Submitted by Yardbroom
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley

When a “great” political party with many years of distinguished service to the citizens of Barbados; seems uncertain how to re-connect with the electorate, can an ordinary citizen make a comment? yes! I say.ย  Elections are not won by preaching to the party faithful, they will always shout “talk yer talk” to a chorus of clapping and stamping of feet at conference.

However, elections are won by appealing to and convincing the uncommitted, the middle ground, the undecided and the dissatisfied.

As a party and I repeat for emphasis a “great political party” is reduced to a blogger on Barbados Underground – with alleged access to those in high places in the Party – who seems to beย  “as mad as a box of frogs” jumping up with various heads, spewing “constant” bile, insulting those whose votes the party will depend for outright victory, it is time for a reassessment of tactics.

The opposition party has a leader of intellectual depth, articulate, presentable and a household name, with a history of public service, it should not be impossible to work out a strategy to present the leader in the best possible light.ย  With due weight given to empathy, concern for the masses and to show a dimension of personality hitherto unknown to the Barbados general electorate.

People vote for those with whom they are comfortable.ย  If some of those who support you and propagate for the Barbados Labour Party are seen as uncaring, insulting, rabid and lacking in guile, it creates hesitancy in the minds of the electorate, you lose by a reluctance of citizens to be mentally associated with you.

Why should anyone care? because in a vibrant democracy it benefits society to have an “effective opposition”, to keep the Government on track and offer an alternative to the citizens.

I have “never” made a public negative comment about the present leader of the opposition, because I firmly believe “everyone” deserves a fair chance and the opportunity to put their skills to the test.ย  On this issue others might disagree with my reasoning…I will have to accept that.

I am not privy to the inner workings of the Barbados Labour Party, I have no connections to ascertain the truthfulness of discord in their ranks about undecided leadership, to me they are just allegations.

What I do know is that the present Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson has connected with the people of Barbados, he has felt the heart beat of the Barbados, electorate.ย  People like their leader to be decisive, often against the odds, and he has shown that quality on the illegal immigration issue.

He has held aloft the Barbados flag and as it flutters in the breeze “the majority” of Barbadians are with him, he will be “difficult” to dislodge.

1. I don’t know nutting bout politics or the opposition leader, all i know is that she is an alleged ‘wicker with a iron fist.’ and the voice don’t help much.

True or not, that is how i view her ‘in a nut shell.’ so she cant get my vote.

2. If Mia does n’t have the politcal nous for the job den, what can she do!! Doan worry, Arthur will be back when d time come!! unless yuh wants tuh call me, from Englan!!

3. I wid u, RD!! I in voting eida!! Whaever dah is!!

4. As a matter of interest! Why r Barbadian-Americans allowed to vote in Bim elections but not the Barbadian-Briish!! Are Barbadian-Americans considered more Barbadian than British-Barbadians and, if so, why?? Is it because America’s nearer and the assumption’s made that Barbadian-Americans will visit home more often and thus have closer ties with the motherland, otherwise I’m unable to perceive the reason for the distinction!! I actually, know British-Barbadians who visit home very often and so am unable to see the reason for the prejudice!! I would like to be able to vote for my country’s Prime minister!!

5. @199

Your comment was edited. Dont cross the line again.

6. Plus, it would bring a sense of British, stability an fairniss to d entire process!!

Dave, I can’t understand you! RD, used the actual word! I did n’t. Yet, you have n’t touched his post but censored mine!! I doan c d logic uh it an, it doan seem fair tuh me!! Also, r u saying dat I’m blige to vote for one of them, if I don’t want to!

7. I caan onstan dat one at all!!

8. Why do’t you stop and slowly reread to see the difference. Check the word he used immediately preceding.

This is our last exchange with you on this particular matter, just don’t have to time to engage in your prattles this morning.

9. Agree with the position Yardbroom has taken and Bush tea on another blog. The talk shows and the blogs etc have show that politicians will have to come different. Lets see what happen.

10. Dave, please tell me why I should be blige tuh vote fuh one uh dem if I doan want to!! cause I jus caan onstan dah, man!!

11. For one i dont closely follow politics but certainly i do vote!!!!!!!

I think most of the ‘younger’ public is like me in this regard. Personality plays a big role for the politician, in this day and age, when i notice a problem i should be able to ask my self what would my leader do? and ‘know’ what they would do.

