Submitted by Bush Tea

bullyAfter listening to, and reading what seems like everyone in Barbados pontificate on the new public enemy called ‘bullying’, Bush Tea has given up all hope again that there is any level of understanding of our world and of our purpose here.

I get the distinct impression that opinions are generated nowadays by Googling or by just going straight to Wikipedia for a position, and then creatively seeking to articulate that position in one’s own words so as to avoid charges of plagiarism

Everyone now wants all bullies hanged and quartered because a young child unfortunately was killed by a vehicle while allegedly running from ‘bullies’. Indeed this was a most unfortunate and heart rending loss – as is every such loss whether it is by vehicle accident, skylarking, drowning or just ill health.

But surely, bullying is one of the most natural instincts. I believe that it is called ‘survival of the fittest…’ …animals do it; people do it at all stages of life; governments do it all the time; even churches bully their flocks – especially at collection time …. Why are we surprised that children would do this?

It seems to the Bushman that since this is a natural instinct, rather than seek to extinguish the practice of bullying in school, we should actually encourage the practice with the intent of preparing our children to face a world where it in endemic. Of course, it must be properly managed.

Bush Tea has been, and continues to be blessed with exposure to a lifetime of bullies who have helped me to become the person that I am today…. Without the bullies in my life the bushman would probably be a ‘flower boy’ today (LOL)…. Besides, where else would BT find fodder on whom to practice my own bullying instincts?

Here is how nature (as CH would say, read BBE) intended for this instinct to work;

In order to develop strong, confident adults, life must provide a variety of challenges, fears, disappointments etc to build strength of character. Bullies provide this ‘service’.

If we remove all bullies from school, it would be similar to raising animals in a protected farm, while many more will ‘survive’ to adulthood, none would ever develop the strength, cunning, and survival skills of the ‘wild’ animal.

Not having bullies thus means that we would be producing a generation of saps with no guts, no balls, no experience in facing fearful odds, no history of overcoming frightening situations – in other words, people like most Bajans are today…. rotfl

This is all fine if we are raising animals to provide ‘meat’ for some market. However when we are looking for strong, decisive, fearless leaders – where do we look?

When we seek leaders who can reject bribes where can we find them? How will we even get people who can think independently?

…maybe this is why we are such cowards.

Now this brings me to how a wise nation would deal with bullying….

Since it is a natural instinct, it should be natural a tool of the school.

The biggest school bully should be the Headmaster, followed by the teachers, ancillary staff, prefects and parents.

Children should be ‘bullied’ into doing the right thing. They should be fearful of breaking school rules…. The most scared should be the school rebels and trouble makers… but of course we have it the other way around…..

The Principals are sissies. The teachers can’t touch a fellow, and the gang leaders are calling the shots….. Brilliant strategy isn’t it??!!

As I said, bullying is natural. It CANNOT be stopped, we can either manage it to our advantage or fall victim to its influence.

….see if wanna can figure out why the bible says that if we spare the rod we WILL spoil the child (and therefore our own future…)

For GP’s benefit, the above also explains why God CREATED the devil and his agents. These are spiritual bullies and they are VITAL to the great work of molding and refining true righteous character. Like regular bullies, they create much havoc and sorrow, but their value lies in HOW the enlightened respond to their bullying tactics.

Has anyone noticed that in the good old days when education in Barbados actually worked, that the teachers were MAJOR bullies? Licks like peas….

At my great school, the prefects were the bullies (and were in my opinion, a school gang) who enforced school rules with maniacal enthusiasm. (Most of them only ever referred to rule 12 – which said that a “breech of common sense” was a breech of school rules) lol

Has anyone noticed that when crime was a minor issue in Barbados, the POLICE were the bullies? I could call names, but Bush tea is still intimidated by those REAL policemen decades later. ….LOL

I could talk about bullying at University – conducted by the likes of MME, Not saved and BAFBFP – under the name of grubbing, but the point is that this is a NATURAL instinct, so it is foolhardy to try to ‘ban’ bullying. What we need to do is re-evaluate our APPROACH to how we manage our society. Maybe the older folks were much smarter that we give them credit for in this regard.

