Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Barbadians are truly ‘something else’. The hundreds of calls, texts and mails I have received over the past four days suggest that I need not say very much in response to certain allegations, because people already know about ‘the connection’.

I thought I had stumbled upon a dark, grey secret with respect to why a certain person enjoys seemingly unfettered access to a particular publication, week in and week out. But every mode and means of communication has been used in recent days to convey to me graphic details of ‘the connection’. What I thought was a piece of ‘hot, juicy news’ turned out to be ‘a particle of rich history’; for Sam Cuch, the Duppy and their in-laws know all about ‘the connection’.

‘The connection’ apparently did not start yesterday, last month or even last year. ‘The connection’ has been ongoing for years now and apparently has been a rocky road for one, characterized, as has now become the norm with cohorts of the aggressor, by an enormous amount of abuse. I am hearing now of blows to the face, blows to the head, blows about the body and even attempts at slitting the wrist. I am also told of the entry of a company head honcho into the “ling”, and the moving out and moving in with the said heavy roller. This heavy roller must be packing a mean punch, kick and especially lick to have two bosses in so pitiful a state, lying prostrate at every beck and call.

That an institution, so once revered and respected, would permit itself to be used and manipulated in so vulgar a fashion is amazing. The foreign owners really need to come to Bim and investigate the moral cesspool that has developed within those walls. It is no longer what it once was. It no longer serves the purpose for which it was created.

Not everyone on the inside is willing to look the other way. The fact that I know of the telephone conversation that preceded the now well publicized call, indicates that not everyone is in agreement with that which is going on. There is gratitude to this writer for bringing certain truths to light.

There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples. “Run the desk for me. Tonight is my night, tomorrow is yours”…and up to the nest they go. The whole thing makes Sodom and Gomorrah look like students of theology. In return, the heavy roller gets prominence on demand.

There was no threat to anyone! There was an appeal for fairness and professionalism. There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication. Little did one know that the entire world, it would appear, was already appraised of the sordid details of the three way connection that has brought a most noble profession to shame.

Those shedding crocodile tears must rewind and reflect on conversations conducted prior to the much publicized call being received. Whom did you speak to after receiving highlights of the survey? What advice was given relative the appropriate response? What assurances were made as to what will not appear where? There is a difference between being threatened and feeling threatened!

If you wish to know about threats and about being threatened cast your mind back, to not so long ago, when other persons were perched on Bay Street. Who could forget the fate of Jerry Richards, Don Norville, Winston Worrel, Carl Ince, Cecil Foster, Adrian Sisnett, Don Singh, Mohammad Saied, Julian Rogers, Muriel Sealy, Ricky Singh, Hugh Foster, Peter Greene, Terry Ally, Reudon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne and Keith Goddard, to mention but a few. What was the cause of Oliver Jackman resigning from the Elder Statesmen Advisory Group? Which politician was overheard saying that a former big up in the pine ‘would never get a job in the local media again’?

This writer is not a madman. It takes a lot to get him upset.  But several months of examples of systemic unprofessionalism would have had to come to a head at some stage. One does not know whether the publication has wittingly or innocently permitted itself to be used, but the records are there and can be examined by anyone in search of truth.

You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.

This writer is not intimidated by or afraid of threats and portrayal of being arrogant, vindictive or even anti the freedom of the media. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a media man to the core. This has nothing to do with press freedom. This is all about ‘the connection’.

Let the world press bodies come in search of truth. I want them to investigate ‘the connection’. Would this and could this have happened anywhere else in the world? Let us go global with ‘the connection’. The National Enquirer would love the details. Call the police! Lay the charges! Let’s all go on the witness stand and be cross examined about character, integrity, professionalism and ‘the connection’. I dare you!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

717 responses to “No Threat To Press Freedom It’s All About ‘The Connection’”

1. @Banker
    “They do. It may not be in big print, but they have scales of charges.”

You are telling me what I know must exist but the point is I have never seen it in big or small print; you are simply charged and money taken. As far as I am concerned that is a crime. Taking the money is certainly breaking and entering and the fact that customers do not know when it happens or when these charged are raised is not in keeping with good business practices at all.

