WIPA CEO and President Dinanath Ramnarine, Caricom Chairman Bharat Jagdeo and CEO WIBC Julian Hunte
WIPA CEO and President Dinanath Ramnarine, Caricom Chairman Bharat Jagdeo and CEO WICB Julian Hunte

Fortunately or unfortunately, a member of BU witnessed the Peopleโ€™s Business Show aired on CBC TV on Sunday night (13 September 2009). The show featured Donna Symmonds, WIPAโ€™s legal adviser; Conde Riley, the former WICB Director who recently resigned in controversial manner and sports journalist Keith Holder.ย  The program was hosted by CBC journalist Andi Thornhill.

If Barbadians were not aware of the reason why the current impasse in West Indies cricket has not yet been solved, it became very clear after viewing the TV program. We are tempted to use the analogy of the thriller in Manila boxing match. On second thoughts, it wouldnโ€™t be appropriate to do so because there was a winner and loser on that night when the world witnessed one of the most existing boxing matches in history. On the Peopleโ€™s Business TV Show, Conde Riley representing the views of WICB, and Donna Symmonds those of WIPA, jabbed and punched themselves on the many issues, known and unknown to the public until they were blue in the face.ย  When the program was finished both were still standing.ย  It is clear this issue has mushroomed to a battle of wills between WICB and WIPA.

The impasse which has arisen in West Indies cricket has now escalated to a level where the current actors from WICB and the WIPA should be replaced immediately. All goodwill has long disappeared. Even if the recent rescue plan announced by CARICOM governments were to clear the way for the re-entry of the striking players, it is apparent to all that too much blood has been shed for the current actors to salvage any measure of trust to build the necessary cohesion which is required to move West Indies cricket forward. Sports, cricket included is now seen as a business. In the West Indies we continue to operate as if the world has stood still regarding sports management.

If one were to judge from the call-in shows, man on the street, rum shop or attendance at cricket matches, West Indian fans have turn their backs on the game cricket. It is a game which West Indies were thought by the colonialย  masters and one which they mastered to become world champions. Ironically, some may say it is the dominance of the West Indies in world cricket under Clive Lloyd and Sir Vivian Richards which may have led to the place where our cricket finds itself.

Many Caricom countries who could not afford it invested millions of dollars in stadia and infrastructure to host CWC2007. The decision obviously reflected their commitment to the game. The regionalist argue that cricket and the UWI are the institutions which keep the notion of regional integration alive. If cricket fails, Ramphall, Patterson, Arthur, Sir Hilary et alย  will feel a since of failure given the rupture which will occur to their legacies. Commonsense clearly shows that the current archaic management structure represented by the WICB is woefully inadequate to effectively direct cricket. The fact that WIPA has been able to organize itself to a point where it is well ahead of the WICB in the tactics of negotiating is proof of WICBโ€™s short comings.

The matter has become so complicated it is difficult for us on the outside to offer any realistic suggestions. What is clear given what we saw tonight on the CBC Show, the two sides are miles apart. The Caricom intervention is likely a bandage solution which prompts the question โ€“ What does the future hold for West Indies cricket?

91 responses to “What Does The Future Hold For West Indies Cricket?”

1. @David
    “Commonsense clearly shows that the current archaic management structure represented by the WIBC is woefully inadequate to effectively direct cricket.”

Herein lies the source of the problem. When the WIBC was a bunch of white men dictating to cricket, it was commonplace to accept their decisions.

As we move further and further from colonial (white) domination the only solution is to democratise the process, otherwise we leave room for the rise of little dictators and manipulators which is highly unacceptable and will not be tolerated.

We are not hanging on to WI cricket but to the last vestige of colonialism.

2. ROK is as illogical as always

He writes ………..When the WIBC was a bunch of white men dictating to cricket, it was commonplace to accept their decisions.

So why when black people are in charge it cant be commonplace to accept their decisions too? Eh?

How did white men and black men get into the issue? Why is all problems a matter of black men and white men?

He continues
    As we move further and further from colonial (white) domination the only solution is to democratise the process, otherwise we leave room for the rise of little dictators and manipulators which is highly unacceptable and will not be tolerated. We are not hanging on to WI cricket but to the last vestige of colonialism.

