Submitted by Glenroy Rice of Access Barbados

Richard Sealy, Minister of Tourism

[Montreal Quebec, 5 April 2009] In an effort to stimulate the growth and continuous development of the Barbados Tourism Product from Canada, The Barbados Tourism Authority led by the Honorable Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy swooped down on Montreal on the fourth leg of a five city cross Canada marketing road tour last Thursday 2 April 2009. The Minister was accompanied by High Commissioner for Barbados to Canada His Excellency Evelyn Greaves, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism Mr. Andrew Cox and Cristobel Reece councillor in the Office of the High Commission in Ottawa. Heading up the Canadian team was Ms. Cheryl Carter Senior Business Development officer for Canada.

In his address to travel partners and travel agents at the Mount Stephen Club, Minister Sealy told the Montreal audience that Barbados Tourism has gone beyond an industry and a business. It is now a part of Barbadians way of life. This he said is evident in the fact that the Oistins Fish Fry is now spreading to other areas in the community evoking a broader partnership in local experiences. This is a travel product that include; the participation of visitors to Barbados and provide enriching experiences that are highly valued. It is an opportunity to feel something different and do something different in a unique community environment.

The atmosphere of the economic times is rough and most airlines are facing difficulties including Air Canada. Recognizing the need for a more effective direct airlift from Montreal, Sealy said that Barbados has with-stood the challenges of 2008-2009 well and has not lost any seats. Figures show that Montreal is still holding its own. However, he said that one of the weaknesses is the lack of a direct airlift from Montreal year round. The minister indicated that his government is working on rectifying that problem.

According to Minister Sealy Barbados will continue to create a stronger awareness of its tourism experiences and how they are cherished by visitors to Barbados. He said the number one reason why tourist keep returning is because of its people, pointing out that Barbados has one of the highest repeat visitor-ship  with over 40% in the Caribbean while Canada is one of the most loyal because of the quality of the product.

Historically Barbados opens its doors to all aspects of tourism, cultural exchange, and the increasing demand for international conference and business opportunities. Without a doubt, the diversity of its culture, climate and location broadens the experience of its visitors.

Minister Sealy said that his government will be spending more on the tourism product through a unique joint marketing project which includes the Barbadian Diaspora. Another aspect of his intensified drive is to formalize air lift agreements with Jet Blue during his visit to the United States in the coming days.

High commissioner His Excellency Evelyn Greaves in his opening address reflected on the concerns of previous negative experience where a visitor was murdered in Barbados He said that Barbados has security agents in place in all areas of concern. He assured the gathering that Barbados is still one of the safest places in the world to visit. The High Commissioner apologized for the incident and assured Canadians that they are welcome to continue visiting Barbados year round. Due to the high cost of fuel and the air lift, tourism has been affected from all destinations to Barbados. What’s more, he said that Barbados had a fall off of 8% in 2008 but is stabilizing through the efforts of the tourism authority, all its partners and travel agents.

The Canadian Marketing team headed-up by Cheryl Carter unveiled a new marketing package for 2009 to a mainly French audience. [‘SPRING AND FALL BARBADOS FREEDOM PACKAGE’] The package includes a Summer/Fall Barbados debit card, a Barbados gourmet card and a Barbados elite club incentive for travel counselors. Montreal representative Jill Elmslie said the board is expecting continued growth which is the key market segment, sending a message to consumers that Barbados remains one of the most sought out visitor destinations. The continual warmth of the sun and cooling tropical breezes lures visitors on gastronomic journeys that enliven the senses. Everything in Barbados is within reach she said, the cost of wine and food is as affordable dollar for dollar as in Canada. The core message is to sell, sell, sell and benefit from the rewards that are put in place by the Tourism Authority.

The new destination market branding is structured to enhance the tourism product and spur growth in all sectors of the tourism industry, with a strong focus on the value added needs of the visitors.

Sales agents and destination specialists were urged to go on line to www.barbadoseliteclub.ca and take advantage of the Barbados specialist program to become more aware of the Barbados product and be included among the Barbados Elite club.

In the final hour the Merrymen evoked memories of their younger days with a sterling performance. The band easily switched from traditional calypso to ballads, folk and Soca music.

