Submitted by Austin

In searching to explain why the wants and needs of the general public are systematically ignored, one must entertain the possibility that the political system in BIM  only represents the elite class in our island.

Industry elites have the means by which to enable a standard of living many politicians no matter how well intentioned can’t resist.  Today the rewards of serving the general public comes often with little gratitude and nothing else. One can argue “that’s life” however there is a point of frustration the general public can reach as they did today in the UK, that is also possible here in Barbados.

The question then becomes “do our leaders care” or is there such confidence in the disengagement of the public that they continue the status quo while in and out of office. As an idealist I am increasingly moved to do my part for the people of Barbados, due to the burden of my love of country  and my heart being in the right place.

I like others have been disillusioned by both the DLP and BLP, as election promises to the public go unfulfilled largely by unqualified ministry leaders and officials. The PM and the opposition leadership should pay close attention to what just occurred in the UK, as we the Bajan public can reach a similar point, if the politics of talking heads and non action is continued.

24 responses to “Reality: Bajan Politicians Represent Small Group Of Industry Elites, Not The General Public”

1. What an epiphany! Welcome to the real world that they’ve created for us. There’s absolutely no difference between the political pimping barnyard stock of Barbados and those of the US, UK and the rest of em.

2. Hopi, I agree with you. All politicians worldwide are equally corrupt and incompetent and are puppets for the rich money power elitists guys pulling their strings behind the scenes. I only trust them as far as I can spit at them.
    (phtew).

❀ MF Doom Meets Clutchy Hopkins – Vomitspit

They aren’t ‘nice guys’ acting in the interest of the public.
    They are controllers scamming the public treating them as criminals to tax and fine.

.. Anyhow have a nice day and pleasant weekend.

3. @kiki…………. Their arses need to be Greeced right about now. But just watch how things go from worse to worst and the sheeple continue to look to them for answers. Polietickians by nature are LIARS and CORRUPTIBLE, that’s why they are in that business.

Let’s see if the PM follow thru on his selling off of the Bajan assets just for useless cash. In the end we neither have cash nor land.

Who will he sell the land to?

Why not keep it for the people and get them back into the business of wholescale food production, because that’s all we’re gonna have.

Talk about a Pimper’s Paradise!

…You go in peace.

4. Can’t anyone understand that there is no grattitude in politics?Globally the geographics change but the same greed and sleigh of hands abound.Barbados is no exception.Its all about self and big mout friends or ‘sleeping’ partners. Happy Mother’s Day to the BU mothers!

5. Curious Cat. Avatar

I think it’s time to gather the feathers and the tar.

6. Adrian Hinds Avatar

The US stock market lost thousand points in 16 minutes. Is the world broke?

7. @Adrian

It is the market reacting to the problems in the European market. We have long discussed the downside of globalization, in this case the EU.

Maybe the world needs a Bretton Wood II

8. @Adrian Hinds: “The US stock market lost thousand points in 16 minutes. Is the world broke?

1. There are many stock markets in the US of A.

2. Could you please tell us all which one “lost thousand points in 16 minutes”? Please provide supporting evidence (a link to a specific Yahoo Finance URL would be fine).

For the record, I think you are scaremongering. But then, I might be wrong….

9. @All…

As an aside…

It is interesting that the main news sources (including BBC) have for the last year or so been reporting only the “point change” on exchanges, rather than the percentages. If you were going to drop one of the two previously reported metrics, you would expect them to drop points, since the percentage change is the only important value.

For example, a 1000 point drop on the US of A’s DOW would represent less than a 10% drop in value.

A 1000 point drop on the US of A’s Nasdaq would represent almost a 50% drop in value.

The same reported point drop. A much different meaning in actual value change.

Hmmmm….

10. We know that politicians can easily be bought for favours. What can we the populace do to stop the abuse of our trust? Are we going to keep jumping from the pot to the frying pan?

