Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Barbadians are truly ‘something else’. The hundreds of calls, texts and mails I have received over the past four days suggest that I need not say very much in response to certain allegations, because people already know about ‘the connection’.

I thought I had stumbled upon a dark, grey secret with respect to why a certain person enjoys seemingly unfettered access to a particular publication, week in and week out. But every mode and means of communication has been used in recent days to convey to me graphic details of ‘the connection’. What I thought was a piece of ‘hot, juicy news’ turned out to be ‘a particle of rich history’; for Sam Cuch, the Duppy and their in-laws know all about ‘the connection’.

‘The connection’ apparently did not start yesterday, last month or even last year. ‘The connection’ has been ongoing for years now and apparently has been a rocky road for one, characterized, as has now become the norm with cohorts of the aggressor, by an enormous amount of abuse. I am hearing now of blows to the face, blows to the head, blows about the body and even attempts at slitting the wrist. I am also told of the entry of a company head honcho into the “ling”, and the moving out and moving in with the said heavy roller. This heavy roller must be packing a mean punch, kick and especially lick to have two bosses in so pitiful a state, lying prostrate at every beck and call.

That an institution, so once revered and respected, would permit itself to be used and manipulated in so vulgar a fashion is amazing. The foreign owners really need to come to Bim and investigate the moral cesspool that has developed within those walls. It is no longer what it once was. It no longer serves the purpose for which it was created.

Not everyone on the inside is willing to look the other way. The fact that I know of the telephone conversation that preceded the now well publicized call, indicates that not everyone is in agreement with that which is going on. There is gratitude to this writer for bringing certain truths to light.

There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples. “Run the desk for me. Tonight is my night, tomorrow is yours”…and up to the nest they go. The whole thing makes Sodom and Gomorrah look like students of theology. In return, the heavy roller gets prominence on demand.

There was no threat to anyone! There was an appeal for fairness and professionalism. There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication. Little did one know that the entire world, it would appear, was already appraised of the sordid details of the three way connection that has brought a most noble profession to shame.

Those shedding crocodile tears must rewind and reflect on conversations conducted prior to the much publicized call being received. Whom did you speak to after receiving highlights of the survey? What advice was given relative the appropriate response? What assurances were made as to what will not appear where? There is a difference between being threatened and feeling threatened!

If you wish to know about threats and about being threatened cast your mind back, to not so long ago, when other persons were perched on Bay Street. Who could forget the fate of Jerry Richards, Don Norville, Winston Worrel, Carl Ince, Cecil Foster, Adrian Sisnett, Don Singh, Mohammad Saied, Julian Rogers, Muriel Sealy, Ricky Singh, Hugh Foster, Peter Greene, Terry Ally, Reudon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne and Keith Goddard, to mention but a few. What was the cause of Oliver Jackman resigning from the Elder Statesmen Advisory Group? Which politician was overheard saying that a former big up in the pine ‘would never get a job in the local media again’?

This writer is not a madman. It takes a lot to get him upset.  But several months of examples of systemic unprofessionalism would have had to come to a head at some stage. One does not know whether the publication has wittingly or innocently permitted itself to be used, but the records are there and can be examined by anyone in search of truth.

You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.

This writer is not intimidated by or afraid of threats and portrayal of being arrogant, vindictive or even anti the freedom of the media. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a media man to the core. This has nothing to do with press freedom. This is all about ‘the connection’.

Let the world press bodies come in search of truth. I want them to investigate ‘the connection’. Would this and could this have happened anywhere else in the world? Let us go global with ‘the connection’. The National Enquirer would love the details. Call the police! Lay the charges! Let’s all go on the witness stand and be cross examined about character, integrity, professionalism and ‘the connection’. I dare you!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

717 responses to “No Threat To Press Freedom It’s All About ‘The Connection’”

1. Veritas, where in your above post, is the connection to BFP? I do not see one single thng that connects BFP to Peter Allard. Is this just another one of those unsubstantiated allegations?

2. Veritas wrote on // September 1, 2009 at 7:37 AM…Guys, BFP was unmasked recently…Owner/Financier: Peter Allard – ruthless, silly, childish Play-Station addict, gay and millionaire foreigner…Writer: Desmond Bourne :”Sultan of Smut” et al.

