Prime Minister of Barbados Hon David Thompson

Prime Minister David Thompson issued a ministerial statement in parliament today regarding the immigration issue. For some time now it has been apparent to sensible Barbadians that the national security of Barbados had become breached given the large undocumented number of immigrants living in Barbados. It was an election campaign issue and on assuming office Prime Minister David Thompson appointed a sub-committee of Cabinet of which he was Chairman to investigate and make recommendations to government to relieve the problem.

Barbados will deport illegal immigrants who do not seek to regularize their status under a new policy – see CANA Report.

BU agrees with the measured and humane manner which the Thompson led government has approached this issue. While it is easy to lobby to deport all illegal immigrants, there is an understanding that many of the illegal immigrants have been living in Barbados for so long that it would be inhuman to uproot those people summarily.

But here are a few BU concerns:

The proposed shake-up at the immigration Department i.e. the officers responsible for enforcing the immigration laws of Barbados MUST be implemented in a transparent manner. It is known around Barbados that many of our current officers now maintain harems given their godlike powers to determine if an illegal immigrant is ‘fingered’ or not. We should not forget those who use their influence to satisfy the rich and powerful by prostituting themselves for the almighty dollar.

The law must deal harshly with those corrupt immigration officers who use their powers for personal gain. Equally those employers all across our country who employ illegal immigrants should be made to feel the full weight of the law as well.

While the Prime Minister has made a step in the right direction as always the devil will be in the detail.

267 responses to “Government Of Barbados Addresses The Illegal Immigrant Issue”

1. To Fairplay: How could illegal immigrants vote for anybody in the last election?

2. Annonymous
    How could Illegal immigrants vote?
    you mean you didn’t hear about all the fake ID cards that were being passed around in the Farm, among other places, to keep certain people in power??

3. Anonymous // May 6, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Dark knight

Yuh like a friggin stuck record.

Why yuh don’t go and piss on yuhself yuh idiot.
    ………………………….
    Who is this purporting to be Anonymous?

The Anonymous who post a few weeks ago was measured, intelligent and knowledgeable.

He/She was polished and engaged in substance.

He/she was sound on tourism policy and other matters of public importance.

Now, this apparent whippersnapper!

his illbred, uncultured, miscreant – does great disservice to previous post from Anonymous.

Please, choose another name.

4. Some of the grandchildren of these Guyanese immigrants will be better, more loyal and more dedicated Bajans than David Thompson’s grandchildren.

Policy should be based on REASON.

@ J when you say by ‘Reason’ please explain.

5. Listen to the CBC BU family.

6. DLP Failing Barbados Badly, But not surprisingly:

It is insanity to do the same thing twice and hope for a different result.

The DLP created a serious “MESS” in 1991-1994 and a few people feel it would some how – do something different on this occasion.

If there is one piece of news that ought to spread across Barbados today – it has to be the astronomical decline in the Foreign Reserves of this country and the fact that the DLP triggered a meltdown of the Barbados economy.

It should therefore be of great concern to all patrioctic Barbadians that the BLP left the Foreign Reserves in 2007 increasing by more than $200 million.

Now what!

Would you believe that in 14 years, the BLP increased the debt by $2.4 billion (with a lot to show) but – having criticised the national debt when in Opposition – in a mere 14 months, the DLP increased our national debt by $1.4 billion – and with nothing to show?

Here are some other serious issues confronting Barbados, which is at the heart of the “MESS” created by the DLP in just 14 months:

1. The cost of living doubled in 2008 over 2007.

2. Unemployment increase by some 12 per cent moving to just about 8% in Barbados.

3. The Nation Debt increased by some $900 million in the last 14 months.

4. The External Current Account deficit down to the end of September -worsened by $262 million.

5. There was a smaller Capital Account Surplus in 2008 than it was in 2007 by over $223 million.

6. Private Capital Inflows in this country reduced to $409 million from a high of $920 for the first nine months of 2008.”

