Sir Hilary Beckles Principal of UWI, Cave Hill

Well, well, well, it seems two of our well known academics have decided that the best way to resolve a difference of opinion is to engage in a highly public discourse. Could it be we have seen the emergence of a strain of ZR behaviour which has now ascended to Bajan academia? What kind of society are we building when our most educated would resort to exhibitingย  the most intransigent attitude in public? What example are they setting for the youthful minds they have been given charge with moulding?

Conflict can be good when the process is managed to achieve positive outcomes. The disagreement gone public between Principal Sir Hilary Beckles and Professor Michael Howard of the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill begs the question, who is managing the current conflict to assure a positive outcome?

BU believes there is merit to the positions of both gentlemen. Professor Howard has suggested that given the harsh economic conditions being experienced by government the UWI should slow the intake of students. The result of such an action would be to reduce government spend at the UWI, Cave Hill. Principal Beckles has retorted with a strong and unexpected response which does not merit restating. The longer this matter remains in the public domain the Nation newspaper will continue to smile. This is a serious matter.

Professor Michael Howard

If we understand Howard correctly he wants to see a slow down in the intake of students at UWI, Cave Hill. As an economist, he has assessed the current state of the Barbados economy and has obviously concluded the government would be better served to reduce its subsidy to the UWI, Cave Hill at this time. According to Howard, Principal Beckles has been responsible for quantity and not quality. Howard’s position is supported by comments we have heard emanating from the Barbados Chamber of Commerce through the years. We have UWI, Cave Hill lecturers also supporting Howard’s point on the talk shows; historian Ann Gill comes to mind.

Professor Beckles over the years has compromised or should we say sacrificed many positions he once held when he became administrator at UWI, Cave Hill. There was a time when Sir Hilary Beckles would not be caught dead sitting on the Board of Cable & Wireless, a company which continues to be relentless in its drive to extract revenue, and to send home people from Barbados and the region despite the depressed economic conditions. BU agrees with Becklesโ€™ position that education has been responsible for advancing Barbados up the economic ladder. Obviously the current situation calls for Beckles, Howard and relevant stakeholders to resolve their differences away from the public glare. As head of the UWI, Cave Hill, Beckles would have erred when he went public with this matter. He would have succeeded in creating a toxic environment which has only served to polarized this matter.

What BU finds interesting is why should this matter have escalated even though Prime Minister Thompson is quoted in the media agreeing with Beckles that the government should do all that it can to not compromise the intake of students at Cave Hill. Is there more to this matter? Is this a case of the old way conflicting with the new?

There is the old saying one must know when and where. God help us!

140 responses to “Principal Sir Hilary Beckles and Professor Michael Howard In Public Disagreement At UWI, Cave Hill”

1. We need a good debate.
    Should more money be spent on the development of entrepreneurs,scientists and technologists than on history, literature, etc?

2. @ Anon

We need all since we need to have BALANCE!!!!!

3. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

I have heard it said that it is now easier to gain entrance to UWI than BCC or SJPP. We are churning out graduates who cannot use English properly and who are ill-suited to operating in the business world. We SHOULD be producing graduates who stand out. Higher quality graduates should be our goal.

Hilary should concentrate on ensuring that those who enter UWI graduate and that government or UWI recovers funds from those who drop out or take 8 years to complete a full time degree or 10 to do it part time. Also those persons who enter UWI and do a year or two in an area they have no intention of completing so that they can transfer to another area just waste a year or two of government resources. The time has come to cap the length of time Government will pay for a degree.

4. @ CH and one wonders what would have been the outcome if men of the ilk of Colonel Saunders,Henry Ford (Ford Motors) and even Sir Charles Williams had opted to persue a university education.

5. education opens up class barriers
    for those who aren’t privileged or
    born with a silver spoon in their
    mouth

6. @Ten 4…

Or Bill Gates…

A degree is probably required if you plan to work for someone else, or if you plan to work in a profession which requires such certification.

A degree is not required if you plan to employ people. In this case, though, you need to be really smart, read voraciously, and be *really* driven.

@kiki…

The most successful people I have had the pleasure of knowing started from nowhere; with nothing.

They simply had a deep desire and drive to excel.

Education does not have to be formal to be useful.