Wait!!!!! Allard is a buller??

Desmond is one too???

3. Veritas

Interesting! But please give us the sources. Sounds like some more misinformation.

I would have guessed that the BFP principals were not Bajans and had an agenda to show up Barbados in the worse possible light.

However, if your info is true it would explain some of the anti-patriotic, holier than thou, posts that often appear on BFP.

4. Since when is criticizing a government, any government, considered “unpatriotic”? Some of you seem not to understand the full meaning of the word “democracy”. It is only in communist countries, dictatorships or governments overthrown by a military coup where you are not allowed to openly criticize government. I see this type of thinking as being symptomatic of people who are truly like sheep.

5. It is amazing the white scoundrels of this world especially the white clowns running Barbados Free Press are accusing members of this blog & Your Truly Negroman being racist.

The white folks at Barbados Free Press let us discuss racism.in Barbados.
    The Barbados Yacht Club was an all-white club with membership restricted to whites only and it is still in existence today.Black Barbadians cannot become members of that club freely.Isn’t that racism?
    The Harbour Lights Night Club restricts entry of Black People to that night club and it is the club that the vast majority of local white people go to socialize.Frivolous excuses are used to limit or deny entry to Black People.Isn’t that racism?
    Every night club that local white people in Barbados patronized and Blacks started to attend, those clubs the local whites stop attending and inevitably those clubs close down.The Banana Boat in Maxwell,Caribbean Pepperpot in St Lawrence,Taps on the Bay in St Lawrence Gap,The Carlisle Club in Bay Street and the Wharehouse in Cavan Lane are examples.Isn’t that racism?
    The Blue Box Cart band mandated the National Cultural Foundation that if the Foundation wants it’s participation in Kadooment it must be given the first position in the line up of band to parade.The reason for that is the desire to get to Spring Garden first and not to get caught up with the local Black Barbadian population.After all it’s years in existence the same Blue Box cart Band is still an all white band.Isn’t that racism?

The White scums over at Barbados Free Press are in no position to label me or any Black person of this world racist.The European white rapists,killers,thieves and degenerates conceptualized and institutionalized and benefited from the belief that other ethnic groups of this world were inferior to them as a result of their skin,colour and physical features.I want to see the benefits Black people of this world got from the idea that we were superior to other races.It is laughable those white asses at Barbados Free Press could be so stupid to label us at Barbados Underground racist.

I make no apologies for calling that murdered white Canadian tourist the term I used and I have no fear for anyone.Barbados Free Press could published my comments for the whole world to see.I DO NOT CARE.
    Where was the sympathy for the little Black boy that was beaten brutally by the white man Mr Goodridge and his son a few years ago at Barclays Park in Collymore Rock.Where was the condemnation from the local whites in Barbados?Millions of Black Africans were murdered by the murderous Europeans.Where is the sympathy for those unfortunate victims?During the same slave trade as a form of punishment slaves were tied to two horses their right hand & right foot to one horse & their left hand & left foot to the other horse and ripped apart.Where is the sympathy?Pregnant slaves were stabbed in their bellies and the unborn babies ripped from their wombs as a form of punishment and that method was used to intimidate the slaves Where is the sympathy?The game of Polo came about as a form of punishment also .Slaves were buried in holes with only their heads exposed and the European slave owners & killers got up on their horses with their clubs and proceeded to ride their horses and hit the buried slaves on their heads until their heads came off.Where is the sympathy?
    In Russia Black People are being subjected to the worst possible treatment.As reported the Blacks in Russia are afraid to use the public transportation,do not attend social activities and do not venture outdoors after night fall because of attacks carried out on them by racist white Russians.Where is the sympathy?
    In America a Black man was beaten unmercifully by white racist cops and a police baton was pushed up his anus.Where is the sympathy ?

We have to be brutally frank about the atrocities the murderous,lazy,thieving Europeans perpetrated on the African Blacks.I will not be like the token Blacks and pretend that what transpired during slavery never occurred.Europeans must be held responsible for all the atrocities of this world and redress must be made.Reparations is a must and until the Europeans acknowledged their wrongdoings and compensate us this Negroman will never forgive them.I have no sympathy for any European life and the death of John Stanley Goddard is one less white Barbadian that Black People have to worry about in Barbados

6. @Negroman // September 1, 2009 at 11:33 AM

Now, after having said all that, do you feel that you a better, bigger man? Just what did you achieve or hoped to achieve?

