Submitted by Bajan Truth

Life is uncertain. Despite our concerns about the country, I want to wish the PM well and our prayers go with him and his family at this very difficult time. We trust that it is not as serious as it came over on TV.  But it sends a strong reminder to us as men, about the uncertainty of life and how important it is for us to take care of our health. We think of Smokey Burke,  the guy from Square One, and others who struggle at this time with serious health issues. Early checks are so important because as men we are important to the stability, protection and provision for our families, and in the PM’s case to the party. Perhaps yearly check-ups for leaders should be instituted here. I want to encourage every man, get early checks, take care of your health, watch the diet. A country or region can lose valuable talent needed for its development.  I think of Stephen Alleyne, Bradley Niles, the brother of Lionel Nurse; Aubrey Cummings, Rex Nettleford.  The roll call could go on.

It reinforces the fact that we need a state of the art hospital facility with specialised medical skills, to offer our citizens affordable specialised care. How many large sums of money are spent on tests, surgeries and treatments overseas? How many times we have responded as Barbadians to fund-raising appeals to pay for expensive but necessary treatment abroad?

We can lay hold of this niche to provide not only for Barbadians but other West Indians with the potential  to sell these services further afield. Billions of dollars are earned by India doing just that. We can too. It would  provide our medical graduates with opportunities for pursuing specialised fields and getting returns on this investment without having to leave our shores. It would provide greater diversity in our tourism product. Its success could provide higher pay for our nurses who are currently underpaid, and thus attract more persons to the profession. Also it can fuel  the growth of demand for other medical services such as physiotherapists, dieticians, physical trainers and spa services.

I have confidence in us as Barbadians especially in our professionals to undertake the development of a health tourism programme.  Perhaps now the Minister of Health is freer he can turn his attention to this vital decision – new hospital or not?  Together with Mr. Sealy they can develop and implement a ground breaking sector. The BLP talked about it, but was not started.  So make a mark. Pick it back up and get the plan left there, and put it in action. Include Mr. Benn, so agriculture and health could evolve a supporting natural health programme giving agriculture a new lease on life.  You may need to lower cost of water though.

I applaud Ms. Mottley for putting side political issues and wishing him well. The media still needs to grow up, CBC did not carry Ms. Mottley’s remarks, neither did the Advocate.  Kudos to VOB for doing so, and the Nation, although it was not well displayed.

We hope that the diagnosis for Prime Minister Thompson is not as dire as projected. The question however, is whether the PM’s sickness is indicative of what is symptomatic in the Bajan men’s attitude to health?  Is this a wake up call to men?

We listen for happier news.

163 responses to “The Quality Of Life”

1. G.P
    G.P my friend, I will pray for you. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not condemning you on your stance but it is difficult for me to support you or understand how a man of God, a follower of the life and teaching of Jesus the Christ, could harbour such thoughts. Finally, if you are really a medical doctor, I hope I will NEVER have to rely on you for medical treatment, as you come over as being very coldhearted. Quite honest, you have surprised me. As I’ve said bwfore every person is entitled to his/her personal views, it is just that yours defer from mine, I see my christian journey as totally contrary to yours. I too am very concerned about the invasion of foreigners and their cultures to barbados and at times I make some harsh statements but when I do and I recognise that I’ve strayed, I ask forgiveness. G.P just let you conscience be your guide. This may be my last comment on this particular topic because I don’t like the line it is going down, we must be more matured than this.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bonny Peppa
    If you were not so intent on cussing me you would have noticed that I did not express any desire for the PM or anyone to die or be afflicted in any way. I said if he dies , he will be planted, like everyone else.

I said other things in that post too, but you could only find one post to start your rant, Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh. You are just doing something that you have wanted to do every since. LOL

I am not a big shot OK
    And unlike you, I dont hate anyone or the PM with a passion. He just means nothing to me. He is not a hero to me. He is not worthy of my worship.
    And when he dies, he WILL be planted like every body else. Simple LOL

And you are incorrect to believe that you can hate as you like because you dont proclaim to be a christian

And I am not grand-standing or prancing up and down . I am sitting here very calmly and quietly laugfhing at your unwarranted rant.

And you dont know anything about the state of my health.

And you are in no position to educate me about remembering “that there’s a very thin line between life and death, sickness and health, wealth and poverty, love and hate.”