The major problem with WI cricket is that we are not producing players of the standard we once did.

True the management of the WICBC is poor, but there is no longer the passion for cricket as there was once. Our young men have more games to play and many more issues to pursue than the discipline of cricket, which takes a lot of time.

If we wewre holding on to the last vestige of colonialisation we would be playing good cricket as we wre when we were colonies. Cricket was one of the major disciplines used by the British colonists in addition to the college and the church (Anglican).

3. Rok

Herein lies the source of the problem. When the WIBC was a bunch of white men dictating to cricket, it was commonplace to accept their decisions
    As usual you see everything thorough a prism of of your own making, I think there is some agreement between you and David for you to interject colour in every discussion to provoke arguments.

Guess what! All the professional sports leagues in North America have been hit by strike or labour unrest by the players. The Baseball, Football, Basketball and Hockey players have been on strike and they make far more money than the WI cricketers. During an interview with the current NFL Commissioner tonight it was revealed that the Players Association had advised the players to put aside 25% of their earnings this season to fund their living expenses during a possible lock out by the owners.

The difference between the leagues in North America and the WI is that somehow they manage to find a solution to their problems they compromise to settle their differences and the game goes on. In the WI someone must be seen as a winner or loser and no one wants to be seen as โ€œlosing faceโ€ so the game suffers.

I donโ€™t blame you though I blame the politicians, even in the case of a supposedly literate population the politicians still try to fool the populace by using colour to cover their transgressions. Both Noel Lynch and Clyde Mascoll used colour to defuse embarrassing blots on their record ( Lynch when asked about wealth on VOB) and when Clyde Mascoll was beset by the Hardwood crisis he said he was only trying to help โ€œa poor black manโ€ When all else fails blame colour, which proves that you can fool some of the people all the time.

4. @Sarge

I can accept what you say about colour to a certain degree, except that colour in this case is a detractor to the argument but explains why it was in the state it was in before as apposed to present day.

However the basis of my argument is in the democratisation of the management structure and operations. Not many players will take being dictated to as apposed to a structure based on merit, that is transparent and based on stakeholder inputs.

5. @David

All these people that blogging as anonymous, you don’t know who you are talking to; if it is the same person or not. Can something be done to generate a handle based on e-mail addresses of these anonymous persons?

I think that I will not be responding to any more anonymice.

6. In my view there’s no future because, these days, even the Indians and S.Africans eat nutritionally and the one or two greats of WI cricket are no longer around to pose a credible threat.

7. The problems we have in West Indies cricket are multi-faceted, but at the core, individual needs are placed “high” above collective responsibility. Rome burns as individuals engage in:

Black belly sheep politics: Low to the ground, lots of bleating but no substance therein.

Some have used the present impasse to gain advantage in their own agenda. The involvement of others have magnified the problem not aided its solution.

The old adage:…”ask not what your country can do for you-ask what you can do for your country”.. ( John F.Kennedy) seems timely.

Other test playing countries have problems, they are solved and they move on. Alas we have problems, we move on but take the problems with us.

8. Yes, Yardbroom, true but what about their diet!! Dat’s important too!! ๐Ÿ™‚

9. What West Indies Cricket what?!

10. Bimbro // September 14, 2009 at 6:06 AM

Yes, Yardbroom, true but what about their diet!! Datโ€™s important too!! ๐Ÿ™‚

True dat, the whole Board needs a strong treatment with laxatives!

And while you’re at it, dat Dnarine fellow too!!!

11. Color is irrelevant. Sir Frank Worrell et al had the respect of everyone. These bunch of jokers do not.

Little men playing big. That is the problem!

12. Does anyone know Conde Riley?

From all reports he seemed to have been herded out from giving his story because of the program format.

BU is available to facilitate his story. WIPA has been doing a better job by leaking stories to CaribbeanCricket.com.

13. @Doffie

Don’t tell me that colour is irrelevant. We actually behaved because of colour. Now we struggling to come to grips with ourselves our cricketers are “little men playing big”? I don’t accept that at all.

There are somethings that must be put in perspective. We cannot continue to see our behaviour as unexplainable and bizarre. There must be an explanation and I think it is mostly psychological.

It is a fact that in the past others made our decisions for us and now we have to make our decisions ourselves. We are doing nothing more than going through the dynamics in order to fill the void left by colonial (white) domination.