2. @Rickey George

You seem to be another chapter of one LIB and I am not getting into any semantics with you or no brow beating with you. No wonder you sound like a white man. You need brain surgery; something loose up there. You paying too much sin-tax.

3. A Banker

The central bank may need to get them to make them more visible and for a customer to sign a form showing that they have been seen and read, and understood
    If you open an individual account at a Bank in Canada you are required to sign a document stating that you understand the rules relating to the operation of the account, I am not sure if this pertains to business accounts (but it doesn’t stop people from complaining when they are socked with charges).

ROK

Initially you wrote about the challenges small businesses face with accessing funds deposited to their account via cheques. I suggested a possible solution in my response, but how do you know that the complaints against the banks are legitimate? After all it is not unheard of for people to blame others for problems of their own making..

The reality is that many people are unprepared to operate businesses, they have no plan and don’t have a clue on how they will pay their bills during those first few months when expenses are likely to exceed revenue, they then blame “the bank” for their problems.

The PM recently called for financial literacy for consumers, he should have included small businessmen in that call.

4. We continue to focus on what is irrelevant. Is there a culture in Barbados which allows SMEs to prosper? We always go down the road that small businesses need to learn how to run a business, in turn we say about the banks that their only responsibility is to their shareholders. In developed markets banks have units highly trained in the sector of small business. In other words it should not be about selling an account it should be about understanding the business and working with that business as a partner. The small business sector because of its peculiarity requires a different approach by banks, what will make them change? If the banks put the structure to work with SMEs they will get the return they are looking for.

The bottom line, given the significant percentage of small businesses which make up the whole it is a problem which will not go away. It explains why the credit union movement has been growing so rapidly. The fear in the BU household is the credit union will do the hard work and the banks will snap these businesses up when they finally wake up.

5. David

The small business sector because of its peculiarity requires a different approach by banks, what will make them change? If the banks put the structure to work with SMEs they will get the return they are looking for
    Sure I agree that the Banks need to understand the business of its clients but are you placing all the onus on the Banks? What about the clients? Don’t they need to understand their business? Banks will work with businessmen who are prepared and come armed with a plan or a sense of direction as to where their business is going, they are not in the business of coaching from the ground up.

“If you fail to prepare be prepared to fail”

6. @Sargeant
    Suggest you do a Google of case studies featuring micro financing, you maybe surprised at what you find. Many countries around the world recognise that many small businesses are challenged to access finance in the traditional form and many forward thinking markets have started to target this sector recognizing its limitations but importantly its potential When the potential is unleashed then poor people become fishermen and not have to depend on handouts. Who do you think wins?

7. @Sargeant

I am speaking to you from first hand experience. I ran two varieties, a bakery, a mill and a restaurant all at one time in different locations.

The bank refused to give me an overdraft but kept charging me for bounced cheques. If somebody wrote a cheque to you which bounces the bank charges you and then turns around and charge the person that wrote the cheques too.

In most of the cases it is a question of cash flow and bounced cheques are not the domain of small businesses alone; any business that does not have an overdraft facility will ultimately at some time or other find themselves with bounced cheques.

What is baffling about this situation is that it cost less to have an overdraft facility and this is available to large businesses which can more afford to pay.

One can only come to the conclusion that the reason for not offering small businesses an overdraft is because they can be easily disqualified based on the lack of wealth and money. We go back to the core values of banking which objective is to keep out those who don’t have. This then gives the bank an opportunity to collect maybe as much as a hundred times more revenue in penalties from people who can’t afford it.

I contend that if a business can handle paying penalties for bounced cheques, they would do a lot better with an overdraft. I also contend that penalties for bounced are not legal and as a matter of fact, it cannot cost the bank much more to handle a bounced check than a good one. So once I pay for my cheques, there should be no more charges otherwise we talking penalties. The test here is to ask the bank what costs are incurred when a cheque bounces? If the answer is none, then the bank has not legal basis for charging their customers.

The other question is, what right does the bank have to charge penalties? Is it a legal right? Is it a moral right?

I hear you loud and clear, but unless we get down to details and analyse, we will not get anywhere. We need to examine banking principles and culture to see where they have created myths under the guise of principles and practice, as a means of shutting out SMEs.

8. @Sargeant
    “…but are you placing all the onus on the Banks? What about the clients? Don’t they need to understand their business?”