Is Barbados now any safer for your children/grandchildren?

Are you any richer? Are you now able to sleep better at night? Have you been given more food, a bigger, better house? Are you now driving around in a limosine?

I am asking these questions because I cannot see what was the purpose of such rabid outbursts.

This is exactly why the whole world is in the turmoil that it is in at the moment.
    Because very few people are prepared to sit and discuss with each other and find some common ground on which to stand.

The same situation is happening all around the world, eg Ireland, Bosnia, Middle East, Indonesia and lots of other places. Simply because of man’s injustice to man.

Mankind simply refuses to learn from history and that is why history keeps repeating itself!

But I am sure mine is just another voice in the wilderness. So be it!

7. @ Robin Hood

Handle the harsh realities we will not forget!

8. @ Robin Hood

Are you any richer? Are you now able to sleep better at night? Have you been given more food, a bigger, better house? Are you now driving around in a limosine?

You see why that we black people always feel insulted when you people open your mouths!

9. David et al
    My humblest apologies to those I have offended with my ‘words’. It was never my intentions to do so. I would hate for BU to lose its popularity because of an ‘insignificant’ blogger such as I. My sole intentions were just to add a little spice to the blog and have a laugh. In so doing, I have offended some and again, my apologies to you and them.
    Bonny will make her exit from BU at this point.
    Thanks to those whom I entertained with my ‘tongue’ and my apologies to those I’ve offended.

LONG LIVE BU.

Vaya con Dios.

10. Keep it up Negroman. Your ranting lets me know that you are powerless, incompetent and impotent to do anything other than complain about your lot in life. You clearly spend your time observing the behaviour and accomplishments of non-African races and you are in dismay of the hapless state of your own. However what I really sense is fear in your words, the fear of always being the last in line and of losing even the meager capital that you have to other races who really couldn’t care less about you. You are most appropriately named – Negroman – a man of no place, no culture, no history other than as the pathetic servant (or chattel) of others begging for attention, begging for life, begging for respect that you know you can never earn far less demand. That others on this blog can hold you up as a source of truth and wisdom can only be a comfort to those who have only ill will to Black Barbadians.

11. Dear Mr. Man in the Moon,

Mr. Negroman’s comments are certainly repellant and indisputably racist, and they are to be condemned in the strongest terms (indeed, they are to be pursued). But you are WAY out of line here, sir.

Good afternoon to you.

12. Negroman

I think you have demonstrated by your examples the racist past and present of Barbados. Those who seek to deny the examples are probably racists themselves. There are a variety of reactions to such racism. Yours is an outlier on a continuum from extreme to pure passivity. All reactions are important and I think the debate should continue with all views ventilated.

Man in the Moon; Your contribution above suggests that you have serious ill-will to Black Barbadians. One sentence from your contribution is sufficient to demonstrate that. “Negroman – a man of no place, no culture, no history other than as the pathetic servant (or chattel) of others begging for attention, begging for life, begging for respect that you know you can never earn far less demand.”

13. Checkit-0ut
    what is a “negroman”? Who is he, where does he come from, where is he going?

I know about Akan people, Yoruba people, Ashanti people, Zulu people, Matabele people,Malinke people, Mali people and many, many more each with a history, a language, scientific knowledge, fine arts (music, sculpture, painting), laws and philosophy, an economy etc but a negroman; who is that but a derisive, European caricature of Africans!!!

Why do Americans of African descent insist that they be called African- Americans and not Negroes or coloured? Think for a change.

14. Bonny Peppa // September 1, 2009 at 1:24 PM

Where the hell you gine! Before BU had gained so much popularity you were there and we felt your pain when you were feeling pain!

Bonny show some some balls LOl do not allow persons who have just entered the blog change you! You belong and were always welcomed!

Long live Bonny Peppa!
    muahhhhhhhhh and smooches

Come back Home!

15. Hi Man in the Moon

Point taken. However, my point is that Your post excludes all that negroman has written that is true and zeroes in on his somewhat extreme views and reactions.

