Submitted by Bush Tea

bullyAfter listening to, and reading what seems like everyone in Barbados pontificate on the new public enemy called ‘bullying’, Bush Tea has given up all hope again that there is any level of understanding of our world and of our purpose here.

I get the distinct impression that opinions are generated nowadays by Googling or by just going straight to Wikipedia for a position, and then creatively seeking to articulate that position in one’s own words so as to avoid charges of plagiarism

Everyone now wants all bullies hanged and quartered because a young child unfortunately was killed by a vehicle while allegedly running from ‘bullies’. Indeed this was a most unfortunate and heart rending loss – as is every such loss whether it is by vehicle accident, skylarking, drowning or just ill health.

But surely, bullying is one of the most natural instincts. I believe that it is called ‘survival of the fittest…’ …animals do it; people do it at all stages of life; governments do it all the time; even churches bully their flocks – especially at collection time …. Why are we surprised that children would do this?

It seems to the Bushman that since this is a natural instinct, rather than seek to extinguish the practice of bullying in school, we should actually encourage the practice with the intent of preparing our children to face a world where it in endemic. Of course, it must be properly managed.

Bush Tea has been, and continues to be blessed with exposure to a lifetime of bullies who have helped me to become the person that I am today…. Without the bullies in my life the bushman would probably be a ‘flower boy’ today (LOL)…. Besides, where else would BT find fodder on whom to practice my own bullying instincts?

Here is how nature (as CH would say, read BBE) intended for this instinct to work;

In order to develop strong, confident adults, life must provide a variety of challenges, fears, disappointments etc to build strength of character. Bullies provide this ‘service’.

If we remove all bullies from school, it would be similar to raising animals in a protected farm, while many more will ‘survive’ to adulthood, none would ever develop the strength, cunning, and survival skills of the ‘wild’ animal.

Not having bullies thus means that we would be producing a generation of saps with no guts, no balls, no experience in facing fearful odds, no history of overcoming frightening situations – in other words, people like most Bajans are today…. rotfl

This is all fine if we are raising animals to provide ‘meat’ for some market. However when we are looking for strong, decisive, fearless leaders – where do we look?

When we seek leaders who can reject bribes where can we find them? How will we even get people who can think independently?

…maybe this is why we are such cowards.

Now this brings me to how a wise nation would deal with bullying….

Since it is a natural instinct, it should be natural a tool of the school.

The biggest school bully should be the Headmaster, followed by the teachers, ancillary staff, prefects and parents.

Children should be ‘bullied’ into doing the right thing. They should be fearful of breaking school rules…. The most scared should be the school rebels and trouble makers… but of course we have it the other way around…..

The Principals are sissies. The teachers can’t touch a fellow, and the gang leaders are calling the shots….. Brilliant strategy isn’t it??!!

As I said, bullying is natural. It CANNOT be stopped, we can either manage it to our advantage or fall victim to its influence.

….see if wanna can figure out why the bible says that if we spare the rod we WILL spoil the child (and therefore our own future…)

For GP’s benefit, the above also explains why God CREATED the devil and his agents. These are spiritual bullies and they are VITAL to the great work of molding and refining true righteous character. Like regular bullies, they create much havoc and sorrow, but their value lies in HOW the enlightened respond to their bullying tactics.

Has anyone noticed that in the good old days when education in Barbados actually worked, that the teachers were MAJOR bullies? Licks like peas….

At my great school, the prefects were the bullies (and were in my opinion, a school gang) who enforced school rules with maniacal enthusiasm. (Most of them only ever referred to rule 12 – which said that a “breech of common sense” was a breech of school rules) lol

Has anyone noticed that when crime was a minor issue in Barbados, the POLICE were the bullies? I could call names, but Bush tea is still intimidated by those REAL policemen decades later. ….LOL

I could talk about bullying at University – conducted by the likes of MME, Not saved and BAFBFP – under the name of grubbing, but the point is that this is a NATURAL instinct, so it is foolhardy to try to ‘ban’ bullying. What we need to do is re-evaluate our APPROACH to how we manage our society. Maybe the older folks were much smarter that we give them credit for in this regard.

84 responses to “What Stop What Bullying What?!!”

1. Anonymous wrote at 2:33 a.m. “Even if my little Johnny IS a bully, I will not sit idly after some adult has confronted him in the manner described by J. The law is clear on such actions, J would be posting bail”

But Anon you must understand that J believes that the law is an ass.

