Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Barbadians are truly ‘something else’. The hundreds of calls, texts and mails I have received over the past four days suggest that I need not say very much in response to certain allegations, because people already know about ‘the connection’.

I thought I had stumbled upon a dark, grey secret with respect to why a certain person enjoys seemingly unfettered access to a particular publication, week in and week out. But every mode and means of communication has been used in recent days to convey to me graphic details of ‘the connection’. What I thought was a piece of ‘hot, juicy news’ turned out to be ‘a particle of rich history’; for Sam Cuch, the Duppy and their in-laws know all about ‘the connection’.

‘The connection’ apparently did not start yesterday, last month or even last year. ‘The connection’ has been ongoing for years now and apparently has been a rocky road for one, characterized, as has now become the norm with cohorts of the aggressor, by an enormous amount of abuse. I am hearing now of blows to the face, blows to the head, blows about the body and even attempts at slitting the wrist. I am also told of the entry of a company head honcho into the “ling”, and the moving out and moving in with the said heavy roller. This heavy roller must be packing a mean punch, kick and especially lick to have two bosses in so pitiful a state, lying prostrate at every beck and call.

That an institution, so once revered and respected, would permit itself to be used and manipulated in so vulgar a fashion is amazing. The foreign owners really need to come to Bim and investigate the moral cesspool that has developed within those walls. It is no longer what it once was. It no longer serves the purpose for which it was created.

Not everyone on the inside is willing to look the other way. The fact that I know of the telephone conversation that preceded the now well publicized call, indicates that not everyone is in agreement with that which is going on. There is gratitude to this writer for bringing certain truths to light.

There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples. “Run the desk for me. Tonight is my night, tomorrow is yours”…and up to the nest they go. The whole thing makes Sodom and Gomorrah look like students of theology. In return, the heavy roller gets prominence on demand.

There was no threat to anyone! There was an appeal for fairness and professionalism. There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication. Little did one know that the entire world, it would appear, was already appraised of the sordid details of the three way connection that has brought a most noble profession to shame.

Those shedding crocodile tears must rewind and reflect on conversations conducted prior to the much publicized call being received. Whom did you speak to after receiving highlights of the survey? What advice was given relative the appropriate response? What assurances were made as to what will not appear where? There is a difference between being threatened and feeling threatened!

If you wish to know about threats and about being threatened cast your mind back, to not so long ago, when other persons were perched on Bay Street. Who could forget the fate of Jerry Richards, Don Norville, Winston Worrel, Carl Ince, Cecil Foster, Adrian Sisnett, Don Singh, Mohammad Saied, Julian Rogers, Muriel Sealy, Ricky Singh, Hugh Foster, Peter Greene, Terry Ally, Reudon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne and Keith Goddard, to mention but a few. What was the cause of Oliver Jackman resigning from the Elder Statesmen Advisory Group? Which politician was overheard saying that a former big up in the pine ‘would never get a job in the local media again’?

This writer is not a madman. It takes a lot to get him upset.  But several months of examples of systemic unprofessionalism would have had to come to a head at some stage. One does not know whether the publication has wittingly or innocently permitted itself to be used, but the records are there and can be examined by anyone in search of truth.

You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.

This writer is not intimidated by or afraid of threats and portrayal of being arrogant, vindictive or even anti the freedom of the media. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a media man to the core. This has nothing to do with press freedom. This is all about ‘the connection’.

Let the world press bodies come in search of truth. I want them to investigate ‘the connection’. Would this and could this have happened anywhere else in the world? Let us go global with ‘the connection’. The National Enquirer would love the details. Call the police! Lay the charges! Let’s all go on the witness stand and be cross examined about character, integrity, professionalism and ‘the connection’. I dare you!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

717 responses to “No Threat To Press Freedom It’s All About ‘The Connection’”

1. Mr. Henry:

Do you get paid for this?

2. All I can say (perhaps to my own detriment) is thank GOD for the Internet, where censorship is treated just like any other fault, and routed around….