Of course the handle “negroman” connotes an 18th century black serf and not a proud 20th century afro-american type but your knowledge of the names of a variety of tribes in Africa does not make up for your attempt to denigrate a black man who has taken on a handle of “negroman” instead of trying to pass on your likely, university knowledge of Africa and racism in these parts.

Indeed, your response to negroman is typical of the 21st century blacks in the States who think that Obama has banished racism against blacks there and were horrified at Skip Gates treatment in his house by policemen.

I thought you were a white Bajan. I now stand corrected. Come down from the moon and join the debate and allow us to benefit from your wisdom.

16. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bonny

Don’t let me hear no crap about you leaving BU.

For what,some sour arse poor great creepers who coming over here from BFP and their BLP bee hives and trying to dictate to we the regulars.

If there is one gripe I have with David,it is that he seems to bow and give too much respect to those who sound ‘like Big -ups or professional’.

People like Themis,the said Inkwell who I remember posting a lot of partisan crap some time ago,Living In Barbados,Anon legal and the lot.

I would not have even acknowledged Inkwell with any response,because he is not here contributing in any constructive way and trying to build this blog.

I defend David as you well know to the hilt,but I believe it is this reverence that we have as bajans for ‘professionals’ and that he sometimes displays,that gave LIB so much rope to run with.

We all warned him about LIB,yet he continued to validate his nonesense with responses (by david that is),and follow-ups.

Any way you would have done BFP and jack bowman and their crew a great service if you drop out of this family.

Remember David actually ASKED me to APOLOGISE to LIB,that obnoxious person and I didn’t.

David did not defend me as I do him,but that’s all right,because,guess what,that’s what happens with families.

So let me not hear anything more about you leavingBU,o.k.?

17. Rump, your only fear is fear itself. Nothing untoward will happen in Bim by just allowing the people to voice their opinions!!

18. @ Man In The Moon
    Your comments leave a lot to be desired.
    Two wrongs never made a right! Maybe it would have been better if you had stayed just where you were, as the man in the moon!
    We could certainly do without such vile statements in answer to negroman’s comments.

19. Negroman, do I need to remind u what I told u about the whites, just the other day and who you owe your life to more, whether they or us!! If I need to then please tell me and I will!

20. Robin Hood, stop being so bloody afraid! Now is n’t the time for cowardice but for standing up for our rights (of freedom of speech), before we lose them altogether!!

21. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

My post to Bonny got lost.Please check.

22. Bonny, come back hay babe! We’d miss u too much!! Just modify it, a bit!!

23. Bonny Peppa please do not pay that joker INKWELL any attention. You are loved here at BU. I would hate to see you go OR CHANGE on the account of INKWELL. He isn’t around here to often and he is not missed. If Inkwell thinks that with you gone that he will have won, I will attempt to pick up your slack in response to every comment he makes. I cannot stand sanctimonious assholes. Probably the type to wear a three piece wool suite in the midday sun.

24. Bonny Peppa
    Are you going on holiday somewhere where there is no internet? If not i expect to read your postings and blogs in the future. don’t let me have to come and put you over my lap and give yoiu a good whipping. Looking to hear from you soon.

25. Is anyone willing to deny that BFP only speaks ill of Barbados as long as no whites are involved?

26. @AH…

I’m not.

(LOL…)

27. Bimbro
    I have no desire to respond to any of your postings because I recognized you swing like a pendulum.However,I must let you know I owed my life to my spiritual father and my biological parents and not to anybody else.I really do not want to tell you how I really feel about many of your postings.

Man in the Moon I will not give an ass like you any justification for the name I chose.

Man in the Moon I have stated many facts as Hants on Barbados Free Press indicated and you with your limited knowledge and your intellectually dishonest self has not sought to counter what I posted.I want you or anyone else to challenge my statements and bring proof that the statements I made are not factual.

Man in the moon I am a man who could fight from the trenches and I am prepare to go toe to toe with a clown like you.

The stinking,murderous,disease filled,semi-retarded,sub-human, lazy Europeans a people with out a spiritual base that is why they are melanin deficient will like us Blacks to believe that slavery never existed.It will not happen.African Black People of this world must be constantly be reminded of the savagery of slavery and must make sure that an event like that never repeats itself.

