Prime Minister of Barbados Hon David Thompson

Prime Minister David Thompson issued a ministerial statement in parliament today regarding the immigration issue. For some time now it has been apparent to sensible Barbadians that the national security of Barbados had become breached given the large undocumented number of immigrants living in Barbados. It was an election campaign issue and on assuming office Prime Minister David Thompson appointed a sub-committee of Cabinet of which he was Chairman to investigate and make recommendations to government to relieve the problem.

Barbados will deport illegal immigrants who do not seek to regularize their status under a new policy โ€“ see CANA Report.

BU agrees with the measured and humane manner which the Thompson led government has approached this issue. While it is easy to lobby to deport all illegal immigrants, there is an understanding that many of the illegal immigrants have been living in Barbados for so long that it would be inhuman to uproot those people summarily.

But here are a few BU concerns:

The proposed shake-up at the immigration Department i.e. the officers responsible for enforcing the immigration laws of Barbados MUST be implemented in a transparent manner. It is known around Barbados that many of our current officers now maintain harems given their godlike powers to determine if an illegal immigrant is โ€˜fingeredโ€™ or not. We should not forget those who use their influence to satisfy the rich and powerful by prostituting themselves for the almighty dollar.

The law must deal harshly with those corrupt immigration officers who use their powers for personal gain. Equally those employers all across our country who employ illegal immigrants should be made to feel the full weight of the law as well.

While the Prime Minister has made a step in the right direction as always the devil will be in the detail.

267 responses to “Government Of Barbados Addresses The Illegal Immigrant Issue”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am keeping all newspaper clippings relating to Barbados Labour Party members statements in this current illegal aliens debate.

When it comes time for the next General election I will use their own words of great support for illegal aliens especially Guyanese to keep them from being returned to office.

They will have to pay for their stupidity. They ought to be supporting Bajans not Guyanese.

2. Late to reply Avatar
    Late to reply

Spain ,UK ,USA Canada, China, Trinidad, Antigua etc, areremoving illegal immigrants from their borders daily why should barbados be any different? DK YOU ARE BOASTING ABOUT OUR DECLINING ECONOMY SO IT SHOULD BE CLEARE TO YOU IF WE SHED SOME SOCIAL WEIGHT THE ECONOMY WOULD HAVE SPACE TO RECOVER QUICKER.Your leader is advocating that carricom countries not to do trade with BARBADOS IF WE RETURN ILLEGAL nationals to their countries.

3. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

All like now bajans should be calling in immigration with the names of people who are here for the past 3-4 years illegally.

I am feeling soooo happy to know that this country will be lighter after ALL the illegal people leave this country.

I want the prime minister to give us a week by week update of the numbers they have deported.

The Blp better get used to the political wilderness because they just gone and seal their fate with their anti – bajan pro guyanese crap.

Every BLP politician should be made to feel the weight of the electorate’s anger on this guyanese issue.

Cat piss and bare pepper.

4. While we are at it we want the sub-committee to examine the role of the Consuls when dealing with the illegals. We suspect Faria for example would have been aware of his countrymen who were/are illegal in Barbados. The Consuls should be made to commit to surrendering known illegals if they are aware or face some penalty.

5. Adrian Hinds Avatar

Should the BLP plan tuh have their first political meeting of the next election season, in Georgetown Guyana?

Fuhget bout protecting de “Yellow and blue, all de BLP got tuh do now is add lil green to their website and illegal guyanese in Bim can sing “I see your true colors shining” “that’s why i love you” lol!

6. ..come on David, that cannot be the role of a consul. This would be like asking a lawyer to turn in a client if he suspects that that client may be guilty…. (wait- should they do that?!!!)

It is the role of our immigration and labour departments to do their jobs….and to deal with unscrupulous employers who illegally exploit and perpetuate the situation.

At many levels, employers are going for these caricom employees because they tend to be more ‘pliable’ than locals.

‘Pliable’, being -easier to get rid of; more co-operative in illegal/unreasonable requests; brings less baggage; and willing to work for less.

What I find shocking is that all we are talking about is actually enforcing the longstanding LAWS of Barbados and we have allegedly responsible citizens complaining about this…. and Government behaving as though it is a big thing to enforce the law….

well well well.

7. Dark Knight

Most of the polls done before the election also misled the BLP.

