Caroline Wozniacki jet skiing in the beautiful waters of Barbados
Caroline Wozniacki jet skiing in the beautiful Barbados waters

These are times when the news both local and international is inundated with doom and gloom, obviously to do with the global recession. It wasย  a refreshing change yesterday to hear Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy celebrating the occasion ofย  Air Canadaโ€™s 60 years of air service between Barbados and Canada. As if that news was not enough Minister Sealy indicated tourist arrivals from Canada has increased! There was a time in the 70s when the Canadian market was the goto market for tourists. Whatever is the strategy being employed in the Canadian market, it is working.

On a related note, Serena Williams ranked #1 and Caroline Wozniacki ranked #4 were in Barbados to participate in a charity event last weekend. Based on all reports the event was largely successful, the organizers would have been happy with the turnout of 4000 people who jammed the Garfield Sobers Gymnasium. Both players Wozniacki and Williams have given Barbados the destination the thumbs-up. Minister Sealy and his team at the Barbados Tourism Authority along with the sales people at the exclusive Sandy Lane must be smiling after reading what Wozniacki updated to her blog yesterday.

Until we change the fundamentals which support our economy we will take all the assists to come our way.

Read Wozniacki blog entry.

My Days in Barbados

Hi Everyone,

Now that I am back from Barbados, I thought you might like to hear about my trip. I spent 10 days there with my parents and my brother Patrick. We stayed at one of the most exclusive and beautiful resorts of the world, the Sandy Lane Hotel. We had the ownerโ€™s 5-bedroom penthouse suite with a butler and full time security. The suite was over 3000 square-feet, with a big jacuzzi in the living room. It was nothing short of amazing. The Sandy Lane Hotel has to be the nicest, most excusive hotel I have ever stayed at.

As I have mentioned in my last blog entry, I was in Barbados to play a one-weekend exhibition with my friend, Serena Williams. I have to admit, it went incredibly well; I was impressed with the job the promoter, Kodi Lewis and his team has done. They organized the exhibition for the 1st time, and I think this was the best 1st exhibition I ever participated in.

Serena and I had a great time; we played in front of 4000 people in the main gym in Bridgetown on Saturday. The crowd was loud and I could tell that they were really excited to have Serena and myself there, which I am grateful for.

I am glad I got to spend some time with Serena not only this past weekend, but over the past few years; and might add that we became pretty close friends. I have so much respect for her and what she has accomplished in her already legendary career. All young tennis players, including myself, owe a great deal to Venus and Serena for doing such a wonderful job promoting not only womenโ€™s tennis but womenโ€™s sports in general.

On Sunday, I joined Serena, Jeff Tarango and the #1 player from Barbados, Hayden Lewis in playing the 2nd exhibition in the Sugar Hill Tennis Village. This absolutely spectacular tennis-only club is owned by John and David Lloyd. We played mixed doubles in front of 400 VIP guests; I partnered with Hayden to beat Serena and Jeff in a very fun pro-set.

Other than that, I spent my time mostly on court training. I would like to send a special thanks to Hayden, who has been my hitting partner in Barbados; I appreciate your help. When I didnโ€™t practice, me and my family were just hanging out on the beach. Patrick and I went out sailing on a boat but what I enjoyed the most is riding the jet-ski. Altogether, it was a great trip, and I miss Barbados already.

Iโ€™m now in Copenhagen, staying with my brother in his new apartment. I will be training and spending time with some of my girlfriends in town. Next Tuesday, I am flying to Herzo, Germany for a day to meet some of the Stella McCartney designers in the Adidas Headquarters. The new Stella McCartney tennis clothing line is coming out soon, and I am very excited to be able to offer some input regarding the new line. I love fashion, and meeting the fabulous designers of Stella McCartney and Adidas is something to look forward to.

I will update you soon on my week in Copenhagen and I will offer you some details regarding my day in the Adidas Headquarters as well.

Thanks for all your support,

Caroline

145 responses to “Barbados Tourism Officials Smiling”

1. @DEnnis Jones
    If people like yoursel and others keep beating the drum of DOOM and GLOOM nobody would want to come to a country where every thing is going to hell in a hand basket .
    What people preceive is what they believe and instead of talking down the economy it would be better served if you would be more hopeful .No one person has all the right answers but wher there is a will there is a way . Most forward thinking people prefer to see things in a better lightand it does you nor the country to be so negative all the time . NOt ony Barbadians read your comments but people all over the world If I were an outsider after reading some of your comments about Barbados i would hesitate to come and visit such a place where nothing seems to be right as that is perception I get from your comments.
    Just Remember Perception is everything..
    Bajans love there country too much to want to see it fail.