And why should I let an ass decide for me.

J has NEVER see the inside of any court, and NEVER will.

2. Ahh but Anon, order WAS achieved.

The parents of the little bully who seemed to have difficulty managing him were thankful.

You see my Little Johnny’s complaint was not the only one.

Both they and he understood that he had to immediately answer to a higher authority.

Me.

As an adult in this community I will not tolerate bad behavior. I WILL continue to correct other people’s children.

J is an old fashioned parent who has SUCCESSFULLY raised and helped to raise a good number of children.

J has family and friends who are lawyers and judges; and my observation is that they are no better parents than anybody else.

So NO I do NOT go to lawyers or judges for child raising advice.

Lawyers and judges are NOT experts in child raising.

3. I don’t know why anonymous thinks that the good outcome of child rearing is justice.

The good outcome to child raising is good, responsible, hard working, moral adults.

And J has had ALL GOOD outcomes.

As I said before the law is oftimes an ass.

Why just last week I spoke to a school girl on the bus and subsequently reported her in writing to the principal. The girl had insisted in keeping her leg sprawled in the aisle to the hindrance of other passengers.

And I gave the principal my home address, my 3 phone numbers, and my 2 email addresses just in case she needed to verify.

No lawyers, no legal fees and the girl is very respectful these mornings.

People only do nonsense if they know that they will get away with it.

And anon, if you want to call your lawyer (or if you are your own lawyer) go ahead.

4. BT,

The big assumption that you make is that the ‘bigger bullies’ work for justice.

Not always the case, in fact, can be seldom.

Children tell lies and oftentimes gang up.

Thus, the correction that you imply, for example, a child retaliating, can be misconstrued as them being the bullies, when they are defending.

Further, you imply that the natural law will make the strongest and most assertive, rise to the top, for the benefit of all.

Wrong!

Oftentimes, indeed recently I could see clearly an example, these same ones are the least capable, of leading.

Why? Their expertise is bullying, not solving problems, not being able to fathom predicaments, except by bullying.

Not a good scenario.

I will maintain my view that the only solution is teaching children to respect others.

It starts with parents, it follows at school.

If either is missing, some will fall through the cracks.

That is where suspension / expulsion and Government run remedial classes come in.

We cannot have our classrooms filled with fighting fools and distractions.

Our children need to learn, the world is very competitive.

5. Crusoe,
    Muy bien, gracias.

J,
    Doan mind Anon.Sometimes ya have ta do de unthinkable to let dese hoodlums know that you are badder than them. Ya gotta drive fear in some a dem man.
    Can you imagine a teacher having to put up wid dese rebels day in day out? Some a dem want putting outta school and putting ta weed longside de road in de HOT sun bareback. Den de torturer will be tortured.
    I got a real short fuse wid bad behaved children too.
    If I was in dat bus, she woulda get such a hard kick accidentally on purpose dat ya won’t got ta tell she to move she foot. One hard kick in ya bumbaclawt. Dese vagabonds run tings home n feel dat they could terrorise innocent children at school too.

My boys were taught ‘Karate’ early a clock. Oh yeah, I prepared dem fa de ‘bullies’, though there were none. They never had to practise it outside of their jurisdiction.
    I was a bit hesitant at first but soon became relaxed knowing that I could not be with them at all times.
    I also taught them to never start a fight but if anyone hit you, please hit them back thrice as hard.Male or female. A good Karate chop or jump-kick would do it evrytime.

6. Not to prove Bush Tea’s point, but a little bullying made J return to her normal common sense self.

note: she wrote the Principal about an offending child. She didn’t up and drive two slaps in the girl and cuss her about blocking the aisle. Judges and lawyers are not child rearing experts but they do know the law which prohibits anyone entering a school compound and “meking a noise” and assaulting anyone which is what she did to that child when she confronted him with a belt rolled up and threatened to cut his ass.

7. Bonny “Wang Yu” Peppa,

you think only your children know karate? Anyhow, when some ‘igrunt’ parent (like J) accost them (or worse) at school or some adult drive a kick in “dey bumbaclawt” what should they do? Let J know your answer.

8. Anonymous,
    Chawwwwwwwww, i like my new name. Phworrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrkkkkkkkkkkk.
    (dis is japanese fa ‘ya badddd’) teehee.