84 responses to “What Stop What Bullying What?!!”

1. Remember when we were in school?
    You were my playmate
    Teacher taught us the golden rule
    To love one another
    Like sisters and brothers
    That is right.
    Yeah it is right
    It is right to love your sisters and
    brothers

2. @BT

Yes animals engage in battles of the fittest which mimics human bullying. Is it logical to compare the primal behavior of animals to civilize human being.

3. Bush,
    I don’t tink I agree wid you argument ya. To encourage bullying is to give in to de bullies. Dats how I see it. The only way to survive is to condone bullying because it makes one stronger and enables one to be able to cope with life’s little tragedies?
    My boys not at school again but I dare any f*^king bully ta mess wid one a my grans Bush.
    Granny Bonny gone ballistic pun some rasthole body ya.
    Is it fair to take advantage of someone because of your mite? I beg to differ.
    Most bullies only ‘bad’ when in packs like wolves.But alone, dem is bare shite-hounds.I would like ta ring off a few a dem necks like a common yardfowl.
    I can’t condone dis sorta behaviour.
    T-H-I-N-K.

Kiki,
    I wid you. Teach love not war n bullying is war.

4. @Bonny Peppa ,I totally agree with you,a bully is only a lion when in a crowd,get him on his own and its a different story. Just talking about bullying is not going to make it go away, and as soon as some other topic hit the head lines, Bullying will be placed on the back burner.We have got to start teaching our children in schools basic self defence.
    I would not describe myself as a bully, just that I liked a little fight,and not very long ago a friend of mine reminded me of the time I threw some licks in him the night before, and the next evening while going past where he lived, I heard Whoosh!Whoosh! Two big rocks passed inches from my face. Well after that I was not too eager to pick fight with others.

5. Don’t mess with old farts .. age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill!

For Bullshit and brilliance only come with age and experience.

6. As a woman with strong Combermerian ties, I am disguested by your article. A school is a community. There is a difference between enforcing discipline within it (as prefects do) and bullying. There is also a difference between a mature prefect and a power-drunk idiot with a badge.

Bullying is done by men/boys and women/girls who are cowardly and lack integrity. Far from producing strong ”men,” bullying often produces cowards who either rationalise the status quo or who seek to bully others when they can get away from it. It’s interesting. I saw two grief-stricken parents in the paper. Their stories were different but they were both mourning the loss of a child from a senseless killing.

Their grief should not be dismissed by advocating the continuation of the same thing (i.e. BULLYING) that lead to the death of their children. Grief is grief. I don’t think that the parents checked wikipedia for an ‘How to Effectively Mourn the Murder of Your Child’ article.

My unsolicited advice to you is that if the major form of ‘bullying’ that you experienced was from prefects, then you have no business to flippantly discuss a subject that has obviously little to do with you.

I am someone who abhors all forms of injustice. All forms of injustice come from the abuse of power. This power can be racial, financial, judicial or simply come from being physically stronger. It’s funny that you’d trivialise bullying and advocate it.

Would you say the same thing about racism? Or is it just that slavery produced strapping men and women who learnt to bear the lash and women who learnt to smile when being sexually abused?

If you are so callous that you cannot even provide moral support to the families and friends of those two deceased children, then perhaps you should remain silent.

Death from bullying=death from lynching. Imagine the pain and sheer terror that the victims would have felt in their last moments of life.

Perhaps, I should mimic your flippancy and just say that the victims simply expired before their due date…
    My last bit of unwanted advice is that what goes around comes around.

Disgusted and disappointed,
    Ms. Miche

7. I was a bully at school(s) , I remain a bully, I am a special bully , I bully the bullies . I seek them out and I bully them into submission.

No bully can bully me not now not ever. Bullies bow to me incessantly and when they bow I bully.

8. I was a bully at school(s) , I remain a bully, I am a special bully , I bully the bullies . I seek them out and I bully them into submission.

