Chief Justice Designate Marston Gibson

BU has received word from an unimpeachable source that Marston Gibson has been named as the next Chief Justice of Barbados.  When he assumes office he will become the 13th  Chief Justice of Barbados.

There has been robust discussion on BU about the attributes David Simmons’ successor needs to bring to the job. It is no secret our Judiciary is in need of leadership. In recent years we have seen how an inefficient Registrar of the Court combined with the influence of a few lawyers have held our Courts to ransom. The BU lobby supported an appointment from outside the circle of the Barbados legal fraternity; someone who should possess the breath in qualification that straddles academic and administrative experience. Based on our source it appears Prime Minister David Thompson and Cabinet have taken the bold step by selecting such a person.

Here is a brief Bio of Chief Justice Designate Marston Gibson:

Work and Education

Employers

• Supreme Court of New York, Nassau County May 1998 – PresentCourt Attorney – RefereeMineola, New York

Grad School

• Hugh Wooding Law School, Legal Education Certificate (L.E.C) ’81L.E.C.
  • Oxford University, Bachelor of Civil Law (B.C.L) ’79 B.C.L.

College

• University of the West Indies, Bachelor of Laws (LL.B) ’75Law

High School

• Foundation School ’70
  • Harrison College ’72

120 responses to “Barbados Government Selects Next Chief Justice From Outside The Inner Ring”

1. Simmons and the Brathwaite wanna be PhD guy that so likes this blog should not be so proud ..no?

2. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@BAFBFP
    “the Brathwaite wanna be PhD guy that so likes this blog ”
    That is one hell of a statement. I am not sure if it is something to be proud of, something meaning to be derogatory, or a bit of my own familiar and playful banter. Whatever the case, I can say with God’s help I SHALL achieve what I set out to accomplish, but that is besides the main point. I have no problems in using ‘new media’ to get across ideas and opinions. Indeed, BU is an available means and I shall so use it unless the moderators bars my entries. I am sure that the ‘eastern wisdom’ that you postulate makes you an advocate too for expressions through this technological median.
    On the question of the Chief Justice, I spoke at some length on VOB’s Sunday Brass Tacks on the issue. As long as this person’s record can be held up to scrutiny and their efforts match or surpass those set by Sir David, I see no reason why I should have objection. Maybe, and I really mean maybe, it is the DEMS that may cough up the greatest objections since they are more likely to believe that someone deserving to sit at the feast of the fatted calf may be more beneficial even if a sacrificial lamb themselves. What we do need in place is a clear separation of politics from the judiciary, and independence of the judiciary from the other mechanisms of governance. We need a system that is fair, impartial, and is of the highest integrity lending to certainty and respect for justice in this fair land of ours called Barbados. Is this right and something for which I can be proud .. no?

3. Derogatory… Hell YES

4. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

For good measure, I am also wondering whether this possible move on the part of the Barbados Government would have in place a public official who endorses the proposed immigration policies (i.e. crackdown and other practices designed to curb the presence of the unwanted CARICOM nationals) in Barbados .. no? I am sure that BAFBFP will fill in for BU readers; I understand that the intelligence agencies in the orient are very good and thorough in their findings .. no?

5. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@BAFBFP
    “Derogatory… Hell YES”
    Wow! So unlike the eastern mannerisms I have grown accustomed? Maybe your change of diet affects your judgement .. no? Well it would be a waste of your energies to spend time attempting to berate me; not only is it uncalled for, but I have become accustomed to that as well and I am sure to withstand any onslaught by you (or anyone else for that matter). New strategy needed or go to another gullible soul.

6. Sorry Braf’

Emotion transcend language, and for that I am apologetical … You not very up front and for PhD that is requirement …no?

7. I welcome this approach and selection. However I do not expect any immediate nor short-term changes to the judiciary. I wish him every success, however he chooses to measures it. I look forward to be able to use this success as a best practice for Barbadian voters to use in electing their parliamentary representatives. Qualified yet outside of the establish parties.