7. Worst of all – is that the International Reserves in Barbados declined under Thompson by over $700 milling in nine months.

Since 2008 the reserves increased in the first quarter of the year to $2.7 billion.

But then they fell in the last nine months of 2008 from $2.7 billion to $1,990 million or by over $700 million.

Now, this is what all caring and patriotic Barbadians should really be concerned about.

Not the attempt by one confused voice: The new Anonymous; Jackie; Veritas alias, Wishing In Vain, a.k.a hartley “the Klown” henry – to have hanging; defamation and putting out Guyanese – serve as a distraction tactic.

7. Dark Knight cuddear.

You hear how the lambast your leader ……..

cud dear! TRAITOR!!!!!

8. @ JC

The only question that is important to patriotic and caring Barbadians is – how will Prime Minister Thompson finance his deficit of $745 million?

Why did he introduce Estimates that are “UNIMPLEMENTABLE” because they cannot be financed?

Will he cut the Supplies Vote to Ministries?

Will Barbadians have to take their soap, toothpaste, toilet paper and towels to the QEH?

Will he implement another wages freeze?

Will he send home people again?

Will he cut the Vote of the Social Ministries some more?

Will he raise more taxes?

Will Barbadians to asked to pay more for gas and diesel and will there be a toll tax?

How will Mr. Thompson finance his $745 million deficit?

Will he stop the $12 million Free Bus Rides?

Will he stop the Constituency Councils $6 million “fatted calf programme?

Or – the Camp Programme, which is an open-ended; rolling basis; blank cheque initiative – where the cost to taxpayers is not known?

9. CCC this is why you should vote for people who have similar view points as you do on serious matters such as Immigration. As a bajan registered elector who is against illegal immigration, on reading Mia Mottley’s comments on page 5 in todays advocate as contained in the article titled “Mottley “wary” about PM statement” why would one even concider her or her party at election time? chuspe

However I must say the the timing of Thompson’s comments when taken with those of his political consultant Hartley Henry as delivered via his weekly article UNDER THE MICROSCOPE: ‘Opposition Madness’
    4/23/2009. These comments by Thompson has the potential to overshadow the Budget, and in particular, Mia’s LOTO response which she has been gearing up for.

Also on page 2 of the Advocate the article title “Defamation Could Change” is step in the right direction. No one has benefited more from libel threats than the Last Prime Minister and his cabinet. He said as much when declaring his “assets”. We all know that Mia’s rise or is it swelling??? can be link to the fear that she may have cultivated in Bajans over the years. Is it Time to end this madness?

Mia, of late, lack to be “festivus” (mekking noise), was said to, not be in response to my held view that a noisey LOTO helps the current GOB more than themselves, but that she was in preparation for the Budget. Timing is everthing they say.

10. David Thompson has placed a “gag order on the economy” by using “hanging,” “deportation” and “defamation” as distratction tactics.

David Thompson is weak on the economy so he is trying to downplay the fact those more than 3000 people lost their jobs due to his poor judgment and bad decisions.

David Thompson is failing on his promise of: reducing cost of living, so he tries to get Barbadians to talk about Guyanese and hanging, as a distraction tactic.

This is not leadership, but weakness

11. 90% of bajans support the move by the prime minister.

The BLP politicians and their leader Mia in bare trouble because they will not see power for a long,long time.

12. I agree anon!

AH nice reading your comments.

Haven’t read your biting comments in a long time.

13. Anonymous // May 7, 2009 at 11:24 am

90% of bajans support the move by the prime minister.

The BLP politicians and their leader Mia in bare trouble because they will not see power for a long,long time.

——————————–

Did you not see the centre page of the Nation newspaper?

Of eight people polled, none are in favour with Thompson’s position but all are in favour of the position being taken by the Opposition Leader and the BLP.

The persons polled range in age from 32 to 67.

The simple point I am trying to make is that based on the evident (cenrtre page today’s Nation Newspaper) the young and old are “at one” with the BLP and Opposition Leader Mia Mottley on this issue.