7. Barnabas Collins Avatar

While I think that some of what Prof. Beckles said had merit and some was a mountain of crap. To suggest that decreasing the intake of students will improve the standard of student seems a bit ludicrous to me. Doesn’t the standard of student speaks to the programmes rather than the student? Also, I understand the pressure the government is under and I know that for a long time now we couldn’t really afford free education at that level but there must be a better solution than to say decrease the intake and all our troubles like bad students and students taking long to finish a degree..
    Having said the above, with my limited knowledge of the fight for free education, I would opine that our leaders of that day thought it necessary so that “the many would not be beholding to the few”. We must find a solution to the current situation but as suggested by some, it is ludicrous to suggest that the UWI should close or any other drivel of the sort. We CANNOT make education into such that only the privileged can get it. And to suggest that a secondary education can prepare you for anything other than a tertiary level education is total madness.
    Finally, everytime someone wants to make a statement to prove a point, they always compare an ordinary person with a genius or someone who would have had an edge over any other normal person. Colonel Saunders and Henry Ford were men far ahead of their time. How many other people tried similar things and failed…..plenty….As for Mr. Williams, a man I have a lot of respect for, how many other people in Barbados tried what he tried and never made it…
    Education is the vehicle to raise yourself from poverty, for self improvement and allow one inter alia to sit at ones computer and express ones opinion on this blog…lol

BC

8. @JC, When you joined UWI you did’nt “No” shit or you did’nt “Know” shit. Just needed this to be cleared up by an UWI “educated” writer like yourself. lol

9. @crossroads and JC.

DIDN’T.

wanna mo duncy dan a body who went school at de stan pipe.

doan tek me too serious.

10. lol, i lay no claim to my writing skills. thanks anyway!! lol

11. Thanks Hants, you beat me to it.

12. Alf Padmore is a horrible horrible MC and an even worse public relations person… my God, how is it possible for someone to be so full of himself, yet with so little to offer

13. testing

14. test. nuh like duh can’t post

15. This is Adrian none of my posting are going through under my name.

16. If the two professors want to toss grenades into each otherโ€™s tent at least their differences could be the start of a debate not on whether the UWI should continue to be accessible to the many or the few but about education in Barbados in general. Wasnโ€™t it just a few months ago there was a hue and cry over the suggestion from the Minister that the Common Entrance Examination be scrapped? There is no remedying the issue of enrollment at UWI unless there is a comprehensive examination of education at the primary and secondary level in the country.

What is this about one UWI graduate per household? Is this the latest manifestation of the Bajan dream? Is it feasible or desirable? In the PMโ€™s speech in 2008 he said that โ€œwe plan to have a graduate in every Barbadian household by 2020โ€. Thatโ€™s a pretty tall order for an 11-12 year timeline; I wonder what baseline he was working from or whether he was stringing words together for a good sound bite.

We have done some good things in educating the citizens in Barbados but going forward the question should be what are we educating them for? In reading the release from UWI it seems Prof Beckles has a scattershot approach i.e. if you provide students with the means to a University education eventually everything will fall into place. I am all for the pursuit of higher learning but the approach should be geared to the areas where the needs are the greatest (how many speech therapists are there in Barbados and as the population ages are there any local gerontologists?) .

The approach favoured by Prof Beckles will only lead to more lawyers and eventually a better educated โ€œboy on the blockโ€

17. test // February 19, 2010 at 9:31 AM

This is Adrian none of my posting are going through under my name.

BU has not changed anything. Did you change browsers?

If the problem persists we will raise a ticket. BU released one comment from spam

18. What are we really looking for? Do we want educated people or certificated persons?

You can get plenty of education on your own once you have the basics of Maths and English.

19. crossroads // February 18, 2010 at 8:01 PM

Oh Christ man what a red herring! Sometimes ya dont read over especially when ya working man!

Luv it ….. just look for more grammatical errors insteadof what is being said LOL!

Thanks anyhow! LOL

I luv BU and their critics!!!!!!! ha hahhahahahahahLOLOLOLOLOL!

20. @All…

If I may please propose an empirical experiment to see just how useful the current education system is here in Barbados.

My premise: an truly educated and free-thinking population would be interested in reading.

My question: can anyone tell me where I can purchase or borrow books by the following authors here in Barbados?