If we do not face up to our past, we will end up calling ourselves madmen because behaviour will seem irrational and it is not. To every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. There are no time limits to action or reaction.

Furthermore, any action we take today or any reaction to anything can only be based on the experience of the past. It certainly cannot be based on experience from the future. So deny that the present is always based on the past. The Pope behaves as he does because of the past. Racism is still with us because of the past.

Why is it so hard to accept the past? Is it even debatable? Goddards is a large business now because of what their grandfather or great grandfather did. So is RL Seale. Why then are we made to feel that we can go forward without looking at the past. What would we be other than a rudderless ship and in truth and in fact, because of this propaganda and the myth that we should leave our past behind, we are indeed a rudderless ship. Not unlike WI Cricket.

14. @Doffie

“little men playing big”

Doffie, you realise how loaded that statement is though? “Little men”? “big men”? Why little and big? Who are the big men? For sure you done got us labelled as little men. So you dwelling on the past too but in a more subtle way. I wrong?

15. Laaaaaaaadddddddddd!! Doffie!!
    Tanks fuh my biggest laf, yet, today!! We doan usually get nun pun dese boards, ‘cep mine, so thanks a lot, mate!!

The rest, I’ve got to leave to them man! I caan really b bothered nuh mo!!

16. David
    On the contrary, the program I saw last night, Thonhill allowed Riley to do most of the talking. Even when Donna was responding to remarks he made, Riley was crossing her and trying to shout above what she was saying, while when he was given the floor, all Donna was doing is shacking her head when he said something she diodn’t agree with. i think it was poor moderating by Thornhill.

17. ROK // September 14, 2009 at 7:40 AM

@Doffie

โ€œlittle men playing bigโ€

Doffie, you realise how loaded that statement is though? โ€œLittle menโ€? โ€œbig menโ€? Why little and big? Who are the big men? For sure you done got us labelled as little men. So you dwelling on the past too but in a more subtle way. I wrong?

Check the big men in the link below …. not only on the field, but off!!

Look how different they appear in build to our players …… and men of today.

Maybe it is something in the water …… or diet.

18. Which one of these big men do you think had a “vulnerable psyche”?

19. The WICB appears to still operate on this dictatorial system;”sign this contract or else” attitude. This cannot be accepted in this age, plus these modern cricketers must remember the wrongs that the WICB did to their predecessors. It seems the WICB accepts no blame for anything, the fiasco at the Sir Vivian Richards Statium right in the WICB’s backyard, until this day the public have not been informed about any investigation into the embarrassment. Then the cricketers were asked to defend the Wisden Trophy only hours after winning it after many years. There were many things wrong there, never before was a team asked to defend a trophy in just a matter of weeks, Sri Lanka was to have toured England and they refused but WICB accepted to replace them without discussing it with their payers body, plus it seems according to Mr Peters, that they were plaaying for the Wisden Trophy that the W.I had just fought tooth and nail to regain. It was reported by trhe players that they dropped that many catches because the weather was VERY cold and they fingers were numb. Then The WICB fired Dyson because he did not sign a contract that was addressed to Bennett. How more rediculous can the WICB get, yet they are talking about PUNISHING players. I say fire the whole bunch of them and start afresh NEW board, ALL players back in the fray and fighting for their play and also a properly constituted players union. The region has invested too much money in cricket facilities to allow these jokers to ruin it.

20. He continues
    As we move further and further from colonial (white) domination the only solution is to democratise the process, otherwise we leave room for the rise of little dictators and manipulators which is highly unacceptable and will not be tolerated. We are not hanging on to WI cricket but to the last vestige of colonialism.

written by ROK
    disputed by Annonnymous

I am agreement with ROK.

ROK is correct and not only is he correct in respect of cricket but the same can also be said in respect of the wider society , the civil service and the various institutions in Barbados.

One thing though, Black people talk too much-

ACTION is missing;
    probably because of a lack of confidence engendered by the same colonial shituation.

21. Since the intervention of the Caricom leaders, it must be noted that only the WIPA has accepted the decision and recommendation of Caricom. Not a word have been made by WICB officially, only Mr Singh of Guyana has said that Caricom cannot dictate the position for WICB.

