Norman Girvan, Research Fellow at the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine

Prime Minister David Thompsonโ€™s new immigration policy which addresses the vexing issue of undocumented CARICOM workers living in Barbados takes effect from today albeit a national holiday. The policy comes not too soon for many Barbadians who with their eyes see the problem for what it is, an open door immigration policy practiced by the previous government which was not sustainable. The woefully inadequate management information system at the Immigration Department to track people traffic across our borders has since been acknowledged by the Auditor General in his reportย  for period 2008-2009. Those who oppose the Thompson policy point to the the issues of historical linkages between Barbados, Guyana and the other Caribbean islands, betraying the spirit of the Treaty of Chaguaramas, the tone of the Thompson government as a leader in the CSME movement and among other issues.

Interestingly enough the issue of respective Caribbean island governments having cause to focus on more tightly regulating immigration laws has been a hot topic in recent weeks if anyone is to peruse the regional newspapers. Guyana is battling with illegal immigrants from Brazil and China, Jamaica, Dominica Republic and the Bahamas continue to deal with the influx of Haitians, Antigua and Trinidad like Barbados has been at the end of a large inflow of Guyanese and so it continues across the Caribbean. It makes us wonder why Barbados continues to attract the bulk of the dissenting commentary since announcing a new policy to deal with the problem.

A corollary to the immigration debate has been the perspectives of many of those in academia with a secondary observation, the position of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

Researcher Akhentoolove 'Eddie' Corbin at Cave Hill, UWI

A visit to the website of Norman Girvan, Research Fellow at the University of the West Indies, St. Augustineย  list a series of submissions which cloak the problem of undocumented workers as being xenophobic and reckless on the part of Barbados. We couldnโ€™t find any prominence of the view which Professor Girvan gives to the possibility that undocumented workers might possibly represent a socio-economic problem for Barbados and therefore requires an urgent response. To support the position we listened last year to a radio program where Girvan and UWI Lecturer Tennyson Joseph accused Prime Minister Thompson and by extension Barbados of reneging its leadership role on the matter of CSME. The discourse prompted Minister Chris Sinckler to respond by asking where had Barbados not met its obligations to CARICOM and CSME under the Thompson administration.

Last weekย  Akintolove Corbin who has an academic role at the UWI Cave Hill again spoke with a fork tongue on the issue of immigration in Barbados while hosting a talk show. He readily admitted that Barbados has to manage immigration better than it has done in the past but was quick to add the caveat: Barbados must be careful not to derail it role in furthering the regional integration movement. Why append this condition when all Barbados has done is to make a policy decision as is the right of any sovereign country to do? Did Thompson not give an amnesty to the undocumented people in Barbados?

Dr. Keith Nurse is director of the Shridath Ramphal Centre for International Trade Law, Policy and Services at the Cave Hill Campus
Dr. Keith Nurse is Director of the Shridath Ramphal Centre for International Trade Law, Policy and Services at the Cave Hill Campus

At the screening of the Annalee Davis 30 minute show which documented the anecdotes of mostly Indo-Guyanese negative experiences travelling into Barbados and a few other islands guess who put in an appearance to give vocal support?ย  Dr. Keith Nurse, director of the Shridath Ramphal Centre for International Trade Law, Policy and Services at the Cave Hill Campus (Barbados) was quick to praise the work of Davis which portrayed Barbados as the big bully trying to keep Guyanese from entering Barbados. The Davis video made no attempt to capture the views of officialdom to provide the other view i.e. the Barbados Immigration Department, Police, Minister in government or even a senior journalist. The ease with which Dr. Nurse endorsed the amateur attempt by Davis to taint the reputation of Barbados which has always adopted a leadership role in the regional integration movement opens the door for his motives to be questioned.

The most vocal exception of those in academia has been Professor Michael Howard. It seems stupid that people of such high learning and accreditation would confuse the freedom of movement under the spirit of the Treaty of Chaguramus and the need for a 166 square mile island to manage the inflow of people from outside. We highlight spirit because as far as has been reported Barbados has honoured it commitment to the treaty by allowing those category of skill workers identified to to freely work under the CSME arrangement.

With interest we read the report of the Antigua Opposition Leader Lester Birdย  requesting the government to factor an amnesty in its new immigration policy but at the same time he seemed to be supportive. In Barbados the Opposition Barbados Labour Party has been to a man very unsympathetic to the position taken by the Thompson government. The government has been accused of taking a populist position which may jeopardize the implementation of CSME. Again of interest is the statement by Secretary General of CARICOM Edwin Carrington that the objectives of the integration movement may have to be revisited. It is clear that the immigration issue has been allowed to become a political football. It would have taken great courage to have announced the new immigration policy, Prime Minister David Thompson should take comfort in the knowledge that he has the support of the PEOPLE.

The discussion which will continue in the days and weeks to come must be informed by our leaders, especially the academics. The line between the sovereign right of Barbados to protect its borders and its obligation under the regional treaty is a narrow line but a line nevertheless.

1. Coolie man is no longer the majority, he is 42% or 320,000 out of 800,000 people, and out of that 320,000 a whopping 125,000 is African mixed with Indian. African and African mixed is 46% and we are taking back our country from racist government, no more we saying in 2011, vote PNC, and save Guyana once and for all from shame.

2. you say multi-racial PPP in power, you must be a blind blogger.

3. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bajan Born is in fact Norman Faria.

4. Bajan Born/Norman faria it was your ethnic relatives who were behind the apartheid system in South Africa. Don;t try to cast your historical racial genes unto black people.