And when you finish likkle Davie on his death WILL BE PLANTED unless them bun him, indicating as you say that there is indeed very thin line between life and death, sickness and health, wealth and poverty, love and hate.”

I am amused that you have inside knowledge on who will see God face, but dont know that in our culture we PLANT FOLK THAT DIE! LOL.

3. The DLP is Incompetent Avatar
    The DLP is Incompetent

Another Painful Trademark DLP Debt Trap

The Central Bank Governor and DLP Operatives alleged that the Barbados Labour Party built a Prison at Dodds for $750 million and that the former BLP administration also committed the country to paying out US$30 million every year, for the next 25 years, to pay for that Prison.

The facts are that “the brand new: state-of-the-art Prison at Dodds,” was built for US$144,301,325.00. But given the new standard, which the DLP and the Central Bank of Barbados has apparently set for accounting for loans – let us focus on that US$200 million, which the DLP is arranging to borrow from the Deutsche Bank Securities Inc. at a rate of 8.00% to mature over Thirty (30) years.

This means that the interest on this loan is US$16 million a year, which is US$480 million over 30 years.

Therefore, the cost of the loan over 30 years – is the amount being borrowed (US$200 million + the interest over the 30 year period: US$480 million, added to the amount to be placed in the Sinking Fund for the 30 year period @ 1.5%, which is US$90 million – altogether a whopping US$770 million.

The point is that the DLP and the Central Bank of Barbados will saddle the people of the country with a debt of some BDS.$1.540 billion on a US$200 million loan but with absolutely nothing to show for such trademark DLP pain.

In short, the DLP is borrowing to finance consumption (pay bills) and not to build productive capacity. But for this massive debt, there will be no Prison; no Airport; no Seaport and no new Hospital – nothing!!!

Imagine! A billion dollars down the drain and nothing to show! This is what the DLP has been doing since its rule began. It has been committing this country to billions in debt but with nothing to show for it.

Incidentally, this latest $200 million loan is only one of several in a series of what can be labeled – “The DLP’s Debt Traps.” It is therefore unfortunate that having set a new standard for how this country will account for loans – the Central Bank Governor is not telling Barbadians that the DLP is borrowing US$200 million but that you will have to pay back over a billion dollars on that loan. At least “the brand new state-of-the-art Prison at Dodds,” which everyone can see – will cost $750 million, whereas the DLP will lick-out $1.54 billion, but not a ‘fellah’ will ever be able to see what the DLP did with the taxpayers’ money.

This is just like that £30 million pounds sterling loan it borrowed in 1991, at an interest rate of some 13.5%, which this country will finish paying for in 2015.

The facts are that – given the new way the DLP and the Central Bank of Barbados seem to be calculating loans – on that £30 million pounds sterling, Barbadians are still paying down on the over $489.1 million in debt, which that loan is costing this country. The DLP is causing pain again!

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Mr The Scout Sir
    I see that you have also taken your turn.
    This is so hilarious that I must enjoy the whole thing, and keep the ranting going until the others chime in the domino effect.

I often harp about the waste of “free education.” It is again demonstrated in this post. The rantings by you and your team indicate an inability to understand English, and an evident deep seated hatred for me by many of you.

This is what I wrote initially
    Not really. I dont care 2 hoots about the PM. If he dead he will be planted soon after like every body else man. or cremated.
    Like you ……I wish the doctors well. Some good money must be spending up there in NY! He probably got good health and other insurance via CLICO. LOL

I don’t know the PM . I have never met him. He is neither my friend or enemy. He means nothing to me. His death will not affect me, as if he was a family member , close friend or acquaintance, or a paient. People are dying everyday in Bim and all over the world. David is just another one

I still maintain and without apology that “If he dead he will be planted soon after like every body else man. or cremated.” And this can not be denied. LOL

It will happen to me too, if the rapture does not occur first.

And I pointed out that he probably got good insurance cause from personal experience I can tell you that a test on the thread mill was US $4000 in 2004. Every simple heart test up here is thousands! Without insurance, crapaud smoke your pipe!

You like others, who don’t know me from Adam, has now taken your turn in opinining on my humility and arrogance. Now you add envy and spite. For what should I envy David? What do you know about my capacity to love? What do you know about how I have expressed love? Nothing? You are adjudicating with out the facts.

