Submitted by ROK (as a comment)

The food that you eat everyday is laced with drugs. The amount of people dying from cancer; the amount of people with asthma; the amount of people with diabetes, where did you think they get these conditions from?

Consider this. We have a flour mill in Barbados bleaching white flour as it has been bleached for about the last 50 years. Now the by-product from bleaching flour is a substance called Alloxan . Look it up.

Alloxan is a drug that is used to induce diabetes in rats so that scientists can study diabetes. They used to fool us that diabetes was hereditary. We know that it is the flour and that drug that eats away at your pancreas. You legally buy the flour that is killing you and these people selling it to you at record profits, but you are not complaining. You want to lock away your own people who, like the shop-keeper getting the flour, getting their hard drugs from the large drug lords and selling them the same way.

I put it to you, that the drug retailer is as innocent (or guilty) as the shopkeeper who selling flour and those who making and wholesaling the flour are no different from the ones making the cocaine or crack. They are as equally damaging but I don’t hear you say lock up the flour mill and the shopkeeper for selling things that destroying people’s lives.

You understand that you cannot get away from the alloxan flour? Bread, biscuits, bread crumbs that you put in your gravy, the dumplings, coconut bread, etc… but also whole wheat bread because they take the white flour and mix it back with bran flakes and some pills which are supposed to replace the wheat germ, cream of wheat, etc., that they take out of the original flour.

Just think about anything that is made from/with flour and to eat it is to destroy your life. Let’s go:

Batter to fry chicken (meats) with;
the sweet biscuits you give you children;
the corn curls;
You are a vegetarian and eat gluten?
The muffins;
the stuffing
the fish cakes
the patties
the shortbread
salt bread
sandwich bread
cookies of all types
and the list goes on.

Just take a look at the labels on the foods you buy and you will find either flour or modified corn starch. These are the foods with the drugs that are destroying our lives, not the drug dealers.

As for marijuana, I hope that you know that Canada is a leading cultivator of marijuana; legally too.

Take a look:

We cannot continue to be fooled by people who doing the same thing for bigger profits and then condemn our own in the worst way; wish death upon them, but smile all the way to the supermarket for a bag of flour. What is that?

265 responses to “We Are What We Eat, Alloxan And All!”

1. “Look, i like a good ol time bajan salt bread, hear?”

Bonny, where you does get them from? Let me know, hear?

2. “The incidence of cancer and chronic disease in Bim has nothing to do with this.”

Well, it seems like a ghost causing this cancer, etc. because nothing we ingest is causing diabetes, cancer, etc. It just happening out of thin air.

Accordingly, I was taught that flour lines the colon… but then again, I was taught that at the pipe. Somebody however, is dead wrong and we are going to find out who exactly is wrong. Just now!

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

There is nothing wrong with glucose. Every cell in the body metabolizes glucose because the splitting of the monosaccharide sugar glucose or glycolysis is the principal biochemical reaction for obtaining energy in all living organisms.

However, the liver gets first shot! The liver and muscles are the major storage areas for glucose- as glycogen. i,e excess glucose is stored for a rainy day” as it were. After that any further excess is stored as fat, or converted to cholesterol which is a precursor for the steroid hormones (sex hormones and hormones of the adrenal cortex).

In higher animals glycolysis, followed by the Krebs cycle, electron transport and oxidative phosphorylation is the process for extracting most of the energy from glucose.

Diabetics and weight losers ought to reduce their glucose and other sources of glucose units in their diets to a minimum, and derive some of their energy from fats and protein.

However, the difficulty that they face is that the Krebs cycle where the bulk of energy is extracted from food does not run properly unless sufficient glucose is in the diet.

Regardless to your source of carbohydrates, when digestion and absorption is over only three monsaccharide sugars are presented to the liver in the normal diet of men GLUCOSE and its isomers or cousins FRUCTOSE & GALACTOSE. Galactose does not usually exist by itself, but is usually combined with glucose to form the disaccharide lactose. Fructose is very commonly found in fruits, and diabetics must be aware of this. Very sweet fruits will put your diabetes out of whack! This is commonly seen every year in Bim in mango season!