8. David:

Having read the posts, so far, on this topic, especially the allusions to “being up front” and “measuring it”, I could not resist posting the following selection from Horace’s Odes, though I hope that GCB, ABD, sees no connection to himself:

BkISatVIII:1-22 Priapus on the Esquiline. 4

I was once a fig-tree’s trunk, a lump of useless wood,
    Till the carpenter, uncertain whether to carve Priapus
    Or a stool, decided on the god. So I’m a god, the terror
    Of thieves and birds: my right hand keeps the thieves away
    Along with the red shaft rising obscenely from my groin:
    While the reed stuck on my head frightens naughty birds,
    And stops them settling here in Maecenas’ new Gardens.
    Once slaves paid to have the corpses of their fellows,
    Cast from their narrow cells, brought here in a cheap box.
    This was the common cemetery for a mass of paupers,
    Like that joker Pantolabus, and the wastrel Nomentanus.
    Here a pillar marked a width of a thousand feet for graves,
    Three hundred deep, ground ‘not to be passed to the heirs’!
    Now you can live on a healthier Esquiline and stroll
    On the sunny Rampart, where sadly you used to gaze
    At a grim landscape covered with whitened bones.
    Personally it’s not the usual thieves and wild creatures
    Who haunt the place that cause me worry and distress,
    As those who trouble human souls with their drugs
    And incantations: I can’t escape them or prevent them
    From collecting bones and noxious herbs as soon as
    The wandering Moon has revealed her lovely face.

Just letting you people know that I’m still around!

9. @Adrian. I agree. This is a terrific choice. Mr Gibson is a fine jurist and administrator and he is also a top scholar. The Thompson government has done well if this appointment is confirmed – very well indeed and congratulations are well deserved and in order. Members of the inner circle have no right whatseoever in the highest judicial office in the land. By the way, Mr Brathwaite, clearly you never worked in the courts, otherwise you would know that a reasonably gifted 14 year old could have done a better job than Sir David Simmons by the simple expedient of creating less chaos and nepoism direced towards the unworthy and the unqualified. He has left a mess of epic proportions as anyone (with the exception of political yardfowls and beneficiaries of political and Simmons largesse) will be able to confirm.

You are correct on another point as well, Adrian. I would be very surprised if there were any immediate major change in the judiciary. Quite frankly, the entire system, as BU rightly points out, is such a total mess that it will require time to sort out and rectify. However, by this appointment, the Thompson government has served clear and unambiguous notice of its intention to clean up the court system and ensure the timely and efficient delivery of justice to the people. If this appointment is confirmed, I am a very happy man indeed.

I would also say that you can hardly introduce integrity legislation when the head of the body whose job it is to enforce it is themselves very open to question. It is my hope that the appointment of Mr Gibson now signals the swift adoption of integrity legislation.

10. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@ Adrian Hinds

“Qualified yet outside of the establish parties.”

Speak only of what you know. Qualified, presumably so — no problem. Outside the established parties, how do you know? Is there a DLP branch or branches outside of Barbados including New York? Please come from your idealistic world. Yet perhaps, this is exactly what David wanted to convey. If we want to congratulate and say a good, indifferent, or bad choice, let us say that. But please, do not seek to disassociate the person from current or past party affiliation without the facts.

11. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@Amused
    It is obvious that you draw amusement from either the confession of drawing minority conclusions, or your prejudice so much fills the air that you pretend to know what you do not know and bask in what you claim to know that you may never know. In other words, sounds like yardfowlism at its best. I too would want to wish whoever is the next CJ the very best. But does it mean I have to bury my head in the sand while sticking a dagger of vengeance in the back of Sir David? Maybe you should give us a list of your deeds of public service to date; and if this is provided, may we have a free for all on the success or failures. So many of you are damning without ever having brought substance to the table. I am amused!

12. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@George Reid
    Your intimacy with the classics is heart-warming. I still think that for education purposes you ought to distill for BU readers (me inclusive of course).
    Now Dr. Reid, I am not too sure that cognitive rehabilitation is the best term or even analogous to what we speak of here, but to each his own. While I am proud of your accomplishments and those of your children, I am not thrilled by your reference to the ‘Pine Hill Dairy Kind’, seems a bit odd that someone exposed to the in-depth nature of doctoral research would try to minimise the worth. In any event, since your years in the UK, several transformations have been adapted to the conferral of such a degree. Nevertheless, I am happy that you are still around since you by nature of your public service have demonstrated that there are many ways in which to contribute and there are alternative views that one ought to recognise albeit that one may still hold their convictions. Cheers, now let us agree to disagree with the realisation that there will be vanity but perhaps none more so than “those who trouble human souls with their drugs and incantations.”

13. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@George Reid

Please forgive me for interacting two of your responses and posting my own response here. Maybe it is an injustice to you and for that I do apologise. No offence meant and I hope none is taken.

14. @David
    Please clarify the word “outsider”Being an outsider does not mean a person does not have political leanings one way our another. The judicial system and the keepers of the gate are not going to let anyone rock the boat. I can see them now planing their game plan of attack on the “Outsider”.