And if so, exactly what titles, and exactly from where?

1. Neal Stephenson
    2. Terry Pratchett
    3. Richard Dawkins
    4. Roger Penrose
    5. William Gibson
    6. Niccolรฒ Machiavelli

Or any (technical) books published by:

1. O’Reilly
    2. Addison Wesley

We claim 98% literacy. And we claim that we’re highly educated.

So, from this then, the above literature is surely available here in Barbados simply because of the resultant demand.

My above is sincere.

21. @Kiki. Education does more than open up class barriers. It builds class barriers. Take for instance the lil working class boy or girl taken in at the university. When he/she exits they no longer see themselves as working class, they are Middle Class. We all have heard the story of the old man with the donkey cart who sold potatoes and yams,and made enough to put his son through University. And what happened when the son graduated, and for the first time was aware of the fact that his own father was a donkey cart driver?

22. Good pont ten4 very good point, but were does it fit into the tussle between increase enrolement vs. cutting enrolement for economic reasons but to be trufull for preserving quality over quantity?

Your concern can be dealt with outside of this argument.

23. Chris Halsall your test does not prove your point. Someone can google all of the authors you mention and fake some level of knowledge about their work. I have not read anything by any of the persons you mentioned although I have heard of and or about a few of them. However I can agree that Barbadians do not read nearly enough.

BTW what does fiction writers contribute to an educated society?

24. @Adrian Hinds: “Chris Halsall your test does not prove your point.

Perhaps you didn’t understand my test.

Yes, someone can “search” for the authors I asked about.

But I asked where in Barbados one can purchase atoms upon which the authors’ “bits” were imprinted.

I argue my experiment stands.

And remains unanswered…

25. @Adrian Hinds: “BTW what does fiction writers contribute to an educated society?

I was hoping someone would ask this…

Fiction writes (particularly Science Fiction Writers) encourage us to explore the many dimensions of “What If?”.

What if we found ourselves several thousand years in the future? Would all our problems have been solved? Of so, how? If not, why not?

What if we had had nanotech yesterday?

What if we had found ourselves not on a planet, but within a zero-gravity environment?

What if we were invaded by superior intelligent beings?

What might we do then?

Fiction writing is where we get to think about the many questions related to “what if”.

And, perhaps, think up our own questions…

For what that’s worth.

26. the wonders of the world wide web means people can purchase these books from amazon.com

27. @kiki: “the wonders of the world wide web means people can purchase these books from amazon.com

You also seem to misunderstand my experiment.

Yes, anyone with a (working) (international) credit card can order *anything* from Amazon. So long as they know *exactly* what they want.

My question (slightly clarified): where can anyone in Barbados purchase (read: buy retail; for cash; with the opportunity to review before purchasing) or borrow (read: from a library; with the same opportunity to review) anything from any of the above authors or publishers?

Can anyone speak to this?

28. About Unseen Academicals
    The wizards at Ankh-Morpork’s Unseen University are renowned for many thingsโ€”wisdom, magic, and their love of teatimeโ€”but athletics is most assuredly not on the list. And so when Lord…

Browse inside this book

1. Unseen Academicals
    By Terry Pratchett

+++

check out scribd for online books:
    2. Scribd
    Scribd is a social publishing site, where tens of millions of people share original writings and documents. Scribd’s vision is to liberate the written wo

29. @kiki: “About Unseen Academicals

Cute…

I could lend you (or anyone) the book (I have it beside me right now; in hard-copy).

I’ve read it. Not Terry Pratchett best work. I would recommend instead his “Making Money” or “Going Postal”. (Both of which I could also lend to you (or anyone) if I knew who you were.)

But getting back to my question… Is there *anywhere* in Barbados where one can get access to these books? (Other than through me, of course.)

30. Choose country:
    Barbados
    We are excited to now ship Kindle DX to Barbados. Customers in Barbados will enjoy:
    Books in Under 60 Seconds: Think of a book and you could be reading it in under a minute

Free Wireless: Free 3G wireless lets you download books right from your Kindle. No monthly fees, service plans, or hunting for Wi-Fi hotspots. For non-U.S. customers, there are also no additional charges for wireless delivery in or outside your home country. See Coverage Map. See Wireless Terms and Conditions

Growing Selection: Over 350,000 English-language books to choose from; plus U.S. and international newspapers and magazines are available for your country. Because publishers give us eBook rights on a country by country basis, available titles for your country will vary from our current U.S selection. We are actively working with publishers to get the rights to all titles for every country and adding this selection every day. Check the Kindle Store to see available titles.