You can not adduce any of those thing about me from my statements, especially when it is still true that in our culture DEAD PEOPLE ARE PLANTED! LOL

And FYI All humans are not children of God according to the definition of the Bible OK? Check the texts and the etymology of words used to translate “children” and “sons” in the NT.

I have noting to apologize for and the only thing that I have to reflect on is why is it that all you folk got the free education and cant understand simple English. I also ask WHO MADE YOU ALL A JUDGE AND RULER OVER ME? Lol? I stand amazed and amused that folk of your age dont yet understand that in our culture DEAD PEOPLE ARE PLANTED! LOL

A lot of folk in Barbados are ill and dying, but they are not discussed here there and everywhere. Are they not important too?

I don’t need your prayers or support or understanding Sir. I have loys of folk who actually KNOW ME and my needs and nature who are praying for me, and have been so praying for years.

Re “Every person is entitled to his/her personal views, it is just that yours defer from mine.” That is the only sensible and relevant thing you have said.

Note in my responses I have not berated you or call you names or expressed hate.

And I want you to understand that I don’t envy anybody for anything they have or positions they hold. I JUST DO NOT REVERE OR WORSHIP THEM. That’s just me.

I say again Do you think that the PM thinks or cares or knows about me? You think he cares if I living or dead or sick? Why should I care about him? I care about the simple folk who matter to me. I care about my friend who lost is wife of 37 years on Sunday. But the PM is removed and remote from me. He does not matter at all. It is as though he does not exist.

The facts of life are that he will be planted or buried or whatever you like. LIKE EVERYBODY ELSE. There is nothing cold or callous or unloung about that! I have committed NO SIN! THOSE ARE THE COLD HARD FACTS!

And remember in our culture DEAD PEOPLE ARE PLANTED! LOL

I got some A & P to do, inter alia. Let me get to it

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BTW Scouty

I dont need to find favour with the David you guys seem to worship, I have found favor with DAVID’s GREATER SON- THE ONE WHO REALLY MATTERS.

Guess what? HE WILL NEVER DIE AGAIN AND HE EVER LIVES TO INTERCEDE FOR ME AND OTHERS LIKEME WHO HAVE COMMITED OUR IMPERFECT LIVES TO HIM.

ISNT THAT GRAND Scouty?

6. Bajan Truth
    Man leff ma nah. I hay poor, peaceful n polite. I in troubling nabody. Leh peace rain.
    But wait, tell me sumting, if it was Owen in de same predicament wid he health when he did in power, you doan tink dat de same wrangling n cut-throat ting would be gine on? Man, all politicians are power hungry.Just like some people join a club and want to be president or nutton doing.I rest my case.

And it is a fact that as long as you born, you will die someday. I never disputed that fact of life. For it is appointed unto man once, and that is to die and after death, what?

A lot a dem are in for a big disappointment because they can’t see God face. Ya can’t buy a ticket ta get thru dat door ya know? Some a dem feel so the way they behaving.

I am a child of God, I am a child of God,
    I have washed my clothes in the cleansing fountain
    I am a child of God.

Hallelujah.

7. Sad, very very sad.

Again our prayers go out to the Prime Minister and his family. The BU household cannot identify with the pain which he and family must be experiencing at this time.

8. @ David

I understand that there has been a diagnosis of colon cancer with the PM.

9. As per a report in the Trinidad Express newspaper today.

10. PEOPLE DON’T CHANGE…..GIVE TIME THEY EVENTUALLY REVEAL THEMSELVES!!

11. I have had my say on this matter. As I stated before, I don’t like the road this blog is going in this matter and therefore I will not make anyother comments on this blog other than to pray for the well being and full and speedy recovery for our Prime Minister. I like G.P don’t worship him but he was been place in a national position and therefore as a national of this country my prayers and well wishes goes out to him, his family, relatives, friends and supporters.

12. I agree with you, David. Sad, very, very sad! Did not someone once say, love (be charitable to) thy neighbour? I do not mean these tepid sorry excuses for the scum tracks of shit-eating parasites who pose as Christians on BU. Who the cap fits…..

13. Bro Scout
    No one is worshiping the PM. but the bible which some of us are so verse in, speaks about how can you love Me that you can’t see but hate your brother whom you can see.
    Would someone please quote the exact scripture n verse for this unsaved sista please.
    In times of tragedy, sickness, fire etc. we would think that these so called fresh water’chrisitans’ would be more sympathetic to the situation. A lot a dem gun burn in hell like de rest a we dat dum like to scorn.

