Prime Minister of Barbados Hon David Thompson

Prime Minister David Thompson issued a ministerial statement in parliament today regarding the immigration issue. For some time now it has been apparent to sensible Barbadians that the national security of Barbados had become breached given the large undocumented number of immigrants living in Barbados. It was an election campaign issue and on assuming office Prime Minister David Thompson appointed a sub-committee of Cabinet of which he was Chairman to investigate and make recommendations to government to relieve the problem.

Barbados will deport illegal immigrants who do not seek to regularize their status under a new policy โ€“ see CANA Report.

BU agrees with the measured and humane manner which the Thompson led government has approached this issue. While it is easy to lobby to deport all illegal immigrants, there is an understanding that many of the illegal immigrants have been living in Barbados for so long that it would be inhuman to uproot those people summarily.

But here are a few BU concerns:

The proposed shake-up at the immigration Department i.e. the officers responsible for enforcing the immigration laws of Barbados MUST be implemented in a transparent manner. It is known around Barbados that many of our current officers now maintain harems given their godlike powers to determine if an illegal immigrant is โ€˜fingeredโ€™ or not. We should not forget those who use their influence to satisfy the rich and powerful by prostituting themselves for the almighty dollar.

The law must deal harshly with those corrupt immigration officers who use their powers for personal gain. Equally those employers all across our country who employ illegal immigrants should be made to feel the full weight of the law as well.

While the Prime Minister has made a step in the right direction as always the devil will be in the detail.

267 responses to “Government Of Barbados Addresses The Illegal Immigrant Issue”

1. David

I disagree with you that because someone has been in the country long illegally, they should not be uprooted.

For goodness sake even those persons who have acquired residency status in the USA and given a green card are deported back to their country of origin at the smallest infraction of the laws of the USA.

Barbados is a country of laws and persons should not feel that they can come in to this country break the law and then beg for mercy.

If so we will always be giving mercy.

No way no how.

We want maxine mcclean now back as Immigration minister to oversee this new policy.

2. Nothing will really change… just talk and more of the same…

Who is going to find and deport those who do not qualify? … the corrupt and horny immigration officers?

Give me a break!

3. Well, let me just pacify these damn silly bajans who voted thinking that I’d be any different from Owen. I’ll just swat the bugs with this little pacifier here…..”Barbados will deport illegal immigrants who do not seek to regularize their status under a new policy.” Now you see we did something, ya’ll can’t complain anymore. So shut to hell up!

4. It seems like everytime Barbados has an immigration problem the first thing that is proposed so some form of amnesty,back in the ’90s it was the same thing under the BLP,how does this DLP Government intend to make THIS time any different ?

I find it so funny how Government can say by giving this amnesty “The longer you’ve evaded our immigration laws & broke our employment laws the better your chance at being given Immigrant status”,talk about bullsh*t.

With Unemployment in Barbados on the rise amongst Barbados citizens,how can Government even consider this.There are definitely some things that are needed to reform the immigration laws but not reward those who break the law in the first place.

I wonder when the day Bajan citizens will get their amnesty in the form of being able to get employment without having to worry about competition from abroad ?Not to mention I don’t see how this is fair to those who go to the Immigration Department & have kept their status up to date.We’re basically saying it is ok to break Barbados’ immigration & employment laws with this amnesty.

5. The new immigration laws are a move in the right direction but it must not stop there. I have posted my comments in the other article Topic Guyanese Welcome In Barbados Says Union Head Sir Roy Tratman. Any further comments made by me on this topic would be posted here.

6. We want for the expected response from Guyana Consul Faria, Regional
    Journalist Ricky Singh (who writes about all things Caribbean except
    Guyana) et al. We should warn Consul Faria that Barbados is a
    sovereign nation-first priority protect our borders and people.

7. Witch Doctor Avatar

Look out for how good guyanese are and how we got family ties and the rest of it in the Sunday Sun…. i bet i will see that!!!

