Submitted by ROK (as a comment)

The food that you eat everyday is laced with drugs. The amount of people dying from cancer; the amount of people with asthma; the amount of people with diabetes, where did you think they get these conditions from?

Consider this. We have a flour mill in Barbados bleaching white flour as it has been bleached for about the last 50 years. Now the by-product from bleaching flour is a substance called Alloxan . Look it up.

Alloxan is a drug that is used to induce diabetes in rats so that scientists can study diabetes. They used to fool us that diabetes was hereditary. We know that it is the flour and that drug that eats away at your pancreas. You legally buy the flour that is killing you and these people selling it to you at record profits, but you are not complaining. You want to lock away your own people who, like the shop-keeper getting the flour, getting their hard drugs from the large drug lords and selling them the same way.

I put it to you, that the drug retailer is as innocent (or guilty) as the shopkeeper who selling flour and those who making and wholesaling the flour are no different from the ones making the cocaine or crack. They are as equally damaging but I don’t hear you say lock up the flour mill and the shopkeeper for selling things that destroying people’s lives.

You understand that you cannot get away from the alloxan flour? Bread, biscuits, bread crumbs that you put in your gravy, the dumplings, coconut bread, etc… but also whole wheat bread because they take the white flour and mix it back with bran flakes and some pills which are supposed to replace the wheat germ, cream of wheat, etc., that they take out of the original flour.

Just think about anything that is made from/with flour and to eat it is to destroy your life. Let’s go:

Batter to fry chicken (meats) with;
the sweet biscuits you give you children;
the corn curls;
You are a vegetarian and eat gluten?
The muffins;
the stuffing
the fish cakes
the patties
the shortbread
salt bread
sandwich bread
cookies of all types
and the list goes on.

Just take a look at the labels on the foods you buy and you will find either flour or modified corn starch. These are the foods with the drugs that are destroying our lives, not the drug dealers.

As for marijuana, I hope that you know that Canada is a leading cultivator of marijuana; legally too.

Take a look:

We cannot continue to be fooled by people who doing the same thing for bigger profits and then condemn our own in the worst way; wish death upon them, but smile all the way to the supermarket for a bag of flour. What is that?

265 responses to “We Are What We Eat, Alloxan And All!”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Man close the thread man

YOu all cussing me but I have not heard these kind of moronic mouthings in my whole life

Listen to this……….. Listen to Moses

“Please tell me how the “human system” can survive without chemicals? like for example, water.”

The illiterate donkey brays and brays. Does he really not know that water is a chemical!

For those who want to learn ALL THE CHEMICAL REACTIONS THAT SUPPORT LIFE IS CONDUCTED IN ACQUEOUS MEDIUM.

WATER IS INDEED A CHEMICAL

This is new Chemistry now. Rocky you are the best man YOu make Jay Leno look like a Sunday School kid.

2. @NOT Saved

To mix apple and oranges is one thing. People who are sick inevetiably would need medication. However you are missing the point in that an ounce of prevention is better than a pound of cure! NOW you go Figure. Stop trying to be oh so intelligent.
    Instead of people playing goota yuh and name calling . time better served would be in educating people about eating in a holistic way. If you like chemicals in your food go ahead enjoy eating and drinking. But don'[t try insulting my intelligence by talking about meication which have chemicals which may or maynot help a sick person.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I admittedd the phrase “What a laugh” grom the comment by the jakass in response to Not Saved”s remark

4. Water also contains chemicals which are harmful.

5. @GP

Despite the unwanted stuff this blog of the many posted on BU has perhaps generated the most learning.

6. “The illiterate donkey brays and brays. Does he really not know that water is a chemical!”

Really! Steupse.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The human body is a bag of chemicals!
    And Not Saved is one of two persons capable of carrying on a sensible debate on scientific matters on BU with me. How can you try to bring him down to your betzpaenic level by your poor pithy pedantic pedestrian puerile pith……”Stop trying to be oh so intelligent.”