I commend the leader of the Opposition for coming out forthwith and conveying ‘best wishes and a speedy recovery’ to the PM as soon as he made the announcement. She did not delay. She was on the ball man. She got 10 marks out of 5 from me for that. She too understands that most of us are human. Some, like I know here on BU are superhuman and so nothing will befall him.
    Money can buy wealth, it cannot buy health just like it can buy a house but not a home etc.
    I pity the fool.

A nonemus
    Ya got ma cryinnnnnnnnnn. You getting on like my man Negro de hero with your descriptive names. I luv um. ‘scum tracks of shite-eating parasite christians’.
    We should never pompasette when any of life’s little tragedies affect a brother/sister, hear, life is so fragile, you could be here now, in the peak of health, and by the next hour or less, you’re a statistic, hear? Don’t jump n prance because ya hear dat you ‘next door neighbour’ dat you doan speak ta,get diagnose wid an illness because, ‘wah in ketch ya, in pass ya neitha’ . And if ya got a nasty, cold,bad-minded black-guardish heart towards ya fellowman, ya can’t walk dem ‘streets a gold’.

14. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161668240&weba=NWSNews
    Bajan PM flies out for cancer treatment

Tuesday, May 18th 2010
    Barbados Prime Minister, David Thompson, who is believed to be suffering from colon cancer, is expected to take time off and leave Barbados for a few months in order to seek treatment this week.
    Thompson made the announcement of his impending absence at a press briefing at his official residence last Friday.
    In his absence, Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General, Freundel Stuart, will act as Prime Minister.
    Reliable sources close to the government’s hierarchy yesterday told the Express it is suspected Thompson may be suffering from colon cancer.
    The Barbados Nation reported on Sunday that at Friday’s press briefing, Thompson said he had undergone tests in Barbados and New York to identify the cause of the illness. He did not disclose the illness, but said in the next two weeks Barbados would know the nature and extent of his illness.
    Thompson, who has lost weight, said initial tests and others were going to continue and it might necessitate him being out of the country over the next month or for a longer period.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

You guys can only engage in emotional erratic effluent and cursings because you have nothing to bring to the table on the issue. But whereas your out and out clear and unwarranted abuse of me and display of utter hatred is called free speech; for me to declare that DAVID WILL BE PLANTED is an offense. Well be offended. I have committed no crime, nor have I broken any law of the country or of God.

The facts remain that folk who die in our culture and country are INDEED PLANTED (buried if you like.).

On Sunday after church I recieved an email from my son concerning the death of his best friends mother, who was once my patient, and whose husband I knew from BCC days in 1971. Now that to me was sad, very, very sad!.

So sad that I even made a costly long distance call to convey my condolences in a practical display of love and respect.

I reserve the right not to be sad about the illness of the PM who I do not know, have never related to in anyway. It boggles the mind that you guys can not see that when he dies he will be PLANTED, just as my friends wife will be!

And yes Techie I am glad at least that you learned the axim I taught recently on BU that PEOPLE DON’T CHANGE…..GIVE TIME THEY EVENTUALLY REVEAL THEMSELVES!!
    Now go and learn that in Barbados WE PLANT DEAD PEOPLE INCLUDING PRIME MINISTERS.

I have sat in this chair and read posts by folk who have said the worst things about THE SAME PM and other public officials, and there was no hue and cry. Now you all want to draw and quarter me because I say that he WILL BE PLANTED WHEN HE DIES? As if I have said something that you all dont know to be true.

Yes you guys really are revealing yourselves. And I think it is funny, an yes I AM LAUGHING LOUDLY! And I am glad I said what I said, cause I am learning a lot about some of you folk LOL

The BU household cannot identify with the pain which he and family must be experiencing at this time.

Many families in Barbados are having the same pain today, and there is no hue and cry. When I heard of the death of my friend’s death I called seeking to IDENTIFY WITH HIS PAIN HE AND HIS FAMILY ARE EXPERIENCING.. But guess what she will be planted too only with less pomp and circumstance and more hypocrisy!

