Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Barbadians are truly ‘something else’. The hundreds of calls, texts and mails I have received over the past four days suggest that I need not say very much in response to certain allegations, because people already know about ‘the connection’.

I thought I had stumbled upon a dark, grey secret with respect to why a certain person enjoys seemingly unfettered access to a particular publication, week in and week out. But every mode and means of communication has been used in recent days to convey to me graphic details of ‘the connection’. What I thought was a piece of ‘hot, juicy news’ turned out to be ‘a particle of rich history’; for Sam Cuch, the Duppy and their in-laws know all about ‘the connection’.

‘The connection’ apparently did not start yesterday, last month or even last year. ‘The connection’ has been ongoing for years now and apparently has been a rocky road for one, characterized, as has now become the norm with cohorts of the aggressor, by an enormous amount of abuse. I am hearing now of blows to the face, blows to the head, blows about the body and even attempts at slitting the wrist. I am also told of the entry of a company head honcho into the “ling”, and the moving out and moving in with the said heavy roller. This heavy roller must be packing a mean punch, kick and especially lick to have two bosses in so pitiful a state, lying prostrate at every beck and call.

That an institution, so once revered and respected, would permit itself to be used and manipulated in so vulgar a fashion is amazing. The foreign owners really need to come to Bim and investigate the moral cesspool that has developed within those walls. It is no longer what it once was. It no longer serves the purpose for which it was created.

Not everyone on the inside is willing to look the other way. The fact that I know of the telephone conversation that preceded the now well publicized call, indicates that not everyone is in agreement with that which is going on. There is gratitude to this writer for bringing certain truths to light.

There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples. “Run the desk for me. Tonight is my night, tomorrow is yours”…and up to the nest they go. The whole thing makes Sodom and Gomorrah look like students of theology. In return, the heavy roller gets prominence on demand.

There was no threat to anyone! There was an appeal for fairness and professionalism. There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication. Little did one know that the entire world, it would appear, was already appraised of the sordid details of the three way connection that has brought a most noble profession to shame.

Those shedding crocodile tears must rewind and reflect on conversations conducted prior to the much publicized call being received. Whom did you speak to after receiving highlights of the survey? What advice was given relative the appropriate response? What assurances were made as to what will not appear where? There is a difference between being threatened and feeling threatened!

If you wish to know about threats and about being threatened cast your mind back, to not so long ago, when other persons were perched on Bay Street. Who could forget the fate of Jerry Richards, Don Norville, Winston Worrel, Carl Ince, Cecil Foster, Adrian Sisnett, Don Singh, Mohammad Saied, Julian Rogers, Muriel Sealy, Ricky Singh, Hugh Foster, Peter Greene, Terry Ally, Reudon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne and Keith Goddard, to mention but a few. What was the cause of Oliver Jackman resigning from the Elder Statesmen Advisory Group? Which politician was overheard saying that a former big up in the pine ‘would never get a job in the local media again’?

This writer is not a madman. It takes a lot to get him upset.  But several months of examples of systemic unprofessionalism would have had to come to a head at some stage. One does not know whether the publication has wittingly or innocently permitted itself to be used, but the records are there and can be examined by anyone in search of truth.

You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.

This writer is not intimidated by or afraid of threats and portrayal of being arrogant, vindictive or even anti the freedom of the media. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a media man to the core. This has nothing to do with press freedom. This is all about ‘the connection’.

Let the world press bodies come in search of truth. I want them to investigate ‘the connection’. Would this and could this have happened anywhere else in the world? Let us go global with ‘the connection’. The National Enquirer would love the details. Call the police! Lay the charges! Let’s all go on the witness stand and be cross examined about character, integrity, professionalism and ‘the connection’. I dare you!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

717 responses to “No Threat To Press Freedom It’s All About ‘The Connection’”

1. John you are the sheer reason why racism willlll ALWAYS exist! Sickening lot!

You believe that although the stories are there and still here for every one to see you and your kind refuse to accept or acknowledge the truth!

