newspaperArising from an earlier blog Down By The Riverside fellow blogger from the Living In Barbados Blog expressed the view that  private enterprise must be allowed to manage to stay afloat and make money for shareholders (parsing). We have no problem with that position, the flip side however is that BU has the freedom to critique the genuineness of decisions taken as we perceive them. As a corporate citizen the public’s perception should be of value to the Nation Group of Companies.

We are aware that three hundred daily newspapers have gone out of business in the last 25 years in the United States. We are aware that the main reason from the drop in circulation has been because the younger readers have been tapping into Internet based sources like blogs, free online news sources etc.

Unfortunately we have to take the word of the OCM Group Chairman Sir Fred Gollop about the reason for sending home Adonijah and 20+ other media workers from the Nation Group of Companies last week. He mentioned about increase cost in newsprint blah blah blah. We have access to the OCM consolidated financial statement for 2008, what we don’t know is how the Barbados companies performed vis-a-vis others in the OCM Group. We have to guess.

Livinginbarbados we read your email sent today (23/03/2009), coincidentally we had several similar websites open in the BU browser. What is obvious is that newspapers in the USA are failing because of competing news channels first and for other reasons a distant second. In Barbados there is no similar competing interest. Although the blogs have been aggressively taking up issues which mainstream media have been dragging feet, sad to say we are not yet mass-based in appeal.

It is interesting to note that when OCM was formed it was touted then that the Nation Group of companies would benefit from economies of scale. It is obvious to BU that the sending home of Nation staff immediately after declaring a profitable 2008 was insensitive and premeditated. What is tells us most of all is that Port of Spain is in control.  How could Harold Hoyte sit on the Board of OCM and vote to send home Adonijah?

Back to the point of this blog. Even if we concede that the cost of newsprint is on the rise, how does it explain sending home staff from VOB the radio station? Remember that according to the Systematic Survey (whatever that is) VOB and the Nation newspaper dominate the market. Couldn’t management provide options to staff i.e. staff freezes, salary cuts, waive bonus payments to executive staff etc?

The characteristics of the US media are far different to what prevails in Barbados. Barbadians and West Indians generally continue to rely on newspapers as the go to news source. The majority of the advertising dollars continue to be given to the printed media. Up to now we have not seen any major change in the approach of the Nation Group of companies to show that it is willing to transform to a more interactive media form. In other words it is prepared to cut payroll to respond to the challenges ahead. We applaud their ingenuity.

Isn’t it strange that the Nation Group has decided to cut relatively low level staff? We could think of several fat cats who continue to work at the Nation Group. Commonsense tells us that as the economic situation worsens we may yet see some more cuts at a company which not too long ago was proudly Bajan.

We feel some affinity to Adonijah. Do you know that Adonijah was the fourth son of King DAVID?

83 responses to “Adonijah Sent Packing By Nation Group, Read All About It!”

1. anybody ever check vic fernandes qualifications? did he leave presentation college wif o levels? check it out. a lot of empty head jackasses running the media in barbados. they ignorant as hell but feel they know everything. why people surprised then at the crap the media puts out?

2. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Dennis Clarke’s comments (see Advocate March 27) on the social partnership and that NUPW may withdraw are very significant. One has to ask what has the partnership really done? I do not know the answer, but it it has merely papered over cracks, then the recession is likely to see the whole tapestry come apart. If it really was a partnership of so-called equals, then we should see it stand a very tough economic test. In other words, it’s easy to do well when things are good but how do you fare when the going gets tough?

3. @livinginbarbados

It was tough in the early 90s when the social partnership was born. Perhaps you mean tougher times?

4. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar
    Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-‘why should I wear a jacket and tie’

I wish the best to a man I consider a friend, mentor, teacher, calypso tent-mate— a kind gentleman.

As a culturalist and Rastafari, I know that ADO from the Nijah family knows that when one door is closed , another is opened.

Live up!
    Jah Bless !

