacks a need for liberation more than others?

The Bible is taught in Africa, and the underground Church is strong because they face the same suffering that the early church faced. It is a danger to be a believer in say Nigeria. In the USA where the black church members are fat and face no danger, there is a load of nonsense taught by a few charlatans who are really in truth politicians fleecing their flocks. Have you ever read of the black Baptist pastor Lyons who sold out his denomination to the undertaking business?

The Bible is taught to blaks in the Caribbean but I have never heard any Black Liberation Theology in any of the Carribean countries where I have lived. Don’t Carribbean blacks want liberating too?

What about the UK where the Bible is taught to folk of African descent?

6. David

Did you read this junk below? Now you understand why I visit for laughs.

Anonymous | August 30, 2010 at 12:01 AM |
    For those who may be interested in another perspective of the Christian life, the following is shared with readers. It is taken from the following website. In my opinion it refutes the apathetic โ€œwe canโ€™t change anything so just wait for the Lordโ€ nonsense that GP preaches .

Here is a person who has not searched or studied the Scriptures for himself. He must copy and paste articles he finds on the net in an attempt to refute a position that I hold which he does not understand because of his betzpaenia and spiritual galactosemia.

This seed picker thinks that I am apathetic and believe that โ€œwe canโ€™t change anything so just wait for the Lordโ€ .

He is clearly not cognizant of the fact that WAITING FOR THE LORD IS THE CLEAR TEACHING OF THE NT

TWO HOLD BOOKS ARE DEVOTED TO THIS SUBJECT i.e 1 & 2 Thessalonians.

These books teach believers not only to WAIT but also to WATCH
    TO WAKE UP AND TO
    TO WAR read 1 Thess 5.

You see David when I teach the Word, the hearers tend to know the basics or at least they have RECEPTIVE HEARTS! On BU they are seeking to show that I can not rrightly divide the Word. They are hostile. They have stony hearts as described in the parables of the seed. In the Greek the word for “stony ground” is BED ROCK!

What do you want me to do BUT LAUGH LOL

7. Two whole books are devoted to the second coming

Several chapters such as 2 Peter 3 and the three chapters on the Olivet Discourse are given over to the concept of waiting.

Several major passdages such as Titus 2 11 et secq
    11. For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men,
    12. Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world;
    13. Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ;
    14. Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity, and purify unto himself a peculiar people, zealous of good works.

15. These things speak, and exhort, and rebuke with all authority. Let no man despise thee.

Note that believers are to Look for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ; VERSE 13

Note that it was JESUS not MLK who died for blacks VERSE 14 Any who say differently are WRONG…..according to what the Bible teaches.

Note Anonymous verse 14 says that believers must WORK! See also Titus 3:14 Ephesians 2:10

Sorry Annony It is not easy to give a crash course on the Christian life by giving a web site. LOL

8. GP…
    Man don’t mek me laugh.
    I don’t come here trying to debunk Zoe or you but anyone who claims that America was founded or developed on the basis of the word of God has been on crack pipes too long!!
    Show me the word of God in the treatment of slaves, the Indian (true native Americans).
    Where is the word of God in segregation, racism and servitude of a people.
    Show me the foundation and the basis of the word of God in the inhumane practices meted out to the same immigrants who fled persecution in their homeland and came to America.
    It is not for me to debunk or mock as you accuse me of, just asking obvious questions.
    Why is it that every time I have to say something that you or Zoe don’t like, it is
    called mocking?
    Don’t you mock BU also when you claim it is just a place for you to laugh at the illiterates, yet it is a forum for you to share your biblical and medical lessons…make up ya mind man.
    Zoe is quick to label anyone who don’t agree with him a ‘leftist’…does that make you and him right wing fellows…just asking?

Btw…the exam is in October in NY, where it costs much less, thanks for the well wishes.

9. Techie
    NO one denies the points you are making about the atrocities that were done, Sir.

But it can not be denied that founding fathers had strong beliefs in God. Nor can it be denied that no other country had a similar origin.

History will show that even men with the best intentions have erred. The greatest Bible characters had flaws e.g Noah Moses David Solomon etc

BTW
    I have no political interests either here or at home.