That ‘persived connection’ is all it takes to get my FIRST vote, if ya mess it up, you cant get it again. EVER.

12. It would appear that for Yardbroom David Thompson can walk on water. He (PM Thompson) may have connected with the people but does that immunise him from scrutiny? Remember that the now much maligned Owen Arthur won 3 elections and the now mighty DLP were once reduced to two seats in the House of Assembly.Today’s hero is tomorrow’s villain.

Regardless of criticism of the DLP’s policies contained in the posts of supposed followers of BLP, these can no more be assumed to be authorised missives of the BLP than Yardbroom’s post be assumed to have been penned in George Street. Rather than concern ourselves with the fortunes of the BLP maybe we should be more concerned with factual and principled review of Government policy and promises for instance integrity legislation, agricultural land protection, cost of living reduction measures and QEH improvement all of which were election platform issues.

13. David, thank you for the reply but, “prattles”? Dat hard man!! Anyway, according to your correction I’m going to re-write the sentence:

I in have nuh intention of voting fuh nuh ALLEGED, wikka!! I hope dat satisfy my dear friend Dave’s insistance pun accuracy an fairness!!

But, “prattles”, Dave!! Dat’s hard man!! Dat’s hard!!

I still maintain that my point about the voting eligibility of Bajan-Americans and British-Bajans is still a reasonable point to make!!

14. @ David:
    What is this other blog where comments of a political nature were made by BT and YD?

@199:
    How long now it is, that Bajan-Yankees can vote in a Bajan election????

15. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Over the years, the DLP became practiced at the art of looking back, complaining and attributing blame to everyone but themselves.

It now blames the global financial crisis for its poor judgment and bad decisions, which triggered a meltdown of the Barbados economy and made a difficult global financial situation more challenging for Barbadians.

Truth is, the DLP is too stupid to realise that with our foreign reserves plummeting – the global financial crisis is actually doing it a favor.

The list of persons (including die- hard Dems) who are saying that the DLP does not know what it is doing and is therefore creating a mess, is getting longer, daily.

Whether the DLP will be able to hold onto its job – is up to the people.

However, the record will show that even within its first 100 days in office, seventy per cent of the respondents in a Nation Newspaper poll gave the DLP a failing grade.

Watching as family members loose their jobs; being price gouged on land tax; petroleum products and now hurting unnecessary in their pockets – Barbadians are in no mood to give the DLP a second chance.

They remember only too well the words of DLP elder: Sir Frederick Smith, Q.C., when he said: โ€œwell give them a chance and if you do not like how they perform, kick them out.โ€

Still, having created such unnecessary economic pain, the DLP is holding on to its job longer than expected.

Barbadians must not loose their sense of outrage, especially when there is a better way.

In the national interest, the people must rescue this country and put it back on track.

Given its โ€œintellectual weaknessโ€ and โ€œpolitical incompetence,โ€ the political institution (the DLP) that dominated the Barbadians political landscape between 1961 and 1976 – will have a near impossible task of convincing even a tolerant Barbadian society – to ever trust it again, especially since the Barbados Labour Party has proven for fourteen years that the DLP will never be able to have influence in a thinking society.

That under Errol Barrow the DLP was a symbol of Barbadosโ€™ ascendency but is now diminished and humbled – is unfortunate.

While you seek to take the spot light off David Thompson and put it on the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition, note that the “breaking news is that Thompson has stop the Natural Gas Pipeline from Trinidad to Barbados.

Why?

Simpson and Clico. But I will tell you more later.

Talk about collusion and corruption! And the Church is silent as death.

Barbados! Where is your sense of outrage.

16. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

It is also very amusing that it clearly appears that the same Mottley is struggling with her own internal struggles from within here inner circle of the party structure, if one were to look at the clear divide between her candidate selection process and the rush by George Pain and Dale Marshall vs Mottley, on one hand we have Pain and Marshall going into St James North and undermining their sitting representative in Rawle Eastmond who has very clearly stated that he is going no where and is serving out his term but yet still these two are walking around trying to displace him meanwhile Mottley’s choice of candidate Sandra Husbands is also trying to gain favour in St James North.