Glenroy Valantine Rice
Marketing Manager
Access Barbados/Group Sunlink Holidays
Tel: 514 735 1015

42 responses to “Barbados Tourism Officials On The Job In Canada”

1. This maybe a good idea given the importance of the Canadian tourist market. There is also the fact that Barbados must do some work in Canada to counter the bad PR which followed the tragic incident at Long Beach.

2. Dark Knight will appear any time now.

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Anonymous , And say what exactly??

That this is what MM Blarney Lynch is doing for Tourism?

MM Blarney Lynch never work while as a Minister of Gov’t he is hardly likely to want to work now.

This is what is needed at this time a serious marketing effort with direction and purpose and a real target, not like the former Minister who kept shooting at moving targets and was never able to hit anything or even hit near a target.

4. Anonymous Too Avatar

Great work Mr. Rice, and thanks for sharing this with Barbadians.

This is what we need after that horrific incident: proper (sincere) discussions with our trade partners and potential travelers and not that diet of high falutin spin that we were accustomed to in the recent past.

This is great news!

5. Wishing In Vain // April 6, 2009 at 9:18 am

Anonymous , And say what exactly??
    …………………………….

Just this simple point heartley: sound management of the economy and leadership is important.

In the absence of this, you will get layoff, poverty will increase, soo too will health related ilnesses; disabilities and crime. The current Barbadian reality.

When crime increases, that becomes a risk factor for tourism, and by extension – a threat to our standard of living and quality of life.

In short, while as a patriotic Barbadian, I wish the government would get it right on tourism and the economy – the reality is that the dlp does not know what it is doing.

Hence the frustration and disappointment that the DLP is poor-rakey and does not know what it is doing.

If you want to see pure natural brilliance, turn to pages 31 – 36 of the BLP 2008 manifesto.

There is no such quality of innovation to be found anywhere in any dlp publication.

You see why Barbados is in crisis!!!

6. Dark Knight = MM FLynch // April 6, 2009 at 11:03 am
    ………………………………………..
    Bang on time!

7. The Barbados brand has tremendous appeal in Canada, that we know. The road show current on the way has the potential to buy us some time.

8. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

You are right in your view that Canada has a long lasting relationship with Barbados and the Barbadian people and it needs to rekindled.

The Minister has said that it is his wish that the West Jet Service should become a year round event and I fully support this dimension to our ease of access at reasonable and affordable pricing.

It is sickly amusing to listen to the Parro in a Suit Greenidge attempt to speak on the subject of Tourism an area that suffered gross neglect by MM Blarney Lynch and the BLP while in their turn in the drivers seat.

Only now are we seeing a Gov’t with a plan of action and one with direction to deal with this matter of Barbadian Tourism, rather than his constant empty chatter of arrival figures, this Gov’t has recently seen an increase in Hotel rooms from Jan 2005 from 6249 during MM Blarney Lynch’s time as Minister I may add, to an increase of Jan 2009 to 6984, maybe just maybe the Parro will finally understand the difference between empty mouthings as per MM Blarney Lynch to real and meaninful action in the form of the new Minister of Tourism the Hon Mr Richard Sealy.

Like everything else that we have seen of the like of the Parro and the blp they continue to feel that Barbadians are willing to swallow whatever they put out in the form of lies and not spit it back out at them, the days for that type of Gov’t are finally over and done, goodbye to to that type of blp control.

9. To wishing in vain and dark knight just once can you two say what you have to without the name calling and nasty comments about others.

I dont know it you both have children however I would hate to think that either of you are parents! You are setting very bad examples

Please clean up your acts, both parties BLP and DLP have done their share of good and bad for/to this country and it is time you both got over it and move on!

10. I didn’t know that De Merrymen was in town? I would have gone and sing rum & coca cola wid dem.LOL

11. Wishing in vain
    I had promise never to respond to any of your blogs but I break that promise just to ask a favour of you. Don’t you realise your government is fast approaching your mid term? It is time you stop looking back and start getting the confidence of the people FULLY back on your side. There are only a few of your Ministers that are working, all we’re getting from some is a lotta long talk. Your government may face the same fate as the BLP if you don’t get these Ministers to wake up and smell the roses. It would be a sad day in this country if Mia Mottley gains the government of this country. Curse if you like or as you usually do, but think of what I’m telling you and put your house in order.

12. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Forgive me The Scout for not heeding your call, I find it very difficult taking advice from a known blp supporter.

Much work is being done and much work is there to be done let me assure you that it will be done by this Gov’t of the DLP.

Guess you may have missed the road and drainage program that is ongoing, or the kids getting to school for FREE on the public buses, or the home owners getting the papers for their homes after more than 20 years as renters.

I am so sorry you have not noticed any of these things going on around you.

13. Wishing In Vain
    You were very mild in your criticism of me and I’m disappointed. However, you just mentioned the work of only two ministers and of those two, only one gets an A plus from me, that is Michael Lashley. John Boyce, while doing O.K, losses marks for his inability to complete the ABC h,way after almost 2 years in office.Remember, the DLP was critical about the BLP for not completing the h,way, they then gave three dates when they would complete if and failed on all three promises, then they said indefinate. Does this means that they would complete it just before the next elections and hope that that gives them momentum? The DLP could win the next elections easily without delaying the finishing of the h,way in an effort to gain additional votes, Mia is NOT a threat.Finally, WIV, I’m beginning to like you calling me a BLP supporter, it gives me the opportunity to be unbias and look through both eyes. Please ask the other ministers that just blowing hot air to “shut up and drive.” I know it is also a concern for your hierarchy right now. Whatever you do PLEASE don’t let Mia gain this government.

14. The number of stories reported on crime over the last few weeks in the press seem to suggest that criminal activity is on the increase. Is this for real? This needs to be address . Can we hear from the fluent ,well read and well spoken Attorney General.

15. The number of stories reported on crime over the last few weeks in the press seem to suggest that criminal activity is on the increase. Is this for real? This needs to be addressed . Something has to be done. Can we hear from the fluent ,well read and well spoken Attorney General.

16. Imagine, Barbadians are being forced on the breadline. In fact, since the DLP started its “rule of terror,” over 3,000 Barbadians have so far lost their jobs.

The cost of living has doubled. Not a word from the DLP, which is suppose to be on the side of the people.

The DLP increased the national debt by $1.4 billion in fourteen months but with nothing to show – except the PM’s new half million Mercedes.

Barbadians are paying $180 million in new taxes

Oil on the world market cost less than when the BLP was in office, yet Barbadians are paying more at the pump.

Barbados is on the verge of going back to the IMF and some “Klown” who is being paid $155,000 for doing nothing – is telling people who have to decide whether to pay the rents or starve – that they should be contented that the DLP has given them free bus rides, which is costing the taxpayers millions.

According to the highly paid Special Advisor to the so-called government of change, Barbadians should be contented because the Drainage Unit has been established to pass the fatted calf to dems.

What Pathway to Progress! You mean: “Speedway to Impoverishment.”

17. @Dark Knight : Would you be prepared to appear on CBC TV Sunday Night Show The Peoples Business to put your case on behalf of your party?

Would you be parepared to answer questions on issues facing Barbadians and current economic issues?

Would be prepared to sit on a panel as moderated by Resident political Analyst Peter Wickham or would you like to appear one and one with Mr Wickham?

Would CBC be prepared to give the opportunity for a different view?

Waiting to hear what will happen.

18. @ Observant

If, as I understand it – the BLP could not/cannot buy time on CBC, as regards the 40,000 policy holders in Clico, where leroy parris – the Chairman of Clico is also the Chairman of CBC – I do not see the DLP allowing me or any BLP Members (divergent views) on DLPTV: The DLP’s Business with so-called Independent Polster, Mr. Peter Wickhams, who like Independent Member of Parliament – hamilton lashley – are on the DLP’s administration’ payroll.

Savvy!!!

19. How will Richard Sealy being in Canada – save the 2500 construction jobs that the DLP has squandered?

The Prime Minister of Barbados told us that the workers at Four Season would be back on the job by Monday, four weeks ago.

Today, they are still on the breadline waiting for Four Season’s to open as Mr. Thompson and Richard Sealy promised.

If that was not enough, there are a number of private sector projects that have been cancelled or put on hold because of a lack of confidence in the DLP ability to manage the economy:

Beachlands, St. James; the Regent in Holetown, Four Seasons, Maynard’s Point in St. Peter, St. Peter’s Bay and West Ridge Villa – a collection of no less than 2500 construction jobs, which many feel – would not have been lost – were the BLP in office.