22. ROK // September 13, 2009 at 11:41 PM
    All these people that blogging as anonymous, you donโ€™t know who you are talking to; if it is the same person or not. Can something be done to generate a handle based on e-mail addresses of these anonymous persons?
    I think that I will not be responding to any more anonymice.

Hear ROK again.
    When his moronic mouthings are destroyed he seeks to CONTROL everything as usual.
    Will he now seek that all posts by โ€œanonymiceโ€ be FORCIBLY removed from BU?

Except for a few persons on BU, everyone posts anonymously. Who is J, Bush Tea, Yardbroom, The Scout Hopi etc. No one knows.

I donโ€™t know who I am talking to when J, Bush Tea, Yardbroom, The Scout Hopi, Pat , JC Bonny Peppa , Bimbro etc post . Who does? Did the mighty Rok know who they are when they posted to say how smart and formidable he is, and lick his assssssssssssss? Did he care? But when an โ€œanonymiceโ€ declares that he is talking shyyyttttee, his feathers are ruffled. ROFLMAO
    Why must Mr ROK seek to control the MESSENGERS, instead of dealing with their messages?

Would a sound or reasonable argument by J, Bush Tea, Yardbroom, The Scout Hopi etc. be less sound or true or worthy of consideration than one made by โ€œanonymice?โ€

Yardbroom is as anonymous as any one else on BU but his post of // September 14, 2009 at 4:11 AM speaks volumes and without appealing to race, he has injected some logic and common sense and facts into the discussion.

If you want to really bring race into WI cricket, I would think that the white people could easily say โ€œwhen we were in charge of Barbados cricket, Barbados cricket was better run. Barbados was always strong and West Indies was strong.โ€ Could such an argument be refuted?

But would that be the correct conclusion, even though statistics and results tend to indicate such?

The truth is that the problem with WI cricket is multifaceted, and has VERY LITTLE to do with either RACE OR COLONIALISATION. Cricket is generally speaking by peoples in the colonies, or to be more accurate, where there are settlements of people who took the game with them from the colony from whence they originated or came.

The โ€œcelebratedโ€ Rok then tackles Doffie,

โ€œyou realise how loaded that statement is though? โ€œLittle menโ€? โ€œbig menโ€? Why little and big? Who are the big men? For sure you done got us labelled as little men. So you dwelling on the past too but in a more subtle way. I wrong?โ€

Little men vs big men = black men vs white men, as far as ROK is concerned

In contrast to ROkโ€™s pithle, the comments by the The Scout are more germane and cogent (though lacking in racial or colonial overtones.)

Davidโ€™s call in asking for Conde Riley to give his story on BU is a worthy and acceptable suggestion.

23. West Indies cricket is a product of colonialism.

All of the territories were administerd from one source, the same source that introduced cricket in the first place.

Collectively they were called the British West Indies, …. West Indies for short.

No one was forced to play the game, no one was forced to come together and form a team ….. they did because they were all of like mind.

Today we are not all of like mind.

We are divided and the divisions are clear for all to see.

The question is really whether it is worth investing time and money in West Indies Cricket?

The incessant squabbles and differences will go away if that question is answered honestly … either way…… and decisive action is taken to implement the answer.

Colour has nothing to do with the situation.

24. In his post of September 14, 2009 at 7:34 AM ROK pretends to be a psychologist which he is certainly not!

He certainly demonstrates that he has NO knowledge of psychology by the garbage he has strewn on the BU pages.

He bursts out with โ€œWe actually behaved because of colour.โ€

Wonder if he can find any acceptable โ€œpeer reviewed researchโ€ to support this bull shit.

I find it vey amusing that he thinks that our well paid but extremely poor cricketers are examples of a people โ€œstruggling to come to grips with ourselves.โ€ Here are a set of largely semi literate little boys who play poor cricket most of the time, led by Ramnarine trying to show that they are indispensable, because they know that the West Indian people are emotional about their cricket.

A good case can indeed be made out that they are indeed โ€œlittle men playing bigโ€โ€ฆ.And this has nothing in this world to do with color, because the cricketers who withdrew their services were of ALL colours!

So one wonders if they were behaving because of colour, why the white Jamaican boy didnโ€™t play?