Now let us move further up to Christ Church East where in Mottley’s effort to firm up her support for her alleged Gay and Lesbian outlook and her agenda she has turned to a Wilfred Abrahams to be her supporter and her candidate in that region, he is not being picked for his willingness to serve but rather because like Mottley his alleged weakness, he is yet another one that Mottley believes she can stack the Parliament with ones of her leanings in order to secure a positive vote for Gay and Lesbian rights such as same sex marriages, and legalising male and female prostitution.

Abrahams has no connect or link to ordinary people he sees himself as aloof and of a higher calling than to be mixing at a grass roots level, when he and Santia Bradshaw could meet Minister Michael Lashley in the Courtyard of the Courts of Barbados and chide Minister Michael Lashley for doing the good work to offer his legal services to a Rastaman and they could inform Minister Michael Lashley because he the Rastaman would not have any money to pay they would not do the work for him, this is really a sad reflection of the nature of the ones that you are dealing with.

Minister Michael Lashley told them in no uncertain terms that once there was a person needing legal advise and he was available he would represent anyone for free if it needed to done for free but that each person of this island was entilted to legal advice despite their ability to pay or who the were, not so for Abrahams and Bradshaw the greed of these two is simply unbeliveable.

This level of open greed is made even clearer by Bradshaw’s attachment to Tony Hoyos of HARDWOOD HOUSING FAME, not only did he commit faud at HARDWOOD HOUSING it goes much further than that, it extends to the GAIA where between Brewer and Hoyos these two wanted control of 14 of the airport shops between them and the scam of the airport advertising Barbadian monies being paid to a Trinidadian based company owned and operated by who else ??

Brewer and Hoyos all this done with the blessings and support of Mottley and Owing and the former cabinet of the last BLP gov’t of Barbados.

17. @Adrian

Check the immigration blog underm BT made a comment last night.

18. More Lies By WIV Avatar
    More Lies By WIV

WIV said…

“It goes much further than that, it extends to the GAIA where between Brewer and Hoyos these two wanted control of 14 of the airport shops between them”

as I recall the rumour mill talked about an “Irish company” which turned out to be Aerianta one of the world’s largest Duty Free operators. As I further recall the operation Caribbean ARI turned out to be a joint venture between Aerianta and Caribbean Airways (a company owned by the Government of Barbados which previously operated the Inbound Duty Free shop) so in effect most of the Duty Free shops at the airport are controlled by the Government of Barbados.

WIV lies again as usual.

19. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

I stand fully behind my comments had it not been for the actions of one young sensible thinking lawyer who formerly sat on that board to stand up and say enough is enough the Brewer and Hoyos clan would have secured the operation of all 14 duty free shops at GAIA, he in his wisdom stood up to the nonsense and said that some of that space needed to be set aside for local back owned business, I praise him fully for having the guts to go against the trend permitted by Owing, Mottley and company, the only reason Hoyos and Brewer were given so much room to operate is that these two were the revenue generating machinery of the BLP, created to be DLP crusher, the use of vast sums of cash on Election day where Owing and Mascot were openly seen going to the trunk of M50 and extracting white plastic bags of cash in Deacons and the Farm, the electorate were smarter that the politicians by a long way they took the tainted BLP money derived from persons like Hoyos and Brewer and passed on to the BLP network yet still they voted for the DLP and voted you out.

20. @Anonymous June 5, 2009 at 7:45am

Hi Anonymous,
    I did not say or even imply that “David Thompson can walk on water,” but he seems to be walking in a straight line with both feet firmly planted on the ground.

Neither did I say he should be [immunized] from scrunity a second look at the text of my submission would highlight the following: …”in a vibrant democracy it benefits society to have an “effective opposition” to keep the Government on track and offer an alternative to the citizens”…

Often fairness and balance are scarce commodities but they should be treasured, for they allow Kings and beggars in rags a dip – even if temporary – in the bath of truth.

The issues to which you have alluded namely: “integrity legislation, agricultural land protection, cost of living reduction measures and QEH improvement” are “fair” comment.

21. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

A Fast Free Fall โ€“ From Prosperity to Crisis

There can be no denying that under Errol Barrow, the DLP was a political institution that helped lift hundreds of thousands of Barbadians into the middle class.

Back then, the DLP continued the transforming of this country that started by Grantley Adams, utilizing Barbadian talent and innovation and its access to grant funds and concessionary loans.