8. Right now in the comments section of the starbrok newspaper under the article which is reproduced from the Nation,the guyanese who are commenting there with one exception are all cussing barbados for sending back the illegals and saying the most hateful things about Barbados.

It really amazes me that when guyanese are deported from all the other caricom countries;Antigua,Trinidad,St lucia,Grenada,St Maarteen etc not a whimper you will hear from Jagdeo and these guyanese.

When they are deported from Canada and the USA they have no problem with that,but oh no don’t let barbados try to enforce their immigration laws,then bajans and barbados are the worst thing ever.

Never mind that a lot of guyanese came here and made millions of guyanese dollars equivalent – in a short space of time.

Never mind that a lot of them came here and commmitted heinous crimes e.g. murders,the largest cocaine haul ever,prostituting themselves,trafficking their own people as whores and bullers and I can go on and on.

I hope that this government give the decent,honest immigration officers their support amd the authority to strictly enforce the law and that we don’t see any of these illegal persons getting any amnesty.

THEY BROKE THE LAW AND THEREFORE THEY MUST PAY.

Good riddance to bad rubbish.

9. […] how effective this amnesty will be in tackling Barbadosโ€™ illegal immigrant problem”; Barbados Underground also has some concerns. Cancel this […]

10. Barbados provoking a Trade War and pressured sanctions:

The DLP does not know this, but the OECS is Barbados’ largest trading partner.

Let me put that another way.

The DLP does not know that the OECS is the only place on planet earth where Barbados has a trade surplus – it buys 52% of whatever we sell.

That is millions that help us to enjoy the quality of life we now enjoy.

Here is the catch!

Consistent with its Adolph Hitler Policy of Cleansing – the DLP deports – making thing bad for the governments of the OECS and they respond by deporting too.

In addition, they stop buying from us.

As a result, given the current weak economic management of the economy, things get much worst even more quickly.

The OECS has long been a unified body.

This calls for diplomacy and leadership.

Mia, Billie and Owen would know what to do in times like these.

11. Today’s Stabroek News – here is what is being said in Guyana

GuyanaSandHurst First (Decision in 08 Days) says:

May 6, 2009 at 6:26 am

Well its time Guyana start deporting Bajans and other nationals who are here illegally. Lets give them until May 31st to report or be โ€œremovedโ€ them by November 31st!!! An eye for an eye. The only reason Guyanese go there to work is because of the money and most if not all of them want a better life which Guyana doesnโ€™t offer to its citizen. Some people say the Bajans are lazy and they Guyanese are taking all their work. I would never go there to be treated like a third class citizen anyway.
    ………………………….
    I told you so!!!

Guyana produces Rice and what else we need. Remember also, food and oil price will rise again!

12. The new immigration policy is a step in the right direction and I support very much what the Prime Minister said.
    Hopi & Jay I respect,support & agree with almost all of the comments posted by both of you.However I slightly disagree on this occasion The nature & complexities of the immigration mess this administration inherited actually bind the hands of the Prime Minister.The situation was chaotic and all type of scheming & corrupt practises were taking place.There are some illegals like many living in the USA,Canada or any way where in the world who have made a tremendous contribution to further development of this country.That is a fact that cannot be deny.In this context I believe the PM disd reasonably well in extending amnesty fo those he consider to have made or a re making a positive contribution to the development of Barbados.

Every one knows that my views that I care only about Black People and I have no real problems with Black Caribbean -non-nationals gaining immigrant status in Barbados.We need more Black people in Barbados to continue to maintain the dominance of the Blacks in Barbados.I do not want any detestable,wicked,scheming Indo-Guyanese benefiting from the amnesty even though a few might benefit.If that is so we will keep a lid on them so that group wil never rise to position to rival us Blacks.That is my major concern.

This new immigration policy and many of theproposals in it thanks must be given to many of the BU family.Special thanks must be given to JC,Hopi,Scout,Carson Cadogan,Bonny Peppa,Pat Adrian Hinds and the others. A special thank you must go to Jay for her wonderful contributions & suggestions.JC & Your Truly directed some of the key persons in the government & also members of Democratic Labour Party to this blog to get the opinions of Barbadians on this immigration issue.I can honestly say many of the opinions posted on this blog were taken into consideration when this new immigration policy was being worked on.