But Anomymous!

Are you referring to the Poll that shows the DLP loosing six seats in St. Michael and three in Christ Church?

The numbers you and the DLP polled – did it include the over 3,000 who lost their jobs since January 15, 2008?

Does it include those who are struggling from the cost of living that has doubled since january 15, 2009?

Did you conduct your poll among those who are struggling to cope with the price gouging by the DLP on petroleum products and land tax?

Anomymous – you LIE!

I understand your desperation.

The OECS and CARICOM could retaliate with sanctions and you are worried. Like the Opposition Leader, patriotic Barbadians are concerned about a possible “back-lash.”

It is clear that David Thompson was speaking for himself and his Cabinet – and that Barbadians do not share his views on Immigration.

Again, it is clear that the DLP is not in-tune with the Barbadian reality.

The question for you to consider is, with unemployment skyrocketing within the construction sector – will Thompson now put out all CHINESE workers?

14. Dark Knight why don’t you put up the link to the article so that the BU family can READ for themselves? I think they would hardly agree with your assessment. lol!

Oh what the heck. The 0pinions of those Bajans are more in favour with the PM than not. It can be said, and with lots of evidence that the former government legislated often without the confidence of Bajans, and on may issues simply ignored issues that concern the Majority.

So folks read for yourself what the article says.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/The-people-on-non-nationals-copy-for-web

15. @ Adrian

Well Sir,

Why did the DLP not facilitate public debate on whether Barbados should abolish the mandatory death penalty?

All the talk about Constituency Councils giving Barbadians a say and yet – not a say on whether something as important as whether the mandatory death penalty, should be abolished.

Why is the DLP disregarding pg 48 of the its own Manifesto?

Talk about good governance!

Did the DLP not say that good governance is:

“participatory,

consensus oriented,

accountable to the electorate,

transparent in all decision-making,

responsive to the needs of voters,

effective and efficient,

eqitable and inclusive and

follows the rule of law?”

What was this matter agreeto by stealth, especially when the DLP promised that, “the people would be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf?”

And the DLP has the nerve to tell “somebody” that:

“the DLP administration’s attitude to accountability will be based on the understanding that as servants and representatives of the peolle there can be no secrets or matters to be hidden from the population.”

Then why the “secret deal – the stealth,” as regards – agreeing to the abolition of the mandatory death penalty without consulting the PEOPLE?

Where is the REFERENDUM?

16. STUPES …

17. Dark Knight I listened to VOB’s news and EVERY ONE agreed with the PMS position INCLUDING a VINCENTIAN WOMAN….

WHY YA ALL DONT CHECK FOR BAJANS DOH!!!!

I AINT VOTING FOR YOU ALL ATALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

18. @JC

You people are so blinded by your partisanship, you never see or prtend not to see the facts. This Government has pronised much and delivered little!!!!!!!

19. The BLP was and is checking for Bajans. That it precisely why it was formed over 70 years ago. That is why the BWU was established.

It was the BLP that reduced unemployment from 26.2% to 6.1%.

It was the BLP that left $2.7 billion in foreign reserves.

This is some of what the BLP did:

The Board Walk; the work on River Road, Independence Square, Kensington, St, Lawrence Gap, the Airport expansion, the seas port. The ABC highway.

The BLP provides unmatched economic forecasting skills and management.

Barbadians were well received when they travel because of the BLP.

Things “CHANGE.

I could go on!!!

20. Now that he and the DLP have decided to put out all Guyanese, he should now tuen his attention to the Nation Newspaper of October 29, 2009.

For ease of reference, see below:

“A DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) ADMINISTRATION will, within six months of assuming office, appoint all qualified public officers who have been in temporary positions for two or more years.

That’s the word from Opposition Leader David Thompson, who on Saturday evening told a packed gathering of Barbadians living in Toronto, Canada, that the state needed to “regularise the lives of these individuals, so they can begin to plan for their future and that of their children”.

