Submitted by George C. Brathwaite

The politics of convenience, opportunism, and promises are built upon less than solid foundations. As the winds blow and tremendous waves encroach, the sands upon which the tower of fortune is erected bear major disaster for the victims of happenstance. Late 2007, Barbados was bombarded with all myriad claims that the government of the day was no longer in touch with the ordinary citizen; signs of corruption and mismanagement figured larger than the propensity to lower the cost of living; and among other things, the leader at the time had surpassed his โ€˜best buyโ€™ date. Barbadians listened, even if with some scepticism. By January 15 2008, there was a clear endorsement for a politics of change and the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was entrusted with the good governance of the little paradise called Barbados.

Although time waits on no man and a day in politics can be a very long time, today Barbadians are seeing first-hand that art is truly long while life is short. Has political, social, and economic life in Barbados been better since the entry of the DLP? Has things remained relatively the same with large numbers of Barbadians employed in meaningful jobs doing decent work and providing for their families despite a high cost of living that to some extent were often influence by external factors and events? Worse yet, have the changes for which Barbadians are now seeing, scenarios that depict striking resemblance to the post-Barrow years and up until at least early 1995?

The sorts of changes that were promised are deeply embedded in the psyche of Barbadians because although there was the appearance of exaggeration, the idealistic nature of the promises cut across an entire nation. Many individuals and pundits were unsure of whether to break with tradition by taking that extra-step and re-elect a political party for an additional five years on top of what was practically a period of 14 years of sustained socio-economic recovery and growth in that order, or hold to political custom and deny the precedence of a fourth political term, despite knowing that to follow tradition, meant to also put in motion a string of events that would see a captain beleaguered from the financial and economic debacle of the early 1990s lead a group inexperienced with governance and certainly a group that had the makings of implosion due to their tumultuous years in opposition. We know what the choice was; hence I must ask, why do I keep fooling myself?

After listening to and reading excerpts and reports on the current state of Barbadosโ€™ economy, including those from the Governor of the Central Bank, Senator Darcy Boyce, Leader of Her majestyโ€™s Opposition in Barbados, and several other sources, I have come to a single, rational, yet conscious conclusion. The DLP-led administration is anxious to govern but lack the guts and presence of mind to do so; this in an environment that requires innovativeness and proactive decision-making. While the DLP can reach out to those from the former administration who have demonstrated a far more visionary and pragmatic understanding of how to take a country out of calamity and make it bloom, it is highly unlikely and maybe unthinkable for the current administration to do so. Why?

The tragedy of engaging in politics of camouflage is suggesting that this crop of DLP politicians are as lost as one can be; when they look into their mirrors, they know not who they are, they know not ordinary Barbadians that are suffering, and they have absolutely no knowledge of the promises they made to a nation who gave them goodwill starting since January 2008. How can a regime in treating to the difficult circumstances of today, suggest as they are suggesting, that they have to wait and see how others in the global arena respond, and wait to see what the developed world do, since the making of a crisis and recessionary times was not their doing. It is ludicrous to fathom these excuses, and more concerning, to make them public. Barbadians ought to be demanding more from the administration.

A developmental researcher, Fouad Makki, posited a view more than five years ago that โ€œpassive acceptance of the claim that the current form of globalisation is a fate we have to resign ourselves to has become a convenient alibi for governments who willingly or unwillingly subscribe to the dogmas of market purismโ€ (2004, 163). There is nothing earth shattering in the relative silence of the government, or the recline they take in playing the blame game on the last administration; however, it is that type of political expedience that is causing children to go hungry, mothers to weep before they sleep, and is bringing a sense of nervous tension to local and foreign investors.