David & BU a hearty congratulations to you for your perseverance in keeping this issue on the front burner.The efforts of BU did not go unnoticed

This is only the beginning and we must be ever vigilant.

13. If the Immigration is looking for people to help send the Guyanese packing, I am offering my serives….according to my freind above good ridance to bad rubbish…..

It is about time something is done…not only the guyanese but all the non-nationals who doesnt play a part in keeping up this economy….o9nly pulling it down with all their illegal activity…whether it be drugs and especially prostitution….killin all o’ we

PS no pay necessary…lol

14. This is a backward policy that has no place in a new world order where movement of people around the world has been escalating at a phenomenal rate.

What are the social and political benefits to be derived from such a policy, indeed what were the social and political fallouts from the previous policy?

Thompson is merely trying to pamper to the wishes of a few selfish shortsighted Barbadians who feel that Barbados are for Barbadians alone. Because of his failure to constructively do something about this country’s slipping economic fortunes, he is doing this to make it look as if he is doing something.

Owen Arthur and the BLP managed this country, raised the standard of living of every Barbadian and never had to resort to such hate tactics and political trivia. With all the non-nationals around this country was able to run 6% unemployment and enjoyed a record levels of foreign reserves. Barbadians traveled the region and the globe without fear of personal attack. This policy will now cause other countries to enforce the same hate policy towards Barbadians. It is the beginning of the end of Caricom.

The Caribbean is one social and economic space. Our people should be allowed live and realize their dreams within this space. If Europe for whose region is replete with wars and social unrest, can develop their Union to the benefit of their people then why canโ€™t one of the oldest civilizations do the same?

I take note that the hate policy only applies to Caribbean nationals. In other words if your are from a so-called developed nation your are welcomed to live and breathed Caribbeanism but if you live in the Caribbean you must live with the policy โ€œever so welcomed wait for a callโ€ If we cannot live with our own then who can we live with.

Such a policy will now force up labour cost in the construction industry but worse of all it will force other Caribbean countries to reject Barbadians at the point of entry in their country. What if the developed world had treated our people the same way we now seek to treat Caribbean nationals when our people moved to their countries back in the 50โ€™s 60โ€™s and 70โ€™s in search of prosperity and found it. Even in the early 1990โ€™s when the DLP wrecked this economy, Barbadians had to flee to the Canada, USA, England and other countries in search of opportunities to sustain their families.

We must never feel that we would not be in that economic position again. Whatever happened to the good old policy โ€œdo unto others as you would have them do unto youโ€?

I am in agreement with academics in the region, Dr. Girvan and Dr. Joseph, to name a few who have strongly suggested that Thompson lacks the intellectual capacity to lead the region. This global economic crisis has provided a unique opportunity to pull this region together. We should at this time be pushing for the involvement of countries like Suriname, Cuba, Belize, Guyana, Brazil and others to live out the spirit of the Treaty of Chaguaramas with respect to mutual co-operation in Agriculture (food security) trade and industry, medicine etc. Thompson will miss his chance to leave a legacy or to simply stamp his Prime Ministerialship into the history books of Barbados and the region. The path of ignoble ease for which he has chosen will earn him nothing more than the distinction as the great political misfit.

15. Royalrumble

The people have spoken and Thompson knew if he hadn’t done something about the very large number of illegals squatting and poisoining the water supply,engaging in prostitution,and bringing in drugs then he Thompson would have experienced a wave of retaliation from angry bajans.

Owen arthur is the architect of this illegal immigrants chaos and corruption and he will forever be remembered and hated for it.

The immigration officers who he humiliated by bringing in guyanese officers to oversee what they did will not remember him kindly ever.

This is the first time that a sovereign country put its national security at risk by giving a foreign rogue,failed state like Guyana the authority to question the decision of its border security officials ie the immigration officers.