No onus is being placed on the bank. What is happening here is that the banks have developed hard and fast rules which they stick to and which are not in the interest of their customers.

This thing about a business plan, etc. is part of the charade. Recently, the FTC made a ruling on the way banks were sending their customers to buy services as a requirement for loans and mortgages because they were not giving customers a choice.

Previously the FTC was saying that the banks are regulated by the Central Bank but we have been able to show that not all matters are regulated by the CB; such as standards of services, etc. This is therefore very encouraging and we believe that we will find more to leverage against the banks in the Consumer Protection legislation.

9. David

Suggest you do a Google of case studies featuring micro financing, you maybe surprised at what you find

Are you suggesting that the Barbados on the cusp of First World status with a per capita income of US $9800 and a society with free education from primary to tertiary level, and where the Chancellor of the University has expressed the hope of having a University graduate in every household. A Barbados with a claim of 97% literacy, that this Barbados should approach the problems of the small business sector by applying the lessons of micro financing?

Is this the same micro financing that is applied in places like Bangladesh or the poverty stricken countries of South America and Africa? Point me to those examples you cite so I can see if we are talking about the same thing.

10. Ur credibility is zero david.

Done gone.

Talkin bout banks. What is the topic of the thread?

man ROK ruined you.

11. @Sargeant

What do you think we should call a hotdog/popcorn seller? A backyard chicken farmer. The housewife who sells from her house or van and we could go on. Those people are businesses but they often are not seen as such.

12. @David
    “Is there a culture in Barbados which allows SMEs to prosper?”

Yes. Consumerism but not otherwise. We support everything and everybody until the service or product becomes uncompetitive or becomes unpopular.

I have found myself on several occasions opening the doors of a new establishment. Ordinary average Barbadians walk in with the expressed purpose of seeing what they could buy or to see what is selling so they could come back when they have money.

The easiest thing you can do is build a business. The most difficult part is keeping your doors opened. People will tolerate the fact that you are new, but if you are not able to maintain and expand your stock, you hit rock bottom.

This is not the same with the system. There is no culture within the financial sector that assists the SMEs and actually the banking system creates huge cash flow problems under the guise of facilitating their customers.

1. to wait five days for a cheque to clear is ridiculous.
    2. systems that allow debit facilities are not being encouraged among SMEs; maybe the initial cost is prohibitive.
    3. systems that allow use of credit card facilities also don’t seem to be readily available to SMEs.

Maybe SMEs, especially micro businesses, have not explored these facilities; or maybe they are discouraged in some way.

The bottom line is that the culture of consumerism is sufficient of a base to justify support for SMEs.

13. @BU Family…

Here are a few more questions, and observations:

1. Why, *exactly*, does it take so long for cheques to clear here in Barbados (and many other places)?

1.1. As argued, and agreed to above, any Consumer can instantly withdraw funds from their own account here in Barbados through another Barbados Bank’s ATM machine (for a fee).

1.2. So, why they, exactly, can Consumer’s not exchange funds between themselves similarly instantaneously?

1.3. Given points 1., 1.1 and 1.2 above, is it not interesting that the Banks charge their own Customers (and others) serious penalties when cheques “bounce”?

2. As the borrower pays much more interest than the lender is paid, do the Banks benefit from this temporal latency? (Known as “arbitrage”, in the industry.)

3. Are we not being told by (all) our Governments that “the money has to flow again”. So why, then, exactly, are those whose business is Money not particularly able to facilitate the flow?

4. Could it, perhaps, be because there’s money to be made?

5. BU.David… Might this Banking issue not be “forked” into an independent Blog? It is an important issue to discuss openly, with many half truths being told by some (IMHO)….

14. @ROK

Sorry to be off topic. But the dogs at BFP have their next “big hit” article up. It is about you.

15. @Pat

So I hear. These guys real jealous of BU? I really don’t want to go over there. Somebody is here trying to convince me that I should.

16. @Pat: Dogs? BFP has merely taken “pearls of wisdom” from ROK and reproduced them. Wooooooof!

