The recent earthquake in Haiti which devastated the capital Port-au-Prince has sent shockwaves across the globe. In an era of instant communication, the horrific pictures of the carnage afflicted on Haiti has been emotional for many who have witnessed it. Some say hundreds of people are dead or injured, others say hundreds of thousands. Only time will tell the extent of the injuries and damage to humans and property. The devastation has been enough to force many to ask, why Haiti. This is a country which has had to endure perennial suffering whether manmade or acts of God.

BU is heartened by the global response to the cry for help by Haiti. In the past similar humanitarian relief efforts have been hampered by corruption in the distribution efforts of aid. We hope that those responsible in administering the relief efforts in Haiti will do what is right.

Now is an opportunity for the Caricom region to respond as a region to what is required to effectively help Haiti. It is good we have a few regional Prime Ministers flying into Haiti to see and hear for themselves what is required to support the humanitarian effort. Is this a PR exercise done to satisfy our obligations to a regional member? Time will tell!

Already the catastrophe in Haiti has revealed how religion can expose the ignorance of some people. It has been reported that Pat Robertson who is an American Christian televangelist has blamed Haiti’s pact with Satan as the cause for its suffering. We are flabbergasted that a man of such influence and suggested intellect would be driven to spout such bovine excrement.

On behalf of the BU household we hope and pray that those behind the relief effort will be able to mobilize quickly and to do what is required to relieve the suffering to those who are alive and to bring dignity to those who have died so tragically.

Haiti I am SorryDavid Rudder

618 responses to “Haiti We Are Sorry”

1. @BU.David: “Here are some links to support Israel’s response to the cry from Haiti for help.

Interesting empirical evidence.

2. Israel my ass… This Haiti thing has become nothing more than a photo op for inhuman punks with weapons that they would most easily turn on other types of dark skinned peoples from another part of the world. Haiti before Lebanon…? Give me a f#ckin’ break!

3. ROKie,
    Don’t go judging all christians by the behaviour of the three fanatics we have here on BU. I really hope that you understand what I am trying to say.

4. In case you forgot Israel orchestrated the killing of the Lebanese deputy Prime Minister and watched as the US blamed Syria and forced their (the Syrian) peace keeping force (of thirty years) to evacuate. Israel then killed thousands of people in one of the worst aerial bombing campaigns in history. This was only five years ago. Pig-shit!

5. By the way Halsall if an earth quake opened up the earth beneath a Nuclear reactor, I am sure that the engineers would have found a way to have it still float….!

6. Yeah BAFBFP, like you never hear about anti-gravity chambers!! LOL

7. Just the other day the zionists pigs were bombing the living daylights out of the Palestinians. Now they can haul ass across the ocean and run to Haiti to take care of Black people? Since when did they love Black people? Right now they are treating the Ethiopians like shit.

Don’t forget who owns the PR machine in the US and right now it is working overtime.

Why aren’t we hearing much about the aid the Palestinians are sending?

Oh the aftermath!

8. the hood // January 19, 2010 at 8:55 PM

ROKie,
    Don’t go judging all christians by the behaviour of the three fanatics we have here on BU. I really hope that you understand what I am trying to say.
    ===================
    Hoodie ma boy
    They called the believers in the early church fanatics too, ya know.LOL

Folk who try to rightly divide the Word have always been called fanatics and fundamentalists! I am a fanatic about cricket too, inter alia… but no one scorns me for those interests.

But you scoff at us because over a period of time we have systemtaically read and analysed the Word of God and seek to share our knowkledge and views.

No one scorns my medical opinions and contributions on BU except the so called “eolutionary biologist!” LOL ROTFLMAO!

You see it is not considered fanatical to seek to excel at your profession, or your hobbies or interests, unless it has to do with the Bible. Ah lie?

What is interesting too is that in the areas in which the fanatics opine we are crystal clear and accurate….and logical LOL

You may hate us, but we are wll read in the areas about which we opine. We present STRUCTURE SEQUENCE & SUBSTANCE! Ah lie? LOL ROTFLMAO!

I really hope that you understand what I am trying to say.

Oh BTW define Christian.
    Are Christians perfect in this world?

Will Christians be perfect in this aeon?
    Are true Christians expected to be agreable to, or loved by the world system or cosmos diabolicus?

Were the NT saints and the apostles perfect?

Are our detractors on BU perfect?

By what criteria do you judge Christians? By what parameters? By what guidelines?

Do you judge righteous judgement or by the appearance? How can you adjudicate without having all the facts?