Some Barbadians benefited financially by having the Guyanese here and so would support them coming and staying longer. Some of these persons built plywood rooms and rented them for $100.00 a week.

Some of the rooms were as small as 8X6.This was cruel and inhumane. Most Guyanese, from their posting in Guyana says that Barbadians treat them like dogs because of the way they were housed by some unscrupulous Bajans. These are the persons who are arguing to let them stay. Owen Arthur never seemed to be concerned about the living conditions of the Guyanese.

You cannot allow your country to be pulled down showing twelve persons living in a pig pen. That is why immigration must be controlled. Come spend your money like a tourist and go back home.

8. @Bush Tea

It seems the good guys always have to play by the rules.

9. …that is the very definition of ‘good guys’ David. Choosing to play by the rules – even when it hurts and even when one can easily justify doing otherwise….

10. @ mash up & buy back // May 7, 2009 at 7:51 pm

The Blp better get used to the political wilderness because they just gone and seal their fate with their anti โ€“ bajan pro guyanese crap.

WELL SAID, i could not have said it any better

11. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Some very interesting observations in today’s Nation where first,Douglas Trotman who wants to make a name for himself by helping the illegal immigrants, has confirmed that most of the squatters are non nationals,some illegal and some legal.

Yet this bajan man is asking government to take up the precious little land we have here where bajans cannot even buy to build homes,and to build homes for these illegal and legal squatters up in Coverley.

Sometimes I wonder if something is in the water that some of these pro guyanese bajans drinking.Or is it that they don’t want to let go of their guyanese whores?

Then we have ricky singh a non national who is here under the good graces of the government,now demanding that government must provide the figures of non nationals in this country before they could carry out this new policy.

He is also blatantly lying by saying that this thompson administration is in the forefront of all the other caribbean governments of sending back illegal non nationals (read there guyanese).

Of course he will not write about what the st lucian government,the grenadian government,the dominican government and the antiguan government are doing where it concerns these illegal.

Of course he is going to make all these statements from the comfort of his safe home here in barbados where he is enjoying the sweet life.

What about going back to guyana and fighting for a better life for your countrymen mr singh?

Don’t like Guyana ? what about Trinidad or Surinam where you have a large number of your indian brothers and sisters,huh?

And for those who think david commissiong and the PEP is on their side on this issue,think again.Read his article in today’s nation.

12. We promise the BU family that we will continue to expose this issue for what it is. We suspect that we still have some work to do if our immigration policy is to be managed. We encourage Singh who is dubbed a Caribbean journalists to use his column sometimes to expose the atrocities against minorities in Guyana.

OUR CARIBBEAN: Barbados’ immigrant ‘burden’

Published on: 5/8/2009.

by RICKEY SINGH

THERE IS A PERCEPTION, in and beyond Barbados, that the administration of Prime Minister David Thompson is indulging in foot-dragging politics when it comes to expediting implementation arrangements for CARICOM’s Single Market and Economy (CSME), for which it holds lead responsibility. This is not a flattering view.

When, however, it comes to dealing with the presence of CARICOM immigrants who may be among the undocumented or "illegals", the reality is that the administration reveals much vigour in seeking to free Barbados of what it projects as "a burden the nation cannot bear . . . ".

The relevant statistics in support of this contention continue to be elusive. What’s not in short supply are the unflattering images, to say it politely, being painted by officialdom of CARICOM "immigrants".

When not blamed for "overcrowding" in the illicit sex trade, for "squatting and drug-peddling", they can also be contemptuously dismissed for reducing Barbados to "a kind of warehouse in which is stored the social and other problems of the Caribbean".

These are people, according to officialdom, "used to (having) underclasses" and accustomed to "substandard conditions". Such utterances have been reported, unchallenged, in the local media. The small but vocal segment of anti-immigrants Bajans could perhaps clap their hands – even as the Government’s promised policy on "planned migration" is yet to unfold.

Others, lacking the capacity to recognise a government’s right to pursue "policies to manage migration" – barely sketched in the Dems’ 2008 election manifesto – should at least acknowledge that, after some double-speak, a strong message from on high has now been delivered:

A six-month amnesty, starting from June 1, has been proclaimed for all nationals of CARICOM who have been living "illegally" in Barbados up to the end of December 2005, and remained undocumented for eight years or more. They must regularise their status – or face expulsion. "The problem of illegal immigration can no longer be ignored," said the Prime Minister.