17. That article as is becoming the usual at BFP is pure nonsense.

What did ROK say:

So, knowing this, there are some white men who recruit white girls, especially, anywhere from 14 yrs and up to 20. Give them a supposedly prize vacation to the Caribbean in an all inclusive destination. Then these men solicit the better off black men to pay them to come to the resort in droves for these girls.

Right now, I know of at least three tours going on in the Caribbean; ….. None that I know of in Barbados this year; all gone to Jamaica.

SO WHY WOULD ROK GO THE RBPF?

Once again this a story about a WHITE BAJAN that BFP is trying to pin on a Black man. As you know WHITES CAN DO NO WRONG FOR BFP.

Keltruth blog said the following…….
    There was the Geoffrey Ullyett case. Ullyett of Barbados, “did not plead to the charge that between October 23 and December 4, for the purpose of gain, he exercised control over the movement of Ukranians Olha Sheherbakova and Anzhela Pantelo in a way that showed that he aided and abetted in prostitution.” Nation News Archives. It has been rumoured, but never substantiated, that Ullyett had some very powerful clients who exercised their influence over the Barbados courts. See the resolution of this and other Bajan cases in the next section.

http://keltruthblog.com/blog/?p=466

To see a picture of this WHITE BAJAN

http://bajan.wordpress.com/?s=ullyett

click on the title to get to the article.

———————————————-

Any time wunnuh see a car on Barbados roads with the license plates T5363 check fuh any young white women and call the police Although they cannot do anything about it.

The constitution and laws do not specifically prohibit trafficking in persons. Although laws against slavery, forced labor or other crimes could be applied, no trafficking cases were prosecuted. There were reports that persons were trafficked to the country.

ALSO:

There is no statute specifically prohibiting sexual tourism, and no statistics on it, but anecdotal evidence suggested that it occurred.

18. @AH
    I have to give you full marks. Actually, when I reported the matter to Scotland Yard, they told me they could not do a thing. The conspiracy starts right there but the act is perpetrated in Jamaica which has lax laws on those matters.

Barbados is not attractive because we do not have and do not encourage nude beaches. This thing apparently happens on the beach.

This thread has gone far off topic… but I think that what BFP did was malice. Check the headline: “Protected By”. I need to challenge that.

19. Indeed what they have done can easily bring a challenged of defamation to the operators of BFP. Which reminds me that I may have retrieved some old information that I believed points towards one Marcus Thompson and a Shona nee Cheltenham, as being associated with BFP. There is some information about a cliverton person having attended a college in Massachusetts.

20. Wow! went over to BFP and responded. They still have it under moderation but here is the text:

You guys are pathetic. You really jealous of BU; yes fellas; all the way to Scotland Yard. has not happened in Barbados and is not the jurisdiction of our authorities. Barbados is being shunned because of the lack of nude beaches.

You guys had better be careful. This can be construed as an act of malice, especially when it was stated that this is not in Barbados. Why then are you calling for the RBPF to be involved? What can they do? It looks as though you are using this perpetrate the malice. You stated emphatically that it is protected by me. I leave you to figure it out. Don’t be surprised if this backfires on you.

21. Ebenezer // September 6, 2009 at 9:08 PM

@Pat: Dogs? BFP has merely taken “pearls of wisdom” from ROK and reproduced them. Wooooooof!

Dogs alright. Why did they not release my post on the “white trash” thread bout the real trash that lives up in Nova Scotian, in response to a comment from one Haligonian that they and their whit trash would not be coming to Barbados?

Is it because the trash is white? Villages of inbreeders reproducing nothing but imbeciles!

Why did they not print my post about racism against blacks in Halifax schools? Why did they not publish anything about the destruction of Africsville?

I will tell you why. It involved white people. BFP IS THERE TO DESTROY BARBADOS AND DENIGRATE BLACKS!

@ AH

I knew you had that information years ago when I blogged on Barbados Forum. Time to go public, I say.

22. Gosh ROK, and BU.David…

I’m jealous…

All I ever get from BFP is the occasional complement or acknowledgement, and my (rare) comment either immediately passing through, or being released from Moderation within minutes…

Obviously I’m not doing as good a job as you are… Keep it up!

Seriously….

23. AH you have real inside scoops. Is Desmond Bourne a principal in BFP? The writing and topics are pure Bournesque. The incentuous connection between BFP and Ian Air Bourne is a lead not to be ignored in fingering the Jivin Around guy Dessie Bourne. Over to you AH.