3. And if I may, my above should not be misconstrued that I support any particular party. (I don’t; neither hear nor away.)

But I believe strongly that *all* positions should be available to all others for consideration, based on the empirical facts.

We Bajans are an educated and intelligent people after all. We can think for ourselves; we don’t need to be told what to think, nor should we be constrained in what we read….

4. All that long talk and what it still boils down to is blackmail. This from a man whose own personal life is anything but angelic.

5. Wishing in Vain Avatar

The Nation is really doing a load of shaving cream, they give a small window when Senator Ince gets sworn in and then they do this today for this rejected clown Holder give me a break.

Are they trying to prove a point ?????

The point being that Mottley pulls the strings at One Caribbean?

Lord help them!!!!!!

6. So HH has now essentially followed through with his threat as reported in the Nation and looks as if he is set on escalating a very sordid story internationally.

It now looks as if the Nation report was true and it seems that it was really blackmail after all.

Sounds like the same modus operandi as the old Jennifer Laski case. HH does follow through. He does’nt merely threaten emptily.

Wow!!

Its going to be very interesting to see how this unfolds.

Will the whole thing peter out?

Will the BLP be wiped from the face of Barbados?

Could the strategy backfire?

Very Machavellian!

Very Nasty !!!!

I wonder if the PM condones blackmail?

7. “I wonder if the PM condones blackmail?”

And that is the burning question, Checkit-out. How could the PM of Barbados allow his “political strategist” behave in such an unseemly and sordid way. The PM should reign this fool in. There is an old adage ” You can’t fling mud without getting some on yourself”.

8. Do I understand what I just read to be that one person, let us call them a “she-he” is wicking the two top female bosses(?)/employees of a Barbados institution that is supposed to disseminate news impartially? That this same she-he with these two pigeons in the palm dictates what they should do, not only in their private lives, but at this particular institution as well?

Wait, wuh wrong wid Bajan men? Wunnah dickless? All three of dem want a good fooping. Calling Sir Bentwood Dick, where you hiding man.

Aint that de trute Bonny Peppa?

9. Johnny Postle @ Avatar

Gaw Blimah,,,wunnah girls getting real nasty bout hey. Calling for Bajan men to rise to the occasion and stop being so dickless. My God Pat ya throw a boulder here. Dah give new meaning to the term rock hard

10. Wow. Just, wow. Kudos to the attorney(s) for the Advocate who edited this from what’s above to make it printable. Just, wow.

11. Second thoughts, it occurs to me that HH probs had the nouse to do two different versions. Still, wow.

12. @ Pat
    “Wait, wuh wrong wid Bajan men? ”
    Pat girl…. you wouldn’t know how bad um is bout here. “Bajan men” is becoming an oxymoron here in Bim.

Women running things now soul… the ‘men’ are mostly to be found liming by the rumshops or hanging on the block getting their braids and dreadlocks plaited and groomed…

We got Guyanese doing we wuk, Chinese and Europeans managing things… and the womens calling de shots.

Calling Sir Bentwood??? fuh wuh?
    What dick what?

….why you think he wood bent? … probably not be hard in decades.

Bush Tea for one backing HH. Somebody have to finally straighten things out bout here.

…damn bunch of wickers positioned all over the place….I think that HH just trying to straighten out the whole mess…. LOL

13. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Ohhhh laawwss. Pat? Wunnuh goin put me into trubble?!!!

Cuh dear, yuh want my woman to pelt muh outa de house?

Dis oneadem real’ty shows?

Can I call pun a fren’?

Bimbro! Pat gone an put muh into trouble! As you is eager for a young ting, help muh nuh!

Loss Pat, wuh yuh gon an do, putting an honourable man pun de wicket tuh bat wid another partner?

Listen, I run from trouble like nuttin’!

I gone tru de door an down de road faster dan a boarcat….

14. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Oh loss. Now Bushy Tea gone an cuss muh.

Wunna expect one man tuh do everyting? I done (and for Bush Tea …am doing) my bit.