Thompson said the public service of Barbados was not likely to become any smaller in the years to come and therefore there was no need “to have so many people dangling on a string”.

Pension study

He said also that a DLP government would immediately commission an actuarial study into the return of the dual pension system, whereby people who joined the service after 1974 would become eligible once again for both a government employment and National Insurance pension.

“You would recall that a previous Barbados Labour Party government removed the facility whereby persons, on reaching age 65, could continue to receive their government pension and still become eligible for a National Insurance pension. Currently, the anomaly exists where persons who joined the service before 1974 receive two pensions but those who joined thereafter are entitled to but one.

“We are saying as a party that few retiring public officers can survive on the single pension and that there is need for a review, to see whether it is at all possible for us to return some percentage, if not the entire second pension, to them.”

The DLP leader said his party’s policies evolved out of discussions with civil society, particularly consultations with the trade union movement.

“After extensive confidential consultations over the past three months with public service officers at all levels, we will be ensuring that supersession is brought to an end, that there is more consultation in relation to human resource decisions within ministries and that fairness and justice are restored to the public service.

“In that regard, not only will we appoint persons in temporary positions for more than two years and also return the second pension, if actuarially appropriate, but we are determined to offer the housing and vehicle assistance packages referenced to in my budget reply, because having run the numbers, we are insisting that this is achieveable and would not constitute any major or undue burden on the economy.”

Thompson was at the time addressing a function in Toronto to launch the Canada arm of the party.

Show Barbados real leadership in your up-coming budget Mr. PM.

Surpise Barbados!!!

21. Late to Reply Avatar
    Late to Reply

Am i missing something i thought i heard the Prime Minister said ILLEGAL caribbean nationals. Now i am hearing the BLP educated fool BK making it a Guyanees issue,the Prime Minister is simply saying if you are here ILLEGALLY regularised your status the whole world is doing it.BUT ANY THING ILLEGAL OR SHADY DARK KNIGHT WILL SUPPORT.The Barbados economy is doing well under the economic situation so you can used scare tactis on the barbados people and stop regurgitating everything from your weak leader who has to make statement.

22. What was the national debt pre 1994 and post 2007?

…. and what is it now??

I’ll guess it continues to increase.

Neither one of the parties is much good at controlling the debt.

This is one thing that remains constant and never changes.

23. It has nothing to do with partisan politics. It has to do with checking for my own.

you all remember statements like

America for Americans

Britain for the British!

I AM NOT VOTING FOR YOUR PARTY DK AND ANON!

NEVER!

Check for we first.

24. @ John,

The Rt. Excellent E.W Barrow said that there is nothing wrong with debt or deficit financing.

The BLP’s position has always been that you do not borrow for consumption but to build productive capacity – hence the Air Port, the Sea Port, the Hilton and so on.

It was the DLP that criticised the debt and tried to give the impression that the BLP was doing something wrong by borrowing.

Under the BLP (14 years) the debt increased by $2.4 billion but with a lot to show.

In just 14 months under the DLP, the national debt increased by $1.4 billion but with nothing to show, excpet frequent trips overseas by DLP Minister.

25. @ JC

You wrote:

“I AM NOT VOTING FOR YOUR PARTY DK AND ANON!

NEVER!

Check for we first.”

Friend, we live in a democracy. Never mind that you have a right to vote because of the Rt. Excellent Grantley Adams and the BLP.

Based on the Constitution of Barbados, you have the fundamental right of association.

You can vote for the BLP or the DLP. At the end of the day, we are all Barbadians who want the best for this country.

We may differ on approach, but I do not hate you anymore than you hate Guyanese.

26. @ Late to Reply,

There are 20 million illegal people in America but Obama is not putting out anybody.

Even with Swine Flu, he is not closing the border to Mexico.

Illegal does not mean that people are breaking banks, robbing Barbadians; peddling drugs or like the DLP – receiving taxpayers money while not producing.

President Obama’s Immigration reform is the leadership and the type of “CHANGE” that David Thompson should copy.

Instead, our Prime Minister takes the LOW and EAST road. He wants to be popular and is therefore reluctant to do what is right.

he buys popularity by playing to the gallery.

Sir, it was Grantley Adams that defended Clement Payne when people wnated to deport him.

July 26 should therefore be a reminder of what the DLP stands for: the deportation of Guyanese.

All this, just because Regional Heads selected the Guyana President to lead talks when they meet President Obama later this year.

27. Last time,I checked the topic was about Barbados’ illegal immigration problem,Darknight.

Any L A W M A K E R that actually supports something ILLEGAL immigration shouldn’t be in the Parliament at all.

28. Chances are – a lot of the people who are working at the Immigration Department, today, were there when Mr. Barrow was Prime Minister.

You change political parties; laws and policy – but workers remain.

Problems occur when people do not do what they are being paid to do.

Now! Are you saying that the DLP will clean up the Belle area soon?

What about St. Philip?

29. @ Jay

You wrote: “Any L A W M A K E R that actually supports something ILLEGAL immigration shouldn’t be in the Parliament at all.”

—————

Well should the entire DLP resign based on your argument? Take not ethat the DLP is collecting road taxes ILLEGALLY.

Will you now withdraw your support?

Please be reminded that Prime Minister Thompson increased fees in his July 2008 Budget.

You may therefore wish to check Section 4. of the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act, Cap. 85 of the laws of Barbados.

Listen little girl, be careful what you wish for.

30. Dark Knight // May 7, 2009 at 1:52 pm

@ John,

The Rt. Excellent E.W Barrow said that there is nothing wrong with debt or deficit financing.

The BLP’s position has always been that you do not borrow for consumption but to build productive capacity – hence the Air Port, the Sea Port, the Hilton and so on.
    What was the debt pre 1994 and post 2007?

This should be a simple question to answer.

I don’t have a problem with borrowing to increase productive capacity but if the national debt keeps increasing, then clearly the sums borrowed far exceed any potential of the productive capacity to pay them back.

This is what I find amazing about the situation.

We claim to have a low unemployment rate which should be true if our borrowings increased our productive capacity.

The need for foreign labour should also be there if this is the case.

… and yet I don’t meet many Bajans who believe the unemployment numbers and support the presence of foreign workers in Barbados.

Obviously something is crazy wrong and has been for a long time.

31. Adrian Hinds Avatar

John // May 7, 2009 at 1:23 pm

What was the national debt pre 1994 and post 2007?

…. and what is it now??

I’ll guess it continues to increase.

Neither one of the parties is much good at controlling the debt.

This is one thing that remains constant and never changes.
    ==========================

Indeed John. It is laughable for anyone to defend either party on several issues. Be that as it may, I will continue to compare the last two cabinets and parliaments to the one in progress and if Mia continues on her path and the BLP does not settle it’s leadership problem, I may very well be force to extend this running comparison and contrast, for what would be their 2nd term. lol!

32. “but if the national debt keeps increasing, then clearly the sums borrowed far exceed any potential of the productive capacity to pay them back.”
    ………………………………
    Think about that carefully!

Then consider that you borrow a loan.

Then consider debt servicing – credit rating: hence your capacity to borrow more.

Sir, this is not Trade Confirmers we are talking about.

That is why S&P is so concerned about Clico and theatric talk by the PM of wanting to buy back BNB shares.

As an example, note also that it is because of CL Finanial, that S&P down graded T&T credit rating.

It will now cost them more to borrow: the interest rate will be higher. They are considered high-risk.

Barbados – under DLP rule – is getting there.

33. Adrian,

With an economy in shambles, and Barbados’ Macro Economic Indicators in serious decline – am I to believe that the ruling party is pinning its hopes on re-election – not on performance – but an alleged leadership problem within the BLP, the DLP is now seeking desperately to manufacture.

34. Fairplay wrote:

“The DLP took office when things were slowing down in the world’s economic activities and it got worst. The mighty USA is in a mess what do you expect of little Barbados.”

Then why an inflationary budget, which raised $180 million in new taxes?

Why a 77% increase in diesel? Which planet are you living on Fairplay?

You should read and be better informed. Here is what the New York Times reported yesterday:

“Everyone knows the grim news — unemployment in the United States has jumped to 8.5 percent, a 25-year high, and is racing toward double digits. Since November, the nation has lost more than three million jobs.

But not everyone knows the brighter side to the equation: deep in the maw of the deepest recession since the Great Depression, millions are still being hired.

Even industries that have taken a beating are doing plenty of hiring. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, construction companies hired 366,000 workers in February, and manufacturers hired 249,000. Retailers hired 536,000 workers in February, but that was down 25 percent from the previous February.

So, while 4.8 million workers were laid off or chose to leave their jobs in February, employers across the country hired 4.3 million workers that month, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

“The best thing you can say about these numbers is it speaks to the dynamism of the U.S. economy, and the net negative number that we all traffic in masks that,” said Robert J. Barbera, chief economist at ITG, a research and trading firm. “Ninety out of 100 people who know the number — 650,000 were lost in February — think that means no one was hired and 650,000 were fired.”

In February — before the economy started to show the first faint signs of a possible recovery — there were three million job openings nationwide. And despite large new job losses likely to be announced Friday, there are still millions of job openings.”

Like the DLP – you too do not seem to understand that the global financial crisis is doing Barbados a favour, especially with the DLP in office.

That is part of the reason why Barbados will remain in crisis: not enough people know or even care – hence they fall for the DLP’s distraction tactics, like “putting out Guyanese, when by October – Barbados will be just like 1991.

35. Adrian Hinds Avatar

DK your above hinges on the validity of this one statement “WITH AN ECONOMY IN SHAMBLES” Unless you prove this, the remainder of your contribution is without meaning and context to reality.

36. The chickens are one by one coming home to roost.

The article about the handouts by Looking Glass is misleading in one way as it implies those handouts have been free.

The national debt debunks the implied freeness and seems to imply that we and future generations will need to work our tails off to repay it,

……. but at least it won’t be in the fields as most of them will long have been concreted over.

I wonder how we will pay it back?

37. Adrian Hinds Avatar

@John: you said:
    The need for foreign labour should also be there if this is the case.

… and yet I don’t meet many Bajans who believe the unemployment numbers and support the presence of foreign workers in Barbados.

Obviously something is crazy wrong and has been for a long time.
    ===========================

Unionized labor accounts for 60 percent of the labor force. The public sector accounts for 20 percent of total employment and sets the tone for the rate of private sector wage increases; while public sector wage settlements are set in two-year contracts, private sector contracts are generally longer
    The construction boom over the last two years has led to a substantial bidding up of wages in this sector, particularly for skilled workers; more recently, however, these wage increases have been moderated by the inflow of workers from other Caribbean territories.

IMF consultation with the GoB in 2000
    ===========================

Cheap labour is cheap labour no matter the spurious arguments to justify the same. Ever heard of the “Hubcap Theory,”? It says that if someone in Detroit wants $25.00 an hour to put on hubcaps, someone else will come along and offer to do it for much less, and eventually someone in a third-world country will be willing to do it for 25 cents an hour.

This is the core to integration in our region, and globalization on the world stage. We were attempted to create our own little china (exploited labour source of the world) with Indo Guyanese. Only difference being, our lazy business people were not intending to go where the labour is, they intended to bring them to Bim, and to do so with the Blessing of the last Government. Hear Owen back in 2005

“Welcome Foreigners, Says PM – Thursday 15, July-2004

Prime Minister Owen Arthur

PRIME MINISTER Owen Arthur has chided Barbadians who object to non-nationals working here.
    And not only has he asked Immigration officials to stop treating them badly, but criticised Barbadians’ work ethic, telling them to pull up their socks.

