Submitted by Yardbroom

Owen Arthur…I am here this evening because I am fully committed to doing all I can do to ensure the return of the Barbados Labour Party to power…It is my mission and nothing will detract me…

The words of Mr. Owen Arthur as reported by Gercine Carter in the Nation of 9-14-2009. If reports are to be believed – and I have no reason to doubt them – there was not a hushed audience, but “rousing” applause.

He went further:…The Opposition Barbados Labour Party once I am part of it, must be the voice of the people…

When an astute and experienced politician speaks, note should be taken of not only what is said but what has not been mentioned.ย  What is the inference in: …the voice of the people.ย  We all know what that means in general terms, but was there a subliminal message to be expanded, at a later and more appropriate time.ย  Is this a signal for an incremental change of direction in a certain area of policy.ย  I will not prejudge his intention that should be left for Mr. Arthur, he willย  oblige no doubt in his own time and naturally when he deems it most advantageous to do so.

There is no reason to overstate the obvious but the clever use of words for immediate effect and to connect with the audience and the wider public is most revealing.

I am here

I am not here, not for myself but for you, my country and the BLP it is through your urgings now demonstrated by rousing applause that “I” have the right to be here.ย  The unsaid.ย  How could I refuse this call.

There are a few problems to overcome, the first is, we can win with me or lose with you, but the rebuttal to that is “we have already lost with you.”ย  The master-stroke to that exchange will be, let the people decide.ย  The strategy is already working the “rousing” applause of the audience is in the bag, they have already decided.

I wrote sometime ago that the Government will only be defeated if they get two issues wrong:

(1) Immigration

(2) Integrity Legislation

Mention has been made of the economy but there are so many outside influences at work there,ย  it is easy for the Government to make a case which can be believed.

The problem the BLP will have is Immigration, it cannot be ignored and the Party which is able to successfully address it, will be the next Government of Barbados.ย  Astute politicians do not just get up and speak they have a strategy and that strategy takes account of how their opponents are expected to react.

One possible get out clause – I am not saying this is Mr. Arthur’s position – is to say the situation has changed since we were in office and I last addressed the problem and in this “new” dynamic, new solutions must be found.ย  That line of thought could be canvassed for a reaction from the electorate, their reaction will then determine how to proceed.

It might just work, but it could cause dissent – within – because of previous strongly expressed views against this Government’s policy.

From here on in “astute” politicians will choose their words carefully, it is for the electorate to reflect on what hasย  been said, as much as what has not been said.ย  The main players have started to crank up the tempo, there are many hidden cards yet to be played.

50 responses to “Has The Barbados General Election Campaign Started? A Master Tactician At Work”

1. It is dangerous to underestimate any political opponent, but BU seems to be intimidated by a leader whose time has passed. I am reminded of middle-class Grenadians still shaking in their boots at the political moves of Eric Gairy, years after he lost his magic with the masses.

There will be no about-face for the BLP on Immigration, because the party’s leadership and identity are a creature of the metropolitan, regional, and elite-minority interests for which there is no economic, political or diplomatic alternative to the OneCaribbean policy that is so disastrous for ordinary Bajans. The DLP has only to avoid being co-opted by these elites to assure itself two or even three terms in office.

2. “A Master Tactician At Work”

Don’t be so dramatic. This is an old washed up politician who is out to pasture. The BLP has never been known to go back to the scrap heap looking for a leader.

This is the equivalent of the man who told the Israelites ” I will lead you back to the Land of Egypt”.

Barbadians are not that stupid. We can see that he is making a bold grab for power.

This is all about personal Power.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sorry about posting under “Anonymous” DAVID.

4. It is early days yet but … have the Government “got” the immigration issue right? Other than the words and promises to uphold the law etc, things on the ground seem to be the same. In fact hasn’t the present Government expanded the category of persons eligible for free movement to include domestics?

5. Are you guys ignoring the recent CADRES poll which places Arthur ahead of Mottley in national popularity?

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Find out how Owen Arthur is going to reverse this:-

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/article-1212013/Revealed-The-ghost-fleet-recession.html

7. Don’t let Owen scare you Mia, dem old cocks do not want a woman to be Prime Minister of this island. All I gine tell yah girl is watch yah back and don’t trust none a dem.

