reparationsBarbados Underground (BU) is thankful for all the complaining we hear about our blog because it means we have freedom of speech. Thanks to Nancie .J Carmody who made the following quote famous: “I am thankful for all the complaining I hear about our government because it means we have freedom of speech.”

The evergreen race debate like immigration, homosexuality and topics of this tenor which BU is driven to blog about will always evoke passion. It is the nature of the beast. How can we debate the issue of race in a manner which is acceptable given the strong views likely to be provoked? The fact that we have people from different backgrounds whether influenced by race, education, socialization among other factors will make the race dialogue interesting.

BU finds it difficult for a Black person to be accused of being racist. It is our belief the word racist is often used interchangeable for ‘bigot’ or ‘prejudice’ by some. The BU household is always willing to learn from the BU family and welcomes feedback on our position.

We have demonstrated from our inception a strong commitment to freedom of speech. It is the reason why BU was given birth. As the world continues to follow the the furore over a black Harvard professor’s arrest here is what a contrite President Obama had to say “race is still a troubling aspect of our society.” Observers suggest Obama has had to retreat from his earlier condemnation of the Cambridge police officer concerning the stupid act of arresting a man who was understandably upset in the situation he found himself. If he did not USA may have become split down the middle on the matter of race. There was also the incident last month of White and Black groups clashing over how a young Black man was allegedly killed by two White men who had the charges dropped. The most embarrassing report of how race continues to boil in the USA is the portrayal of President Obama as a joker.

There we have it; it is one of the most liberal countries in the world which is often stated to be a melting pot. The issue of race remains topical. How can Barbados be immune from the issues associated with race?

Barbados Underground will not cower when we have to deal with the hard issues. Not too long ago BU was labeled xenophobic when we introduced concerns about the fallout from an open-door  immigration policy. Our concerns have now taken on a national, regional and global cry.

Black people were used as slaves by countries termed ‘developed’ to build out successful economies. In stark contrast most Black governed countries survive in a global realm which makes it difficult to achieve economic prosperity as a result of the geopolitical gymnastics at play.

How can it be changed? Will it ever be changed? Change is usually achieved through advocacy. History places Blacks at a disadvantage because of elaborate systems which have been created. It will take a long time for Blacks to penetrate the existing structures. In the meantime the 300 year plus emotional scares can only be soothed with verbal and monetary redress.

641 responses to “The Race Card”

1. Negroman
    When persons lose their lives tragicallly, we as a people come together and mourn their lost man.So don’t say dat ’bout my people man. We put our differences aside and mourn as one. e.g: Joe’s River tragedy, Arch Cot tragedy, my personal tragedy etc. By the way, I lost a friend and a few of my friends were injured also in that Joe’s River tragedy. To this day I don’t allow my grans to go on no bus rides. I carry and bring them to and from school, ballet classes, swimming classes. I am their chauffeur til I diest.

When a tourist is killed or robbed here,whether white or black, we are sorry that it happened here because it tarnishes our beautiful island’s reputation and that upsets us muchly.We are a proud people and strive to maintain our pride.
    Negro, do you have a name for ‘the authorities in B/dos are not keen on solving the murders of Black B/dians? I would call dem unfair, unprofessional trash. Wah you tink? Both my sons in dat profession but I still want a label from you fa dem. Good.

2. Rumplestilskin,

Your excellent contribution has effectively put the question of whether blacks can be racist to bed.

In its simplest form, the condition of being racist/non racist is defined by whether on not you allow a difference of ethnicity to be a factor in the way you react to humans of a different ethnicity.

Black people, using that criterion, can most certainly be racist.

Having said that, a thought, statement or action may be racist in its effect, but not necessarily so in intent. Here the argument becomes very delicate.

3. Adrian Hinds // August 6, 2009 at 9:52 am
    —————-
    Rumplestilskin // August 6, 2009 at 8:09 am

AH: Accusing someone of plagiarising is very serious.

I have never resorted to personal inferences nor insults on this or any other blog.

I have always ignored comments in the negative, but an accusation of plagiarisation, requires an aplogy.

Peace
    ————————————————–

Who the f**k are you to make demands of me?????