Any ideas as to how we can get good and intelligent men and women who will have integrity. No sense sending uneducated but well meaning persons to parliament who cannot understand the complexities of policy decisions. Neither do we want persons to blind us with their brains while stealing our money.

11. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

DLP Column: The walls are crumbling

Over the last couple of days, Mia Mottley must be asking herself a number of questions. What am I doing wrong? What am I doing that is so different to the actions of my former leader? How can I improve on my people management skills? These questions are pertinent in light of the fact that Mia has been unable, through her uninspiring leadership, to maintain the interest of some of her key resources.

The most recent of these ‘political departures’ is Mr. Hamilton Lashley, the Member of Parliament for St. Michael South East. Lashley’s acknowledgement of the work of the David Thompson-led Government is a clear indication that the DLP is doing something right. Hammie La sat as a Minister of Government in the last BLP administration and left as a Poverty Advisor. He came with nothing and left with nothing; except for a legacy of caring, unlike others. It is clear that his political journey has been one of sacrifice for his people and his most recent decision is seen as a furtherance of this objective. As a political institution, we know where he stands and how he defines his political career. When this is juxtaposed to the Opposition Leader’s career, she is found wanting.

This recent development in the political career of the Opposition Leader is testimony to what Owen Arthur was hinting at a couple months ago. As you would recall, Owen publicly admonished Mia about her lack of leadership skills.

All of this comes on the heels of announcements by various members of the last administration: Outgoing Member of Parliament for Christ Church West, William Duguid, has embraced globalization and decided to move his practice to Canada, and Elizabeth Thompson wants to a Global Governor on climate change. Let’s not forget the most recent announcement by Noel Barney Lynch …ooops sorry!!! I forgot he is now a returning national who is once again seeking shelter in the bosom of the Opposition. The public must not take likely this type of flip-flop attitude towards serving the people. Last but not least, Owen Arthur’s hot and cold political posturing which is beginning to pay dividends.

The Barbados Labour Party members are now experiencing Post Election Disillusionment [PED]. This effect is brought on by the leader’s attempts to create mayhem at the expense of the people. The sad reality is that the more educated and informed people of the IT generation have seen through the politics of illusion. The smoke and mirrors of the past have either faded or shattered and we now see the Barbados Labour Party for what they are – a bunch of politicians whose sole motivation is maintaining the reins of power at all cost.

We acknowledge that Owen has behaved well and kept his distance from any internal controversy. He is well positioned now to keep pace with his strategy for re-entry. We all know that Mia, by her own actions and missteps, is contributing immensely to her departure as leader. It is only a matter of time. We want to assure the public that the above political machinations will not detract us from the real job at hand, which is the delivery of an improved quality of life for all Barbadians.

12. “Maybe the world needs a Bretton Wood II” – David, in an above blog at 3.23 PM, April, 7, 2010.

“If the key to controlling a nation is to run its central bank, one can imagine the potential of a global central bank, able to dictate the world’s credit and money supply.

The roots for such a system were planted when the International Monetary Fund and World Bank were formed at the Bretton Woods Conference of 1944.

These UN agencies were both CFR (Council on Foreign Relations) creations.

The idea for them hatched with the Economic and Finance Group, one of the units of the Council’s War and Peace Studies Project.

This group proposed the IMF and World Bank in a series of increasingly sophisticated memos to the President and State Department during 1941-42.

After Bretton Woods, the two institutions were touted in Foreign Affairs ( Journal owned by the Council on Foreign Relations ).

A. K. Chesterton, the distinguished British author, declared: “The final act of Bretton Woods, which gave birth to the World Bank and International Monetary Fund………and many similar assemblies of hand picked functionaries were not incubated by hard-pressed Governments engaged in waging war, but by a Supra-national Money Power which could afford to look ahead to the shaping of a post-war world that would serve its interests.””

The above derivations were taken from pages 72 to 73 from the book, SHADOWS OF POWER by James Perloff.