Man that one is hilarious. You actually better than Rok ac.
    tr

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yes David

I must agree. We know who is doing the teaching and who is spouting BS.

I am happy that you can sift something out of the rubble. LOL

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

To everyone WATER IS PERHAPS THE MOST IMPORTANT CHEMISTRY

IT IS KNOWN AS THE UNIVERSAL SOLVENT

Again, there are ppts on BU on the Biochemistry of water.

The high level of the teaching of Basic Medical Sciences has NEVER been seen in ANY BAJAN publication that I have seen in my life time. Not the Daily News, The Truth, The Observer, The Calypsp, The Advocate The Nation you name it.

Nor have we seen the low level of nonscience as spouted by the BU donkey! Its has reached an all time low in his remark to Not Saved
    I

10. @David,

“We seem to waste so much energy sometimes. Remember it is more constructive to discuss issues than personalities.”

Perhaps GP has warned me well.

Do you really feel that the following comment has any merit whatsoever?

“I put it to you, that the drug retailer is as innocent (or guilty) as the shopkeeper who selling flour and those who making and wholesaling the flour are no different from the ones making the cocaine or crack. They are as equally damaging…”

flour, cocaine, equally damaging?

Mind boggling stupidity and the contempt in which the author is held by some for it is richly deserved.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Water does not contain chemicals. Water is a chemical entity of its own. As the universal solvent some water may have substances i.e chemicals in it.

Did you know that sand (silicon dioxide) is a chemical and so is common salt (NaCl) and sugar (sucrose)? Even the carbon dioxide we breathe out is a chemical.

It is not just a waste product in the body either as it is used to synthesize urea nitrogen bases for DNA as a buffer to regulate the pH of the blood inter alia.

Some where along the educational system has failed us. When the BINGO lesder is a BUNGLE on BU with respect to basic chemical information that water is a chemical……………….I must throw up my hands in despair.

12. @GP

So what do we called the treaments that is added to water to presever it?

13. @ac

Don’t bother with the jackass. Everything is about chemistry, but we here talking about chemistry that is incompatible with the body and these men start talking BE. Let them continue with their primary school lesson; as if people are idiots.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I will not be engaging in semantics with you OK. I am a Chemist not a moron. My first degree was in chemistry OK. You dont preserve water. OK

Chemicals are put in water for public consuimption to kill microbes not preserve it. This has been found universally to be a very successful Public Health ploy.

If you doubt me get a Microbiologt text and read the history of the development of this subject!

If you like you can purify your water or filter it or whatever with the machines that are sold for the purpose.

15. @GP

Well dam! what are you drinking all i did was ask a question and in return i am read the riot act. any how understand “Chemicals are put in water for public consumption to kill microbes.O.K.

16. @ MME
    “What are your thoughts BT… is this more “complete nonsense” to buy another “week to cover some big behinds”, or do you think this has a chance of working?”
    ********************************************************************************************
    ….somewhat off topic MME, but it IS complete nonsense for a global enterprise with the kind of resources and skills demonstrated in your clip, to find itself fighting fires like this – especially when the fires are capable of consuming us all…..These contingencies should have been planned BEFOREHAND.
    I note that their sanitized video completely ignores the high pressure escaping oil – which is THE real problem.
    Seems to me that this is just a big plumbing problem. Any good plumber would seek to fit another modified BOP on to the damaged unit with its shut-off valve FULLY OPEN. Once the new BOP is properly placed, the valve can be closed. (The only sane way way to seal a high pressure system while under flow)

However BP seems more intent on continued pumping than on sealing the well.

Back on Topic
    @ GP (as Anonymous // June 1, 2010 at 10:33 AM)
    “Bush Tea directed the most cruel and unecessary attack on me. I turned the other cheek. The only man that said a word was MME!

Was not BT’s attack on me a viscious verbal attack too?”
    Now Mr GP, you may wish to be careful here, as the saying goes, “touch not BBE’s anointed”

You obviously would not have recognized this, but the Bushman was trying at that time to protect you from yourself. I obviously failed, with the result that you have now managed to shoot yourself in the foot, the hand and even up your behind.