Did you wait for my response to your Question of what I meant by borrowed????

———————

AH: ‘Borrowed’ in this context cannot be taken other than to indicate plagiarism.

My question was rhetorical.

Who am I to make demands? The one you have accused of plagiarism.

As David the Editor should well know, that there is no greater offense against a writer than to accuse that writer of plagiarism.

Thus, I have a right to seek an apology, indeed, in the writing world, it is essential.

Go ahead, seek to dismiss what I say, seek to refuse to accept responsibility for your words i.e. actions.

That line is well known.

Having said that, the ‘evidence’ is there in ‘electronic writing’ for all those who wish to read it and interpret as they see fit.

My interpretation stands.

I have no more to say to you.

4. Jack Ass Bowman,
    So wait, David isn’t giving you a platform to talk your own uncensored, UNADULTERATED SHYTE too? stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, doan mek ma puke do.
    ga back an’ play wid ya likkle balls.

John,
    Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. (yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnn)

5. @ Negroman have you ever lived abroad or is your life experience only exposed to Barbados?

@John slave owners had guns and religion. With a 1 to 13 ratio i see what you mean, but that is were the real damage to the black civilization was done, the mental slavery aspect, divide and rule. To this day some blacks are still controlled by the measures put in place back then.

I have many friends of different races i don’t see the reason for hating someone that is different. I actually think the rich>poor problem is a WAY bigger one.

@iWatchya i ent know what happen to sunpower, maybe he invest in the wrong places, all of the mother land is not in turmoil as mass media would have you think, a quick look at certain areas of Africa with google earth would show you they are safe places in Africa.

This is a major hurdle we are facing, the division of the African, caribbean and American black man. When we think of Africa we are programed to think of violence and war, while some places are like that Africa is a big place and lot of Africans live good peaceful prosperous lives.

6. For all the BLOGGERS* on BU who have not read FRANZ FANON’s “Wretched of the Earth” – here’s a PREFACED excerpt:

” We know that it is not a homogeneous world; we know too that enslaved peoples are still to be found there, together with some who have achieved a simulacrum of phony independence, others who are still fighting to attain sovereignty and others again who have obtained complete freedom but who live under the constant menace of imperialist aggression.

These differences are born of colonial history, in other words of oppression.

Here, the mother country is satisfied to keep some feudal rulers in her pay; there, dividing and ruling she has created a native bourgeoisie, sham from beginning to end; elsewhere she has played a double game: the colony is planted with settlers and exploited at the same time.

Thus Europe has multiplied divisions and opposing groups, has fashioned classes and sometimes even racial prejudices, and has endeavored by every means to bring about and intensify the stratification of colonized societies.

Fanon hides nothing: in order to fight against us the former colony must fight against itself: or, rather, the two struggles form part of a whole.

In the heat of battle, all internal barriers break down; the puppet bourgeoisie of businessmen and shopkeepers, the urban proletariat, which is always in a privileged position, the lumpen-proletariat of the shanty towns — all fall into line with the stand made by the rural masses, that veritable reservoir of a national revolutionary army; for in those countries where colonialism has deliberately held up development, the peasantry, when it rises, quickly stands out as the revolutionary class. For it knows naked oppression, and suffers far more from it than the workers in the towns, and in order not to die of hunger, it demands no less than a complete demolishing of all existing structures.

In order to triumph, the national revolution must be socialist; if its career is cut short, if the native bourgeoisie takes over power, the new State, in spite of its formal sovereignty, remains in the hands of the imperialists.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT!!!

7. The Black Man’s Dilemma –

Why is it that a Black Man, named Lewis Latimer can create a tiny piece of technology called a filament for the electric light that allows people to see in the dark in 1881…(Patent: 252,386 (US) issued January 17, 1882)

But Black leaders can’t be seen fit to lead their countries to a truer guiding light?

Why is it that a Black Man named Benjamin Banneker in 1761 at the tender age of 30 can create an instrument called a clock having not seen a clock before that time that all people have come to use to tell time…

But people don’t think it is TIME* for a Black Man to truly become a Black Moses?