9. Hoodie ma friend

Would you agree that if a man simply wants to be popular, all he needs to do is to speak as the world system speaks, but if he is to be faithful to God, then he must face the disapproval of the world system?

The approval of the world system is not a test as to the truthfulness of one’s teachings.

Hoodie folk in the world system has as the source of all ‘that they speak as from or of the world system . The world system is the spring of all that they teach, and therefore the world sysem hears them.

Believers are IN the world, BUT NOT OF the world system or cosmos diabolicus……………..but we do have what is called THE GREAT COMMISSION TO FULFIL! LOL. And some of us do this faithfully! OK? LOL

10. Israeli tanks open fire at residential areas in southern Gaza Strip
    Ghassan Bannoura

IMEMC, Tuesday January 19, 2010

Israeli tanks opened fire on Tuesday midday at residents’ homes located in the southern Gaza Strip city of Rafah.

Local sources reported that tanks stationed at the southern Israeli-Gaza boarders shelled homes located in the eastern part of Rafah city.

A number of homes sustained damage, but no injuries were reported. Witnesses said that the shelling caused a case of panic among the residents.

Eight Palestinians, among them one child, were reported dead last week in the Gaza Strip because of the continued Israeli siege and attacks. Israel placed Gaza under total siege in June 2007.

New videotape on Israeli soldiers torturing and stealing human organs disclosed
    Palestinian Information Center

January 19, 2010

GAZA, (PIC)– The popular movement for the support of prisoners and Palestinian rights unveiled a videotape explaining how Israeli soldiers in 1988 tortured and killed a Palestinian Christian young man called Khader Tarzi before harvesting his body parts.

The pictures in the videotape illustrate in detail how the young man was hunted, beaten and tied to the front of an army jeep by Israeli occupation soldiers of the Givati Brigades near a house in the neighborhood of Al-Zeitoun in Gaza.

The videotape shows the steched-up body of the young man with steches running his chin to his lower abdomen as well as in his hands and feet.

The popular movement called on international human rights organizations to expose such Israeli crimes and work on stopping this terrorism against Palestinian prisoners and martyrs.

11. @GP
    Matt.6: 5 ¶ And when thou prayest, thou shalt not be as the hypocrites are: for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and in the corners of the streets, that they may be seen of men. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward.
    Sorry to say so but you and your two “brethren” remind me of this verse in Matthew 6:5

12. Hoodie wrote
    the hood // January 19, 2010 at 11:28 PM

Matt.6: 5 ¶ And when thou prayest, thou shalt not be as the hypocrites are: for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and in the corners of the streets, that they may be seen of men. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward.
    Sorry to say so but you and your two “brethren” remind me of this verse in Matthew 6:5
    ===========================
    WE are not praying on BU sir! ROTFLMAO.

You have got the wrong verse.
    You evince that you are a babbler!
    The Greek word that translates that word is literally “a seed picker”.

Like a bird walking here and there just collecting seeds indiscriminately! LOL

But dont feel too badly. Most posters on BU are in that category! LOL

Now instead of trying to be a naughty little boy, why dont you go and sit quietly in a corner like a nice likkle boy and learn to rightly divide the word of truth? Eh?

It seems that you need a good concordance. But dont admiot that you use a concordance on BU as you will be laughed to scorn! LOL ROTFLMAO!

My fellow members of the Bat Cave are simply carrying out the great commission as we were enjoined to do. We are also quite good at EARNESTLY CONTENDING FOR THE FAITH.

And the problem that you and those of your ilk have is that you can not drown us out or make us go away! LOL! Ah lie?

Hoodie we expect to be hated you know?

That’ s taught clearly in John’s gospel and in 1 John 3. Google it in Strong’s online and you will see that I am correct! LOL

See how sweetly I have dealt with you without calling you tehnical names- and correctly so- from Isaiiah? LOL

13. Hoodie go read Romans 1o man

How can they know unless they have a preacher? LOL

14. @GP..

You can defend Zoe all you like but I and many who read his posts know full well he was not referring to any damn scriptures when he compared me to a dumb dog..but you have to show solidarity to your brethren, however wrong..I understand your plight.
    Like I have said, words dont harm or move me or I would have be dead by now.
    I dont really want to take this thread into an Israeli one but what I have realised in my ignorance, is that in order to justify prophecy, the pro Israel stance has to be portrayed. Without this, it would all fall apart. That is my take on it.
    You guys keep on harping on what is to be, in the meantime the wrong and the atrocities will continue ..all in the name of fulfillment.
    Let us then stand aside and do nothing for it is to be…Que Cera Cera.