15. It seems like GCB has launched a serious dismantingly of the DLP supporters on this blog so much so that yuh all have disappeared . If he continues his tirade ,he would be the last man standing.Even the China Man -BFP had to apoligise to him _Yes!Dlp you guys and gals need to come out of hiding .

16. @ac

It has been the norm to select the CJ from the cadre of talent available in Barbados. To recruit from outside this ring is not the norm and definitely signals that the Barbados government is interested in doing things a little different. Bear in mind PM Thompson would have criticised the Simmons appointment no end on the road to the last general election. If for no other reason the government had to deliver on this appointment by at least giving the appearance of it being an independent selection.

It appears with the Gibson selection the man has had a good record to date, is a scholar and has experience on the admin side of things.

17. In addition to his scholastic and admin.achieviements he must have the intestinal fortitude and strong leadership, alsothe continual support of those who place him in power. This job is not for those who will fold under because of crticism .The government has seek out to do things a litte differentwhich is good but in turn the difference must be what is in the countrys best interest.

18. Are there any lawyers around who can indicate if the qualifications and experience listed in his bio are outstanding?

19. @ ac “Dlp you guys and gals need to come out of hiding .”
    Me? hiding? No ac. I am and will always be a DLP supporter.

De only CB I frighten fuh is PCB cause dat could kill ya.

DLP supporters still here. It is just that some of us prefer to interact with ac,GP,Jeff C, AH and even BAFBFP.

The wonderful thing about a blog is that we can choose our “friends”

20. De man went to Foundation an Harsun kolij (where tender brains are stuffed with knowledge). Ask GP eff yuh doan believe me.
    Den he went to UWI an Oxford.

Wunna cuh go dig up in his professional an private backside to see if he is of good enough character to be the CJ and eff he is well enough qualified to be a CJ in Babadus.

Eff any of de big sht Lawyers feel “dem was robbed” duh cuh guh an be de CJ in one uh de udda islands.

At lease he went school in Babadus an like all overseas Bajans, he know the sht he got to deal wid.

The best of goodwill and luck to Marston Gibson CJ designate.

21. @Hants
    GcB has planted hisfootprints on the threads in acidic way to plant seeds of doubt and confusing in the minds of would be supporters of the DLP . Somebody needs to comfornt him on the many negative comments against the DLP . BTW he mout sweet can fool a Lawyer.

22. @G.C. Brathwaite

The statement was in reference to my hopes of seeing a new dispensation eminating from Barbadians electors characterized by their willingness to elect non- blp/dlp members, to be their parliamentary representatives; not of Mr. Gibson’s political affiliations or lack thereof.

23. Confucius say “Never blog after cocktail” … Confucius never say why …

Now man from East clear on subject, that is why apology extend. In every event we make friendly with everyone particularly party in power …no?

24. @Hants | August 15, 2010 at 9:07 AM | My hat is off to you. Well said. The problem with Braf is that he done got nuttin to hang on to for political leverage. The PM has actually appointed someone impartial. I would like to know what is wrong with giving the government credit when it gets it right. It is does not prevent us from calling them to account when they get it wrong. So, what is the problem? You can slice and dice it how you like, it is an excellent choice and one that will, I predict, serve Barbados’ people and judicial system (as opposed to political agendas) extremely well. So, like Adrian and Hants and, I am sure, many others, I welcome Chief Justice Designate Gibson. And I think you will find that he is well aware of the problems he will face – he isn’t stupid and is highly unlikely to have stepped from his present job into this without having fully thought out all elements. He is an experienced judge, after all. Congratulations also to the PM – a difficult job well done. Let is forget Braf and his innuendos and frustrations and usual political BS. This is an important and progressive step foward in the administration and delivery of justice in our country.

25. Anonymous | August 15, 2010 at 8:39 AM |
    Are there any lawyers around who can indicate if the qualifications and experience listed in his bio are outstanding?

Stupse! Only a idiot who drink Owen Arfuh or Mia Mokkly baff-wata would question whether an man with Oxford law is “outstanding”. Don’t tek a lawya tuh tell yuh dat. And den with legal experience of both English common law and Amurcan law too! Nuse yuh common sense, yuh idiat, and stop fishing fuh cheap political points. Stupse!

btw, good piece of journalism David. (Assuming its correct, and I sincerely hope it is cos its a damn good choice!) Pity you didnt have a more extensive bio, but anyway, good stuff cos I aint hear dis nor see it nuhwhere else but hey! So yuh see, yuh still have sum nuses after all!