8. Yardie, u song like u missing Arhur – r u?!! They say that some individuals injoy pain and complain when it’s removed? R u one such person who longs fuh d ole days?!! Why not jes enjoy the current siesta of d new govt. – they’ve only been in place for a few months. R u longing again fuh pain?!! – anyway, can Arthur win from the back (being in the background)?!!

Yard, I’ve a simple solution!! Why don’t YOU, yourself, run for power. U know ur dying to!! Go on, Yardie, run fuh power, Yardie!!

Yardie for PM!!

I would vote for you, Mr Yardbroom!! ๐Ÿ™‚

9. Bimbro
    A Blog in order to be the “people’s Blog” has to share a range of views across the political and societal spectrums.

It is then in tune with the Nation it purports to represent; because it demonstrates by its actions, it is fair and honest.

“Honesty” is a prize that many media houses seek; but only a few are able to achieve.

10. Does that mean that u WILL run, Yardie?!! I’m ready to vote for u!! ๐Ÿ™‚

11. I see that the intricacies of politics have not escaped the writer, who realises that the unofficial election campaign has started.

Cadogan above said has-been?

Surprise for you then, sir. The writer misses a couple of things, the things that Bajans love the most. How Government policies affect them and their pockets. Increased energy cost, road and land taxes? How about all the additional money spent on the highway even with reduced specifications?

The election platforms will be vibrant and with two equally matched parties. No one will be able to predict the result.

12. Danjuma wrote “There will be no about-face for the BLP on Immigration, because the partyโ€™s leadership and identity are a creature of the metropolitan, regional, and elite-minority interests for which there is no economic, political or diplomatic alternative to the OneCaribbean policy that is so disastrous for ordinary Bajans”

Since I am an ordinary Bajan who did not go too far in school could someone please translate this into English for me.

13. It is interesting to observe how members of the present choir are willing to ignore the cost of living as a factor in the next election.

The DLP on winning the election flagged this issue as a priority, since then they have done precious little to address it.

The PM’s latest plea to merchants (reduce prices or we will…) shows where the plight of ordinary consumers are on his “things to do list”.

Like Superdocious said above, ease my pocket and I am more likely to ease you when the time comes.

The DLP choir can believe that OSA is not a threat, but despite his public mouthing, I doubt the choirmaster holds the same view.

14. Some of the DLP MPS are heading for one term because they fell into the old trap. They became arrogant and are not listening to their constituents who they were begging for votes just the other day.
    All persons may not get a job but politicians must go and visit their constituencies and listen to the people. They must also remember that not all persons are Bs or Ds. These are the persons who will vote them out.

15. Watching and Waiting Avatar
    Watching and Waiting

I read of Owen Arthur’s plans with great interest. He says he wants to “save Barbados”. My God, who does Owen Arthur think he is? Does he see himself as some modern day messiah? Come on, man, don’t insult our intelligence. This man looks so shaky that it seems to me he is more in need of saving than Barbados. A strong wind might easily blow him away. Arthur has had his time but he seems a power hungry creature. Does he believe Barbados cannot survive without him? We saw what happened to John Compton who wanted to save St Lucia. It is time for Arthur to be told that his time is ended. If he wants to play a role, take an active role in the business of Parliament where he is almost silent. Behave like a stateman.

16. P.M.Thompson MUST make two serious masterstrokes (1) Come down hard on the illegal immigrants and set his immigration policy immediately, (2) do wantever is necessary to reduce the cost of living, mainly on foodstuff and gas ( petrol, diesil, and LPG). Once he can take control of these two areas, he will be like Ryan, out front. There are a number of other things that would place him like Bolt but it will take time and strategy. Arthur is still a dangerous competitor and once given a space, he would squeeze through it.

17. Cost of Living WILL definitely be an issue in the next general election. It was an election promise by the then opposition which resonated with Barbadians at a time, when it was felt merchants were engaging in price gouging; it is still perceived to be the case. Affordability of food will always rank high. After all it is one of the basic needs of man according to the economist.