Saying he welcomed the Guyanese, Vincentians, and St Lucians whom he thanked for making Barbados’ commercial agriculture sector what it was today, Arthur told Parliament last Tuesday they did the work that Barbadians did not want.

“I want on the floor of this Parliament to thank them,” he said, “I really do, and I want our immigration people to stop treating them badly when they come here. It has to stop. The Government does not support it.

“I deprecate those who are lambasting them because Government is giving an incentive for those picking cotton and you can’t get a Barbadian to go and do the work. ”
    ———————————————–

He never once talk about wages.

38. @ Adrian,

Sir,

Below is the proff of shambles. Add that to Mr. Thompson’s $745 million deficit, then wait for the Budget to see what he will cuts and what additional taxes he will impose.

One way or the next, it will be tough – a far distance to the PM telling Barbados to “spend widely.”

Here is the proof of shambling:

1.That cost of living doubled in 2008 over 2007.

2.That unemployment Sir increase by some 12 per cent moving to just about 8% in Barbados.

3.That the Nation Debt increased by some $900 million in the last 14 months.

4.That the External Current Account deficit down to the end of September worsened Sir by $262 million.

5.That there was a smaller Capital Account Surplus in 2008 than it was in 2007 by over $223 million.

6.That the Private Capital Inflows in this country reduced to $409 million from a high of $920 for the first nine months of 2008.”

7.Worst of all is that the International Reserves in Barbados declined under Thompson by over $700 milling in nine months.

Since 2008 the reserves increased in the first quarter of the year to $2.7 billion. But then they fell in the last nine months of 2008 from $2.7 billion to $1,990 million or by over $700 million.

39. Questions:

Caricom nationals who arrived here in 2003 and beyond, and have over stayed their welcome…Are they being offered an amnesty too…If the answer is no, what will happen to them?

My unscientific information is that at least 60 per cent of the caricom immigrants in Barbados arrived between 2001-2007…Is this group (illegals)entitled to the amnesty ?

Have the systems for issuing of permits and extensions being used by the Immigration Department been changed?

Is the immigration department still having difficulty in acting on valid information with respect to picking up illegals?

40. @ John,

No one will lend you if they do not feel you have the capacity to repay or unless you have something of value they can hold.

For example, the Barbados Government of Barbados is Keeping it a secret but is printing money.

The Central Bank of Barbados has so far taken up over $96 million in government paper.

It is yet to be stated publicly, exactly what asset/s the government has given the CCB.

Either the official documents are lying or written to mislead. Read the Central Bank Report.

Note also that FDI has dried up and Thompson is panicing, why?

Contrary to what the DLP said when in Opposition – Barbados needs foreign direct investments, as much as we need the OECS to continue to buy 52% of what we produce – so that we can maintain our standard of living and quality of life.

I agree with you on the point that the chickens are really now coming home to roost, as Barbadians are begging to see how the DLP lied to them.

Stay tuned for more!!!

41. Adrian Hinds Avatar

DK so the Barbados economy is declining, but in shambles? I would also bet that what is occuring across the globe has no bearing on this right? That in the hands of the BLP the Barbados economy would be secured and be the shining light amongst the world’s fading one yes?

42. Dark Knight
    You &Co don’t seem to understand that that same illegal immigrant issue played a BIG part in the BLP losing the government last elections and furthermore the mouthings of Mia would push you further away froim regaining the government. Keep it up, you have started the canvassing for the DLP early, if you continue instead of the BLP gaining all the seats like you were wishing for, it just might backfire. Remember Owen’s words at the Roland Edwards school that he wqould never want to see the DLP in power again, well now I’ll say it if you and the BLP are willing to swing barbados gates open for who-so-ever-will may come, I wish that you NEVER regain this Barbados government.

43. Annette
    You are correct.The largest arrival of non-nationals arrived in that period indicated,however,the peak was between 2003-2007.