No bully can bully me not now not ever. Bullies bow to me incessantly and when they bow I bully.

9. Some of them say they are warrior
    But I know they are worrier

http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/warrior-whip-them-jah/

10. Ms. Miche, excellently said.

Bush Tea,

I fully disagree with you. Survival of the fittest? Are you sure you want that?

As Bradley’s note showed, bullying can result in many consequences.

I too remember a friend, in having had enough of one idiot’s constant teasing, enhancing the fellow’s sandwich with some additional sauce one day.

While buck lax was a regular (pun intended) thing at school, he could find none in the pantry, so used the opposite instead, something to make the situation much harder!!!

No doubt, that fellow had quite a day or two of it.

What with much more versed youngsters nowadays, internet knowledge etc, maybe the result would have been worse for the lout.

So, where do we stop? Until another gets killed? Until, instead of a father turning up at a school to ask the Headmaster’s assistance, he turns up with a collins? After all, it is only ‘survival of the fittest’?

Sure, there are adversarial situations in all life, but I strongly believe that we teach ‘the right thing’.

Has the USA benefited from GW Bush’s policies?

No. Because there is always, as in Bradley’s case, a person around a corner with two rock stones, just waiting.

Children MUST be taught to approach life with knowledge, communication, understanding, commonsense and a sense of right.

You really think that bullying by a teacher helps anything, other than assist hatred of same teacher?

Reminds me of another fellow who shoved aluminum foil hard up a teachers car exhaust.

Violence and bullying breeds vengeance, nothing else.

Of course, if you believe that ‘survival of the fittest’ as you pose, is the way to go, then accept that there are many ways to be ‘the fittest’.

One way or another, ‘Life’ balances things out.

One way or another.

11. A message to all BU members

For a couple years I’ve been blaming it on lack of sleep, not enough sunshine, too much pressure from my job, earwax build-up, poor blood circulation or anything else I could think of. But now I found out the real reason: I’m tired because I’m overworked.
    Here’s why:
    The population of Barbados is 265,000
    120,000 are retired.
    That leaves 145,000 to do the work.
    There are 45,000 in Primary and Secondary schools.
    Which leaves 100,000 to do the work.
    Of this there are 87,000 employed by the government.
    Leaving 13,000 to do the work.
    3,000 are in the protective services (Police, Army, Coast Guard,Prison, and Fire ) preoccupied with Crime, Kidnapping etc. Which leaves 10,000 to do the work.
    Take from the total the 6,000 people who work for Public Works, BWA and
    Statuary Bodies. And that leaves 4,000 to do the REAL WORK.
    At any given time there are 1,000 people in hospitals.
    Leaving 3,000 to do the work..
    There are approximately 2,998 people in prisons.
    That leaves just two people to do the work.
    You and me.
    And there you are sitting at your computer, reading jokes.
    Nice, real nice.
    No wonder I soo tired !..

12. Interesting piece Bush Tea.

You are getting a lot of criticism. I will not criticize you.

I think you should have focussed on aggressive behaviour and assertiveness. Most of these so-called bullies are just aggressive. When other kids do not have the assertive skills to stand up to them, then they suffer and we call the aggressors bullies.

In most species, aggressiveness is second to nature. But we are humans. A little assertive training by schools and parents will garner children respect from the agressors. In other words, stop moddly coddling the kids and teach them how to stand up for themselves and never run away.

13. @ Bonny P,

Wait Bonnie, how you don’t agree with my argument and then you go on to say exactly what I am saying?

…this is a complex matter, not one to be overly emotional about so try to follow me here….

I am not saying that I LIKE bullying. I am saying that it seems to be a FACT of life. As you say, the way to deal with these little devils is for well intentioned persons to stand up FORCEFULLY for what is right and just.
    As you said,
    “My boys not at school again but I dare any f*^king bully ta mess wid one a my grans Bush.
    Granny Bonny gone ballistic pun some rasthole body ya.
    …not exactly the way I would put it, (LOL) but very much to the point….and exactly my point…. you are the bigger ‘bully’ – and that is what we need.