Why is it that a Black Man named Philip Reid (a slave) designed and assembled The Statue of Freedom on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC and was amongst the last of hundreds of slaves involved in the building of the Capitol between 1790 and 1863. The slaves worked in the quarries of Virginia, digging and transporting the stones that became the beautiful building that we so admire today.

But some still feel that a Black Man is not good enough to live in the White House?

Why is it that a Black Man was brilliant enough to do the first open heart surgery (Dr. Daniel Hale Williams) in 1893, and Dr. Charles Drew in 1943 (a mixed race brother) showed the world how to get and preserve blood plasma …

But a Black Man is not good enough to put a program in place where everyone can afford major surgeries and obtain affordable health care without the burden of exorbitant costs?

Why is it that a Black Man was creative enough to design an instrument we call the Traffic Light (Garrett Morgan) to give multiple people direction and give order to chaos… Garrett Morgan was one of the first to apply for and acquire a U.S. patent for an inexpensive to produce traffic signal. The patent was granted on November 20, 1923. Garrett Morgan also had his invention patented in Great Britain and Canada.

But a Black Man is not seen creative enough to design a “road-map for peace” to bring all this unnecessary and worthless fighting between countries to a halt or even to sit at a table with Ahmedinejad or Kim Jon-Il?

Why is it that a Black Man could create the soles of shoes (Jan Matzeliger) born in Surinam and migrated to Philadelphia, PA. at the tender age of 18 was issued (US Patent in 1883), shoes that today people walk on every day…

But a Black Man is not seen good enough to fill the shoes of a former “Lame Duck” president who time will probably see as one of the worst presidents in US history?

Why is it that a Black Man was smart enough and brave enough to teach himself in 1831 (Frederick Douglas and also in 1724 Thomas Fuller – both slaves) and others how to read, write and/or calculate Math…

But a Black Man is not seen smart enough and bold enough to calculate a platform to be an effective President to a country that sure needs another “First by us”, especially in these difficult “economic” times?

So you see my Brother and Sisters, what I am saying is – let us not forgot our past, which led us to our present and can definitely be the backbone to our future.

We were good enough then – we better now, smart enough, creative enough, and God knows, bold enough then and surely more so –NOW!!!

I STILL HAVE A DREAM!!!

8. Ready Done:

Point Taken. That is what we see the most of Africa. Hence the fear is struck into investors’ hearts.

9. SOME RICH FACTS ABOUT BLACK FOLKS…

1. The first Americans or Native Americans going back to 6,000 BC were black! Look up the Folsom people who lived in Arizona. Or cite Mormon history (though many of the Elders are INTELLECTUALLY DISHONEST and in historical denial).

2. Best reason to stop our use of the term African American and say Black. A white person who was born in Africa, who moves to America is an African American and qualifies for financial aid, etc., but will get the jobs/pay privileges afforded to whites.

3. Look up the Slavery Law of 1665 (which stayed in effect until 1968) and the Maryland Doctrine of Exclusion (1638): both laws state that Blacks must be excluded from the benefits afforded whites and that Blacks must remain Non-competitive with whites, except in sports and entertainment.

4. Two white men (computer geeks): Bill Gates and Larry Elision, combined have more wealth; than the combined wealth of all 40 million Blacks in America. Civil Rights did not change the economic landscape or the balance of power in America. Are we hoping the 2008 election will bring change – I doubt it will!!!

5. Asians receives 80% of all government minority set aside contracts. Hello!!!

6. Blacks eat more fish than whites by a four to one margin. For every dollar whites spend on fish, Blacks spend nine dollars on fish. Fish sold wholesale for $1 will retail at $2.50 – $3.00. Guess what business we should be in as Blacks? Not Bird’s Eye!!!

7. There is no Black owned national cable or major network television stations. The Black lady who owns our only black owned radio stations, made plans to sell to white owners after hearing the deal Bob Johnson received for selling BET. (Cathy Hughes is from OMAHA) Oprah owns Harpo but still depends on the major networks and BET has been sold on to white interest.

8. There are no Black owned companies on the Wall Street Stock
    Exchange where Blacks own the majority or controlling interest of the stock.

9. 96% of all Black inmates are men. Suicides rates have also doubled from 5.6 in every 100,000 amongst Black males.