Dem got some strong youngsters bout de place, let dem take a turn an do their civic duty, deng.

Wunna tink I do it fuh anyone, jess so? I got pride, yuh know!

15. What kind of knight are you Sir Dick?

The Nation needs your services (like the pun?) and you running like a coward.

That is why Bush Tea backing HH.

If the women involved were cute (like Bonny P), the bushman may even have considered playing his part….. but from what I can see, I think I wid you Sir Dick…

16. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Caveat: Without accepting, agreeing or otherwise indicating any fact nor opinion of the article above, nor subsequent comments:

Bush Tea ‘The Nation needs your services (like the pun?)’

lol.

THAT is funny….

17. The Barbados Advocate butchered the HH article, we have highlighted those parts which were edited by the Advocate.

18. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar
    Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy

Only Hipplyta can be this powerful.

Hartley claimed that M.i.a was involved somehow with the CoB and the empasse between some members and the CEO. Now are we hearing once again from HH that Mia may in some way be involved in the NationNewpaper editorial decisions?
    Are they key institutions in Barbados being run by a bunch Amazons???

19. Real news for real people, no watered down edited crap.
    Let the people decide who is worthy of their, respect, support and trust.

People have a right to know the myriad connections that have made Barbados the place it now is.

No wonder the prophets are predicting destruction and damnation.

20. @BU legal eagles

What about the parts edited can be labelled possibly defamation?

21. This is the slimiest piece of work that I’ve seen in a long time. If there was any doubt that WIV was HH you can put that to rest.

He basically says there was no threat to anyone but if “fairness” was not followed he would “There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication.”

In this article Mr. Henry has not only confirmed there was a threat, but effectively carried that threat out.

So we can see that the Nation article was not lying or mis-stating the case, a threat to an editor’s reputation was made and here we have that confirmed by the agressor himself. A government official has threatened the press to make sure that they “toe the line”.

Mr. Henry may have overstepped the mark here in publishing this unedited article on BU, the Advocate’s lawyers are more than likely right to edit this stream of drivel and this may result in a lawsuit.

Owen Arthur at his worst never did anything this slimy.

22. Interesting comments!

Anyone wondered why, if there was any significant truth in the article above, the Institution would call in the Police?

Seems to me it would be in the best interests of the alleged Amazonian top brass at the Institution to stay far from the law and not risk the alleged shehanigans being exposed any further.

Perhaps there is another side to the story than HH’s.

Calling the police with the above scenario in the background just does’nt compute.

23. Does WIV’s wife know about the St. Lucian outside woman?

And is he going to tell her or shall I?

24. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

Defaming who? stick a name in the article in a way that someone could be indentified as members of the three way “connection” and maybe. Even a stretch to infer that the Nation newspaper as a corporate entity is one being defamed, with injury to repeputation occurring.

But I aint nuh legal Eagle.

25. If eva I but up pun Ms Mottley after she had a few, I would move forward with flag in hand. Say what yah wan’t.. she might be a little on the big side but she is a looker up close! And imagine dah voice groaning… BIMBRO you t’ink Rihanna gotta voice..? Imagine Mottley grrrooning… ahh boy..!

Dah blue pill did ’bout hey some whey.. Whey de hell I leff it..?

26. nasty, stinking wicking corrupting barbados. we got to stop it.

27. The flaw in the “no names no lockup” argument presented here is that THERE IS A NAME. Everyone knows who the newspaper editor was so there can be no doubt as to who this is talking about.

Effectively this post is an admission of blackmail.

28. ” sylvan wrote on August 27, 2009 at 10:30 PM…nasty, stinking wicking corrupting barbados. we got to stop it.”

How???

29. In addition,

Knowing what we know now about the threat It is interesting that a number of persons listened in (at the caller end) while the threat was made (as suggested by the PM himself) and allowed it to proceed. Indeed they apparently approved it.

It is also interesting that the DLP machinery allowed the above article to be published with all its warts and “sliminess” as suggested by someone above. Or did it slip through the cracks?