Glucose or glucose 6 P is a major player in cellular metabolism. The brain prefers to use glucose. When he does not get it, he arranges for you to lie down (called feinting LOL)

Diabetics get the symptoms of hypoglycemia when there is not enough sugar reaching the brain, and ought to carry something sweet at all times, so they can raise their glucose levels if needed at very short notice.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Colon cancer is not caused by flour lining ones intestines as taught at the pipe. It is caused by STASIS of the colonic contents.

This is avoided simply by drinking lots of fluids e.g water and using bulk or roughage or fibre in your diet.

Good ole yam and eddoes and breadfruit and cassava has much fibre. In fact in some types of cassava the fibres are easily discerned when it is cooked.

Since fibre is cellulose, we can not digest it, because we do not have the enzyme cellulase to break the beta 1-4 bonds in the cellulose. This swells up in the bowels in the presence of water and helps to hasdten the passage of the stoll through the colon.

As we have departed from theold time diet we can expect an increased incidence of colon cancer. There is no mystery there.

5. @Dr. Georgie Porgie pudding and pie…

You speak like a scientist here…

I hope you can speak similarly elsewhere here on BU….

6. Our quest to discover the mystery of flour continues:

Wholewheat flour ensures higher mineral absorption and bioavailability than white wheat flour in rats.

MedLine Citation:

PMID:  10655952     Owner:  NLM     Status:  MEDLINE    

Abstract/OtherAbstract:

Consumption of unrefined whole flour is thought to affect mineral bioavailability because it contains high levels of fibre and phytic acid. The present experiment was designed to study the absorption of minerals from diets based on wholewheat flour and white wheat flour in rats. Two groups of male Wistar rats were fed on the diets for 3 weeks and absorption and tissue retention of minerals were studied. The rats fed on the wholewheat flour diet had significantly greater food intake, weight gain, faecal excretion and intestinal fermentation than those fed on the white flour diet. Mineral intakes, except for Ca, were significantly greater in rats fed on the wholewheat flour diet (4-fold for Mg, 2-fold for Fe and Zn). A significant rise in the apparent absorption of Fe (%) and a significant decrease in the apparent absorption of Zn (%) were observed. The amounts of minerals absorbed (mg/d) were significantly enhanced (excepted for Ca) with the wholewheat flour diet. Moreover, plasma and tibia levels of Mg and plasma, liver and tibia levels of Fe were significantly increased in rats fed on the wholewheat flour diet compared with those fed on the white flour diet. In conclusion, wholewheat flour, rich in phytic acid and minerals, did not have a negative effect on mineral absorption, but rather improved the bioavailability of some minerals. Human studies are needed to confirm these rat results before extrapolation to human nutrition.

Authors:

M A Levrat-Verny; C Coudray; J Bellanger; H W Lopez; C Demigné; Y Rayssiguier; C Rémésy

Publication Detail:

Type:  Journal Article    

Journal Detail:

Title:  The British journal of nutrition     Volume:  82     ISSN:  0007-1145     ISO Abbreviation:  Br. J. Nutr.     Publication Date:  1999 Jul

Date Detail:

Created Date:  2000-02-24     Completed Date:  2000-02-24     Revised Date:  2003-11-14    

Medline Journal Info:

Nlm Unique ID:  0372547     Medline TA:  Br J Nutr     Country:  ENGLAND    

Other Details:

Languages:  eng     Pagination:  17-21     Citation Subset:  IM    

Affiliation:

Laboratoire Maladies Métaboliques et Micronutriments, Centre de Recherche de Clermont-Ferrand/Theix, St-Genès-Champanelle, France. levrat@clermont.inra.fr

Export Citation:

APA/MLA Format Download EndNote Download BibTex

MeSH Terms

Descriptor/Qualifier:

Absorption
    Animals

Biological Availability

Calcium / pharmacokinetics

Flour *

Food Handling

Iron / pharmacokinetics

Magnesium / pharmacokinetics

Male

Minerals / pharmacokinetics*

Rats

Rats, Wistar

Triticum *

Zinc / pharmacokinetics

Chemical

Reg. No./Substance:

0/Minerals; 7439-89-6/Iron; 7439-95-4/Magnesium; 7440-66-6/Zinc; 7440-70-2/Calcium

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

`sO WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS dAVID?

