Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Barbadians are truly ‘something else’. The hundreds of calls, texts and mails I have received over the past four days suggest that I need not say very much in response to certain allegations, because people already know about ‘the connection’.

I thought I had stumbled upon a dark, grey secret with respect to why a certain person enjoys seemingly unfettered access to a particular publication, week in and week out. But every mode and means of communication has been used in recent days to convey to me graphic details of ‘the connection’. What I thought was a piece of ‘hot, juicy news’ turned out to be ‘a particle of rich history’; for Sam Cuch, the Duppy and their in-laws know all about ‘the connection’.

‘The connection’ apparently did not start yesterday, last month or even last year. ‘The connection’ has been ongoing for years now and apparently has been a rocky road for one, characterized, as has now become the norm with cohorts of the aggressor, by an enormous amount of abuse. I am hearing now of blows to the face, blows to the head, blows about the body and even attempts at slitting the wrist. I am also told of the entry of a company head honcho into the “ling”, and the moving out and moving in with the said heavy roller. This heavy roller must be packing a mean punch, kick and especially lick to have two bosses in so pitiful a state, lying prostrate at every beck and call.

That an institution, so once revered and respected, would permit itself to be used and manipulated in so vulgar a fashion is amazing. The foreign owners really need to come to Bim and investigate the moral cesspool that has developed within those walls. It is no longer what it once was. It no longer serves the purpose for which it was created.

Not everyone on the inside is willing to look the other way. The fact that I know of the telephone conversation that preceded the now well publicized call, indicates that not everyone is in agreement with that which is going on. There is gratitude to this writer for bringing certain truths to light.

There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples. “Run the desk for me. Tonight is my night, tomorrow is yours”…and up to the nest they go. The whole thing makes Sodom and Gomorrah look like students of theology. In return, the heavy roller gets prominence on demand.

There was no threat to anyone! There was an appeal for fairness and professionalism. There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication. Little did one know that the entire world, it would appear, was already appraised of the sordid details of the three way connection that has brought a most noble profession to shame.

Those shedding crocodile tears must rewind and reflect on conversations conducted prior to the much publicized call being received. Whom did you speak to after receiving highlights of the survey? What advice was given relative the appropriate response? What assurances were made as to what will not appear where? There is a difference between being threatened and feeling threatened!

If you wish to know about threats and about being threatened cast your mind back, to not so long ago, when other persons were perched on Bay Street. Who could forget the fate of Jerry Richards, Don Norville, Winston Worrel, Carl Ince, Cecil Foster, Adrian Sisnett, Don Singh, Mohammad Saied, Julian Rogers, Muriel Sealy, Ricky Singh, Hugh Foster, Peter Greene, Terry Ally, Reudon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne and Keith Goddard, to mention but a few. What was the cause of Oliver Jackman resigning from the Elder Statesmen Advisory Group? Which politician was overheard saying that a former big up in the pine ‘would never get a job in the local media again’?

This writer is not a madman. It takes a lot to get him upset.  But several months of examples of systemic unprofessionalism would have had to come to a head at some stage. One does not know whether the publication has wittingly or innocently permitted itself to be used, but the records are there and can be examined by anyone in search of truth.

You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.

This writer is not intimidated by or afraid of threats and portrayal of being arrogant, vindictive or even anti the freedom of the media. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a media man to the core. This has nothing to do with press freedom. This is all about ‘the connection’.

Let the world press bodies come in search of truth. I want them to investigate ‘the connection’. Would this and could this have happened anywhere else in the world? Let us go global with ‘the connection’. The National Enquirer would love the details. Call the police! Lay the charges! Let’s all go on the witness stand and be cross examined about character, integrity, professionalism and ‘the connection’. I dare you!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

717 responses to “No Threat To Press Freedom It’s All About ‘The Connection’”

1. John you must be a member of the fantastic four. My God can you stretch things!

If you had brought such a case against Barrow you would have lost hands down. White people can never mean all Barbadians. Your dreams of a colourless society is not shared by others or reality. I am happy being coloured.

First good luck finding a black man to bring such a case against ROK. Secondly who is going to believe you that calling someone a COW is capable of stirring up hatred against a certain section of public by distinguishing by colour, race or creed? Would like them to add “or likiness to an animal”? This is what I talked about exotic terms not to be found in the bajan lexicon of racial slurs. Clearly not in law. In fact to be called a COW may make a fella smile and to ask yuh mean Williams?