I still think that Zoe’s defense of Beck is reasonable. I take Beck at his word and do not judge his motives. I think that Beck is a novice in Biblical issues, and probably confused about his role. Consequently he was unable to do the job he set out to do; and for which he is probably most unsuitable in many ways.

But I give him credit for trying.

I am interested in progress efficiency etc

10. @ GP….

You say that you divide the word correctly.
    I am asking you this, since there is only ONE TRUTH, is it reasonable to say that anyone who have not arrived at the same conclusion as you or Zoe is therefore incorrect?
    You and Zoe have already dismissed the Catholics, Anglicans, JWs, Mormons, SDA etc.
    Do the Jewish that Zoe defends so earnestly also divide the word correctly?….just asking.

11. Quoted by my husband in a letter to the Nation that was never published(we all know why) :
    “There is something inherently insulting about the proposition that we’d be incapable of choosing right from wrong if we didn’t fear that a capricious despot up in the sky would condemn us to hell. But the biggest flaw in this argument is its assumption that belief in God does make its adherents choose good behaviour over bad. If that were
    the case, this world —which is full of believers —- would be a far better place. In God’s name humans have slaughtered infidels, enslaved millions from other tribes, burned witches, persecuted those who were”different” and mutilated the genitalia of defenseless children. (Hardly an exhaustive list —–feel free to add your own atrocities).”

If that’s the morality we’d be lacking in a Bible-less and Godless world, I am all for it.

12. GP
    do you walk on water too?! Do not begrudge Dr King the respect and gratitude of millions of people who recognise his contribution. Doesn’t it strike you as unbalanced to vent on the work of a dead man?

13. No annonymous I prefer to swim LOL
    You can worship MLK like millions others.
    I have never done so, and I dont plan to start

Is it not true that millions vent on the FINISHED SALVIFIC WORK OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST WHO DIED FOR THIER SINS? MLK died to save no one. To me his death is nothing. Not much different to you considering me a pompous buffoon and a non entity. LOL

I plan to worship JESUS ONLY! OK

14. In an interview on Fox/Faux News Bck admitted he is retracting his statement about Obama aving a deep seated hate for white people:

Wallace: “Do you regret having called [Obama] a racist and saying he had a deep seated hatred for white people?”

Beck: “Of course I do. I don’t want to retract the, um … I want to amend that I think it is much more of a theological question, that he is a guy who understands the world through liberation theology, which is oppressor-and-victim. ‘Racist,’ first of all, it shouldn’t have been said. It was poorly said. I have a big fat mouth sometimes and I say things. That’s just not the way people should behave. And it was not accurate. It is liberation theology that has shaped his world view.”

15. Soon and very soon all the TRUE BELIEVERS WILL DEPART FROM THIS WORLD. All the sinning believers will just vanish….. and it will be a God less believer less world.

But according to 2 Thessalonians 2 it wont be lots of fun. If you reject the TRUTH YOU BELIVE THE LIE

IF YOU REJECT CHRIST YOU WILL BE DEALING WITH ANTICHRIST!

I will like to hear the moronic mouthings then. Problem it wont be funny.

16. Techie

It should be obvious from a superficial reading of the Gospels that non belieing Jews wrongly divide the word of truth. Paul had lots of trouble with them in his journeys as described in Acts. Hope this helps.

Im amazed that you would think that Zoe does not know this fact LOL.

17. Mr David Sir

Did you see today’s Advocate.

Isnt it amazing that all of a sudden all these men who have been working in A & E for donkey years are now seeing that A& E ought to be extended to the polyclinics.

Isnt that an idea circulated on BU since January 2008?

Isnt that an idea presented to Government since January 2008? Ah lie?

18. Techie

It should be obvious from a superficial reading of the Gospels that non belieing Jews wrongly divide the word of truth. Paul had lots of trouble with them in his journeys as described in Acts. Hope this helps.

Im amazed that you would think that Zoe does not know this fact LOL.

By Georgie Porgie on August 30, 2010 at 12:43 PM

Lol GP…you should be a politician or laywer…that is not what I meant and you knew full well but hey, I have come across this type of answer before lol.

19. @GP

Read it with a smile.