My final point at this time, is simply to state that if between 1994 and January 2008 the BLP regime borrowed in excess of $2 billion which may have represented a doubling of state debt, I am bemused that the DLP would again make that a problem whilst to date they are fast approaching a similar amount, not in 14 years but in under 3 years. I am dumbfounded by the callousness being exposed by the most depleted and self-congratulatory form of government to be witnessed in Barbadosโ€™ post-independent development; they act without stirring a social revolution of any kind notwithstanding that the โ€˜no bus-faresโ€™ and โ€˜summer campsโ€™ are nothing but cotton wool to shield the eyes from seeing just as Senator Boyceโ€™s seeming modesty a guile to silence the quivering heart that knows it has been duped. Barbadians, be not fooled! Do not be fooled by others who twist and turn rather than think and govern. We must call a spade a spade, and a joker a joker. That does not change, and if you are not dealt a good hand, it means that you have to raise your level of playing and deal with the realities that you have been dealt. Sad to say, the DLP regime has failed us all, they pass hand after hand. I offer my sympathy especially to their supporters and members who expected much, much, much more than they have received. Luckily, the time is shortened. The Psalmist says to wait patiently upon the Lord. Barbados, you are my love, I shall defend your honour.

54 responses to “The Dems Represent Change: Why Do I Keep On Fooling Myself?”

1. Owen Seymour Arthur (a man I love respect and will continue to be grateful to for years to come for what he did to rescue Barbados) asked the question at Bay Street the night before the last election Change for what and to what ?-(or something to that effect)

I WAS NOT HAPPY AT ALL AT ALL WITH THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS 9not all) for just voting for change in 2008. There was absolutely no reason for the change. I can understand that you need to change Governments and I have studied the reasons for some of these changes. The change in 2008 was the most unjustified.

I have argued that the change happen because they were persons in BARBADOS who felt that Owen Arthur was not to be seen as greater than Errol Barrow by winning four terms to Errol Barrow’s three. These persons set about from early to make sure that Owen did not win four terms. This is the fundamental reason. Everything else was predicated on this simple reason.-Believe it or not !

I will expand on this later

2. An interesting couple of years ahead for the Thompson and Obama administrations. Will we see them serving one term as they become more and more challenged by the global recession? What we know is very few government have been able to protect its popularity and rollout austerity measures at the same time.

Interesting times ahead indeed.

3. Is it not sad that a man could spend so much time in academia collecting all manner of paper trophies and yet can find nothing better to do than to be a political yard fowl, hoping for an opportunity to feed at the public trough? chuspe.

Somebody please tell this useless idiot that he has not said anything that we are not already aware of.

I look forward to Thompson one term as the beginning of the process of recycling political parties with impunity. However I am still not convince that Barbadians should so do giving the Leadership of their country to Mia Mottley.

4. I said the following back in February, so we don’t need nuh ugly so in so’s to now come and tell us what we know. David why you mekking de ugly man so prominent wid his political partisan drivel? He is no friend of Bajans. Have you forgotten his recorded comments about his fellow bajans to a Jamaican radio station?

Adrian Hinds // February 11, 2010 at 9:05 AM

I love Henryโ€™s writing. However if the BLP does the right thing for its self and Bring back Owen, Thompson will have a difficult time convincing JOBLESS Bajans that they should not give Owen another try.

Politicians can sing hymes by de ton, if I am not working, nothing but a Job will stop me from throwing the incumbents out. nothing! They cannot have it both ways. Cultivate a culture of dependentcy when things are good and then tell me they canโ€™t do it all when things are bad.

5. @Adrian

You know BU gives a voice to all*.

You of all people know how BU is being labelled as a DLP mouthpiece on FB by Liz Thompson and her band.

Now if BU block George what you think will happen?

Let the man share his view and let others challenge as they think fit.

6. Is Pres Obama PM Thompson’s first cousin? Jackass bray.

7. David wrote, “Will we see them serving one term as they become more and more challenged by the global recession?”

Global recession David? I thought it was a Barbados recession created by David Thompson and the DLP after being handed a Government that had a $2 billion surplus in the treasury.

@Kissmya are you the person who wrote on the other blog “Father of first world Barbados and Prime Minister for life Ohwhen see More After”.
    I thought it was SyllyRumble.

“You know BU gives a voice to all “

8. @Hants

Trust you to keep it real.

The question is if some BLPites are calling for Owen how will this impact their chances to win back the government in conditions which are favourable. We all saw how the leadership struggle decimated the DLP i.e. Mascoll and Thompson. Interesting times indeed. At this stage one would have to say the BLP must have their nose in front.