2. Spotting-Prejudice Avatar
    Spotting-Prejudice

WIV

You sound so much like my friend Hartley, just how he would respond. Come clean, or do not come at all. Anyway, I am happy that we are holding our own. We can do better. Let Sealy go to work and then your dollars are worth our sweat and increased taxes.

3. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@ac, I suggest that you read again all that I wrote. The is not a ‘beating the drum of DOOM and GLOOM’. There are several questions that go to what we often ask for in terms of accountability. The doom and gloom, if any, comes if the answers are not favourable. The questions themselves show that you have an interest in going beyond what you see on the surface. They seek to go in the direction of investigation–asking for information–rather than assuming anything (good or bad). Maybe this is uncomfortable to do. Like not visiting the doctor because one fears what he or she may say?

Beyond my commens are various pieces of information that tell a story themselves. So if the facts are gloomy and doomy then blame them or the CTO for collecting the data.

Someone has to pay for any party and when the guest have gone home full and happy, the bills are still there to be paid.

4. Talking tourism statistics.

5. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

WIV

Why is it that jamaica has had a 4.1% increase in arrivals to the end of october? Have a look at the cto figures. Do you doubt these as well?

6. wiv/hartley henry one and same.you didn’t know that ?

sad very sad !

7. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

WIV

Where are the 2008 financials for clico that should have been released to the public months ago. Are you gong to blame this delay on the blp as well!!!

8. @Dennis Jones

You be the proverbial pessimist.
    I’ll be the eternal optimist.

9. I was on Sandy Lane beach the day when Serena’s breasts popped out while staddling a floatation thingy….! I’ve got this tent on my trousers that won’ go down… Somebody …help…!

10. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ac, you may take either definition of optimistic: 1 : a doctrine that this world is the best possible world;
    2 : an inclination to put the most favorable construction upon actions and events or to anticipate the best possible outcome.

You can decide if that is what you mean. I suggest you look carefully at what is in front of you first and decide if it is a good or bad situation, and whatever it is, which way will it go (improve or worsen). Just take the information that the government gives, if you like and ignore the views of the opposition, jsut for simplicity. See clearly what they are telling you, not taking a view that the things that are bad are not really there and that only the good stuff needs to be looked at.

My views are based on what I see and what I anticipate based on what I see and what I know and what I believe may happen. So, if someone tells me the world is in recession and that Barbados’ economy is going to decline by 4% in 2009 I do not take the view that in fact there is world and national growth and expect all the benefits that come from that. I figure that people will travel less and spend less, and we will be seeing lower incomes, jobs will be lost, investments will fall, and reserves will decline. Those are things associated with economic downturns. I am not expecting things like that to change unless the conditions that lead to the decline change. I can wish all I like but I have to do something with the reality, not just ignore it because I don’t like it or hope that it goes away.

Stack up all your reasons for optimism, as you call it, and see what they really are.

11. @Dennis Jones

Go figure. you are an economist. It is all a numbers game to you.
    An optimist is what I prefer .
    A pessimist is what you rather be .I rather not change who you are.
    I’ve made my point optimisticly and you have made your point in my opinion pessimisticly.
    Have a good night.
    Adios

12. @BAFBFP
    That joke should be on jokers corner.Go ahead post it over ther very funnyLol

13. Funny nah…! De wife don’ think so…! She say that she can’ remember de las’ time she see a tent dis tall…! I in de dog house… help!

14. 2BaFBFP
    yuh sooooooooofunnni————-

tell thevwif to sit down and shut up ,dat way she could get yuh another tent.
    bonny peppa and the gang looking fuh yuh on jokes corner
    too much wuk de back and forth fuh me.
    I hate to change the topic on this thread

15. @BFBFP

tell thewife to shut up and sit down.
    maybe she will get yuh another tent for saying so

Bonny peppa and the others looking
    fuh yuh at jokes corner
    go over there a make dem laugh

you real funny
    stop posting de jokes on this thread

16. Why this desperation by the DLP to manufacture or to search around for good news to credit itself for?

Is the DLP preparing for elections or is it only now beginning to understand the scope of it political incompetence and economic mismanagement and the impact of that on Barbadians?