AH was right to buse your racist asssss!

Silly man!

2. In Barbados those who can with much ease and clarity be accused of being racist are known by their actions. Actions universially recongize as racist and or racially motivated. We did not have to come up with deliberatly exclusive terms such as BFP did, to target those we know of.

3. How on earth can ROK be racist, and Winston Greenidge is not??? ROK did you ever beat a person of a different race fired a gun and called them a raicial slur?

4. Adrian Hinds // September 7, 2009 at 9:14 AM

John I have been meaing to say this to you for a some time. FUCK OFF. I would love to say it to your face. Care to meet? or have a telephone conversation?

Before we meet or have a telephone conversation just answer the simple questions honestly.

Your answers will determine if there is any point meeting or talking.

5. @AH
    Never even got into an argument with a white man that I could think of, far less pull a gun. At school, I was not a favourite of slapping heads so when it was my turn I never indulged in the lawless acts of slapping heads. It had to be something very offensive. Can’t even remember slapping a white head.

Next thing is that I detest guns and to tell the truth I don’t know what I would do if somebody pulled a gun on me. For sure, I would not freeze because most people that walk about with guns can’t shoot to hit an elephant.

6. WHIT British soccer player Philip Sedgley and his wife were charged under the Public order act. This is the same act that was pass by Errol Barrow to curtail the activities of people like Elombe Mottley and Bobby clarke. Surely John would have thought it a necessary action to be taken to preserve the peace from these uppity black power black men. Tom Adams promise to repeal this act but never did. How dare black Barbados charge two white people under this act????

7. mash up & buy back // September 7, 2009 at 8:12 AM

Bimbro

Please go and take your medication.

Alright ‘mash-up’!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddd!! 🙂

8. Ebenezer // September 7, 2009 at 10:09 AM

The last sentence of my previous post, addressed to Mash up, should have read: “You were caught red-handed over at BFP using multiple handles and setting up conversations with yourself.”

Ebenezer, perhaps u understand better now why I wrote my several posts earlier this morning. Such a pity people can’t take perfectly plain, simple and appropriate advice!

9. ROK // September 7, 2009 at 12:12 PM

Next thing is that I detest guns and to tell the truth I don’t know what I would do if somebody pulled a gun on me. For sure, I would not freeze because most people that walk about with guns can’t shoot to hit an elephant.
    ++++++++++++++++++

Likewise ROK, I detest guns …. and violence, but I try not to make assumptions about any person.

I rather discuss matters if people want to …. or just keep quiet …. if I feel like.

Pretty difficult for someone to insult me and get me to react physically or with like insults ….. don’t see any point.

…. will usually try to apply logic, …. but sometimes unfortunately, even this makes people vex …. perhaps they think I am ignoring them….. so most times I will just keep quiet.

No person will get me to change an opinion on a matter or a theory unless the person can replace it with something that makes sense to me and presents facts that fit their stance.

Likewise I expect any other person to have similar feelings and I would not waste my time imposing my opinions on that person.

If confronted with a stance that conflicts with what I know, I will ask for clarification and say what I know that conflicts with the stance.

I like nothing more than learning something new and certainly I did …. both from the discussion, and the books it forced me to read.

10. Bimbro, my old pal, I did not know that you were ill and on medication. You know what is wrong with you, its the loss of that pretty girl, and now you want to keep Bonny to yourself. Bimbro you too greedy man, but I wish you better. I would invite Bonny to my hacienda but I am not sure the wife could deal with that kind of heat.

11. Adrian Hinds // September 7, 2009 at 12:13 PM

WHIT British soccer player Philip Sedgley and his wife were charged under the Public order act.

… so does the Public Order Act defines a “Negro section” of the population?

Googled Public Order Act Barbados but can’t find it.

I just cannot see how an act of parliament would seek to segregate the Barbados Population into sections and if that is really so, the framing of the charge is really poor.