Today, not knowing what it is doing (even though being the government) the DLPโ€™s slide continues with Errol Barrowโ€™s Party travelling below the earth at record speed.

The DLPโ€™s reality is therefore: “a Fast Free Fall โ€“ From Prosperity to Crisis.”

22. @WIV

Since you mentioned Hardwood Housing, would you like to share the results of the Forensic Audit with us?

23. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Will there be an investigation into why are Chinese threatening to bulldoze the homes of Barbadians who were living on the land for over an half of a century?

And , to build a guard wall? A guard who?

24. @199:
    How long now it is, that Bajan-Yankees can vote in a Bajan election????

Adrian, I can’t swear to the accuracy of that statement but either read or heard that this is possible! Perhaps, somebody can confirm weather it’s true!!

25. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Highly respected regional academic, Sir Ronald Saunders, has added his voice to the growing list of intellectuals who are disappointed in David Thompson and feel that he poses a tremendous threat to regional integration.

Sir Ronald therefore adds legitimacy to what has been said by other intellectuals, such as Professor Frank Alleyne; Professor Girvan and Dr. Joseph – the latter of who has openly called for a reshuffle of the quasi-CARICOM Cabinet.

In essence, highly respected regional academics are of the view that David Thompson should be fired because he lacks the capacity to drive to process forward and is only a pedestrian – at a time when intellect and leadership is required.

26. KT, I’m pretty certain that should be KnightS Templar. You’re inadvertently, miseducating the Bajan people!!

27. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

?????Why Knight Templar??????

The Knights Templar trace their origin back to shortly after the First Crusade. Around 1119, a French nobleman from the Champagne region, Hugues de Payens, collected eight of his knight relatives including Godfrey de Saint-Omer, and began the Order, their stated mission to protect pilgrims on their journey to visit The Holy Places.

They approached King Baldwin II of Jerusalem, who allowed them to set up headquarters on the southeastern side of the Temple Mount, inside the Al Aqsa Mosque. Since the Temple Mount was the site of biblical King Solomon’s Temple the Order took the name “The Poor Knights of the Temple of King Solomon”, which later became abbreviated to “Knights Templar”.

Little was heard of the Order for their first nine years. But in 1129, after they were officially sanctioned by the church at the Council of Troyes, they became very well-known in Europe.

Their fundraising campaigns asked for donations of money, land, or noble-born sons to join the Order, with the implication that donations would help both to defend Jerusalem, and to ensure the charitable giver of a place in Heaven.

The Order’s efforts were helped substantially by the patronage of Bernard of Clairvaux, the leading churchman of the time, and a nephew of one of the original nine knights. The Order at its outset had been subject to strong criticism, especially of the concept that religious men could also carry swords.

In response to these critics, the influential Bernard of Clairvaux wrote a multi-page treatise entitled De Laude Novae Militae (“In Praise of the New Knighthood”), in which he championed their mission and defended the idea of a military religious order by appealing to the long-held Christian theory of just war, which legitimated โ€œtaking up the swordโ€ to defend the innocent and the Church from violent attack. By so doing, Bernard legitimised the Templars, who became the first “warrior monks” of the Western world.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Of Knight Templar, Bernard of Clairvaux, wrote:

โ€œA Templar Knight is truly a fearless knight, and secure on every side, for his soul is protected by the armor of faith, just as his body is protected by the armor of steel. He is thus doubly-armed, and need fear neither demons nor men.โ€

One of the tenets of their religious order was that they were forbidden from retreating in battle

28. Knight Templar i notice you don’t agree with the sitting government.

What do you think about the move they made to shut down the disruptive psv influence on or future working class citizen, (rich people don’t catch bus) …

Or the move to tax cigarettes, cell phones and gambling.

29. LOL, KT, I din ask fuh uh history lesson!! I already know enuf bout dem tuh do me!!

Ok, Sir Templar Knight!! lol!!

30. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

What do you think about the move they made to shut down the disruptive psv influence on or future working class citizen.

+++++++++++++++++++

If the David Thompson Inhumane Doctrine on Deportation was not being administered – the DLP would be terrorising the same ZRs, the rastafarian Ciommunity, vendors, public servants, taxi men and consumers.

Therefore, the David Thompson’s Inhumance Deportation Doctrine i- s merely temporary relief for the group mentioned above.