The BLP would never had cut government’s capital works programme.

Barbados is crumbling under DLP rule and this country is racing with begging bowl in hand – towards the IMF.

You see what I tell you about the DLP, smoke and mirrors and no substance?

So Sealy being in Canada is being used as a gimmick to downplay the fact that 800 have gone home from Four Seasons while 2500 construction jobs have been lost.

Does the DLP really feel that Barbadians are foolish?

Where is the DLP’s Job Creation and Job Lost prevention Plan?

That is the question which “dumpsy” highly-paid hartley henry must answer?

20. Dark Knight
    You said 800 workers have gone from Four Seasons, well of those 800, only 200 are bajans, the others are either chinese or guyanese. My question is, whenever this job starts back, would preference be given to the many bajan construction workers now on the breadline? Secondly, what would the BLP do if they were caught in this global economic crisis, especially with a tired Arthur and ? Mia?

21. Dark Knight

The construction activity re: Beachlands etc would still have stopped even if the Gov’t capital works programme had continued. Those projects rise or fall based on what is happening outside of Barbados. What I do agree is that the DLP taunted the BLP about the cost of living, etc. A year after being elected the DLP is behaving even more impotently than what they accused the BLP of doing. What happened to Costco, the vegetables from Dominica, the agricultural land protection law, the fishing agreement with Trinidad (the fish soup done spoil)? They couldn’t even run the Easter camps properly. These had to close early!

22. @Anonymous

They couldn’t even run the Easter camps properly. These had to close early!
    ………………………..
    I suppose you don’t have the inside scoop: how thompson, suckoo and hammie all wanted to provide the $12.50 per person per plate lunches.

Do you know that there are persons purporting to be operating as many as five camps, which is not true. Drawn to the dark side I suppose.

Well!

You must have heard about the “skin-out” at Wilkey Cumberbatch School?

Talk about poor adult supervisions?

By the way, do you know who will get the contract to do the industrial cleaning of schools as part of the camp programme?

Is it true that people are now cooking for money, who do not even know when water is boiling?

23. It seems the program “the people’s business”, has become a DLP chat show. I don’t mind having these DLP members and ministers on the program occasionally, but the regularity of this is becoming a bit monotainous.

24. The Scout // April 8, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Dark Knight

Secondly, what would the BLP do if they were caught in this global economic crisis, especially with a tired Arthur and ? Mia?
    …………………………

I would not normally respond to such crap but let me put it in terms you might be able to understand.

Under the BLP administration, phase one of the reform of the Barbados economy were completed with phase to to go.

Barbadians agree that the DLP is intellectually incapable of implementing this phase.

Under the BLP Investor confidence was high.

The Barbados economy was the most developed among developing countries.

With oil prices at US$104. and commodity prices sky-rocketing – the BLP was still able to give the first $150,000 land tax free and the first $25,000 income tax, plus increase the reverse tax credit ans stop thousands from paying taxes.

Take note that the BLP would never had made the six cardinal errors Thompson did, and would certainly not have increased the price of diesel by 77 per cent, neither would it have increased taxes by $180 million.

The BLP has about seven sound economists, while Arthur has unmatched economic forcasting skills. It must also be noted that the policies of the BLP are superior.

There was a National Strategic Plan that took risk factors into consideration, still Barbados would have become a developed country by 2005.

Look at page 24 of that document to see what developed country means.

The bottom line is, there has been a manufactured meltdown of the Barbados economy by the DLP which does not know what it is doing.

It is clear for all to see that the DLP has managed to brainwash you into believing that the global financial crisis of September 2008 – is to blame for action taken by the DLP in April 2008 and on July 7, 2008, when Thompson introduced his inflationary budget.

How embarrassingly sad!!

25. Dark Knight

Things brown fuh sure! What happening to the hospital? First the former Minister (Estwick) said there would be a new hospital, oh no said the PM the hospital only needs refurbishing, now the QEH BOARD is saying it would be better to build a new hospital! What ever happened to the room that Estwick “discovered” on a visit to A and E? The PM during a press conference noted this discovery as a singular achievement in health care.

Some DLP promises:

page 14 of the manifesto: Establish a Ministry of Family, Social Care and Community Empowerment to bring together under one umbrella all departments that deal with family matters. Hmm there is a Ministry of Family etc, a Ministry of Social Care and a Ministry of Community Development!