That is not to say that I think that calling a person “you [expletive] nigger” can in anyway be right ….. even if the expletive happened to be red.

12. Adrian Hinds // September 7, 2009 at 11:37 AM

The Highgate racial attack involve Goodridge not Greenidge.

Mash and buy back dont get tie up.

Every move Bajan whites make Bizzy

and Cow know about , they have veto

power. Williams boys is Ayatollahs in

white Barbados.

13. Barbados Free Press with the human rat Jack Bowman are a peculiar lot.Barbados Free Press removed Barbados Underground link from their side bar and castigated the same very Barbados Underground.Lo & behold the white human misfits & white trash for human beings like typical white whores are are nit-picking at the contributions from Barbados Underground contributors.If not for Barbados Underground those white whores at Barbados Free Press will have no issues to discuss.Two of their more popular topics are those attacking Barbados Underground.A pathetic lot of white human trash.

Adrian Hinds,Rok,Yardbroom & special mention to BushTea you all are doing a wonderful job of exposing the double standards,& deceit of white people.The above mentioned have used the philosophical,intellectual & have stated facts when discussing the issue of racism in such a way that the white despots over at Barbados Free Press are unable to handle.Those white lunatics are now resorting to threats of police investigations and the law.A bunch of white,clowns.

White people in Barbados Black Barbadians are not afraid of you all and we will challenge any stinking white Barbadian or white expatriate that threaten us.The challenge might not necessarily be physical but we will respond in the appropriate way when require.
    MASSA DAY DONE

14. I do not understand your fascination with the use of the noun “negro”. It was in the newspaper article, and I don’t know if it appeared on the charge document. So what of the word Negro? Noir, Nero, Mahogany, Ebony, Nubian, Black. All of these words have one meaning. Negro is a spanish noun, decendent of the word Niger, meaning black. So what exactly are you questioning? The use of the word “Negro” as a legitmate form of identification? or that the public order act is not fitted to the charge of “stirring up hatred” by the use of the N word?

I am not following you at all.

It was 1970. Black was beautiful. Black power was helping Blacks to redefine themselves in a very hostile environment. Many of them renamed themselves and asserted their Africanity. They sang praises like their long forgotten ancestors. They learned the meanings of admonitions like “Yuh don’t sweep yuh house after dark”, which meant that sweeping out a house after dark would bring bad luck because you may sweep out the good spirits and leave the bad ones.

…And Errol Barrow passed the Public Order Act for Bobby Clarke and Elombe Mottley to stop the meetings and the talk.

[Whte People did not like it (talk and meetings)]

Tom Adams succumbed to pressure of the white lobby by banning the burning of “Mr. Harding” to end the Crop-Over Festival because Whites complained that the ritual was being used by Elombe to symbolically burn white people.

What you (John), BFP and the present day white lobby are doing is simply attempting to continue what Elmobe told us occurred in the 60’s 70’s, and it should be noted that the high number of white Bajan/canadians who are currently engage is the most disgusting denigrating of Black Barbadians for things that whites are as guilty of with narry a mention of such, tells a likely story, of persons who may have left Barbados during the period that Elombe tells us about. Somebody may need to tell them that the fear they once inflicted on us, no longer has the same effect.

1960, 70’s
    White people belonged to white clubs – Pickwick, Wanderers, Carlton, YMPC and Windward – and only socialised with black people when opposing teams met. If they were black-and-white clubs, I cannot recall.
    Many English expatriates who came to the island to teach or work were warned not to join black clubs or associate socially with black people.
    Anyone who broke the unspoken code and spoke about the way white people behaved was punished. He or she was ostracised not only by Whites but by Blacks and more often than not the political system. I remember it took three months of arguing with Jimmy Cozier to get my first letter on this issue published in the Daily News. I also remember the fight with Robert Best to get the Advocate to use the word black in reference to black people.
    I recall that I could not even speak to fifth form students at St Michael’s Girl School (as it was then) unless, as the headmistress said, a white man came to “rebut what I was saying”.
    People who wore Afros or natural hair were threatened with dismissal or dismissed from their jobs.
    There was an unholy fear in the land that retribution was at hand. Pressure was brought to bear on Errol Barrow, hence the Public Order Act.