15. @David…

No one is denying the good things that Israel are doing BUT it was my post which zealous ass Zoe in his true fanatical style, decided to bring down heaven and throw up all the fire and brimstone wrath he can muster!
    All I wanted to know is why these same “doctors” dont treat their neighbors with the same dedication and concern for HUMAN LIFE!!

16. @Technician

Is it naive to hope on our part that the recent tragedy in Haiti would cause mankind to become tolerant?

Instead it seems positions always harden.

Mankind seems hell bent on self destruction.

Can anyone tell us how a discussion about the tragedy in Haiti will now descend into a shouting match based on religious differences?

17. @Technician

Is it naive to hope on our part that the recent tragedy in Haiti would cause mankind to become tolerant?

That is why we Hope.

18. Why were doctors without borders not given permission to land in Haiti with so many people needing medical attention?

19. Onlookers:

It is now sadly clear that too many commenters here are utterly unable to move on beyond their favourite riding horses and abusive rhetorical tactics to address seriously a major tragedy.

And, we are talking about a circle of relatively highly educated and influential Caribbean people.

The above is thus a sadly telling commentary on the state of the Caribbean, and on the power of the march of folly. no wonder we are not being taken seriously on teh world stage.

(And BTW, between Caribbean Airlines, Air Jamaica and LIAT etc, we have considerable airlift potential, if we were able and willing to mobilise a serious, prompt relief effort. We also dispose of a significant sea lift potential. And, we have significant numbers of urgently required medial and health professionals. Longer term, we have educators, technical experts, technical people and more. Actually — given Haiti’s long-term problems — we have had them for a long time. But, as a basic matter of fact, the only significant long term Caribbean aid to Haiti has been through what various churches can support out of usually quite modest resources. I note this to our shame as a region. It is high time we grew up and got serious about what we are and what we can and should do. Thus, my outline proposal.)

So, here is my “prediction”: we — through a region-wide march of folly — are setting ourselves up as a region for many, many all too foreseeable and preventable or at least mitigate-able destructive disasters to come.

(And, I put “prediction” in quotes, as we have seen two nation-shattering disasters in recent years that in the case of Montserrat, warnings and recommendations to mitigate were made dating in the first instance to 1938, and again to 1986 – 88 [with opportunities to do something after Hugo in 1989]. In the case of Haiti, we saw that for 100 years we have known how to build in earthquake resistance, and that Haiti has a history of major quakes along two major fault lines.)

We have been warned; and called to our duty to the truth and the right under God.

G’day

D

PS: David, it seems the logistical chain at the airport is choking up badly. (When major disaster strikes, it is almost impossible to deliver aid promptly and smoothly. This, BTW, was cruelly and cynically exploited by many seeking to score political points in the aftermath of certain recent disasters, to create a misleading perception of incompetence and/or malice on the part of their political opponents. That is why part of our duties of care lie in sorting out the straight from the nastily spun and being fair and balanced in commentary.)

PPS: Hopi et al, kindly stop spreading long since corrected propagandistic lies intended to spawn hate and create the twisted perception that murderous targetting — which is not to be equated to the sadly inevitable loss of innocent life that happens when a war has to be fought — of civilians who have just as much right to live in their ancestral homeland in the ME as their neighbours, especially in the context of an exchange of refugee populations, is excusable. Worse, this is to discredit the evidence of you eyes that the people being demonised, by their “disproportionate” [compare population by population!] actions in Haiti, are plainly nothing like the cruel caricatures that have been put up against them. (And that is a lot worse than the occasional problems Zoe has had with tone. In short, for the ethically challenged, there is no immoral equivalency here.)

20. PPPS: Breaking.

Moladi — as adverted to in my outline proposal — moves to help Haiti:

NEWS [From Moladi]
    10/2010
    Reconstruction of Haiti

Firstly, we wish to extend once again our sincere condolences to the people and the government of Haiti following the tragic death and massive destruction caused by the earthquake of 12 January 2010.

“The country of about 9 million people, most of them desperately poor, has struggled with political instability and has no real construction standards. In November 2008, following the collapse of a school in Petionville, the mayor of Port-au-Prince estimated about 60 percent of the buildings were shoddily built and unsafe in normal circumstances.” [Note this, ROK et al. This is the Mayor speaking.]