Rok, the mock psychologists pontificates โ€œThere are somethings that must be put in perspective. We cannot continue to see our behaviour as unexplainable and bizarre. There must be an explanation and I think it is mostly psychological.โ€

Everytime that behavior cannot be explained according to POPE ROK โ€œit is mostly psychologicalโ€ and probably related to oneโ€™s color.

He argues through his rectal area that โ€œnow we have to make our decisions ourselves. We are doing nothing more than going through the dynamics in order to fill the void left by colonial (white) domination.โ€

That such bull shit and ignorance issues forth from a man in a leadership position in Barbados demonstrates the state of the Nation.

Here is a man with serious psychological problems indeed!

He goes on further with his irrational illogical emotional rant โ€œ If we do not face up to our past, we will end up calling ourselves madmen because behaviour will seem irrational and it is not. To every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. There are no time limits to action or reaction. Furthermore, any action we take today or any reaction to anything can only be based on the experience of the past. It certainly cannot be based on experience from the future. So deny that the present is always based on the past.โ€

In other words KEEP DWEELING ON THE PAST. BE SLAVES TO YOUR PAST. LET THE PAST WHICH YOU PROBABLY DID NOT EXPERIENCE CONTROL YOUR THOUGHTS AND ACTIONS.

Rok is totally not cognizant of the fact that MUCH OF HUMAN ENDEAVOR AND ACTIVITY LOOKS FORWARD TO THE FUTURE. That is why folk go to school and college and study. That is why manufacturing magnates have PLANNING DEPARTMENTS. That is why places like say Disney have IMAGINEEERS. That is why many building designs and modes of transport that existed once in the minds of science fiction writers and comic writers fifty or more years ago , exist to day. Men fly into space routinely today, and we walk through doors that are opened automatically, because men with progressive minds LOOKED TO THE FUTURE AND NOT THE PAST.

The Goddards and RL Seale are large business now, not only because their founders worked hard in the past, BUT ALSO because THEY LOOKED TO THE FUTURE IN THEIR PLANNING. Granted they may be other factors like support from blacks and the banks.

The present is as much a function of the FUTURE as THE PAST!

Why must we think that we CAN NOT go forward without looking at the past. Why not look forward. If we focus ONLY on the past, we will indeed be rudderless ships………and ROK-like in our thinking!

25. Back then, cricket was as our religion, next to christ which it no longer is!!

26. Whilst it is relatively true that certain institutions should be flexible and permit democratic participation in the governing processes of the organisation, it is my contention here that both sides, and I especially think WIPA have a lot to answer for.
    Far too long, the WICB has allowed mediocrity to be the benchmark for West Indian players. When you have five or six players that average under 40 then something is fundamentally wrong. WICB I think should be ashamed of fielding a mediocre team.
    These players have not been playing well consistently (except Chanderpaul). I would rather see what some people call “the second rate team” play cricket than to watch the Board be held to ranson by a bunch of rookies.

27. Unugly
    Sentiment don’t please cricket, you have to realise that the WICB has to account to the ICC and are mandated to supply the BEST team. What the WICB would have to do is remove the W.I team from the ICC itinerary and pay the penalties. This would also mean that the W.I would not be given any tournaments and that will be disasterous for the region.

28. Forgive me Scout…I did not take that into consideration. Yet I am not impressed by those who think that Gayle et al. are the BEST team possible. We have given them a shot and they have been “found wanting”. Give others a chance.

29. I will only say this. The transfer of West Indian Cricket from White control to black has not been accepted by some, and it has been made easy to mask this real disapproval with the ligitmate concern for the failings of our cricket culture.

A number of things has occured to cause this. James Husbands talk about the willingness of blacks to work for whites and not for other Blacks. This cannot be denied and I believe is evident in West Indies cricket.

Many of us have discussed the attitudes of Black managers and other Blacks in leadership roles. Often times the opinion of such persons have ranged from lack of people skills, lack of conflict resolution skills, an overly punitive approach to management etc. This also is evident in West Indies cricket.

I believe that WIBC has sense an intent for them to be done away with and that whatever emerges will see blacks taking a back seat to it’s management. Who will filled the viod? WIPA is getting a lot of positive press and who makes up WIPA managment?