Here is the critical difference. By your being prepared to stand up for right and justice you are creating a society where justice reigns.

If we try to solve the problem by isolating ourselves or our children from the bullies (running away from the problem) then we loose control to the bad guys….and eventually they will catch up with us anyway.

Obviously when I refer to you as a ‘bully’ in this case I am playing with the word and not suggesting that you (or prefects at any school or old headmasters) would be going around terrorizing others maliciously.

It is a critical subtle difference.

There is a way that seems right to the human mind, but the end thereof is the way of death.

It is NOT right to run away from the bullies and let them reign supreme.

It is NOT right (or smart) to retaliate in like manner to such acts….

But it IS right for authorities (Teachers, police, parents etc) to respond with overwhelming force to ‘out-bully’ the bullies…. to stand up for what is just and right.

@David,
    “Is it logical to compare the primal behavior of animals to civilize human being”
    Of course it is David. The only difference is that human bullying is much more complex, pervasive and more devious than that of wild animals….

14. children tend to keep bullying problems
    to themselves out of a sense of
    embarrassment, they need to be able to
    express problems and issues without
    being ashamed.

15. Hi Pat,

How is the farming going?
    You must know that the bush man thrives on criticism – it makes my day. LOL

I take your point about assertive training by parents and schools, but surely you appreciate that in our society, success is generally defined by competitiveness and greed (read aggressive bullying) in whatever area we choose.

In such a world, aggressiveness is actually rewarded in most areas – in the workplace, in politics, in sports, in court etc.
    Don’t you agree that given this reality, we should have a clear deliberate national policy on the use of power?

My point is that we should! … and that policy should be to place strong powerful persons in position of authority who have the balls and willingness to face down the bullies in standing up for right.

16. Pat
    10 to 1 is murder. And dese cowards usually operate in ‘packs’.
    From all reports in this situ with the 11yr old youngster, one of the boy’s mother was approached by the victim’s father and she closed her window in his face. Maybe she too felt that bullying is okay as long as it is her son doing the bullying. She is just as guilty as the bully she raised. He probably bullies her house hold too but she is an accomplice.
    Bullying is one thing but terrorising is something completely different.
    They were terrorising that youngster from Primary school.
    I WISH THOSE TWO BULLIES THAT ALLEGEDLY CAUSED THAT BOY’S LIFE TO DIE A SLOW AND PAINFUL DEATH SOMEDAY.
    That is my gut feeling and I would tell their parents so too.
    School is no where for VAGABONDS.

Ms. Miche,
    Well said.

17. Adversarial court processes are an example of a waste of time, energy
    and money when compromises are neglected.
    Fighting is deemed anti-social
    behaviour and teachers are beginning
    to handle the matter more seriously.

18. BT writes………..

“rather than seek to extinguish the practice of bullying in school, we should actually encourage the practice”

Then he writes….

“But it IS right for authorities (Teachers, police, parents etc) to respond with overwhelming force to ‘out-bully’ the bullies…. to stand up for what is just and right.”

and by that you mean the teachers etc should stop the bullies in their practice?

19. BT is critical because ……….

“Everyone now wants all bullies hanged and quartered because a young child unfortunately was killed by a vehicle while allegedly running from ‘bullies’”

but according to BT he would rather that we ……….

“…… respond with overwhelming force to ‘out-bully’ the bullies……”

Interesting.

20. Respectfully, I have read the comments. However, I believe that times have changed. Those who wield considerable power, be this politically or economically, have been increasingly forced to use collaborative forms of leadership. To put it bluntly, the days of the chest thumping he man or she woman are over. Those who wield power are persuasive and increasingly hold sway over our hearts and minds. I argue that this is a more dangerous form of power than that which comes solely from force.

I agree with Bush Tea about having a national policy on the use of power. Better said on ways to reduce all forms of violence. However, I do not agee that we will get anywhere if we allow those in authority to outbully bullies.