Low Book Prices: New York Timesยฎ Best Sellers and New Releases are $11.99, unless marked otherwise. You’ll also find many books for less – over 130,000 titles are priced under $5.99

31. @Christopher Halsall,

“My premise: an truly educated and free-thinking population would be interested in reading.

My question: can anyone tell me where I can purchase or borrow books by the following authors here in Barbados?”

What exactly is the link between your premise and (a) your question (b) the specific authors/publishers you chose? It seems rather tenuous to me.

32. Both gentlemen have points that we have already established. The question which we have not issued is to what extent have we lowered standards at Cave Hill if at all. If the standards have been lowered how can we fix it?

The last thing we want is to be spending tax dollars on youngsters and not getting value for money. The argument from Sir Hilary sounds purty but Dr. Howard is making a serious point and so far we have heard a lot of emotional mouthings from the other side.

33. @Brutus: “What exactly is the link between your premise and (a) your question (b) the specific authors/publishers you chose? It seems rather tenuous to me.

Let me please ask you the following in response to your above:

1. Who were the most influential authors you read while you were created your own first personal world view?

2. Why did their writing have such an influence on you?

34. @Christopher Halsall,

Sorry – that approach is way too long-winded for me. Maybe someone else will take you up.

35. @Brutus: “Sorry โ€“ that approach is way too long-winded for me. Maybe someone else will take you up.

If I may please quote the great Monty Python: “Run away… Run away…”

Surely someone can answer my question directly?

Even if in the negative.

We Bajans are so very well educated, after all…

36. We Bajans are so very well educated, after allโ€ฆ
    +
    and drama queens

37. So what’s so hard to understand Quality
    trumps Quantity.Professor Howard is right in his assessment. Why throw good
    money after bad just to say that every child went to a university if if they are unable to make the grade.

38. โ˜‡ LIGHTNING
    โ˜ˆ THUNDERSTORM
    โ˜‰SUN

โ˜ธ Education = Quality of life โ˜‘
    ( BALLOT BOX WITH CHECK)
    โ™ฝ PARTIALLY-RECYCLED PAPER SYMBOL

39. Interesting point we heard the other night. We boast of all the graduates being pushed out by Sir Hilary’s Cave Hill but whenever we have a serious debate when we want to hear the best economic arguments from our people there is silence. Why are we not training our people to be constructively critical especially about issues of national importance.

40. @David:
    What is so interested about that? How could this silence be related to Hillary, and UWI? The personal dishonesty with us bajans is all too prevalent, so pervasive, and yet we cannot see it in ourselves.

When you heard that comment, you had a personal responsibility to ask yourself why it is that you operate your blog clothed in a cloak of secrecy.

I heard JC parroting the dishonest refrain that Hillary Beckles is a “sell out.” Here is a man that suffered at the hands of Barbados white shadows, and negrocrats for his stance on the then Mutual Insurance company, and few black policy holder dared to stand shoulder to shoulder with him in public to defend and demand their rights, on realizing that he could not count on Bajans to rise up in their own interest he gave up the fight, only to be called a sellout by the same lazy lot.

Hillary continued to threaten for other published works he has publish relating to Barbados History.

It is amazing to me that while you and others continue to hide your identity and refrain from making public statements; you none the less are quite willing to cry down others for exhibiting the same behavior. BE THE GOD DAM CHANGE YOU WISH TO SEE IN OTHERS.

41. ac // February 19, 2010 at 6:34 PM

So whatโ€™s so hard to understand Quality
    trumps Quantity.Professor Howard is right in his assessment. Why throw good
    money after bad just to say that every child went to a university if if they are unable to make the grade.
    ————————————————–

I know that wunnuh have heard of Quality assurance management, and BDP (best demonstrated practice) method of indentifying strenghts in similar organizations and bringing them to bare on yours. Of course you all know about these things. But the narrative that I believe is core this long simmering objection to increase enrolement, calls for ignorance of possible solutions to any deficiencies incurred with the increase.