Owen will soon wish he was never prime minister,he ain’t see nothing yet.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DARK KNIGHT

Tell me if I have right.

The OECS will only purchase our goods if allow them to infiltrate our borders with myriads of illegal aliens?

If I have it right then this sounds like blackmail to me. Does the OECS have the same nice arrangement with Canada, America, England, France, Germany etc. or are we Bajans just lucky?

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DARK KNIGHT

18. Why are we so bitter? Time for healing let us ask the church to intercede for us and seek God’s guidance.
    The summit of the Americas was a big hype for the people of the Caribbean. Let’s continue in a spirit of brotherhood and go forward as a nation.

‘Time longer than twine.’

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I support the DLP Govt. 100%.

This runaway illegal entry of people into Barbados which was encouraged by the Barbados Labour Party was the main reason I canvassed tirelessly in Barbados for their removal from office.

20. @Darkknight,What a ridiculous excuse,from since when is Guyana apart of the OECS ?

Although any immigration enforcement program may affect some nationals of OECS descent,I think the leaders of the OECS would understand since they are also facing the same problems.St. Lucia & Antigua are currently cracking down on illegal immigration in their countries & I commend them for that.Guyana is having its issues with illegal immigration from Brazil,but don’t appear to think of it too seriously.The citizens of Barbados are quite different in that we welcome all to our shores for a short stay,but should that turn into a long-term event Barbados citizens will notice & will want to know what added benefit you can bring to the country.Last time I checked,most economic migrants without a degree wouldn’t be able to add to Barbados’ GDP in any significant way.

@Negroman,I’m a he,lol.Although I don’t agree with the immigration amnesty if it is in the national interest over time I will try to accept it as long as the enforcement effort is R E A L.A good example is IF the illegal migrant has their own business & is employing at least 2 Bajan citizens long-term with fair wages.

I’m also concerned about short term marriages of convenience & trafficking of nationals to Barbados’ shores.Now that the P.M has let the cat out of the bag I think the Immigration Department should be on high alert for marriages of convenience in the short-term considering illegal immigrants will have until Dec. 1 st to report to the Immigration Dept..I also hope that Human trafficking is taken more seriously at Barbados’ port & GAIA before the situation truly gets out of hand with severe penalties.Giving victims temporary status in the country until successful prosecution would work.There was a suggestion in the Nation newspaper concerning that maybe the Immigration dept should have access to NIS records since some who overstay on their old work permits use them to pay into the system.This would be a good way at tracking down businesses who hire illegal immigrants with a fine of $10,000 per illegal.Finally,I believe it should be mandatory that schools & hospitals report any suspected illegal immigrants to the Immigration Dept.

These other suggestions would seriously put a damper on anyone thinking of overstaying their time.

21. Carson C. Cadogan // May 6, 2009 at 12:43 pm

DARK KNIGHT

Tell me if I have right.

The OECS will only purchase our goods if allow them to infiltrate our borders with myriads of illegal aliens?
    ………………………….

Even with Swine Flu, the US is not closing the border with Mexico. Why?

22. So basically the position is that if you have overstayed your permit for eight or more years, you can go the immigration department and apply for amnesty.

What happens if the above criteria is met but the illegal immigrant is currently unemployed?

How would you perform a background check if the applicant has no valid identification?

If the Immigration department cannot presently manage the number of illegal immigrants in the country, how will they cope when the undocumented go underground?

Illegal immigrants are aided and abetted daily by ordinary Bajans and Barbadian citizens, they are employed by Barbadian and Multi-National companies.

Until there is a real desire to deal with illegal immigration then this is just more pretty talk from politicians.

Hopi // May 5, 2009 at 8:47 pm
    Keep it real.

23. You are falling for the trap.

Look at the ease at which you now discuss “bulling” religion and in the past few days – hanging, defamation and putting out Guyanese.

All as a distraction tactic and to cushion the impact of the upcoming budget.

Typical trademark DLP hogwash.

Not long ago it was buying back BNB shares which cost US$600 million.