Hood has revealed that the T&T papers reveals that he has colon cancer. Instead of you guys engaging in an edifying discussion on preventing this disease- because it is preventable to a large extent, or a discussion on the need for going oversease for medical treatment, or the need for health insurance when such issues arise, you all are off on an erratic emotional efflux of bovine excrement.

I say it again via the free speach afforded me on BU. FOLK WHO DIE IN BIM ARE PLANTED THE PM WILL BE PLANTED LIKE EVERY BODY ELSE! Ah lie?

16. My feelings on this matter are personal and I seek not to influence others, contradict some or be antagonistic, therefore this will be my only comment.

My thoughts are with the Prime Minister’s wife his children and other immediate family members. At this juncture the concerns of Government are important but his family comes first, as whatever the outcome or date there will be other Prime Ministers of Barbados.

I do not know The Prime Minister David Thompson personally but I have no reason to believe that he is other than a good man. I hope he has a “long life” in the warm embrace of his family and friends. May he walk in a place of happiness for a “long time” with those he loves and may the people of Barbados also enjoy that privilege.

“The light of love shines over all;
    Of love, that says not mine and thine,
    But ours, for ours is thine and mine.”

Longfellow

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re I commend the leader of the Opposition for coming out forthwith and conveying ‘best wishes and a speedy recovery’ to the PM as soon as he made the announcement. She did not delay. She was on the ball man. She got 10 marks out of 5 from me for that.

WHAT ELSE COULD SHE SAY
    SHE HAD TO SAY THAT FOR THE EXACT REASON ABOVE

IT LOOK NICE AND SOUND NICE
    BUT DID SHE MEAN IT?
    SHE PROBABLY HATES THE MAN’s GUTS whereas I have nothing against him.

SHE PROBABLY DESIRES HIS DEATH whereas I do not care if he dies or not. There is no gain or loss for me. He is another one to be planted like those who were mentioned in the “deaths” this morning. LOL

HE AINT NO BETTER NOR BIGGER THAN NO BODY
    HE WILL DIE TOO ………………..AND BE PLANTED LIKE YOU ME AND EVERYBODY ELSE
    I AM SURE THERE IS ALREADY INTERNECINE WARFARE IN THE PARTY ALREADY

I AM SURE THAT SOME ARE ALREADY PLANNING AND PLOTTING

THAT IS THE REAL HYPOCRISY because he will be planted when he dies despite all the emotional erratic effluent being exuded on BU!

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re you could be here now, in the peak of health, and by the next hour or less, you’re a statistic, hear?

IS THIS NOT EXACTLY WHAT IS HAPPENING?

Staistically, 100% of the persons whom I certified dead in Bim were planted? Ah lie?

I am not a fool, and I know what I said and what I mean. I spoke in clear English.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

In my post above my friends will be planted too only with less pomp and circumstance and with much LESS hypocrisy!

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Just 2 more persons to come out to the party now. I got this thing down pat. Psychology too sweet. Won my bet. LOl

21. Yardbroom
    You always come through shining man. I love you so much, though I know you not for the words that cometh from a man’s mouth are what defile him. You are such a gentleman. Will you marry me?( doan leh de wifey hear) LOLLLLLLLLL.
    I love those few lines from Longfellow.
    Even your taste for poetry is stimulating.
    You have any ‘single’ brothas? :_)

Anonymous
    Cancer is spreading like wild-fire in this place. It has touched almost every family you know. Whether young or old, it is reaping havoc in this place man. There seems to be no immediate cure. The one that tugs at my heart though is when it takes a young child. It tears me up even though I”m not familiar with the family. It hurts to see a child die from cancer or any other disease for that matter. I pray that the Scientist will find a cure before its tentacles reach more young lives. Cancer is a very painful illness too and it hurts to see or know persons suffering with that ‘monster’ man.

22. Yardbroom, well said as usual.

Hood, my own suspicion is somewhat different, but no less serious, but that is speculation.

All,

Reality is that any illness or death is a wake up call to all people stop being materialistic (I am speaking generally, not of the PM), and love life itself, the creations around us, not money.

Love creation, not commercialism.

23. Well well well! Wunnah aint EZ!

I glad persons on this blog don’t know me personally or socially!

Mankind has sunk to another low!!!!

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Crusoe
    I tell you thast you are a smart boy!

