The recent earthquake in Haiti which devastated the capital Port-au-Prince has sent shockwaves across the globe. In an era of instant communication, the horrific pictures of the carnage afflicted on Haiti has been emotional for many who have witnessed it. Some say hundreds of people are dead or injured, others say hundreds of thousands. Only time will tell the extent of the injuries and damage to humans and property. The devastation has been enough to force many to ask, why Haiti. This is a country which has had to endure perennial suffering whether manmade or acts of God.

BU is heartened by the global response to the cry for help by Haiti. In the past similar humanitarian relief efforts have been hampered by corruption in the distribution efforts of aid. We hope that those responsible in administering the relief efforts in Haiti will do what is right.

Now is an opportunity for the Caricom region to respond as a region to what is required to effectively help Haiti. It is good we have a few regional Prime Ministers flying into Haiti to see and hear for themselves what is required to support the humanitarian effort. Is this a PR exercise done to satisfy our obligations to a regional member? Time will tell!

Already the catastrophe in Haiti has revealed how religion can expose the ignorance of some people. It has been reported that Pat Robertson who is an American Christian televangelist has blamed Haiti’s pact with Satan as the cause for its suffering. We are flabbergasted that a man of such influence and suggested intellect would be driven to spout such bovine excrement.

On behalf of the BU household we hope and pray that those behind the relief effort will be able to mobilize quickly and to do what is required to relieve the suffering to those who are alive and to bring dignity to those who have died so tragically.

Haiti I am SorryDavid Rudder

618 responses to “Haiti We Are Sorry”

1. Onlookers:

We need to read, then weep. Is this what our lovely Caribbean is coming to?

For shame!

D

2. @Zoe…….et all..Gawd Mawning to ya! Ya got me in stitches right now. I can’t believe me eyes. In which part of your bible can I find your exact quote @ Jan 20 5:50 pm? Give me chp and verse, pleeze!

Zoe, I think we could be on to something here, this might be the break thru that I’ve been searching for all my cognizant years! So help me out please, Zooeeeeee! Chapter and verse.

@Hey you D………If I actually read all your postings, I would radiate myself.
    Can you tell me whether or not the CORNEAS in the box that was held up by the ‘jewish’ reporter in the Israelis ‘medical’ tent were real or fake and from whence did they get those Corneas?

@BAFBFP……..Now had I been alone I’d might be a ‘nut’ but check it out for yaself. You see ‘frewilly’ posted a piece on it earlier. Chavez is from the trenches and he knows the game.

3. What gets me Hopi is that in this part of the world called BIM, when ever Hugo says or does anything controversial the local media is all over it. Not this time…!

4. @ Georgie Porgie // January 20, 2010 at 11:46 PM

Techie boy

@Georgie Porgie // January 20, 2010 at 11:56 PM

Techie
    ……………………………………………..
    This is more like it now, GP! Keep this up and you’ll soon have me recommending you for “Hero Of The Year”. And this is not meant to be funny

5. For the most part the BIM media houses are for hoes & lapdogs except for 1 or 2 commentators. They sit around and listen to CNN & BBC and that’s news for them.

Why do you think they are quiet?

They can verify whether or not there’s any truth to Chavez’ claim. But I question whether or not they have the capacity to do the required research.

There was a young lady on CNN who said she heard a loud boom just before the eruption and it is said that there is usually a loud sonic boom before the real thing when this weapon is used.

Eventually it will all come into view!

6. Technician
    You can ask me as much questions as you like. I don’t mind questions. But I wont put up with stupid unwarranted criticisms, and pigeon holing me.
    And the picong or giving me a hard time or jucking is ok when done properly.

I come from a family of clowns. We love to joke and laugh. I start all of my sermons/teaching in church with a joke, and give a few more appropriate jokes as I go along.

I don’t know if I am humble yet; but I can say the way my life has turned out has humbled me.

Not only have we locked horns, but you trying to give me horns wid JC. LOL/

Honest I don’t try to be evasive. I try to be accurate. That results from my approach to studying Medicine & Bible; the quest for seeking the best or most accurate interpretation of the text.