[How dare they attempt to charge white people with this act? This act was created by a blackman to keep his blacks in check]

15. Adrian

That’s a nice long story …. and I am almost tempted to say let’s hear another one!!

Simple question:

Does the Public Order Act define a Negro section of the Barbadian population or not?

I may get to where there are law books sometime in the near future and will see what the act actually says for myself.

Whenever I do, I will let you know.

16. Does the Public Order Act define a Negro section of the Barbadian population or not?

Is this repeat silly questions time? Of course it does not! and it does not define a white section either or does it? If not why was it created to shut up Elombe and his Black power, black concience talk? what was the fear?

17. John // September 7, 2009 at 3:30 PM

Adrian

That’s a nice long story …. and I am almost tempted to say let’s hear another one!!
    ————————————

Is this your way of saying it is all or in part lies? Such is uncharacteristic of you. You would normanly apply your own stories to combat those of others. I think you like to call them facts. What? you don’t have any right now?

18. So Adrian,

if the charge is made under the Public order act (your words if I am not mistaken) that the use of the phrase “you [expletive] nigger” may reasonably be interpreted as likely to stir up, or were capable of stirring up, hatred against the Negro section of Barbados …..

….. then what likelihood does it have of sticking if there is no Negro section defined in the act?

Is there a Negro section defined anywhere in the laws of Barbados?

19. … my guess Adrian is that the matter was settled amicably!!

20. Amicably my ASSSSSS!

Like most black persons they took the money and ran!

We need to stop taking handouts!

John you are DANGEROUS!

21. Anonymous // September 7, 2009 at 4:03 PM

Like most black persons they took the money and ran!

Do you think this statement could be construed to have a racist meaning?

22. I took the nation newspaper report as just that. The news paper’s account or attempted definition of what the specifics of actual charge under the public order act would or should be. I am quite certain that the actual charge did not include anything about a negro section, which seems to be conveniently stuck in your craw. The facts are is that they had a charge to answer, that they presumably with the guidance of their lawyer Cheltenham issued an apology via fax, and had agreed to pay damages, though not paid at the time of the article..

But lets say as I think can be safely assumed, there is no mention of a negro section in the act. What is your point????

23. Dear “BU family”

[An assumption that would be made by a reasonable person, on the basis of the record, is that the owner/publisher/editor of the blog known as “Barbados Underground” will respond to this comment with this message: “Your comment is awaiting moderation”. Thereafter, the comment will be deleted from the public area of Barbados Underground, though there will always be a record elsewhere. May it thus be placed on the record].

Mr. Roosevelt O. King, displaying absolutely no worry at all about the trafficked child prostitutes he claims to know, says this about child prostitution and people trafficking:

“This is so funny. All the non bloggers that calling me want to know what it is I doing in Barbados Underground. They are not asking me about BFP. LOL!”

Mr. King seems to find this so funny that he is “laughing out loud.”

It’s an abiding and important question as to whether any representative of the United Nations or the European Union or the Organization of American States were among the non-bloggers who called him, or who called his organization.

24. The nation news article said that they were charged under the public order act. And i believe that the whte racist father and son tagged team duo of Goodridge and Goodridge were also charge under the public order act.

Do you think this statement could be construed to have a racist meaning?

you and your white lobby really need to reconsider your attempts to redefine racism and or what can be concidered racist. You have no moral authority to so do.

25. @Adrian/John

Link to a copy of the Public Order Act:
    http://www.igloo.org/bangoonline/download-nocache/Library/statutes/publicorderactpdf

Don’t expect to find a definition of negro or negro section in it.

26. @John

“then what likelihood does it have of sticking if there is no Negro section defined in the act?”