We avail ourselves and our construction technology to assist Haiti and her people in the reconstruction process that will follow. moladi reinforced walls and stub wall configuration is designed to with stand earthquakes and minimize the damage created by the impact. With the moladi process of formwork construction we are able to utilize the rubble from the collapsed buildings to create new structures.

21. P4S: On the strength/reinforcing of Moladi designs — just to leap one of the usual objections to change hurdles right from the outset:

TECHNOLOGY
    |
    REINFORCING

All moladi [plastic formwork foamed concrete integrally cast] structures have steel reinforced internal and external walls. The reinforcing design is specified by an independent, certified engineer; according to the requirements of the structure, which is dependant on soil conditions such as clay, expanding soils, collapsing soils, dolomite etc. The engineer would also take into account if the structure would be subjected to earth tremors, quakes or hurricanes. As structures are uniformly cast, with the reinforcing placed in strategic positions, the building is more resistant to seismic movement.

All the electrical and water piping is positioned onto the formwork prior to the formwork being cast in situ or filled.

And, since we can all SEE the formwork and the reinforcements before the cement is poured or pumped in, the technology inherently guarantees build-in quality. No “creeping steel” tricks here. Similarly, with a managed pour process, the quality of the foamed cement can be assured.

This looks to me like a way to move on rapid build low cost residential, commercial, institutional — schools, Gtove offices, maybe even hospital stuff etc — and even light industrial space. Which would fit well with both Montserrat and Haiti. (NB: 12 years after Plymouth was abandoned and overwhelmed by mud and pyroclastic flows, the new-town capital for Montserrat is just beginning to be built.)

22. P5s: Moladi’s foamed cement mix:

the mortar (no stone or coarse agregate) that is used to fill the wall cavity is essentially concrete without stone. The mix design of the mortar is specifically determined by laboratory tests that are carried out on local sand or aggregate, to ensure that quality standards are adhered to. The density of the mortar will vary depending on the sieve grading of the sand used, but will range between 1600 to 1800 kg per cubic meter. The mortar mixture produces a fast curing aerated mortar which flows easily, is waterproof [i.e. a closed cell foam] and possesses good thermal and sound insulating properties.

What is Moladi filled with?

One generic cubic meter of mortar consists of: *

* 1800kg or 0.720m^3 of local decomposed granite / river sand

* 250kg of ordinary Portland cement: (OPC)

* 5 litres of moladiCHEM, a non-toxic, water based chemical cocktail

* 200 litres of water

* Please note that the above is a generic site mix ratio and will be
    variefied with trail mixes at the site mix plant.

Fly ash [basically fine ash from burning of coal that goes up the smokestack] can be used as an extender to substitute the use of cement in order to reduce the volume of cement, but will still achieve the same ultimate compressive strength – mPa. A compressive strength of between 10 and 30 mPa can be achieved in a 28-day period, depending on the cement: water ratio. Under normal conditions the mortar usually sets during the night (12 to 15 hours) and the formwork is removed the following morning. [Hence, one house per mould per day; the moulds have a rated life of 50 houses.]There is no need to vibrate the mortar in order to achieve a smooth finish.

The application of moladichem is 1litre per 50kg of cement. At the start of each project, cube tests are to be carried out, which would determine the compressive strength of the mix design specific to each project.

Key Points;

* Custom Mix design
    * Fast Curing Aerated Mortar
    * Flows Easily
    * Waterproof
    * Good thermal properties
    * Mortar sets during the night
    * No need to vibrate

(NB: I have no commercial affiliation with Moladi or any other construction industry concern. I am just putting this up as a clear example of how something practical can be done to make a difference. Not only in Haiti but across our region. High time for Caricom to make a practical difference!)

23. P6S: A note on trends:

DISTRIBUTION | EXPORT

moladi is rapidly growing and proving itself to be the forerunner in the development of housing within poverty stricken areas. Informal partnerships between non- profit organisations and government institutions has inadvertently established as the leading solution to the massive backlog of low cost housing as well as in addressing the inferior standards employed by many other companies within the housing sector.

With a track record of over 22 years in the industry, has gained favour with many individuals and organisations, private as well as public, to overcome stereotypical scepticism of the innovative technology. Over the years, through word of mouth, has gained its reputation as the means to benefit many sectors of industry as well as social upliftment and sustainability.