But the Mini-Budget will come, VAT will be increased so too water rates. More will be fired from the public service.

It is not a question of if, but when!

31. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Cigarette and gambling?

These are sin taxes. Nothing wrong if you are promoting good health (medical and spiritual) and wellness.

The cellphone tax is a nuisance tax.

It cannot be implemented because it would be costly to administer – hence a nuisance tax and a waste of Parliament’s time.

32. Yardbroom

the thesis of your post (unless I am mistaken) is expressed in the paragraph : ” As a party and I repeat for emphasis a โ€œgreat political partyโ€ is reduced to a blogger on Barbados Underground โ€“ with alleged access to those in high places in the Party โ€“ who seems to be โ€œas mad as a box of frogsโ€ etc …..” You thus proceed to cast aspersions on the quality of the Official Opposition’s contribution to debate on the issues of the day on the basis of the posts of an anonymous blogger whose language can be admittedly “strident”. I place two points on the BU table: 1 Anyone is free to post comment on BU subject to the administrator’s approval and 2. I am not aware that any poster has been authorised to officially represent the BLP (or any party for that matter). In other words should I assume that WIV or Yardbroom is the official “voice” of the DLP (protests not withstanding)?

Let me be blunt, your post is a not-so-subtle attempt to deflect criticism of the Thompson administration not by responding to the charges made by posters but by attacking their style and further to suggest without caveat that they represent the BLP’s position. It is my contention that your thesis is to be rejected unconditionally as a baseless (but malicious) construction of your sole making.

33. Speaking on Starcom Networkโ€™s Tell It Like It Is on Friday, Joseph, a lecturer at Cave Hill campus of the University of the West Indies, said โ€œthe language and pronouncements made [by the Thompson Administration] would lead one to conclude that the current leadership is not pro-integrationโ€.

He also called for some leaders to be shifted in CARICOMโ€™s quasi-Cabinet.

โ€œYou actually look at commitment, skill and personal ability, for example, before you give someone a ministry . . . [but] what we have in CARICOM is where a Prime Minister may inherit a portfolio,โ€ said Joseph

In short, there should be a reshuffle of the Caricom Cabinet because David Thompson is “intellectually weak” and lack the capacity to drive the CSME process forward.

34. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Sorry about that.

35. Just what we need to import drugs,right Jester Templar.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/news/local/06/05/six-guyanese-guilty-in-huge-bajan-drug-bust/

“Six Guyanese guilty in huge Bajan drug bust
    By Stabroek staff | June 5, 2009 in Local News
    -Narcotics had been secreted in logs

(Barbados Nation) Six Guyanese who have been on a prolonged trial in Barbados on a charge of smuggling ganja and cocaine into that country in 2005 were yesterday found guilty and will be sentenced on June 15.

Lemme Michael Campbell, 45, and his wife Somwattie Persaud, 40, both of 106 New Garden Street, Georgetown; Christopher Bacchus, 43, and his wife Dianne Bacchus, 37, both of Bay Gardens, Bayland, St Michael, Barbados; Wayne Gavin Green, 38, of North Ruimveldt, Georgetown and Bridgefield, St Thomas, and Rohan Shastri Rambarran, a 43-year-old businessman of Georgetown, Guyana, were on trial in the Number Four Supreme Court on six counts relating to a police seizure of hundreds of kilos of both cannabis and cocaine at a house in Bay Gardens, St Michael.

All six had denied possession and trafficking in 91.3 kilos of cannabis and 119.4 kilos of cocaine on November 30, 2005, while Campbell and Rambarran had denied importing both cannabis and cocaine on November 29, 2005.

Around 1.50 pm yesterday, the nine-member mixed jury walked back into court after deliberating for nearly three hours.

The foreman, bearing a sheet of paper, rose and, when asked if the jury had reached unanimous verdicts with respect to each accused, replied yes.

He then intoned 28 guilty verdicts. As he did, Somwattie Persaud started to silently cry and her husband held his head down. Rambarran started to fidget as if wanting to rise and speak.

On hand, inside and outside the court, immigration officers waited, while friends of the six hovered in the courtyard of the court complex.

โ€œThe prosecution is asking for an adjournment at this stage,โ€ said Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock, QC, who led the prosecutionโ€™s team of Principal Crown Counsel Anthony Blackman and Principal Crown Counsel Wanda Blair.