No the internet is not a public place as per the law, the law will need to be amended to include the internet.

You had a case under the public order act, you should have brought it to court. I think you would have lost because I do not think that there is a precedent for whites or red people in Barbados being targeted as red niggers, and being offended by such a label. Maybe this is the reason you did not take him to court. You did not feel aggreived then as you wish to say now that you were. Are you saying anything to have an argument?

I will not join you is using assumptions when known facts are available. The Slegley’s via their Lawyer Sir Richard thought they had a case to answer and so offered to apologize and to pay damages. They would know better than you and so their actions of guilt will suffice as facts of what transpired.

I am off to bed. Maybe you can do likewise and relax your elasticity that way you can “stretch” anew tomorrow.

2. Adrian

33. (1) A person is guilty of an offence if .
    he uses in any public place or at any public meeting
    words which are threatening, abusive or insulting,
    being matter or words intended or which may reasonably be
    interpreted as likely to stir up or to be capable of stirring up
    hatred against any section of the public in Barbados distinguished
    by colour, race or creed

+++++++++++++++++++

How would this section be applicable to the Highgate case?

Unless the action took place in the public road outside of private property can’t see how this section would apply.

“A person is guilty of an offence if
    he uses in any public place or at any public meeting” …… doesn’t speak to private property, …. I am not a lawyer but I can read.

3. Adrian Hinds // September 7, 2009 at 7:34 PM

Maybe this explains the rush by BFP and the white bajan/canadian lobby to introduce as many exotic terms into the bajan lexicon of racial slurs. Wanting to even things out? Negrocrat and Caucasion are two that comes to mind

You’ve been reading wikepedia ……

“Prior to the shift in the lexicon of American and worldwide classification of race and ethnicity in the late 1960s, the appellation was accepted as a normal completely neutral formal term both by those of Black African descent as well as those of non-African black descent”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negro

Who do you think first started the use the term “Black” for “Negro”?

Do you think it started in the US or in Barbados?

Do you think the American experience with slavery is different from our own?

4. @John
    “Who do you think first started the use the term “Black” for “Negro”?”

Really John. Your elasticity is something else as Adrian noted. You don’t get tired? LOL!

Anyhow, The terms negro and black were simultaneously used all along. Both words mean the same thing. Therefore you may ask which one became of popular usage at what time. Nothing more.

The term black came of popular usage as a counter to the term, white power. This was during and after the civil rights movement in the USA and became known as the Black Power Movement.

A quick look at how both the civil rights movement and the black power movement was muzzled and brought to its knees is an indication of the feeble strides we have made; don’t mind we think we have come a long way.

We still have far to go. I am sure that Marcus Garvey would collapse and die of another heart attack if he came back and saw the condition that we still in.

Barbados for example has a black government but white education and white bureaucracy; Black skin but white minds and white dreams.

Where have we really advanced to?

5. Adrian Hinds, you should stop trying to interpret the law, something which is clearly out of your scope.

6. So, ROK. After nearly 3 days you have not seen fit to address my points as replicated below:
    Rickey George // September 5, 2009 at 10:48 PM
    @ROK, the comment was about the blog and not about an individual. If you want to equate yourself to the blog, then so be it. Something can have a general characteristic without every part having that characteristic.
    On the question ‘Are you saying that slavery was not based on the superiority of the white race as its core value?’ that contention is historically false. Many have written here and elsewhere about the existence of slavery. It is not a white/black exploitation activity. It has many white/white examples (Romans/Britons) and many black/black examples (white Moors/black Haratins). If you know your African history you will know of slavery between different tribes. If you don’t know that history, then time to start learning.
    I too have more than a few decades in banking, but need not be anyone’s resident expert on banking. You clearly do not understand the nature of banking. Plain. It is not a charity and it is not about taking pity on people whose businesses do not succeed. If you want a bank that is a social service then get the government to run it with (your) tax payers money to provide the subisidies that are needed and absorb whatever losses may arise. Those losses will have to be dealt with one day and in the meantime have to be seen as accumulated claims on current or future tax revenue.
    My natural reaction is to say that you agree with them and to move on to use that agreement elsewhere. But I want to be fair before I stick on the labels, and being patient, I want to be sure that a man who is supposed to be representing civil society can be both civil and social. In the meantime, Let’s all try to unravel the ‘mystery’ of thought.