Well then, in the interest of fairness, to Barbadians and the affected CARICOM nationals, it is high time the Government provides some basic data to inform the populace at large about the extent of the "burden" it is bearing because of these "immigrants". Let there be some data to back the rhetoric of despair.

The information on this "burden" should be shared with involved governments in the spirit of "CARICOM unity". Further, the Government should probe, with a view to correcting, the reported ugly practice by immigration authorities relating to undignified deportations of CARICOM nationals – after they responded, in good faith, to official notices to collect their passports, or attend "interviews".

To ensure compliance with its "amnesty policy" – and with which all affected non-nationals should cooperate – the Government has a moral obligation to also encourage a spirit of cooperation and mutual respect between the relevant CARICOM nationals and the enforcers of immigration policies.

At present, Barbados stands out among CARICOM administrations in its seeming anxiety to "move out" undocumented CARICOM nationals. It would be aware that reciprocity in this approach is not likely to be forthcoming from other regional jurisdictions that also share this culture of undocumented nationals – among them Barbadians too. We await the data on Barbados’ "unbearable burden" from immigrants.

* Rickey Singh is a noted Caribbean journalist.

13. Ricky Boy,
    The carpet has been pulled from under your feet. Norman Faria is trembling too since he has promised these illegal guyanese that he would protect them. Let me warn both of you, if you try any dirty tactics to keep these illegals in Barbados by forging documents or getting anti-bajan bajans to sign false work documents, both of you would be on the first plane load to leave Barbados. This time your “personna non grata” will be perminent

14. Witch Doctor Avatar

Rickey Singh is a clear example of what happens when you let them get in high places, he came here on the banan boat and the living the bajan dream and now fighting for his kind.

Its well known the Nation Paper is a BLP ratrag.

Singh we sending wanna back and if i had my way i would personally put you on a boat cause you don’t deserve a plane ride.

15. Bush tea, re your above correction about consuls’ responsibilities, you could see the mentality of people running this BU operation. As for the “atrocities” , as “David” writes, committed against minorities in Guyana. Where he get that from ?. The so called McDougall report,I suppose. He (or she) won tell you that was drawn up by one person running aound Guyana on a two day visit co-ordinated be a long time anti-government body called the Guyana Human Rights group. Her report was basically parroting opposition PNC [propaganda. The so called UN expert didn’t include the real minorities in Guyana such as the Amerindians and Chinese. As for the so called Democratic Institute in New York posting its one sided nonsesnse, you ever looked into the (PNC aligned ) history of its one man spoekesperson ?
    Oh yes. Ricky Singh column is right on. And kudos to the postings on the healthy nature of introducing new genes . Here wha happen; I gon to change my name from “Bajan Born” to being a member of the Progressive Union Miscgenation Party (PUMP). Negroman and others suffering from xenophobia I sorry fuh yuh (if yuh can’t change yuh racism)…….hehehehehehehe.

16. Faria you think this situation with so many illegals is funny?

17. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bajan born….sorry I mean norman faria…….oops aka Reddy when posting on the Starbrok news……no? also known as brownsuga on starbrok too?

Ah well whoever you are claiming to be today ,are you ready to be a true freedom fighter and go back with your people who will be sent back to GT?

Are you not interested in building up your land of wood and water the great republic of guyana?

Yuh hate bajans so much what the hell yuh still doing here?

As your fellow guyanese calypsonian sang some time ago -‘ wuh yuh waiting for? ‘

18. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Yesterday Faria was on the Starbrok news crying….sob,sob,sob……..and asking why,why,why.

Wuhloss, a bellyfull of laughs.

19. Faria

I am glad that you are reading how the bajans feel about how you and your people have been trying to drag this country down to the slum level of Guyana.

We are willing to start rounding up these indian racists guyanese as well as the other low life guyanese who came here and stayed illegally.

Hit the road jack and don’t you come back no more.

20. There is a big Ad in one of the guyanese newspapers today, the ad reads “jobs in Barbados—— Apply NOW. It seems Guyana is prepared to fight back and claim Barbados as theirs.

21. Witch Doctor Avatar

Faria your tricks have ran out, this is not VOB or Nation Paper that you can play silly mind games with, this is the internet age.