If you were to add that to a deficit of $745 million, you would get a whopping $1.945 billion.

This would more than break the Treasury.

But to hide its political imcompetence and intellectual weakness, the DLP engages in these types of gimmicks.

24. David

Have a read at the comments section on the starbrok news on the article about the immigration policy.

Norman faria is commenting there under the name ‘Reddy in Barbados’.

I suppose he is a red man.

He seems very resigned to the fact that guyanese will be returning to GT by the plane loads.

Ha,ha,ha.

You should hear him at the end of the post; why,why why,sob,sob,sob.

LOL.

25. โ€œDavid Thompsonโ€™s comedy of errorsโ€

The number of black and coolie illegals are โ€œunacceptably high, increasingly difficult to control and posed potentially negative socio-economic challengesโ€ and the answer is to give amnesty? Apparently, the illegal Anglo Saxons are not difficult to control and provide only positive socio-economic benefits. They lighten or whiten the race I guess.

If the number illegals of all shades are โ€œunacceptably highโ€, they need to be identified, repatriated, and visa restrictions need to be imposed. Allowing people to stay in the country who pose โ€œnegative socio-economic challengesโ€, is the very essence of stupidity. Repatriating illegals who are here without closing the front door is exactly the kind of comprehensive immigration policy we might expect in a comedy of errors.

26. Of Thompson’s Legacy and Childishness:

David Thompson’ legacy – like that of Erskine Sandiford before him – will be that of yet another DLP Prime Minister who created economic hardship for the people of Barbados.

David Thompson will also be regarded as the man who won a government but created a mess, and therefore resorted to using gimmicks like buying back BNB shares; hanging and putting out Guyanese – to distract Barbadians.

Little wonder that Owen Arthur described Thompson in the recent Estimates – as a man who jumped from the 60th floor of a building and when he was passing the 20th floor – was heard to say – “so far so good.”

Had not for Guyanese in Barbados – what would Thompson do to hide his incompetence?

Guyanese are being used as a scapegoat and as a distraction tactic for childish reasons.

All this, just because Regional Heads did not pick David Thompson to lead them in talks – when they meet with President Obama later this year.

27. Jay my apologies
    There is a comprehensive new immigration policy that is coming.It deals with marriages of convenience.I do not want to say much on it,but suffice it to say those type of marriages will not be allow to occur.Marriages by non-nationals to Barbadians will have to stand the test of time.Those marriages will have to be in existence for number of years before any thought will be given to granting citizenship to the partners.The presence situation of only a year will be thing of the past.

There are a lot of other interesting areas in the new immigration policy that should bring about effective controls of illegal immigrants if effectively impose by personnel mandated to carry out those tasks.

What I like about this amnesty arrangement is the idea that not many illegal non-nationals will actually benefit from the amnesty.I am in a position to tell everyone that less than 1500 or so will actually benefit.The simple reason that a vast amount of the non-nationals arrive after the cut off period that is in the period between 2000 & 2006 with the peak being the period 2004-2006 during the build up to Cricket World Cup.I know what I am talking about remember I am the person that put the information out there that amnesty was coming.

The illegal immigration problem can be control if the measures outlined by the Prime Minister & the new measures in the new immigration policy are carry out effectively by the personnel responsible for that task.

28. Here is something to note:

The structure of the Prime Ministerโ€™s statement was unfortunate, as it gave the distinct impression that the Barbados Government is only concerned with the illegal immigrants in Barbados from Caribbean countries but not those who are here from outside of the region, that is from Europe and North America.

This action coming on the heels of the Prime Ministerโ€™s statement in Guyana of: โ€œEver so welcome, wait for a callโ€ and the draconoian way in which many Caricom immigrants have been unceremoniously removed from Barbados over the last year will undoubtedly have implications for Barbadians working and moving in the wider region.

The stated policy of the Barbados Customs Department to remove the green line at the airport for all regional flights compounds the situation.

29. @Negroman……So you’re the man! Just stay the course and never get weary in well doing. In India today there are a group of people that are so ostracized in that society. They call them the “Untouchables.” They are relegated to the lowest status in that society. Guess what…. they are black like you and I.