There was no objection from the defence attorneys and Justice Kaye Goodridge adjourned the matter until June 15.

โ€œAnd the six accused are remanded in custody,โ€ she said, before thanking jurors, police, prison officers and other court staff for the work during the trial.”
    ——————————————-

I wonder why the BLP are so anxious to be “pro-integration” or is it pro-drug money,hmmmmm ?

36. Yardbroom did not attempt to managed critique of the PM by focusing on the LOTO. The facts are more likely to be that the PM’s position on Immigration is much much more insync with the views of the majority Barbados electors. Conversly, the LOTOS’s objections to the PM immigration position (which really is not an objection since the LOTO AGREES THAT THE PM IS ACTING WITHIN THE LAWS OF BARBADOS)..need to be dealt with. and if there is insistence that they oppose PM LAWFULL immigration views,and action, then it can be said that they are also at odds with the said majority of Barbados electors, and THE LAW. Therefore it is right that ELECTORS focus on these objections voice by the LOTO. Do you know how to that without focusing on Mia Mottley? Should we focus on Owen Arthur, or George Payne, maybe Marshall or Mascoll’s views on immigration? We don’t rightly know who leads that party, and it will matter come next election.

BTW Yardbroom, you are a registered Barbados elector are you not?

37. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Here is what is written on page 69 of the BLP’s 2008 manifesto:

“We have strengthened the capability to effectively police our territorial waters against drug traffickers and other transnational criminal activity.”

Why did the BLP revamp Barbados’ communication capacity by purchasing and installing an integrated wireless telecommunication network at a cost of more that $26 million?

Why was Police operations computerised; state of the art equipment acquired and a Local and Wide Area Network, activated?

What is the judicail system modification all about? Do you realise that the building that was recently named after US AG Eric Holder and not after Sir Federick Smith, Q.C., was built by the BLP.

What was the $59 million coast guard upgrade all about?

Why were new boats bought for the police and coast guard.

Incidentally, is it true that in the last election – the DLP told drug dealers that Arthur bought boats for the Coast Guard so that they cannot get their drugs into Barbados?

Why do drug dealers feel that the DLP gave them a commitment, which it must now honour?

38. @Anon:
    Who elected this Caricom cabinet? who are they answerable to? anyone?

Is there caribbean electorial college that I am not aware of?

Clearly this “Joseph” person wants to BELIEVE. Kind of sad for a so call academic. Where is the proof that could lead him to his conclusion? Or is he speaking on behalf of others?

39. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

David Thompson prooves regional academics right.

As if to confirm that he is a joker, david Thompson said recently that the Arawak Cement Plant should put a “welcome sign” on its roof so that people coming into Barbados can see it.

I suppose he will soon tell the BDF at Paragon to do similar.

He then says that he cannot wait for the day when the US economy rebounds.

david Thompson is too “intellectually weak” to realise that there is a link between the US economy rebounding and increase demand – hence increase food and oil prices – hence an increase in the cost of living in Barbados and increase pressure on our foreign reserves.

Why is this a problem? There is already reduced investor confidence in the DLP and a capital flight from this country. FDI down.

People are travelling but not to Barbados.

Peoplem are investing but jut not in Barbados.

Under DLP rule, Barbados is on a free fall from prosperity to crisis.

Mad men at the controls yet no public outrage, despite the warning of the most intelligent locally and within the region.

40. @Knight Tamplar:
    Why would you build a guard wall, purchase a guard dog, Install security cameras and alarm on your property, and then have an open door policy to person’s without vetting them?

41. Kt ‘killa’ somebody got to get terrorize, you wife get deport or wha?

Tell me something, who/what criteria determines the head the Caribbean integration ‘council’ is it only the head of Barbados?

If that is so then the critique towards OUR PM is unjustified because his predecessors views on integration may not be in keeping with his own.

He may not even want that level of integration.

Once again i will like say this, I expect those I place in power to protect and uphold all laws.

42. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Perhaps if only reads Article 13 to 20 of the revised Treaty.

43. Barbados is not yet a socialist “utopia” like Cuba where, whatever is said by those at the top goes. In Barbados today you have to win the argument, you have to, as in the kind of democracy that we hold too, argue your point to and convince those electors whose support you will require in other to govern. These so called regional academics and the BLP need to win the argument. The latter clearly is on the wrong side of the debate with no way to dig themselves out, and the former, still cannot bring themselves to talk to average people. I don’t know how they can ever convince anyone of anything they say.

44. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Once again i will like say this, I expect those I place in power to protect and uphold all laws.

++++++++++++++++++

Thank you for the opening.

Do you know that the DLP is breaking the law, as it related to Clico’s Statutory Fund deficit?

Based on its structure, the law requires Clico to have $93 million. It does not.

Was it lawful for Thompson to increase the price of petroleum products from the studio of CBC?

Which law did he use?

The Central Bank is buying its own Paper. Essentially, the DLP is again printing money. Why no public outrage?

Do you know that based on the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act, the DLP is collecting road taxes illegally?

Now, will you withdraw your support; turn down the noise or should Thompson call election?

What law gives Prime Minister Thompson lawful authority to bypass the Insurance Act, as regards Clico’s $93m Statutory Fund deficit, and place it under a Committee that reports to him – its long time lawyer?

Barbados, where is your sense of outrage?

45. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Barbados is not yet a socialist โ€œutopiaโ€ like Cuba where, whatever is said by those at the top goes

The thing that binds Cubans is “UNITY.”

The Party in Cuba has about 850,000 members.

Perhaps you should also be aware that Cuba has tremendous respect for Barbados, Jamaica and those countries that held the line back then and established Diplomatic Missions there, despite the American boycott.

46. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

These so called regional academics and the BLP need to win the argument.

++++++++++++++++

Are you aware that the Barbados economy is in crisis and while it is – David Thompson is calling sick-old-men out of retirement from active politics to help him?

This, after telling those same men that their shelf-life had expired and their sell-by-date had passed.

Why would David Thompson reshuffle the Cabinet, a mere 10 months after being elected, and after saying that Minister were carefully selected.

David Thompson does not know what he is doing and the only thing to stop the free fall into further crisis; job lost and increased harship for Barbadians – is for him to call election.

The problem for the DLP is that while it can bribe ordinary people with their own money, it recognises it severe limitations when it comes to regional academics.

The second point is that the DLP was forced to come to the quick understanding that it may be able to trick Barbadians and blame the global financial crisis for its intellectual weakness and political incompetence, but no such luck with regional academics, who can see right through that crap.

This is the source of the DLP’s predicament. People who are bright know that David Thompson and the DLP do not know what they are doing.

47. If ya braking the law ya should be locked up. simple.

but

‘Rules or made for the guidence of the wise but for fools to follow.’

With that said, if Clico was to fall would it be for the better or worst of Barbados?

All a them breck laws you talking bout is too much for me to swallow, at once. So we gin have too attack them one at a time.

You saying there is a way that i could boycott paying road tax?

Part the printery is??or you did not mean that literally.

CBC is not the best place to broadcast from?

I really is a novice to these things but i wanna learn what going on bout hay.

48. ha ha ha man KT don’t mek me laugh. In that regard you are talking about Cubans. I am referencing Castro and his Cummunist henchmen.

Unite: to bring together so as to form a whole.

How the remaining Cubans where brought together, and kept together needs some clarity. Care to give it a try?

BTW how come you aint mention Grenada in that list of countries Castro, respects? Castro, and his henchmen needs to be friends to Cuban outside of Cuba.

So do you think that we should follow Castro/Cuba political model? Not having to win the argument via civil debate?

Owen wanted to be second only to FIDEL.

49. If they are bright how come they have not figured out a way to “win” the argument with less bright people? I think is it trio of physical, mental, and intellectual laziness that defines caribbean academics love affair with socialist type goverments, such as Castro’s Cuba. They just seem to lack the ability to convince any significant number of people of what they claim they believe, and know. Maybe they just BELIEVE.

50. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

How the remaining Cubans where brought together, and kept together needs some clarity. Care to give it a try?

Scholarships, education, discipline, UNITY, sense of identy, resilliance, respect for authority.

Low crime rate and no talk of Chinese threatening to bulldoze “anybody’s” house.

Anybody who can survive for over 50 years, despite American pressure, is a people we can learn from.

The Rt. Excellent Mr. Barrow should be salute for having established relations with the Cuban people in 1972.

How come the Barbadians Mr. Thompson met while in Cuba, who have been living there for years – never came back, whether D or B was in office?