The bush man recognized way back then that you were headed down a path on BU where you thought that you were in one of your little classes with humble students – depending on your goodwill to complete their degrees and get into the money…..(I hope you know that is the only reason they ‘respect’ you)

BU is NOT that kind of classroom!

Bush tea is not easily impressed. I care nothing about roots, trunks, branches or leaves, the Bushman ONLY judges the fruit.

All that I did back then was to question a number of realities about your life (as told by YOU) that do not seem to match the picture painted of your great knowledge, experience, education and most importantly, relationship with God.

Were you as wise as you ought to be, you would have reflected on the bushman’s concerns and either resolve the discrepancies, or at the very least – kept a much lower profile …… But NO!

…now, even Hants, (the most forgiving, loyal, gentle and uncritical of the BU family) has raised concerns about your judgment.

The Bush man meant you no harm. Indeed the opposite is in reality the case.

However, if you are game for a brawl, and you feel that you could get down in the dirt with a bush man…… well bring it…

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Lol Rocky ma boy If only you had grasped the basics at school. You didnt but you want to you come on BU trying to comment on complex heterocyclic aropmatic organic compounds, and saying or implying that water is not a chemical.

Where on this thread have you spoken about ANY chemistry, far less chemistry that is incompatible with the body.

Come Rocky teach me about this chemistry man. Come teach me some toxicology, man.

Maybe I should upload my ppt on toxicology and some of the major ones causing trouible in Bim today.

If only there were others like Not Saved who are capable and willing to tear your “treatises” of folly to threads as it deserves.

Go and play some BIngo Mr Bango you have bungled on BU with your BS. There is enougfh egg on your face. You need a dermatologist!

18. @ALL

1.Water is a chemical
    2. Chemicals are added to the drinking water that we all DRINK to kill microbes.

Question;

Do you know if any of these chemicals which is added to our drinking water have any adverse effect on our bodies

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Mr BT
    I have not shot myself in the foot, the hand and even up your behind. I FRANKLY DO NOT CARE WHAT YOU OR THE HERD IS SAYING ABOUT ME OK

The BU family is a myth, and free speach here is freedom to sing with the herd and please the herd

‘There has been some bad Chemistry spewed on BU and I have been dealing with it in my way. OK AND WHENEVER IT COMES UP AS LONG AS I AM HERE I WILL DEAL WITH IT IN MY WAY IRREGARDL:ESS TO WHAT YOU AND THE OTHER PSEUDO PSYCHOLOGISTS SAY. OK?

re RE now depending on your goodwill to complete their degrees and get into the money…..(I hope you know that is the only reason they ‘respect’ you)

I do not care if or why the students respect me as you opine. FYI I do a real lot for my students. Many of them have keep in touch many years later. I am very good to my students Sir I go above and beyond the call of duty.

And I dont care if 1 leper come back to give thanks. I certainly donmt expect 10!

When I was home I could go on very few wards at QEH without being mobbed by nurses whom I volluntarily taught in the polyclinics. You can think what you like and say what you like, and so can Hants and the rest of the herd. I am not here looking for friends or favor.

What “The bush man recognized way back then that you were headed down a path on BU where you thought that you were in one of your little classes with humble students –””what!

Who are you supposed to be?

Are you Caesar in Caesar Gallic War book IV chapter 24 with the futurum iri in one line and the futurum esse 24 lines down the page?

Re BU is NOT that kind of classroom!

BU is not any classroom BT. What classroom what?

I have noticed that YOU want to determnine how teaching or sharing of information should be done on BU. I will do it my way. The herd can curse as much as they like. They can interact or learn or not They can read or not. I dont get paid. And none of wunnah dont teach anything in the subject areas I touch!

I dont care if you are impressed depressed compressed or any or all of the above.
    and you are not my judge Sir!

What fruit what? You are a fruit sorter now?

