Submitted by Austin

The scene where 3 men were killed in McCooks Pen St Catherine yesterday(25 May 2010) in a drive by shooting – On The Ground News

The events unfolding in Jamaica represent a truly sad day in Caribbean history. On the surface we are witnessing civil unrest on a level we usually see coming from other parts of the world, however below the surface are longstanding social, political and economic issues that have  gone unanswered by Jamaican politicians.

It is no secret that the drug culture in Jamaica exist from the exit sign at Jamaica’s airports to the waters edge, and has been allowed to flourish as both police and politicians looked the other way. Now that matters have reached a boiling point here comes the cavalry and the political talking heads.

With all Jamaica has to offer to it’s vacationers, and by its entrepreneurial spirited people, there is still not enough jobs in Jamaica as a tourism oriented service economy. We in Barbados can learn from the Jamaica tourism industry model which at it’s peak is not enough to sustain the hopes and dreams of the masses.

Many Jamaicans view the drug trade as a necessary evil to survive. With that said it does not surprise me to see young men risking their lives in support of a man who has filled the social and economic opportunity gap created by government inaction. Inaction we are currently plagued with here in Barbados.

Jamaican has been plagued with the same political disregard for the average family, that we here in Barbados have been suffering from by both parties.  Its only when lives are lost that politicians tend to grasp the magnitude of there failures to lead. Unfortunately Barbados is in the process of creating drug lords like those in Jamaica, if we fail to change our social and economic development course, which has been influenced and held hostage by elites with deep pockets.

Look… in societies there will always be poor people but when the balance between the “haves” and “have nots” gets out of control and stays that way year after year, election after election, a fertile ground for mass civil unrest of the likes we see in Jamaica will be created.

As I have blogged before, in Barbados we must recognize certain intentionally broken aspects of our system of government, and fix them. Second, recognize that we need to shift focus to the working family, after enough years of servicing elites. Third, lower our dependency on tourism. Fourth, end our dependence on academics for answers, because a person has a wall of degrees does not mean they can “execute” solutions needed.

We all know that politics is a dirty game, with the great attraction of power and status for those that play the game, however at some point the peoples “will” must be respected and honored. I urge all DLP and BLP politicians to take a moment of “pause” to review what service to the nation means, and ask themselves if they are living up to the meaning, with the masses in mind.

I urge all to let the sprite of reconciliation and reform replace partisanship and obstructionism in the halls of parliament…. Cause time is of the essence especially on these troubling times.

81 responses to “A Very Sad Day In Caribbean History: DLP-BLP Leaders Please Wake Up, Jamaica Today Barbados Tomorrow”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ATMAN

“The average Guyanese is harder more dedicated worker than the average Bajan…”

The words of a true Bajan hater.

Only a Jackass would say such words and actually believe them.

2. @Carson C. Cadogan,

I agree with you.

Black White and Red Bajans (like me) built Barbados to a near First world country.

I will not waste too much time on this but who built the Central Bank building? Who built the “World bank funded Schools in the 70s and 80s.

I was involved in the Design and construction Industry in the 70s and early 80s and the workmen were Bajans and a few expatriate Architects,Engineers and contractors.

Yes the influx of guyanese labour has made a great contribution in recent years but Bajans built most of Barbados and Bajans should be proud.

3. @Carson

You can call me whatever you wish but fact is fact and you can’t argue with that. Do some research…conduct a survey and ask people who have employed both Bajans and Guyanese in different areas of work and observe the results. Then ask yourself who is the jackass. I think if there is anyone with hatred in their heart it is most likely you.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ATMAN

As far as I am concerned, Norman faria’s death is five or six years too late.

As we Bajans say, “he shoulda dead evah since”.

Bloody nusiance we had to put up with.

5. It’s amazing how some of us Bajans does complain about the poor work ethics of Barbadians (especially in the civil service), and complain about the poor service we get at many business places all over the island, but when the comment is made that the average Guyanese worker is more dedicated and productive worker than the average Bajan, all of a sudden we can find reasons to dispute that comment. LOL

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ATMAN

I am one Bajan who will not miss Norman Faria.

I rather his room than his company.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ATMAN

If guyanese are so “dedicated” why is Guyana bordering on a failed state?

Why is Guyana such a basket case?

8. @Carson

I really couldn’t care less who you miss or don’t miss…I just had a lovely plate of food that my wife prepared…that’s what matters to me.LOL

9. @Carson

Do your own research buddy.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ATMAN

From today’s Stabroek news:

“Attorney General Charles Ramson said an unaccountable judiciary with a poor work ethic is a critical factor plaguing the criminal justice system in the country”

Oh my, guyanese are really hardworking and dedicated.

11. Ha ha ha ha…you are a typical “johnny” Carson. LOL

12. Atman is married to a guyanese woman who probably doused his food with some obeah dust or maybe not he probably just iggrunt so.

Guyanese are being kicked out in antigua,st martin,barbados,st lucia,trinidad,grenada and on and on,all because they are nice hard working people right?yeah right.

Lil bit of guyanese touch pork got yuh dribbling on yuh self man.

13. Ha ha ha ha…I see we have a few comics around here.

14. Guyanese Annonymous Avatar
    Guyanese Annonymous

Hi Atman, Thanks for all the information. David, I see what you are saying, finally regarding the Government inviting as opposed to some company advertising on NCN-TV Guyana.