It is so comical that it seems that if Putin runs again for the presidency in Russia, Thompson and the DLP will claim credit for that.

If President Obama were to be in Barbados at Christmas this or any other year โ€“ the DLP would claim credit for that too.

But is will not claim credit for the economic mismanagement is this country โ€“ it blames the global financial crisis for that.

17. Fergusson, AKA Greenidge, Paro In A Suit , Are you not happy that our performing area is achieving to a very high level and are you not happy that it is in the attentive hands of Min Richard Sealy and not that blabbling idiot MM Blarney Lynch???

18. Between 1994 and 2008 – the people of this country had a winner -in Team Barbados Labour Party โ€“ but there was a lapse in judgment on their part and on January 15th 2008 and they voted for the DLP.

Ever since then Barbados has been on a free fall from prosperity to crisis.

The DLP failed and Barbados is falling-by the hour.

As a result, the people feel betrayed are disappointed and broken-hearted, because they now realise that they are paying for their error in their pockets and in their banks account and are forced to watch helplessly, as the DLP confiscate more and more of their wealth, daily through more taxation.

Essentially, the DLP is D-valuing and making Barbadians poor, while doing all in its power to protect and make CLICO rich.

But the people of this country can again do well and prosper with a renewed and recommitted, experience and competent Barbados Labour Party government โ€“ as they did between 1994 and Jan 15, 2008.

Were it asked to operate with the same global economic challenges, the Barbados Labour Party would be preparing a feast for the people of this country โ€“ not making htme suck salts or bellyaching and blaming – as the ruling outfit is now doing.

In fact, if the Barbados Labour Party was in office โ€“ this country would never be in the horrible position it is now in because of the incompetence and reckless mismanagement of the DLP, which does not know what it s doing.

19. What a load of crap coming from another idiot of the blp.

20. Two years after being elected, where is the much-touted Tourism Master-Plan that is supposed to be the centerpiece of this administrationโ€™s tourism development efforts?

Where is the small hotels specific incentive package that was to continue the work started by the BLP to shore up this segment of the industry?

And what is the status of the overhaul and upgrading of the Tourism Development Act the BLP articulated before it left office?

Fellow Barbadians and those who hartley henry and the DLP will ask to fly-back here to vote at the next general election – none of what the DLP said it would do, has been done.

It can therefore only be claiming credit for the obvious confusion in relation to the tourists who are not coming; the amount money they are not spending and foreign direct investment in the sector that is not visible, especially given that investors have long left Barbados.

It is so bad that the DLP is now scratching its head how it will be able to find the over $100 million to pay public servants next pay day.

Think about this because Thompson said recently that he does not have a cash-flow problem, yet a few days ago – he was begging the new Central Bank Governor to โ€œPRINT MONEY.โ€

He will have to change the law or take yet another supplementary to parliament. Now you know why I talk about the DLP dangerous mismanagement.

21. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Alex

This adminstration said last year it was going to amend the tourism development act. The Minister said in his 2008 Budget that “the Tourism Development Act will be further amended to increase the length of concessions as the linkages by the tourism entity to the rest of the community are deepened.” Have we seen any change!!!

Remember the Minister of finance said in that same Budget

Government will pursue:
    1. The maximization of the potential of our airport as a regional hub;
    2. The construction of a terminal for private jets in north of island;
    3. The building a new cruise ship pier and facility in the north of our island to reduce congestion at Bridgetown Port;
    4. The investment in a regional ferry service.

Has any of this happened!!!!

22. Wishing In Vain Avatar

How many personalites do you attempt to take on Greenidge??

One day it will be amusing to hear from David how many different names you write under, do you not yet realise that you are in a conversation of one, the old people used to say when you see a man talking to himself he is going mad, indeed there is plenty madness from within the BLP Camp just ask Mottley, Owing, Duguid and Forde.

Do not not yet understand that you are a discredited bunch of crooks that were cast out because of your numbers of dishonest acts, suddenly you seem not to want to face those facts, but you know what the Gov’t has even more evidence of your dishonesty while in office, have no fear you will see.

You can hardly expect anyone to take you half seriously on most subjects including morals, or the matter of Tourism, Housing, Goverance in all its forms, you are out to see and the Barbadian people have not forgotten you for you stealing and they will not forget you for a long time to come either.