We have your clarion call:

ROK // September 7, 2009 at 5:45 PM
    To all BU Family
    We are taking on intimidation from BFP. They obviously think they have themselves covered but they examine themselves again.
    We cannot be intimidated by them because it would mean that in this day and age, racism still working on us. They don’t have a monopoly on anything. Let them not scare you with law suits and try to govern us down with defamatory posts. They charging others with racism and look what they doing?
    I not going to threaten them with anything, because I think that our men and women should have spine. Don’t let them phase you. I can handle myself; don’t worry about me.
    And then Anonymous September 6, 2009 at 10:48 PM who wrote:
    Rok comes on this blog and he answers everyone who questions him,without any nasty low remarks,but BFP behaviour is sad to say typical bajan white behaviour.
    Finally, we have:

Adrian Hinds // September 7, 2009 at 11:15 AM
    Rickey George you are not important. We have things of national importance to attent too.
    These remarks suggest that ROK is a rock (he has spine). So, all I am seeking to know is whether ROK’s spine can withstand an answer to a set of simple questions and address points that he has raised.

Someone (Anonymous) believes that ROK answers all questions. I say ‘Who you fooling?’

Someone else (Mr. Hinds) feels that by saying that there are ‘things of national importance to attent (sic) too (sic)’ that somehow we can all be like dummies in a freeze frame of a shop window and stand with our mouths agape and say “Tell us more, master.” Is the man for real or a characture?

Nope. Nope. ROK has gone to the world and shown that he can address issues. Look at the YouTube fiilmette:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iorR5pOzKNw&hl=en&fs=1&]

So, ROK, pretty please, answer the questions my good man. That Lodge School training surely did not lead you to be this way. Don’t let down our scholastic tradition, so.

You say in the video “It is what you ingest that makes you what you are”, so I’m hoping you can help we poor people understand what you have ingested. You have provided the perfect link with your remark this morning:
    Barbados for example has a black government but white education and white bureaucracy; Black skin but white minds and white dreams.
    Where have we really advanced to?
    Given what you have ingested and how you have not addressed what seem like simple points, I am thinking now that the last remark is more of a self-description than anything else. Am I wrong?

I have learned the virtue of patience and while I wait, I hope that those whom you represent are not asking why and how is our man at BANGO spending so much time on blogs? Are our civil issues of first or lesser importance?

Many thanks.

7. ROK // September 8, 2009 at 12:40 AM

Anyhow, The terms negro and black were simultaneously used all along. Both words mean the same thing. Therefore you may ask which one became of popular usage at what time. Nothing more.

The term black came of popular usage as a counter to the term, white power. This was during and after the civil rights movement in the USA and became known as the Black Power Movement.

In Barbados I don’t recall seeing any mention of “Black” in any legal documents, wills, deeds, baptismal or marriage certificates etc. “Negro” is used up to emancipation and thereafter not at all.

When I was reading about William du Bois I looked at the titles of his books and publications and saw “Negro” in the very beginning and then he started to use the word “Black”.

Here is a link to wikepedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/W._E._B._Du_Bois

Perhaps Yardbroom can help as I recall he told us has read his works and the speeches of Marcus Garvey

What is interesting is that he and Marcus Garvey had a feud. Here is an extract from wikepedia.

“During the 1920s, Du Bois engaged in a bitter feud with Marcus Garvey. They disagreed over whether African Americans could be assimilated as equals into American society (the view held by Du Bois). Their dispute descended to personal attacks, sometimes based on ancestry. Du Bois wrote, “Garvey is, without doubt, the most dangerous enemy of the Negro race in America and in the world. He is either a lunatic or a traitor.”[17] Garvey described Du Bois as “purely and simply a white man’s nigger” and “a little Dutch, a little French, a little Negro … a mulatto … a monstrosity.”[18]”

8. @John

The word Black became popular in and around the Black Power Movement. How Du Bois get in? We talking about the 1960s when Du Bois would have long joined the old school and probably never used the word black. That was not popular usage in his time.

Again, the word black was used in direct contrast to white power and institutions and its usage became popular in and around the black power movement. Now we are moving away from black to using African or Afro to prefix nationalities.