26. AC

I wouldn’t worry too much about GCB he is late to the party after all his putative leader has mused about closing down the blogs so perhaps his is a case of “if yuh can’t beat them you may as well join ’em.”.

Simmons may be the best husband; father; lawyer and Attorney General in the world but it was wrong, wrong and wrong for Arthur to appoint him CJ.

If GCB was honest (here I am using one of his phrases it implies that your reasoning is dishonest) he would admit that salient fact.

Talk about a conflict of interest!!! It was as big as the rock which comprises Barbados, can you imagine a CJ who would be in a position to render judgement on decisions which he approved as a member of Cabinet.

The BLP will counter and say if that situation ever arose he could always recuse himself but who wants a CJ who would have to resort to that?

Can you imagine the howls from the BLP if Thompson had appointed Stuart as CJ?

I rest my case

27. @Anonymous

We are acting on a tip-off, like you we agree it seems to be an excellent choice. Here is a little more we found on Gibson.

GIBSON, Marston Creigton da Costa (British Caribbean and Keble), b 3 Mar 1954, Barbados, s of CC Gibson, civil serv. Educ Boys Foundn Sch, Christ Church, Barbados 1964-70; Harrison’s Coll, Barbados 1970-2; Univ W Indies 1972-7, LLB 1975; Keble 1977-9, BCL 2nd cl 1979; Wooding Law Sch 1979-81. Adm Bar Barbados 1981, Antigua and Barbuda 1986, NY 1989, Trinidad and Tobago 1989. Univ W Indies: Lect Law 1981-7. Attny, Snr Citizen Unit, Nassau-Suffolk Law Servs Cttee Inc, NY 1988-9. Supreme Ct NY, Appellate Div, 2nd Judicial Dept: Attny 1989; Sr Attny 1990. Ct Attny-Referee, NY County Surrogate’s Ct 1992. m 1979 Avis Pamela Alleyne (div): 1ss1d. 435 Front Street, Hempstead, New York 11550, USA.

28. Wait, David. ‘Cordin’ tuh wuh u just post (from your Jeff Cumberbatch tip off … wink, wink, lol), de man is only 56! Wuhloss! My maths gotta be wrong. But ef he’s only 56, I even more impress that he achieve summuch arready. Good ting he aint stop bout Buhbaydus otherwise he din gine get all dis good-good expernce e got. Wonder how de age ting gine spin with other people though! Interesting stuff!

29. I believe Mr Gibson was the 1975 Commonwealth Caribbean Rhodes Scholar.

30. Anonymous | August 15, 2010 at 12:04 PM | You are correct. He is a Rhodes Scholar. Very good choice for CJ. Congratulations, PM.

31. @Anonymous

Let the record reflect that BU has not divulge our source in fact we want to be specific and state that Jeff is not* our source.

32. also a top musician

33. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@Amused
    At NO TIME or OCCASION did I say that the man either did or did not merit being CJ. In fact, I congratulated if this was to be the case. My major queries came around persons making speculative rationales appear factual or indeed grounded with thorough investigations or proof of affiliations (past or current). I have no problems with you taking a different stance, but please, DO NOT SAY THAT I HAVE SAID SOMETHING FOR WHICH I HAVE NOT SAID. I may be inclined to call you a liar and stranger to truth, you would not sit well with that, now would you?

34. My intelligent agent provide following
    http://www.rhodes-caribbean.com/register2.html
    1977 GIBSON, Marston Creigton da Costa

35. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@ Sargeant

Indeed, I did so publicly on VOB Sunday’s Brass Tacks when I was in the studios. I stated that I was skeptical given the short time of transition; I never questioned Sir David’s intellect, his actual or potential contributions; but I do believe that his appointment raised many more eye brows than should have been done if a different procedure inclusive of a longer time period was followed. Sarge, you must go and come again. For the final time, I will repeat to you that I contributed to the blogs prior to 2008. I refuse to tell you under what handle or aliases because I may have to resurrect in time of need.

36. Intelligent agent also inform that Dr. Alisha Wade, Dr. Monique Robinson from Crumpton Street High 1988-1995, also are Rhodes Scholar in successive year… amazing … not aware Barbados had this talent …!