30. @ ROK

You stated, quote……”When the WIBC was a bunch of white men dictating to cricket, it was commonplace to accept their decisions.”

I ask………….But ROK, how many eons ago was this? You seem to forget that since that time, as you claim, the West Indies took the same “white man” game mastered it and was able to teach these same colonialists how to play better cricket for something like 20 or so years!

So why you still all back there in the past?

I thought by now you woulda collect a piece a wuh COW, Goddard and de res’ got and pass cross hey by me is Sin’ George and leff some fuh me too!

31. Well I don’t know anything about cricket, but what I want to know is why the Leader of Guyana has that look on his face of a man in pain.

ROK, the annoymous people are Guyanese, and as such suffer from paranoria, they frighten you know, for they could be caught blogging, the Guyana Government frowns upon this sort of thing, you know they closed down the best blog in all Guyana last year, and if those were bloggers were caught they would be severely punished by Mr. Green the Police Commissioner.

32. Another racist jackass who clearly knows very little about WI cricket brays.

โ€œThe transfer of West Indian Cricket from White control to black has not been accepted by some, and it has been made easy to mask this real disapproval with the ligitmate concern for the failings of our cricket culture. โ€œ

The following questions should be asked.
    1- How was control of West Indian Cricket transferred from whites to blacks? And when? Is that the real cause of the decline of WI cricket?
    2- How many whites play cricket today โ€“say in Barbados?
    3- The whites have given up cricket in Barbadosโ€ฆperiod. There are no longer all white cricket clubs in Bim. How many whites still belong to the BCA or attend regional or even test cricket?
    4- On what basis can it be said that โ€œThe transfer of West Indian Cricket from White control to black has not been accepted by some, and it has been made easy to mask this real disapproval with the ligitmate concern for the failings of our cricket culture.?โ€™
    5- At the time of WI cricket supremacy who was in charge of West Indies or Barbados cricket? Blacks or whites? Were the captains blacks or whites? How many whites played for the WI between 1976 and 1995? How many managers of the team were white?
    6 How many whites have represented Barbados or the West Indies in cricket since 1960?
    7- Is it not true that one of our revered captains practiced racism aganst his own countryman when he picked the non white Deryk Murray over the white but better wicket keeper David Allan?
    8 Is it not true that the same revered captain asked to see photos of Peter Lashley without his cap, when he was shown his picture when Lashley was chosen for the tour of Australia in 1961?

One of the factors that made WI great in their time of superior strength included the fact that most of the top players were professionals who played English County cricket.

How many truly professional cricketers do we have today? How many even get a chance to play in the English leagues as in days of yore.

Cricket was in the past played to a LARGE extent by men with some education, or men with superior talent.

West Indian players knocked at the door for years before being selected. After being selected, the stars shone in regional matches in which they played. Go check the records from the past, and check the records of this years regional tournament, and see the returns of the players.

We now have a WI captain with an average of less than 12 in tests.

They are idiots representing the WI today who could not get into any of the three school teams that played in the local first division competition in the 60โ€™s or early seventies. Nor could they dream of representing Spartan or Empire, far less Bim.

Surely before folk spew shhhhhhhhhhhyyyyyyyyyyyte on the blog they should aspire to ascertain some inkling about the facts about which they seek to speak , rather than running up like a fast bowler who has no idea at all where the stumps are!

33. Adrian Hinds
    Don’t try to make WICB look blameless, they have been doing foolishness for years. The Great Sir Gary Sobers was sidelined because he refused to go and let a doctor declare him fit to play, yet prior to that when HE and the doctor said that he was too hurt to play the same WICB begged him to play. There are a long list of great players that was treated badly by the WICB, I.E Malcom Marshall, Michael Holding, Andy Roberts, Vivian Richards, Gordan Greenidge, Desmond Haynes, Brian Lara and the list goes on. These crop of players who are no way as good as any of those guys mentioned realise that cricket is only for a short time and they can be dismissed at any moment, therefore they are safeguarding themselves from falling into the same trap as the older guys. Cricket has moved a few notches up but the WICB still believe in Control. If they could have done without those players why would they have asked Gayle to remain as captain. Only a few weeks before, the same WICB was heaping praises on Gayle for winning the series against England, while behind his back they were negotiating with the same teams for a return series in a few weeks in adverse conditions. That was demoralising.