As I said before you have the standing as being the most corrupt Gov’t this Nation has ever had to endure, no doubt about it.

23. Let me say to you despite your wishes the next leader of this BLP will not be Mottley once the internal planning takes hold, between the Doctor and the short Runt from St Peter she is history, my question to you is how will she take it ?

Will she stay and take it like a man ?

Or will she run and hide having suffered the major slap in the face??

24. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

Those who are interested in where the sector thinks it may go should try to make it to the tourism conference @ UWI Cave Hill, Dec. 8-11, see http://www.cavehill.uwi.edu/fss/tourism_conference2009/conferenceprogram.html.

Also worth noting are Wayne Capaldi’s comments today in the Advocate giving many reasons and instances of how tourists’ spending in Barbados is FALLING, not rising.

My view is always that you cannot solve a problem you do not recognize, so when officials and ministers argue that tourists’ spending is rising, while arguing that the sector is suffering due to a world wide recession, they are either willfully deluding themselves and the nation or truly ignorant of what is going on. Either way, they will only help the decline in the sector and add to its woes by not addressing that decline in spending.

25. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Jones NO ONE has said that toursim spending is up, the arrival figures are growing nicely, and this helps offset any losses, for once open your eyes and you mind, of course tourism dollars will be down so to for every tourism market, where are we drawing our arrivals from?
    They are coming from the same badly hurt destinations, does it tally with you yes it would be expected to have a short fall in spend but the authorties are making great strides by boosting the arrivals to help combat the decline in spending, or would you rather wish to see both a decline in spending and decline in arrivals??

26. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Jones it amuses me when I listen to jokers such as yourself have all this lovely wide open talk with little substance or action to back it up.

How do you propose to extract this spending out of these increased arrivals are you Jones going to stick your hjand in their pockets and remove their wallets and say here give me your money??

When you awake in the real world and run a business and then better understand what is involved talk to me but until such time your empty and shallow comments remain purely that empty and shallow.

27. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Wishing In Vain // December 8, 2009 at 9:15 AM “the arrival figures are growing nicely”? The CTO data show a 10% decline. That’s growing DOWNWARDS, or do we have other numbers to look at?

“NO ONE has said that toursim spending is up”? Then what were we reading in last week’s Advocate? See http://www.caribdaily.com/article/222652/tourist-spending-still-up-despite-fewer-arrivals/. ‘โ€œWe had some Caribbean Tourism Organisation numbers for the first quarter of this year and it suggested that the spending was up,โ€ said Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy.’ and ‘โ€œso even if we are seeing our numbers go down because of the times, we still would like to know that we have visitors who can spend to keep things going.โ€’ mean what?

I have not seen a correction or indication that the Minister of Tourism was misquoted.

28. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Jones the sooner you learn that Capaldi does not speak of his own thoughts or his own mind so much the better for you, his last AGM speech was delivered to him the lunch time the day before by
    MM Blarney Lynch at his hotel, he is not capable of thinking on his own, remember he married into money and a family owned hotel chain not of his doing then nor will it ever be of his doing he is a simpleton.

29. Has the bubble bust so soon?

This blog started on December 4th, 2009 – with the bold caption that indicated that ‘Tourism Officials are Smiling.’

In just 4 days, and after it would seem – critical analysis was done and people began to think for themselves – the smile has suddenly turned to a sour frown and anger – that the Government which said it will not cheat; steal or lie – would deliberatlely seek to mislead the people – in share desperation for something positive to credit itself for.

I made the point and asked the question, what sense would it make if numbers are up, but spending is down?

What sense would it make if people are coming – but packages are seriously discounted?

I made reference to the Barbados Advocate, which points to a $72 million delcine in revenue.

I WAS RIGHT.

Now we know who you can trust.

+++++++++++++++++++

Excellent job Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

30. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ Wishing In Vain // December 8, 2009 at 9:25 AM Whether ‘Capaldi does not speak of his own thoughts or his own mind’ is not really the issue, and is conjecture.

You say arrivals are up. But the official data and the Minister have said they are down. On spending, we can agree that there are no definitive data, but if we are in a recession, logic argues that spending must be falling; even if each tourists spends the same, total revenue will be down.

Now, do you have data that show rising arrivals and is the Minister NOT privy to that?

31. Alex Fergusson // December 4, 2009 at 3:47 PM

DLP bloggers saying one thing. PS Tourism saying another. The Minister saying something completely different.