Let me see how much more your elasticity can stretch, LOL!

9. Rickey, you will be waiting a very long time to get straight answers out of ROK, he is a master obfuscater.

10. ROK

I am suggesting that the writings of William du Bois may have influenced the thinking of the 60’s.

People in America didn’t just wake up one day and decide to promote Black Power.

Universal adult suffrage in Barbados, or free secondary education didn’t appear out of thin air.

Here is a list of his works published. The word Negro is used in most titles but he is using Black long before the 1960’s.
    ——————————————————————————–

Du Bois wrote and published more than 4,000 articles, essays, and books over the course of his 95-year life. Most of these are out of print and hard to find even in their original publications. No edition of his complete works has yet been published. In 1977, Paul G. Partington published a bibliography of Du Bois’s published works, titled W. E. B. Du Bois: A Bibliography of His Published Writings. (Whittier, CA: c.1977, 1979 (rev. ed.)) (privately published). ISBN 0960253815. A supplement was published in 1984, titled W. E. B. Du Bois: A Bibliography of His Published Writings—Supplement. (Whittier, CA: c. 1984), 20 pages. The supplement represented Partington’s research in the Du Bois papers owned by the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

[edit] Books
    Black Reconstruction in America, 1860-1880 by W. E. Burghardt Du Bois, with introduction by Du Bois biographer David Levering Lewis, 768 pages. (Free Press: 1995, reissued from 1935 original) ISBN 0684856573.

The Suppression of the African Slave Trade to the United States of America: 1638–1870 Ph.D. dissertation, 1896, (Harvard Historical Studies, Longmans, Green, and Co.: New York) Full Text

The Study of the Negro Problems (1898)

The Philadelphia Negro (1899)

The Negro in Business (1899)

The Evolution of Negro Leadership.
    The Dial, 31 (July 16, 1901).

The Souls of Black Folk. 1999 [[[1903 in literature|1903]]]. ISBN 0-393-97393-X.

The Talented Tenth, second chapter of The Negro Problem, a collection of articles by African Americans (September 1903).

Voice of the Negro II (September 1905)
    John Brown: A Biography (1909)

Efforts for Social Betterment among Negro Americans (1909)

Atlanta University’s Studies of the Negro Problem (1897-1910)

The Quest of the Silver Fleece 1911

The Negro (1915) (entire text)

Darkwater (1920)

The Gift of Black Folk (1924)

Dark Princess: A Romance (1928)

Africa, Its Geography, People and Products (1930)

Africa: Its Place in Modern History (1930)

Black Reconstruction: An Essay toward a History of the Part Which Black Folk Played in the Attempt to Reconstruct Democracy in America, 1860-1880 (1935)

What the Negro Has Done for the United States and Texas (1936)
    Black Folk, Then and Now (1939)
    Dusk of Dawn: An Essay Toward an Autobiography of a Race Concept (1940)

Color and Democracy: Colonies and Peace (1945)

The Encyclopedia of the Negro (1946)

The World and Africa (1946)

Peace Is Dangerous (1951)

I Take My Stand for Peace (1951)

In Battle for Peace (1952)

The Black Flame: A Trilogy
    The Ordeal of Mansart (1957)

Mansart Builds a School (1959)

Africa in Battle Against Colonialism, Racialism, Imperialism (1960)

Worlds of Color (1961)

An ABC of Color: Selections from Over a Half Century of the Writings of W. E. B. Du Bois (1963)

The World and Africa, an Inquiry into the Part Which Africa Has Played in World History (1965)

The Autobiography of W. E. Burghardt Du Bois (International publishers, 1968)

11. Adrian

Here is an interpretation of the paragraph out of the Public Order Act I dreamt up last night while asleep …. yeah right!!

Instead of looking at the section of the public as determined by notional thoughts on colour and race, let’s define a section of the public as the Goodridge Family.

If you read the blog from back then it is obvious that alot of hatred was expressed toward them, a section of the public.

It is obvious that this family would not have gone to a public place or held a public meeting to utter words to incite hatred against themselves.

….. so, the question is, were such words or matter uttered in a public place or public meeting that were responsible for stirring up this hatred?

You say the Internat is not a public place, I guess from reading the definition of a public place in the public order act, …. but what about a newspaper?