You are missing the point. The reference to negro or negro section of the population is to identify who would be or was offended. If it had happened to the Indian population then the charge would have read the Indian section of the population; if it was Asian it would have said Asian and also show how these persons would have been affected and that it was a threat to public peace or law and order; National Security.

27. @Adrian

Watch out. Anytime the word, white or racist is used in a sentence or even mentioned on this blog, there is an infamous blog that takes the context and makes it into an article to not only slam BU but to slam the writer.

This is just a reminder, even though I know you can certainly handle any thing where your name is attached LOL.

28. I some jurisdictions there is reference to sections of the community in Law. For example the English citizens to whom you refer if they were charged in England.

There is the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 section 29

Racially or Religiously Aggravated assault occasioning actual bodily harm.

(I am not saying there were allegations of assault in the case mentioned)

But the reference to race – racial abuse – would have aggravated the offence and it would have been more “serious” as a result; a more onerous penalty would ensue on conviction.

29. Adrian Hinds // September 7, 2009 at 4:51 PM

The nation news article said that they were charged under the public order act. And i believe that the whte racist father and son tagged team duo of Goodridge and Goodridge were also charge under the public order act.

You mean you don’t know?

30. To all BU Family

We are taking on intimidation from BFP. They obviously think they have themselves covered but they examine themselves again.

We cannot be intimidated by them because it would mean that in this day and age, racism still working on us. They don’t have a monopoly on anything. Let them not scare you with law suits and try to govern us down with defamatory posts. They charging others with racism and look what they doing?

I not going to threaten them with anything, because I think that our men and women should have spine. Don’t let them phase you. I can handle myself; don’t worry about me.

If it was not for my good friend I would not even have known what they saying over there because I just don’t go there. I told them that if they want me to answer questions come on BU and ask and I will gladly answer because I do not contribute to BFP.

One handle namede Keltruth (or is it Kill-truth) as me to visit his/her/it blog and make a comment. He/she/it must be mad. Come attacking me and want me on their blogs? If they felt that my contributing would do something to the blog, then they should have approached me as a person and ask me to visit their blogs and comment and I would have… but no, they want to pull me out there by pelting big rocks and hiding.

This is a threat to freedom of speech. Those people out there have no respect for freedom of speech. People who try to make themselves look superior in their attempt to shut up people and trample their reputation.

Incidentally, that is the MO of a racist. That is what the white racist have been using on us all these years. “Boy, you look like a monkey.” “You too black”. “Your nose too wide”. “Your mouth too big”. “You don’t have any intelligence”… all the time, trying to take advantage of humble people.

That is total abuse and the height of irresponsibility and it could only be for selfish ends. It is far worse than anything said in this blog; far worst than Negroman adjectives because they trying to hurt living people just to get an edge. Dog eat dog. The wickedness of BFP.

31. Yardbroom // September 7, 2009 at 5:37 PM

I some jurisdictions there is reference to sections of the community in Law. For example the English citizens to whom you refer if they were charged in England.

There is the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 section 29

Racially or Religiously Aggravated assault occasioning actual bodily harm.

(I am not saying there were allegations of assault in the case mentioned)

But the reference to race – racial abuse – would have aggravated the offence and it would have been more “serious” as a result; a more onerous penalty would ensue on conviction.

This makes a bit more sense.

32. Hi Johnnie, I in pun nuh medicine man but, if dah’s wuh sumbody wants tuh believe den let dum!! It doan bodda me!!

Laaaaadddddddddd!!

I can’t comment about Bonny, John! She’s got a fella already an dat’s enuf fuh me!!

Lord a mercy!!

33. ROK

…. but how on earth did the Nation reporter get the story so garbled?

Is the Nation then responsible for creating a “threat to public peace or law and order” ?

Who came up with the term “Negro section”, the Nation or the lawyers?