Europeans are the destroyers of this world.Our Spiritual Father with his infinite wisdom could have done better by not producing the destructive & criminally insane wicked Europeans

28. As a people we have often been told what to do, what to say and how we should behave, when to work and when to rest; we should ask ourselves whose interest is best served when we do the bidding of others.

In every endeavour to achieve there must be some element of sacrifice; if it is that we are called names:

such as “subhuman” which was done by Agenda for sure, on BFP August 31, 2009 at 7:48pm. We have suffered before…then so be it.

Ps: Bonny Peppa stand your ground.

29. @Robin Hood;
    You seem to be genuinely concern by Negromans comments to the point that it seems to me that you wonder how many more Black Barbadians think the way he does. The truth is likeley to be that they are as many whites who feel the same way as Negroman. Popular history is replete with whites working against the very systems to which Negroman points. Books were written by whites that tell the same exact story of white arrival in the “new world” the desease they brought, the germ warfare they use to anniliate entire people, the criminal taking of lands of native people under the pretence of doing Gods work in the name of the Queen and or King. One such book is “Stolen Continents” by British Canadian Ronald Wright. It is pure nonsense for BFP to attempt to single out one man for views shared by so many.
    I remain confident that if the reports of the Beating a black person that took in Highgate gardens at the hands of two white men did not riled up Barbadians, as I expected it would not, then you have nothing to fear in terms of violence from Negromans outspokeness. Still we have to talk about race, about all those things that Negroman mention that occurred in the Barbadian context.
    Slavery as we knew it was abolished in the west, it died off in the east, and until this day, the ideas that led to if the first place are still alive, as child labour, slavery and women and girls sex slavery still exist predominantly in the east.

Does anyone recall the name Trevor Ouellette? what was this name link too? and was it discuss on BFP?

30. Bonny Peppa my darling,my sweet heart my sugar plum where the hell a sweet little thing like you are going.My honey bunch you are going to allow a pompous,wannabee like Inkwell who should go and flood a cesspool with his tainted ink to run you from BU.
    Looka as Scout said come back here yuh hear and do not lem me cum and spank you also.

Come back to BU all of us love you more than the fool Inkwell.who is carrying out the mandate of Barbados Free Press.

Bonny Peppa Black People are a people of steel.We withstand four hundred of slavery and we will withstand the concerted attempt by the white scums at Barbados Free Press to close BU.

31. @Inkwell
    “This is exactly why the whole world is in the turmoil that it is in at the moment.”

Who started it and put it there?

32. @Bonny Peppa

I don’t believe that you will let them win. You letting him describe your behaviour. Let no man define your behaviour.

What you use is what we call our colourful language. If it offensive to anybody, then nobody at BU is putting a gun to their heads to make them read. They can exit the page anytime.

So listen to JC. Do not let them win.

33. Christopher Halsall // September 1, 2009 at 5:15 PM

@AH…

I’m not.

(LOL…)
    ————————————————–

I have no problem being wrong, just prove it to be so, and I will be the first to change my views.

34. wordpress.com

Freedom of Speech

The team behind WordPress.com strongly believes in freedom of speech. Our service is designed to let internet users freely express any ideas and opinions without us censoring or endorsing them. We think this has led to many great blogs being published on WordPress.com. However, you may also find the occasional blog that offends you. It might offend us as well, but while we are strict about shutting down blogs that violate our terms of service (no spam, personal threats, incitement of violence, etc), we will not shut down blogs because they are offensive. We think the right response to bad or offensive ideas is to speak out against them, not to censor them.

35. The Government of Barbados and its respective Ministers expressed regret for the death of the Canadian lady, who unfortunately lost her life in Barbados.

Now we have a blog masquerading in the name of justice, in a villainous exercise against the good name of Barbados and its citizens, because of a few “selected”comments culled from Barbados Underground.

Hitherto I have refrained from giving this lesson in “vindictiveness and spite” credence…but those who complain have come on the same blog of which they complain to contribute…how silly an exercise in duplicity.

36. @AH…

With respect…

I’m agreeing with you in my above…

Sorry — I enjoy the double negative “not not” (AKA “!!”) equals (AKA “==”) agreement…

Sincerely…

Sorry… I need to get out more….

37. OK my peoples, I will be back but have decided to take a break for the time being.

Can’t promise no ‘peppa’ but I’ll be back.

Thanks for the ‘out-pourin’.