@General Lee…..Aye..Aye. Sir!

30. Childish ways:

Professor Girvan and Dr. Joseph are right!

It is not the Guyanese that is the problem โ€“ but Thompsonโ€™s weak Leadership, especially given that he โ€œHADโ€ lead responsibility for the CSME.

I said “HAD” because Regional Heads recently selected the Guyana President to lead them in talks when they meet President Obama later this year.

Still, Prime Minister Thompson must show leadership and ensure the urgent settlement of the long-awaited โ€œProtocol on Contingent Rightsโ€ that will settle what benefits Caricom citizens will access, if they live in another Caricom country.

It is the absence of clarity and certainty to this issue, Barbadians will continue to be fearful that persons from another country are coming to deplete the socio-economic benefits available, even if these persons are paying taxes that contribute to the provision of the same services.

Europe has been able to settle this difficult issue and so can we in the Region – with the appropriate agreement and providing that David Thompson was not so childish and embarrassingly weak as a leader.

David Thompson opts to deport Guyanese – just because Regional Heads selected the Guyana President and not him โ€“ to be the lead spokesman, when they meet President Obama.

31. Dark Knight
    This is not about David Thompson. Barbadians were very upset with the BLP and the policy of allowing a free for all entry of mostly Guyanese nationals. They voted the BLP out.

If David Thompson does not listen to the majority of his people he would also be voted out. To me, he is listening and trying to deal with all of the CSME nonsense while keeping Barbados as a civilized country.

CSME will never work, because Barbados seems to be the only country that follows the rules.

Barbadians are the worst persons because of their standard of living. The other countries are jealous of Barbados.

It is ironic that the other islands and countries have far more natural resources but are poorly managed.

Please donโ€™t blame Bajans.

32. @ Fairplay

Madame!

Why are Barbadians not being told that the quality of life they enjoy is significantly contributed to by our interaction with the Region?

Are you aware that 52% of our exports go to Caricom countries and that 20% of our tourists (1 in ever 5) come from Caricom countries while many of our enterprises, both large and small – invest in the region as their first option for investment outside of Barbadian shores?

Friend!

Our only hope to sustain our quality of life and our economic development without the constraint of small size – is dependent on our ability to do business, sell our services, trade and invest within the Caribbean Region.

In fact, Barbadian prosperity cannot be guaranteed by Barbadian labour and Barbadian capital alone.

These are the things that the DLP should be telling you, but is not.

There therefore has to be a reason why?

The DLP is trying to distract your attention away from the poor state of the Economy and the mess is has and continues to create daily.

Think people. Wake up Barbadians!!!!

33. Dark knight

Yuh like a friggin stuck record.

Why yuh don’t go and piss on yuhself yuh idiot.

34. Bloggers,

“Dark Knight” is writing directly from the Leader of the Opposition’s office. How do I know this?

An extract of the Statement by the Leader of the Opposition is carried 6 posts above this one by Dark Knight. It was posted two hours before the Statement was officially released to the media.

This is what the Leader of the Opposition has come to in Barbados. Those guys just don’t get it. Barbadians are thinking and they realise that God intervened in this country in early 2008.
    Thank you, Father.

Scare-mongering, insults, abuse, spreading of falsehoods should never be the tools of a potential leader.

Ms. Mottley is failing us.

35. @Dark knight,actually what you’re saying sounds more like a ploy than fact.

I honestly believe this whole problem of illegal immigration was actually highlighted quite vividly by the opposition.The comments on this blog particularly were key,imo.Many of them derogatory against Barbados & its Citizens while the taxpayers have to foot the bill for those who illegally reside,whether it comes to Education,healthcare & our other social services is a HUGE insult.

Imo,it isn’t really all about economics but also includes the possible disruption of the peace that is in Barbados.I have seen numerous comments here saying we’re “taking over” or “You can’t stop the influx”.This is why many here on BU say it is a “sovereignty issue”.This is why I think anything that you or anyone else says concerning pro-illegal immigration will most likely fall on deaf ears.