20. GP opined….’May I ask you Sir, Oh fount of knowledge . ML King sacrificed his life to see the advancement and enfranchisement of his people (and by extension, the harmonious relatlionshiips of all), and the result to day is exactly what ???????

Jesus did the same and the result is what?????

21. Techie
    A man cant win a round with you eh?
    You debunk the people’s accepted History
    Now you want to turn me into a lawyer or politician . You not easy man LOL
    Me thinks its you that should be the lawyer politician, and do the Techie stuff as a hobby! Murdah.

22. Anonymous
    As a result of Jesus intervention many ae to day preparing for the rapture, after which the fellas and gals who belive will be singing IN TUNE around the glassy sea with the four and twenty elders or with those praising the Lamb that was slain ( Revelation 4 & 5) LOL

23. CauseForConcern. Avatar
    CauseForConcern.

Glen Beck is a reptilian shape shifter working for the Illuminati bloodline families,i’m not sure if he is family to anyone in particular but he is being used to further their agenda,watch these videos to learn more of your destiny or as some say our ” DOOM”

24. CauseForConcern. Avatar
    CauseForConcern.

Not to burst your bubble guys but nearly all leaders of the world and certain members of their government that have direct ties to the Illuminati are reptilian shape shifters put there by the bloodline families,snakes especially,i don’t know if we have any here in Barbados but we will see in time.

Another example: -Most of them are reporters for news outlets like Fox news and CNN,here is a classic Brian Todd video,look at his eyes,tongue and lips.

25. No one can be right all the time
    (Talking about GP not Obama)

26. Q.Where would America be if it wasn’t for slavery. Where would Britain and Europe be if it wasn’t for Colonialism.
    A. Starving and living in poverty.

27. Folks, White America is angry, outraged at this black face, in that “White House.” It is as if whites woke up from a drunkened stupor, and are holding their heads, and saying “What have we done, we’ve elected a blackman.” Most of you, who have so admirably contributed to this blog, may have overlooked, how white Americans really think. Glen Beck a native son of the Pacific Northwest (Washington State)never has had any interaction with blacks, or people of color period. The fact that these “Tea Party” types are espousing these views, is just a reach back in time, predicated on the learned behavior coming from their ancestral lines. Although Dr King’s dream was good in its time, no longer can we the majority dark complexioned occupants of this planet, believe in pricipal and only in words, without actions. We must rise up, and crush any attempt by anyone, who will hearken to the sub-plot of returning America to an age of racial despotism. At he apex of this “Tea Party” foolishness, one will find a tremendous number of disheartened, disgruntle”Whit men.” Ask yourselves, why are white men, the ruling class in America, disgruntled? I’ll tell you why! They’re disgruntled because, global power is out of their reach. The rest of the world if it has not caught up to the United States of America, will be cathing up to the good old USA. No longer can the USA dominate, as the mouth piece of the world. White American men, were use to priviledge lives of flaunting their Americanesall over the world, and regardless of their indifference to other races, they were permitted to escape with the commission of horrific acts. In today’s geo political climate, Americans are being held accountable. Glenn Beck, the idiot savant Sarah Palin, Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity and others, are attempting to return America to a bygone age of political racial upheaval. The “Tea Partyers” are not making a political statement, their making a “Racial Statement.” The Licoln Memorial, was just the beginning, of what will lead America, down the road to future racial tensions, pehaps even race riots. In sum, that’s exactly what white disgruntled men would enjoy witnessing and participating in, especially during the Presidency of Barack Obama.

28. The good old days when police insulted blacks in the company of children and families.

29. Beck’s lunacy has been ignored for too long. He and his supporters are dangerous.

30. I dont know why you guys are making so much about Beck’s rally. Beck’s rally is much too late! The horse has left the stable a while ago.

As I have told you guys over and over the USA is not mentioned in prophecy. It must decline, and it is declining! As the Kings of the East and the Kings of the North and West and South gain the ascendancy…..as written.

Beck’s rally can not turn back the clock, nor is/was it about black or white.

However, for a “lunatic” as one of you called him, he did well to get such a loud crowd there. Didnt he? LOL.