38. BU is not an academic forum. BU is about people, ALL people. We try to welcome all whether academic or non. The very action some would have asked us to take in the past goes against what BU stands for. In many ways the BU family is a microcosm of how we interact in Barbados. We must learn to tolerate what is different in all of us.

Bonny injected a heavy dose of Barbadiana to proceedings, if she offended some then Bonny seems sensible enough to make adjustments based on any feedback.

Bonny you are part of the family, enuff said!

39. Quoting Adrian Hinds “I cannot stand sanctimonious assholes. Probably the type to wear a three piece wool suit in the midday sun.”

Well said (again)

40. We have been subjected to a lot of sanctimonious waffle, if I do not like what is being posted on a blog, I simply do not go there…end of story.

I have no “compulsion” or desire to bend it to my ideology or way of thinking…in essence I am mentally immune from it.

41. What really is Racism?
    (Dedicated to Inkwell)

One topic that is sure to generate significant comment on BU (and anywhere in Barbados) is racism. Unfortunately, like many other topics, few bother to agree on a common definition and therefore we get endless argument, with many different positions which are probably all logical – simply because most of us are arguing from completely different perspectives and using varying definitions.

According to Wikipedia, Racism is the belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race. In the case of institutional racism, certain racial groups may be denied rights or benefits, or get preferential treatment, while Reverse discrimination favours members of a historically disadvantaged group at the expense of those of a historically advantaged group.

If we accept this basic definition, we can now go on to evaluate the strength of the various positions held on BU.

Now Negroman is known to use colorful adjectives to describe persons who, in his opinion, operate on the basis that their race gives them some right of inherent superiority over other (mainly the negro) races. Anyone who knows Bajans would KNOW that NM is in all probability the most humble and peaceful individual one could ever meet. Bush Tea would bet his (considerable) fortune that NM never hurt a fly in his life, never exploited another race, never started a war, never bribed a politician….

Negroman is typical of most Blacks – characterized most outstandingly by another NM (Nelson Mandela) who was imprisoned for decades as a racist rebel who went around badmouthing whites. Mandela went on to become President of South Africa.
    Did NM extract vengeance for his 27 years of torment?
    Did NM vent his rage on the whites of South Africa?
    Can we then conclude that NM was a racist when he was ‘bad talking’ whites and even organizing the ANC?

Conversely, even patriotic and genuine whites generally tend to be focused on accumulating huge fortunes. Even into old age, they seem driven to own more and more. COW was recently quoted as noting that ‘there are lots of waste land in Barbados that could be developed…’ which seemed to translate into a perceived opportunity for him to move even more earth to please…

The history of the black man is one of suffering in dignity and of forgiveness and peaceful co-existence. Even Mugabe for decades patiently waited in vain on the whites of Zimbabwe to keep promises of equal treatment for the blacks of that country, before acting in frustration to force some kind of action.
    Has the united white response been forgiving and understanding of Mugabe’s dilemma?
    Has the united white response sought to be fair? Be reasonable? To establish ‘peace commissions’ ? …or are they focused on crying racism’ and seeking the total destruction of that black country? It must be their way – or WAR.
    Martin Luther King, EW Barrow, M Ghandi, My top man Wynter Crawford are all typical examples of non-whites who were labeled as racist at one time or another…

A sad, but expected corollary of this situation, is the number of blacks who, having been brainwashed by the trappings of the kind of world that has been thrust upon us, are at the forefront in criticizing those others who point out the hypocritical actions of real racists. No doubt there are many of us who have adopted this ‘way which seems right in the sight of man – but which in the end leads to death and destruction…’

The BFP situation is most interesting. From early days, this blog demonstrated a controlling, patronizing attitude that sends the message that;
    -We are in charge of things here.
    -We know what is right – so just fall in line and agree
    -We determine what is right and anything else is …racism/ stupid/ ignorant/wrong
    Their propensity to ban those who did not conform, insult those who do not comply and curse and threaten others (like BU who has never attacked them) is typical of the Racist regimes of the 1960’s USA and even more recent South African Apartheid rulers.

It is written – You should judge a tree by its fruit.

If racism is properly judged by the actions of those who are accused, then Bush Tea finds Negroman (and Nelson Mandela) to be completely innocent.