For those who don’t like my sharing of the Bible……..just don’t read my posts, because I will be quoting the Bible and relating it to current affairs. However, it is noteworthy that at no time have I related the Bible to the events in Haiti, or sought to justify or reconcile what has happened there.

The same Bible that teaches that GOD IS LOVE teaches that he is LIGHT and RIGHTEOUS and that HE WILL JUDGE. We must always seek to retain this fact in our interpretation, and not just engage in mere moronic mouthings, as is common on BU.

Sometimes, as in the current situation we can not always understand that GOD IS LOVE. Sometimes, we wonder why he does not judge evil doers (as Yardbroom suggests in the other thread) and why the already down trodden and depressed continues to be clobbered. There are no easy answers to these questions. All of us have asked these questions on a personal level, as well as on national and international levels. I have asked them repeatedly over the last 14 years I my personal struggles.

And I seek no mercy from no man. I don’t beg any man for anything………or no woman. I deal with God.

Give ya a joke Techie. In 2002 I went to St Kitts to teach in what I discovered was a bogus med school. I met a chick in church whom I liked a lot. She sent me a vey harsh note that I was old enough to be her father (which was untrue) among other things, and that she would rather that I didn’t speak to her. I don’t know if she was playing hard to get or just haughty (since she came from a so called top family). That was the Sunday before Easter. By the Thursday, one of my cyber pals from the USA flew in. Do you know I never said anything to the lass for the remaining three months I spent on that island? I just complied with her request. But she did not like my simple obedience. LOL.

Have a good day.

7. @ the hood

I am earnestly trying to figure out if you are a WHOLE CIRCUS or just a very poor attempt at a clown.

You do not know me. You are judging with out the facts.

And I dont want no awards or recommendations from you Sir.

I am GP and I will CONTINUE TO BE GP. I do not fit into anyone’s mold….EVER!

Now run off and pitch your marbles like a nice little boy.

8. @ GP
    Label me as whatsoever you wish………….clown, circus, fool but all I consider myself to be is a poor, humble, unlettered sinner.
    BTW, many thanks for your “Christian” sentiments, Dr. GP Phd. MD, DD etc.
    Sorry if I missed any other letters.

9. Hopi, BAFBFP

what is the science behind this “tectonic” weapon? According to the report posted on BU, Georgia claims the Russians got the weapon too.

10. @Anonymous………Are you a good anonymous or are you malicious anonymous?

11. ????!!!

12. To whom would I express malice? Following some links the letters HAARP come up but this seems to be a radio communications related experiment.

13. Hood
    I am sorry if you are unlettered.
    Being lettered is really no big thing. It comes wid de territory.

Re all I consider myself to be is a poor, humble, unlettered sinner.

We were always taught that when you are “humble” that you dont know that you are “humble”. So if you think you are “humble” you probably are not.

I am myself a poor sinner. The letters I picked up along the way, here and there, no big thing really.

And for the record I dont have an MD, Phd or DD.

You are hilarious Sir! Hilarious! ROTFLMAO

14. Look Anonymous

HAARP is the most obvious culprit. Like so many things in developmental science, a product is developed with one objective in mind and a side effect or side result is obtained. If there is a military application to anything that US tax payers pay for, you can bet that a military agenda will be pursued…and delivered upon! HAARP was used to explore subterranean mineral deposits.

The US and so many other wealthy powers conduct so many types of experiments/activities in secret that any one with the most far fetched sounding of ideas is far more likely to be on the button than the pig shit you have delivered to you compliments the standard media houses…!

15. Onlookers:

Oh Boy . . .

(Someone, please work out the energy required to nudge a ~ 20 – 70 mile thick, 2 – 3 tons per cubic yard continental scale plate of rock pushing against other similar plates enough to make a difference. HINT: Nuke bomb equivalent of a 7.0 mag quake is 32 megatons of TNT equivalent. I think only the Tsar Bomba test in the Cold War era was comparable.)