We really need a plausible third party here and not just apologists for one or the other major party.

30. Serious now David,

Did you see that article a few weeks ago I think – where a writer to the press outlined the facts about the elimination of men from our education system by successive governments -mainly the BLP?

No wonder these people felt that they could bring Guyanese and Chinese here to displace Bajans…. They had already successfully displaced the Bajan man over the last few decades – starting with a ‘Billie’ mashing up Lodge School and ending with the wholesale ‘effeminization’ of our education system and of our young males.

I have nothing against sexual freaks – as Bush Tea has already explained, this is a form of spiritual sickness which could well afflict any one of us. (Just line a dirty environment promotes cholera, plague etc… so does a spiritually dirty environment promote homosexuality and other sexual/ freak illnesses)

However, just as we would not allow patients with cholera to run our country by making cholera ‘acceptable’ to society, so Bush tea does not support sexual freaks dictating what our spiritual norms should be – or worse – changing our rules to accommodate their deviance.

…and I must say that Bush tea finds this childish, sickening, cry by these so called ‘journalists’ – of intimidation, to be downright pathetic…. and typical.

…they must really think that all bajans have already been conditioned by their warped, sissy, control mentality…….not this bushman…

Hopefully this will the straw that leads to the exposure of the rot that lies below the tip of this iceberg of nasty connections.

31. j, it look like u is a stinking wicker too. u like wicking bad too? wunnah is a bunch of stinking bitches. make my stomach sick with the nastiness you all doing.

32. @Bushman

What are you saying? Could it be a Bajan leader is now willing to say like Prime Minister Golding not in this cabinet?

33. Gentlemen, a discussion of homosexuality is no doubt provocative but it does divert the discussion away from the point that a government representative threatened a member of the media in order to gain favourable press coverage for the governing party.

No doubt this is entirely what Mr. Henry intended by publishing this article.

34. HH should be sued.will comment later

35. One of our legal eagles has hinted HH may be on sandy ground from a legal perspective.
    Do we have other issues emerging?
    Possible unprofessional conduct but pursued recklessly by HH?

36. Storm in a teacup..!

37. all of this nastiness was worth exposing.what barbados coming to? another sodom amd gomorrah?

38. @ David

Did the bushman not predict to you that this PM would be the best one we ever had? (despite having to lead during what will be the hardest times in living memory)….

….I like the PM more and more as time goes by…. and I believe that he is wise enough to realize that this country is DOOMED -unless the deep rooted wickedness that has enveloped us over the last decade or so is rooted out.

The CSME foolishness needs to be put on the back burner…I suspect he has done that!

The immigration issue needs to be resolved by ensuring that those who reside here do so LEGALLY-and that they are committed to Bajan values and to Bajan success.

The Integrity question needs to be resolved too – but not by any quick fix legislation as BFP is pushing…. it needs a fundamental shakeup of a number of ingrained vices that has become endemic over the last dispensation.

– the blatant bribery linked to ‘cost over runs’ and ‘consultants’

– the moral decay characterized by the open homosexual culture

– the mob-like business of ‘placing’ ones minions in crucial positions in order to defeat the natural will of the people, etc..
    (Unfortunately, he is a lawyer and thus wont to dwell unduly on ‘protocol’…)

If the PM is to be successful, then these are definitely issues that need to be dealt with – not necessarily by talking like Golding – but (like Negroman insists) by ACTING forcefully in the interest of honesty, integrity and of this country.

A good start would be to expose this whole Nation /HH nonsense.
    You must recall how long BT has been pointing to this organisation as anti-Barbados and as a trojan horse in the battle for our democracy..

39. hartley, barbados got to thank you.

40. I would like to see an objective analysis comparing the coverage the Nation newspaper has given to Ms. Mottley and the BLP members of Parliament as compared with the Prime Minister, the other cabinet Ministers and the other DPL members of Parliament over the last few months.

That should give us some idea as to whether or not HH’s casus belli of disproportionate coverage of the Leader of the Opposition by the Nation is reasonable.