…. and here is another question …. Are the Sedgeleys not a section of the public?

….. and of course, the $64 million question … could anything you have written on the internet be construed as inciting hatred towards them?

12. Bush Tea ask What next?

What next is economic & financial freedom for African Black People from the thieving Europeans.

We the Black population of Barbados have not only the political power but the economic & financial power to cripple the local white bastards,the rat catcher/mango seller Indians & newly arrived nasty Chinese.Those people depend on our patronage of their establishments to survive and live the sweet life in Barbados.If we boycott their businesses they will suffer.

It seems that VOB & Nation Newspaper are beginning to feel the effects of a gradual withdrawal of patronage from their businesses.I observed over the weekend at some of the shops,gas stations & minimarts I visited that a fair amount of weekend Saturday & Sunday Suns newspapers were not sold.Usually around the time I visited those establishments all the weekend newspapers are usually gone.
    VOB is now in the habit of advertising itself constantly on its airwaves.I observed that all the recent surveys carried out, CBC has made significant inroads into VOB popularity in Barbados and as a result panic seems to setting in at that radio station in River Road.Black Barbadians that is a start continue the boycott of the Nation & VOB and extend it further by boycotting all the local businesses operated by the despicable,thieving.,lazy white Barbadians,the rat catcher/mango seller Indians & Pakistani & the emerging nasty Chinese.

I spend my money at only Black owned or operated busiensses.wherever possible.I only compromise when Black owned & operated businesses do not have the products that I require. I will concede that I occassionaly go into Cave Shepherd or Dacosta Mannings for products that I cannot get in Black owned or operated businesses..As a matter of principle I do not ever go into any ratcatcher/mango seller business or any nasty Chinese business.Indians & Chinese will never count a cent of mine.I mean that.My partner & my child know me well and will never take my money and spend it at those people busineses.I will disown both of them.

Black Barbadians the economic & financial power of this country is in our hands let use it wisely.

BUY BLACK,BOYCOTT THE REST

13. @ROK

There is a saying the devil finds work for idle hands. Most Barbadians are familiar with the yeoman work you have done to represent us in your capacity as Intervenor and other civil causes undertaken. Do not let cumyuhs force you to take your eyes off the ball.

Many are watching.

14. David, I jus hope u in referring to me day, u know!! All I did was asked a perfectly normal and civil question which I would expect any normal, decent, law abiding Barbadian citizen to ask – nothing extraordinary, in my view!!

15. Of “Negrocrats”, “Oreos”, “Iggas” and Other Racial Slurs in Barbados
    Posted March 5th, 2006 by Marcus
    Categories: Politics & Corruption, Barbados, Culture & Race Issues
    Since we started mentioning racial issues at Barbados Free Press, we have received more than a few letters and comments from Bajans and others urging us to continue the dialogue – which (they say) is missing in the mainstream Barbados media.

In response to our “Blogs Discuss Barbados Holetown Festival, Racism and Cabinet Shuffles”, where we published a piece by Stella lamenting some racial difficulties, we received this post from a reader…

16. Can anyone recall what year, what month and date, that BFP came online?

17. @AH: “Can anyone recall what year, what month and date, that BFP came online?

I may be answering a rhetorical question, but according to the “Internet Archive Wayback Machine”, it was first archived 2006.03.06.

The archive is of an Entry, as you mentioned in your above, by Marcus dated March 5th, 2006, with your aforementioned title.

http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/

…for details….

18. @AH… Sigh…

I spoke too soon.

BFP first appeared on the Internet 2006.01.17 (January 17th, 2006).

The Entry title was “Welcome to Barbados Free Press

The entry body was “Welcome to Barbados Free Press

“If you have stumbled upon our web site, well, we’re not quite ready yet. Give us another few days to get organized around here… maybe even a week or so if our co-editor doesn’t stop bringing a case ‘a Banks to work every day. Could be worse, I guess – could be rum. Now if we could just figure out how to meet the Banks Girl somewhere other than on the brewery website…

The first Entry with real content was 2006.01.17, titled “Prime Minister Owen Arthur Opens a New Can of Paint – To Cover Old Corruption

See http://web.archive.org/web/20060324070818/barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2006/01/

19. I got it Chris Halsall. Thanks!

20. @Adrian…

This same knowledge is available on BFP itself (in their Archives). It’s good to have it confirmed by an independent source, though….