Transfer of technology

* can be into a territory for own usage
    * can be imported non-exclusively to distribute and on-sell within a territory
    * can be imported exclusively to use, distribute and on-sell within a specified territory and in a renewable timeframe
    * can be manufactured under licence in a specified territory for own usage, distribution and on-sell in this territory – territorial joint venture
    * can be manufactured under licence in any territory for distribution and usage – global joint venture

We undertake the following;

* on-site training
    * technical manuals and skills transfer
    * professional engineering support
    * quality procedures
    * specifications and guidance
    * project planning advise
    * logistics and management

In short, worthy of serious and prompt consideration by the powers that be in our region.

24. what i can’t understand how if God is all powerful and can do anything what would it matter if the buldings are made of ultrasteel orcardboard they would still crumble to the ground. I am basing my comment according to the religious zealots comments about the almighty and his POWER.It is apparent that in they zeal to be right about their God they are muddle when it comes to this issue.

25. AC:

Sigh . . .

First, try to understand that there is an overwhelming issue that needs to be faced: Haiti.

For me, too, I have had to live for nearly fifteen years with a similar issue for my adoptive homeland — my wife hails from here, M’rat. So, I know from direct and lingeringly painful experience, how absolutely important it is to build an early sound vision and consensus that gives hope and energises a sustainable, long term path and way forward.

Now, as touching the issues you are raising: remember, in those you so easily dismiss as “zealots” you are dealing with intelligent, educated, experienced people who are highly qualified and/or experienced and knowledgeable in education, medicine, pure and applied science, management, theology, history and even esoterica like philosophy. It would be “easy” for one or more of us to develop an elaborate response to the sorts of issues you raise [just say the magic word: Plantinga!], but now is really not the right time for yammering on at length about that.

Let us instead see how to respond to hurt, suffering and pain — and yes, sin, too — the way Jesus did.

And, as the prince of prophets predicted and explained so beautifully here.

I strongly advise you to scroll up and read the remarks by Dr Seale (or, just link here for the same in HTML form), then reflect on them, and on the reference he makes, Lk 13:1 – 5, which addresses cases of both human evil and the result of ignorance or negligence in a world that follows predictable natural laws and forces.

That should give us a bit of context.

God has made a natural world that follows mechanical and statistical laws that give rise to predictable and intelligible patterns; thus the power of science and the possibility of wisdom. A world where tektonic forces of almost inconceivable power create and affect beautiful lands like Haiti, Montserrat and Barbados.

And, in that world, we are intelligent en-conscienced creatures under moral government. In the case of Haiti (and in too many other cases across our region) there is an issue of the march of folly that has or can lead to disaster. We need to face that, learn from and deal with it — here it looks like at the horrendous (and largely preventable) cost of up to 200,000 lives — and do better; much better.

And in the meanwhile, we have to reach out to and help the shattered nation of Haiti, and use that experience to fix a lot else that is wrong across our whole region.

And that is not mere empty zealotry.

G’day

D

26. @ GP
    Yes, you are quite correct. The quote from Matthew 6 was not the ideal one but just as good anyway for my purposes.
    This is the one that I had meant to post:-
    Luke 18:9-13. “And he spake this parable unto certain which trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and despised others:
    10 Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a publican.
    11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.
    12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.”
    13 And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.”
    I am the sinner, GP, which one are you and your 2 “brethren”?
    You see, that as I read the scriptures, I feel a certain humility which emanates from the Lord and those men whom He chose to represent him. Sorry to say I don’t get that humility coming through with the BU trinity.
    Hate? Why would I hate you, my friend, that would only be another cross for me to carry. And believe me, I am already carrying a lot of them.

27. Sadly, another earthquakes hits Haiti. This time a 6.1 magnitude.

How much more can these residents endure?

28. @ David…..

Can anyone tell us how a discussion about the tragedy in Haiti will now descend into a shouting match based on religious differences?

If you scroll up, you will see that it all started when over-zealous Zoe, in his infinite wisdom and true fanatical style, rather than showing compassion for the dead,injured and suffering, chose to use the tragedy to highlight prophecy.
    Though this might be true according to his beliefs, many educated and intellectual others (and those dumb as dogs) thought it was in bad taste giving the severity of the situation. The record will show that his few lines of compassion came rather late (after a slap on the wrist by D and GP about his behavior),which caused some to question his sincerity as a Christian as it rang hollow, given his remarks.

29. @ac…

You have made a good point!

30. Hoodie

Re
    I am the sinner, GP, which one are you and your 2 “brethren”?

SINNERS TOO! LOL

You see we believe the tenets of I John 1:7-10. LOL

Re You see, that as I read the scriptures, I feel a certain humility which emanates from the Lord and those men whom He chose to represent him.