Unfortunatley, the time has come for complacency to end and for people to take stands against forms of violence such as bullying. A bully does not simply wake up one morning, put on his/her school clothes and decide to shake down someone. The mindset and habits of a bully are learned within the homes and communities that they live in and sadly within the churches that they frequent. Perhaps the next time that we see this sort of foolishness going on, we all ought to take a stance against it. We should never think, ‘Dis aint none of my business!’ Working against forms of violence is not prerogative of the police, teachers or judges. It is our responsibility!

In closing, we Bajans have been blessed. We are not fools and should stop acting dotishly.

In the United States victims of bulling were killed in schools. Nothing was done. They started to take their lives in increasing numbers (teenage suicide). Nothing was done. Columbine happened. Something was done…

How far do things have to go? Will we have a Granny threatening vigilante justice if anyone touches her grandchildren…

21. BT writes….

“Children should be ‘bullied’ into doing the right thing. They should be fearful of breaking school rules…. The most scared should be the school rebels and trouble makers…”

Nice straw man.

This is called “discipline”.

I cant think of a single parent who is asking for bullying to be remedied is the same as asking for discipline to be avoided.

When a parent says he wants bullying remedied, he/she does not mean removing discipline.

They mean bullying.

The same bullying that you would like to respond to with “overwhelming force” because it is “right and just”

That is what they mean.

22. Bush Tea // October 12, 2009 at 6:34 PM
    Man Bush Tea, I have no problem with aggressiveness. I agree that the aggressive ones are those who are achievers and who get ahead. I may even be guilty, myself, of some aggressive behaviour at times.

My excuse is that working in an all male environment, I had no intention of being overlooked or walked over.

You have to fight for what you want and compete with your betters, or you will always be on the lower rungs of the ladder.

The issue is the fine line between aggressiveness and bullying. Most kids do not even know they are practicing bullying tactics. They dont even know what a bully is. Some cant even spell the word. They see it being done, so they do it too. They are not admonished, so they continue the practice. They may even think it is fun because they know no better.

With regard to a policy re power, I dont know how this should work.

In Barbados, I guess as here, teachers have no say and no authority anymore. You cant even touch a kid here for fear of the’harassment label’.
    Parents are taking everyone to court for disciplining their unruly children. So, it is left to the parents (some with no broughtuptancy) to raise their children as they see fit. But, I will tell you this, you never find mango under lemon tree.

I wonder what MME would say about it.

23. Ms. Miche // October 12, 2009 at 7:15 PM
    …. The mindset and habits of a bully are learned within the homes and communities that they live in and sadly within the churches that they frequent.

Well said. You must have posted while I was typing.

24. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

@BT,
    You present an interesting, though somewhat insensitive, theodicy.

When you refer to ‘bullying’ by authorities (principals, teachers, prefects, police) I interpret this to mean having zero-tolerance and taking swift action to weed out undesirable behaviour in society… you can (and probably will LOL) correct me if I am wrong.

However, I think you were a reckless in your third and fourth paragraphs, which to many, may come across as mocking people for their emotional response and outrage over this tragic incident. For that, and for the misplaced grubbing analogy at the end, you deserve all the lashes you gine get from BU… LOL.

25. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

…by the way BT, how did Christ deal with bullies? 🙂

26. @ Bonny Peppa

We are all saddened by the loss of the youngster. But we must understand that these other kids (the bullies) probably were not aware of the harm their actions would cause. We cant place all the blame on the so-called bullies. As I said above, (and Ms. Miche has articulated it very well) you dont find mangoes under lemon tree.

27. We are all saddened by the loss of the youngster. But we must understand that these other kids (the bullies) probably were not aware of the harm their actions would cause. We cant place all the blame on the so-called bullies. As I said above, (and Ms. Miche has articulated it very well) you dont find mangoes under lemon tree.

@Pat

A profound summary of the issue.

28. @MME,

“When you refer to ‘bullying’ by authorities (principals, teachers, prefects, police) I interpret this to mean having zero-tolerance and taking swift action to weed out undesirable behaviour in society… you can (and probably will LOL) correct me if I am wrong.”