37. Good to see that finally one’s academic qualifications are worthy of merit, and not belittled.

38. I dont know anything about the guy, but on paper at least, he looks to be a good choice.

Yes we need a more impartial legal system. But we also need to make our legal system function with less costs and more quickly. Justice delayed and available in particular to those who can afford it is not justice. And we need to end a cosy relationship between lawyers and legislators where you cant do a XXX thing without needing a lawyer charging you an anti-competitive “scale fee”. In most developed countries in the world you can set up and run a company, quickly, without asking for favours and without ever needing a lawyer. Imagine that in Barbados.

To do this you will need someone whose base is external to the cosy legal circle, and maybe, just maybe, this is the guy. I hope so.

39. @David, Amused, Sargeant and any others who want to join that list.

It is dead wrong to spread false news to BU readers. I have no sides to genuflect to, but I feel that I should contradict those who spread false news. G.C. Brathwaite wrote, “As long as this person’s record can be held up to scrutiny and their efforts match or surpass those set by Sir David, I see no reason why I should have objection.” Why cant we be fair and give de man licks when he deserve them and say well done when he has done so. He did not object to the man, as much as my reading allows, he says be weary of the DEMS, that they may be the persons objecting.

40. Wait!… do I detect some concern with or about GCB??? Why? He is but a BLP hack. Has he made a point that has not been dealt with? There is nothing new from him, or his cohorts who are on Facebook trying to fool people that their comments are non-partisan concerns about Barbados.

…. As for Mr. Gibson, I expect a consorted effort to tear him up and or down if he don’t play ball, and I expect him to be tough as nails given his experience in NY. He could become the Dr. Sparman of the judiciary.

41. The skepticism, and statements of caution GCB brought to bear on the possible appointment of a Chief Justice under this Democratic labour Party government, should be viewed as partisan until proven otherwise.

42. Good to know that he is a bright person.

43. @Adrian

Some of the issues that will confront him and which have been discussed ad nauseam

unacceptably long delays in the scheduling of hearing

the Registry losing files just before the cases they deal with are due to be heard and their subsequent forced adjournments

there is the influence on the Fraternity on the Court System

The list is clearly not exhaustive.

BAMP is perhaps the most feared of the lot.

44. @GCB. Go ahead and call me a liar. At least for once you would have made a straightforward and unamiguous comment. While you are at it, since it now appears that you agree with the appointment, why not simply offer your congratulations to the rumoured new CJ……AND TO THE PM WHO, allegedly, APPOINTED HIM.

Also, the idea that his appointment is okay as long as he is as good as David Simmons, is assinine. The people Barbados deserves to have the bar set much higher than David Simmons. And clearly the PM has done precisely that.

45. GCB

No mas! No mas!!! I believe you when you say that you have been contributing to the various media for some time. But in defending yourself you have offered a juicy long hop and I can’t resist taking a swing

Now, you post under your real name but you’ve admitted to posting under other aliases. I thought that since your reasoning is so compelling with nary a statement that can be considered libelous it wouldn’t be a problem to submit all your posts under your own name. Unless of course you are using your alter egos to submit odes praising your submissions under your real name.

But you wouldn’t do that would you? Nah you wouldn’t do that

46. @Adrian Hinds who wrote:
    I look forward to be able to use this success as a best practice for Barbadian voters to use in electing their parliamentary representatives. Qualified yet outside of the establish parties.
    ====================================================
    What is this statement really saying? You want Barbadian voters to elect parliamentary representatives who are OUTSIDE OF THE ESTABLISHED PARTIES? How the hell does that work? lol
    Last time I voted I only remember seeing two names on the ticket…one BLP and the other DLP.

47. I am for security of a country thru change and stability.We can only do thus by ensuring the right persons are positioned wisely.The background of the future Chief Justice seems impressive but I’ll wait and see.In the interim I can only keep wishing the Hon.Prime Minister David Thompson a safe return to office. Maybe then some of the ruffians in the Dems will settle down.

48. @David
    The CJ should be open and public about the issues in need of a resolution and make known the obstacles and persons responsible for so doing. The Barbadian public will support him.

Indeed we did discuss these things in addition to the refusal to extend David Simmons tenure The PM at that time also signaled that an appointment of this kind was under consideration.

49. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@Sargeant
    I am sorry to disappoint you, but I was not christened ‘Sargeant’ or any such nomenclature that has the ring of authority attached to it unless you rather refer to me as ‘King George’. That may cause lots of confusion I dare say and give you mighty reason to ask who de hell he think he is. I think though, you should consider using your real name, and if that is your real name, then get it changed! The same ring of authoritarianism as the practices of the DEMS.

50. @Adrian Hinds
    And I know how you despise David Commissiong and his PEP party. So who are we left with? One or two Independents and the PDC. LOL

edited – David