If it is reasonable, then the threat of removal of advertising by Government agencies and those other agencies allied to Government such as Clico would seem to me to have been adequate to get the Nation to see the error of its ways.

If it is’nt then the whole matter becomes another political justification smokescreen indulged in by both Parties.

Reversion to what seems like blackmail to correct this issue if HH was right does’nt seem to be quite the done thing. Especially in retrospect where the blackmaillee appears to be fighting back and counterintuitively calling in the police.

Could it be that HH is wrong about the important “facts” in his piece above?

Could it be that the lady at the Institution knows that she has nothing to fear in calling in the police and that HH’s claims are lies?

Could it be that the lady at the institution had no sensible legal advice? and how does that square up against the primary innuendos in the HH article?

I think we all need to think this thing through without jumping to the conclusions that HH or others are gleefully guiding us to.

41. anonlegal // August 27, 2009 at 10:57 PM

HH should be sued.will comment later
    Lawyers never cease to amaze the Bushman!

Such assertions are normally sufficient to send most persons running.
    A Bushman however has no fear of being sued…. indeed there are few better opportunities to delve into the gory details of any matter than for someone to sue you.

Get real anonlegal! …a suit is exactly what we need.

….except that your lowlife lawyer friends usually just THREATEN lawsuits to force cowards to back off – or pay up, and if they don’t concede then you WITHDRAW your lawsuit – because you cannot afford to have the court delve into your sordid affairs…

The truth is a powerful counter to threats of lawsuits.

42. Bushman. You may also reflect that the truth is also a very powerful counter to blackmail.

43. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

Caster Semenya: Boy, can she run
    Her parents insist she is female. Athletics officials want her to prove it.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/africa/article6806403.ece

she should have become a lawyer and politician. No one would dare question her gender.

44. Could consenting adults be subjected to blackmail over their sexual escapades that were apparently not secret even if not public knowledge?

If intimations of hypocrisy, are presented to the public, can the alleged hypocrite file a suit?

The dark side of Barbados that most people ignore, because it is not their business, will one day devour us.

That is the real threat.

45. @ Checkit-out
    “Bushman. You may also reflect that the truth is also a very powerful counter to blackmail”
    Agreed 100% Checkit.
    Sometimes we need to take strong and controversial steps to get the truth to step forward….
    …but the truth ALWAYS sets you free.

46. @ General Lee
    “If intimations of hypocrisy, are presented to the public, can the alleged hypocrite file a suit?”
    General, the answer is YES!. that has been the nasty, dirty side of Bajan legal life for decades now….

What the lawyers normally do (or are paid to do) is use the threat of lawsuits to hush genuine calls for honesty and openness or challenges to corruption and fraud.

Most of us do not have $50,000 to respond to such threats and so we let things ride and cover our own backsides.

….unless you are a bushman who has nothing to lose (or who is a millionaire that can afford to play their game) LOL

47. “Defaming who? stick a name in the article in a way that someone could be indentified as members of the three way “connection” and maybe. Even a stretch to infer that the Nation newspaper as a corporate entity is one being defamed, with injury to repeputation occurring.”

Adrian, as Themis already told you, there is no need to call a name.

Everyone on this board understood what “publisher” he was speaking about.

David, I haven’t seen the advocate version so I am not sure if it has exposed itself to any liability. However, if they published the article as it appears above that would have been a stupid editorial decision.

Pat has already highlighted many of the defamatory imputations made in this article.

Adrian and some other are of the misguided view that if no names are called then there can be no successful action. Please note the story below:

“BREAKTHROUGH’ ‘Two male teachers assisting with police investigations’ ‘REPORTER Janice Griffith yesterday identified to police a man whom she said was in the room at a secondary school on 20th February filming a blue movie with students.
    ‘Yesterday, police searched the home of that man and one other, both teachers at a secondary school, and took away a number of items.
    ‘Later in the day Griffith, summoned to the Criminal Investigation Department, at police headquarters, identified a piece of red cloth, a pair a sneakers and three pieces of sponge which she had reported seeing in the room at the school.
    ‘Just short of sunset, sources confirmed that two men, whose names have been disclosed, were assisting police with investigations.
    ‘Debate
    ‘Heated debate has been ranging since the Sunday Sun last week carried an eye-witness account by Griffith of a scene where two men were filming school boys and girls in a compromising position.’”