WHEN I GO TO THE BEMA AND LOOK UP YOU WILL NOT BE THE JUDGE BT OR THE BU HERD. Sir Ah lie?

I am done avoiding Rok and who ever want to attack me on BU. Done! You dont like bright boys and scholars who search and stuidy. You dont like this You dont like that and you speak your mind. And I will speak mine. I dont come on BU with cap in hand begging for anything man. Have I ever begged you for a job? or anything?

RE “depending on your goodwill to complete their degrees and get into the money…..” is the most sensible thing I got from your post. I HAVE GOOD WILL FOR MY STUDENTS AND DO ALL THAT I CAN DO AND THEY CAN TELL YOU THAT IF THEY ARE HONEST

Goodwill is correct cause I have no bad will for none of them

I do for them what I would want to be done for me. I give them what I would want for myself, and what no one has ever done for me. I dont do it for their love respect or approval. I do my best because I do my best.

As an untalented 3/10 teacher I do a real good job Sir.

Re All that I did back then was to question a number of realities about your life (as told by YOU) that do not seem to match the picture painted of your great knowledge, experience, education and most importantly, relationship with God.

That is not your business. I know men with greater knowledge, experience, education and most importantly, relationship with God who have suffered more. Because you can not understand means ONLY THAT YOU CAN NOT UNDERSTAND.

All that I have gone through in life it has not affected my relationship with God IT HAS DRAWN ME CLOSER Sir Made me more thankful. I now concentrate on not alking the questions you are asking. THAT IS GROWTH and FRUIT!
    ‘Have a good evening Sir

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I suggest that you ask Rok to answer your questions, or other members of the herd or BT. I am tired. I think I’d be better off doing my lecture preparation or watching tv . OK

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    Have you ever read the book of JOB?

22. @GP
    O.k.

Goodnight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

23. Sleep tight, Dr. Porgie.

You gine need all the rest you could get to deal with the Bushman.

I really looking forward to this. Wuhloss!

24. @ac,

To properly understand the answer to your question you need to understand the concept of toxicity

In fact to understand much of this thread you need to understand the concept of concept of toxicity.

You would not make silly statements like the “human system should not ingest chemicals” if you understood the concept of toxicity.

A substance, ie a chemical is not, simply toxic or non toxic.

Toxicity is DOSE dependent.

Water, in a high enough dose will be toxic and kill you.

Life saving meds, in a high enough dose, will be toxic and kill you.

Some substances are highly toxic and even a tiny trace amount will be toxic and kill you.

Typically Governments add Chlorine to water to sterilise it. (kill microbes)

Without the sterilant the water will make people ill and kill people unless some other means is used to sterilise the water.

Think typhoid or cholera.

Chlorine we know from its many years of use is not toxic at the right dose.

Because you probably know of no one who was killed by cholera or typhoid, you do not understand the public heath “miracle” that is the adding of chlorine. In contrast you start to challenge why these “chemicals” are added.

Ironic, no?

If the water authority is careless and doses too heavily, yes it could be harmful.

A better “chemical” is chlorine dioxide. It breaks down into safer less toxic by products. However, its use is more problematic.

Best of all is sterilisation with UV light. It uses no “chemicals”. No potential to overdose.

However, the downside is that it has only an instant effect and if the water is exposed to microbes after treatment it will become unsafe.

Chlorine added to water gives continuous protection.

Bottom line, your water is safe. If it comes out of the tap smelling of chlorine, could be too high avoid if possible.

25. “Water, in a high enough dose will be toxic and kill you.”

This is truly a learning exercise.

26. @ GP ask of BT…
    “Who are you supposed to be?”
    You hard of hearing???
    I told you before….. one of BBE’s boys.

“That is not your business. I know men with greater knowledge, experience, education and most importantly, relationship with God who have suffered more. Because you can not understand means ONLY THAT YOU CAN NOT UNDERSTAND”
    ******************************************************************************************
    …or maybe it means that you have been completely deceived about your ‘knowledge’ and ‘contacts’. Maybe you are suffering because you are on the WRONG track…..remember???? “Seek ye first the Kingdom of Heaven and …..”