31. ”It is time to say that glenn beck who has apparently recently found Christ”
    Beck religion of choice is that of being a Mormon! Isn’t that the religion that GP and Zoe dissed on other threads !
    The only thing Beck have found recently is a way to use the Bible that would earn him millions and generate higher bratings for his show.

32. It really angers me when I hear these Americans run off at the mouth about democracy. Hypocrits, and parasites they are. These mass marauders, who fantacise about democracy without allowing democratic ideals to others. The USA has always lied about race matters, and their intentions to allow blacks equal access to constitutional freedoms enjoyed by whites. To understand the USA, one only needs to read through the entire USA constitutional document, and its twenty seven amendments. The bill of rights (The first ten amendments to the constitution) alone, should have been enough to offer guaranteed protections to the black population of the USA. Yet, the racist founding fathers of the USA, needed a thirteenth and fourteenth, and still thirteent more amendments to the constitution, to form a more perfect union. America’s tap dance with constituional decency is but another attempt at a “Smoke and Mirrors” trickery session. We who are able to live within the confines of black skin, know all to well, that no one can “legislate morality.” Moral indecency allows for the Glenn Becks of the world to denegrate, without moral outrage, the greatness of Dr Martin Luther King’s legacy. Remember, my brothers and sisters, the greatest historian in West Indian History, Dr Eric Williams, outlined the treachery of Columbus’ assault on our ancestors, by offering historical proof that Columbus was “kneeling to God, and enslaving the natives.” White America, has always praised god in one white breath, yet passed the ammunition of hatred in yet another breath. To allow the tolerance of hatred and racial malfeasance in twenty first century America, after all that blacks have endured, for five hundred years speaks volumes of the state of racial affairs in America. Make no mistake about this or any other facts as they relate to white America, all they care about is the color of money, and not about a damn thing else. There is no black community anywhere in the USA. If there was, reasonably speaking, blacks would not rely on whites for almost everything conceivable. The word community, speaks to an environ that self helps, is self absorbed and cures its problems, without interference from without. An ability to plan for generations yet unborn, building space stations, instead of engaging in mental midgetry with “Play Stations,” facilitates for communal growth and comittment to our people (Black People). Do not for one minute believe, that I’m angry with white intent for survival, I’m not. You see, if whites who are only ten percent of the world’s population don’t protect the sanctity of their generations yet unborn, who will? In order to understand the seriousness, of our state of global economic black affairs, we must enlist black people who do not suffer from the “Illusion of Inclusion.” Gone are those ignorant manifestations of “Stepin Fetchit” and the other despicable displays of black laziness and self pity. This is a proclamation of black self consciouness, only seriously committed blacks need apply. I don’t blame any “Tea Party” individual in America, I blame myself, for my ineptitude and lack of foresight. I want to thank the “Tea Party,” from this day forward, I am invigorated with the hope of a renewal to god, self, family and race. No longer can I afford to stand helplessly on the sidelines of self destruction, and by design allow the destruction of my family and my race. I just want to plan for generations yet unborn.

33. A fellow blogger has asked to do a reblog of his post on Mr. Beck. Here is some background on blogger Blipsterfarian to be found HERE.

Thereโ€™s Something About Glenn Beck

Posted on August 30, 2010 by Blipsterfarian Logic

Itโ€™s that he is a moronic, racist provocateur.

Let us consider the background. In the dying days of the summer of 1963, Dr. King gave his monumental โ€˜I have a Dreamโ€™ speech to a crowd of hundreds of thousands. What is not often recounted is that a significant percentage of the crowd was white. That day was about freedom, inclusion and admonishing America to live up to its promise. It was not simply a watershed in the Civil Rights movement, it was a turning point in American history.

Decades later, enter Glenn Beck who convenes an orgy of hateful self-promotion called the Restoring Honor Rally on the same date and at the same place that Dr. King delivered his address. Glenn Beck? Honour? This is a man who has gone as far as to claim President Obama is a racist and has a long history of racist provocation in the media. Beck has consistently tried to portray President Obama as an un-American outsider. So how could Glenn Beck restore anything, much less honour? Look at some of his recent pronouncements:

I wouldnโ€™t be surprised if in our lifetime dogs and fire hoses are released or opened on us. I wouldnโ€™t be surprised if a few of us get a billy club to the head. I wouldnโ€™t be surprised if some of us go to jail โ€” just like Martin Luther King did โ€” on trumped-up charges. Tough times are coming.