You are doing a great dis-service to your cohorts living here illegally, go to the airport and wish them a better life on dec 1st.

22. It is a mystery to me why immigrants are so ungrateful. If you are illegal, then leave voluntarily. Why should you face the chance if being deported. Also why do some people try to say that only Barbadians live illegally in other countries? In the U.S for almost every nation on planet earth have illegals there. Guyanesa, Jamaicans, Irish are all represented. And many of them are ungrateful too and call Americans selfish while using the social services provided paid for by tax payers. Mayor Bloomberg iof NY has made the city an safe haven for illegals but some of them can’t find it within them to say thanks. For those who cannot wait for Bajans to be deported from the U.S. etc. face reality; when your people are sent back to your homeland what conditions will they meet there. Bajans are too lenient. You allow foreigners to disrespect you in your own homeland and sit there and grin and bear it. Support the P M. Immigration is nessecesary in some cases. The amnesty is not even strict enough. PM Thompson should take a tougher stance. Americans are fed up too with the immigration problem; even the so-called liberals.

23. BU Family

Listen to CBC 100.7 f.m. where peter wickham is waxing warm about his support for the non nationals staying here.

He of course complained about the blogs being nasty in their comments about his views.

24. As I said in the article above – Clearing The Air – It’s OK for Bajans to go to the UK and USA – either as legal or illegal immigrants – to find enployment… but it’s not OK for Guyanese or any other nationality to come to Barbados for the same reason.

25. The True fact about Immigration:

Having triggered a meltdown of the Barbados economy, the DLP is looking for a feel good factor and is feeding on the fear; innocence and in some instances – the hate of some – for Guyanese in particular and anyone not bred and born bajan.

It is ironic that the person ridding Barbados of persons not born here – is Thompson.

But what are the facts:?

1. When in Opposition, the DLP alleged that there were over 30,000 illegal immigrants in Barbados and vowed once elected – to urgently address this situation.

A year passed and nothing!

2. Having been elected for close to two years, Barbadians are yet to be shown the proof that there are over 30,000 illegal immigrants in Barbados, thereby putting a lie to the DLP’s allegation when in Opposition.

If there were 30,000 illegal immigrants – the DLP should know where to find them.

Afterall, Barbados is very small: “everybody” in St. Lucy know everbody in St. John (you get the point).

3. It became apparant that having alleged that there are 30,000 illegal immigrants in Barbados – and that its credibility is on the line because the proof was not forthcoming – the DLP started deporting those who were following the law and went to the Immigration Department for renewals.

The main and only point is that:

The DLP lied and continues to lie.

The DLP has absolutely no proof to support its wild allegation that there are over 30,000 illegal immigrants in Barbados.

Little wonder that the DLP is seeking to distort what the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition said, as regards the BLP’s New Policy Direction on Immigration Reform.

Here is the “MAIN” point the Leader of the Opposition made in response to Mr. Thompson’s Ministerial Statement:

” The Barbados Labour Party is totally committed to the development of Barbados and that of all Barbadians.

In this regard, we are concerned about the Ministerial Statement made by the Prime Minister, the Honourable David Thompson, which leaves many concerns unanswered when clarity is critical to ensure that there is no unfortunate backlash to Barbados, Barbadians in the region and even the legal and illegal immigrants who currently reside here.”

Trust me!

I, Dark Knight understand why the DLP is desperate to find a distraction tactic and why it must throw “red-meat” to its base – hence talk about putting out Guyanese.

26. Anonymous // May 8, 2009 at 9:09 am

BU Family

Listen to CBC 100.7 f.m. where peter wickham is waxing warm about his support for the non nationals staying here.

He of course complained about the blogs being nasty in their comments about his views.
    ===========================

No one pays much attention to Boy blue Wickham. What he needs to do is to hold a press conference and declare who he really is.

…..I’ll be honest and say that I think there is more in the timing of this announcement from the PM than most think. I will believe it when it actually occurs, and I would not be surprise, if it is not anytime soon. I believe that there isn’t any conviction on the PM’s part to do anything about the immigration problem, and that the main reason for his outburst at this time is to soften the impact of his Budget. It certainly is set to have that effect. Is it not?

27. @ Adrian Hinds,

I told you so. I know a Karl Rove distraction tactic when I see one.