9. @David

I would have gone further to ask Adrian Hinds who the hell he think he is to be trying to dictate who should receive prominence or not. Once again he reveals his “gutta rat” mentality by being critical of another person’s physical appearance. Does Adrian “Jackass” Hinds believe that he made himself?

10. Kissmya is NOT stupid comrade no? Very very NOT stupid comrade…

From East we know one party state very well and have no problem with one party state …corruption is very rampant in one party state and in democracy too. We see difference in general election… General election very expensive exercise for quarter million people. even much worse for one thousand million people ..no? Only beneficiary of General election is media house and contractors…no? My family does very well in construction and retail… we know One Caribbean Media good investment ..no?

My family very very friendly with Comrade At’ur… very very friendly… Comrade At’ur make life very easy on my family…

11. Why would a the BFP blog put an old story about the former Prime Minister on their opening page when they know it could appear to be about the current Prime Minister?

Intentional or a genuine mistake?

12. David // August 1, 2010 at 10:49 AM

@Adrian

You know BU gives a voice to all*.

You of all people know how BU is being labelled as a DLP mouthpiece on FB by Liz Thompson and her band.

Let the man share is view and let others challenge as they think fit.
    =========================================

But David I din really expect you to respond to me yuh know. I really relish the few opportunities to throw dowm with de ugly man. LOL!

13. What about the Pickering case in St. Lucy. how could they buy all those acres of land without much capital? why is it that a white foreigner could come and live here for 3 years, go to the govt, bank and whoever and suggest developing some area of his liking and get a pat on the back, a nod, a ‘go right ahead and rob us niggas’? i am tired seeing these things going on. The average 40 yr old black bajan would never be given such sentiments if he went to the banks, business houses and govt with his ideas and less the $1mil in his bank account. he would be laughed out the door for having the audacity to even propose what North Ridge Development is being allowed to do. I hope it damn well fails. Every Tom, Dick and Harry can jump on a plane and decide to get rich at bajans’ expense because they know that plantation mentally thinking is still going on down here.

Now look Cellate Int’t & Construction Group a potential investor is now accused of misappropriation of funds in St. Vincent. who the hell is running this Barbados government? A small construction contractor would never get this kind of lead way here but some jackass, white thief could come here, get taxpayers money to make themselves rich. Look at what has been proposed to be built in Pickering, a private school, who would send their children all the way down there? foreigners only. A private day-centre, a hotell etc. these amenities does not sound like their would be for bajans – it seems like they are for foreigners. When the DLP came into power, i thought that poor and middle class would really see and experience a change for the better. Except for free rides to school and free summer camps, what the hell are they doing? what about their promises – 100 % mortgage for civil servants; increase from 50,000 to 100,000 for student revolving loan fund recipients.
    Heaven forbid, if Mr. Thompson’s dies (and I hope he doesn’t as he as 3 young girls who still need him) elections should be called and the pack of bastards removed completely. i am totally sick and fed up with them. Darcy Boyce being the main speaker on matters of finance in Barbados. Our constitution does not allow for this. what the frig is going on? We had to tolerate some man being appointed substantively as Attorney General and the Caps was quoted to show it was legal, why did they not quote the legislature too that shows it was illegal for Darcy Boyce an unelected member to speak on behalf of the Ministry of Finance? where was Estwick? Are we for real? stupesss :-((

14. @August 1, 2010 at 1:12 PM
    I apologise for the typos

15. We know it, and can talk or write about it anywhere dipassionately.

There is a serious groundswell of opposition that is rightfully building towards both DLP and BLP in this country.

Many of the causes or reasons for this phenomenon are very valid.

Just three reasons – out of so many – coming from many of those who we talk to about this subject:

1) Throngs of people often state that both DLP and BLP are THE SAME in that whenever they become at the helm of government they do not care about the people at large.

They instead disgustingly care about some of their friends, families, businesses, etc. These people argue that there is a need for – as they call it – a third party that will care about the people.

Often times we have to tell them that there are four parties in Barbados. Some however end up saying that they will support our party PDC, even some say they support our party.

2) Many are calling upon our party to do so more – just last night in Sheraton Center – there was a chap who was heard compelling us to do so.