I have the same interpretation and I called it enforcing discipline.

Presumably, bullying is undesirable behavior. (after all BT says responding to it with “overwhelming force” is “right and just”)

But apparently BT suggested the practice was to be “encouraged”?

Sure he has been misunderstood.

Perhaps he did not mean bullying between children.

In that case what is his point? and how does it differ from every concerned parent who has reacted with grave concern at the death of this child?

29. looka my crosses nuh!!

…Bush tea here having a nice discussion with my two girlfriends Pat and BP and out comes the big guns NS and MME to brek up my chosseling…

@ Not Saved

“When a parent says he wants bullying remedied, he/she does not mean removing discipline.”

You are so wrong here NS!!

The whole issue (and a point that I am at pains to make) is that we as a society seem to think that the way to solve this problem is for people to somehow become ‘nice’…

These ARE THE SAME PEOPLE who are against capital and corporal punishment by authorities. Their idea of ‘discipline’ is to speak harshly to the culprit and rap his knuckles.

I am saying that aggressiveness is part of our psyche (like it or not) and thus we should make decisions as a society with this reality in mind.

‘Spare the rod and spoil the child’. …that is not a bible verse, it is a statement of logical fact.

In the final analysis, especially in dealing with children, nothing beats a good (Godly) parent who ‘bullies’ that child into doing the right things in life until that child grows into that good habit.
    …you think that if BT’s mother was a sweet bread that the Bushman would have turned out so decent (LOL)? Thank God she was a MUCH bigger bully than I was….

@ MME

You well know, (and said) exactly what Bush Tea means by bullying by the authorities. Furthermore, you stretch the language by describing my 3rd and 4th paragraphs as ‘reckless’.

Emotion is a dangerous thing to bring into serious discussion. It has the ability to confound simple logic and create irrational group think.

The prevailing emotional wave that says that we must solve this problem by somehow’ending’ bullying is impractical, flawed, unnatural and …well- emotional…. somewhat akin to preaching abstinence to combat AIDS.

Bush Tea was merely seeking to disrupt this dangerous ‘group think’….lol

…Still waiting for disclaimers from you and NS with respect to being grubmasters …….rotfl

As to how JC would deal with bullies… probably turn the cheek, or walk away – or even allow them to crucify him.
    But this is because he understood the overall much bigger picture to come in future phases.

When the next phase comes- it is THEN that you will see real righteous bullying….

30. @BT,

Lots of straw men there, I see you relish burning then.

So tell us , bullying between children at school, should we …….

– encourage this practice?

– have teachers etc remove it with “overwhelming force”?

Which BT statement is correct?

31. @BT,

You write…….

“The whole issue (and a point that I am at pains to make) is that we as a society seem to think that the way to solve this problem is for people to somehow become ‘nice’…”

But BT, just earlier you admonished everyone because…

“Everyone now wants all bullies hanged and quartered”

32. A little bully was making my Little Johnny’s life miserable.

I went down to the school early early in the morning when the teachers were not yet there, took off my belt, rolled it up and told the little bully that any time he touched Little Johnny I’ll come to the school and cut his ass. Then I asked him for his phone number. That evening I called his parents and told on him. Bullying stopped immediately.

He is lucky that he was not my school mate. In my heyday I’ve shed the blood of bullies and sent them and their mummies off to the doctor.

Don’t touch me nor mine.

33. BT writes……….

“The prevailing emotional wave that says that we must solve this problem by somehow’ending’ bullying is impractical, flawed, unnatural”

But earlier you wrote…

“and that policy should be to place strong powerful persons in position of authority who have the balls and willingness to face down the bullies in standing up for right.”

so is ending bullying “impractical” or do we need people in authority to “face down the bullies”

which is it?

34. @J,

So it would seem from your anecdote that discipline may well be a solution to bullying.

I concur.

35. J,

You are one bad John. You dont let grass grow under your feet.