Read full blog HERE.

34. Kiki
    You’re right, Slavery provided the vehicle of wealth to the world. But you must also know this, “Rulers of Kingdoms, and dynasties,” that Africa gave the modern day Calendar, the alphabet and a system of mathematics to this world. Enslavement and social decay, are those things most associated with our people, yet had it not been for African ingenuity, most of the modern amenities enjoyed today, would never have existed. That it why, every black person on this planet should endeavor to walk proud, carrying the legacy of greatness of our ancestral past. It is disgraceful, for us to destroy the legacy of our ancestors, by allowing the populations born into our race to become enslaved by prison confinement, and lack of education. I’m speaking to black men mostly here, we must rise above the level of self absorbed moral self destruction, to find ourselves, deserving of the good black women in this world. We can no longer afford to hangout with the shiftless black men in our neighborhoods, who do nothing all day, except breathe, and expect for government handouts. Again, we can’t afford to play with “Play Stations,” while white men are building “Space Stations.” We as black men have to step up to the mantle of responsibility in our homes, and lead by example. Thank you Kiki.

35. @Expatriate

It is as if whites woke up from a drunkened stupor, and are holding their heads, and saying โ€œWhat have we done, weโ€™ve elected a black man.โ€

I have been saying the same thing.

I came across an article at the Newsweek recently written by Julia Baird.

Entitled: Blacks Are Getting Happier
    Whites are not. Ask your mother why.

Excerpt:

Itโ€™s been an ugly time in race relations lately. Radio host Laura Schlessinger used the N word 11 times in five minutes; Shirley Sherrod, a black woman who preached redemption, was accused of hating whites; and professional provocateur Glenn Beck described himself and his fans as the real โ€œinheritors and protectors of the civil-rights movement.โ€

36. Here are some of Martin’s own words:

“In my senior year in theological seminary, I engaged in the exciting reading of various theological theories. Having been raised in a rather strict fundamentalist tradition, I was occasionally shocked when my intellectual journey carried me through new and sometimes complex doctrinal lands, but the โ€˜PILGRIMAGEโ€™ was always stimulating, gave me a new appreciation for objective appraisal and critical analysis, and knocked me out of my dogmatic slumber.”

“Liberalism provided me with an intellectual satisfaction that I had never found in fundamentalism. I became so enamored of the insights of liberalism that I almost fell into the trap of accepting uncritically everything it encompassed. I was absolutely convinced of the natural goodness of man and the natural power of human reason.”

“A basic change in my thinking came when I started to question some of the theories that had been associated with so-called liberal theology. Of course, there are aspects of liberalism that I hope to cherish always: its devotion to the search for truth, its insistence on an open and analytical mind, and its refusal to abandon the best lights of reason. The contribution of liberalism to the philological-historical criticism of Biblical literature has been of immeasurable value and should be defended with religious and scientific passion.”

“But I began to question the liberal doctrine of man. The more I observed the tragedies of history and man’s shameful inclination to choose the low road, the more I came to see the depths and strengths of sin. My reading of the works of Reinhold Niebuhr made me aware of the complexity of human motives and the reality of sin on every level of man’s existence. Moreover, I came to recognize the complexity of man’s social involvement and the glaring reality of collective evil. I realized that liberalism had been all too sentimental concerning human nature and that it had leaned toward a false idealism.”

“Although most of my formal study has been in systematic theology and philosophy, I have become more and more interested in social ethics. During my early teens I was deeply concerned by the problem of racial injustice. I considered segregation both rationally inexplicable and morally unjustifiable. I could never accept my having to sit in the back of a bus or in the segregated section of a train. The first time that I was seated behind a curtain in a dining-car I felt as though the curtain had been dropped on my selfhood. I also learned that the inseparable twin of racial injustice is economic injustice. I saw how the system of segregation exploited both the Negro and the poor whites. These early experiences made me deeply conscious of the varieties of injustice in our society.”