34. @John

The report is just that, a report. It is not a legal document and reference to negro section as I said is to identify the offending party. Maybe this was the term used by the lawyers to identify the victims and properly locate the crime as racist by nature. Here is where YB comment is useful:
    “Racially or Religiously Aggravated assault occasioning actual bodily harm.”

35. Other than to obfuscate the consistency of evidence that demonstrate a clear pattern of WHITE RACIAL INTIMIDATION in Barbados what is the purpose of determining if the Public Order act mentions the word NEGRO in it?

Are you wanting to deny that the hooligan Slegleys utterred the N word to two black women in Barbados?

Are you wanting to deny that they had a case to answer? that they had agreed to issue an apology and to pay damages, although they may not have honored the latter?

Again if you can be honest for once on this issue John tell us in simply lay terms what is your concern with the word negro, in the context to which it applies to the issue of a white man and woman uttering racial slurs at blacks in Barbados???? Wishing that it were not the case is not enough.

36. What the NationNews article report reads
    ——————
    Philip Sedgley is accused of assaulting Wanda McClean and Shelly Dear, as well as using the words: “You [expletive] niggers,” to McClean, Dear and Kimberly Rock on July 4, 2004 – insulting words which were intended or which may reasonably be interpreted as likely to stir up, or were capable of stirring up, hatred against the Negro section of Barbados.
    —————————————

what the Public order section 33 says

————————–
    33. (1) A person is guilty of an offence if .
    he uses in any public place or at any public meeting
    words which are threatening, abusive or insulting,
    being matter or words intended or which may reasonably be
    interpreted as likely to stir up or to be capable of stirring up
    hatred against any section of the public in Barbados distinguished
    by colour, race or creed.

37. @Adrian
    I want you to consider for a moment that the problem with the white people in Barbados is not racism.

What racism what?!!

Believe me, them people just plain scared. You really think that in a world of phenomenal black advances in every possible area of life -these people could seriously feel that they are from a ‘superior’ race?
    What is coming to an end, is decades of black people devaluing OUR own worth.

They are just plain frighten!!

This is why they are so paranoid about not getting their own way….where will it end?

Take ru4real. The ABC highway thing is long a fait accompli. EVERYTHING DONE FOR 3S. yet the man on and on with the same foolishness…… can’t accept that he did not get his way.

..for GENERATIONS we had to swallow hard, bite we lips and move on…

BFP can’t believe that black people could DARE to criticize them and dismiss their pet projects!! ..far less cuss their tail like Negroman, …so they are on a warpath…. well so be it.

I think that the nail in their coffin was Barrack Obama.
    … not to mention Rihanna, Ryan, Bolt, and practically every other athlete on earth of any note….

Now they come on these blogs expecting deference and bowing and scraping as had become the custom in Barbados – only to come across proud black Bajans who stand up and give no quarter, who are frighteningly intelligent, knowledgeable, and proud.

THAT must hurt….!

“..LORD What NEXT?” must be the main item on their agendas at Cattlewash and Bath….

Problem is that-they assume that we will behave like they kind, and so they probably worry a lot, and hardly sleep at night…..

But tell them that we are NOT like that! We fight for justice and equality. We are not about revenge and retribution…

They should have no fear and can sleep well….

38. Was the public order act ever intended to be use to prosecute White Barbadians? Was it’s sole purpose to keep the black man in check? This may be a case of a law design for “their” protection being used against them. They can be none to please about this. What say you John?

Maybe this explains the rush by BFP and the white bajan/canadian lobby to introduce as many exotic terms into the bajan lexicon of racial slurs. Wanting to even things out? Negrocrat and Caucasion are two that comes to mind.

39. BT I hear you. I often times wonder where John, in particular is coming from. The quickness and energy with which he jumps on any comment that can in the remotest terms be linked to race, truly makes me wonder about him. It is also one of the reasons I asked David to do a weekly article on race. John has not disappointed in rising to the occasion everytime.
    I assume John is white and lives in Barbados, and while he seems to share the fear the Bajan/Canadians and BFP exhibits, his approach and responses are not of the demanding, “I am better than thou type of responses typical of that group’. I sense a distinct difference between those whites living abroad (canada) and those living on the rock. This is why I had ask John if the Bajan/Canadian lobby and BFP are speaking on behalf of White Bajans in Barbados. I am not fully convince this is the case.