21. I remember way back when discussing the term Negrocrat with you on BFP.

We go back a long way!!!

We used to have some real epic tussles!!

I remember people swore you were a DLP agent …. or was it BLP …. long long time ago and you swore BFP was a DLP blog … or was it BLP …. seems unimportant now.

Brings back pleasant memories.

Took me a while to figure out how the blogging thing worked but enjoyed the experience from the time I started and still get a kick out of it.

In those days it was Barbados Forum, which I tried, but found too complicated and then BFP which was more my speed.

22. John, Chris and Adrian, re: your last 3 posts; do u think they’re examples of what David described mine as, ‘tangenital-ramblings’! It seems that I’m not the only culprit!!

Chris, the expression on the face of your picture’s making me sick!! PLEASE change it!! I can’t avoid seeing it!!

Laaaaaddddddddd!!

23. @Bimbo…

Try closing your eyes….

24. ROK-A-FELLA, you have now successfully shown that you are as I suspected: not a man with spine at all. I have read with interest the recent little cameo piece on BFP and I have seen that you have bitten yourself hard to stop going ‘over there’ to take them on. That must be difficult, because you are usually so, so, fullsome. But on the matter of how you see race and racism, the cat seems to have gotten your tongue, or its digital equivalent.

What is interesting is that you seem ready to lead a charge against what you say are unfounded charges to do with your ‘amateur’ status. It’s not clear if your issue is with your being an amateur or if you are a professional in the arts that are claimed.

Now, for public officials, even those in NGOs, there is a moral necessity to keep the public comfortable. So, we have this to look forward to: “BANGO head says he is…”‘ “BANGO head found to be involved with…” and so on. I heard that at least one of the papers is interested in looking more into the BFP story.

Which do you prefer, that this appear as a letter to the Advocate or to the Nation? I do not want you to feel that there is any racial preference when the letter is published and for good measure a few choice extracts from some of your blog postings. I do not know if your BANGO position is covered by government money, but if it is I think that “Calvin Citizen” will be calling on you to stop wasting we money.

If you want to deal with the issues rather than another long run through whether Dubois had anything to do with it, just let yourself go, man.

The chicken is out of the bag and the cat is already running with the mice. The sands of time have ticked long enough for you and now complaints will be LODGED. Schooling is important and yours should have taught you better. Remember the old school motto: Possunt Quia Posse Videntur (They can because they think they can).

25. Just for a little morning sport. Adrian Hinds thinks that he (who has changed his identity at least 3 times in the last two weeks) is seeing a doppleganger. You like research–much of it seems to go nowhere but into some big file on the floor; so tell us the origin and real meaning of ‘Fool yourself once…’.

26. @Rickey George
    Remember that chickens always come home to roost even those who are a cross between a Singh and a Brathwaite.

27. @Rickey George

You and your cohorts are a slimy bunch who feel you can do anything and get away with it. I do not contribute to BFP and will never even visit that blog site again. Here is where you will find me.

What you have done is so typical of cowards. I can see how you are all laughing now… but you know what we say about who laughs last?

Let me say though that what you have done represents a political threat to freedom of speech. Of course you don’t care about that because your aim is to shut up people and use whatever means necessary to do it. That is what dictatorships do.

You try to label people racists and under that guise you use a racist tactic to try to shut me up, but anybody that knows anything at all about me will tell you that I don’t pay too much attention to what people think about me. I know who I am and therefore the effect that you think you have, you do not.

All you have been trying to do is come to this blog and lure BU family into saying things out of vexation; like you do with Negroman and then with Bonny. You try to force everybody to answer your questions simply because you think you made them mad enough to say the ridiculous.

BU family has shown the likes of you much hospitality and much tolerance and must be highly complimented for their maturity in dealing with the likes of the bully you make out yourself to be. You are a human, lest you start to truly believe that you are thrash and then compliment it by acting like thrash with your sinister ploys.

Your tone is despicable like a little boy pulling at another to try to get him to strike back. Or like a nagging wife trying to get her way. It seems that you have not gotten past being a schoolboy; but let me tell you that a lot of what you get away with as a schoolboy is serious business in the adult world. Try to get across the bridge.

28. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

ROK

Doesn’t this action and threat remind you of someone who did a similar thing recently?