Besides, the event as measured, a slip of 1.7 m, was 4 inches less than the projected off simple buildup of locked up slipping of plates at was it 7mm/yr since the last major series. THAT is why Sept or so last year geophysicists/ geologists/ seismiologists were speculating on a quake on the fault. (And the inertia of the plates suggests that an enormous quantum of energy is stored up in the rocks. Inner earth convection currents are suspected to “float” the plates, and yes they will have electrical and magnetic components but no way a 3.6 MW transmitter producing 3 µW/cm² at ionosphere [4 orders of mag below the sun’s input to same] will make a dime’s worth of difference to them.

In short, a lot of speculation and suspicion and insinuations, but very little substance. And, still no serious positive contribution on the real issue of how we may help move Haiti forward.

G’day

D

16. PS: I have no doubtt that HAARP etc can interfere with communications [ask the Hams about Woody the Woodpecker the USSR’s over the Horizon radar], and that it might haver very localised effects on the ionosphere. But until you can show good mechanisms and numerical considerations backed up by empirical observations on energy flows and effects [and BTW, that is one reason why I tend to be a tad dubious on some of the more extreme climate change claims], one is just speculating — and too often slanderously atmosphere poisoning — beyond that.

17. The thing about influencing the vibrating of a physical system is that the nasty phenomenon called resonance comes into play, and the damn thing takes on a life of its own, sort of like a domestic water pipe with a tiny leak…the one that makes that murmur that soon becomes a racket!

18. BAFBFP:

resonance is significant, but is very dependent on low damping. (Think about the spring-mass dashpot model and the pattern of behaviour it shows as damping coefficient in the differential eqn rises.)

Interlocking and/or interacting plates of the earth are not low damped systems.

D

19. @GP
    Thanks, Dr., now maybe I can think of launching a career in comedy with you as my agent. Care to undertake the commitment?

20. PS: As I recall, a lot less than 1% of energy in a seismic movement propagates away as seismic waves; which are what does he energy in a quake. [Think about moving dozens of miles thick rock, dozens of miles long and wide, 6 ft in 40 or so seconds. Remember, 2 – 3 tons per cubic yard.]

21. All that is required is sufficient interference (perhaps through resonance) in the right areas (of course damping will be a consideration along with 5,000 other factors) and presto, built up potential energy is released. Dictionary your Wiki reference hinted that the technology could be used to map underground scenarios beneath Iran and North Korea… why you figure these two countries (Korea ain’ got nah oil or Nat gas deposits) get single out..?

Look man, the best brains in the field would have been working on these problems for years. Should they have solved the problem of creating a focussed disturbance in area of potential subterranean instability, and I have absolutely no doubt that they have, do you really believe that this or the discoveries leading up to it would be made public?

22. the hood
    Thanks, Dr., now maybe I can think of launching a career in comedy with you as my agent. Care to undertake the commitment?

no thanks Sir
    I teach MEDICAL STUDENTS NOT WOULD BE COMEDIANS LOL

SORRY

23. @GP
    No real need to shout, Dr. Although I am a bit advanced in age & have lost quite a few teeth, I still hear somewhat.

24. @Anonymous….I see ya cussing so you must be de bad one.

Anyhow….

This is what I gleaned about HAARP….
    [High Frequency Active Auroral Research Program]

They said that it was originally built to blast energy into the ionosphere to improve communication for our good.

They said it was built to conserve fossil fuels.

They said that since it took a lot of energy to launch the spacecraft , they could use this weapon/tool to concentrate energy to burn a hole into the ionosphere ahead of the rocket launch without having to use any of the ‘payload’ before it get into freefall.

They said it would be used for comm. military apps with the troops overseas and with the submarines.

But today it is used as a weather and a mind control weapon.

This is a quote from 2 of its researchers……

“Put simply, the apparatus for HAARP is a reversal of a radio telescope; antenna send out signals instead of receiving. HAARP is the test run for a super-powerful radiowave-beaming technology that lifts areas of the ionisphere by focusing a beam and heating those areas. Electromagnetic waves then bounce back onto earth and penetrate everything…living and dead.”