My reasons for this are several. One though is my online interaction a couple of years ago with several presume to be, white Bajan rally fans. It was centered around complaints from the public on a rally meet somewhere that led to issues with person getting to and from their homes. The response from the rally fans who hang out online at Zhust.com was fast, plentiful and pro rally. In the end we were able to reach concensus on the way forward. I ended up defending their right to rally as they agreed that errors were made and would be corrected. Indeed I saw ADs and news reports that demonstrated a clear intent to win the trust of public.

The folks at BFP and the Bajan/Canadian lobby seem to be a group of person who left Barbados at a time when White intimidation and fear of them was rampant. You can sense that air of superiority in their comments. That attitude that “what I say matters and that you had better believe it or else”. So that there are besides themselves that we sub-humans and sub-literates or off-springs thereof, that they left back on the island can now be talking up and back at them. They must be put in their place, they seem to be saying.

I think there is a distinct difference between those Whites at home and those commenting on BFP. But I could be wrong.

40. PardonMe // September 7, 2009 at 5:14 PM

@Adrian

Watch out. Anytime the word, white or racist is used in a sentence or even mentioned on this blog, there is an infamous blog that takes the context and makes it into an article to not only slam BU but to slam the writer.

This is just a reminder, even though I know you can certainly handle any thing where your name is attached LOL.
    ————————————————–
    Thanks for the warning. There is little untility in targeting me. I am not a big fish like ROK. LOL! Then again to target me, may lead to a backlash of things that they thought they have long gotten rid off from the internet. I am known to have download entire websites, pictures, and what I have not captured may still be available via the Internet way back machine. ha ha ha

But isn’t it funny that after BFP remove BU from their sidebar they are now reduce to copying articles from BU to give intermittent relevancy to themselves? When last have you heard them bragged about being the number one bajan blog? Certainly not in the last three months during which time their traffic stats have registered a 53% decline.

41. You are dead right Adrian.
    While most of the ones living here have come to realize that, far from being superior, they will need to work hard in future to keep up with blacks; the ones that left before, still feel that they dealing with the ‘boys in de yard’.. like the 70’s

…some of the ones here still feel so too, but those are the really stupid ones who actually used to believe that they were superior.

These are difficult days in which to portray an air of ‘superiority’ -unless you are REALLY superior. (as LIB found out- LOL) …. when you have spent your whole life protected in a cocoon of racial privilege it has to be frightening to realize that it was all a farce – and that you may well need to actually live by your real abilities down the road.

….the experience of BFP is not encouraging at all….

…and by the way Themis, on BU we call a spade a spade, a white a white and a foreigner a foreigner. (you don’t want to know what we call lawyers…LOL)
    If you can’t stand the heat, try the veranda….

42. @ Bush Tea

and by the way Themis, on BU we call a spade a spade, a white a white and a foreigner a foreigner. (you don’t want to know what we call lawyers…LOL)
    If you can’t stand the heat, try the veranda….
    ======

He doesnt want to know how BT treats doctors ON BU either- especially those who went to KOLIJ LOL LOL Murder

BT I see you pontificating on another thread about parables again. Or is it that you are an expert about virgins (foolish and wise), and you were disguising this by referring to one of the subjects of Matthew 25?.

43. @AH

I need clarity on that information. e-mail me: admin@bango.org.bb
    My e-mail is public information so don’t worry about it.

44. @Break down:
    Thanks for the correction (goodridge) not greenidge.

@Jack Bowman
    Jack Bowman // September 7, 2009 at 4:51 PM

Dear “BU family”
    ———————————————-
    DEAR? and Family????? US sub-human and sub-literates?? your family????? surely I am mistaken, or you are drunk. But we black and you are Jack Bowman???