Many wish to support us even though there is only a little at a time we can do each little step along the way. Too, the fact that so many are prepared to support us financially is an indication of their losing hope in the DLP/BLP. They want to put their income where their mouths are!!

3) There is open disillusionment with and antipathy toward this so-called two party system by thousands of people. These persons see the so-called two party system – NOT JUST DLP/ BLP – as being bankrupt and dysfunctional and being at the core of many of our political social material and financial problems.

So disillusioned and disaffected are also many Barbadians that they are saying angrily that they are NOT voting again and that they “dont want to see a politician at their doorsteps.”

Other than those reasons, it seems that for us these two old intellectually bankrupt factions believe that they can continue to rely on much of the money/value resources that are given to them whenever (esp. at election time ) by many corporates as a means of ultimately helping them to win again, notwithstanding what is strongly vigorously protested by many of the people against all the obvious foolishness sickening scandalous things that they would have done whilst in office. These parties and their leaders we believe make a mock, ridicule and laugh at the people of this country in this way.

One of our responses to this is to be calling upon as many people as possible to form their own parties and to run in all the general elections to come. To become independent candidates and run in all the general elections to come.

These people must be tough, courageous, determined in their political stances, visionary in their policies philosophies, willingly to help people, must be common if not united in criticising and attacking the old political order, and must present far better material and financial alternatives than the DLP/BLP, how they must be among and represent the people in various spheres of life, et al, in order to succeed in the politics of numbers in the long term, and how they must strive always to win government or be elected into parliament.

Key to their political success must also be to communicate in a better more effective overall language with the people than that which the older parties have been using in communications with them. They must make little use of the overall language that these factions have been using in their dealings with the people. Such language must be used mainly for benefit of the younger people who must shape much of the country in their own image in the future.

Another thing the DLP and BLP rely on is the first past the post electoral system which asks of new parties to come up with candidates, election resources, money, and more, sufficient to properly contest elections across the country.

What great demands asked of by smaller paries in a political material financial system that is already controlled by the elites, to a greater extent, and the government, to a lesser extent, and both of whom savagely exploits the massses to a great extent, and the middle classes, to a lesser extent.

So being established but intellectually bankrupt, these DLP/BLP factions are able to use this type of electoral system and the existing patron client relationships to help secure repeat electoral victories in the interests of the preservation of an undesirable status quo.

This is one of the reasons why we are so virulently opposed to the first past the post electoral system, which is NOT NEVER a fair system, and is one by which free and fair elections are NOT NEVER conducted in this country.

The people of Barbados must support a party like the PDC that is for a proportional representational system for Barbados and that will abolish it if given the chance to do so for very logically reasons. So they must support us for this reason too!!!

They must support us too because we have put forward policies that are about making sure that the masses and middle classes dominate the social, political, material and financial systems of this country. That is why a future PDC Government will abolish TAXATION, Interest Rates in this country, Abolish Institutional Repayable Loans, and will make sure that Constituents debate and pass the laws of this country.

Finally for now, both the DLP and BLP rely on the so-called national public opinion polls of CADRES to wage a total nonsense to wage disaster on the minds of the people of this country. These polls claim to be scientific BUT really and truly they are NOT. They are unable to tell how people are exactly going to vote. What a great and wilful misuse of language, and wilful flagrant exploitation of those people who so meekly participate in them by CADRES and others!!!. These polls and the media houses that publish aspects of these so-called poll findings are constantly in violation of the cardinal principle of free and fair elections being expected to be held in this country, by their wrongly influencing many persons how to vote and NOT to vote.

Some political people like Clyde Mascoll – who has been so far the biggest victim in Barbados of such polling – instead of using the opportunities available to them to criticise this type of fascist political polling to let people know why it needs to be regulated, simply prefer to keep quiet and let such noxious flagrances abuses go along unremedied.

Persons who would like to see free and fair elections conducted in this country must vote for our party. So that whenever we become at the helm of government, polling of the sort that CADRES does will be properly regulated, and the fact of the carrying out of polling within certain times of actual elections BANNED – the fact of so-called pollsters making direct references to parties and candidates chances of winning elections TOTALLY BANNED from the polling carried.

So, the time time for the DLP and the BLP to go is all like now. Simple as that!!