34. Can someone please tell Sir Carl Hooper that I’m looking for him please.Been a longgggggggggg time.
    Thank wunna.

35. My suggestion is simple, disband the WICB, start a new Company to oversee the affairs of W.I cricket. Every cricketing country contribute to the financing of this company. Employ the best cricketers available and pay them a basic pay according to their ICC world ratings, that means the highest rated player would get the highest pay on a basic pay scale. Then pay them commission of performance, E.G. catches, % of runs from 50 and over, % of wickets taken, exceptional fielding performance, even for exceptional performance by an individual/s to win or drawn a game. This would give players motivation to give of their best. Obviously, those who under perform and are failing even after being warned to up their performance would be dropped until they improve and there is a space available. This would make players fight for their play. This and a few other conditions should be put in place to let the players realise that W.I cricket is serious business.

36. Underpinning the whole ethos of cricket in the WEST INDIES is the “RELIGIOUS” element where other men are deemed as children of a lesser “god”…

Every West Indian cricketer is expected to have the “divine” prowess of a Sir Frank Worrell, a Sir Garfield Sobers, A Wes Hall, a Joel “Big Bird” Garner and a Malcolm Marshall…

Part of the sad irony of West Indies cricket is the effects of internal “POLITICS” on the game coupled with the “divine” rites of kings – those who have in bygone years have played the game with unrivaled power and authority, blazing a trail which few since have been able to follow…

But I have “faith” in the inimitable words of David Rudder…

“Rally Round The West Indies” –

37. ROK, lawd man. No, nothing sinister in my words.

Little men playing big, means just that. WICB and the WIPA, who dont have much to offer, playing as big men ordering everyone about. THAT is what is little mean playing big.

Lawd. Contrast that to greats such as Sir Frank Worrell, Walcott, Weekes!

THEM wuz BIGGGGGG Men! Mentally BIG!

38. Black Scholes Merton Avatar
    Black Scholes Merton

Don’t quite understand how a discussion of the myriad issues facing Windies cricket degenerates into race issue. Utter nonsense!

David, perhaps you may need to take a firmer role in keeping the discussions on point.

PS (I am not White…nor light-skinned, nor rich)

39. We understand the CBC Talk Yuh Talk program will feature Conde Riley, Donna Symmonds and the possibility of Ramanrine calling in to the show. It will be hosed by Sports Journalist Keith Holder.

BU family member can try to listen in by clicking the link from 9.30 AM.

40. Black Scholes Merton: Regardless of subject matter, everything on this blog digresses into a race issue, usually initiated by Adrian Hinds. David appears to be afraid of Adrian Hinds and perhaps with good reason.

41. Scout that was not my intent. I think I gave indication that WICB did not live up to their end of the deal. I reference poor management skills exhibited by blacks as part of the problem. The WICB is run by blacks today. One has to wonder if these crop of non-producing cricketers could continue to play for a WICB run by Pat Rousseau, or Peter Short, or Allen Rae.

I would ask those of you who think race has nothing to do with West Indies cricket to read pages 123-125 of The development of West Indies cricket volume 2 by Hillary Beckles.
    Beyound a Boundery CLR James
    Cricket and race by Jack Williams

42. Adrian Hinds
    I agree that this crop of players are not up to true test standard but none of the reserves have stepped up to the plate. It makes no sense changing for changing sake, the reserves need to be pushing the so-called established players. Then one has to ask if the WICB is not wasting money on trying to coach these old players that are set in their ways. I like what Digicel is doing with the youngsters, just that if they are coached by these same old gangsters they will become like them. Clean the slate, get a new Company to administer W.I cricket and let every cricketing turkey fight for his crop.

43. My love for cricket as been lost since I only used to hail for the W.I. Now I can’t, so cricket has taken on a different role; just entertainment, therefore 20/20 fast food cricket is now my fun. I also think that one day test matches should be designed by the W.I. Two innings of a maximum of 25 overs each, all played in one day since our new players cannot concentrate for long periods, plus because of their non-stop partying, a second day would be too strenuous. in the mean time when I want to watch W.I test cricket, I have tapes of the old greats.