Page 42 of the DLP manifesto:

In the first 100 days introduce the Agriculture Protection Act that will require a 2/3 majority of both houses of parliament for a change of use of land from agriculture.

26. Dark Knight
    All these promises made by the BLP were made with the understanding that things would have been favorable. Everyone now is feeling the squeeze and Barbados not really feeling it yet. Let us stop pussyfooting around and trying to fool the people. Yes, the DLP has don’t some things maybe not wrong but different but the BLP, especially over the last five years in office became arrogant and self-centered and greeedy, they had to be removed. Unfortunately the DLP has taken up the government at a very difficult period, I don’t think an arrogant, self-centered, greedy BLP could have done better. This is my humble opinion.

27. Barbados is currently sailing in a sea of economic turbulence. Yesterday credit rating agency Standard and Poors move the outlook for Barbados as negative but is this a surprise. Shame on those who are trying to make capital mileage out of it even as developed economies contract.

28. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Is this the same Standard and Poors that gave glowing reports on Banks and Insurance Companies in the USA then within a few weeks we saw a massive collapse, this is an organisation that will play to the highest bidder.

I am forced to asked where then would they rate the Almighty USA and others in these times of uncertainty?

Do as I say but do not do as I do, may their motto.

I agree with you David this is not a time for negativity but a time for everyone to put their hands to the till and work that much harder.

29. To better understand the futility of bailouts and stimulus packages, and help to plan for the inevitable, watch this Argentinian financier speaking from experience.

http://www.brasschecktv.com/page/596.html

30. Rev Dr.Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr.Dick Hertz

Thanks Straight Talk for the video. Can’t say that I understand everything but it does help to make things a little clearer.

Can anyone explain in simple terms “the fractional reserve system”?

After much reflection, the only outcome that I can see is either dictatorship or a Somalia type state or reverting to a hunter-gatherer state!

31. David // April 9, 2009 at 7:14 am

Barbados is currently sailing in a sea of economic turbulence. Yesterday credit rating agency Standard and Poors move the outlook for Barbados as negative but is this a surprise. Shame on those who are trying to make capital mileage out of it even as developed economies contract
    ………………………………

Sir,

Check Barbados’ Maco Economic Indices.

Then look at the deficit for this financial year: $745 million.

Do you see the share folly of Thompson saying that he would buy back BNB shares which T&T said could be upoward of US$600 million.

Note that the same S&P said that if thompson dares – Barbados’ rating will be downgraded.

Now!!!

Add the current deficit (excluding the supplementaries we know have to come) to the price the BNB shares would cost and you get a deficit of $1.945 billion.

Scout, you see what happens when you have “Klowns” running a country.

Again, thompson lied about those BNB shares.

The issue is, in a mere nine months – this DLP “outfit” increased the national debt by $1.4 billion, with nothing to show – except thompson’s new 350 Grace Black mercedes.

Standard and Poors merely confirms what the brightest in our society knew all along: that the Barbados economy is being dangerously mismanaged and that the DLP does not know what it is doing.

Last week hartley henry admitted that the Dems are “klowns” on the economy and maco-finance.

S&P and the IMF know that.

Now, isn’t this is the same S&P that thompson met and gave the assurance that he would balance the budget, while running a small deficit and a surplus at the same time.

32. @ Dark knight
    Standard and Poors mentioned something about if The goverment takes delayed action in relation to the CLICO issue. Could you please explain the implication for a Barbados ?

Would be glad if you can brek down things in simple language for simpletons like. In fact de whole Standard and Poors Report < Is it a bad or good forecast for Barbados?
    These things getting me confused.
    Wha we gine do ?

33. The Scout // April 9, 2009 at 6:32 am

Dark Knight
    All these promises made by the BLP were made with the understanding that things would have been favorable.
    ———————————
    This is crap – pure expected, trademark Scout hogwash!!!

Listen JOKER!!!

Why don’t you simply turn to page 3 , paragraph 5 of the BLP’s 2008 manifestio.

Let me help you:

“Now, as we enter the closing years of this eventful first decade of the the twenty-first centure, the world faces daunting challenges; with intimidating implications for all nations, large and small.