Now, I think that J was just trying a ‘scare-tactic’. You think that she went up to him hollerin n screaming. No, she just let him see the belt and let him know that she would use it, if need be. You really think that she would hit a lil child? She only wanted to scare him and it worked.

If you deliberately blocking the passage of the bus, you should get a hard kick. Remember I said, ‘accidentally on purpose’. Then she would get all the , ‘oh shoot, sorry dear, sorry but put ya feet togetha that people could pass, see”? You think that she didn’t know that what she was doing was wicked?
    Or, she would get a hard mashhhhhhh.

I would hate to think that only mine knew karate because other parents were just as concerned about the safety of their children. But at least mine were prepared. YOu expect to send a soldier out to fight battle unprepared? He would be killed in one.
    Ya got ta prepare fa battle, Anon.

Agowriittosuisdtoueyojssudpusouuuuu
    (dis is japenese fa ‘I gone’)

9. Anonymous wrote “Judges and lawyers are not child rearing experts but they do know the law which prohibits anyone entering a school compound and “meking a noise”

Oh but anon, J has NEVE entered a school compound to “mek a noise”

J NEVER meks noises.

When I become angry I become very very very quiet.

Probably no one except the offending child knew that I was speaking to him. I did not wish to publicly humiliate him, but I very much wanted to CORRECT his bad behaviour. And I did. And I wanted to correct the school girl’s bad behavior and I did.

A society becomes a good place to live when neighbuors look out for each other and especially when they look out for each others children.

J ALWAYS looks out for her neighbour’s children.

10. Bush Tea
    help mah nah…! Dis traffic-police-court-goverment-coffer system bulling me…

(I t’ink I faget a letter somwhere)

11. BAFBFP
    Yes de letter is ‘h’ at de end of ‘me’.
    Murdaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

J,
    I get very quiettttttttttt too when angry. You could hear a pin drop pun a carpet when Bonny vexxxxx.
    Most children I just have to give a good nasty ‘look’ and they haul n pull-up. They know when they’re doing wrong. And my ‘look’ does de trick.

Scout, whey ya?

12. Bush Tea HHHHelp

Dis woman killin’ meh … HAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAA

13. @ BAFBFP
    Rolling stop?
    What rolling stop what?!!

You play you ain’t stopping at the people stop sign?
    You play you is a maguffy bully???

All Bush tea could advise is to travel with nuff cash…. Trust me, you don’t want to be remanded….. rotfl

btw, if we miss you for a while we will know what you going through…. hope you won’t be getting bullied.. ha ha HA HAAAAAA

14. @ Not Saved

NS, you know that I really do not like to argue with you!
    How does one argue with a blogger who seriously thinks that our whole world evolved from ‘nothing’ – by pure chance.

If you think that there is no intelligent plan and purpose in life, why do you care about anything – far less what some non-entity called Bush Tea feels about anything?

If you think that there is no God, why do you care about discipline? why do you care if we human beings operate like the wild animals?

How can you possibly understand that in order to build CHARACTER, one needs to be ‘tested in the fire’.

In order to be tested in the fire, there needs to be fire available.

In order for fire to be available, we need some arsonists.

If a brilliant engineer was therefore creating a system designed to produce highly refined character, high on the order of his design would be a number of efficient and effective arsonists.

If a society hopes to have at its disposal a core of strong reliable righteous leaders to direct its future path, then it will need to have in place mechanisms to mold children and young adults so as to create the kind of strength of character needed to produce strong , honest, dependable adults.
    – We need our bullies!
    …but of course, we also need to manage them so that they do not destroy our complete society.

This is highly complex logic NS. If you cannot even rationalize that our highly complex world could not possibly have just accidentally have ‘evolved’, how can you understand such a concept as spiritual character development?

…..why not ask MME for some assistance here?

15. BT says…

“- We need our bullies!”

———–

and so I that I am clear, these bullies include children?

16. …..this draft is too high for you NS.
    …lets just drop it.

Can we just agree that BT is a nutcase and drop the whole thing?

17. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“our highly complex world could not possibly have just accidentally have ‘evolved’…”
    ——-

BT… true, our complex world did not accidentally evolve… but a rational examination of the evidence reveals the unequivocal presence of an evolutionary algorithm in the design.

18. @BT,

Too high for me.

@MME,

Oh no ! lets not start that one again on BT !

19. @MME
    This is Bush Tea not GP or Zoe.

When red herrings are tossed at me ‘I does fry dum up with some cou cou’ sweet, sweet yuh hear?