44. David
    I just listened attentively to the discussion on CBC, i think if this matter goes to arbitration the WICB will look really silly. I get the feeling that the WICB still operates like the WICBC where they have to RIGHT to tell players what shirt or pants they should wear. Coupled with the motion coming from Sir Hilary that the players should be academics, I see the WICB a lost cause. Sometimes some people can get too big for their very shoes. Sir Hilary seem to prefer a W.I team of all university students or graduates even if they are at the bottom of the cricketing ladder. His maths teachers would show the balsmen what angle to hit the ball at both to get runs and not get caught. they would then teach them the angle and position on the wicket and the speed at which to bowl to get their opponents out. The WICB is a pathetic,arrogent group of modern day colonial masters.

45. When the WICB is disbanded who will step in to fill the shoes? I hear a lot of talk about politicians stepping in to right things on the account of someone saying that cricket is the heart beat of the people therefore the people’s representatives need to get involve.

I want to know the exact nature of how the entity known as WICBC now known as WICB became the sole authority of cricket for the region to Cricket world governing body? Was there a contract? How was this body formed? Was it formed with private money? Is it a lifetime contract agreement with ICC? Can another body/entity petition the ICC for sole rights to cricket in the West Indies? what would be the process for this to occur?

If WICB is disbanded who gets to be the regions representative to the ICC? Would the ICC then entertain individual rights for each island?

I think the answers to these questions can shed some light on what is going on in West Indies cricket. There is a lot of money involved in cricket and the game is in a large part the backbone of building a caribbean community. While nationalism has caused some set backs, West Indies cricket is still the best approach to fostering the unity required to bring about the caribbean nation Shridath dreams about. But who is controling West Indies cricket now? and who is likely to step in if WIBC is done away with?

The concept of sports and academics is not new. It is alive and well in the US. It is a good thing to develop the mind along with the body. Give the players the mental tools and academic qualifications as a condition of play, so that they can become self sufficient, beyond the boundery after the game has ended for them. To not do this is to set yourself up to be supporting them for the rest of their lives.

46. Adrian Hinds
    Technically, as I understand it, if the WICB is disbanded, now that each country is now a seperate nation, each one would have to apply for membership. However, because of the success of the previous W.I team, the ICC is willing to accommodate the W.I and to allow them to continue as a unite. At present the ICC is not happy with the performance of the WICB and if a Company comprising respected W.I personnel steps forward to resolve the crisis, the ICC would behind the scene, ask the WICB to step aside and allow this new Company to function. Failing to step aside, the ICC can pressure the WICB, who has been in breech of many ICC regulations, to step up to the plate or be debarred. When the W.I team is then taken off the cricketing calender, the new Company can then step forward and negotiate with the ICC. ALL this would take a long time, maybe five years. This is why the WICB now wants to start back at square one with fourteen articales to go to arbitration. To resolve these fourteen articles can take over another five years, by then W.I cricket would be dead and probably Julian Hunte too. Unless or until some compromise is found, this can spell the end of W.I cricket. At the moment neither side wants to give in, since this has come down to a win or lose situation.

47. The ICC is so concerned about what is happening in W.I CRICKET, that only today the ICC has reached out to the WICB to end the standoff before the Champions Trophy starts on Sept 23rd and they would allow them to field their strongest team. The WICB is still playing hardball. It is now obvious that they intend to destroy W.I cricket once they can’t have their way.

48. @AH
    “When the WICB is disbanded who will step in to fill the shoes?”

Somebody or some set of people will have to step forward and bell the cat. Set up a new company or even a charity. Here is where leadership is required.

If the majority of the present board feels strong enough that the structure should change, it is only a matter of getting the players approval that they will play under the new body that will be set up.

You only need a minimum of 3 directors or 3 trustees. It cost nothing to register a charity and if they ask me I would produce the constitution for them too and get the new body registered. No rocket science there.

49. There is to much loss of goodwill between the parties. To apportion blame at this point serves no purpose except to make for good theatre.

Can anyone explain why the WIBC incorporated companies in the BVI (subject to correction) and not one of the test playing countries?

Finally, despite the issues which both sides must bear blame can anyone explain why a WI team ranked closed to bottom in the rankings is the third best paid team. Isn’t there some illogic to this state of affairs?

50. @ROK

Why do the players have to sanction it? Would this not be a matter for the ICC alone?