LOL Seems you didnt read it very well Sir. Check out Peter and two brothers, whom Jesus himself call the “Sons of Thuinder”! These boys wanted to call down lightning from heaven like Elijah did. Ever read that part?

Study 1 John, 2 John 3 John or any of the Pauline or General Epistles, and note that these men all taught with AUTHORITY!

You either know or you dont know. James teaches in chapter 3 that you should know before you teach. When you know you teach with authority.

You dont know me Sir. I am the coolest chap on the block. Always laughing and giving jokes. I even joke when I am teaching and preaching the Word. Just as I joke with my buddy Techie and wid you Sir.

None of the BU “trinity” really cares what you think. We are doing what we ought to do. Share the Word. No matter what we say or do, you will say the same. We all have different styles…..but we still get lumped together….because we have the same message.

The Bible teaches that believers will be hated in the world system. We are surely not loved on BU. And we wont lose sleep over it.

31. We humans take risks and then some of us blame God for the results.

In very simplistic terms. God gave us brains that we fail to use.

We build in Earthquake prone areas and in Barbados we continue to build houses that will be severely damaged WHEN the next hurricane comes.

We refuse to grow food in Barbados and thereby threaten our security.

God will intervene after we die.He already did his job here on earth.

We greedy selfserving idiots have no one to blame but ourselves.

32. Technician // January 20, 2010 at 12:25 AM
    @GP..
    You can defend Zoe all you like but I and many who read his posts know full well he was not referring to any damn scriptures when he compared me to a dumb dog..

How do you all know that? Are you all omniscient? LOL Trust me Techie. I think he was using the jargon you man. If you had to buse me you wont use jargon dat you dont know man. LOL!

And I don’t have to show solidarity to my brethren. I john 1 teaches that I MUST LOVE THE BRETHREN…..not show solidarity. If I erred in wrongly dividing the Word, I would expect him to call me up on it. And vice versa. If he wrongly divides the Word…you will see that there will be NO COMPROMISE FROM ME THERE SIR. LOL But so far… he is teaching truth! Teaching truth is NEVER PLEASANT.

Re
    I dont really want to take this thread into an Israeli one but what I have realised in my ignorance, is that in order to justify prophecy, the pro Israel stance has to be portrayed. Without this, it would all fall apart. That is my take on it. You guys keep on harping on what is to be, in the meantime the wrong and the atrocities will continue ..all in the name of fulfillment.

We are not justifying prophecy Techie, we are reconciling it. If we did not know or believe the prophecies, we would interpret world events differently to how we do. We might actually interpret it as you do! This is the major difference between us and our stance.

We keep harping on what is to be, because we are seeing things unfold before just as we have read or been studying for years. If you had been studying like us, you would similarly be excited or enthralled or………..what ever.

Re
    in the meantime the wrong and the atrocities will continue ..all in the name of fulfillment.

Let us then stand aside and do nothing for it is to be…Que Cera Cera.

Well we really can not do anything but watch.

If you and your family and me and my family feuding about land or whatever we might, BOTH be saying and doing wrong and atrocities to each other …..and all in the name of what BOTH sides THINK is right about the situation. IT TAKES TWO TO TANGLE.

I am not interested in who is right or wrong or who are doing what. BOTH sides are fighting and causing harm. My interest is in declaring what God says that the final result will be. My desire is to teach the truth of God’s word correctly.

Now folk who don’t like the message or the outcome or one side in the conflict can take up the issue with God………but don’t shoot the messenger my friend. LOL

33. @Dic…….Doesn’t Moladi use the same concrete that Haitians could have used, had not the IMF & World Bank imposed structural adjustments demanding that Haiti privatized and even abolished its national entities including its Cement factory?

Dictionary ITS ALL ABOUT SELF-DETERMINATION! So cut the long, useless, religious babble!

Now on the other issue of those you WORSHIP as god’s chosen you are still spitting in the air, so its about time you go and wash your face, or I may personally have to come and get some of that spittle with clay and rub it in your damn eyes.

34. Haiti had a 6.1 aftershock this morning. Does anyone know how long after the initial quake aftershocks typically occur? This is a quite scary thought, that while rebuilding or rescuing you are still in danger.

35. @ GoWeb..

Aftershocks can continue for weeks and in some cases months as the earth adjusts to the stresses caused by the initial quake.