36. @ Not Saved

It is becoming easier to see why you can be ‘Not Saved’ …

…why are you wasting David’s blog space reproducing what Bush Tea says?
    None of your last three posts makes any sense. Those point are as clear as mud.

You mean that you REALLY cannot see that placing strong authorities in place to face down bullies does NOT end bullying – The Authorities become the bullies….

You cannot see the point about tough teachers dealing with issues of discipline firmly? what foolishness you asking about encouraging bullying among children?

…you better get some sleep NS, this is a difficult issue for someone who does not believe in a designed world with a divine purpose….

37. Yes Pat. If I had gone to that woman to get satisfaction and she shut her window in my face I’d pelt a bog rock through her window.

That would teach her that her rudeness has consequences.

And the next day I’d hold her son, and make my son beat the sh*t out of him, and if her son complained right to her face I’d call him a little liar.

38. @ J

Just so you know that you did not really solve the problem, you only proved that you are a bigger bully. What will you do when his 6 foot father (who is the source of his problems) gets out of prison next month?

It is the headmaster who should have cut his ass and possibly cut the parents asses too if needed…. and if the father even speaks out of turn when he comes out, a constable Goodman should have a quiet word with him too…

39. There is no point dealing ethically with unethical people.

40. Bush Tea
    It grieves me to disagree with you but they say all’s well in love n war. You still got my luvs, sucre-pop.

J,
    Ya got ma crying.
    ‘Don’t touch me nor mine’. Mercy me.

When one of my little granny-bunnies was attending Erdiston Nursery (great school by the way for the young uns.) there was this lil boy troubling ( not bullying) her. He would scratch, pinch, bite her. Then it elevated to spitting. I complained to the teacher and she told me that she was aware of the situ and she had disciplined him. Apparently her discipline didn’t work because he started his spitting. I ‘happened’ to meet his mother at a party for one of the classmates and I told her about his behaviour. She was very pleasant. She called him, made him apologize to my baby and give her a hug and told him that he wouldn’t like it done to him so stop it right away. She also got complaints from one or two other parents about the same thing. He started to cry and I hugged him and told him it was okay but not to do it anymore. Now if his mother had come to me with any foolishness like, ‘wah you want me ta do, or, he is get bite too.’ I would’ve given her the hardest ‘butt’ she would ever experience. Then the ‘war’ would start. Licks would start to pelt down. I would hold some but not all.
    The parents are to blame MOST of the time for their wayward children.
    NONE will bully mine and escape injury. PLAIN n SIMPLE.

Scout,
    I in hearing you a’tall. Wah happen? Hope you in na place bullying nabody.

41. By the way, hello to Ms.Connell from Erdiston Nursery. Such a nice teacher.

42. I hate to tell you this BT but J is a Sunday school teacher who keeps a sharp coll*ns always at the ready.

J does not wait for any headmaster (or politician) to do for me what I can do for myself.

Was it some American President who said “walk softly and carry a big stick?”

I like that way of thinking

43. Dear BT:

Fortunately my Little Johnny is now almost 6 feet tall.

44. Don’t get me wrong J.

I admire your position, but from the society’s position, we can’t have everyone administering vigilante justice.

What about the shy quite Sunday school teacher who knits (instead of sharpening her ‘lens??/LOL) how would she handle her son bullies?

Those responsible should do their duties…

@ Bonnie P
    Disagree all you want sweetness… I waiting for the mekking up….

45. BT writes…

“You mean that you REALLY cannot see that placing strong authorities in place to face down bullies does NOT end bullying – The Authorities become the bullies….”

It amusing how you infer that parents who now heightened to the issue because of the death of the young boy are somehow advocating for ineffectual authority by teachers when they call for bullying to be stamped out.

It is a great straw man and I watch with amusement your delight in tearing it up.

I afraid BT it is apparently you, who cannot see the difference between discipline and bullying.

A bully inflicts (usually violent) abuse on his victim for his own personal satisfaction.

The authorities (teachers etc) enforce discipline for the benefit of the recipient.

It must surprise you to know that some parents actually do send their kids to school with the hope that they will find a disciplined environment.