And more from page 73 of this book: “The IMF was ostensibly set up to control international exchange rates and “stabilize currencies”, but is the frame work for a central bank of issue”.

“The IMF’s sister, the World Bank, was supposedly established to help postwar reconstruction and development. It is an international lending agency, BUT WHAT IT LENDS MORE THAN ANYTHING ELSE IS DOLLARS FROM THE US TAXPAYER ( capitals ours – for emphasis).

Who is the ultimate beneficiary? The World Bank hierarchy has traditionally been closely linked to the Rockefellers’ Chase Manhattan Bank.”

Perloff concluded this segment on the Bretton Woods Conference/Agreements by remarking ( on pg 74 )that, “Bretton Woods MARKED NEITHER THE FIRST NOR LAST TIME THAT THE INTERNATIONAL BANKERS WOULD DEVISE A MEANS OF USING OTHER PEOPLE’S MONEY TO OBTAIN PROFITS – BOTH MONETARY AND POLITICAL – IN THE NAME OF HUMANITARIANISM” (capitals ours – for emphasis).

So, David, is your suggestion steeped in grevious forbode?

Or laced with sarcasm?

Or are you “kite flying” in very stormy conditions?

For, where the PDC is concerned, it would be hard to think that you would wish for a Bretton Woods 2, that would spell greater and more protracted social, political, material and financial problems and crises for the many millions of impoverished and powerless people across the world, given the scale of destruction and inhumanity that has already been wrought on such great multitudes of people by the IMF and the World Bank and by their elitist capitalist financial backers and cohorts, with their neo-liberal fascist new world order ideas and conspiracies and projects ( also some positives about those two institutions though) – but NOT without, yes, their having got the active support and agreement of many previous governments that would have ruled over those people too.

And given too that such ideas, conspiracies and programs of the present global and regional power elites working somewhat in tandem with another – directly or indirectly – include using modern, technologically advanced, mass communication means to continue to help constantly “dumb down”, misinform, mythologize, divide and rule millions and millions of people in this world in order to, et al, supposedly unnecessarily control subject them to their own wicked agendas.

No wonder thousands upon thousands of Greeks are in uproar against this IMF/ECB/EU/Greek governmental austerity program that is, et al, designed to make the vast majority of Greeks far poorer and weaker than now, financially politically speaking.

13. Green Monkey Avatar

PDC, I hear yuh bo.

The following text is the Preface of The Global Economic Crisis. The Great Depression of the XXI Century, Michel Chossudovsky (Professor of Economics, University of Ottawa) and Andrew Gavin Marshall (Editors), Montreal, Global Research, 2010, which is to be launched in late May.

Preface

In all major regions of the world, the economic recession is deep-seated, resulting in mass unemployment, the collapse of state social programs and the impoverishment of millions of people. The economic crisis is accompanied by a worldwide process of militarization, a “war without borders” led by the United States of America and its NATO allies. The conduct of the Pentagon’s “long war” is intimately related to the restructuring of the global economy.

We are not dealing with a narrowly defined economic crisis or recession. The global financial architecture sustains strategic and national security objectives. In turn, the U.S.-NATO military agenda serves to endorse a powerful business elite which relentlessly overshadows and undermines the functions of civilian government.

This book takes the reader through the corridors of the Federal Reserve and the Council on Foreign Relations, behind closed doors at the Bank for International Settlements, into the plush corporate boardrooms on Wall Street where far-reaching financial transactions are routinely undertaken from computer terminals linked up to major stock markets, at the touch of a mouse button.

Each of the authors in this collection digs beneath the gilded surface to reveal a complex web of deceit and media distortion which serves to conceal the workings of the global economic system and its devastating impacts on people’s lives. Our analysis focuses on the role of powerful economic and political actors in an environment wrought by corruption, financial manipulation and fraud.