10. Over the next two years 440,000 black inmates will be released
    from US prison. Most States have no place to put them as they re-enter society. Halfway house business? Will they end up in a forced draft if in the near future?

11. In 1860, 98% of all Blacks in America worked for white people.
    In 2008, 98% of all Blacks in America still work for white people. So much for entrepreneurship,Civil Rights and a Black President.

12. In 1860, Blacks in America had a combined net worth of half of one percentage point. Guess what in 2009, after Civil Rights, Jesse Jackson, Oprah, Shaq, NAACP, and Urban League, Barack and others our combined net worth is STILL* half a percentage point.

13. For every dollar earned by a Jewish person, that dollar touches
    12-18 Jewish hands before it leaves their community. For every dollar earned by a Black person it leaves the community soon as he or she earns it.

14. In Washington, DC Black teenagers were arrested and booked for eating McDonald’s on the metro subway. Cops cited the recent 5-4 court decision as the permission to arrest lawbreakers even for minor offenses.

15. 67% of all hate crimes in America are against Blacks. After we get through being pleased that we have carpets in our offices, a secretary, our name on the door and make six figures, we do not own anything. What will happen if you miss six months of work without pay as in the current economic crisis? Or 3 months mortgage arrears payments – (foreclosure, you think?) All we have left our children is debt from “Quantitative Easing”- not an inheritance ( George Bush has seen to that!) You cannot pass welfare or food stamps onto our kids as a nest egg!
    By the way, the word “RACE” hit the English language in the 16th century when Europeans held a contest to see who will win the “RACE” to gather the most wealth through exploitation of Black folks.

Be inspired!!!

10. Negroman, you should quit while you are ahead. So much of what you post is based solely on your irrational and emotional outbursts instead of fact. “Mrs Swarczfeld death almost shutdown Barbados.” Really? Just how exactly did Barbados come to a standstill? If by standstill you mean that the RBPF did the job they are paid for, that is one thing but a STANDSTILL? Btw, if you persist in referring to Mrs. Schwarzfeld as white trash, could you please learn to spell her name correctly?
    The reason Mrs. Schwarzfeld’s death received such media attention was by virtue of the fact that she was a guest in Barbados and not the colour of her skin. In other words, news of her death was not confined to Barbados. As a Canadian, news of her death, quite naturally, reached Canadian News Media and from there the U.S. Media and so on and so forth. I can assure you that this same sequence of events would have still occurred if Mrs. Schwarzfeld had been Chinese, East Indian or Black. The murders of Black Bajan citizens in Barbados are reported in the media, whether the RBPF adequately investigates and brings to justice the perpetrators of such crimes is a matter for all Bajans to address with their government. Is it the RBPF that you are expecting compassion from? Compassion, in times of tragedy, usually comes from family, friends and community and I have no doubt that in the case of Black Barbadians, murdered in the execution of a crime, that compassion comes from all of those sources.
    Perhaps in other countries, crimes of this nature are taken more seriously and they have the resources to pursue and ensure that justice is served?

11. @Rumple, Inkwell et al

Are we happy to argue definitions and ignore the reality of how races are constructed and the ensuing issues?

BU’s interpretation of AH’s comment reference to Rumplestilskin is his comment was a canned/cookie cutter response and not meant to suggest plagiarism. We must warn commenters that writing can generate issues regarding interpretation of the written word. Our advice is to seek clarification first before fanning the flame: – )

12. We have first to decide how we regard ourselves, a problem which N.Americans, at least, have difficulty in deciding to the immense confusion of every one!!

13. Interaction with the white man has really f*****-up some of our brains!!

14. David I would have answered Rumpi first response, in a civil manner and would have done so had I not start to prepare to disembark the train. But by the time I got to my place of work he already accuse me of accusing him of plagiarism. At this point the only thing that I regret is not being able to tell him to his face where to get off.