On a related note, we read and listened with interest the results of some recent analysis by two UWI intellectuals who in many ways absolved merchants as the cause of high prices. This position conflicts with that of the government who believes merchants should sacrifice more of their markups at this time. We are a little surprise that the analysis did not factor the known practice by merchants to purchase goods in the USA through companies owned by them and forward to Barbados. The opportunity exists in that scenario to fix the price before export. We read with interest recently Bynoe, owner of Emerald City Supermarket and Carlton announcing to the press he had incurred losses of up to $750,000 in shoplifting. We were more than alarm that a company could sustain such high losses and still remain afloat; it must speak volumes for the mark-up.

Against this background the suggestion of government to setup a state-enterprise to provide competition in the market, similar to the model Obama has unveiled in the USA to reduce the cost of drugs in the USA. While the merchants will cry loud about job losses this maybe a case of satisfying the greater good, i.e. benefit to more even if a few jobs may have to be sacrificed.

18. Why is there nothing on this blog about the recent imf report on barbados?

19. Once PM Thomspson does every single thing Hartley Henry tells him to do and remains Hartley’s puppet, the DLP is sure to lose, just like the SLP, the UBP and the PPM all lost and these were all parties HH was the chief advisor to when they were in government.

20. DLP Supporter My Foot Avatar
    DLP Supporter My Foot

Listen, man, just because you did not get a “pick” with this Gov’t, its all sour grapes for you. You already made bold to suggest (heading of one of your Nation columns) that the DLP will be a One Term Gov’t, and now you come on here calling yourself a DLP Supporter, but bad-mouthing Hartley Henry, whom we know you hate. You would love to be a High Commissioner (perhaps to your native Guyana), but that won’t happen, sport. If you have a beef with the DLP, write to the Gen. Sec., instead of crying all over the newspapers and blogs. Ok, Mr. FDAS??

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have always maintained that the DLP is fooling around with this high cost of living issue.

If they do not do something quickly about reducing the sky high prices of everything in Barbados, they will regret it with sack cloth and ashes.

People I speak to are complaining about a number of things:-

(1) They do not see their representatives enough, except on TV. Far too many of the DLP representatives seem to have gone into hiding.
    (2) The high cost of living.

22. David wrote:

“Against this background the suggestion of government to setup a state-enterprise to provide competition in the market, similar to the model Obama has unveiled in the USA to reduce the cost of drugs in the USA.

While the merchants will cry loud about job losses this maybe a case of satisfying the greater good, i.e. benefit to more even if a few jobs may have to be sacrificed.”

Sir, the simple reality is that PM Thompson’s recent utterance/s is/are a desperate cry for to be bailed-out.

Prices will not come down, still the DLP government has no money to do anything.

Setting up such an entity will require government to spend money on space, utilities, other storage, salary and wages, transport and stock.

In circumstances where Barbados under DLP rule – is in poverty and cannot even pay public servants monthy, where will it get the money from to set up such an entity? Is it not true that the DLP has ordered budget cuts?

THE DLP SIMPLY DOES NOT HAVE THE MONEY. The PM is merely seeking a bailout. In the same way that he says the problems in the economy are caused by global factors, so too prices in the supermarket, except that the DLP wants Barbadians to believe that the high cost of living mean, high food prices.

Let’s talk about what cost of living really means and see if you can provide evidence that the DLP is not doing most to increase the cost of living in Barbados.

23. “This man looks so shaky that it seems to me he is more in need of saving than Barbados. A strong wind might easily blow him away.”

W&W, Is that supposed to be a serious point ur making in a serious discussion?!! R we judging a Mr World contest or discussing the future of Bim! I did n’t realise u had to be in ur twenties with bulging biceps tuh be PM uh Bim, or anywhere!!

Steupse!!

24. @Yardbroom

There are certain debates that I don’t get into because I think that partisan politics is folly. It detracts from the task at hand and does not allow efficient use of intellectual resources for the national good.