Mr. Wayne Capaldy, who is right there in the engiene room โ€“ paints a different picture, while the facts and the truth support what he is saying.

Is the the diversity of the Barbados tourism product?

The above is what I said on december 4th, 2009.

It has taken 4 days for all to see my point:

“SHARE CONFUSION IN TOURISM AND GROSS UNCERTAINTY ABOUT WHICH VERSION OF WHAT THE DLP IS SAYING – COULD BARBADIANS RISK BELIEVING!!!

32. DLP in Panic Mode: Lies and Desperation on the increase
    ++++++++++++++++

Dennis Jones said:

“You say arrivals are up. But the official data and the Minister have said they are down.”

Note Dennis that Hartley Henry also said that the BLP had implemented “finger-printing of people entering and leaving this country during world cup.”

THAT TOO WAS A NASTY “Offensive odour” LIE – but typical trademark DLP cat poop!!!

33. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Wishing in Vain, My suggestion is that you attend the tourism conference, even the cocktail reception tonight and get the ball rolling by making your argument to the audience of ‘Experts on Caribbean tourism and hospitality’. They can all then discuss tomorrow or next day, whether the CTO data are rubbish or not and if the Minister told a porkie pie when he said arrivals are down. Tourism Ministry officials, including PS Cox should be in attendance, so we will get a clear answer, I hope. Can I quote you by name?

34. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Jones as per the other clown Halsall I rate your contributions in the same light nothing but a whole heap of utter rubbish devoid of substance and as I do with Halsall I overlook and bypass your comments and will continue to do so, I trust that all is well with your homeland ??

They need a joker up there please feel free to join them.

35. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Alex Fegusson, much as I love to watch and read the political interplay, to me there is some simple stuff to resolve. What is the condition of one of the country’s major economic activities? If we have or see no problem, then we need do nothing. If we have or see a problem, then we need to decide what can be done. The argument is that help is not needed. With few exceptions in the region, tourism is suffering. So, can we really believe (contrary to data) that Barbados is bucking the trend?

Unemployed hospitality sector workers, closing hotels and restaurants, declining business for taxi drivers, declining retail sales in stores (including duty free) are not political issues in themselves, but they may have political consequences. Denial is a dangerous game to play.

36. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ Wishing In Vain // December 8, 2009 at 9:47 AM Spare me the compliments. If you have answers then please provide. Credibility is not about being popular.

37. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Wishing in Vain, I came across some fascinating analysis on the tourism sector on this very blog, a piece written by the noted analyst, Hartley Henry, see http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/humility-and-sincerityjust-what-the-doctor-ordered/. Note what he wrote when criticizing the leader of the opposition: “She speaks about the decline in tourist arrivals and tourist spending, as if Barbados is totally isolated and insulated from the rest of the world. Americans, Canadians, Europeans, Asians and our Caribbean brothers and sisters make up the bulk of our tourist trade. The majority of them comprise the same working class that exists here in Barbados. They are feeling the pinch just like you and me.”

It seems that he agrees that the sector is in decline in terms of both number of arrivals and spending, but argues that Barbados is in the same boat as much of the world. Is Mr. Henry also guilty of writing ‘nothing but a whole heap of utter rubbish devoid of substance’?

38. @ Denis Jones & Wishing in Vain

This country has lost two years but for wisdom and what would have been unmatched and superior leadership in tourism, read pages 31 – 35 of the BLP’s 2008 manifesto.

Pay especial attention to page 34.

Because these thing which are necessary are not being done – you know that the DLP does not know what it is doing.

IF THE ECONOMY IS IN CRISIS – HOW THEN WOULD TOURISM NOT BE?

39. Credibility is not about being popular. you come up short on both counts.

40. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ Wishing In Vain // December 8, 2009 at 9:20 AM “Jones it amuses me when I listen to jokers such as yourself have all this lovely wide open talk with little substance or action to back it up.

How do you propose to extract this spending out of these increased arrivals are you Jones going to stick your hjand in their pockets and remove their wallets and say here give me your money??” [Very good questions, and I again point you to the writings of Mr. Henry, who in his weekly piece in the Advocate lamented the failings of ‘retailers in these parts’, who do not show flexibility in their pricing ‘to ensure consistent and continued turnover of business and product’. He tried to ‘impress upon our commercial sector the need to adopt creative means and methods of fighting the current recession’. He criticised the ‘take it or leave it’ attitude and mentality, asking that ‘my doors are open for business. I need you in, at all cost’ should be the motto. Now, here is someone who seems to realise where some of the problems have their root. He noted, fittingly, at the end that people would otherwise jet off to North America to shop; the corrollary of which is that the Americans (at least) wont be pressed to come to Barbados to do the same.