+++++++++++++++++++

Dark Knight // May 7, 2009 at 11:04 am

David Thompson has placed a โ€œgag order on the economyโ€ by using โ€œhanging,โ€ โ€œdeportationโ€ and โ€œdefamationโ€ as distratction tactics.

David Thompson is weak on the economy so he is trying to downplay the fact those more than 3000 people lost their jobs due to his poor judgment and bad decisions.

David Thompson is failing on his promise of: reducing cost of living, so he tries to get Barbadians to talk about Guyanese and hanging, as a distraction tactic.

This is not leadership, but weakness

28. No one pays much attention to Boy blue Wickham

More like Girl Pink…

29. Prime Minister David Thompson, supported by his Cabinet, has taken the expected reactionary view to the issue of immigration by our Caribbean brothers and sisters without apparently identifying any real solution to what is perceived as a problem by so many Barbadians.

What is even more disturbing is that his lukewarm attempt to solve the โ€œproblemโ€ makes no mention of people who are not our neighbours, but who are here illegally.

The lack of a clearly defined message makes it appear as if Caribbean people are being targeted as the scapegoats in the immigration morass.

30. Dark Knight you did not tell me anything, as I do not listen to you. lol! I do not have a problem with Thompson’s approach.

31. Comment // May 8, 2009 at 8:56 am

It is a mystery to me why immigrants are so ungrateful. If you are illegal, then leave voluntarily. Why should you face the chance if being deported. Also why do some people try to say that only Barbadians live illegally in other countries? In the U.S for almost every nation on planet earth have illegals there. Guyanesa, Jamaicans, Irish are all represented. And many of them are ungrateful too and call Americans selfish while using the social services provided paid for by tax payers. Mayor Bloomberg iof NY has made the city an safe haven for illegals but some of them canโ€™t find it within them to say thanks. For those who cannot wait for Bajans to be deported from the U.S. etc. face reality; when your people are sent back to your homeland what conditions will they meet there. Bajans are too lenient. You allow foreigners to disrespect you in your own homeland and sit there and grin and bear it. Support the P M. Immigration is nessecesary in some cases. The amnesty is not even strict enough. PM Thompson should take a tougher stance. Americans are fed up too with the immigration problem; even the so-called liberals.
    ———————————-

Comment,I understand where you come from being in the US myself,but surely you jest on the amnesty.Last time I checked the immigration amnesty attempt in 2006 & 2007 in the US Senate was definitely a lot more liberal that what is being offered in Barbados currently where in the 2006 bill those that have lived 2 years in the US would have been given amnesty & in the 2007 bill the amnesty would have been instantaneous.The amnesty in Barbados says that a person must have lived at least 8 years in the country as of December,2005,am I missing something ?

The enforcement parts have not been showcased yet,but it is well known that some aspects of current laws in Barbados are much tougher than even the US or UK.Why ? because usually when someone overstays their time in these two countries the immigration bars to re-entry are only ~5-10 years in Barbados it is usually a lifetime.

32. No one pays much attention to Boy blue Wickham. What he needs to do is to hold a press conference and declare who he really is.

@ AH
    You aint easy ha ha lol

33. Imagine Ricky Singh say all of those thing with all the sarcasm in the book in BARBADOS

look the indians doh well well well
    them aint care one ass bout We.

You know I have to say that I think we are to blame about this, we allowed this situation to get out of hand when we gave owen a bonus 5 years.

34. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

Dark Knight it is clear what Bajans views on this issue are if you and the BLP want to keep trying to rig elections by flooding Barbados with guyanese you will have to wait a long time to try again.
    I was is St. Lucia 2 years ago and they were crying out about the influx of Guyanese so it is not just Barbados.
    If you come to work legally, work and go home.
    If Mia,Owen and the Blp(sh)ites want guyanese so bad, take your party and go to Guyana, no-one will miss you here.

35. Here is more sound advice from the Leader of Her Majestyโ€™s Loyal Opposition.

โ€œIt is urgent that the Lead Prime Minister of the CSME, Prime Minister Thompson, show leadership and ensure the urgent settlement of the long-awaited Protocol on Contingent Rights that will settle what benefits Caricom citizens will access if they live in another Caricom country.

If a man is working and paying taxes it is unreasonable for him to expect certain benefits from the state.

Prohibition does not work. It will create an underclass that can potentially undermine the system. It is better to embrace a man for mutual gain than to try to shut him out.