We face escalating threat of terrorism; climate change; spiralling oil prices; and increasing diversity of grain from food to fuel, with mounting demand for those commodities from rapidly expanding economies of China and Inda.

These perspectives are formidable for industrialised countries, as well as for the developing world.

The challenge for barbados is not only the need for surviving in the impending international environment but rather for excelling, simply to sustain our present place.”

There are those who would willingly accept that if it was the the global financial crisis (which really pushed down demand and has serves to bring balance in the world) it would have been pressure from oil prices, which projection indicated would have reached US$200 by the end of 2008.

Food prices were also projected to sky-rocket.

The point I am making is that in both scanarios, Barbados needed a government that knew what it was doing.

Here is an extract from page 5, paragraph 8 of the same BLP’ 2008 manifesto:

“This calls for visionary, trusted and proven leadership as we face a gathering storm or rising global prices, unpredictable effects of climate change and the sequential impact of terrorism.”

That is the context in which Barbados’ development was planned. It therefore dismises Scout’s assertion as pure crap.

One final point, when you want your car fix do you take it to the Baker, unless!!!

The economy is broken and needs to be fixed. It requires this country’s best brains.

Seventy per cent of the Barbadian population already agree that this is clearly not a job for the DLP!!!

34. Dick Doctor,

Check out “Money as Debt” on Google Video for a good explanation in layman’s language.

35. @ Simple,

Here is what I found in the Stabroek News, Guyana, today:

Judge orders CLICO (Bahamas) wound up

“CLICO (Bahamas) was on Tuesday ordered wound up by Justice Cheryl Albury, a move which makes the prospect of CLICO (Guyana) recovering its $6.9 billion (US$ 34 million) even dimmer.

In her ruling in Nassau, The Bahamas, Justice Albury expressed satisfaction that the petitioner, Registrar of Insu-rance Lennox McCartney, had proven that CLICO was unable to pay its debts, and that the value of its liabilities was greater than its assets.

Consequently, she determined that the company is indeed insolvent, a report in yesterday’s edition of the Nassau Guardian said.

This decision comes after the Bahamian company was ordered liquidated on February 24.

Albury’s ruling means that all of the company’s assets will be sold to pay off its creditors, and the remaining assets, if any are available, will be distributed to the principals of the company.”

Now!!

Here is what the Leader of the Opposition said about Clico in her estimates reply:

“We know what has happened in relation to the worst of the worst come into reality, in relation to the CL Financial crisis and its potential implications for more than 40 000 policy holders at CLICO and policyholders at British American.

Mr. Speaker, I repeat here today our position on this matter. We on this side believe that the Government ought still to move urgently to ensure that the Supervisor of Insurance applies to put CLICO under judicial management, as permitted by Section 57 of the legislation.

When you do that, you stabilize the assets and you would not have to rely on the word of the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, as it relates to the injunction.

I find it almost unbelievable, as did the Honourable Member for St. Joseph, that the Honourable Member for Christ Church West Central and the Attorney General, having expanded so much legal capital in the No-Confidence debate about why the injunction was inapplicable to us, that the Prime Minister indicated in his speech today that he sought to get the undertaking from the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago that the injunction would not be enforced against the Eastern Caribbean.”

Simple, when viewed in the context of the above, you see why Miss Mottley’s advice, as regards placing Clio under judicial management, is sound.

36. DK
    Thanks for helping me out. I gine and check de papers on Standard and Poors again.

37. There are those who would willingly accept that if it was the global financial crisis (which really pushed down demand and has serves to bring balance in the world) Barbados still would have encountered tremendous pressure from escalating oil prices, which projections indicated would have reached US$200 by the end of 2008.

You will recall that it was also projected back then that food prices would also have sky-rocketed, as grain was diverted from food to produce fuel.

Whereas the global financial crisis has resulted in layoffs; reduce demand; bailouts; big bonuses and golden parachutes – were oil to reach US$200 a barrel – that would have posed tremendous problems for Barbados’ current account balance.

In short, Barbados would have been using scarce foreign currency to purchase oil.

Now, look at that in the context of Barbados’ Macro Economic Indicators and domestic deposits at Commercial Bank, and the fact that financing last years deficit caused a dip in our foreign reserves.

It could be argued that had oil price reach at $200 a barrel and continued to rise as projected – that could have meant that airfares and the cost of travel (even if airlines locked into futures) would be extremely high, resulting in other destination being preferred.