Dataram, Sugrim, Roger Khan, is it a coincidence that all of the drug people who are released by the courts in Guyana are always Indian. The register of the Supreme Court Sita Ramlall has since come out with an allegation that the Acting Chancellor was corrupted.

Africans do not practice systematic ethnic and racial prejudice, that is why non Africans flock to every country or community where we are to do business or to immigrate. You under cover Aryan Supremacist resent the fact that Africans in the Caribbean are beginning to see you outside of the deceptive disguise you use to worm your way into their confidence and then turn around systematically discriminate against him

Help me? I do not come from a religious or other belief system that sees people as superior or inferior according to how they look. I do not come from an ethnic group who threaten to kill their daughters if she dates outside of the race. You are part of an Indian Government in Guyana that denies radio and newspaper licences to blacks to own those media while granting them to Indians and others. That is not a made up claim, that is fact. Before you begin pointing fingers at Barbadians where non blacks have a voice in media, clean up your own political backyard.

5. The PPP stands for Prejudice Plus Power. I saw that on another blog. The public service is the lowest paind employment sector in Guyana, and they also pay the most of the taxes because deduction is compulsory. Let’s explode the myth of the Burnham Years once and for all.

After Burnham banned certain food items, the under ground economy surged, and because Berbice which borders Suriname is majority Indians, the black market trade saw Indians becoming fantastically rich while they continue to criticize Burnham for banning the very things they getting rich from selling. And get this, because this is the knockout punch. In 28 years of PNC rule, the econmic arena dominated by Indians, Agriculture and Commerce, was not taken over by Africans. TRhe Business centers in Regent, Water, Robb, Lombard and High Streets had more Indian enterpreuners plying their trade at the end of the PNC regime, than there were when that party first came into power. Now check out the occupational and economic area traditionally dominated by Africans. The PPP, immediately they came into power began a campaigne of ethnic cleansing in those areas, beginning with replacing career and qualified Africans with Indians who were Chauffeurs for Jagan and the like. The Minsiter of local government is an unqualified former gardener who gets drunk and shoots off his weapon in the air.

Bajans have to know that the Norman Farriers are wicked and deceitful racist who will do whatever is necessary to maintain the ethnic dominated political and economic structure in place in Guyana. They scream at Barbadians while the Government they support deport any African found illegally in Guyana, while Indians can come and engage in buying gold and diamonds without any action. The very first African the UN official sent to Guyana was rejected by the Indian Government. Youn black kids from predominant African communities are rounded up summarily by the police and jailed, and when anyone protest the Indian Ministers claim that these kids are the sort who will grow up and become terrorists and criminals. Indians were caught with Rasta Wigs in their car trunks, along with arms and ammunition.

That is informationthat the Norman Farriers/Bajan Born/Reddy from Barbados are ordered to obfuscate. There has never been been a regime in the Commonwealth Caribbean like the one that is in Power in Guyana today. This is a regime that colluded with a janjawed militia led by two of its own to kidnap, torture and murder young black men. Let’s just stipulate and agree that some of those young men might have been murderers or criminals. Well there are murderers and criminals who are Indian in Guyana, and the same punishment was not meted out to them. When a state becomes involved in vigilante killings in any ehtnic community, regardless of where it occurs in this world, that regime cannot be trusted to mete out justice that is equal to that ethnic community. It is as simple as that.

6. Ruel Daniels I hate being the bearer of bad news BUT you all with have civil war before too long.

I dont like it at all. I hear that your country is beautiful and yet your countrymen have destroyed EVERY THING!

I am so sorry for everything that is happening over there! You all in SERIOUS trouble.

7. Indians were caught with Rasta Wigs in their car trunks, along with arms and ammunition.

@ Ruel daniels

You serious about this sentence above??????????/

I dont want to believe that one!

8. An angle to the immigration debate is the impact on Barbados scarce foreign resources. There must be a large underground economy and if conventional behaviour is to be applied it means that there must be a brisk illegal foreign currency trade going on.

9. Yes Sir there is a brisk illegal foreign currency trade going on.

David haven’t you heard about the illegal foreign exchange operations in silver hill with the guyanese?

Ruel Daniels, in trinidad too there was a case about 4 years ago where indians in south trinidad went around raping indian women and when the police finally caught them,to their shock they found out they were indian men wearing rasta wigs.

However before they were caught,a lot of the young afro trinidadian men were beaten up by indian villagers because they were accused of being racists.

Basdeo panday and his UNC politicians,especially a female,hindu UNC politician called Hulsie Baggan went on every news outlet accusing afro trini men of being rapists and criminals.

When the indian rapists were caught,not one indian politician apologised.

So ruel Daniels I understand what you are saying.

Indians are not a race of people to be tolerated in any large number in any society.

They are a corrupt,disruptive,disloyal,racist force.

These are undeniable facts;Fiji,Surinam,Guyana,Trinidad,Mauritius,Madagascar and other countries are there for us to learn from.

Again yes Ruel,Indians and other non black races flock to any country or place where there is a large population of blacks,becuase they depend on blacks spending their money with them to make them (indians) rich.

Indians don’t support black businesses in any greater numbers.

Ruel don’t you see this in Guyana?

By the way the reason they will persecute Sita Ramlall is because she broke with tradition and had afro guyanese boy friends.

10. To those who are interested you can go over to Livinginbarbados blog to read what soon to be Dr. George Brathwaite, ardent BLP supporter and and the blog owner feel about the immigration debate.

BU’s position is very simple.

Brathwaite’s submission reminds us of the saying ‘a lil learning is a dangerous thing.’ This debate gentlemen is about a 21×14 island which has been practicing an open door immigration policy for the last 10 years with all kinds of corrupt behaviour encouraged because of it. It is also about the socio-economic impact of several ethnic groups flooding a stable black host population which needs to be planned for, it is also about a CSME experiment which is being implemented without any serious commitment by members to support and integrate regional institutions, it is about trying to integrate 14 small countries which present its own peculiar challenges, in other words stop comparing CSME to the EU union which even after 50 years has its issues with managing immigration and other issues.

We could go on but the intellectuals need to understand that the concept of a union and ensuing benefits cannot be implemented piece meal. How can we create a situation where one of the latently richest countries in the region, 83 000 sq ft supports a position which continues to generate political and economic refugees at the expense of its own development? Instead of our intellectuals focusing on the cause of the problem they prefer to criticise Barbados which continues to meet its obligations to CARICOM and CSME to a large degree.

What tone of PM Thompson what?!?

11. J.C asks
    Indians were caught with Rasta Wigs in their car trunks, along with arms and ammunition.

@ Ruel daniels

You serious about this sentence above??????????/

I dont want to believe that one!
    ###########################

Yes, one of the Guys name was Hack I think. He owned a Jewellery store and was killed under suspicious circumstances subsequently. His wife was charged with his murder.

Look, we see what happpens in the US. Susan Smith, the Guy Stuart and just recently another woman claiming to have been kidnapped and blaming a black man. When you have a society with institutionalized racist stereotypes very soon people take advantage of that to commit crimes knowing that the search will not be in their communities. For example, a couple years ago two Indian youths robbed and killed an indian female taxi deiver. The Guyana blogs went wild, immediately blaming black people and calling for the Police and Army to go into Buxton and shoot up the place. It is that fervor that had Roger Khan going into black communities, kidnapping, torturing and killing young black men they determined were criminal suspects, and knowing that once they were black, there would be no objection from the Government or civil society. That is not made up, those are facts that are gradually emerging from the evidence in the Roger Khan case in the US.

I do not care about the anger of Bajan Born. Those people have no sympathy or concern about what is happening to Black people in Guyana. Walter Rodney who was an Africanist mobilised black people to confront the black Government because of the marginalization of Indian Votes. Today all of those black people are protesting the same things and more under the PPP What’s the matter, they were right then when the Government was black, and now they are wrong because it is Indian? Give me a break!

12. But Ruel, Black and Black mixed is the majority in Guyana, so how can the PP win in 2011. Please tell me who will win. And by the way I can’t stand those PPP ministers, but especially that Kellawan Lall, can you believe they placed him as local government minister.

13. The Guyanese refuge crisis is the making of the regime in Guyana. The regime in Guyana is an elected dictatorship. If you notice, Faria and the psycophants do not deal with the issues of marginalization in media ownership, or the regime’s somnolence in the face of mass vigilante style murder. These people are moral and ethical relativists. They wax indigntantly about Barbados discriminatings against Guyanese, but cannot explain how a majority black nation like Barbados can have open space for the ownership of media by non black people, while in Guyana there is one Radio Station that is supported by tax payer dollars but run by the Indian Party, and why the Government refuses to grant licences to blacks to own newspaper and radio. We are dealing with people who believe that they have a right to be racist, and they respond to objections of that racism with accusations that the objectors are racist.

And Yes Anonymous, blacks are the only group who support businesses outside of their communities. No one supports us as we do them.

14. Burnham saved Guyana from becoming a place like Cuba, for that was the intent of the Jagans. Have you heard of the Claude Christain incident, well Mr. Christian was about to switch over to the PNC from the PPP. Between the switch he came down with a cold and some white woman from the PPP went to see him, gave him an injection, and the next thing we hear is that Claude Christian took in for the worse and was rushed to PHG/GPHC where he was admitted and died shortly there after.

15. Yes the PPP fill up the airwaves in Guyana with people that can’t even speak a good word of English like Aditya Persuad in his halting jumpie tone, and Sharda Lall who sounds like some jumbie. Disgraceful, everyone prepare for the Take Back of Guyana, let us bring respect back to our country. One person said the multi racial PPP, which multi racial, all I see is imcompetent coolie ministers and Dr. Luncheon on a daily basis making excuses for them, everyday, the PPP leader jadgeo beat up a lady that he said was his wife, and Dr. Luncheon is putting a band aid on it, and so on. Let them show us they not racial and place Dr. Luncheon as leader of Guyana, he more qualifiled than any of them. Run Dr. Luncheon as PPP candidate in 2011 and let us if they will vote.

16. I hope George reads BU.

I would like him to stop abuse his Guyanese wife! I remember a time he got so drunk he beat that woman to a pulp and she had to run back to Guyana.

He is a liar he told his wife about property he owns and all kinds of shite and when that woman came down and started to change around the persons who George stays by home they had to come and tell her not to believe anything that LIAR says!

Moreoverm her family despises that drunking thief!

Find yourself a home Goeroge and by the way have you found back your wife as yet ….

He has no right to talk about this matter at all. He needs to tell the truth for a change ole lacky who licked the BLP’s ass and received nothing.

17. JC

George ‘never wuk a day in he life’ Brathwaite is married to a guyanese?

Now I understand why a lot of these iggrunt bajan men so worried about Thompson new immigration policy.

Wuhloss!

18. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Today’s Starbrok newspaper has two stories dealing with the Barbados immigration policy.

I am getting the sense that there is something going on that is more than meets the eye.

Either Starbrok news is being mischeivous and wants to create a backlash of animosity against bajans or they are seeking to in a roundabout way show up the guyana government and how disastrous it is performing.

Either way I think they should quit with the exaggeration that thousands of bajans went to guyana in the early 20th century and that bajans are now being ungrateful.

The fact is the number of skilled bajans who went to guyana in the early 30s and 40s are only a samll fraction of the near 50 to 60 thousands of unskilled guyanese who have flooded this country.

The level of fear which I am seeing among the guyanese politicians and its citizens back in Guyana and here in barbados tells me that they know very well that there has been an unchecked mass exodus of unskilled,semi skilled,indigent and criminal guyanese citizens into barbados which although clogging up our social services and land space are not wanted back in Guyana.

19. I think Jagdeo is scared he needs to be held accountable~!

20. Most of the Bajans and other Islanders who emigrated to Guyana back in the 40s, 50s and 60s went into the mining fields. There was never any pressure on the state because the area of occupation they were involved in was independent and individual driven. Many of them did well, opened businesses in the interior, and moulded into the Guyanese society. They did not live on the fringe, teaching their kids that they were superior to Guyanese, or taking from Guyana while maintaining a kind of ethnic independent state in the Country. The ingress of Bajans into Guyana have never been even close to the proportions we see today in immigration going the other way.

A large segment of African Guyanese have at least one side of their ancestry in Barbados. My great grandmother was Bajan, emigrated to Guyana between 1880 and 1905, and never lost her Bajan accent. My grandmother was borned in Barbados and came to Guyana as an infant. We who come from such stock understand that an island of 166 square miles and 250,000 inhabitants is not ideally suited for mass immigration from a land mass of 83,000 square miles and a meager population of 700,000. The problem is that commonsense and logic have long been extinct in the mental make up of the traditionally racist, and the traditionally obtuse. These compliment each other, that is why they are often on the same page, despite the fact that the former have little use for the latter except as facilitators of their agendas.

21. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

People can you believe that George Brathwaite post the same garbage he sent to Living in barbados blog – now on the Starbrok news blog.

You see how these BLP politicians are disloyal and selfish.

Here he is going on starbrok news to give succor to the illegal guyanese immigrants,at a time that the guyanese based on their own reports have finally come around to agreeing and understanding the steps taken by P.M. Thompson.

Once again we have the blp and their tribe out there portraying Barbados and bajans as cold hearted and inhumane because they seek to protect their country and its citizens.

My hope is that this nasty politicians – the BLP – never see the corridors of power for a very long,long,long time.

22. @mash up & buy back

George Brathwaite is entitled to his opinion.

What Barbadians will get the chance to see from the political parties very soon in a few by-elections is two things:

1. Is the BLP engaged in political opportunism on the immigration issue?
    2. Does the immigration issue represent a philosophical divide between the DLP and BLP?

Barbadians maybe becoming awake to the idea that the Barbados which the intellectuals are carving out does not fit with the Barbados we want. What does being Barbadian mean? Isn’t it an ethos, set of beliefs, culture among other qualities which define us as Barbadian and Barbados? If we don’t have that vision of who or what is a Barbadians what is the purpose of then our existence if we are to make do with the vanilla result?

23. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I agree David that George brathwaite is entitled to his view.

However I am deeply disturbed by the extent to which mia mottley the leader of the opposition,and all the other followers of the Barbados Labour Party have gone public in demonising prime minister Thompson and all the persons who support the immigration policy.

Despite all the wickedness Arthur did in his quest to carve out a legacy through the CSME Project,I cannot recall david thompson demonising then prime minster arthur and his administration in the way I am seeing it now with the BLP.

This is why what george brathwaite et al are doing is so offensive.

Ricky singh,oscar ramjeet,starbrok news,jagdeo,Gonsalves and all the anti bajan posse all quote the public remarks of mia mottley and her continued ranting that there is going to be a backlash against bajans.

It is as though she wants this to be a self fulfilling prophecy.

24. It is interesting that Minister of Education Ronald Jones indicated something to the effect that there are over 2000 non-nationals children who are documented in our schools and is asking the parents to come forward and get their status regularized.

I have a deep suspicion that this amnesty issue is a ploy on the part of Democratic Labour Party to fool Barbadians that the government has intentions of dealing decisively with this immigration issue.I read Esther Byer-Suckoo comments recently about enacting legislation so as to protect those non-national children from sexual assault and the like because those children are not going school and more than likely will become victims of circumstances.That tells that this inept government knows that those illegal non-nationals are not leaving Barbados no matter what and we must therefore plan for that reality.
    Reading Ronald Jones comments gave the impression that he felt the same way as Esther Byer-Suckoo.

I think no serious effort is being made to enforce the new immigration policy.When will the new immigration act that was promised be debated in the House of Assembly.The draft has already be completed by the technocrats in Ministry of Immigration.It has in some very good measures that I know if come into law will make the stay of illegal non-nationals very uncomfortable and could lead to Barbadians who support them being penalise severely.

It makes no sense to me to announce this new immigration policy and then have no new laws to sustain the new policy.

25. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Negroman

I too saw what that jerk ronald jones had to say.

He is one of the most pathetic excuse for a minister.I thought better of him.

As for suckoo she had no right being a minister of anything.
    Ole windbag.

I am told that the hard working immigration officers are doing their duty and there are deportations going on.

Politicians are really not my favourite people.I see them as a necessary evil.

26. Well Ruel I am at loss here, but thanks for replying to me. I am black Guyanese, but without a Barbados connection. I don’t know of any ancestor born in Barbados. All of my family are Guyanese. Anyway, I don’t know what Barbados will do because I read in the Stabroek News just now that the Guyanese are not budging regarding leaving the country. They quoted one Guyanese woman as saying that she was told that she cannot regularise herself by Imigration Barbados, but she is not leaving Barbados as she can make more money there to pay rent, bills, and have some left over for neccessities and savings, and this woman is working for wages below the minimum. She said, in Guyana she jsut barely made the rent money, so you see the PPP Government in Guyana is failing the people big time. It is sad, and I don’t know where this will end. I cannot be vex with the Guyanese woman for if I was in a similar situation I would want to remind in Barbados, but by the same token I see the Barbadian dilemma.

27. I dont know who to believe anymore! I will believe myself for a change!

And I know if I dont see a change in land policy and immigration policy!

I will not VOTE, and I might be poor but my vote is POWER!

28. The siutation in Trindad involves TRINI-ALUM, they hire foreigners to build an aluminum plant in South Trinidad, and the Trinidadian people just blocaded the whole area.

29. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Imagine at a time when Prime Minister Thompson is purporting to be acting in the name of Barbadians and implementing his: “Inhumane Deportation Plan” to rid Barbados of Caribbean people – Chines are threatening to bulldoze the homes of Barbadians – who were living on the land for half of a centure.

It gets worst!

While Thompson is deporting Caribbean peolple, he is in Trindiad with his “trademark DLP begging bowl,” begging the Trinidadians to lend him US$150 million. Absolutely amazing!

Mr. “squeaky clean,” tells Barbadians the money is to allow him to execute projects in 2009, but tell the Trinidadians the truth – that the money will save him from going to the IMF.

This is the man whom the DLP said will not, cheat, steal or lie! So, “Mr. Squeaky Clean” does not want Caribbean people in Barbados, but Chinese are welcome.

He does not want Caribbean people in barbados, but he wants their money (loan, philantrophy).

Barbados is too good for Caribbean people, but under DLP rule – Chines are welcome.

What a shame!!!

30. Checkmate-123 Avatar

I want a good life. I know that you want a good life too. Why then is ‘Anonymous’ and ‘JC’ choosing the low road? It is quite obvious to me after reading what that man George Brathwaite wrote that there are perhaps other ways in dealing with immigration issues whether it is Barbados, Guyana, St. Vincent, or any other Caricom member state. Rather than shooting the messenger, it may be best for us to understand the message. Barbadians are in the main good people who understand that humane treatment is deserving for all. We all want the good life. If Brathwaite is the culprit that those two insensitive persons seem to be suggesting that he is, and if he has never worked in his life, is outside of the debate. Indeed, for a man that has nothing going for him, his writing seems to be inspired by a greater cause. Perhaps he may be a victim of partisan politics, perhaps he should advise the Prime Minister who seems to be operating at a level beyond his depth. In that case, Brathwaite should soon be gainfully employed and brining sanity to what some may describe as an insane amnesty policy that will surely attract tit-for-tat from Caribbean people. Someone told me that over 20% of Barbados’ visitors are from Caricom, and 52 % of Barbados’ net exports are to Caricom. Talk ya talk Brathwaite.

31. I don’t blame Barbadians Anonymous. I have not met a single black Guyanese who do not understand the Bajan point of view, including those with relatives who might be illegal in Barbados. They understand it is like living comfortable with your family in a two bedroom house, and then having all of the neglected neighbours kids from a big house across the street flocking to your little house for room and board. At leat that is how one letter writer illustrated it in the kaieteurnews.

Faria and his clique are accustomed to benefitting from things they did not fight or sacrifice for. To the same extent the PPP monopolize and covetiously control the public fananced media in Guyana, and prevent black people from having their voices heard on it, even though they pay more than their population size in compulsory taxes, the Farias and Singhs believe they have a right all that belongs to Barbadians.

32. If the P.M backs down from this situation and these thousands of illegals remain in Barbados, it will cause civil unrest in this country. This was onlt abated recently because of the immigration statement by the P.M but bajans are getting agitated again, this problem is about to go away, instead is will increase. I see some unrest evolving when 4 seasons re-open and these chinese ordinary workers and these guyanese are prefered to bajans. Jamaican and Trinidad workers demonstrated about similar problems in their country and I know bajans are ready too.

33. Checkmate-123 // June 8, 2009 at 6:14 pm

I don’t CARE what you or any other blogger thinks. Have you ever met George Brahwaite? do you know him personally?

George Brathwaite is an abusive, popmpous ass. I mke no apologies for saying that.

I have no problem with George having an opinion; however, I LIKE MOST BARBADIANS am tired of listening to persons like GB who think they know what is good for Barbados!

GB is full of hot air! A victim of Partisan politics ha ha aha lol! You kill me …… Ask George who sent him to England and then come and talk to me for sure I know it was not the BLP!

Partisan politics my ASS!

34. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Reading the Starbroek news today gives one a clear idea of which ethnic group is responsible for bringing in the drugs into our countries and turning the sons and daughters of citizens of african descent – into addicts.

Everytime you look at who is responsible for the big drug hauls -not the 2 0z of coke or 10lb of ganja – you see they are indians who all claim to be businessmen and women and in fact have some business as a cover for their drug dealing.

This is why we need to keep these people out of Barbados.

35. George “Know de Most” Brathwaite went to school with me. That is actually his real nickname and why do you think so?

You could also ask him who sent him to Glendairy … that’s why I’m so proud of him that he turned his life around.

He still talks the same rubbish from school-days though. He is a little guy with much to be little about!

36. Mash Up & Buy Back
    It is not only the Indo-Guyanese that are big drug pushers but those Indians from the Continent.

Naime of Bionic Man Shop fame who was arrested previously and was held in Trinidad for alleged criminal activity involving money & drugs and who a former Attorney-General in a Barbados Labour Party administration help him in his troubles in Trinidad is the passport carrier for newly arrived migrants from India & Pakistan.Naime has been nickname “Chief Immigration Officer”There is some much information that I have that I am a bit skeptical to put it on the net.

I believe that we should not place emphasize only on the illegals from Guyana & the Caribbean but we must start paying attention to the growing Indian,Pakistan & Middle Eastern population that is growing at an alarming rate in Barbados.

I know for a fact that many Indians,Chinese & Europeans non-nationals are being facilitated with Barbadian citizenship by not only public officers but also by some of our leading politicians from both political parties.

We are trying to solve one problem but we have other serious immigrations problems that must be address as a matter of urgency.

37. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Long before Prime Minister David Thompson ordered sick-old-men to come out or retirement from active politics to help him manage this country – the most intelligent in our society knew that he (Thompson) does not have what it takes to manage a modern Barbados.

The serious concern being expressed by the intellectuals and scholars across the region, such as: Sir Ronald Saunders, Prof, Girvan, Prof. Persaud, Prof. Howard, Mia Mottley, Owen Arthur, Clyde Mascoll, Dr. Joseph and others – is further proof that the 69,720 who did not vote for the DLP on January 15, 2008 – were right to have acted in the national interest.

David Thompson’ “Inhumane Deportation Doctrine,” highlights the fact that both he and the DLP are totally lost about how the modern Barbados economy functions and how it was built.

Perhaps I should inform them that the modern Barbados economy was built with and on foreign labour.

It is people from Guyana, St. Vincent, St. Lucia and other countries within the region that cut Barbadian sugar canes, picked Barbadian cotton, work in construction and in agriculture – which are jobs Barbadians became to “better-off” to do for themselves.

Here is further proof of DLP intellectual weakness and political incompetence.

The DLP does not understand the concept of “population ageing,” neither does it see the connection between Immigration (managed migration & A Guest Worker programme) its Labour Policy, Finance, the economy; quality of life of Barbadians and by extention, the life and good health of the NIS Fund, especially since the DLP is now dipping into it willy nilly and without an actuary study.

David, the Dems and DLP blogger will have tremendous difficulty understanding this intellectual submission.

Please be patient and help them. So intellectually weak and politically incompetent is the DLP – that they have to be taken by the hand and led.

38. Checkmate-123 Avatar

Veritas — who sent him to Glendairy? I am happy that you admire him. Seems that there is no bteer judge and jury than you are. Hope you are not one of those ‘undercover men’ otherwise categorised as a failure. Your contemptuous spoutings does not enhance your arguments but it reproduces a venom that makes u that little guy with much to be little about! Debate the issue and stop trying to shoot the messenger, flee from your undercover and late night shenanigans.

39. Knight Templar
    The more srap you write the furture down the well you pushing the BLP. Keep it up , My Friend

40. Everyone here should take what Negroman is saying extremely seriously about the drug issue,exempt on the race issue.For me,It is not a matter of race since some of the other primarily black Caribbean islands are also facing the same problem or are already apart of it like St. Vincent.The Barbados Government needs to take the immigration crackdown extremely serious not because of only illegal immigrants but at the ports as well because of the tactical location in which Barbados is positioned to transport drugs to other destinations via Grantley Adams International Airport.

Human smuggling & Drug smuggling is on the rise in the Caribbean by flight while having any so-called full “freedom of movement” amongst Caricom nationals would further magnify this problem many times exponentially in Barbados specifically.One only needs to look at the recent headlines as it relates to drug smuggling in Barbados & abroad.Good examples of this would be the the recent convictions of the 6 Guyana nationals who were trying to set up their own operation in Barbados coupled with the fact that a Barbados national was caught at the UK ports of entry for drugs.Don’t get me wrong the RBPF,Barbados Coast guard are doing an excellent job at keeping drugs at bay but it doesn’t seem to be having much effect on ‘drug mules’.

The US International Narcotics Control Strategy has reportedly recently as of Feb. 2009 that Barbados & other Caribbean islands that connect with Barbados via Grantley Adams International will see an increase in drugs this year & this is mainly due to current recession hitting the Caribbean.

41. The St. Lucia star even reports on the drug problem.

http://stluciastar.com/content/archives/4532

“According to the US State Departmentโ€™s 2009 International Narcotics Control Strategy Report, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines remain susceptible to drug traffickers from the South American continent bent on marketing illegal drugs to markets in the US and Europe.
    That report also states that notable trends in 2008 included an increase in the number of drug couriers swallowing cannabis, the continued use of go-fast boats from neighbouring islands of St Vincent and St Lucia, and the use of in-transit passengers to transport drugs. The trend of employees working in key commercial transportation positions, example baggage handlers, FedEx, DHL assisting with drug trafficking also continued.
    Here in St Lucia drug trafficking seems to have become the order of the day, even more so during this economic crunch. Many have made bold statements that the St Lucian economy is surviving because of the drug trade.
    With the ridiculously high rate of unemployment people, especially our young men and women appear more tempted, to make some โ€œquick moneyโ€.
    We are beginning to see a rise in drug-trafficking at an alarming rate. In recent times a number of St Lucians have been arrested for attempting to smuggle drugs overseas.
    On Thursday a slender, petite woman, who appeared to be in her early 20โ€™s, appeared before the Magistrateโ€™s Court, charge documents in hand, ready to defend her drug-trafficking case. The matter, however, could not proceed since the investigating officer did not have access to the exhibits because โ€œthe exhibit keeper was sick.โ€
    Presiding Magistrate, Velon John who was obviously not pleased, gave the matter a final adjournment and warned the officer and prosecutor to ensure that all is in check the next time the case comes up before him, otherwise they may just see the young woman walking freely out the door. John also referred to the โ€œmediocrityโ€ in the justice system.
    News of others arrested for St Lucia-sourced drugs has also been circulating the airwaves. Just a few months ago, former England all rounder, Chris Lewis, was sentenced to 13 years in prison after being found guilty of smuggling cocaine into the country.
    According to Cricinfo, Lewis, 41, was arrested at Gatwick in December last year after a flight from St Lucia, when customs officials found five cans of fruit juice in which cocaine had been dissolved.
    He had been traveling with a friend, Chad Kirnon, a former basketball player for London Towers, arriving back from holiday in St Lucia. Both men received the same 13-year sentence.
    In a recent STAR article, it was reported that a freight carrier was intercepted in Trinidad and Tobago with a shipment of drugs allegedly bound for St Lucia. On Tuesday March 17, the shipโ€™s cook confessed that he was the one who brought $4 million dollars (EC$2 million) worth of cocaine to Trinidad two weeks ago. According to the Trinidad Express newspaper Vincentian national Norman Nanton, 51, said
    that he was paid US$8,000 to take the 11 kilograms of cocaine to St Lucia. He pleaded guilty before a San Fernando court whilst a co-accused Grenadian national and the ship captain pleaded not guilty. They were released on TT$100,000 bail.
    In February, a 23-year-old male from Monchy and a 30-year-old female of Cedar Heights, Vieux-Fort were found with approximately one kilogram of cocaine, whilst preparing to board a LIAT flight bound for Barbados at the George F L Charles Airport, Castries. They were subsequently arrested and charged. The young man who appeared in court three days after the incident pleaded guilty to all charges they were subsequently arrested and handed over to officers of the Drug Unit and later charged with possession of controlled drugs, possession with intent to supply controlled drugs and attempting to export controlled drugs. They appeared in court on Monday. The young man pleaded guilty to all the charges and was fined $50,000 for possession with intent to supply controlled drugs. He was given 60 days to pay the sum. In default, one year imprisonment. The young lady was bailed on her own recognizance and her case was set for a later date. She was also ordered by the court to surrender all her travel documents.
    In May, the brother-in-law of a government minister, along with a female friend, was caught with liquid cocaine, after disembarking a British Airways flight. The two individuals from Gros Islet, St Lucia were apprehended by UK Customs Officers. They have both been arrested and charged.
    The latest incident involves a 32-year-old woman from St Lucia who was stopped by officials at Gatwick Airport after she arrived from the island via Antigua.
    About 1 kg (2lbs) of cocaine was found under her wig. She was arrested and charged for the offense. The cocaine was estimated at a street value of 40,000 pounds.
    With the new age technology and ever increasing security measures being implemented by immigration authorities world-wide, one wonders, why take the risk?
    But here in St Lucia, are we doing enough to combat this ill in our society? Do we see the need to invest in eradicating this problem which destroys the fabric of our nationโ€”the youth?
    A few months ago, a regional workshop for the Development of National Anti-Drug Strategies and Plans was held in St Lucia. The various participants included officials from the Ministry of Health and Substance Abuse Advisory Council Secretariat (SAACS), who looked at various ways dealing with the issue
    of substance abuse and
    drugs.
    In an article in the STAR published on May 15, 2009, Executive Director of SAACS, Clement Edward said the secretariat has prepared its programme for 2009-2010, which they hope to present to the government.
    โ€œWe are hoping that between now and the end of this year we will be able to make a national presentation not just to the Cabinet of Ministers but to the House of Assembly of both sides of the House so they can better appreciate and understand the problems of substance abuse, and the need that calls for all sides within Saint Lucia; all persons to address this particular issue,โ€ Edward said.
    However during a brief interview with the STAR on Friday he stated that things are โ€œkind of laid backโ€ due to the (lack of) financial resources and technical and expert assistance.
    He said since the workshop a national committee has been formed and it is preparing additional training programmes, which are to take place in various countries across the region.
    According to Edward, SAACS has also teamed up with some of the NGOโ€™s, one of which will be collaborating with them to host a National Anti-Drug exihibition, beginning on June 24 at the Castries City Hall.
    A National March and Rally will also be held at the Derek Walcott Square.
    Edward said these activities would bring greater awareness of the effects of substance abuse to the public.
    He believes that more resources are being directed at the intervention of drug trade than human resource development. But are these training programmes really helping? We have seen many such workshops yet the scourges of drug abuse and drug-trafficking (and crime and poverty) continue to haunt us.
    Speaking to Commissioner of Police, Ausbert Regis on Friday, he stated that drug-trafficking is an activity that has been taking place over a long period of time. He added that it is definitely cause for concern for the police.
    He disclosed that the police in St Lucia are in very close contact with the UK authorities and that whoever commits their crimes overseas will serve time in the respective country.
    According to the Commissioner, one could face up to life imprisonment for drug-trafficking.
    SAACS is also expected to host a national symposium in November, during which the programme will be ratified and then be presented to Cabinet.”

42. We also know that most if not all drugs come mainly from South America except marijuana,but I wonder why it took a New Government to statistically have less drugs into Barbados.Can Darknight/Hogsqueal explain this ?

http://www.state.gov/documents/organization/120054.pdf

“From January 1 to September 30, 2008, Government of Barbados (GOB) agencies reported seizing 46 kg of cocaineโ€“
    an 80% reduction from 2007. Local intelligence suggests that the reason for the reduction is due to strategic measures
    put in place by the police force that have caused traffickers to experience great losses in product and persons at sea
    which makes them reluctant to use Barbados as a transit point. The GOB also seized 4,662 kg of marijuana in 2008.
    There have not been any seizures of Ecstasy (MDMA) since 2005, when Barbados, for the first time, confiscated 2,445
    Ecstasy tablets. The GOB brought drug charges against 213 persons during 2008, 29 fewer than in 2007. Seven major
    drug traffickers were arrested during this period. In 2008, the GOB destroyed 5,240 cannabis plants, down from 7,194
    in 2007.”