25. Quid dixi et scripsi, dixi scripsique.

26. @ GP..

Man you know Mr.Reid taught me Latin but come on man…….that was the last time it was taught at Foundation eons ago. You really expect this dumb dog to understand that?
    Cha…..

27. @ GP..
    I could barely remember the crest.

28. What I have said and written, I have said and written.

You can write dixi et scripsi but if you want to be more elegant you can put que at the end of the word instead of et before the word. LOL

Man I stopped Latin in 1968 man LOL

29. @Dictionary: “As I recall, a lot less than 1% of energy in a seismic movement propagates away as seismic waves

From first principles, energy is conserved. In any closed system (which, in this particular case, the Earth can be considered to be), the analysis is relatively easy in the abstract.

The energy released during an earthquake can do the following things:

1. Change the potential energy of a subsystem.

1.1. Raise mass in a gravity field.

1.1.1. This might include water in the ocean, which would then tend back to its lowest possible point. Read: a tsunami.

1.2. Change the potential (stored) energy in a “spring”. Read: increase or decrease the static pressure in other plates.

2. Create heat. (By way of friction.)

3. Create sound. AKA, Seismic Waves.

3.1. Note: this is simply kinetic energy, which itself will either be converted into heat or potential energy some distance from the source once the system has returned to a static state.

Therefore, I question your claim of “a lot less than 1% of energy … propagates away as seismic waves

As always, I’m open to correction and/or clarification.

30. But Techie
    My girl JC like she aint hear what I dixi-ed or read what i scripsi-ed on the other post. LOL

31. @GP…

I tell you de lady in awe!

32. @Hopi: “But today it is used as a weather and a mind control weapon.

Please tell us Hopi:

Do you spend a lot of time wearing tin-foil on your head?

Seriously…

Or is this an example of agenda?

@Hopi (quoting an unknown source): “Electromagnetic waves then bounce back onto earth and penetrate everything…living and dead.

Please tell us Hopi — do you ever use Wifi? A cell-phone?

Have you registered a complain about “mind control” against CBC and Mix-FM et al?

God gave each and everyone of us a brain….

33. @Chris H………I think you should try tin-foil ya know..it does a brain good but on the other hand melanin is a semi-buffer, that’s why they turn up the heat on Black folk. [Did you realise that ‘aliens’ don’t really abduct Black folk?] And yes it is an eg. of a very sinister agenda…check how they were able to CONvince the majority that BaRat Obama was going to bring some good change.

No wi-fi here and no cell phones, but you keep using them the elfs will catch up wid you.

34. @Chris H………I think you should try tin-foil ya know..it does a brain good but on the other hand melanin is a semi-buffer, that’s why they turn up the heat on Black folk. [Did you realise that ‘aliens’ don’t really abduct Black folk?] And yes it is an eg. of a very sinister agenda…check how they were able to CONvince the majority that BaRat Obama was going to bring some change.

No wi-fi here and no cell phones, but you keep using them the elfs will catch up wid you.

35. All I want is for Chris Halsall to agree with the possibility as stipulated here

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/01/14/haiti-we-are-sorry/#comment-135978

and I will sleep comfortably tonight…!

36. @BAFBFP…

Sorry. I can’t agree.

There are too many variables — too many unknowns — for any government to have caused these events. This was “an act of god”; an unpredictable (in the short term) event.

Not to mention, the earth is surrounded by many (*many*) listening devices controlled by many sovereign entities.

The only way an earthquake *might* be set off intentionally (or even unintentionally) would be by a nuclear device set off underground.

Nuclear devices have unique signatures — which is why the earth is so closely observed for earthquakes…

IMHO.

37. @BAFBFP et al…

BTW, rather than speculate on what might have happened…

Does *anyone* have any evidence to support the speculation that this was an event caused by humans?