24. Rok

The BFP I am ssure you are begining to realise is a very racist anti-black blog that was set up with one agenda,to get government to do their bidding.

I am convinced that the bloggers on BFP are made up mainly of those associated with the Keltruth Blog,of which Pied piper aka Ebenezer is the ring leader.

That association who post under mutiple names include:jason,west side davie,reality check,pied piper,red lake lassie,Montreal or some other supposedly overseas blogger.

They are generally at best about 2 persons in there.

Read their one or 2 liners and you will pick up my drift.

Then pied piper not satisfied with her mischief runs over here at BU and posts as Ebenezer and some of the other fictitious names.

If shona cheltenham is really a black bajan married to a white american,then I say shame on you for encouraging your foreign husband to denigrate the name of this country which gave you free education and free health care,just because you feel smug being married to a white man.

Girl,find your identity please,and stop living through the eyes of someone else.

BFP has gone too far this time in trying to tarnish the name of roosevelt king.

Rok comes on this blog and he answers everyone who questions him,without any nasty low remarks,but BFP behaviour is sad to say typical bajan white behaviour.

I am very disappointed tonight.At least I thought one person in the group would have stopped this behaviour.

25. Anonymous // September 6, 2009 at 10:48 PM

BFP behaviour is sad to say typical bajan white behaviour.
    ————————————
    Spot on.
    The posts at BFP are strikingly typical of what you hear from the mouths of Bajan whites in their restaurants, bars, hardware stores and so on.

It is the way they speak ,think ,act.

Bajan whites definitely big part of BFP. Dont rule out Bizzy in there either.

26. From the U.S. House of Representatives Report on Jonestown Findings May 15, 1979

According to this report Jim Jones engaged in:

# Rumor spreading in an attempt to ruin reputations or generally implant disinformation, thereby making true facts difficult if not impossible to establish…

# Intense public relations efforts ranging from letter-writing campaigns to attempted control of news media in an effort to influence public opinion…

…like-wise, an aggressive program of seeking out political leaders and other influential members of a community in order to cull their favor and establish identification with them.

Who de cap fit, let him wear it.

27. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I do not believe Bizzy is a part of BFP.

However I believe BFP are certainly white bajans.

I wonder when white bajans will learn to live in harmony with black bajans and stop sterotyping them.

Whites feel that all blacks want a handout,or are lazy etc.

To be fair there are sterotypes blacks have of whites too,like they all have money,or class or that they all hate blacks.

However whereas blacks are willing to reach out and understand their fellow white countrymen,whites operate an almost apartheid system in Barbados,plastering a false grin on their face when they are surronded by blacks in a strange place and are feeling scared but instead there is no smile.

An insincere grin which they will not show you if they are in their white circles with their white friends.

Have you noticed white people when they are in Company with their own pretend they don’t see blacks who they know either through school,work or other social interaction?

This is why I have respect for Bizzy,he did something that upset the bajan elite white circle by marrying an ordinary,black bajan woman.

Note,not a high brown bajan,or a black bajan with money,but an average girl from a working class family.

I wish he and his wife well in this apartheid barbadian society.

28. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

6 para – last line -should read – but inside there is no smile.

29. ‘mash up’, here’a little tip for all wunna big-brain Bajans who tink wunna suh cleva! Looka, tek it from me dat every 5 yr ole school-boy an girl know in Inglan to check yuh work before yuh han it in, so, if yuh never learn dah in Bim leh me tell yuh it now! Yuh will do everybody a favour uh wondering wha d france yuh did mean an having to read an re-read wha d ***** yuh said or meant to say, before driving anybody mad and having to say, ‘I meant to say, dis, dat an d udda’! Nuhbody in intristed in yuh excuses! Get it right d firse time!! Dave too nice tuh tell yuh so I gun tell yuh fuh he! Have n’t u noticed my posts hardly ever contain any errors and, dat’s duh reason!! Elementary!! Ud think d ‘so-call’ big-brain Bajees would know dat, would n’t u!! mock sticks!!

30. Chris, if u DID have to post a pic could n’t u find a better one to submit! D look pun your face jus mek me want to **** each time!! Is that how u look at ur wife?!!