Now, compare this with George Brathwaite’s contribution above.

16. @ George
    While the DLP can reach out to those from the former administration who have demonstrated a far more visionary and pragmatic understanding of how to take a country out of calamity and make it bloom….
    ————————————————————————-

I’m curious as to which “calamity” the BLP took Barbados out of and made it bloom…

@Kissmya
    Change was necessary in 2008 because of arrogance and corruption. If change is needed again in 2-3 years then so be it. Note thought that a “change back” may not be the preferred option for most though…..

17. Leading up to the elections, David Estwick was the man to tear into the BLP economic policies. He was a drawing card at the meetings as the public came to listen to him.
    Now he is being denied an opportunity to prove his worth dealing with the economic problems. I think his outspoken behaviour may be causing a problem.
    He seems to be one who will start the ball rolling with helping the government cut the deficit.
    Remember he came out and called for wage restraint in the public sector. He also said he would sell some of the government assets such as the gems properties. Well he was silence from that time.
    The BLP won a major victory when they got him involved in that argument in the parliament which made him look bad. He is one of the DLP members who the BLP cannot handle. He carries the fight to them and was targeted.
    The DLP must allow him to take up the Ministry of finance in David Thompsonโ€™s absence.

18. @FairPlay; if you listen to the last estimates exercise you would see first Owen tearing up Estwick followed by Marshall. Estwick was belittled and embarress for a mistake he made and that was brought to light by Marshall. It is to mind the reason that led to Estwick cussing and alleged gun brandishing.

19. Obama has the Senate and the Congress and should we say the Lobbyists, who does the government have to contend in the way of rolling its agenda for change?

20. @ David

Thank you very much!! Two totally different systems of government, the Opposition in our parliamentary system can’t be labelled obstructionists as is the case in the US.

@ Adrian Hinds

I too thought that exchange with Marshall was the reason for the gun issue; not only was he torn up, but he was adamant that he was right.

21. G.C.Brathwaite Avatar

—————————————————————————————————————————————————-
    It is not my intent to request special favours, but as you rightly suggest a hearing and let the critics have their voice as well.
    @ Adrian
    Is it not sad that a man could spend so much time in academia collecting all manner of paper trophies and yet can find nothing better to do than to be a political yard fowl, hoping for an opportunity to feed at the public trough?
    ——————————————————————————————————————————————–
    know not the person you speak ill of, however, I assure you that this man is nobody’s ‘yard fowl’ but rather a servant of the people in waiting. If the changes, or even 25 % of the promised changes were attempted and the state of the economy was not left to the fate of what occurs in the international, maybe my outlook would be positive. I am ashamed that you prefer the ad hominem style as opposed to dealing with the arguments presented. I understand, there is no defence because there has been little if any leadership in governance especially with the temporary absence of the anointed. I assure you that in the coming weeks and months, I shall call a spade a spade. I am not out at persons or personalities, I want what is best for Barbadians including those like you Adrian who live abroad and may sometimes feel immune from what ordinary Barbadians have to undergo.

@PDC
    I will still maintain that both political parties (major – BLP and DLP) have made significant contributions to the country. They both have shortcomings as well. You have to be able to get across your message, influence persons to follow you; there is no government to be given by default. Hence, it is best you concentrate on putting your case rather than attempting to belittle efforts made from either party (not saying that both parties do not need criticism, they do). At this moment, not even you take your contributions seriously, so now that you are forewarned, do what is necessary and leave me alone. I say no more to you the PDC unless you advance your cause and be recognised.

22. G.C.Brathwaite Avatar

@ Observing
    “Iโ€™m curious as to which โ€œcalamityโ€ the BLP took Barbados out of and made it bloomโ€ฆ”