15. Mongoose,
    Ya kno’ wah does really piss me off wid de likes of you? Trying to insult a man’s intelligence because he might spell a word incorrect or use it out of context. Dis in nah blasted classroom man. De point is dat we all understand what that person is trying to put over. So get ova ya f^*king self an’ stop using BU like a Spelling Bee man. You know who Negroman referring to. Dat name sounds German too. I spent some time in Germany. Can speak a little,can’t write a word correct. So who cares if he spell she name right or correct? Ya nitpicka.
    Now ga long an’ ketch sum mo’ rats.
    (Hope you can decipher de dialect)

I love to tease you and de human rat Jack cause de two a wunna like wunna real blasted confuse.

16. Somebody earlier was congratulating us on having survived slavery and everything else the white man has thrown at us but, at what price!! A subjugated, insignificant, remnant of a people with everything from straight-hair, to addressing each other as ‘nigger’!! Who said the white man did n’t win!!

17. Quoting David: “We must warn commenters that writing can generate issues regarding interpretation of the written word. Our advice is to seek clarification first before fanning the flame.”

Okay. Seeking clarification from Mr. Negroman: when you said “ Murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …” did you mean to suggest that Mrs. Schwarzfeld was “white trash”?

18. Adrian H.,
    Be careful how you steppin’ offa dem trains fa ma soul. I would hate fa sumting ta happen ta you.
    You get off at Penn Station? I use that station when in NY too. Always busy soul, so be careful dawlin.
    Doan leh Rumpi steal you joy.

19. Bimbro,
    Dah is how you see youself? Tell me dat is not so dawlin as intelligent as you are.

Jack Ass Bowman
    What will it take for you to leave us alone? Please, how much do you want?
    Same ole, same ole, ev’ry f^#king day?
    Perseverance seldom fails right? You in for a real ‘long-haul’ mi amigo. You and de clown Mongoose. stuupseeeeeeeeeeeeee

20. Quoting Bonny Peppa: “Jack Ass Bowman … What will it take for you to leave us alone? Please, how much do you want?”

Quoting Mr. Negroman: “ Murdered Canadian tourist Mr [sic] Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash.”

Do you agree with Mr. Negroman that Mrs Schwarzfeld was “white trash”? It’s a really, really easy question.

21. Citando a Bonny Peppa: “Perseverance seldom fails right? You in for a real ‘long-haul’ mi amigo.”

Pues, es que tengo mucho tiempo, anciana, y mucha curiosidad. A veces es divertido jugar con los niños, sobre todo los niñitos mayores de edad, cuya imaginación moral te hace sonreir y luego reir.

Suerte, vieja. Vaya con diós. Y besos.

22. @JB,

Would not Bommie Pepper be “mi AMIGA”, as in ANCIANA and VIEJA?

23. Bonnie Peppa, tell Jack Bowman to “beso mi trasero”.

24. @ Themis. Yes

But I didn’t say amigo or amiga. The idiot did.

Thanks for your input. Invaluable, as always.

25. @ Themis. Si.

Pero nunca dije ni amigo ni amiga.

La tonta lo hice.

Gracias por tu contribución. Muy valiosa, como siempre.

26. @ Yet Another Boring “Anonymous” (YABA)

Dear Yaba,

Why would you ask Bonny Peppa to tell Jack Bowman: “I kiss my own ass”? Why? ¿Es que eres un poco tonto, soplapollas?

All best wishes.

27. “So when the poster who calls him or herself “negroman” on this blog describes other races in ways that are obviously derogatory (mango-sellers, rat-catchers, stinking Europeans, white t[h]rash, etc etc), is he being racist in your opinion or not?”

You racists apologists people are really sickening. Not that I don’t think for one moment that you don’t know. I know that you know, but you are so guilty that you want to transfer the guilt to some body else.

The very fact that racism is institutionalised means that a meeting of like minds did it and left a legacy of racism that permeates the entire earth. An examination of this blog will reveal that black people can’t get together on anything because we are divided. That is the first problem with calling a black man a racist.

Secondly, we have no institutional arrangements that seek to keep out white people or any other people and that is why we have the Guyanese problem on our hands.

How can you blame people like Negroman for lashing out in frustration, because he may be a more sensitive man, plus the fact that we as Black people don’t want to rock the boat. We are not proactive as the white man is; making sure he gets every cent and always have soldiers out there trying to intimidate people like me when we open our mouths.