Surely we in the Caribbean have our own seismic monitoring devices, and know how to read them.

What do they say?

38. John has been publishing seismic data. Man but Chris tell me doh, you feel that clever people would instigate an act as heinous as this and leave a trail of some kind?

39. Come on, as with the straw that broke the camel’s back, a Nuclear device was not required, just a nudge in the right place…!

40. @BAFBFP: “Chris tell me doh, you feel that clever people would instigate an act as heinous as this and leave a trail of some kind?

Let me tell you, as someone who some consider clever…

I can think of no way this could be carried off without being detected by anyone interested anywhere on this earth.

And I think a lot….

41. @BAFBFP: “Come on, as with the straw that broke the camel’s back, a Nuclear device was not required, just a nudge in the right place…!

And how could you detect that “right place”?

Please explain.

If you can….

42. @BAFBFP: “John has been publishing seismic data.

Sorry.

I obviously missed the memo.

Can you please provide to us all the URL for the data you claimed is available?

A separate question: does this data suggest anything unusual?

43. We come in here and lay down a lot of fancy talk. We,as Caribbean people, should hang our head in shame. The United State which we like to slag so much, has taken in orphans, and now on the other side of the Atlantic, The Netherlands and Luxembourg. Are we here next door waiting for a golden invitation from the Haitian Palace to do like wise?
    In Africa and now in the Caribbean,it looks as if our problem is the “white man’s ” problem. Let them solve it!

44. @BAFBFP
    Wait bro’, you is some kind a scientist now? you like you know a lot a things yuh….except how to chossel…. cause you mekking a mess of that opportunity ya got there with ac….

Anyhow, ask the bright boy CH if a few puny humans moving cross a big able bridge could cause it to self implode?

Ask he and the Dick if they ever heard about natural frequencies – and what they would expect to happen if high energy resonant forces are focused at critical points in such a system that is known to be under high stress and already near breaking point….

45. @Bush Tea: “Anyhow, ask the bright boy CH if a few puny humans moving cross a big able bridge could cause it to self implode?

With some amusement Mr. Tea…

How does Roman Soldiers marching across a bridge have to do with plate tectonics? Other than, of course, basic physics?

@BT: “…and what they would expect to happen if high energy resonant forces are focused at critical points in such a system that is known to be under high stress and already near breaking point….

Do you not think that such inputs could be detected by all watching?

What part of impulses isn’t clear to you?

Not to mention that you are presupposing that the points of risk are somehow known to the attackers….

46. Chris Hallsall

Tremors in the Mona Passage and around Puerto Rico and then wham, the big one followed by huge aftershocks, Puerto Rico, The Dominican Republic and Mona Passage are unaffected

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/01/14/haiti-we-are-sorry/#comment-135194

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/01/14/haiti-we-are-sorry/#comment-135511

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/01/14/haiti-we-are-sorry/#comment-135792

You actually lookin’ fah evidence..? You t’ink dese people stupid?

WAIT BUSH TEA
    You wid me..? Man I could sleep comfortable tonight den… Don worry Bushman, ac an’ me fighting right now but after de fight comes the sweet mekkin’ up…haha.. I luv life…hahahaha

47. Oh by the way Chris,

The problem with collecting data is that often times the collectors can be overwhelmed…! Now just suppose that those who would have detected something were themselves briefed in advance… Geopolitics is nasty business. You actually think that there are independent watch dogs out there positioned to protect countries like Haiti…? Meds Chris, take your Meds…!

48. Bush man

I got a comment that is awaiting moderation (probably because it has a few links for Hallsall’s benefit). Man I glad you givin’ me and de res’ little support.

49. Ten 4 wrote January 14, 2010 at 5:06 PM “Pat is not too far off from the Mormons beliefs that we as blacks are a ‘cursed race”2 Nephi 5…”

Nobody has to believe what the book of mormon says. The whole book was made up by a semiliterate 19th century fraud who liked too much pokey.

We don’t take Ninja man seriously.

Why would we want to take the book of ormon seriously?