BT
    Have you ever read the book of JOB?
    Not recently, but….
    Don’t compare yourself with Job….PLEASE!

Job was a man who was successful.
    He was subsequently tested by God (on a challenge that his association with God was only strong BECAUSE of his successes in life).
    Job withstood the tests, proving the genuineness of his relationship with God……. and subsequently became successful again.

What parallel do you have with this man GP?

27. For Rok’s benefit

Re Water Toxicity

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water_intoxication

28. @Sargeant

Who does not know that excess of anything is toxic?

29. Great to see you active again Not Saved. I missed you man!

Why don’t you leave my girl ac alone nuh? …. with your fancy technical terms and semantics…..

So tell me, if, as you say “A substance, ie a chemical is not, simply toxic or non toxic.

Toxicity is DOSE dependent.”

Why are you disputing the fundamental point being made by ROK and company that the alloxan stuff that is known to cause diabetes in rats is probably bad news if ingested by humans who eat a lot of white flour products? (i.e. a safe level is likely to be ZERO)

….wuh that sound to the bushman just like what you are saying!!!

Don’t bring your evolution tactics to this food fight. LOL. we know that wanna bright boys will always win the semantics battles….. (when things get tough wanna does even retreat to the Latin rotfl) ….so let us keep this one simple.

Many of the various preservatives, whiteners, ‘colourizers’ and enhancers that are routinely added to modern foods for marketing, presentation and profit reasons are HARMFUL to human health in the long term.

This practice is carried to extremes by some producers in search of excess profits, to the detriment of the health of many.

Where are we wrong in this position NS?

30. @ROK,

“Who does not know that excess of anything is toxic?”

Apparently, you.

31. Check BT’s last post. That is how I would answer you. The problem with you guys is that you have your careers to protect and therefore now want to tell people that they can eat or drink anything so long as the dose is “safe” and you know that is BS.

I want you to tell them also that toxicity levels in the human body builds and that their bodies can only get rid of a certain amount of toxins per day? So why you encouraging people to ingest toxins. Talking nonsense about water. So stupid. Just to prove a point that we are not discussing anyhow?

32. @BT,

Alloxan is not toxic at the levels found in flour, nor it is a risk factor in the cause of diabetes.

This has been made clear by GP and MME. I have nothing further to add.

Many statements by ROK are either flat out false, simply stupid or both. For example, his claim that cocaine and flour are “equally damaging” is both.

For your second question; “Many of the various preservatives……”, you will need to be more specific.

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    Re Job was a man who was successful.
    He was subsequently tested by God (on a challenge that his association with God was only strong BECAUSE of his successes in life).
    Job withstood the tests, proving the genuineness of his relationship with God……. and subsequently became successful again.

What parallel do you have with this man GP?

You know absolutely nothing about me or my sucesses or my tests NOTHING AT ALL
    You keep on judging with out the facts. You know nothing about me! THANK GOD

34. @Not Saved

Not Saved // June 1, 2010 at 8:23 PM (edit)

@David,

“We seem to waste so much energy sometimes. Remember it is more constructive to discuss issues than personalities.”

Perhaps GP has warned me well.

Do you really feel that the following comment has any merit whatsoever?

“I put it to you, that the drug retailer is as innocent (or guilty) as the shopkeeper who selling flour and those who making and wholesaling the flour are no different from the ones making the cocaine or crack. They are as equally damaging…”

flour, cocaine, equally damaging?

Mind boggling stupidity and the contempt in which the author is held by some for it is richly deserved.

Good to have you blogging again caustic comments and all…lol.

Why you trying to bring the BU household into this spat?

The comment/comparison is an extreme one but to be fair to ROK must be given context. ROK appears to be operating from the belief that the alloxan is harmful in flour. Yes you, MME, GP have debunked his view but it is the one he has has held to make his case. It is in that context he appears to have used the comparison you cited to make an intellectual argument.