Now, you would like to mix up racism with bigotry and prejudice. They may be part of racism but are not interchangeable words. Racism gone further to total disrespect and disregard for anybody who is not of that race.

I can only think of one race that has perpetrated this on other races. Blacks feel it, Hispanics feel it, Indians feel it, Chinese feel it, Middle easterners feel it. Now tell me which race has the black man done that to?

Now, as to the name calling such as trash, etc. Any society which has institutionalised racism and then continue to heap such insults on their victims are reinforcing their racism. Taken out of that context, such a comment coming from a victim can only be considered an insult.

Further, for those white people who would jump up and say they are not racists, and then proceed to defend their whiteness against racism are themselves perpetrating racism, because their defense allows the racists perpetrators to continue.

We may express anger at racism, but being a racist is totally out of our character.

28. Hi Bonny, generally speaking, the BARBADIANS seem to have done very well but elsewhere, in particular, N. America and the UK, our people’s performance has been appalling!

Otherwise, r u able to tell me here, what u did in Germany?!!

29. JB you are a small fat white man with a small penis!

30. We may express anger at racism, but being a racist is totally out of our character.

ROK, as a matter of interest, how do u define the Rwandan genocide, or Sierra Leonian genocide, as racism or tribalism and, what’s the difference, in effect!!

31. Quoting Mr. Negroman: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.

Asking Mr. ROK: do you agree with that? There are two answers to the question. One is yes. The other is no. It’s not a hard question.

32. i.e. yuh still get kill, whaever yuh call it, so yuh might as well call it racism – no?!! In any event, I think that is how the international community offically, defines it!!

33. Quoting Yet Another Boring “Anonymous” (YABA): “JB you are a small fat white man with a small penis!”

Nice. Witty. Actually, I’m a thin black person with a vagina. I have no idea how small my vagina is.

Keep it up, Yaba. Just like the racist bigot Mr. Negroman, you’re doing great.

34. ya lie!

35. Quoting Mr. Negroman: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.

36. @Rump-lestilskin
    “By reasoned approach, each case is judged on its merits and the facts presented, then an assessment of whether the situation fits the definition, will determine the outcome.”

No! No! No! Racism is not a one man thing by no stretch of the imagination. If a nigger calls a nigger a nigger, is that being racist? When a white man calls a nigger a nigger, we know the mens rea intended, which is racist. There can be no other reason for a white man to call a black man a nigger except as a derogatory term. While a Black man will call his brother a nigger without that mens rea. It means nothing.

So yes, it has to do with who saying the words but it is not on any individual merit. FOOLISHNESS!

What you here trying to do with that statement is divide and rule. You would like black that are not racist to admit to racism. You will not get away with that on this blog so long as I am alive and able to respond.

37. Quoting Mr. Negroman: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.

MJr. ROK. Do you agree with that?

38. @Inkwell
    “In its simplest form, the condition of being racist/non racist is defined by whether on not you allow a difference of ethnicity to be a factor in the way you react to humans of a different ethnicity. Black people, using that criterion, can most certainly be racist.”

I really hope that you are not a black and if you are, that rump has certainly got to you. If you are not a black man, you are batting in true style.

39. Quoting Mr. Negroman: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.
    Mr. ROK. Do you agree with that? Or not?

40. @Inkwell

“Having said that, a thought, statement or action may be racist in its effect, but not necessarily so in intent. Here the argument becomes very delicate.”

Racism is not an individual thing, although it is reinforced by the individual of a particular race. It is therefore a non-sequitor to say that racist comments are not intended to be racists.

The comment is either racist in construction or not; as demonstrated by the use of the word nigger by a black man to another black man as apposed to its use by a white man. In the former there is no racism but in the latter it can only be racism.

Any comment that is racist in effect is racist in mind, body and deed. There can be no separation.

41. @ROK:
    Very well said.

@David:
    The above quote delivered by Yardbroom maybe more at the crux of the prevailing issue. It coincides with email requests to us in the last week soliciting our website stats and other superficial reasons to engage us. We have already stated that BU will not discuss our website traffic at this time suffice to say that we continue to grow especially by referrals i.e. BU family members emailing our blogs to friends.