However, Bajans are feeling it more in the pocket and from that point of view cost of living should be a main issue in the next elections. Consequently, I will also agree that any government which can find a solution that would give back spending power is the one the electorate will go for.

I heard Obama saying no to the bonus culture, but that will bring hardship and only serve to stockpile wealth in the hands of a few. I am not sure what the PM really means by the fatted calf but he has to be careful that one morning he don’t wake up and find that the fatted calf is now an old cow.

25. @ ROK
    I never said that the cost of living will not play “a part” in the next general election. As I recall, what I inferred was that many variables impact on the cost of living, and due to the present world economic climate, it is possible for a Government to advance views, which could be believed without admitting incompetence or being seen as incompetent.

I hold no brief for either party – although I did support the DLP in the last election.

One does not have to support a particular party, to analyse the machinations which are important components of political life and debate in a democratic country…I am sure you would understand such an exposition.

26. @YB
    “I never said that the cost of living will not play “a part” in the next general election.”

Very sorry! I never meant to infer that you did not say it. I was actually agreeing with you… but I was linking what you said to the notion of the fatted calf and wondering if the bonus culture to which Obama referred was the same concept of the fatted calf.

Obama may be saying that the calf needs fattening again while our fatted calf in still tethered in the field and getting old. LOL!

27. @ ROK
    The “fatted calf” has specific connotations when used in Barbadian speak. With regard to Obama I think it is different in that the rewards might be “legitimate” but tinged with naked greed. I am not quite sure the same connotations could be applied to the Barbados version of the “fatted calf”…I could be wrong, it is a matter of perception.

However, I never take much notice of this “fatted calf” idea.

28. Owen Arthur….is like an old box of stale MILK !

He can only find support amongst the BLP thieves he helped while he was PM…!

If he ever come out from the rock…..where he was dumped on Jan 15th 2008….we the DEMS gine expose more of his rape of the Barbados treasury….!

The cheque that was displayed in Haggatt Hall…..was only the icebreaker !

As PM Thompson told him a few weeks ago…..” I dare Owen Arthur to come back ”

The ball is in Owen’s court !!!

29. @2009

Your comment is worrying. If you have information should you not make it public if it is factual? What you are threatening to do is the same thing which the former government did to Senator Branford Taitt with the St. Joseph Hospital report.

30. It is time some of these bloggers mature, like ROK, I support the DLP but Mr Thompson made some fondlemental mistakes in his quess to gain the government. Everyone knew that the woirld was heading for a recession plus there was never a party in Barbados that was given a fourth term and to add insult to injury, Arthur was at his worst. Mr Thompson did not have to offer so much to the electorate, they were going to vote DLP anyhow. Therefore these goodies that he could not give is now coming back to haunt him but bajans are intelligent people and unless he really screws up, the DLP would get another term. The problem there is that some coathangers will be dropped and this would strenghen the BLP for the following elections, by then Arthur would be too old. What is interesting is that Arthur can no longer ignore St.Peter next elections because Bend is blowing down his neck right now and this would work in the DLP favor.

31. David,

Re: your comment above. You would have expressed the same concern…..before the Haggatt Hall meeting…!

But WE produced the EVIDENCE….the CHEQUE….!

But please recall….on the floor of the Barbados Parliament when confronted by David Thompson about a CHEQUE….Owen Arthur sweated !

Owen Arthur since then has little inclination to visit the Parliament of Barbados !

That is FACTUAL…..and Owen Arthur knows why ??

Owen Arthur knows….what FACTUAL information is around and he knows….WHO has it and WHEN it will likely be USED….!

A notice….is ALWAYS given to Owen Arthur before WE…..deliver the EVIDENCE !

That is WHY……he ran from the CBC DEBATE in Jan 2008 !

So David….you do not WORRY….!!!

32. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. Mr. SeeTru, you corrupt enuff. Now go n sin no moe.
    ‘I’ll drink to dat’ (hiccuuppppppppp)

U stale-drunk? Um look sa.

Tummuch steel in day.

33. Yardie, admit it, ‘you’ve got a soft-spot for Arthur, ent yuh?!!’

34. That is a THOMPSON old trick being used by 2009 (Hartley Henry),

Thompson always uses this strategy of threats to reveal something that would be earth shattering.