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

People all Listen to Moses the Moron!

Rok in response to Not saved

“Water, in a high enough dose will be toxic and kill you.”
    This is truly a learning exercise.

Rok in response to Sargeant

@Sargeant
    Who does not know that excess of anything is toxic?

Which is it jackass. The first answer or the second LOL’

Toxicity is DOSE dependent is an important fact in the absorption of xenobiotics drugs chemicals; any substance that enters the body. THAT’S IS THE FUNDAMENTAL ISSUE THAT CAN NOT BE DENIED

ADD TO THAT THE CONCEPT OF HALF LIFE
    AND FIRST BY PASS THROUGH THE LIVER

King Rok aka the BU BRAYING DONKEY

Please kindly note…..I have no career to protect
    NO one has said that you can eat or drink what you like
    I have given warnings about aspartame MSG the possible danger of Krebs cycle intermediates as preservatives and the use of trans fats for a start.
    Re I want you to tell them also that toxicity levels in the human body builds and that their bodies can only get rid of a certain amount of toxins per day? HAVE YOU UNDERSTOOD THE CONCEPT OF HALF LIFE & INDUCTION OF LIVER ENZYMES fool?

Why are not more folk in the worse polluted cities not falling down like fleas fool YOU DO NOT KNOW THE BASICS OF THE BASIC SCIENCES. SO YO)U ARE TALKING JUNK This is not about common sense this is about science

NO ONE HAS encouraging people to ingest toxins but it is a fact of daily life in the modern world
    Many toxins are inhaled and absorbed via the fat in the skins . You inhale toxins if you don’t let the air out of you locked up car left in the hot sun when you enter it.

Re Talking nonsense about water. IT WAS A VALID POINT MORE VALID THAN TELLING FOLK THAT ALLOXAN IS DESTROYING PEOPLES PANCREASES

Less nonsense than smoking and using sweet drinks and bread thrice daily for three months Ah lie?

Not saved got your balls in a vice

I hope he stays a while and give you torsion man LOL

You backing a dead horse man
    You can not defend the indefensible
    Rok keeps vacilating
    He makes outrageous statements that he cannot prove or defend.
    And there is no man on BU bold enough to say so. I am glad to see NS stand up.

36. I tried to post this yesterday, but for some reason it did not ‘take’…maybe was a sign for me, but as I am an idiot…LOL…

Man, here is like the Aussies and Windies, licks flying! Maybe I can play umpire ‘Dickie-Bird’.

It is fairly clear that GP and MME have the internal body sciences down pat and have explained the internal working adequately, with a caveat…anything in excess..

That said, I too am not a fan of white flour for two reasons…

– the glycemic index position of the substance, as MME noted, I believe caused by the processing, as other flours do not have such an index, makes it rather undesirable, albeit, that goes back to amounts consumed.

– the processing removes all the goodness of the fibre, which would have assisted in digestion.

As an experiment, take a little flour and add a little water to make a paste. Put it between two sheets of paper as a glue and leave for a day. It should then be dry and stick the pieces of paper together rather well.

THAT is the glue that is going into your digestive system., to muck it up good and proper.

I do not think this experiment works with sweet potato, yam, rice or cereals, due to their texture.

@GP – Am I wrong that this is indicative of something undesirable in the body?

While the body is amazing, it is not a machine and thus I think it wise to not work it that hard by constantly putting this stuff in.

37. For non-medics, some reason I am having difficulty linking the glycemic index on here…just goggle.

@GP – why is fructose so low on the glycemic index, I though it was terrible e.g. ‘high fructose’ which I avoid like the plague.

BUT, on Wiki (lol), ”The medical profession thinks fructose is better for diabetics than sugar,” says Meira Field, Ph.D., a research chemist at United States Department of Agriculture, “but every cell in the body can metabolize glucose. However, all fructose must be metabolized in the liver. The livers of the rats on the high fructose diet looked like the livers of alcoholics, plugged with fat and cirrhotic.”[

Why is this, if the item has a low glycemic index. Most likely due to HOW it is metabolised? But then, everything that is low on the index is NOT good for a person!