45. @ GP
    Be fair.
    You KNOW that Bush Tea have nothing but respect for Doctor GP.

……PASTOR GP is quite another matter – especially on the topic of parables LOL.

What Kolij what?! I thought you said you was a Foundation man??? I will leave the Technician to put you right…

46. But GP whereas I am a doctor I am not a pastor (though I have spoken at Bible Conferences in at least three islands).

I spent one year at Foundation which I thoroughly enjoyed and 8 at Kolij, where I had a ball playing bat and ball, table tennis and where I spent many hours in the darkroom, as I was a photo enthusiast in those days.

When it comes to rightly dividing the Word with respect to parables, I submit to you, that BT is definitely a virgin, and not a wise one either! Murder.

47. That should be but BT

48. @ROK, I see that the silence remains, but now there seems to be a ventriloquist. Who is this person Adrian Hinds and how does he decide what is important. I have read some of his posts and sorry to say they seem quite trite. So, ROK. I will look in again tomorrow and hope that you can offer a few answers that some say you always give.

I do not have time to spend all day commenting on a blog like some of you. Time for other work.

49. Poor GP,…Uh mean BT, uh mean he not me, as in you not I. ha ha ha and I thought such errors were beneath you? ha ha

@Rickey George:
    Yuh know LIB would have said the same thing. Are you related to Boy George????

50. Adrian

33. (1) A person is guilty of an offence if .
    he uses in any public place or at any public meeting
    words which are threatening, abusive or insulting,
    being matter or words intended or which may reasonably be
    interpreted as likely to stir up or to be capable of stirring up
    hatred against any section of the public in Barbados distinguished
    by colour, race or creed

Let’s apply this to four different scenarios, two of which I have described already.

Firstly the Right Excellent The Honourable Erroll Walton Barrow at a public meeting allegedly announces that he would like to put all the “white” people in Barbados on the Lord Combermere, take it out to sea and sink it.

If the public order act was in place when he allegedly uttered those words would be have been guilty of an offence and more importantly, against whom?

My answers are yes he would have been guilty of an offence and the offence would have been against the people of Barbados ……… all of them, every shade and colour, …. open and shut.

Secondly, ROK comes onto a blog and compares black men to mere cows. Is he guilty of an offence … and more importantly, against whom?

Is the blog a public place or a public meeting? ……. well …. kind of.

Do his words stir up hatred against any section of the public? ….. well men…. not women …. and black men ….. and well, …. am ….. not sure if hatred is the right word …… more like derision.

Thirdly, I make my way through Bridgetown and a “black” Rasta calls me a “Red Nigger”. Is he guilty of an offence and more importantly against whom?

Bridgetown is a public place … true …. but could those words uttered in front of a handfull of people really stir up hatred against the “Red” section of the public, and in any case how would the “Red” section of the public be specified?

…… maybe, maybe not …… pretty difficult to say if the handfull of people would bother to tell anyone or like me …… just laugh and get on with their day.

Fourthly, the Sedgeleys are involved in an auto accident.

During a heated exchange the words “you [expletive] niggers” are allegedly uttered by Philip Sedgeley.

We don’t know how many, if indeed any members of the public were there to hear them.

Let’s assume there were none.

Which section of the public would Philip Sedgeley’s words stir hatred up against?

Yes he allegedly uttered them in a public place, the road …… and apparently five people were present two of whom will no doubt swear he never said them, one of them being him.

I find it interesting that the Nation says he is accused of uttering the words … by whom? …. the people of Barbados? ….. a section of the public …

It would be interesting to know if the matter was a civil matter between the three ladies and the Sedgeleys.

No doubt if he said them he is way, way out of line ….. like the “black” Rasta.

But I am not sure I could say that those words allegedly uttered by the two men, the Rasta and Philip Sedgeley really stirred up hatred against any section of the population …..

……. besides the”n” word is routinely used as a term of affectionate greeting among brothers.