“My personal trials have also taught me the value of unmerited suffering. As my sufferings mounted I soon realized that there were two ways in which I could respond to my situation – either to react with bitterness or seek to transform the suffering into a creative force. I decided to follow the latter course. Recognizing the necessity for suffering, I have tried to make of it a virtue. If only to save myself from bitterness I have attempted to see my personal ordeals as an opportunity to transfigure myself and heal the people involved in the tragic situation which now obtains. I have lived these last few years with the conviction that unearned suffering is redemptive. There are some who still find the CROSS* a stumbling-block, others consider it foolishness, but I am more convinced than ever before that it is the power of God unto social and individual salvation. So like the Apostle Paul I can now humbly, yet proudly say, ‘I bear in my body the marks of the Lord Jesus’.”

“In the midst of outer dangers, I have felt an inner calm. In the midst of lonely days and dreary nights I have heard an inner voice saying – ‘Lo, I will be with you.’ When the chains of fear and the manacles of frustration have all but stymied my efforts, I have felt the power of God transforming the fatigue of despair into the buoyancy of hope. I am convinced that the Universe is under the control of a loving purpose, and that in the struggle for righteousness man has cosmic companionship. Behind the harsh appearances of the world there is a benign power… In spite of the tensions and uncertainties of this period something profoundly meaningful is taking place. Old systems of exploitation and oppression are passing away; new systems of justice and equality are being born. In a real sense this is a great time to be alive. Therefore I am not yet discouraged about the future. Granted that we face a world crisis which leaves us standing so often amidst the surging murmur of life’s restless sea. But every crisis has both its dangers and its opportunities. It can spell either salvation or doom. In a dark, confused world the Kingdom of God may yet reign in the hearts of men”

37. Here is the Shirley Sherrod NAACP speech. It is not a black and white thing. It is a green thing:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9NcCa_KjXk&fs=1&hl=en_US]

38. The blogger which ‘broke’ the Sherrod story edited her talk to make her look like a racist. I hope her suit hits where it hurts, in his pocket.

39. @Hants
    Re Did you read this GP
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/sick-bay-solution/

Yes I did, Both the Advocate and the Nation carried stories where the guys are now parrotting the ideas that I presented to the DLP, and later on BU in January 2008.

Here we see men who have been A &E doctors for decades have suddenly come to the realization that the function of the polyclinics must be upgraded to take the weight off the QEH.

Causes you to wonder. LOL I have always been a visionary and usually way ahead of my peers in thinking. Same thing happens in the church and at the Medical Schools at which I have taught.

40. More from Martin:

“From all that I have attempted to say it should now be apparent that sincerity and conscientiousness in themselves are not enough. History has proven that these noble virtues may denigrate into tragic vices. Nothing in all the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity.”

Shakespeare wrote:
    ‘For sweetest things turn sourest by their deeds;
    Lilies that fester smell far worse than weeds.’

โ€œAs the chief moral guardian of the community, the church must implore men to be good and well-intentioned and must extol the virtues of kindheartedness and conscientiousness. But somewhere along the way the church must remind men that devoid of intelligence, goodness and conscientiousness will become brutal forces leading to shameful crucifixions. Never must the church tire of reminding men that they have a moral responsibility to be intelligent.”

“Must we not admit that the church has often overlooked this moral demand for enlightenment? At times it has talked as though ignorance was a virtue and intelligence was a crime. Through its obscurantism, close-mindedness, and obstinacy to new truth, the church has often unconsciously encouraged its worshipers to look askance upon intelligence.”

“But if we are to call ourselves Christians, we had better avoid intellectual and moral blindness. Throughout the New Testament we are reminded of the need for enlightenment. We are commanded to love God, not only with our hearts and souls, but also with our minds. When the Apostle Paul noticed the blindness of many of his opponents, he said, ‘I bear them record that they have a zeal for God but not according to knowledge.’ Over and again the Bible reminds us of the danger of zeal without knowledge and sincerity without intelligence.”