Despite the diversity of viewpoints and perspectives presented within this volume, all of the contributors ultimately come to the same conclusion: humanity is at the crossroads of the most serious economic and social crisis in modern history.

The meltdown of financial markets in 2008-2009 was the result of institutionalized fraud and financial manipulation. The “bank bailouts” were implemented on the instructions of Wall Street, leading to the largest transfer of money wealth in recorded history, while simultaneously creating an insurmountable public debt.

Continued at: http://globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=19025

14. @PDC

A little of all.

The world not only the Caribbean has become highly levered as far as debt is concerned. What is happening in Europe (expected to get worse) and the reaction of the financial markets does not bode well for financial stability in the world. The small economies of our region which have designed their economies built almost exclusively on tourism and offshore services mean that on the current path we are heading no-where fast!

The latest buzz we are hearing from the market analysts is that we need to build more buffers into the markets to prevent the kind of roller coater reactions we seem to be getting on a weekly basis. Our politicians continue to be puppets ready and willing to be controlled by those behind the scenes with the money and power.

15. Green Monkey Avatar

Today’s “thought for the day” from http://www.whatreallyhappened.com :

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY!
    “In many respects, we now live in a society that is only formally democratic, as the great mass of citizens have minimal say on the major public issues of the day, and such issues are scarcely debated at all in any meaningful sense in the electoral arena. In our society, corporations and the wealthy enjoy a power every bit as immense as that assumed to have been enjoyed by the lords and royalty of feudal times.”– Robert W. McChesney, author — Rich Media, Poor Democracy

16. Gandhi once said “be the change you want in this world.”

I totally agree, if we keep looking to so called leaders for solutions to our problems we going to stay in trouble, to brake the cycle we must make our own solutions, only then can we benefit.

Barbados is unique in that we are a majority black population on a land mass that has no natural resources and is to small to be of use to them, therefore the so called “Western Colonial power” has no reason to bother us, we simply have nothing to offer. Being a successful society means that we have become a predecessor for others to follow, those other societies have valuable resources so we are becoming a problem.

This reminds me of a story about an island about our size, but it has a natural resource.

This is the modern-day story of a native peoples remarkable victory over Western Colonial power. A Pacific island rose up in arms against giant mining corporation Rio Tinto Zinc (RTZ) – and won despite a military occupation and blockade. When RTZ decided to step up production at the Panguna Mine on the island of Bougainville, they got more than they bargained for. The islands people had enough of seeing their environment ruined and being treated as pawns by RTZ. RTZ refused to compensate them, so the people decided it was time to put an end to outside interference in the islands affairs. To do this they forcibly closed down the mine.

Check out the link @

http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/the-coconut-revolution/

17. SILENT WATCHER Avatar
    SILENT WATCHER

All of them is nasty liars, i will NOT vote for one of them

18. Very Informative Video.

19. Did the IMF pay Owen Arthur to sell out Bajans?..Are they paying David Thompson to sell us out right now and continue the Agenda?..ask yourself these questions..then take a look at this article.
    http://www.infowars.com/greg-palast-remove-the-bloodsuckers/

20. What is the bottom line to all that’s been written as quoted above, from different sources on the world economic crisis, etc, etc?

The ‘New World Order’ as carefully planned by the elite globalists, many decades ago, is all coming together, as God’s Word, the Bible foretold would happen. The Middle East crisis with Israel/Palestine, Hamas, Hizbollah, Ah-mad-dine-jad from Ian, whose objective as openly expressed, along with Hamas et al, is to WIPE Israel off the face of the earth; is the very apex of all End-Time prophetic fulfillment.

But, as to be expected, as also foretold in God’s Word, mankind is looking to himself for the solution, crass *Humanism* where there is NO solution, as only Almighty God, who is in absolute control, has the only answer to this world-wide mess.

21. Zoe God make the whole world and put one single man on it, cant you see the power that one man potentially posses?

We have to fix our self, no God is going to do it, and if he was i think he would have long time ago.