By the same measure, when we analyze the root of most of our wars, suffering, disparities between the haves and have-nots, and the hate-mongering and strife currently displayed by BFP we should be easily able to see who the real racists are….

The really sad aspect of the racism issue has always been the fact that the actual racist have ALWAYS been of the genuine belief that their actions were justified, correct and even inspired by God. That is the nature of true ignorance.

42. Bonny Peppa // August 24, 2009 at 6:11 PM

C.Halsall,
    F*^k you too. Good.

Bimbro,
    As woman, I tink he kinda cute but pussees cute too and he sure is one cute pussee. Meowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
    Nevva had a white meat yet but where there’s life there’s hope. So he betta watch out. Bonny doan segregate. He want lickinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

Bonny Peppa // August 23, 2009 at 12:24 PM

Tech,
    Wha you wasting your time wid dat pussee-hole LIB for? He luv de attention you don’t know? Show off shyte.

Bonny Peppa // August 31, 2009 at 2:50 PM

Pat,
    Girl, i now trying to catch up on tings. My bajan-men in dickless. Jus dat dese wikkin bitches wunt leh a man get piece a pussee in peace. I love my men bad an i would nevva trade my wood fa a ‘rub’. All dat rubbin mussy is got dem pubic hairs smell smokey a nuff.
    Rub a dub dub all dese wikkas in one tub.
    Wuhlosssssssssssssssssss

If I am to be ostracized for being offended by the above smut, so be it. All you who find it edifying and are happy to be associated with it, knock yourselves out.

Bonny Peppa at least seems to be a little bit ashamed and so should the rest of you who are condoning and supporting the filthy language. I maintain that it demeans the blog in the eyes of readers.

What, pray tell is sanctimonious about a plea for standards of decency in debating language?

43. Inkwell

So de women in dis forum don’ mince words. If you t’ink that all dis serious discourse that tekkin place will change anything ’bout hey in Babados man it is time you wake up an’ fin’ yah way back ta BFP where you can sip lemon tea and indulge in a round of croquet.

44. @Inkwell
    ” I maintain that it demeans the blog in the eyes of readers.”

When I read what you pasted in at first I thought they were your comments. Be careful…

and what is your interest whether the blog is being demeaned or not? I though you would love that.

BTW the tourists that reading this blog say that they are glad that we venting and that they can see that we fighting for justice… and you know what? They are horrified at the level of racism in Barbados. They saying that the dangerous ones are the white b*********s (their words) and they hope that the election of Obama would send a strong message to them that slavery done and that they should own up as USA owned up. LOL!

45. Adrian Hinds

BTW it is now popular in the US for White kids to refer to each other as niggers… Dude is out (after about twenty years) and nigger is in… Ha ha..!

46. “BTW the tourists that reading this blog say that they are glad that we venting and that they can see that we fighting for justice… and you know what? They are horrified at the level of racism in Barbados. They saying that the dangerous ones are the white b*********s (their words) and they hope that the election of Obama would send a strong message to them that slavery done and that they should own up as USA owned up. LOL!”

Are you able to provide any proof of the above quote ROK?

47. Bonny peppa din hot. This nigga of uh peppa will be on every “food for thought” you intend to dish out to the family going forward.

I think it is sanctimonious to enter a rumshop and request 40 year old cognac. I think, only a sanctimonious asshole would make demands that they stock it.

48. David: I think Bush Tea comments should be our next article on race.

Bush Tea // September 1, 2009 at 7:36 PM

What really is Racism?

with BT permission of course.

49. What, pray tell is sanctimonious about a plea for standards of decency in debating language?”
    It is sanctimonious to presume that YOUR standards must be THE standards.

Conversely,
    It is mature to apply your personal standards for yourself, while RESPECTING those of others and hopefully influencing them to adopt your high standards -because your example is so impressive.

It takes nothing to operate in an environment where everyone agrees on most things (including standards),

HOWEVER, it takes a humble, self-confident, open-minded person to be open to the fact that we all have different standards, different issues and different perspectives… and to respect that.

Your ‘plea’ is therefore only sanctimonious.
    …. however BFP’s “actions” to censure and abuse those who refuse to conform to their standards of ‘normalcy’ fits my definition of racist.

50. Jack Bowman is Kim Young…!

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh