Submitted by Yardbroom
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley

When a “great” political party with many years of distinguished service to the citizens of Barbados; seems uncertain how to re-connect with the electorate, can an ordinary citizen make a comment? yes! I say.ย  Elections are not won by preaching to the party faithful, they will always shout “talk yer talk” to a chorus of clapping and stamping of feet at conference.

However, elections are won by appealing to and convincing the uncommitted, the middle ground, the undecided and the dissatisfied.

As a party and I repeat for emphasis a “great political party” is reduced to a blogger on Barbados Underground – with alleged access to those in high places in the Party – who seems to beย  “as mad as a box of frogs” jumping up with various heads, spewing “constant” bile, insulting those whose votes the party will depend for outright victory, it is time for a reassessment of tactics.

The opposition party has a leader of intellectual depth, articulate, presentable and a household name, with a history of public service, it should not be impossible to work out a strategy to present the leader in the best possible light.ย  With due weight given to empathy, concern for the masses and to show a dimension of personality hitherto unknown to the Barbados general electorate.

People vote for those with whom they are comfortable.ย  If some of those who support you and propagate for the Barbados Labour Party are seen as uncaring, insulting, rabid and lacking in guile, it creates hesitancy in the minds of the electorate, you lose by a reluctance of citizens to be mentally associated with you.

Why should anyone care? because in a vibrant democracy it benefits society to have an “effective opposition”, to keep the Government on track and offer an alternative to the citizens.

I have “never” made a public negative comment about the present leader of the opposition, because I firmly believe “everyone” deserves a fair chance and the opportunity to put their skills to the test.ย  On this issue others might disagree with my reasoning…I will have to accept that.

I am not privy to the inner workings of the Barbados Labour Party, I have no connections to ascertain the truthfulness of discord in their ranks about undecided leadership, to me they are just allegations.

What I do know is that the present Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson has connected with the people of Barbados, he has felt the heart beat of the Barbados, electorate.ย  People like their leader to be decisive, often against the odds, and he has shown that quality on the illegal immigration issue.

He has held aloft the Barbados flag and as it flutters in the breeze “the majority” of Barbadians are with him, he will be “difficult” to dislodge.

1. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

If they are bright how come they have not figured out a way to โ€œwinโ€ the argument with less bright people?

++++++++++++++++++

Be careful, there is a plan to have at least one UWI graduate per household.

The “influence” will come just like real change has come to Barbados, when the BLP is re-elected.

2. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Owen wanted to be second only to FIDEL.

++++++++++++++++++

Did PJ Patterson in Jamaica win 4 terms? I am serious! I do not recall if 3 or 4.

Why do I feel 4?

3. Alright KT, I am not going to argue the truth of Castro’s Cuba current and recent past, in this thread. This tread is about Mia, the BLP, and their bewildering pro illegal immigration position. Although Castro’s Cuba was a prominent feature in the BLP’s losing election theme. At any rate it is instructive as to where your party’s anti-peole views may have it’s origins.

4. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

At any rate it is instructive as to where your partyโ€™s anti-peole views may have itโ€™s origins

With the lowest unemployment in the history of Barbados?

You should have posted your DLP anti-Cuban comments while Thompson was there.

5. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

AH,

How come no one never ever spread the rumour about David Thompson that he is bright?

6. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

AH,

What does David Thompson mean when he told that Nation newspaper reproted that he and Leroy Parris are good friends “social friends and other?”

7. My Anti-Castro comments transcends party politics.

I am no fan of any Politician, but I dislike one more so than all the others.

Owen stated that a win on Jan 15 o8 would have made him the longest serving “LEADER” after fidel. Ask him about PJ wins.

The issue is immigration, and boy do your BLP’s position leave a very bad taste in the mouths of most Barbadians.

8. Anonymous June 5, 2009 at 1:22pm

Courtesy dictates a further response.

You said : “the thesis of your post (unless I am mistaken) is expressed…

It was wise of you to insert that “caveat” unless I am mistaken, I say, you are mistaken.

You further added: “1. Anyone is free to post comment on BU subject to the administrators approval and 2. I am not aware that any poster has been authorised to officially represent the BLP ( or any party for that matter)

Quite true, I concur.

I said: “As a party I repeat for emphasis a “great political party” is reduced to a blogger on Barbados Underground – with alleged access to those in high places in the Party -”

The important word in the word construction is “alleged” it means much hence it was inserted.

I will not infer that you have any “malicious intent” because that I do not know; but I will leave the fairness and balance of my submission for others to judge.
    Adrian the answer to your question is in the affirmative.

9. Knight Templar // June 5, 2009 at 3:22 pm

Owen wanted to be second only to FIDEL.

++++++++++++++++++

Did PJ Patterson in Jamaica win 4 terms? I am serious! I do not recall if 3 or 4.

Why do I feel 4?
    ———————————————

If per chance you hope that I am telling lies on Owen because you think the comparison between him and Fidel is not a particularly healthy one politically, how do you respond to the following?

10. When is the election date?

11. Simple? Is this Simple Minded? ha ha ha recently past or next constitutionally due election?

Jan 15 08 and before Jan 15 2013. Please remember that our tradition requires the PM to have a conversation wid himself, in order for elections to be called. For it to happen sooner you have to create the disaffection amonst the people an their members of parliament, and right now the disaffection is pointing towards you. Fix yuh priorities.

12. @Knight Templar

โ€ข How come the Barbadians Mr. Thompson met while in Cuba, who have been living there for years โ€“ never came back, whether D or B was in office?
    They couldnโ€™t afford to come back could they? Many people in Cuba rely on rations and Castroโ€™s meager pensions are not transferrable. So if they came back would your BLP have provided them with a pension and housing?

13. The BU blogger as is being referred to is fond of putting the argument that 8000 people separated the two parties in the last election.

The question is does the BU blogger believe that the BLP’s posture on the immigration issue is reflecting the views of the Barbadians who voted BLP?

If yes what is the basis for thinking that’s the case.

On another note we read today that William Duguid’s family has emigrated to Canada. Mia Mottley has countered by speculation that he will be resigning soon by saying she has no information to suggest anything of the sort. Here is an example of the electorate being taken for granted. It is obvious that Duguid will be pulling up stumps shortly.

14. David Thompson has the support of the majority of Barbadians on the immigration issue. He will win hands down in 2013 if the BLP continues going against the wishes of Barbadians.

If a vote was taken now the DLP will win easily because the BLP has surely lost touch with what Barbadians want for Barbados.

All sensible persons know about the economic problems being encountered by ALL countries yet the BLP using that as an attack line.

All the BLP supporters on this blog keep telling us about Caribbean intellectuals who have done nothing to improve the lives of the working class people of the Caribbean.

David Thompson at least went into politics and has been in the Barbados Parliament serving the people of St. John and now leading Barbados.

Donโ€™t blame David Thompson for the failure of CSME. It was Norman Manley and Eric Williams who broke up the federation in 1962 because of the same jealousies that exist today with Barbados today. Know your history. Do not let any Caribbean intellectuals mislead you.

15. At least we sure the PM party backing he, they were backing him for a long time.

I is say this all the time, Barbados don’t got no shanty town.

we as a country ent poor we always had good leaders that made wise choices. Has the PM made choices that we think are bad? So far he doing all right to me.

16. I give the DLP a passing grade up t o this point. Here is a negative on the DLP.
    I believe that the DLP will lose votes for not enacting Integrity Legislation. The BLP will not get those votes. Integrity Legislation should be done because of the principle stance the party took before the elections.

If we are following the West Minister System then follow it fully. In the UK politicians come under full scrutiny and that is what Barbadians want of their politicians.

Let us see the change that you call for. The Prime minister will go down in history as one of the best if he enacts laws that stop politicians from corrupt practices.

When you read the Auditor Generalโ€™s report some persons got real rich in the last eight years. The BLP has a hard job justifying some of those differences in figures given and those that are real.

17. Fairplay
    While I agree with you, the problem is that the BLP can’t pressure the DLP on the integrity issue bacause they too can’t impliment it whenever they get back in office, God knows when that would be. They all have skeletons in their closets.

18. @ Fairplay :
    Donโ€™t blame David Thompson for the failure of CSME. It was Norman Manley and Eric Williams who broke up the federation in 1962 because of the same jealousies that exist today with Barbados today. Know your history. Do not let any Caribbean intellectuals mislead you.

That is correct Fairplay. Since then the efforts at integration have been to facilitate free trade within the region. Jamaica and Trinidad only want Caricom for trade. They undermine integration. Barbados’ leadership now realize is just a pipe dream as these major islands are not embracing it (e.g. CCJ). Leaders talk and talk and promise and set dates that never bring real results for the people of the Caribbean.

Thompson is just now exposing the “big lie” of Caribbean integration as he realizes it will never happen. Countries will not give up their sovereign rights for common goals…. maybe except the OECS . Now Trinidad wants to join that group.. Why… is it to scuttle CSME?

Well stop questioning P.M. Thompson’s intellect. Owen Arthur did that and lost the elections. Mr. Thompson is an excellent leader and a man who has principles. He is not perfect but I like the measured way he speaks and governs. His move to stop the high-jacking of the country by thousands of economic CSME refugees breaks no CSME or Caricom agreements. It is the correct decision based on the present status of CSME.

CSME will not have true economic integration. It will go no further in relation to unregulated free movement. Mr. Thompson is just implementing this reality first… and others will follow. Forget about the academics.. they can hardly run a classroom properly much less a country.

These are serious times requiring serious leadership, and P.M. Thompson embodies true Leadership. I am saying this as an observer as I am not a Barbadian.

19. (Barbados Nation) Six Guyanese who have been on a prolonged trial in Barbados on a charge of smuggling ganja and cocaine into that country in 2005 were yesterday found guilty and will be sentenced on June 15.

At the expense of the Bajan taxpayer!! But, why should I worry doe, tuh tell yuh de trufe!! Steupse!!

The thing that binds Cubans is โ€œUNITY.โ€

Look, I doan really waan tuh get in dese conversations too much cause obviously, I in Barbadian to d same extent but, TK, u can’t sensibly make dat assertion because NOBODY can know anything about anything, for certain, in a country where free speech is banned!!

20. Wouldn’t it take one currency to make csme work?

It wouldn’t be to productive for the country with the stronger currency because everyone will want to work there then take their money back to were they come from.

One currency have to be implemented first, before free movement of people, to insure that all involved countries can exchange goods and services equally.

Other wise the only the rich would benefit from the influx of people doing the same work for less, as the new working class would definitely be poorer and accustom to poorer standards of living therefore willing to except lower pay.

We are not ready for csme. we cant even share flyingfish with our neighbors.

21. @RD

A single economy is important yes. Our academics and some politicians prefer to focus on free movement of people in isolation and conveniently forget that a common settlement framework to facilitate financial business is equally required i.e integration of institutions. There are also some problems which seem to be peculiar to small states which our LEADERS need to workout.

22. Common cents would dictate that free movement of people would be the last thing to implement.

If i go in T&T all now i cant even drive with my Barbadian license, so why all the fuss about integration when even such simple measures are not put in place as yet?

It isent even cheap to travel inter-island anymore.

23. @ David
    Before we debate the method of implementation of CSME, should we not try to establish WHY we would wish to go in that direction in the first place?

THAT HAS NEVER BEEN DONE!!!

All that we have ever heard in response to the question of ‘WHY?’ has been outdated clichรฉ like ‘unity is strength’ , ‘too small to survive’ , and about the EU.
    …all nonsense in 2009.

1 – even if we do succeed in getting together, we will still be too small to be influential. (in fact, as one entity, we will now have only one international vote instead of 14)

2- Having lived in, or traveled to nearly every one of the CSME countries, I see no special commonality of identity – not even in cricket- which would suggest a natural alignment – …in fact, my experience was quite the contrary…

3 Success in this time is all about efficiency, productivity and creativity. -NOTHING to do with size.

This suggests to me that we need to focus our resources on these factors – and CSME diverts resources, increases diversity, retards productivity and promotes internal conflict….. a sure way to failure in this new world.

….so far from looking at how to establish CSME, we should be looking at how to get out of it as soon as possible, so that we can our limited resources on ‘surviving’.

24. Johnny Postle Avatar

People, CSME ain’t gine work in the Caribbean. At least not with the type of thinking and mentalities that exist amongst Caribbean people. Maybe in a few more generations (or on Mars) when we could phase out the jealousies, hatreds, xenophobias, separatist thinking and ‘who is better than who’ ideals from our minds, maybe, and I say – just maybe – it might work. I do not care how much public discourse, representation by the political think tank and arguements for, you put forth, the type of mentalities prevailing in the Caribbean will not let it work.

Now how do we expect a chain of islands to understand oneness and its importance for the Caribbean when in truth and in fact the sea between the islands provides the notion and held notions, that we are separated. I think a Union or United system, like the EU and US, is made easier in the presence of one major land mass, than land mass that is separated by water. I mean, I do not know if my assumtion is true but take for instance England. England, supposingly, is part of Europe, yet they seem to take issue to the idea of falling under the schengen banner, have refuted many a EU policy and seem bent, come hell or high water, on not losing, more or less, their identity. Now I ain’t really know if this is a reason but look again at the problem – separated by water. Also we know that England have laid claim to Ireland, and their history is not one that paints a pretty picture between these two lands. There have existed for many many moons a plethora of indifference and violence. But yet again I cannot help but notice that they too are – separated by water. Now maybe, and I say just maybe, if they (England and Europe) were not separated by water maybe they two would whole heartedly and be unequivocally yoke to the concepts of the EU and likewise Ireland and England.

Now just to strike a balance, I know that there are those who are not separated by water who cannot come to terms with a unification of states of a large land mass, even if you put a gun to their heads. One such huge land mass with nuff nuff resources is Africa. However we know their history to some extent have dictated the courses of their actions and much of the blame has been squarely laid at the feet of the invaders (the ultimate excuses in these moderns times). However the other thing that I have noticed is that most of the land masses that find unity a very difficult thing, and where nogotiations have been stalled, halted or abandon for one reason or the other seems to be those land masses where black people reside. Now I am not saying that black people are incapable of championing the cause for unity but it is darn right plain to me that most of the land masses where blacks resides and presides have serious issues with unification and decades are passing by with no clear prospect that this will be acheived . Maybe these could be some of the reasons why a CSME will not work.

However, a balance must be struck when raising such debatable issues. Firstly that the benefactors of unifying states, who are now reaping the benefits of what uniting their resources can do, also reaped, back in the day, a world wind of wars and human suffering to get there. Their acheivements were in no way, smooth sailing. Examples are: the historical divide between America’s North and South states and the wars before Europa became the European Union. However I will end this little escapade of mind by saying that anything is possible with the right thinking and the right approach but the way how we as black people view certain efforts, I think it is taking us too long to understand the importance of certain things like oneness and unification and the benefits that can be derived if we seek to embrace. I truly do not think we will acheive any mere semblance of a united Caribbean, if we continue to perpetuate a thinking of selfish ideals and biases. We carry to many deep seated indifferences and prejudices to make any real progress towards the dream of a Caribbean Single Market and Economy. I just hope that I am proven wrong but like all things, only time will tell.

25. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Mottleyโ€™s name is tarnished and badly so, she was the one that took a leading figure in the last BLP govโ€™t that over saw plenty, plenty corruption and wrong doing she cannot now walk away and suddenly assume to be a saint, no way she was part and parcel of the cause of the corruption and dishonesty in the last administration let her fool you not.

Always remember the fiasco of the VECO PRISON that they told us we were wrong in our understanding that all mention of cost in the Parliament of Barbados must be in Barbados dollars but some how we were stupid enough to know that when they quoted the cost of the prison we did not understand that it was quoted in US dollars.

That smacks with arrogance and contempt that was the former BLP Govโ€™t

The base that operated on Owingโ€™s behalf, the funding, the on the ground people are NOT working for Mottley in speaking to some of them they are just not happy with her or her ways, there is much discontent among her own BLP members with her candidate selection process in Christ Church.

Getting more to the point it seems to stem from her trying to stack the selection of candidates with ones of her like thinking, hence the inclusion of Wilfred Abrahams in her selection as a candidate to support her agenda in support of Gay and Lesbian rights.

26. Who is Wilfred Adams?

27. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Wilfred Abrahams is Mottley’s selection for Christ Church East he is alledged to be like her with a warped orientation sexually but more importantly she is stacking her selection process with thoser favourable to her agenda and same sex marriages as well as legalising prostitution, this is why she is supportive of Abrahams and Sandra Husbands for nomination..

28. Is wilfred abrahams the young lawyer who was head of the bar association wishing in vain?

And are you saying sandra husbands is an alleged lesbian,I thought she was a christian married woman?

29. More Lies By WIV Avatar
    More Lies By WIV

Wishing In Vain drags people’s names through the mud to distract you from asking questions about Thompson and Parris.

From asking questions about why Barbados is the ONLY jurisdiction in the Caribbean that the government has NOT taken an active hand in.

To keep you from asking questions about the Central Bank Governor of TnT’s comment that Barbados is desperately trying to raise U$ on the Trinidad capital market to “avoid going to the IMF” (check the TnT press if you don’t believe me)

He doesn’t want you asking questions about the hospital, that having said “No New Hospital” Thompson will now have to back down and admit that the BLP was right in saying it needed to build a new hospital.

He doesn’t want you asking questions about the Engineers Association’s silence on the Wildey Death Trap after it raised such a ruckus about the Belle Junction.

Don’t be distracted by WIV, he likes to drag people’s names through the mud with salacious innuendo to distract you from asking questions that might be difficult for his bosses (and his bosses bosses at CLICO) to answer.

30. More Lies By WIV
    In the Saturday Sun one of the BLP stalwarts George Griffith said that Mia is going down the wrong road in the candidate selection. Is he telling lies?

31. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Fairplay not even the BLP’s most faithful have confidence or support Mottley at present, she is doing all the wrongs things for all the wrong reasons.

She is skating on thin ice and it will soon let her weight sink but after all a 1000 lbs of Blubber surely should float halfway.

The likes of Bovell and Greenidge that try to come onto this site and others with mistruths and lies have their work cut out in defence of one of their three bosses Mottley.

Were Mottley a honest person she would stop beating ( I do say that in reference to her typical action) around the bush and let the public know that she has been told by Duguid that he is done with politics and done with the BLP, after all he did not vote for her as his selection as leader of the opposition so we would all know where he stands in her pecking order.

I repeat she has the Christ Church branches in turmoil and upheavel not my saying so her own former loyal party supporters saying so.

32. @WIV;
    Well we all heard her pronouncements and strategies with the St.Micheal team in the last election. Would you not welcome her involvement in the Christ Church Branches? I would. lol!

33. As an aside:

Interesting times ahead in Christ Church West. In the 21st May 2003 General Election (a BLP victory)

Dr. William Dugid (BLP) was against Peter Barrow (DLP)
    Dr. Dugid won 2,620 against Peter Barrow 1,438.
    Dr.Dugid achieved 64.6% of the vote.

In the 15th January 2008 Election
    Dr. Dugid was against Taan Abed.
    Dr. Dugid 2,510
    Taan Abed 1,859 Dr Dugid’s majority only 651.

Christ Church West is a winable seat for the DLP – there is a trend on close analysis – hence the delay in resignation…in politics timing is everything.

34. Taan Abed should not be the candidate given the controversy which followed him last election.

35. I agree with David on this one.

36. Did it ever come to court?

37. Of course not.

38. It seams to me that Owen give her that position knowing full well what would happen.

Now the public has and unsavory view of one and not the whole ‘party’ sometimes ya got to sacrifice one for the grater good.

Smart chap.

Abed was mix up in what?

39. Its amazing that the Government got a well prepared ground so much like Ready Done and what happen?
    The tremors from the world economic world wind brek it up in pieces so it appears. All a we reading the radar with cock eyes it seems.

40. @ David
    I have “no opinion” as to if Taan Abed should be a candidate for Christ Church West again and therefore gave none. I have heard of the controversy to which you have alluded. I will not give it legs by further reference now.

However, if there is no truth to the allegations or the controversy can be overcome, the DLP could fight the bye-election, with an in-built advantage.

The DLP could fight the bye-election on the basis of, you say we are xenophobic towards foreigners who make their home in Barbados, but the lie to that is evident by the candidate we have taken to our hearts as one of our own.

To those beyond our shores particularly in “Guyana” we could say…that is the way we conduct politics in Barbados, and do note the decision to have Taan Abed as a candidate was taken long before the issue of immigration came to the fore, it is not window dressing.