Annette those non-nationals are not eligible for amnesty because the amnesty is for those non-nationals who were here prior to January 1,1998.and have lived for at least 8 years.In this regard all of those non-nationals that arrived after that date are not eligible for amnesty.

This amnesty thing has been prepared in such a way that only a very small percentage of illegals should benefit from it.Once the officers carry out their duties properly and do not fall for bribes & trickery the new immigration policy should be very effective.

44. Adrian Hinds Avatar

DK in light of your opinion of the Nationnews micro poll, here is another article for BU readers to digest and with which to contract your view.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/feedback-feature—readers-back-pm-on-immigration

45. Life is a gamble.

There is no way of knowing what outcomes of our actions will be.

Still, we have a good idea what the outcome will be when compulsive gamblers walk into a casino and are given credit.

The sad thing is that the credit is often based not on what they own or their ability to repay …. but ours!!

46. The day bajans reject the DLP and want them to go and recharge their batteries and come again, they will then vote PEP. We have to keep out guyanese illegals and gays.

47. Adrian Hinds said :

DK your above hinges on the validity of this one statement “WITH AN ECONOMY IN SHAMBLES” Unless you prove this, the remainder of your contribution is without meaning and context to reality.
    ——————————–

I already thought that was the case,lol.

——————————–

Annette said:

Questions:

Caricom nationals who arrived here in 2003 and beyond, and have over stayed their welcome…Are they being offered an amnesty too…If the answer is no, what will happen to them?

My unscientific information is that at least 60 per cent of the caricom immigrants in Barbados arrived between 2001-2007…Is this group (illegals)entitled to the amnesty ?

Have the systems for issuing of permits and extensions being used by the Immigration Department been changed?

Is the immigration department still having difficulty in acting on valid information with respect to picking up illegals?
    ———————————-

2.The system for issuing work permits I believe will also change according to some where the categories on whom will be entitled to employment first in Barbados.I believe it will be Bajans First,Caricom nationals second & other nationalities third.I haven’t heard anything on extensions,but the reality is that the entire Immigration act will be replaced so who knows.

3.That is something only the Immigration sub-committee would know &/or the Prime Minister’s office.The truth is that with the extreme changes to the Immigration Act it can be expected that it will be more enforcement focused dealing with those who have run afoul of the law by staying illegally.If someone has a pending work permit or extension I don’t think they should have any issues but it would be a good idea to still check in with the Immigration Dept. to find out what the latest procedures are.What truly riles most Barbados citizens about the immigration situation is that the illegal immigration problem has gotten out of hand for a number of years & must be dealt with.

48. I don’t understandwhat the big noise is about, Barbados were welcoming non-nationals from the caribbean region for years . i remember going to primary school with boys from “down the low islands” and I know of a number of guyanese families who resided in the parish I’m from. Our best sugar pan boilers were guyanese and we welcomed them. Over the last decade or so there has been a vast influx of non-nationals particularly indo-guyanese who have come to our shores and if it is not curbed, it would destablise our country, we just can’t allow this to happen.

49. I would draw a scenario. There is a big match on at kensington, lots of people are at the gate trying to gain entry. To try and get more in some-one openes the big gate and starts allowing people in, but as the crowd push, the opening by the large gate gets wider and wider, until, you can’t control those coming through the big gate anymore. What is the solution? Obviously, close the gate and try to gain admission fees from those who forced pass during the melee. This is exactly what the P.M is now doing. This does not mean that if some-one from Caricom and Guyana in particular wants to come to Barbados and have a legitimate reason that they would be debarred. Just use the right channels and we in Barbados would welcome you but don’t barge in and expect to be treated with open arms. There is a system even to madness.

50. What are the real estate prices like in Guyana? is it worth the while to seek out buying land/ property in Guyana ? Its time we start looking for other investments especially land since it don’t spoil. Hint, hint ordinary people should start looking else where for good deals. Land and property prices don’t remain constant. Cheap today and very expensive in a few years.