You are obviously thinking aneursym of the abdominal aorta (if a cardiologist is involved).
    Interesting. Troublesome if behind the C of the duodenum where all those big vessels hangout.

Or you are thinking about a phaeocromocytoma , which might also require the services of a cardioloogist. I cant remember if they undergo malignant change.

A benign phaeocromocytoma can be removed. Thats a lot of fun actually. You have to use a drip with Labetolol a drug that is both an alpha blocker and a beta blocker, because everytime the surgeon touches the tumor the blood pressure goes up. So a lot of monitoring is required.

Another possibility is a malignant myeloma which is common in men about age fifty. The texts say it is a disease of men, but I had a case involving the wife of a real close friend in 1992. She presented with abdominal symptoms mainly and puzzled us a bit, but we diagnosed it by doing a simple urine test.

Both MM and phaeo can be diagnosed in Bim. It usually is for ordinary folk. But for rich “big ups”????

25. I myself choose to approach things with delicacy. However, one thing is for sure, that GP has a point on, even if his methods are rather harsh.

That is, the existence of much hypocrisy around and I do not mean just here. I say this as one hears ‘yuh can’t say this or that’, but I directly received the shock of my life some years back, when a family member was ill and I myself was treated to some crass attitude, by people who I THOUGHT should know better, hence I lost all respect for certain people and for ‘corporate culture’ aka ‘suck as much blood and money from people as one can’.

It was one incident, but taught me a lesson in bloodsuckers and nastiness AND gives me the ability and right to speak on certain attitudes, with authority.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JC
    Re
    I glad persons on this blog don’t know me personally or socially! (So do I. LOL)

Next time I come home. I will change that. And we qwine kiss by the pipe in the graveyard at Ch Ch Parish Ch OK?

Mankind has sunk to another low. That is true. After I was willing to give you way to my buddy Techie, he wanna give me dust! LOL! But he does learn fast! He dont mek you have to pull teet fe get he to learn! But he dont deserve you chile! Murdah.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Crusoe

You may also continue any kidney lession that causes a Goldblatt situation in the kidney followed by serious hypertension. There is also renal stenosis. (I just coming off the top of my head.)

28. GP, your knowledge is (obviously) way out of my league in medical matters. I was thus thinking the most obvious, yes.

I investigate not out of malice, but out of genuine curiosity, I enjoy such research, superficial though it may be.

The internet to me is such an amazing thing. While everything we read is not guaranteed true, there is much available and ability to find and learn so much.

Indeed, nowadays, who can ever say that they are bored, what with internet, nature, life to explore?

People find solace in drink drugs, but it is available elsewhere.

But, never judge others……

29. @ BAJAN TRUTH

“because another rumor circulating yesterday, started on the call-in programmes, is that the boys already canvassing for the top job…”

I heard it said that BRITAIN is a land of “DRAMA QUEENS”… it seems “little britain” isn’t far behind!!!

Our beloved PM maybe ill but he has not passed into the great beyond…

We must be more sensitive as a nation, as a people and moreso as political servants we must be less self-serving, ego-maniacal and power-grabbing …

He who considers himself greatest amongst us MUST* be servant to all without bias, fear or compromise…

One of the fundamental things we must never lose as a people is RESPECT* for eachother; empathy for those less fortunate than ourselves and above all else, unfailing LOVE* for those who are even our enemies…

To use BU as a “mop-bucket” is frankly reprehensible!!!

Many of us in Bajan society have become so “uppity” that we have forgotten the long, arduous road from which we have traveled to get to this place…

We have forgotten the words of our national anthem and we refuse to inculcate the values which have made our forefathers who they were and as a result has molded our society to become the stable, free and prosperous place that it is…

If we refuse to build on the legacy of who we are as a people – we are frankly doomed to infighting, anarchy and bedlam…

We should be taking lessons from what is going on currently in BANGKOK…

In the dispensations of the Biblical Kings – when those who were placed in authority by GOD* got sick, the mourners were called; the musicians, the physicians and most importantly, THE PROPHETS were summoned…

The king maybe a “bastard” but our responsibility is to show true honor – because Jesus reminds us in Scripture that – “unto the least that you do it to; you do it to me”…

30. @ Bonny Peppa
    If I had a single brother he would have to be “worthy” of you…and that is not easy.