What gives?

38. Sorry re-word that last line ‘ But then, some things that are low on the index may also NOT be good for a person!

39. @ Doc GP said..
    “You know absolutely nothing about me or my sucesses or my tests NOTHING AT ALL
    You keep on judging with out the facts. You know nothing about me! THANK GOD”
    ********************************************************************************************
    Doc, YOU raised the point about Job.
    I know only the things about you that YOU have volunteered on BU
    I have NOT judged you – just ASKED YOU A QUESTION.
    ….touchy touchy…

@ NS
    Man you is a giant – in MME class yuh!
    You want me to be specific about a statement about “Many of the various preservatives……”
    …so you can show off with your semantics, chemistry and astrology?
    …You think BT born yesterday LOL???

Man this is BU! …try and learn to engage in street level discussions….. answer the question!

40. @ Crusoe

You are 100% correct. When I was very young growing up in the country, we used to make kites to sell for pocket money. My brothers and I would mix flour and water and paste the kite paper to the cane peeling (bone). That thing would stick stronger than glue – not that we would know, because we never had money to buy real real glue.

Just think what that same white flour does inside your stomach when it mixes up with our digestive juices. Make things in there hard like rockstone.

No wonder we got all this cancer and chronic disease in Bim. We block up.

We addicted to macaroni pie, (white) rice and peas, (white) bread pudding with bare condensed milk, white bread, white this, white that. Lord have mercy. We brainwashed.

F~¬king hell. We insides tie up. People constipated bad, bad. bad. Not sh#%teing enough. Can’t.

We TOXIC.

41. Bush Tea
    Wait, i thought dat i was you woman? Now um is ac? huhhhhhhhhhhhh.Ya still swoite.

Workout
    But you doan feel dat if ya use a lotta fruit, veggies along wid de white flour dat ya would shoite mo?LOLLL. Look, i like a good ol time bajan salt bread, hear? doan tek way my flour man. ‘Good flour nevva sour’.

I tink dat water got sumting ta do wid de cancer we getting too. wah you tink?

ROK
    Mawnin boo. Miss you.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Mr Workout
    You are 100% WRONG Sir.
    We all know that flour water paste was used to make paste to make kites
    But when flour is used in fish cakes and bakes etc etc and the foods are digested, it has to deal with the very powerful hydrolytic enzymes in the saliva stomach and small intestines. It has to deal with the HCl in the stomach inter alia

Re “ Just think what that same white flour does inside your stomach when it mixes up with our digestive juices. Make things in there hard like rockstone.” This is bovine eXcrement Sir and a good idea for a cartoon movie for children, but has NOTHING to do with the facts which you might have or ought to have been taught at school.

The incidence of cancer and chronic disease in Bim has nothing to do with this.
    Re We block up. WELL DRINK LOTS OF FLUID AND EAT LOTS OF FOODS WITH FIBRE e.g cassava, yams breadfruit, lots of peas etc
    In the 50 plus years I lived in Barbados or other islands I have never yet once been constipated.

Nothing wrong with macaroni pie, rice and peas, bread pudding or bread, nor a few teaspoonfuls of condensed milk. Bajans were using these things as I came along.

The culprits are obviously things we have been adding to our diets, and importing since 1966. It has to do with increased meat eating, preservatives like glutamate, the use of TRANS FATS (the body uses ONLY CIS FATS).

Yes We are brainwashed. We think that to follow the fashions of the Americans is the way to go.

If wunna insides tie up and people constipated bad, bad. Bad, well INCREAE YOUR FIBRE AND WATER IN YOUR DIET.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Crusoe
    Re .
    I do not think this experiment works with sweet potato, yam, rice or cereals, due to their texture.
    Am I wrong that this is indicative of something undesirable in the body?