I am no expert but that is what we were taught in Geography..under Plate Tectonics ( a subject I really hated then)

36. @GoWEB: “This is a quite scary thought, that while rebuilding or rescuing you are still in danger.

Haiti is sitting atop a major fault line.

Therefore, Haiti will be experiencing earthquakes for at least the next few hundred thousand years.

“Aftershocks”, “foreshocks”, “earthquakes” are simply labels given to events based on the temporal domain to other similar events.

At the end of the day, these events (whatever they’re called) mean the “earth moves” without warning and (sometimes) with great energy.

Haiti must deal with this. (Read: build appropriately, and have emergency response capability.)

37. @GP…..

Man I like you bad bad bad!!
    You could play wid words like a cat does a mouse!
    I feel you miss ya calling doh…ya woulda mek a damn good lawyer or politician…..but ya wudda be gine straight to hell too….lol.

38. LOL Techie

I am honestly and sincerely voicing my opinion….I promise. I am not playing at semantics or being diplomatic or anything so.

The situation in Haiti is a sad one, both before and since the earthquake. So is the situation in the Middle East.

With respect to the later,I will give you a googly now. LOL

Do you know that the trouble in the Middle East revolves on some folk getting one single letter wrong in the Bible? LOL Check out Galatians 3:16.

You see it is not “to seedS as of many; but as of one, and to they SEED…….!” LOL

I am glad that some one on BU like me man. I like you too. You dont scoff and mock. You ask questions. So I treat you with dignity and respect.

But those who come with thier bouncers? YOU GOT TO HOOK THEM MAN! YOU GOT TO HIT THEM HARD AND PUT THEM OVER THE BOUNDARY…and teach them to know thier place.

They have some come in BU taking bout humility and expect to be treated like babies. But some of dem are
    “brute beasts” and “dumb dogs” and “dead dogs” and “demons” and “devils”. And they ought to be told so with the full authority of the Word of God!

You now is just a naughty bad behaved boy that backslide! I believe some church official run of wid your girl man. and it still hurting you up to today. LOL So you rebelling.

(Either yuh will hurt your self falling of your chair and repent or you will come back at me wid a vengeance for that one. But I had to juck ya Techie. I had to juck ya)

But I here to reassure you Techie (in the words of J Vernon McGee on 2 Peter & Luke 15).

My boy MCGee says A SON WILL NOT STAY IN THE PIG PENS OF THE WORLD — HE WILL ALWAYS GO BACK TO THE FATHER’s HOUSE WHERE HE REALLY BELONGS!

So Techie, behave ya self SON ! Get up and go back to the Father’s house where ya momma raised ya. I believe you have/had a good momma. Dont break she heart SON!

39. @Tech…..Don’t feast on the swine shit that was just laid out for you.

The Canaanites who were BLACK like US were the indigenous SEED/PEOPLE /INHABITANTS of that land…the land of milk and honey

BUT

the ‘jews’ gave the christians that bible and in it [the bk of Numbers] you’d see where the god of the this ‘jew’ gave them permission to go in and take over these BLACK people’s land, after saying that Black people were CURSED by some god.

btw….used to hear Vernon Mcghee on the radio, he was an old fart!

40. Jan 17, 2010.

Arlene Kusher

“With Great Pride.”

“I call it possitive. Incredibly so. Not happy– in fact unspeakably painful. But Kiddush Hashem: a blessing in God’s name.”

“In the midst of the overwhelming death and destruction that is Haiti right now, there are Israelis who have come to save lives and offer succor.”

“On Friday EL AL and IDF planes came into Haiti, carrying 250 medical personell— doctors, nurses, lab and X-ray techinicians, and even a psychiatrist–and supplies for a mobile hospital, including a pharmacy, surgical unit, and maternity ward. A young Haitian mother who was the first to deliver in this ward, early this morning, named her baby, Israel.”

“Members of ZAKA, the Israeli ultra-Orthodox volunteer rescue organization, were on the scene as well. Yesterday, on Shabbat (Sabbath) they labored, digging in the rubble of a collapsed multi-story university building, where cries were heard. After hours of effort, they succeeded in pulling eight students from the rubble ALIVE.”

“With all the hell going on outside, we when things get bad, Judaism says we must take a deep breath, and go on to save more people.”

“We did everything to save lives, despite Shabbat (Sabbath). People asked, ‘Why are you here? There are no Jews here,’ but we are here because the Torah orders us to save lives.”

But, Allah, Muhammad, and the Koran, says, ‘Kill the Jew…wherever you find him..” Is it true that the 25 Arab League nations sent nothing?