No name (other than Ms. Giffith who was not the plaintiff) was mentioned in the article above but the Nation was successfully sued. The judge concluded that notwithstanding the fact that the plaintiffs’ names were not mentioned the story was referable to them. His reasoning was below:

“The plaintiffs had also been invited to the CID where Janice Griffith, the reporter concerned, identified the plaintiff Blackman as the man whom she claimed she had seen filming the movies. These extrinsic facts had been known at the time of publication to certain neighbours of the plaintiffs and their colleagues at the school. I therefore find as a fact that the publication complained of referred to, and was understood by those persons aware of the extrinsic facts to refer to, the plaintiffs.”

I have never met Mr. Henry so I never had an opinion about him either way. However, after this incident I really don’t hold him in high regard.

48. hahaaaaaaaa and David and his wife are beyond any questioning regarding their sexual preferences or dominant effeminate and masculine behaviour respectively? Marriage really does make us blind.

@ Bush Tea

– the blatant bribery linked to ‘cost over runs’ and ‘consultants’ = HH and Pandor

– the moral decay characterized by the open homosexual culture = in his Cabinet and many known members of the party

— the mob-like business of ‘placing’ ones minions in crucial positions in order to defeat the natural will of the people, etc.. = NHC, UDC, RDC, QEH and the list goes on

49. David // August 27, 2009 at 9:58 PM
    /The Barbados Advocate butchered the HH article, we have highlighted those parts which were edited by the Advocate./
    1. HOW HAVE YOU HIGHLIGHTED (IN A PERMANENT WAY)? IF YOU CAN SEE THE DIFFERENCES CLEARLY THEN I CANNOT ON MY SCREEN (APPLE iMAC).

2. HOW DO YOU CATEGORISE EDITING AS ‘BUTCHERY’, EXCEPT IN A HYPERBOLIC SENSE. AN EDITOR HAS PREROGATIVES. THIS HAS SERIOUS IMPLICATIONS AS A MODERATOR.

3. THE SODOMY LAWS WOULD BE GOOD MATERIAL FOR PEOPLE TO READ TO CONFIRM THAT IT IS NOT ABOUT HOMOSEXUALITY, BUT CERTAIN PRACTICES THAT ARE ALSO PERFORMED BY HETEROSEXUALS.

4. PERSONAL DISTASTE FOR SOCIAL PRACTICES IS NOT THE SAME AS THEIR BEING ILLEGAL. FOR INSTANCE, MAY PEOPLE MAY NOT LIKE LIKE THE IDEA OF BEATING CHILDREN BUT THE PRACTICE IS NOT GENERALLY ILLEGAL; IT MAY EVEN BE ENSHRINED IN CERTAIN RULES AND REGULATIONS. PEOPLE MAY DISLIKE SPITTING IN PUBLIC BUT IT IS NOT ILLEGAL (IN BARBADOS; BUT IN THE US IT MAY BE, AS SHOWN BY SIGNS IN PUBLIC PLACES, ETC.)

5. LAWYERS MAY CONFIRM, BUT THE ARTICLE SEEMS TO STATE CLEARLY THAT THE AUTHOR WAS ATTEMPTING ‘BLACKMAIL’, WHICH IS A FELONY. AT THE VERY LEAST, IT WOULD BE WHAT IS NOW CALLED ‘INFLUENCE PEDDLING’– the illegal practice of using one’s influence in government or connections with persons in authority to obtain favors or preferential treatment for another–PRECISELY THE ACTION THAT WAS CRITICISED. IT WAS JUST IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION.

50. s/b FOR INSTANCE, many PEOPLE MAY