41. When person such as these persons Greenidge and Jones keep wishing ill on the Barbadian economy do they not understand that they too will suffer not only DLP supporters so to me it is absolutely silly of them to wish ill on our island for simple political posturing and also remember your leader has more fat to feed off ( no joke meant) that you Greenidge remember you have that arrest order pending for that non payment of your debt, so yes she has more fat than you she will survive it is people like you and me that die first, so wake up and get a life and realise that she is leading down a silly path for her own gains not yours.

42. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ Wishing In Vain // December 8, 2009 at 10:15 AM “Credibility is not about being popular. you come up short on both counts.” [Let’s see the numbers on increasing arrivals and let others judge at least one aspect. I already cited the data that show the decline. If you want to take issue with Hugh Riley, then let’s call him out.]

43. @ Dennis Jones

I agree with you.

This is serious.

You have the government chief strategist (who is paid $155,000 of our tax dollars) trying to convince the people of this country – that numbers, spending and investment are up and that tourism officials have cause to smile.

Yet when challenged, you realise that tourism officials and career public servants are telling the truth but the persons who is paid $155,000 to bend and decorate the truth – is not.

After confessing that he does not understand Math, Statistics ar anything of that sort – the sad thing is that he is too silly to realise that people are onto him.

The DLP does not know what it is doing? They have been given their chance.

It is now time to give Barbados and Barbadians a chance.

Why is the DLP, which promised accountability and good governance – deliberately lying to the people.

The DLP is a government you cannot trust.

44. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Wishing in Vain, because I think my credibilty is important, let me see if I can rest it on the views of Barbados’ central bank. Their latest review, September 2009, is sobering on tourism; see http://www.centralbank.org.bb/WEBCBB.nsf/%28hpPublications%29/9D5ABFA2DD55394D0425767100729419/$FILE/ER_Sept_2009.pdf. Any further discussion on the trends I suggest you take up with the nation’s official machinery, who seem set to conspire to ‘bad mouth’ the country.

‘The downturn in the economy
    reflected reduced output in both the traded and non-traded sectors, with activity in the traded sectors principally influenced by declines in tourism and manufacturing output…’

‘Traded sector output declined by an estimated 7.3% over the first half of the year after marginal growth in the
    comparable period of 2008. The leading cause of this negative
    performance was the downturn in the tourism sector, which was affected by lower aggregate demand in most of
    Barbadosโ€™ tourism source markets, as well as reduced airlift capacity into Barbados…’

‘Given these conditions, value-added in
    the tourism industry declined by an estimated 8.8% during the first six months of 2009, in contrast to a 2.0% increase in the first half of 2008. Long-stay tourist arrivals decreased
    by 10.4%, compared to a decline of 0.5% during the corresponding
    period of 2008…’

‘The fall in tourism also had an impact on the transportation, storage and communications sector, which declined by 2.8%, in contrast to an increase of 2.8% during the corresponding period of 2008….’

‘In line with the downturn in economic activity, the number of persons in
    construction and quarrying, transport and communication and the tourism industry, declined by 19.6%, 13.8% and 4.8 respectively….’

‘Furthermore, credit extended to the tourism sector was 2.5% lower than at the end of 2008,…’

We still wait to see even one morsel of evidence from you. The sand is draining out of the timer…

45. The DLP does not know what it is doing? They have been given their chance.

It is now time to give the people of Barbados a chance.

Why is the DLP, which promised accountability and good governance โ€“ deliberately lying to the people.

The DLP is a government you cannot trust.

46. Here is more of the State sponsored confusion, uncertainly and folly in Tourism:

Budget Reply 2008 โ€“ The Leader of the Opposition, The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P:

โ€œThe Member for Christ Church South might not want to admit it, but he had to go to an International Transport Caricom Regional Meeting recently and had to be accompanied by the Chairman of the Tourism Authority and other Tourism Officials because he was not in a position to speak to Tourism Matters at the International Transport meeting.

That is what I mean about the folly of the decision in relation to the separation of the two.