No one, or should i say no Barbadian including a long line-up of DEMS would forget the period between 1991 and 1994. That is recorded in the economic history of Barbados. Unemployment was growing at approximately 24 %; public servants apart from having to accept an 8 % salary-cut was faced with a very shaky morale and yes, some had to undergo psychiatric treatment for ills ignited by the Sandiford regime because of his finding ways to do almost everything wrong. It did not even end there, the private sector in Barbados was verbally attacked by Ministers of Government at that time accusing them of being non-patriotic, unable to stimulate confidence or growth, and in essence there was a blaming game by that regime to undermine relationships that were built over time with the private sector in Barbados. Today, we want to know why Barbados is not the entrepreneurial society that it ought to be? 1991 to 1994 carries the answers. I can go on and on to list many of the woes. However, I think it is fitting to fast forward you to the end of 2007 with unemployment at under 7 %; crusise and long-stay arrivals having risen astronomically during those 13 years leading up to 2007, and the international agencies and institutions across the world rating Barbados as the number 1 developing country in terms of achieving the millennium development goals which of essence meant that we were at the threshold of being slated a developed country. I will leave it here, but rest assured that if you raise the hair on my skin, I shall attack, defence has not always been my best means of operation.

23. My intelligent agent inform me …on best information, that any political party and any number of individuals could have accomplish same as BLP and DLP… It not so much what they did, but how much more could have been done…! They both guilty of waste waste waste…no? If not for faithful UK tourists and accommodating Canadian business laws, Bajan would be dead in water long time ago..no?

24. Makes me laugh how you jokers want to protect Owen Arthur. Great leader my ass base on his track record off exploit and blunder. The DLP with their pitt bulls and make belief group of ‘popputs’ who are like rain clouds promising nuff rain but the delivery is short because it was/is psuedo from the start. Both these political parties are blunder and exploit parties. Why the heck defend what all of you know to be obvious about the politics of Barbados. They will sell the country to highest bidder in the name of investment because the real investment comes in the form of millions for themselves and their friends and families. I no longer respect crooks and vagabonds who mask their appearances to appear on to the people as their saviours but behind their backs their cuss them, call them all manner of degrading names and relish in the thought of the millions of tax dollars they get as part of their gifts for being good little government boys. Bah Hum Bug

25. Even if Owen Seymour Arthur made blunders, our country was doing well.

Has the country done better under the DLP ??????

Answer this question you jokers
    This question got wunna !
    —————————–
    Bajans took things for granted and believe that the economy was doing well by itself so anybody could run the country. This is the same mentality that would say that Clive Lloyd was not a good captain, that he had a good team and took the man for granted. We would be glad for a Clive Lloyd now in West Indies cricket.

Bring back Owen —read Bring back BLP whether Owen is PM or not

Owen is my man right thru. I like Owen Arthur. I cant understand what these ignorant people got against Owen.

Wunna want a perfect human being ? Where wunna gwine find one a dem . How people get so ignorant though ? What kinda jackasses we got in BARBADOS though ?

cheese zon bread !!!!

26. G.C.Brathwaite Avatar

@KISSMYA

Well spoken in the simple down to earth style I like. I also note your stress is on the BLP with Owen in the team regardless of who heads. This is practical and makes good sense. I can drink a Banks beer on that. Exactly!

27. G.C.Brathwaite Avatar

I know that my little blog slog here this weekend is an indication that my studies are in order and so I could have a needed input into the Bajan blog sphere. Yes, I am sure to upset a few but I think I will encourage many more and hearten their spirits.
    Tell me, is it not precedent that in Barbados we have had: (a) Thompson as Leader of the Opposition with ex-Prime Minister Sandiford on his team of parliamentarians? (b) Arthur as Prime Minister with ex-Prime Minister St. John on his team of parliamentarians?
    Then is it so far-fetched that sometime maybe around 2012/2013 that a probable scenario would be Prime Minister Mottley with ex-Prime Minister Arthur sitting pragmatically and strategically placed on her team of parliamentarians?
    There is no doubt that I support the BLP. However, I am more for what makes the most practical sense in obtaining good and effective governance. The team dynamics are just as essential as the leadership concerns. Thank God the BLP have a cadre of worthwhile persons capable of leading and following for the sake of all Barbadians. The only precedent that I see being set in the near future is the elevation of Barbados’ first female Prime Minister and the obvious demise of the DLP after one term because of an overall lack-lustre performance when they had the opportunity to demonstrate they had learnt from lessons of the past.

28. Comrade David

Could you make above work properly..?

29. @BAFBFP

The poll seems to be working fine.