“So we have a mandate both to conquer sin and also to conquer ignorance. Modern man is presently having a rendezvous with chaos, not merely because of human badness, but also because of human stupidity. If Western civilization continues to denigrate until it, like twenty-four of its predecessors, falls hopelessly into a bottomless void, the cause will be not only its undeniable sinfulness, but also its appalling blindness. And if American democracy gradually disintegrates, it will be due as much to a lack of insight as to a lack of commitment to right. If modern man continues to flirt unhesitatingly with war and eventually transforms his earthly habitat into an inferno such as even the mind of Dante could not imagine, it will have resulted from downright badness and also from downright stupidity.”

41. The Shirley Sherrod story was powerful.

42. Here’s Martin on “Loving Your Enemies”

“Modern psychology recognizes what Jesus taught centuries ago: hate divides the personality and love in an amazing and inexorable way unites it.”

“A third reason why we should love our enemies is that love is the only force capable of transforming an enemy into a friend. We never get rid of an enemy by meeting hate with hate; we get rid of an enemy by getting rid of enmity. By its very nature, hate destroys and tears down; by its very nature, love creates and builds up. Love transforms with redemptive power.”

“Lincoln tried love and left for all history a magnificent drama of reconciliation. When he was campaigning for the presidency, one of his arch-enemies was a man named Stanton. For some reason Stanton hated Lincoln. He used every ounce of his energy to degrade him in the eyes of the public. So deep-rooted was Stanton hate for Lincoln that he uttered unkind words about his physical appearance, and sought to embarrass him at every point with the bitterest diatribes. But in spite of this Lincoln was elected President of the United States. Then came the period when he had to select his cabinet which would consist of persons who would be his most intimate associates in implementing his programme. He started choosing men here and there for the various secretaryships. The day finally came for Lincoln to select a man to fill the all-important post of Secretary of War. Can you imagine whom Lincoln chose to fill this post? None other than the man named Stanton. There was an immediate uproar in the inner circle when the news began to spread. Adviser after adviser was heard saying, ‘Mr. President, you are making a mistake. Do you know this man Stanton? Are you familiar with all the ugly things he said about you? He is your enemy. He will seek to sabotage your programme. Have you thought this through?’ Mr. Lincolnโ€™s answer was terse and to the point: ‘Yes I know Mr. Stanton. I am aware of all the terrible things he has said about me. But after looking over the nation, I find he is the best man for the job.’ So Stanton became Abraham Lincoln’s Secretary of War and rendered an invaluable service to his nation and to his President. Not many years later Lincoln was assassinated. Many laudable things were said about him. Even today, millions of people still adore him as the greatest of all Americans. H. G. Wells selected him as one of six great men of history. But of all the great statements made about Abraham Lincoln, the words of Stanton remain among the greatest. Standing near the dead body of the man he once hated, Stanton referred to him as one of the greatest men that ever lived and said ‘he now belongs to the ages’. If Lincoln had hated Stanton both men would have gone to their graves as bitter enemies. But through the power of love Lincoln transformed an enemy into a friend. It was this same attitude that made that it possible for Lincoln to speak a kind word about the South during the Civil War when feeling was most bitter. Asked by a shocked bystander how he could do this, Lincoln said, ‘Madam, do I not destroy my enemies when I make them my friends?’ This is the power of redemptive love”

43. @David

“The Shirley Sherrod story was powerful”.

Amen. I thought I had to share it.

44. @GP,
    Some of your interpretation of end-time-events are unscriptural and loaded with error. For example, this thing about Jesus coming and leaving people on the earth (Secret Rapture).

I

45. Sorry about that break.
    In an earlier post you mentioned Scofield and his Bible.

Any respectable theologian or deep reader of things theological knows that that Bible is suspect and not used as seminary material. You could as well have quoted from the New World Translation.

46. Little Bobbie
    Why dont you go and ask mummy to teach you how to read.
    Ask her to help you to understand what book is being taught at Dallas Theological Seminary
    Let her help you to try to understand the Word from Constables Notes.

http://www.soniclight.com/constable/notes.htm
    Little Bobbie its folk like you that gives me so much mirth on BU. Fellas like you give me lots of pain in my sides.