Now, I am not saying that the global financial crisis did the world a favour, but I am saying that high oil prices might have been more disastrous to the Barbados economy than the present global financial crisis, especially since this country is now seeing some benefits from reduced international oil prices – even though the DLP is still price gouging Barbadians.

Interest rates are now low but with oil prices at US$200 on the world market, the cost of borrowing on the capital markets might have been extremely very high.

The simple point I am making is that this issue: global financial crisis vs. high oil and food prices – requires the type of analysis, which the DLP is incapable of providing.

In addition to providing it with a lame excuse, the Global Financial Crisis seems to be doing Barbados a big favour.

Owen Arthur, Clyde Mascoll; Anthony Wood; Prof. Frank Alleyne; Prof. Persuad and Prof. Howard can help in this regard.

These are the people who should be on the People’s Business – I mean – on DLPTV.

38. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

What I am struggling with here is the Parro In A Suit Greenidge is offering Owen Arthur, Clyde Mascoll; Anthony Wood; and no where has it suggested Mottley hispretend leader is this an admission on its part that in actual fact Mottley has no role to play in the BLP and that he and the clan are reverting to the old crook of Roebuck Street this in itself is quite and amazing revelation all the names liste and no where is its pretend leader mentioned, this is what I have been suggesting from since the 16 Jan 2008, they DO NOT WANT MOTTLEY AS THE LEADER SHE IS DISPLACED, DISUSED, DUDD, I am seeing a quiet move afoot by Dale to undermine Mottley and he continues on his track supported by Owing See Thru Arthur.

fear not about CBC it will not hurt as badly as it hurt the DLP when Sir Fred Gollop and Gittens refused to accept paid DLP advertisements before the election last year.

39. POOR STANDARDS Avatar

I have been informed that changes in the rating and outlook have occurred as follows:

1999: rating change to A- (in good economic times)

2004 August: rating DOWNGRADE from A- to BBB+, stable
    outlook (IN GOOD ECONOMIC TIMES)

2005 July: rating maintained at BBB+ but OUTLOOK CHANGED
    FROM STABLE TO NEGATIVE (IN GOOD ECONOMIC TIMES)

2008 JULY: rating maintained at BBB+ but outlook changed
    from negative to stable (when international predictions by
    IMF and others were still fairly positive for world
    economic growth)

2009 April: rating maintained at BBB+ but OUTLOOK CHANGED
    FROM STABLE TO NEGATIVE (IN WORST ECONOMIC TIMES SINCE
    GREAT ECONOMIC DEPRESSION OF 1930s)

Are these the same clowns that gave a top of the class ratings only here recently only to see it capsized in a few short weeks, give me a break!!!!

40. What the DLP should be concerned about, is the recent S&P Report.

That the DLP opts to help big business as oppose to the small man – is the reason why Barbados is at risk of having its credit rating down graded.

It is that $93 million Clico Statutory Fund deficit and the stubborness of the DLP not to use the laws of Barbados to protect our economy, is putting this country at risk.

Here is how the BLP feel about the issues:

“Mr. Speaker, I repeat here today our position on this matter.

We on this side believe that the Government ought still to move urgently to ensure that the Supervisor of Insurance applies to put CLICO under judicial management, as permitted by Section 57 of the legislation.

When you do that, you stabilize the assets and you would not have to rely on the word of the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, as it relates to the injunction.

I find it almost unbelievable, as did the Honourable Member for St. Joseph, that the Honourable Member for Christ Church West Central and the Attorney General, having expanded so much legal capital in the No-Confidence debate about why the injunction was inapplicable to us, that the Prime Minister indicated in his speech today that he sought to get the undertaking from the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago that the injunction would not be enforced against the Eastern Caribbean.”

It is clear for all to see: The BLP serves the masses, while the DLP serves the money and protects big business.

41. Well Well!!. We do seem to have an over sighted brother in Montreal who appear to be focus on keeping the Barbadian Tourism prduct and other aspects of Barbadian trading products alive in canada. All of his reports to date are rich in substance and good for strengthening our relationship with canada. Thank you Glenroy. keep the torch burning.
    EDV.

42. Due Diligence Avatar

Interesting read.

2014 makes 2009 look good