30. G.C.Brathwaite wrote “Today, we want to know why Barbados is not the entrepreneurial society that it ought to be? 1991 to 1994 carries the answers. I can go on and on to list many of the woes. However, I think it is fitting to FAST FORWARD forward you to the END OF 2007”

Do you think Bajans are idiots?

Well REVERSE for 14 years from the end of 2007.

31. If possible Comrade David

Could you make this a separate topic? My intelligent agent would be very happy.
    But comrade Kammie Holder gets poll to appear on same page…no?

In any event poll not working properly.. some big men not attracting vote at all..! No grammar school people (you know from Crumpton Street High, Waterford High and Masiah Street High School not get vote either) so poll not working properly…no?

32. @BAFBFP

BU is responsible for inserting those polls in Kammie’s submissions.

33. So Comrade David,

You treat me with same Deference as Comrade Cammie and allow piece as separate submission with surgical implant of poll just like treatment of Comrade Commie…? My family always repay favour, we never forget friend..no?

34. The poll was inserted in the Brathwaite submission.

35. My dear hants, I am happy that all gears are in working order, don’t back back and leave the front exposed, or is it the other way around. hahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

36. For me the English is challenging..no? But BAF detect degree of hostility in David tone of voice..no? If BAF offends you must say so… You must make friendly with everyone not just five star grade A academics..no?

37. @BAFBFP

How were you able to detect? lol

No hostility at all, far from.

38. David

In East you would be accused of preferential bias, and in our system you are Guilty unless proven otherwise.. no?

39. This Rice-Bowen Lashly business at the NHC looks interesting. Looking forward to Rice-Bowen’s press conference.

40. This gov’t has left a steady stream of disappointment and disenchantment for us Bajans. But this is time for us to consider what are we going to do, in the light of this lack of leadership and errors that have compromised our econnomy and left us at risk.

41. @ Comrade David

My Intelligent agent acting on best information available informs me that there is NO Parliamentarian in Barbados or anywhere else in whole world (that embraces family) with name of “Mr Order”. We know of speaker who English is similar to mine and has use word “Order, Order” to no effect for number of years but maybe you refer to him as that is nick name..no?

42. @ PDC

We from the East care nothing about contribution from you… for one reason alone..no?

Wise men respond to potential audience… and it is clear that you care nothing about sentiment of potential audience..no?

Why should Bajan vote for yet ‘nother bunch of egotist..no? If you want People from East to listen you will speak less. Anything over three paragraph is for academic like GP and Hants… we from East deal with people interested in results..no? You want my support (everyone else does) you be sensible..no?

43. This advertisement for BlackBerry… anytime, anywhere……… anyhow… hic …We in East think BlackBerry good investment..no?

44. @G.C. Brathwaite
    Spoken like a true and completely biased party person. The lack of any attempt to show objectivity is appreciated.

45. @BAFBFP

You make fun of my system which has served well for 350 years?

46. CG.C. Brathwaite Avatar
    CG.C. Brathwaite

@Observing
    Well thank you very much for your kind and discerning comment. Are you sure you want to use the word ‘objectivity’ though; it may be better to use ‘neutrality’. That way I can respond and let you know that I hardly like sitting on fences. They collapse and leave you in nowhere land probably messing your pants or stuck between a rock and a hard place. Nevertheless, thanks for ‘observing’; I hope that you do join and support me when you get the opportunity (not much longer to go).

47. CG.C. Brathwaite Avatar
    CG.C. Brathwaite

Observing, by the way, I left the ‘C’ before my initials so that you can see I was changing handles. Go check all that started with a C before 2008. You like homework, don’t you?

48. BAFBFP wrote “Anything over three paragraph is for academic like GP and Hants.”

Please do not insult GP. I am no academic. I have no degrees. Yes I went to Harsun Kolij but don’t give credit that is not earned.

And you don’t have to be an academic to write intelligent comments. And mista chinee man yuh doan begin a sentence with And.lol

49. @ Comrade David

There no question that 350 years is long time, very very long time..no? We in East see true potential in Investing in David… in fact we very greatfull for small free, but my intelligent agent acting on best information available believe that wordpress is excellent investment ..no?