They do not send them there to be victims of bullies. Moreover, they would like the authorities to enforce such discipline to ensure their kids do not become victims.

And you ask me ….

“what foolishness you asking about encouraging bullying among children?”

Well BT it was YOU who suggested that the practice was to be encouraged !

“But surely, bullying is one of the most natural instincts. ……… …. Why are we surprised that children would do this?………………..It seems to the Bushman that since this is a natural instinct, rather than seek to extinguish the practice of bullying in school, we should actually encourage the practice”

So in context BT you referenced children.

It was not until some 8 paragraphs later you reference people in authority as bullies.

And since we are now to believe that you do not wish to encourage bullying among children how exactly is your point any different from the parent who expects the authorities to “stamp down on bullies”?

46. @BT,

“why are you wasting David’s blog space reproducing what Bush Tea says?
    None of your last three posts makes any sense.”

Perhaps then, the fault does not lie with me.

47. J
    Ya got ma cryin. Ya sick. I luv um bad.Cold, callous n straight up.
    F^%k and be F&^ked up. Proppa.
    Hold de ‘lins careful, hear? Lord a mercy.

Bush,
    You done know dat we break up just ta make up? Makes it so much more sexciting.
    Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

48. BT Writes…….

“…….the above also explains why God CREATED the devil and his agents. These are spiritual bullies and they are VITAL to the great work of molding and refining true righteous character. Like regular bullies, they create much havoc and sorrow’ but their value lies in HOW the enlightened respond to their bullying tactics.”

now which bullies are we talking about here that have “value”?

and exactly which bullies are analogous to the “devil and his agents”?

the teachers in authority?

and the authorities create “much havoc and sorrow”?

or are you back referring to the bullies in the schoolyard?

and these child bullies preying on other children have “value”?

but they should be “stamped out” with “overwhelming force”?

which is it BT?

49. J is writing bare foolishness and like most Bajans shooting her mouth off. Yuh think she got a monopoly pun big rocks! Throw what rock through what window what…?!!!

Is it acceptable for parents to go to schools and threaten other children simply on the basis of what their children told them? J’s Johnny could actually have been the precipitant of the situation. My child has been accused of bullying. On investigation (by the school) it was found that he was actually defending himself and had got the better of the hoped-to-be bully who then went home and had claimed that he was bullied!

If what she wrote actually did happen she was lucky that she didn’t end up in jail. Even if my little Johnny IS a bully, I will not sit idly after some adult has confronted him in the manner described by J. The law is clear on such actions, J would be posting bail and I wouldn’t have broken a sweat and my Johnny would still be licking the stuffing out of her Johnny.

Order cannot be achieved through ‘disorder’.
    Not Saved has sagely pointed out “A bully inflicts (usually violent) abuse on his victim for his own personal satisfaction.

The authorities (teachers etc) enforce discipline for the benefit of the recipient.”

Only an orderly and purposeful process in response to these matters will result in a satisfactory (i.e just) outcome.

50. BT
    Tah me a bully is someone who targets those who is least likely to or cannot fight back. So you learned how to fight back and it stopped.

In Ba’bados every two years or so the Popo would implement a four week period of ambushing drivers and charging them with the most minor of traffic offences. Then this would be followed by traffic court hearings that would see some of the biggest people in the land standing up in the hot sun waiting to be called. The last one was called operation “Road Order Maintenance”. The court hearings have started. You can be charged any where from $500 to $1,000 for an infringement such as having a rear license plate that is not orange enough. If you engage an advocate, as I tried once, you will be charged $200 for the offence (the magistrate would be familiar with the fact that the legal fee is at least $300.00).

Man I get hol’ again, a rolling stop (not coming to a complete halt at a T-junction where the oncoming traffic from both sides is as visible as a grey tick on a white chiwawa. We got mini buses runnin’ rampant roun’ hey and dey pick pun me..! Dey pick pun me Bushman..! I get bullied.

Help mah man…I beg yah. I want tah fight back!