31. I know ull say it’s ‘off-topic’ but protest I should have the right to come here without being made to feel sick!!

32. ‘mash up’, plus, it’s just sheer good-manners!! Remember them, in Bim of old?!!

33. Mash up & buy back: Why do you keep holding conversations with yourself? Do you really think that people can’t see that the anonymous conversation above and a number of others is, in fact, you? The very thing that you accuse others of, is what you have been engaging in. This is a tactic of yours that got you banned over at BFP and this is really the source of your pettiness and anger over at BFP. You were caught red-handed over ay BU using multiple handles and setting up conversations with yourself.

34. Helping to raise the stadards of written communication in Bim!! 🙂

35. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bimbro

Please go and take your medication.

36. David, why are all of my posts going to moderation and then never seeing the light of day? Is this your new position on “freedom of speech”?

37. Barbados Free Press is for those white canadians/bajans and the ones at home. The only story of a Pimp in Barbados has as it’s principle character, a WHITE BAJAN, and Rather than deal with this BFP ignores it and the so called “truth” blog could only mention the story 2-3 years after it occurs. But WHITE BFP takes the cake by ignoring the alleged WHITE CRIMINAL to focus on a BLACK man with a flimsy article base on false accociations. WHITE PEOPLE CAN DO NO WRONG FOR BFP.

The truth is WHITE BAJANS break the countries Laws with impunity and merely recieves a court appearance and possible a fine. Nothing more.

Peter Morgan publicaly destroys crown property and the police reluctently charge him some three weekes after.

White Lawyer Greenidge beats a black citizen while calling him a nigger and gets away with it.

A white tourist and British hooligan soccer player hurls racial slurs at black motorist and gets away with it.

A

38. Adrian Hinds // September 7, 2009 at 8:27 AM

A white tourist and British hooligan soccer player hurls racial slurs at black motorist and gets away with it.

++++++++++++++++++

What exactly was the racial slur, how did it break the law, and what happened to make you say they got away with it?

BTW, why do you use the term “hooligan”?

39. John I have been meaing to say this to you for a some time. FUCK OFF. I would love to say it to your face. Care to meet? or have a telephone conversation?

40. Adrian Hinds // September 7, 2009 at 9:14 AM

John I have been meaing to say this to you for a some time. F off. I would love to say it to your face. Care to meet? or have a telephone conversation?

What I had intended to say, was moderated.

41. “John I have been meaing to say this to you for a some time. FUCK OFF. I would love to say it to your face. Care to meet? or have a telephone conversation?”

The above is a typical Adrian Hinds response when a white person asks a perfectly reasonable question. I have no doubt whatsoever, that if the same questions had been asked by one of his black buddies, he would have responded n a very different way. And please note the not so subtle threatening tone he takes. Sad.

42. The last sentence of my previous post, addressed to Mash up, should have read: “You were caught red-handed over at BFP using multiple handles and setting up conversations with yourself.”

43. QUOTE
    Brit couple absent again from court
    Published on: 10/17/06.

by HEATHER-LYNN EVANSON

A FORMER BRITISH FOOTBALLER and his now former wife, accused of making racist remarks, could have court marshals and police on their heels if they are a no-show on their next court appearance.

Nicola Michelle Sedgley, 33, who did not show up for her court date in July, was again absent when the matter was called in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court yesterday.

Her former husband, 34-year-old Stephen Philip Sedgley, who owns a watersport business here, has been missing since July 2005.

The two have allegedly put their Mount Standfast, St James home up for sale.

“When they were here, the other side did not say the house was up for sale,” Chief Magistrate Clyde Nicholls said yesterday.

“When they were before me, I gathered they were here to live. If November 6 comes and they are not here, then we will have to do what is necessary,” he noted.

Philip Sedgley is accused of assaulting Wanda McClean and Shelly Dear, as well as using the words: “You [expletive] niggers,” to McClean, Dear and Kimberly Rock on July 4, 2004 – insulting words which were intended or which may reasonably be interpreted as likely to stir up, or were capable of stirring up, hatred against the Negro section of Barbados.

Nicola Sedgley is charged with assaulting Dear and using the words: “You black . . .” to McClean and Rock on the same date.