@ Crusoe
    I had no idea we had another regular contributor doctor in the family. You guys will soon start charging for consultations.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Crusoe
    GP, your knowledge is (obviously) way out of my league in medical matters. I was thus thinking the most obvious, yes.
    THATS GOOD CRUSOE

We have a saying in Medicine (call it a rule or protocol if you like) COMMON THINGS ARE COMMON! i.e the simplest or commonest thing is likely to be the diagnosis. You must think of the common things first before thinking about the esoteric, or things in the fine print.

Against aaa, however, is the weight loss! Weight loss is common with malignant tumprs.

So you can add in liver diseases and pancreatic diseases. Because of the location of a pancreatic tumor, pancreatic cancer is virtualy a death sentence, because of the reltions of the pancreas to the three big boys in the region (aorta, inferior vena cava and hepatic portal vein.)

But again a simple blood and stool test plus jaundice would give you the diagnosis with out too much bother. Similarly liver diseases can easily be diagnosed at home.

32. Terence MB
    Hallelujah. Can I get an ‘Amen’? Hallelujah.
    Some here have me scared to enter the church farless be ‘born again’.
    Preach it my brotha.
    God teaches Love. Not hate and malice.
    On the day of reckoning, he won’t be interested in your profession cause it won’t help you to ‘stroll those streets’. Hallelujah.
    I was hungry, you didn’t feed me.
    I was naked, you didn’t clothe me.
    I was sick, you didn’t visit me. ( can’t remember the others)

I was diagnosed with an illness and instead of showing sympathy, you make a mockery……………………………… depart from me, I know you not. Go with your next of kin, Lucifer.

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah.

33. Yardbroom
    At least gimme a chance wid he nah. And we would decide who’s worthy of who.LOL

34. @ Bonny Peppa
    God couldn’ t have said it better!

35. ac
    you sure? LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Right on time!

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yadbroom
    Crusoe seems to be a good student. But neither of us wont be charging. Medicine has long been my hobby. Never really tried seriously to make money from practicing it.

It is hard to deal with folk on a daily basis that dont know that in thier culture and country that dead folk are planted or interred. Teaching is much more fun. You deal with folk like Crusoe, who can cerebrate.

38. @GP

Perhaps the point you are missing can be summed up in one word, sensitivity. One should know when and where.

39. Time didn’t permit me to say my piece earlier but one should remember that GP is a Doctor and Doctors are acquainted with death. They observe it all through their training and throughout their practice, they are often the bearer of bad news to both patients and families. Doctors are expected to be unemotional … they have to be otherwise they would be basket cases. For that reason one of the cardinal rules of medicine is that Doctors are not supposed to treat anyone to whom they have an emotional attachment so family members are usually referred to other physicians

It is not surprising that doctors have a ghoulish sense of humour when dealing with the subject of death, they usually repeat the jokes among their peers because laymen would be shocked at some of these jokes. I did read a GP post when he said someone was “planted” and no one objected so why all the fuss now when he uses this euphemism for “buried”? Many Bajans attend funerals not out of respect for the dead but to partake in the gluttony of the wake afterwards.

In closing I wish the PM a speedy recovery from whatever illness has befallen him, the same I would wish for anyone else.

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

People have for months cursed the PM on BU.
    They have called he and his wife dishonest.
    They talked about real estae deals in his wife’s name.
    They talked about his sexual lifestyles
    They talked about his relationship with Clico and Paris and intimated that thier business dealings as a duo were diabolical and dubious manners.

And now that he is ill, they engaging in emotional erratinal exudatea of bovine excrement. PEOPLE DIE DAILY whether rich or poor, old or young, high or low, kings or peasants, leaders or leaners, bright or dumb. PEOPLE DIE DAILY.

In some cultures they are cremated on burning pyres. In our culture they ARE PLANTED. Tom was planted in 1985. Bree was planted in 2004. And the Dipper cremated in 1987. If and when Davvid dies he will be planted or cremated like every body!

That is sound truth that CAN NOT BE REFUTED.

41. “Sensitivity” is an understatement my darling David.

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I have not missed any point. I made a simple statement that has been blown out of proprtion by a few biased morons. What sensitivity what?

Folk on BU must know sensitivity when and where too. I have been statinf a truism all day. It can not be refuted! In our country DEAD FOLK ARE PLANTED!

I have not spoken ill about the PM. I have not expressed anger at his failings to fix the country and do this and do that as others do on BU DAILY.