Actually MME, a rational examination of the evidence reveals the unequivocal presence of not only evolutionary algorithms, but also of other complex and confusing algorithms including concepts of Karma, extrasensory phenomena, and other controversial possibilities.

This only enhances the breath taking complexity of the design.

Just because some religious simpletons illogically choose to argue that creation means that some set timetable had to have occurred does not influence the Bush Man.

It is fairly obvious for example, that the Boss Engineers designed a scenario where fossil fuels were created over an extended period of time and under precise conditions,so as to make that abundant energy source available towards the end of the current phase for very specific reasons.

‘Evolution’ is an obvious fact of life.

Species change over time and clearly adapt to different circumstances. Over the very long term, no doubt such changes will be quite drastic….
    BUT MONKEYS DO NOT CHANGE INTO MEN!!!

…all part of the brilliant design my friend.

20. @BT,

“BUT MONKEYS DO NOT CHANGE INTO MEN!!!”

Are you aware of anyone making such a hypothesis?

21. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“BUT MONKEYS DO NOT CHANGE INTO MEN!!!”
    ——-

Not without some ‘help’.

Dust + Breath = Living Soul

🙂

22. I remember a time I told my son that if anyone hits him to hit them back realllll hard; cause if he come home complaining to me I WOULD CUT HIS ASS!

Wellllll boy was I sorry, my son went to school and a little girl punched him in his eye! My son bit her and she ended up in the hospital, I felt sooooooo bad!

I went to the hospital to visit her and she had just come from surgery with the finger that had been bitten……. It seemed as if she use to suck the finger and it became infected!

When I talked to the teacher and parent, the little girl like she had a crush on my son…….

Children is something else for trut here!

One must be careful in what one says to one’s children realllll careful…… but ya know come to think of it….. noone at the school has ever messed with him again interesting thought and analysis BT very interesting!

23. Lodge School was a typical English publish school; hazing, pecking orders, coffin day initiation, six form privileges…. Nothing to be proud about Bush man, sorry!

24. JC
    ‘punched him in the eye’

Boy, she had a way of showing it (Love). Just like some adults, ehhhhhhhhh?

‘I love you’, banggggggggg, a cuff in ya face. bopppppppp, a buss nose.

Lawddddddddddddddddddddd

25. Good Morning ALL!

Animal Planet “Underdog to Wonderdog” is doing an episode on child Bulling. We are looking for families who deal with their child being bullied everyday in school. Please feel free to check our website at http://www.sharpetertainment.com or email me at keciabenson@yahoo.com for more information. We are looking for families in the NY/NJ area.

26. Kecia wrote “Animal Planet “Underdog to Wonderdog” is doing an episode on child Bulling.”

What????????

27. J
    Typo error J, don’t get perplexed.

28. Pen Mightier Than Sword Avatar
    Pen Mightier Than Sword

After reading the article here is a video that clearly depicts the ‘pro-bullying’ views.

29. I completely disagree and I am utterly appalled that you compared children to animals!!!! So, are you saying that fire was a waste of time and that evolution was/is pointless? When we know better we are expected to do better and this sentiment pertains to our youth too.

Bullying is a serious issue and it needs to be addressed. I am not advocating for an environment that is so micromanaged that children are not allowed the opportunity to resolve conflict on there own, but I do believe that our youth should be equipped with the proper skills to effectively communicate with each other and to understand the source of bullying.

Bullying doesn’t have to be a childhood norm and I do not believe that it produces the attributes mentioned in this article. Instead, it produces much of the same unhealthy behavior. Bullies continue to prey on the weak and weak in turn will prey on the weaker.

What a vicious cycle and I wonder, what role did you play when you were in school?

30. I saw some guys known for bullying in police uniform the other day, found that quite the ironic musing.

31. the nickster
    de Police can’t be choir-boys.
    Wrong analogy.
    Nutton ironic ’bout dat.
    Cold hard facts of life.

32. My wife refuses to put out. That is bullying…!

33. BAFBFP
    To put out what? De garbage? She rite, dat is your job.
    Ya rite wifey, doan put out fa shhhhhhhhh.

Tek dah.
    murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

34. bullying has always been the norm in barbados .look at the pivture of the teacher flogging the boy for being late .now who is the bully.don’t make me laugh.how can anyone forget those oldtimers in the school system who made it a part of their frightened me to death some of those teachers.this is generational