NOT AT ALL SEE MY NOTE ABOVE
    Re While the body is amazing, it is not a machine ACTUALLY THE BODY HAS AN EFFICIENCY IN MOST OF ITS PROCESSES MUCH HIGHER THAN ANY MACHINE!

Q – why is fructose so low on the glycemic index, DON’T KNOW NOT SURE WE CAN GO WITH EVERYTHING IN THAT LIST FROM MY EXPERIENNCE IN USING IT PERSONALLY EVEN THOUGH I THINK IT IS GENERALLY A USEFUL LIST

When you see fructose corn syrup and fructose etc you might as well say GLUCOSE! Fructose is the isomer of glucose. They are like first cousins if you please.

Beet and cane sugar are both sucrose. Sucrose is composed of glucose and fructose.
    In metabolism glucose is isomerised to FRUCTOSE 1 6 diphosphate.
    IN the same meatabolic pathway fructose enters as fructose 6 P before being converted to FRUCTOSE 1 6 diphosphate

Now read the above again and you can see that when Meira Field, Ph.D., a research chemist at United States Department of Agriculture says that fructose is better for diabetics than sugar that she is in the same class as my buddy Roky the roket scientist.

You need not take my word for it. Just google and read GLYCOLYSIS!
    It is true that every cell in the body can metabolize glucose, because glycolysis (or the splitting of sugar) is fundamental for providing energy for cells under any condition.

Re However, all fructose must be metabolized in the liver. Hurary! Everything that goes to the liver is metabolized there first. If you want to enter a country legally you must come through one of its ports and be subjected to an IMMIGRATION CHECK. Liver is the bodies immigration Dept.

Now think this true Crusoe how can fructose be better for diabetics than sugar (assuming that metabolisms of men and mice for fructose are the same) is she not contradicting herself when she says that “ The livers of the rats on the high fructose diet looked like the livers of alcoholics, plugged with fat and cirrhotic.””

Are you with me there? I don’t think that we can extrapolate this information. WE have an enzyme called gluokinase which though designed to take high concentrations of glucose out of the blood reaching the liver will also take out a lot of fructose as well.

The lesson here is that fructose is a sugar just like glucose is
    The only way that I can see where fructose is better for diabetics is that fructose is thought to be the sweetest of all sugars, so that one can use less of it. But how do folk know how much fructose is equivalent to how much glucose (bearing in mind that sensitivities of our taste buds differ).

I hopes this helps Sir.

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ BT
    You want me to be specific about a statement about “Many of the various preservatives……”
    …so you can show off with your semantics, chemistry and astrology?

Perhaps he does not want to show off but INFORM on what he knows about specific preservatives! LOL

There is a need to investigate each of the various preservatives. Don’t you think?

Re Man this is BU! …try and learn to engage in street level discussions….. answer the question!

I don’t understand why people who have spent their lives learning on a higher plane must ENGAGE in street level discussions. There are enough street level statements on BU . Don’t you think? LOL Let the street level engage with their junk, and let the serious learners and untalented 3/10 sharers of information share what they can share.

Good example of street level discussion includes that given by folk who ate flour and used sweet drinks thrice daily for three months, and then blamed accumulative levels of alloxan for their diabetes- totally disregarding the concepts of induction of enzymes or half lives or first pass effect through the liver.

45. @GP,

Read Dr Field’s quote more carefully. You will find that she is in agreement with you.

ROK, is really in a class of his own.

46. @BT,

Definitely no astrology to show off !

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hi NS
    Would you elaborate Sir?

48. @Crusoe

“The medical profession thinks fructose is better for diabetics than sugar,” says Meira Field, Ph.D., a research chemist at United States Department of Agriculture, “but every cell in the body can metabolize glucose.”

Well I am glad you raised this because my question is, why are diabetics not told that it is best to use glucose? Is there something wrong with glucose?

49. @GP,

Dr Field makes the statement that the “medical profession” thinks fructose is better.

She then follows up with a “but” and a “however”, to show she does not share this opinion.