That reasoning and line of argument would be difficult for anyone to rebutt…actions not words would have had the final say.

41. Well said Mr yardbroom.

I only ask bout the ex-mechanic because i cant find nutting bout it on the net.

42. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

While Yardbrrom has summarised the Christ Church West position very well,
    one other factor to be considered is why it used to be such a solid seat and how that will change via natural evolution.

The seat was Sir Henry Forde’s seat, traditionally strong because of Sir Henry, no other reason.

Hence, the BLP has ridden on this legacy up till now.

As Yardbroom has pointed out, the margin in the last election has declined, possibly indicating that the usefulness of that legacy as an elction-clincher is dimishing, due to the passage of time.

Voters will now require genuine returns from the holder of that seat, to prove worth, whether Duguid or anyone else.

The next election or bye-election in thay seat will surely be closer.

Peace

43. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Interestingly enough, there was an anlysis done recently by an international economic body, that tried to assess the reasons for the difference between the post-colonial economies of Jamaica and Barbados.

One of the issues mentioned as critical, was the action of each Government during the international economic crisis of the early 1990’s.

The conclusion reached, was that Jamaica’s following of IMF recommendations to reduce exchange rate parity, had a significant long-term detrimental effect on the Jamaican economy, while the Babados Govenrment action of the time, of a prices and incomes protoc0l, rather than trying to meddle with the exchange rate parity, had the desired short and long-term effects on the economy.

The Jamaican economy thus suffered since, while the Barbados economy has benefitted from the action of the then Government.

This is something that has been known and accepted for a while, by anyone with a modicum of understanding of finance and economics, but is now given further credence.

Hopefully, the rubbish spouted repeatedly, that Sandiford’s economic actions were detrimental, will now be reduced, if not ceased.

As noted above, in a similar manner, the current Opposition is blaming Thompson for the current international crisis.

Worse than laughable, it is idiotic to the extreme, particularly as our own economy has been affected by the debt burden which was inflicted in the last few years of the previous administration.

Peace

44. Yardbroom,

With respect to Ch. Ch. West, I thnk you are wrong on this one.

If you calculate, you will see that Duigid won in 2008 by 58% of the vote. This was acheived during a “massive swing” against the BLP.

Travel back in time and you will see that this constituency has always been a major stronghold of the BLP. No one could beat Henry Forde.

It will take a miracle for the DLP to win this seat.

45. I do however, agree that Tan Abed should NOT be the DLP’s choice.

46. @ Facts
    The point you made regarding Sir Henry Forde, to which Rumplestilskin also alluded about the personal vote of Henry Forde is quite true. It is also noted there was a national swing against the BLP in the last election.

Two points should be factored in, Dr William Dugid as I understood it was the choice of Henry Forde, so he came with some goodwill. He was also well liked by some of his constituents that personal endorsement from Dr Dugid is not -at least as yet- in place.

Dr. Dugid was also relatively local to Christ Church West for many years.

Although there was a national swing against the BLP Government at the last election; the DLP opposition was an unknown quantity…which is always a handicap. That is no longer the situation the “authority” of Government with Ministers and others free to fight the bye-election…to my mind gives the DLP government the advantage..but it could be close.

47. Yardbroom,

Agreed; but we have to wait and see.

48. But what if there is now a swing against the Government?

49. Yardbroom wrote dat “.. in a vibrant democracy it benefits society to have an โ€œeffective oppositionโ€, to keep the Government on track and offer an alternative to the citizens.” Yet he practically campaigning fuh Abed and the DLP! I thought that he would be first concerned dat de people of Ch Ch west get good representation from whichever party. Given that he is concerned about the strength of the opposition and democracy and ting, he would be encouraging the BLP to nominate a good replacement fuh Dogood and hope dey retain the seat. Anyway doan mind me I is only Poor Great.

50. Hi ,Poor Great

Where did I endorse Abed? I said no such thing, if I did, I implore you point me or quote the sentence where I did.

I give a view of the situation as I see it, a pragmatic view, my position has always been, there is no DLP or BLP stamped on my forehead.

I try to give a balance view, with honesty and integrity.