When will the Prime Minister recognize this next crucial step?โ€

Do you not see that David Thompson is not doing anything to help Barbadians?

This is a distraction.

What he says bears absolutely no relationship to Barbadosโ€™ development needs.

Where is the change and the new Barbadians prosperity that the DLP promised?

Instead of adding VALUE, David Thompson is merely doing what is popular but not what is progressive.

Why is he taking the low and easy road?
    David Thompson is merely telling you what you want to hear.

Look at what he is talking about: Not reducing the cost of living; creating jobs; reducing crime or improving healthcare.

After the DLP has put all non nationals out of the country – then what?

Will the people at Four Season get back their jobs, will the 200 on Ocean Two get back theirs, will the cost of living suddenly come down.

Darkness is not something; it is the absence of something -darkness if the absence of light.

Under DLP Rule, emptiness has replaced results as Barbados continues to slide down the DLPโ€™s Pathway to Poverty.

The DLP has absolutely no proof to support its wild allegation that there are over 30,000 illegal immigrants in Barbados.

36. @ Knight of the Long Knives

These are the major issues facing Barbados:

1. The Economy

2. Cost of Living

3. Crime

4. Housing

4. Healthcare

5. Unemployment

6. Traffic congestion and grid lock

7. progressive and humane Immigration Reform

8. Governace/Parliamentary Reform

9. Leadership

How will putting out Guyanese fix these problems?

The reason we are focussing on Guyanese – is precisely because the DLP lacks the capacity and therefore cannot address those very issues I mentioned.

You all are making the point: that the DLP’s relevance to Barbados is putting out Guyanese.

You see why it is a major insult to President Obama (and should be considered a crime which carries the mandatory death penalty) for the DLP to attempt to compare David Thompson to him?

37. Going,going,soon gone

That will soon be the position of the BLP politicians Dark Knight.

A party heading for extinction.

We will sweep you out,wash yuh out and clean yuh out.

38. @ Anomymous,

Wait for the Budget!

Barbadians will then feel the pain and realise that it was Better with the Bees.

I tell you, by October this year, if the cost of living and starvation does not get us first…?

Hum!!!

By the way:

How and at what point does a person become an: “Illegal Immigrant?”

39. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I think I speak for most people when I say during 14 years of BLP rule we saw epic levels of corruption, taxation(as recorded by turncoat Mascoll), and a dramatic increase in the cost of living coupled with Ministers and friends becoming millionaires while the rest of us sucked salt. I make more money than most of the population and can’t see any way to buy an average house without drowning in debt of 25 years as real estate continued to spiral out of control, BS&T continues to sell less than U.S $1 items for $11.00 and claim they ain’t making no money while Owen and the likes had nothing to say.

40. Scout said:

Ricky Boy,
    The carpet has been pulled from under your feet. Norman Faria is trembling too since he has promised these illegal guyanese that he would protect them. Let me warn both of you, if you try any dirty tactics to keep these illegals in Barbados by forging documents or getting anti-bajan bajans to sign false work documents, both of you would be on the first plane load to leave Barbados. This time your โ€œpersonna non grataโ€ will be perminent

————————————

Don’t warn them,lol.I believe one or all of them have Barbados citizenship by decscent & should they do something like what you just said would amount to trafficking.If they aren’t born in Barbados & are merely naturalized it could be possible for them to lose it !

Here is what Mr. Faria had to say on an indictment in Trinidad.

“REDDY IN BARBADOS BARBADOS says:
    May 8, 2009 at 6:49 am

A story about a Guyanese in Trinidad.Good. It reminds me about the curious fixation of the Guyanese media with Barbados. I am not defending the Barbadian authorities and the Guyana govt was right to speak out in the past but Guyanese publicโ€™s peceptions about Barbados is being media riven sometimes in a sensationalist way. I think a couple years ago , the Min of Foreign Affairs in Guyana relesaed figures which show Guyanese being sent back in greater relative (ratio of sendbackers to those in the island) terms than from Barbabdos. The relsae also cited reasons such as passport fraud, etc.And did anyone visit the holding cells at the airport there recently ? And what about those getting turned back at Antigua and St.Lucia ?
    The answer folks is editors putting foot up on desks in some newsrooms, yawning and calling out to a writer: โ€œWha happen with Guyana bench at Barbados ? Go out on street and get some quotes about Barbados. Mek haste. Yuh gon got to find soem bad talk and yuh don need name he. And banna, wha tha Thompson speech dey ! Milk it .Snooooooreโ€ฆ..โ€

but it even a smart Guyanese can see through this charade.