36. Dark Knight
    What do you want bajans to do, open their homes to who so-ever will region citizens come and live? Barbados for many years have been welcoming people from the region here. Some of them stayed, others went back but over the last decade, there has been a vast influx of illegals in Barbados and it is causing difficulties on the middle and lower class bajans especially. It is because Owen was such a strong leader that he was voted out, furthermore, I’m glad of the statement Mia made this evening, this would condemn her to NEVER becoming P.M of this country. Is Barbados the only Caricom country to deal with illegal guyanese in recent times? While I am not in favor with the amnesty, i accept it but we must now protect our borders and people by enforcing the new immigration law.

37. Thanks to ALL those patriotic bajans especially my friend Negro Man and a special thanks to BU for keeping this in the front burner. Now I feel that my ancestors’ work was not in vain. I want to remind all you sympathisers that the vast majority of Caricom citizens either disliked or envied bajans before now so there is no love lost. If protect our borders and people makes us a hated people then where was the love and brotherhood? I say, it was NEVER there

38. Scout, I think you are right on this. I believe that Mia’s statement is ill-timed and out of sync with the feelings of Barbadians. That the DLP is tackling this issue and has thought and is thinking it through, as Negroman suggests, is the correct approach.

Truth to tell, it couldn’t suit me better because I don’t support Mia or her party. But I often wonder what Mia is trying to prove.

Her speech to the Kt. Kitts opposition is being circulated – not in support – but pointing to her lack of political savvy, sexiness (intellectually) and gravitas.

Listening to part of it, I realised that Mia is still “winging” it without a consistent message, plan or vision. Opposition Leaders do not get kudos for past performance!

Barbados is the poorer.

39. @ Dark Knight

Go have a good cry. It must be hard to see all the hard work you did (letting in all those illegal Guyanese) come to naught. boo,hoo,hoo.

40. Dark Knight
    It is no surprise that you &Co are so supportive of Jagdeo but when the Caricom leaders could chose a dictator like Jagdeo to represent them, then the entire Caricom family will be dobbed with the same brush. it is time the leaders tell Jagdeo to get his act together or step down from office or Guyana step out of the Caricom agreement.

41. Scout,Veritas & Jackie

The BLP and their supporters are pure bred jackasses.

Just so that they can score political point we have that blind man Linton arguing on the call in programme this evening that he finds that the stipulation put back by government is too harsh in the giving of this amnesty.

That the government is asking for too much conditions.

He is arguing that all children born here are citizens and if a child parent cannot be found then the barbadian government has to take in that child and give it citizenship .

You see this shite.

People listen carefully to how the blp politicians are trying to give the guyanese people ideas how to go around the law and to work against our country.

Listen to what mia mottley said this evening about illegal persons and businesses.

But I got news for them the government just waiting for them.David thompson smarter than a lot of them think and that is why he set up that amnesty tight,tight so.

Like Scout said Mia,Owen,Dale Masrshall,Rawle eastmond,billie ,iller and all the other BLP politicians should be voted out because every one of them has stood up in parliament and argue for the illegals to stay.

These BLP politicians are anti Barbados and there is no way that any bajan should want them to be their representative.

THE BLP MUST NEVER SEE THE CORRIDORS OF POWER EVER AGAIN.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DARK KNIGHT

The fact of the matter is, there are too many Guyanese in Barbados thanks to the short sightedness of the Barbados Labour Party.

We Bajans are sick and fed up with them and we want them out sooner rather than later. The first step towards achieving that goal was to remove the Barbados Labour Party from office. They were the cause of the problem in the first place. Now we will deal with the thirty thousand or more Guyanese.

Something must be left in Barbados for my Bajan children and Bajan Granchildren not for Guyanese.

43. Scout,Hopi,JC,Jay & the rest

Thanks for for the support.In my first posting I made special references to all of you for the excellent submissions that were made.I will repeat the suggestions by you all helped determined the policy that was enunciated by Prime Minister David Thompson.Prime Minister David Thompson was and is still under extreme pressure from the reactionary forces in Barbados to give in to their demands.