BU encourages those who have a problem with Negroman’s comments to engage him, we have read apologies from Negroman before when he felt he understood he had crushed the sensibilities of fellow commenters. The fixation with pulling down BU by a few must be seen as an agenda being unraveled in certain quarters.
    ————————————————-

I continue to inform all and sundry about BU, and once I tell them that BFP is frequented by White Bajans they stay away. lol! David I don’t know you from the next nudder fella neither am I interested in so doing, but if ever there is anything, anything that you think I could help, assist, procure, etc please do not hestitate to ask. I can only say yes or no.

I begin to research how to further BU’s reach amongst our Black caribbean brothers and sisters.
    BU continues to trounce BFP in all areas. LOL!

42. Dear Mr ROK,
    Quoting Mr. Negroman: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.
    Mr. ROK. Do you agree with Mr. Negroman? Or do you disagree with Mr. Negroman?

43. @ Negroman say that once and jack boman say it 20000 times,

What he trying to prove?

44. @Bimbro

“ROK, as a matter of interest, how do u define the Rwandan genocide, or Sierra Leonian genocide, as racism or tribalism and, what’s the difference, in effect!!”

The divide and rule tactics of the white man; the existence and designation of the house nigger, the field nigger and the yard nigger and they not understanding that they are one nigger.

When a field nigger attack a house nigger, it is because the house nigger feel and trying to demonstrate that they more important than the field nigger. You could be sure that the ones who doing the killing got convinced about something negative (lies) about their brothers.

You too here trying to deceive black people that they can be racist. There is only one man in history, if we had to say that a black man is racist that could come near and that is Marcus Garvey.

Yet all Garvey was saying is that there are no institutions that cater to the history and intelligence of the black man. When you go to school you learn white history culture and customs and their culture is intact because you could visit a place called trafalgar square and the museums and see white history and culture in action. We eat with knives and forks and don’t stop eating after we belch.

Our cultures have been destroyed and now we have problems with overweight and ill-health; all the white man doings. Swine flu, bird flu, HIV/AIDS, slavery, the jewish holocaust are all the white man doings; and I might add, with impunity. The whole world suffering and paying for 911; another white man doing.

What you really trying to tell the people of Barbados at all?

45. @ Mr. Ready Done

Mr Negroman says: “Yes I said murdered Canadian tourist Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.

Mr. Ready Done, do you agree with that?

46. Mr. Bowman, it looks like you are the real trash.

47. A man of no “academic position” tries to speak with authority on writing skills…or the lack of and grammar on a blog.

A man who is very familiar with “trash”, so familiar that through it he earns a living…not a bad thing which should not be derided. However, when that appellation “white trash” is addressed to “him” it reminds him of the position that now identifies him not only in his environment…but in his being.

That the title is from someone he thinks is subliterate – his term – is the final straw, and thus he exposes himself with the use of insults and loose words…Oh! how have the mighty fallen.

48. Quoting Mr Rok: “Mr. Bowman, it looks like you are the real trash.”

@ Mr ROK. Fine. Now we’re getting to it.

Do you agree with Mr. Negroman that “Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.

Do you agree with that?

49. @ Yardbroom

Thanks for your input. I didn’t understand it. You want to try to insult me again? Bless you, and thanks.

In the meantime, do you agree with Mr. Negroman, who has this to say: “Mr Schwarzfeld is white trash. I make no apologies for calling her that … I do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life … all Stinking Europeans could disappear of [sic] the earth … Mrs Schwarzfeld in the eyes of Negroman is nothing but white trash …”.

Thanks for your input. Ah, bless. May you have a blessed day.

50. …seems that Negroman has really jerked some strings. LOL… amazing how some people seem unable to respect the fact that others may have different OPINIONS….
    I respect NM’s honesty! I appreciate that fact that he is willing to share his HONEST opinions. (even when I disagree or find these opinions offensive)
    …and I resent those who presume the right to dictate what others opine.

…as to a response to those who may use terms like ‘boy’ and ‘Nigger’; ….while they may not actually use the term in public, their ACTIONS in multiple ways, shout these terms all day and every day.

People like NM use terms like ‘mango selling’ etc – and probably never hurt a fly in his whole life….