In June the Sedgleys, through their counsel Sir Richard Cheltenham, QC, had given the court the undertaking they would apologise to, and compensate the three women.

But yesterday one of the complainants, Shelly Dear, said she had only received a letter of apology, in draft, via fax.

“But we haven’t heard anything from Sir Richard and we haven’t heard anything from Mr Comissiong,” she said.

In addition, she said it appeared the two defendants had put their house up for sale.

And this prompted attorney Sally Comissiong, who was holding for her husband David, to ask that warrants be issued for the Sedgleys.

“I’ve been told they were not present on the last occasion and it looks like they are not interested in bringing this matter to an end,” she said.

Chief Magistrate Clyde Nicholls adjourned the matter until November 6.

44. On BFP only black people are charged with their version of racism. Any black person who refers to someone as a negrocrat, or causcasion, white trash can recieve BFP’s unique racist brand. While whites in Barbados are beating blacks, calling them nigger, damaging property, baing racialy offensives toward blacks motorist etc without mention or full coverage from BFP and the so called truth blog. Wunnuh can’t fool me.

45. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Ebenezer

You got some nerve accusing me.

BFP is certainly not my choice of poison but is clear you are fishing.

I am sorry to have broken my last promise not to respond to you as Adrian suggested,but help me here please; if I am having a conversation with myself,why are you responding?

The truth above came too close to home huh pied piper?

I notice you did not respond to that but instead throw out a red herring.ha ha

You are a real frustrated malicious bitch.

Why can’t you keep off this site pied piper?

You and LIB and your BFP gang are really a sorry lot.

The ship is going down my friend,you better get off while you can.

46. @David

This is so funny. All the non bloggers that calling me want to know what it is I doing in Barbados Underground. They are not asking me about BFP. LOL! It backfiring. The word that spreading is that something exciting going on at BU. So I sending them to BU not BFP.

47. @Anonymous and ROK, Let me be frank. Anonymous // September 6, 2009 at 10:48 PM says ‘Rok comes on this blog and he answers everyone who questions him,without any nasty low remarks…’ Read the reply that ROK gave my last question to him and tell us all if that is an answer. Please try to be objective and honest.

48. Rickey George you are not important. We have things of national importance to attent too.

49. @ROK // September 6, 2009 at 8:41 AM wrote: ‘@Rickey George

You seem to be another chapter of one LIB and I am not getting into any semantics with you or no brow beating with you. No wonder you sound like a white man. You need brain surgery; something loose up there. You paying too much sin-tax.’

Mr King you did not answer any questions but instead deflected it by drawing attention to how it could represent someone else’s idea. However, is the question valid or not?

Who cares what the question sounds like? A non answer is also an answer: it means the point made is valid.

Maybe I need to keep repeating the question but guess what? You will continue to deflect because to do otherwise will expose your arguments as being full of fallacies. So spare us the theatricals. You are supposed to be a responsible given your position with BANGO, as a representative of civil society. So, please deal with issues as if that position means something. Why not assume that the question came from the government official or Minister who is your counterpart in tripartite discussions. Would you respond as you have? If so, I will rest.

The matter of how you see race and racism is a good subject to take to another public forum and while the blogs are interesting the newspapers are also read avidly. So look for this to get aired there. If the head of BANGO has these views that is worthy of public notice: ITAL and all that.

Dissembling is not accountability.

50. Adrian

Philip Sedgley is accused of assaulting Wanda McClean and Shelly Dear, as well as using the words: “You [expletive] niggers,” to McClean, Dear and Kimberly Rock on July 4, 2004 – insulting words which were intended or which may reasonably be interpreted as likely to stir up, or were capable of stirring up, hatred against the Negro section of Barbados.

++++++++++++++++++++++

In my case the expletive used by a “black” rasta against me was red as in “you red nigger”.

I can only guess what was intended by the rasta but I could not say about the words that they could “reasonably be interpreted as likely to stir up, or were capable of stirring up, hatred against the Negro section of Barbados.”

What exactly is the Negro section of Barbados?

Is this section recognised in law as being distinct?

How does a bajan get to belong to the Negro section of Barbados?

Does such a section actually exist?

I couldn’t find the word hooligan used in the article.

….. assault now is a whole nedda matter.