42. @Adrian

This is a debate the country needs to have. Sir Hilary can handle criticism. Remember it is not every action and decision made by Sir Hilary which we have to agree. Lets discuss it man.

Note Adrian the issue of quality of student out of Cave Hill is one we have been hearing even before Sir Hilary took over as principal. It has been escalated in recent years.

43. David the quality of student is not address by cutting enrollment. Anyone who asserts such, I couldn’t possibly feel comfortable taking pedagogical instructions from.

44. @Adrian

We need to hear Howard’s full position, at this point all we have is a sound bite. The reality is there was a time when the entry requirement at Cave Hill required A-levels now isn’t it 5 or 6 CXC’s. Whether we want to admit it the entry standard has dropped and we need to determine what is the implication of such.

45. @Adrian
    …you definitely looking for rain…

You really have no strong case here. First on the point of anonymity… What makes you think that everyone is as egotistical as you are- to want to flaunt their name all over the place?
    The beauty of these blogs is the fact that they allow IDEAS and opinions to fly on their own merit.

In normal exchanges of ideas, a major component of the intercourse lies in WHO is saying what. It is well known that if DOCTOR HC the Barbados Scholar says ‘x’ – far be it from poor bush raff from nowhere to be seen or heard – far less to disagree.

…Dat is what you want nuh?!! cause eva body done know that you is a piece o’ vagabond – you feel that once Adrian Hinds say something – we frighten…?

Well those days gone.

You could be General Bowring – if you come here with foolishness you will be accosted and even abused by Bushmen, Kikis and JCs – and if you dear to touch anything religious the BU Trinity in your behind.LOL!!

IDEAS Adrian – not personalities.

Next thing!
    How do you know that some of these pen names are not behind highly persons who are active in public life – actually doing far more than people like you and GP, who up and ran away to the land of ‘milk and honey’ and now playing wanna talking down to we …??

Third thing!
    You hear anybody propose a unilateral CUT in enrollment at UWI? …. that is such a simplistic assessment of the discussion that it sounds ‘American’.

The gist of the discussion revolves around VALUE for MONEY spent.

Indeed, if the quality of graduates were such that clear benefits redounded to the society, then we would all root to SPEND more and send more.
    …who in their right mind would spend tens of thousands of dollars to send people to university who spent the first twenty years of their life demonstrating that they could not benefit from the experience?

…as to my own degreeS, you will be pleased to know that I did my first before the days of freeness… with the help of a li’l bursary.

…my most recent was paid via a full scholarship which was merited by years of voluntary service to the discipline.

Altogether, the investment in bush tea’s education by Barbados has been repaid AT LEAST 100 times over…..and counting.

…so back back yuh!!

46. Would be good if our university friends or those in government or anyone who knows what is the formula for subsidized education at Cave Hill. Lets have some figures, number of grads as a percentage of inflow etc.

47. @ David
    …wuh you like you got tings hang out and looking for rain too….

You seriously expect that ANY component of our education system would be mad enough to provide even basic facts and figures – far less have a formula for grads, costs etc?

YOU CRAZY!!!??

Not ’bout here.
    Besides you already know the ‘formula’. It is brilliant and revolutionary….

One graduate in every household….at any cost and at whatever little benefit.

Cud dear!
    If parents cannot even get basic figures about the performance of the secondary schools (DESPITE having to make 11- plus choices every year)

If we cannot be told what percentage of the graduating students in any year manage to pass each subject

If we can only guess at the annual cost of education and no one has any idea of the accrued benefits to the society

….Why would you be expecting some logical coherent formula? where else do you see that ’bout here?

You play you don’t know that we operate by intuition here… If a bigname Maguffy says so – IT MUST BE SO!!
    AMEN!!

…that must be why AH want names!!!!

48. @Bush Tea

What is amazing is that government surrogates who frequent BU would withhold such information. But even more so are the Alex Fergussons, Sylvan Greenidge et al who have access to the information and would also refuse to divulge such info. The conspiracy of silence is disgusting.

49. The Bushman is speaking on a higher ground โˆ

โKnowledge is the root of survivalโž โœธ

Knowledge โœ“

โœ‚ Cut Costs โžœ Robbery Aggravation โœ—