The battle has not yet been won.We must now fight.David Thompson now needs the support of all true patriotic and loyal Barbadians.If he does not receive that support the possibility exists that the measures outline in his speech on this matter could be frustrated.That is why I will repeat again & again we must ever be vigilant.

David & BU please keep this immigration issue as the flag ship issue and monitor the progress of the enforcement of the policy.

Mia Mottley & her cohorts will try ever thing possible to frustrate the government’s efforts.We must never allow that to happen.

I agreed with Anonymous 6.56 pm the corrupt Barbados Labour Party should never hold the reigns of power in Barbados ever again.This country should be a one party state.That is Democratic Labour Party country.
    Scum bag Owen Arthur & company good riddance.

Unkempt Norma Faria you could never scare this Negroman in Barbados.I await my date in court with you.I will always say I see 1 colour people and that is Black People.I care nothing about Indians,Chinese or White People and I have a passionate dislike for the Indo-Guyanese.Put me in court for stating that this Negroman hates Indo-Guyanese with a passion that cannot be explain.
    Norma Faria go rot in hell yuh musty unkempt jerk.

44. Dark Knight
    I am an independent thinking Barbadian. This country spent too much money on education to allow your shallow arguments to stand.

If your leader was so strong why was there no progress with the CSME. Why would the other countries not join the CCJ.

Your government did some good things while in office for 14 years but you also wasted real money also, for example Gems project, Greenland and the extra costs at the new prison.

The DLP took office when things were slowing down in the worldโ€™s economic activities and it got worst. The mighty USA is in a mess what do you expect of little Barbados. By the way Barbadians are still living it up like there is no problem.

Right thinking persons know that there are too many illegal immigrants in Barbados and it must be controlled.

The BLP is pandering to them because they mostly voted for the BLP in the last election. If all right thinking Barbadians take this as a clue then they should not support the BLP in any election with that sort of policy.

Dark Knight you then will remain a cry baby for the next ten years.

45. It is now being manifested that had the BLP come to power again in Barbados at the last elections, that party was ready to sell Barbados out to Jagdeo and them. I’m sooooooo glad that my vote helped sweep them out of office. Mia, I would rather sell snowcones in hell than to live in Barbados if you every become Prime Minister. You and the BLP don’t have Barbados at heart, it is only what all of you can get to full your pockets. It would be snowing in hell the day you become P.M, so sweetheart just wait for that day to come and take along your winter coat the day you arrive down below.

46. @Scout

You aint easy.

@ Negroman

You were right on the ball!

47. Carson C. Cadogan, May 6th at 8:53 p.m. wrote “Something must be left in Barbados for my Bajan children and Bajan Granchildren”

How do you know that your grandchildren will be Bajans and will remain Bajans?

Are Grantley Adams’ grandchildren good loyal and dedicated Bajans?

Are Erroll Barrow’s grandchildren good, loyal and dedicated Bajans?

Are Tom Adams’ grandchildren good loyal and dedicated Bajans?

Are Garry Sobers’ grandchildren good loyal and dedicated Bajans?

Are Hugh Springer’s grandchildren good loyal and dedicated Bajans?

The truth is that none of us have control of who or what our grandchildren will be.

Some of the grandchildren of these reviled Guyanese immigrants will be better, more loyal and more dedicated Bajans that some of the grandchildren of our national heroes and past and present policy makers.

Some of the grandchildren of these Guyanese immigrants will be better, more loyal and more dedicated Bajans than David Thompson’s grandchildren.

Policy should be based on REASON.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

There are more Guyanese in Barbados now than the Giant African snails and we are trying to get rid of them.

49. So we must allow everyone the gyanese included to stay because you never know our grandchildren might be from one of the non nationals and of course you know they may be a better bajan than if they had come from bajan stock.

Now if only the prime minister could only use some of this brilliant reasoning and make public policy on this deduction.

Whew!