29. Freedom of speech brings responsibilities.

All freedoms are like that.

I don’t always re read everything I write so I am no paragon but sometimes re- reading and re-interpreting what you say is worthwhile, especially before you hit submit.

These blogs are a “permanent” record of our conversations, unlike a verbal exchange.

The record is also public.

ROK, you need to re read and re interpret what you write before you hit submit.

Forget the personal affront of challenges to your cherished beliefs, see where there are merits in the challenge and move on.

Fight where you know you are right and never let go.

Responding in anger does you nor anyone else any good.

You held some licks, …. we all do, although not the sort you got,

….. so re look your various positions, decide if any need changing, make the change

…. and come again as a fresh ROK.

You are a tough cookie, …. just get tougher.

Tighten up on your choice of strokes and don’t flash wildly, no matter what sort of ball you get.

You do not know the ability of any of us you blog with, don’t disrespect it because you are confident in your own.

There is always the possibility that there is an Ajantha Mendis in our midst and when you go playing for turn there may be none.

Hope you take these words in the spirit they are given

…. but that is not to say that if you say something I feel strongly about or which I feel is wrong, I won’t respond ……. vigourously.

Gone for now.

30. John has been on the first person posting on BFP along with one JDID. They know who is behind BFP.

31. Chris, Laaaddddddd!! den, how would I see to read ur invaluable scripts!!

Dat nuf fair!!

32. ROK

Stay strong, I am grateful to CH, you and others who have taken the fight to all the institutions who thought that me the ordinary person should’nt have a voice!

Ignore these scrupulous characters who are trying to corner you……….

I longggggg for the day when I can know myself like Adrian, Hopi, GP, Pat Bonny and others on this forum ……

What has them is that you don’t have to wait on them for you and yours too eat LOL!

That got them VEX here!

Fight that good fight ROK!

33. JC we will not ignore them. We are going to take the fight to them.

34. David // September 9, 2009 at 6:36 AM

@Rickey George
    Remember that chickens always come home to roost even those who are a cross between a Singh and a Brathwaite.
    ————————————————-

Rickey George is a Guyanese Indian trying to be a black man?????

35. JC, thanks for the compliment of referring to us as “scrupulous” characters.

36. Rickey George // September 9, 2009 at 6:19 AM

Just for a little morning sport. Adrian Hinds thinks that he (who has changed his identity at least 3 times in the last two weeks) is seeing a doppleganger. You like research–much of it seems to go nowhere but into some big file on the floor; so tell us the origin and real meaning of ‘Fool yourself once…’.
    ————————————————-

Yes I do change my handle from time to time, I am not clever or good at it, and there is nothing sinister about it either. I will explain.

From time to time I feel the need to post something on BFP. They have effectively banned my name and all the variations of it that I have used in addition to handles with Tall or boy or both in it. I always seem to forget to remove whatever handle I was successfull in using at BFP when I return to BU. I have nothing to Hide.

I do not often find it necessary to respond to or mention you in my postings, yet you cannot do the same for me. lol!

It is already established that you are the learnt fellow and I am not. What could be the reason for your continued sniping at me? Everybody knows according to you, Inkwell, Mongoose, LIB Georgie Porgie and others that I am intellectually challenged.

Was I suppose to accept this and go away?

Uh mean if Rickey George is really George C Brathwaite, I have not commented on your picture and the face presented therein. I have accepted you as a rather ugly fellow for It could have been me so endowed.

Anyone:

Is there any accepted relationship between the names Rhonda and Shona? Like Bob or Rob is the shorten version of Robert. Or Sippee (sip-pee) is short for Cipriano?

Also does anyone know if there are any pilots or flying enthusiasts in Barbados with the last name Lucas?

37. JC we know you did not call any names, and apparently there seems not be a need.

38. @JC

Thanks for the encouragement. You know that I am going to continue to fight the good fight.

Note that the cap fit Scrouge. LOL!

39. @MUBB
    Very much so.

40. Neither Adrian Hinds or ROK spend much time reading what they or others write. Instead they ride off in pursuit of persons and personalities behind the comments. So miss the meat because you are trying to determine what kind of bread it is in. ROK, you have an issue to deal with concerning your views on race and racism. Just read the points and then you can proceed to “Go”. ROK also has a public duty to perform and more and more people are asking how he is doing that if he is blogging all hours of the day.