43. Despite what Jay posted and we agree, Barbadians were fed a diet of Sir Ronald Saunders yesterday on VOB commenting negatively on Barbados position on the immigration matter.

Doesn’t Saunder realise that the immigration debate was being
    discussed long before the economic meltdown.

44. I dont understand this at all! It amuses me that VOB and the Nation are on a campaign to destroy the Government and in so doing Barbados as well!

Oops I forgot the persons who are in charge are not BAJAN!

45. @ Negroman

Who is ‘Naime of Bionic Man Shop?’

46. Checkmate-123

Veritas โ€” who sent him to Glendairy? I am happy that you admire him. Seems that there is no bteer judge and jury than you are. Hope you are not one of those โ€˜undercover menโ€™ otherwise categorised as a failure. Your contemptuous spoutings does not enhance your arguments but it reproduces a venom that makes u that little guy with much to be little about! Debate the issue and stop trying to shoot the messenger, flee from your undercover and late night shenanigans.

You would know me well.

47. @David,I don’t think the ‘Regionalists’ will ever ‘get it’.This whole dream of ‘free-movement of all nationals of Caricom’ is an idea that should never be accepted if it threatens the sovereignty of any nation & the people will always respond negatively to such practices & to add insult to injury we had a prior Government that seemed to be secretly nurturing some forms of chaos within our midst while downplaying the concerns of the people that they represent.When such a thing happens & the respect is lost,that person stops being a leader & it doesn’t matter if it is election season or not which is something that the BLP currently cannot grasp.I will admit that I DO sympathize with Guyana nationals for not having good governance,but certainly NOT at the expense of Barbados’ own that should be protected at all costs.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/thumbs-up-for-govt

“Barbados is a world leader when it comes to Governmentโ€™s ability to get the job done.
    That, in essence, was the message sent to the international financial community about Barbados by Moodyโ€™s Investorโ€™s Service, one of the leading international credit rating firms on Wall Street.
    In an analysis of Barbadosโ€™ economy, Moodyโ€™s cited the World Bankโ€™s assessment of the effectiveness of successive governments in Bridgetown to support its decision to give the country a โ€œhighโ€ rating on โ€œinstitutional strengthโ€.
    Not only was Barbadosโ€™ โ€œGovernment effectiveness indicatorโ€ rated among the highest in the Caribbean and Latin America, but around the world, including some of the richest countries, according to the Wall Street firm.
    What made Barbados stand out was its โ€œhigh quality institutions and social developmentโ€, Moodyโ€™s went on.
    Just as important, was its ranking in the United Nations Human Development Index, which measures such factors as per capita income, gross domestic product, adult literacy and income distribution.
    โ€œAside from these traditional indicators of institutional strength, in Moodyโ€™s view, Barbados-broad-based consensus on economic policies assure continuity,โ€ the Wall Street credit rating agency added.
    โ€œLabour unions and employers regularly consult and cooperate with government in the formulation and conduct of economic policies, including the setting of wages,โ€ the report explained.
    Moodyโ€™s suggested that anyone searching for answers to explain Barbadosโ€™ political stability and relative prosperity could find them in the countryโ€™s history dating back to the 17th century.
    It told the international financial community that Barbados โ€œhas the longest tradition of parliamentary practicesโ€ in the Caribbean with โ€œlocal representativesโ€ very much involved in the running of the country through the House of Assembly.
    โ€œThis tradition laid the foundation for political stability and the building of national consensus on economic and social policies after Independence in 1966,โ€ it stated.”
    —————————————

I’m also glad that Minister McClean understands fully the issue at hand.

http://capitolnewsgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/time-to-leave.wmv

48. Anonymous
    Naime is an Indian business man who owns the Bionic Man shop on Lower Broad Street.He was charged for drug possession & money laundering a few years back in Barbados.

Naime has a room in a house full with counterfeit passports & money .He bribes politicians & public officers.Many politicians from both political parties facilitate Naime with the granting of citizenship to newly arrived Indians & Pakistani.

We are dealing with a set of people who are hell bent in taking over this country in the not too distance future.

These Indians even brag & boast that they do not have to go in for any driver’s licence or having to face the courts for any charge whatsoever because they donate vehicles to the police department.Remember recently some vehicles & other equipment were given to Regional Police Training School by the Indian community in Barbados.That is their plan bribing our institutions for their benefit..

As Scout always saying We are sitting at the foot of a volcano just waiting to explode.I foresee perilous times for Black People in Barbados in the not to distance future with this ever increasing Indian population and now we have the Chinese to deal with.
    Fellow bloggers please remember what happened to those unfortunate Black workers at the Royal Shop.I think that is a case study for the future labour relations in a future Barbados. .

49. Correction Negroman isn’t he Syrian?

Was it not interesting to listen to Tony Best from New York pointing out to an awestruck Pat Hoyos that anti-immigration policies has become a world wide position.

To the academics, Wickham, Saunders, George Brathwaite et al who would make this a Barbados issue, it makes us wonder indeed.

50. David
    What was also interested was the fact that some countries have made it a policy that in case of layoffs, it is mandated that the immigrant workers MUST be the ones to go before the citizens. These are countries that are protecting their citizens and the country’s sovereignty. I hope the BLP realise that they were/are making a big fool of themselves.