Come again soon OK

47. More from Martin on “The Answer To A Perplexing Question”

“The second idea from removing evil from the world stipulates that if man waits submissively upon the Lord, in His own good time God alone will redeem the world. Rooted in a pessimistic doctrine of human nature, this idea, which eliminates completely the capability of sinful man to do anything, was prominent in the Reformation, that great spiritual movement which gave birth to the Protestant concern for moral and spiritual freedom and served as a necessary corrective for a corrupt and stagnant medieval church.”

“The doctrine of justification by faith and the priesthood of all believers are towering principles which we as Protestants must forever affirm, but the Reformation doctrine of human nature over-stressed the corruption of man. The Renaissance was too optimistic, and the Reformation too pessimistic. The former so concentrated on the goodness of man that it overlooked his capacity for evil; the latter so concentrated on the wickedness of man that it overlooked his capacity for goodness. While rightfully affirming the sinfulness of human nature and man’s incapacity to save himself, the Reformation wrongly affirmed that the image of God had been completely erased from man.”

“This led to the Calvanistic concept of total depravity of man and to a resurrection of the terrible idea of infant damnation. So depraved is human nature, said the doctrinaire Calvinist, that if a baby dies without baptism he will burn forever in hell. Certainly this carries the idea of man’s sinfulness too far.”

โ€œThis lopsided Reformation theology has often emphasized a purely other-worldly religion, which stresses the utter hopelessness of this world and calls upon the individual to concentrate on preparing his soul for the world to come. By ignoring the need for social reform, religion is divorced from the mainstream of human life. A pulpit committee listed as the first essential qualification for a new minister: ‘He must preach the true gospel and not talk about social issues.’ This is a blueprint for a dangerously irrelevant church where people assemble to hear pious platitudes.”

“By disregarding the fact that the gospel deals with man’s body as well as his soul, such a one-sided emphasis creates a tragic dichotomy between the sacred and the secular. To be worthy of its New Testament origin, the church must seek to transform both individual lives and the social situation that brings to many people anguish of spirit and cruel bondage.”

“The idea that man expects God to do everything leads inevitably to a callous misuse of prayer. For if God does everything, man then ask Him for anything, and God becomes little more than a ‘cosmic bellhop’ who is summoned for every trivial need. Or God is considered so omnipotent and man so powerless that prayer is a substitute for work and intelligence.”

“A man said to me, ‘I believe in integration, but I know it will not come until God wants it to come. You Negroes should stop protesting and start praying.’ I am certain we need to pray for God’s help and guidance in this integration struggle, but we are gravely misled if we think the struggle will be won only by prayer. God, who gave us minds for thinking and bodies for working, would defeat His own purpose if He permitted us to obtain through prayer what may come through work and intelligence. Prayer is a marvelous and necessary supplement of our feeble efforts, but it is a dangerous substitute. When Moses strove to lead the Israelites to the Promised Land, God made it clear that He would not do for them what they could do for themselves. ‘And the Lord said unto Moses, wherefore criest thou unto me? Speak unto the children of Israel that they go forward’.”

48. "The second idea from removing evil from the world stipulates that if man waits submissively upon the Lord, in His own good time God alone will redeem the world. Rooted in a pessimistic doctrine of human nature, this idea, which eliminates completely the capability of sinful man to do anything, was prominent in the Reformation, that great spiritual movement which gave birth to the Protestant concern for moral and spiritual freedom and served as a necessary corrective for a corrupt and stagnant medieval church.

Posted by TB @ 2010/08/31 at 6:40 AM

A quote from MLK

MLK unlike many theologians of today went out amongst the people to seek to be an agent for change to promote what he believed was right and just. He did so at great sacrifice to his family, friends and himself paying with his life. Many of our modern theologians prefer to jet around in private jets, extorting fees to deliver flowery speeches and to preach from pulpits adorn with crystal and and other adornments. Jesus Christ must be squirming wherever he is on the mountaintop as he surveys the chaos and lament about those who have sought the comfort of resigning to the fate of prophecies to be unfolded. If half the theologians had the belief, conviction and charisma of MLK to confront the vicissitude of this world, it would be a hell of a place as we wait.

Posted by David @ August 29, 2010 at 10:09 PM

A quote from David (BU)