“CBS News called the IDF hospital the “Rolls Royce” of Medicine in Haiti, where other media outlets touted the herioc efforts of the rescue team from ZAKA, IsraAID and the IDF Home Front Command.”

“A dramatic CNN report highlights Israel’s field hospital as the ONLY facility in the theatre equipped with ALL that is required for surgical operations and the envy of the other medical teams on the island. Doctors from various missions are sending patients requiring surgery to Israel’s hospital, particularly those whose condition is critical.”

“Since opening on Saturday, the IDF Medical Corps field hospital has treated 250 wounded, performed 25 life-saving surgeries, and facilitated three births.”

This relatively mall nation, (Israel) a population of 7.5 million, a DOT of land in the VAST Middle East, surrounded by multiplied MILLIONS of square miles, HATED by its ARAB enemies, WHO have vowed ITS DESTRUCTION, can fly all the way from its home base, to Haiti, to rescue and save lives, while the wealthy, Oil rich Arabs states, what exactly have this done to help Haiti.

And, don’t FORGET, the factual evidence and Info I submitted a day or so ago, SHOWING the Medical care extended by Israeli Hospitals, to ARABS, from Gaza, Iraq, and the amazing Childrens Hospital, treating liitle boys and girls, from many, many nation around the world, with HALF of these children COMING from ARAB countries!!!

Yet, the RABID distractors here on BU, who HATE truth, evidence and FACTS, will continue in their wilfull, blinded ignorance!

Who really are the HATERS? Those that HATE TRUTH!!!

41. Who really are the haters…..Those who steal body parts and organs from innocent and non-consenting victims.

42. @Zoe: “This relatively mall nation, (Israel) a population of 7.5 million, a DOT of land in the VAST Middle East, surrounded by multiplied MILLIONS of square miles, HATED by its ARAB enemies, WHO have vowed ITS DESTRUCTION, can fly all the way from its home base, to Haiti, to rescue and save lives, while the wealthy, Oil rich Arabs states, what exactly have this done to help Haiti.

Thanks Zoe.

This explains a *great* deal of your (and others’) motivation….

43. A few quickies:

1] In ~ C18, seems there was a 20-year set of linked biggies in/around Hispaniola, so the unzipping of part of the fault zone looks possible to set off that again. And local after shocks can go on for months to years as I recall.

2] There’s been talk of stresses going to the East subduction end of the plate, i.e. EC.

3] J’ca is the other end of the hot strike-slip fault. Kingston etc?

4] Hopi, look again: it is not IMF conditionalities but poor construction, especially of substantial buildings, that looks to be in play. Buildings that are designed by engineers or at least contractors who should know what they were doing, and were financed to plainly substantial sums. This is not poor people putting up shacks, but more like a Broad Street 50 years back or so or a Swan street.

5] And when you do use steel, you have to do it right, or it too can fail.

6] In short, look at that pic again, and look at the hotel and the building next to the telco. Ask why they and certain other buildings stood firm when all else was failing and falling.

D

44. @ Zoe…

WHAT HAVE YOU (ZOE) DONE TO HELP HAITI?!?

45. PS: Hopi, you must really stop spreading slanderous and unsubstantiated rumours. (Can you cite a court case issuing in conviction on sound evidence, or a court level demonstrative proof of allegations of body part snatching?)

46. PPS: Hopi, you know there is no need for vulgarities, so kindly keep a civil tongue in your head. A QC old girl needing to have her mouth washed out with laundry soap is not a good image. And, you are rather proving both GP’s and Zoe’s point by your resort to vulgarities like that; especially when you had no really substantial response on the merits. And of course all of this is subject-switching when we need to be addressing how to do something positive for Haiti — and note, the churches of the region have been the steadiest supporters of Haiti in the region, for decades.

47. @Zoe….

Be careful…..your slip is showing!!

http://www.alarabiya.net/articles/2010/01/17/97626.pdf

http://www.marketwire.com/press-release/Etihad-to-Operate-Relief-Cargo-Flight-to-Haiti-1103098.htm

…and you have the GALL to come on this blog and speak of truth and haters!!

48. @ D…

Not that I give a damn but in the interest of fairness, why do you like to chastise others harshly but when it comes to your comrade, it is something mildly like turn down rhetorical voltage?
    His uncivil insults and statements leave a lot to be desired also…especially coming from a Christian.
    An evangelist needing to have his/her mouth washed out with laundry soap is not a good image….either!