“John Smith GUYANA says:
    May 8, 2009 at 10:33 am

Why are you rambling and tangential about Barbados and deportees when the article is about something else? Reddy,is this your way of distracting readers from crimes of international proportion being committed in Guyana by attacking the media? You have pointed your finger at everyone except the authorities. Ho come on Reddy, your diatribe is becoming redundant.”
    ————————————–
    I think I understand why BU chooses to highlight this person now & I agree with it.Now that the Barbados Government has acknowledged the problem of the illegal immigration mess & its primary source,I think it is safe to say that it will likely be a stalemate until Guyana’s next election results as deportations are ramped up so will arrivals I believe over the next few years.I think the next true critical step that Government can take is to insist that Caricom sends a strong envoy[including Barbados officials] to monitor Guyana’s elections to ensure their process is being done fairly & it is being monitored closely.It is obvious that Guyana’s nationals hunger for change no matter the race,nationality not race should come first,

41. @ Knight of the Long Knives,

I think I speak for most people when I say during 14 years of progressive BLP leadership we saw epic levels of taxation.

Are you seriour man? Tax-a-who?

Here is the BLP’s Legacy and why it is better for barbados by far:

No Land tax on the first 150,000 in property value,

No Income Tax on the first 25, 000 and tax

Reversed Tax credit of $1,300.

Diesel at $1.46 when oil on the world market was US$104. per barrel.

Gasoline at the pump, $2.15 per litre

Kerosine $1.37 per litre

100 pound bottle gas: $144.57; 25 pound: $38.76 and the 20 pound: $31.01.

Lowering of Corporation tax from 40% to 25%

$10,000 savings allowance

Small Bussiness Tax of some 20%

Unemployment of some 6.7%

Reserves at some $2.7 billion

At the end of 2006, domestic savings of some $7.3 billion.

Look!

The DLP will never be able to match the BLP on the economy, hence social building.

42. BTW,I would like to say that the next President of Guyana should choose Mr.Frederick Kissoon as the next Consul to replace Mr. Faria in Barbados[if that is possible].After reading his articles he seems more logical & connected with the people of Guyana & it could go a long way in mending relations since both countries appear to be headed toward having strained relations.

43. Darkness is not something; it is the absence of something.

You can have low light, normal light, bright light, flashing light, but if you have no light continually – you have nothing and it is called darkness.

You cannot make dark, darker. You either know or do not know!

The DLP does not know what it is doing. It is therefore the absence of something โ€“ โ€œgood governance.โ€

The ruling party has been a monumental failure, ever since its first 100 days in office, when it failed to do the things it said it would, within that time-frame it set for itself.

Every day it remains in office will be nothing more than a very painful reminder that even with a global financial crisis, which is working in its favour – the DLP lacks the capacity to make good on its job number one – reducing the cost of living.

The DLP therefore representsโ€™ a consumer infringement: misrepresentation of fact.

It misrepresented that it was ready and that it is better for Barbados.

David Thompsonโ€™s manufactured meltdown of the Barbados economy dismisses those myths.

It gets worst! As Minister of Finance, David Thompson has done what โ€“ not even George Bush would have thought of.

Can you imagine seeing Mr. Bush imposing a $25.00 tax on the bicycles of five-year-old little girls or a $4.00 tax on the cell phones of young people?

Thompson is the only Minister of Finance in the history of this country who attacks the piggy bank of children and young people

44. It is beyond doubt, that there is an illegal immigration problem in Barbados and it has to be solved, the issue was not caused by this administration but in office you are expected to solve the problems that beset you.

Sometime ago I was brave enough – some would say foolish – to say that only two issues could prevent this DLP Government led by Prime Minister David Thompson from having a “very long time” as the Government of Barbados, those being:

(1) Illegal immigration
    (2) Integrity Legislation

It would appear that the Prime Minister has listened to the people of Barbados and is about to implement the necessary Legislation for immigration. His “considered response” shows judgment, a pragmatic approach and a touch of fairness, with a limited amnesty in specific circumstances. When a politician ceases to listen to his people he will lose all authority to act on their behalf…a fate some have suffered recently.