8. I’ve been told that it is good to eat the skin/peel of most fruit, vegetables and ground provision too. Now I can’t see myself eating yam peel but maybe pumpkin, sweetpotato, squash,beets etc. How true is this?

ROK
    Good ol time bajan saltbreads or the nearest thing to a good ol’ time bajan salt bread can be had at Bryan’s bakery at the top of Baxters Rd. There’s also a place in White hall, don’t know the name and another place in Bank Hall just after the stop lights, on the right going towards Eagle Hall. Dem is got good salt breads man. I just luv a salt bread fresh or stale, doan matta, wid a piece a vegatarian cheese, lil hot sauce, a slice a tamata and one or two leaves a lettuce man. And top it off wid a nice cup a ‘black’ green tea. Chawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

But wait, wah bout Epsom Salts? Dah good or bad fa ya? I does tek sum at least once a munt. Old people did tekkin dese tings fa years and sum a dem live to be 200 years n mo. Now all of a sudden evryting bad. Man look, I gine n drink a white rum man. Cheeersssssssssss.

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The elderly Bajans often used epsom salts (Magnesium suphate plus or minus senna pods (which contained senna alkaloids) as a laxative routinely. They believed in a regular purging/

Nothing wrong with that. They used it wisely as no one really got hurt in the process.They seemed to have got the dose right. And I think this practice probably helped to prevent colonic cancer

Epsom salts was also used to treat hypertension.

The younger folk use the newer “patent” laxatives.

The only caution that must be obeyed when using laxatives like Epsom salts is that LAXATIVES MUST NOT BE USED WHEN A PERSON HAS ABDOMINAL PAIN. IF THERE IS INTESTINAL OBSTRUCTION YOU CAN RUPTURE THE INTESTINE WITH SEVERE CONSEQUENCES.

10. Dr.Porgie
    I work with the elderly and a lot of them still believe in tekkin a lil ‘salts’ in their tea on mornings to help ‘lower de pressha”.
    Anyway, i gine and lower sumting else now cause I tek a lil ‘salts’ las nite ma self. LOLLLLLLLLLL

11. @Rok&ALL

No we are not crazy Dr Sanjay Gupta On CNN has been doing a 2 night series on
    toxics. Very interestinghighliting all the various chemicals and dangers. .Some of these dangerous chemicals put pregant women at high risk . he says to avoid foods that contain antibiotics. I prefer to listen to him than some of the so calledintelligentes on this blog.Go visit Cnn .com /toxic America.

12. @ Bonny Peppa
    “Bush Tea
    Wait, i thought dat i was you woman? Now um is ac? huhhhhhhhhhhhh.Ya still swoite.”
    **********************************************************************************************
    Man Bonny! …. is true, the bushman had he chops long out…. but then reality set in!

First I realize that the staunch man like he is as solid as a ROK
    …. and then too, the bushman ain’t sure that he can handle the peppa sauce..

So I was trying a thing with the ac…….
    …had to drop that plan too- when bushy see how ac rough-up the doctor… lol
    …and too besides – that plan had in some ‘Technical’ difficulties… LOL

de two o’ wanna TOO swoite for BT bozie…..

13. Two questions to be answered.

1. What causes the pancreas to stop producing insulin?

2. What causes the cells to become resistant to insulin?

14. ROK
    Two more questions to be answered.
    1. Why do I luv you so?
    2. Why won’t you return my love?

Bush Tea
    You want hittin wid a ROK fa true. Technically speaking.

15. Hormone Health, Beauty Basic Health provides useful information to the public about the life of women will experience menopause.
    Accept or do not change our bodies, when we grow old. It seems that the key change “scary word hormones.”