Well, if Mr. Faria was a Guyanese in truth then I am sure his spirit is now in Guyana and he is very happy as a lark, as he is receiving nice Guyanese hospitality. I could not find a thing on Mr. Norman on the internet, but I did find something on Emmanuel Faria who was born in Guyana, developed leper, and was institutionalised at Mahaica Hospital, well Lady Patricia Rose was able to place him at the US Leperosy Hospital in Lousiana where he flourished as the publisher of the hospital newsletter, plus promoted his beloved Guyana, that when he died in 1998 the American people said, they are sure he is back in Guyana as he loved the country so much.

Now I am familiar with Barbadians that lived in Guyana, and we got along fine, in fact my neighbour was a Bajan from Hillsborough Village, St. Joseph, Barbados and he lived in BG then Guyana until 1968 and then he returned home to Barbados, and there was never any annimosity, he was just like us, and we never singled him out, we treated him with respect and dignity, but these days, people get so upset, oh my, and then telling Atman his Guyanese wife put obeah powder in his food. You all mixed up about Obeah. Anyway, I don’t want to be off topic, sorry if I am, but I had to come out for Atman, Atman, I typed as annony, but I was the one asking about Mr. Faria, there is another one here too. Have a nice night all

15. @Guyanese Anonymous

I appreciate it. I don’t let the foolish remarks and insults bother me. I know what to expect from some people already, and I know how to deal with them. I’ve had plenty of practice in my lifetime. LOL Guyanese hospitality is second to none…and most Bajans who have visited there would concur.

16. Guyanese Annonymous Avatar
    Guyanese Annonymous

Carson, if you paying 4 cents, you get 4 cents worth of work, as oppsoed to if you are paying 40,000.00 GYD, the Guyanese are hard working, but not stupidy, the only one it seems like that is the minister that made that foolish remark, but if you had read onward you would have seen Justice Roxanne George’s remarks regarding the Minister’s foolish comment.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Guyanese Annonymous

I can take you and anyone else to many properties where guyanese worked, later Bajan artisans had to be employed to correct very bad, substandard work.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Guyanese Annonymous

From today’s Kaieteur News:
    http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2010/05/30/why-is-there-this-madness/

Why is there this madness?
    By Adam Harris

“The population of that city (Newark, New Jersey) is about six times greater than all of Guyana but we had four in(Murders) one week. We (guyanese)must be among the cruelest people on earth.”
    READ THE WHOLE ARTICLE FOR YOURSELVES.

My comment:
    “Guyanese hospitality” is supposed to be the best in the world, yet they are murdering and maiming each other as if is a national sport. Even here in Barbados it is happening.

19. Yet another guyanese killing ,this time a guyanese man in trinidad who married the trinidadian woman only 6 months ago killed her because at a family gathering she danced with her ex husband and he was also upset about not having money.

Yes man,,guyanese too sweet.

20. Stinking Norman Faria could have died 64 years ago.One less Guyanese nuisance Black Barbadians have to worry about.I have no sympathy for stinking Norman Faria.

Good riddance the piece of Guyanese scum has gone to the great beyond.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Recently a Guyanese woman resident in Barbados, returned to Guyana to purchase some goods to sell here in Barbados. However she never made it back to Barbados. Her guyanese husband made sure of that. He stabbed her to death at her mother’s home.

22. @CCC…

Care to name names?

Or are you simply talking out of your ass in order to stir up shit?

Just asking….

23. @CCC

Names, or it didn’t happen and you are a liar.

This NOT David-BU

See Link

24. Names, or it didn’t happen and you are a liar.

25. @BU.David…

This would be funny and informative if the background wasn’t so tragic…

Please let these examples of identity thief stand, if you can…

Kindest regards to you, and everyone harmed.

-Chris

26. Carson is referring to the news article in the link below, and no one is disputing that domestic and othe violence does not exist in Guyana, but that has nothing to do with the points that made earlier. Carson should understand that domestic and other criminal violence are also a growing concerns here in Barbados.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2010/stories/04/25/man-stabs-wife-to-death/

then read this link…

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=8109

27. @David(BU)

I submitted a post a few minutes ago but I didn’t see it appear, so I attempted to resubmit and was told that it was a duplicate…but I still don’t see the first submission. Technical glitch?

28. CCC is referring to the news article in the link below, and no one is disputing that domestic and othe violence does not exist in Guyana, but that has nothing to do with the points that made earlier. Carson should understand that domestic and other criminal violence are also a growing concerns here in Barbados.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2010/stories/04/25/man-stabs-wife-to-death/

then see this link…

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=8109

29. @Atman

It went to spam because of the links.

30. @David(BU)

Ok Thanks.

31. There are huge differences between Jamaica and Barbados as I recall, but maybe those differences have narrowed over the last 25 years.
    The concern I have is that we lack leaders with a vision, we still tend to lean more to charismatic leaders ( aka, looks good, speaks well, etc) and we focus on the Island rather than the region.
    What if we had leaders who would challenge us to re-discover that the Caribbean is ours , that we are for the most part one people and that our survival and quality of life depends on developing the infrastructure and export potential of the entire region .
    We need to build a vibrant middle class across the region so that regional trade and migration would be valued and fostered rather than taking a “pig at the trough” mentality which only results in discrimination disguised as nationalism.
    There is little difference between a C130 gunship dropping leaflets over Haitians telling them to ” stay put or else” and some of the slight of hand tactics going on in my island in the sun.
    Jamaica is a latent powerhouse, properly developed she could be a beacon for the region , by the way guess where the other power house is , No not Barbados its Guyana . Build you your region and you will have a great standard of living, keep on doing what you are doing and you may survive , your choice.