David of Barbados Underground should be congratulated for keeping the light burning brightly, when there was gloom and harsh words from some quarters. Many of the BU family have been trenchant in their views on this issue. History will record the immeasurable contribution they have made in one of the most important issues Barbados has had to deal with in recent years…you have all done your patriotic duty and in so doing made a mark for social cohesion in Barbados.

45. Yes! But what about these issues:

1. The Economy

2. Cost of Living

3. Crime

4. Housing

4. Healthcare

5. Unemployment

6. Traffic congestion and grid lock

7. Progressive and humane Immigration Reform

8. Governace/Parliamentary Reform

9. Leadership

10. The environment and climate change

How will putting out Guyanese fix these problems and improve the quality of life of Barbadians?

+++++++++++++++

No one has yet answered my questions:

(1) At what point does a person become an illegal immigrant?

(2) Where is the proof to support the DLP’ allegation when in Opposition – that there are over 30,000 illegal immigrants in Barbados.

(3) Did all of or any illegal immigrants in Barbados – come here within the last 14 years?

How could that be true when sugar was king between 1960 and perhaps 1998 and the DLP argues that agriculture declined since 1994?

Come on DLP, pretend you are bright!

46. Here is what the Barbados Immigration Act, provides at Section 23. 1:

23. (1) No court has jurisdiction to review, quash, reverse, restrain or otherwise interfere with any proceeding, decision or order of the Minister or an immigration offtcer had, made or given under the authority of this Act relating to

(a) the refusal of permission to any person to enter Barbados or the removal of that person from Barbados; or

(b) the detention or deportation of any person, upon any ground whatsoever unless that person is a citizen or a
    permanent resident.

No one has yet answered my questions:

(1) At what point does a person become an illegal immigrant?

(2) Where is the proof to support the DLPโ€™ allegation when in Opposition โ€“ that there are over 30,000 illegal immigrants in Barbados.

(3) Who or what prevent/s/ed Immigration Officers from doing what the law says and from doing thier work?

47. Here is what Section 25 of the Immigration Act, provides:

25. (1) The power to appoint, remove and exercise disciplinary control over the Chief Immigration Officer and immigration officers for the purposes of this Act is hereby vested in the Minister.

(2) The number of immigration officers that may be appointed under subsection (1) and the conditions of service of such officers shall be such as may be determined by the Minister with the approval of the Minister responsible for Establishments.

(3) In the exercise of his functions under this Act an immigration officer shall act in accordance with the directions and instructions of the Minister.

(4) For the purpose of discharging his functions under this Act, an immigration officer may, with the assistance of such persons as he thinks fit

(a) without a search warrant, enter upon and search any vessel in Barbados;

(b) question any person who seeks to enter or leave Barbados or who he believes is a prohibited immigrant within the meaning of the former Act;

(c) without warrant arrest any person who he has reasonable grounds for believing has committed an offence under this Act or the regulations; and

(d) on the authority of a warrant enter and search any place in Barbados if he has reasonable ground for believing that there is in any such place any person against whom a deportation order has been made.

With all of this power at their disposal, how could there be over 30,000 illegal immigrants in Barbados โ€“ as alleged by the DLP when in Opposition?

Again I ask:

At what point does a person become an illegal immigrant?

If only people would think, they would realise that if it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck!

The DLP can only survive if Barbadians give up their right to think!

Think Barbadians! Wake up!!!

48. yawn anh anh soem body say something. Oh it was just DK and his traitorous party. Everyone go back to sleep go back to sleep

49. Witch Doctor Avatar

@ Dark Knight

You have so many postings on here and you are NOT convincing anyone.

You are fighting a losing battle…GIVE UP

You behaving like a begger on the streets asking for a meal…hahaha….Go to Guyana and live with them.

50. Dark Knight
    Wake up !!!!!!! Wake up !!!!!!!! Go and fire a pee and a #2 , you have been sleeping for too long. Elections were won by the DLP and one of thereasons for voting out the BLP was because Owen wanted to replace bajans with guyanese. So stop rubbing salt in the BLP wounds or you might kill them altogether. Not that the DLP supporter would mind. Maybe when we are choosing a few more National Heroes, your name might be considered.