I have not got on BU and sought to denigrate him EVER. have not expressed hatred or anything else against the man. But I will say again that if he dies HE WILL BE PLANTED.

And I dont care who dont like it! That is sound truth that CAN NOT BE REFUTED. You all are making a mountain out of a mole hill.

I have been called all kinds of names today on BU under the free speach policy. Where was the sensitivity then Sir?

I have broken no BU law, no law of Barbados or none of the laws of God. Read through Kings & Chronicles and see there recorded that the KINGS were themselves PLANTED! Ah lie?

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

It is wriiten
    Unto the pure all things are pure: but unto them that are defiled and unbelieving is nothing pure; but even their mind and conscience is defiled.
    Death is normal
    Planting dead people is also normal.

44. Sargeant
    There is no excuse under the sun for that sort of behaviour. Doctors are inhuman then? What happened to the christian side of this said doctor? He is totally cold n callous. The profession has nothing to do with it. Gimme a break man. I personally have no problem with the word ‘planted’ but the ranting n raving that follows. Have you ever heard that somethings are better left unsaid? Or he can say anything regardless to how cold n callous it makes him appear because he is a doctor? stupseeeeeeeeeeeee. And it in got nutton to do wid de PM, it is just his uncaring, unchristian approach to the whole matter. He’s supposed to be a christian and talking ’bout one, he doan care bout politicians, pop stars, and a whole lotta shite. Dis man professes christianity not me, he does. He’s a real mock-stick man.

And for your information all funerals are not accompanied by a ‘wake’ afterwards so stop making bajan look hungry and destitute. Persons attend funerals out of respect for the dead or their family. Many bajans still cook daily regardless how tuff tings might be, so ease offfa dah statement. We in get day yet. Doan mek sport.

45. Stupseeeeeeeeee, look very few people on BU degrade de PM or dis guvment. very few. stop looking fa straws ta grab at. you have proven your worth. go and look fa a rock ta crawl unda. you have been rejected and dejected.you and your nonsense are now null n void. now depart in peace.and like the woman at de well: ‘go and sin no more’. Ya C.C.C.

46. BP

Note I said “many” not all, but what accounts for this statement at the church during the service. “ The family intends to spend time after the funeral in quiet reflection” Translation …. no wake.

Lest you think I am giving Bajans in Barbados a hard time, this is what I have observed of Bajans in Toronto….. as soon as the cars get to the cemetery someone opens the trunk of their car and out comes the bottles of rum where they start to celebrate or should that be mourn?

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Speaking from under my rock under which I have crawled, when the PM dies he will be PLANTED LOL It will be televised so no one will miss it. I will watch from under the rock LOL

LOL my Christian friends dont bother with PM’s Presidents or politicians either, We focus on other things. Here is hate being dispensed whole sale, and I am here laughing my head off, cause I have committed no crime.

48. Dear Dr. GP

I think that people have objected to the term planted because it is inacurate.

People accept buried and interred.

Planted means to put something in the ground with a REASONABLE EXPECTATION that it will grow.

But I’ve gone to many funerals where people were buried/interred and none of them have grown.

So no the term planted can’t be right.

That said we will all die (the PM too) and when we die our families will bury or cremate us. None of this is news.

49. J
    This is the first submission for the day that has actually made me laff till water run down my face.
    ‘But I’ve gone to many funerals where people were buried/interred and none of them have grown’.
    Dat is a classic. It deserves a round of applause.

Sargeant
    Wakes in years gone by, before my time, I was only born yesterday, lol, were very solemn. Unlike now when persons wine n dine. But not all funerals here have a ‘wake’ afterwards. It is now catching on again so the family being aware of this, simply put, ‘the family would like to spend the evening in quiet reflection’.
    I have never seen it here but I was made to understand that at some funerals now, persons are coming around selling food n drinks in the cemetary. I don’t think that anyone could sell me food in the cemetary. That is being disrespectful to the family of the deceased. What ever happened to protocol? stupseeeeeeeee.

Sorry, I thought that you were referring to my brothas n sistas in Bim. But how you know dat de lickrish people is Bajans? You is be in de crowd drinking too? Just kidding. LOLLLLLLLL

50. @Sargeant

Mock Stick Couldn’t have said it better! yuh very funny!