Dont mind Thompson and his foolishness. Mention Leroy Parris and Thompson gwine back -back.

Mention a certain word and see how some people in Barbados react.

As the story is told : Thompson has always admired Tom Adams and the strategy used by Tom to flash certain checks (cheques) during that famous revelation. This impressed him as a youth and ThOMp -son has always sought to emulate TOM.

35. @ 2009

Why not also tell the public about your own party’s misdeeds. Like Minister Sinckler (through Gordon Bispham the UDC Chairman), awarding a contract without drawings, costs, tenders or town planning approval to his brother?

36. Bimbro
    Despite inducement or provocation I will always dance to my “own tune” but you must be given five stars (*****) for perseverance.

37. Ok Yard, but I’m still prepared to vote fuh yuh!!

38. why is it that no one is concerned about the clico affair these days?

39. What about the IMF Article 4 Consultation. Please enlighten the readers of the details anyone who has that information.

40. layman

Here is the web site address for the imf report.

http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/scr/2009/cr09291.pdf

41. Opposition Leader faces the same tactics which former Prime Ministers who have been ejected from office take delight in engaging. They will take a break to do the activities which holding high office would have denied them and then as election time draws close they will reenter the ling.

In Arthur Mia faces a formidable opponent who is full of political guile and retains a healthy national popularity. We suspect the political battlefield will come alive with strategy as we move forward. We should not trivialize the impact the tactics from the government side will assist or deny Motley or Arthur in their quest for party supremacy when that time comes.

The x factor of course is the global economy and how it behaves.

42. Where’s Chris?? Chris, we’re missing u!! Please hurry and return!!

Your friend,
    Bimbro!!

43. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Yet again we see in today’s Advocate the result of Owen A rthur’s political interference in every institution in this country with the disastrous consequences following.

In the court pages in today’s advocate we see another case of faulty work being done by judge Elneth Kentish who was one of those handpicked by owen arthur – along with jackie cornelieus,randall worrell,marie mccormack(mrs david simmons),chris blackman and the lot.

In that case andrew pilgrim,the defendant’s lawyer is arguing that the judge erred big time in her summation ignoring to present to the jury key pieces of evidence which would have been helpful to the defendant.

Can we have confidence in these party friends and family and associates that owen put on the benches as judges?

Every where you look owen arthur placed square pegs in round holes and we see the result e.g. as at the Urban Commission that even though the blp know what they dis was wrong they and their people like dennis clarke fighting like hell to stick their finger in the public’s face .

The chickens have come home to roost my friends.

Every day we are seeing it: NHC land being sold to a private person,the ABC highway flyover project,the warrens towers/Barrack Construction fiasco,the complaints from the Auditor General – and yet everything is going on as normal.

Only bout here boasie.

44. I said it well over a year ago, I knew how it would be played out: “A Master Tactician At Work.”

45. Given all that has been said Mia does appear to be empathetic to challenges to her leadership.

46. @ David
    Elections are determined by the number of votes cast; that is the criterion that decides the outcome – in the Party or with the General Electorate.

On September 15, 2009 I wrote in reference to Mr.Arthur’s speech on 9-14-2009. I interpreted his speech as meaning:

I am here, not for myself but for you, my country and the BLP it is through your urgings now demonstrated by rousing applause that “I” have the right to be here. The unsaid. How could I refuse the call.

I thought at the time his speech was a tactical manoeuvre, through clever use of words and phrases. It was a master class of tactics, and was there for all those who wanted to “see” it, for what it was.

47. @Yardbroom

We shall know before the day is cast.

48. […] of local politics Opposition Leader Owen Arthur stands head and shoulders above the rest as the master tactician. The fracture which runs deep in the relationship between Arthur and Mia Mottley achieved by […]

49. The 21-year-old joined the Bundesliga surprise package at the beginning of this season from second division Stuttgart for ้”Ÿ?million.

50. EPA5Schweinsteiger and his wife Ana Ivanovic could be heading for the USPA:Press Association5Schwein.