Adrian Hinds can spend less time researching endlessly and make a note of ‘who’ he is today and what his handle is. If he is not trying to fool anyone then what is the purpose of changing name so often. Read what you write and see if it makes any sense.

One you have done with ‘Fool me once…’, you have to move to ‘Fool me twice…”

Do not read between the lines. That is just white space. Read the words. Assume that this is the hand of the PM typing. You never know.

41. @John

Thanks for your wise counsel. Yes, there is surely responsibilities which come with rights & freedoms. We could write many essays on that.

I heard the former Deputy PM complaining about blogs but to my mind, she did not phrase her charge properly. The impression was that she was totally against blogs but it is not the blogs themselves but the wickedness to which people could get up to using blogs.

I think she created a lot of resistance by throwing out the baby with the bath water, if that is what she did. I am simply speaking from impressions I get on hearing and reading what people had to say about her comments.

I like that Google decision. You can be anonymous but you can’t use your anonymity to spread untruths and defame people. Based on that decision alone, it sends a message that there is a responsibility to being anonymous and that the society will not tolerate anonymity if there is not accountability for one’s actions.

42. Adrian Hinds // September 9, 2009 at 8:33 AM

John has been on the first person posting on BFP along with one JDID. They know who is behind BFP.
    ++++++++++++++++++

Sorry Adrian, but I can’t help you.

Not sure if I really want to either.

BFP led the way and set the standards for others to follow and gave Bajans of all walks of life the ability to vent their spleen ….. within reason!!

I have alot of respect for that blog.

BTW, can’t rememeber if I came and found you on BFP or you came and found me!!

Should be possible to check …. and if you do, let me know!!

43. I not surprise by your comments. Not in the least. I don’t think you could bring yourself to help me with anything about BFP. My VERIFICATION of Indentities will be completed without your help, and in the end even your real Identity will be known to me.

44. Adrian

A man’s got to do what a man’s got to do.

45. Indeed. I have to disappear for while. See you around in a month or two.

46. Adrian

I’ll leave you with this.

My identity is known to persons who can do me far more harm than you can and they got to know it because I told them.

If you use proper channels to also get in the know you will be doing me, and many others, including yourself, an immense favour.

Good luck, good hunting and God speed.

See you.

Walk the walk, don’t take shortcuts.

47. @Ricky George:

No I will not stop searching, and investigating, no I will not.

Maybe the hand of the PM, certainly not the face. Only one person can have a face like George C Brathwaite if indeed you are GCB.

I don’t quite follow what you said. Is it that I have to patronize someone or join some clique to get information?

What are “proper” channel? what does this mean?

48. Adrian

I thought you had started out on your quest.

I was just wishing you God speed and pointing out your quest would be beneficial to all and sundry.

I’ll see you when I see you

…. and I’ll explain, but come prepared to listen …. ask questions and discuss ….

….. not to tell me to whatever it was you told me the other day!!

If you really do walk the walk you might not even need to meet me!!

49. Adrian Hinds, ‘John’ gave some good advice in writing ‘My identity is known to persons who can do me far more harm than you can and they got to know it because I told them.

If you use proper channels to also get in the know you will be doing me, and many others, including yourself, an immense favour.’

Scurrying around and find the already found is really not a lot of help to anyone though it can give you some pleasure, it seems. But life has to have purpose and ferretting around isn’t really a good human one. Try to help rather than whelp.

And pay attention to significant details, or you will often fall over your feet (so it is RICKEY, not Ricky). It may matter one day.

50. David, a lot of people have commented about how you have let the blog become what it has. A lot of long talk about governance and freedom of speech and expression but little evidence of any of that in the way the blog is run by you.

You have ‘persons’ like ROK rolling out interminable nonsense and sitting pretty and high taking the attitude that answering and saying something sensible is beneath him. All of the stuff he has written about race and the sex slaves andyou seem to have no moral view to offer?

You let little Sherlock Holmes and other commentators go around threatening people as if that is alright with you? Shame on you.

Maybe I will take a leave just like Adrian Hinds and find better pastures to feed on. What will Adrian Hinds do when he has nothing to copy and paste here? I hear that Boston is looking for a new senator. Let’s lobby for his election.