Now, I donโ€™t think there is any thing of which a Government would stand and or fall but for your primary foreign exchange earning sector you can not be serious about its growth prospects if you canโ€™t get the structure of it correct in relation to your Cabinet.

In relation to the matter, of the Tourism Development Act we will await and see what changes and incentives are brought.โ€

47. Visitors cutting back

12/8/2009

By Nicholas Cox

Visitors coming to Barbados have been cutting back on their spending by cutting corners in a number of different areas.

President of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA), Wayne Capaldi, said recently that the current economic climate meant customers today were more demanding and a number of them were โ€œbuying downโ€.

He explained, โ€œYouโ€™re seeing situations where traditionally if someone came for two weeks, perhaps theyโ€™re coming for ten days.

Youโ€™re seeing situations where guests who would hire a car for two weeks are perhaps saying โ€“ not this year.

Youโ€™re seeing guests who traditionally would stay in a suite coming this year and staying in a room.

Youโ€™re seeing that same guest saying โ€“ well what deal can you offer me?โ€ Capaldi stressed the need to improve service levels across the board in the sector, noting,

โ€œIn this time of downturns in the economy where people have lost small fortunes, and some large fortunes, customers generally become a lot more demanding, seeking more bang for their buck … looking for more quality, while paying less.โ€

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=7772

+++++++++++++++++++

Now! Which of Barbados’ tourism officials are smiling – certainly not P.S Cox, or real stakeholders in the industry.

BUT DESPITE THE TRUTH OF DECLINE – THE OFFICE OF THE PRIME MINISTER KEEPS MISLEADING THE PEOPLE WITH “SPIN.”

48. Alex Fergusson,

You can eat as much sour grapes as you can !

When you and the other BLP crooks were WASTING MONEY :

* $ 300 million on GEMS !
    * $ 35,000.00 on cutting down an ackee tree !
    * $ 50 million on a closed GREENLAND !
    $ 90 million on Al Barack case !

Where was your stinking mouth….?

Why you did tell Owen Arthur that someday the country will have to PAY….as it is doing now ?

But thankfully the PEOPLE of Barbados…rose up on 15th Jan 2008 to rid themselves of those BLP scondrels from office.

Let me tell you…..BARBADIANS ain’t know about all the dirt you BLP thieves created…..but that day will come very soon !

49. Sign of the times – DLP selling land to pay bills

++++++++++++++++

Things have so hit rock-bottom in Barbados and the DLP is so contradicting and reversing itself by stealth – on every issue it made a fuss and criticised the Barbados Labour Party of doing โ€“ that it is now preparing to โ€œsell government land to foreigners to pay bills.โ€

Word of this came from new Health Minister Donville Inniss last weekend.

According to him โ€“ the Cabinet has agreed to sell the land on which the St. Joseph Hospital now sits.

This is the same Barbados land, which the DLP said should be kept for the patrimony of Barbadians.

Didnโ€™t David Thompson make a decree that before land is sold to foreigners under DLP watch, it has to be advertised locally and even then โ€“ Barbadians will have a first-option to purchase? I wait to see what will happen on that score.

But it is no secret that on September 26, 2008, then Health Minister David Estwick was reported as having said that the St. Joseph Hospital would be transformed into a partial geriatric institution and acute care centre to a health and wellness resort linked to the tourism industry with private investors involved.

The DLP was to have moved with great alacrity on the development of health and wellness tourism in Barbados and Estwick said that the DLP believes that the St Joseph Hospital is a prime property that would allow it to evolve and develop a health tourism product in Barbados.

Up comes Donville Inniss who said the DLP wants to sell the property to foreigners in order for the DLP to pay bills.

This is the same Donville Inniss โ€“ who as Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and International Business โ€“ was reported in the Nation newspaper of March 25, 2008 as having described the move to close the institution as one of โ€œspiteโ€ and โ€œsheer politics.โ€

What is it now?

This is another example of the contradiction, confusion and decline under DLP rule. It should therefore not surprise anyone that Barbados is in crisis.

50. Dennis Jones
    As a Jamaican living in Barbados could you tell us what is the problem with the US and Jamaican government re the extradition request for West Kingston strongman Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke to answer charges in that country of illicit trafficking of arms and drugs as well as conspiracy?
    While you are at it could you explain how Jamaica got into such financial difficulties?
    I know you have the answers.