5. What was Ado’s job at the nationnews again? Did Amanda double surname keep hers?

6. Waht about BC Pires (I hope I spell his name right does he still have his job.

7. Facts - Vic's qualifications Avatar
    Facts – Vic’s qualifications

Sylvan,
    Big Vic’s qualifications are his effective diction and his ability to speak

8. So I see that BC Pires still has his job but Ado is sent packing welll welllwell!

BC Pires is a Columnist, Ado was a full time employee.

9. I notice that the NUPW support constituency councils. Bravo once de unions in your corner ya gone clear. Dat means Dennis,Trottie, Bobby, Frost Walter and karen are all for one or one for all. LOL.
    Workers watch out.

10. If you have no knowledge..keep it short silly Avatar
    If you have no knowledge..keep it short silly

To Ian Bourne, what do you know abut OCM bonuses and to whom they are paid. FYI since the advent of OCM all staff in Bim get very handsome bonuses; at least at Starcom. The Nation is another story ’cause they have always been overpaid in every which way…imagine people at all levels low to high getting $10000 and up in bonuses each. Scandal!

11. I am not purporting to be an expert on OCM profits, merely offered a suggestion. Alternatives could have been sought before staff severred, the move appears to many as a thinly-disguised witch-hunt for non-arse kissers!

BTW: Um, This IS a democracy where differing ideas can be aired? Or is it a Bajan version of Rush Limbaugh and Michael Steele’s forum?

12. A chicken breast at Kentucky Fried Chicken is now priced at Bds 5.80. Could you imagine paying six dollars for one piece of chicken? KFC may soon be sending home staff as well becausin’ I DWD (dun wid dat)

13. Facts – Vic’s qualifications // March 29, 2009 at 2:45 pm

Sylvan,
    Big Vic’s qualifications are his effective diction and his ability to speak

Crap! Red tail Fernandes surgically glue his lips to the ass of white & almost white money brokers.

Some qualification.

His office festooned with photos of white & almost white women. Aubrey Choy his MsWorld/Ms Universe franchise padnah like he back in Guyana.

14. I have mentioned earlier I have stopped listening to VOB and I have now taken my DirecTv service.I am in the process of not buying the daily Nation newspaper..

I visited VOB and it seems that even the guard and receptionist are non-nationals.

Is Vema Ali stil an employee of VOB?

I am in sympathy with my Barbadian workers who lost their jobs at the Nation & VOB.I am doing my little piece to protest against that development.

How many of you bloggers will boycott VOB,Nation Newspaper & DrecTv and all the other OCM networks?

15. Negroman

You have my support.

You could tell that VOB feeling the exodus of listeners and advertisers from their station.

They are now running nough ads from people in grenada and jamaica, all over the place telling you how good it is to advertise on radio.

Hee,hee,haa,haa.

Wuhloss.

16. Johnny My Boy Avatar

At this critical time, when foreign owned companies are firing staff left, right and centre, it is critical that the Government put a moratorium on granting of ANY work permit issuance or renewals.

Locally we have impeccably qualified persons and jobs should go to locals first, at a time when things are so difficult for survival.

If the Government is not willing to do this, then serious animosity and social strife can and will result.

Why are notifications still in the newspapers stating that no suitably qualified locals answered for positions?

No work permits should be issued for the next year or two, until the situation is stabilised, period.

17. Johnny My Boy Avatar

Transparency, if you want transparency on the job situation, then Government should publish in the daily paper, every month, a list of work permits granted, together with an explanation for the granting of these permits.

Will the Government dare???

18. Johnny ma boy

Since when were you so concerned about transparency? Since January 15th last year?

19. sick of this s@$t Avatar
    sick of this s@$t

How come no one talked about the armed security that escorted people out of starcom. That was sick. is this what we’ve come to…people that the staffers worked with for 30+ years escorted off the premises. where is the government in all this

20. sick of this s@$t

Submitted on 2009/04/02 at 3:56pm

How come no one talked about the armed security that escorted people out of starcom. That was sick. is this what we’ve come to…people that the staffers worked with for 30+ years escorted off the premises.

While it is a bitter pill to swallow to see long serving employees escorted of the premises in the way Ebony Tull, Ward et might have been it is a standard HR procedure nowadays.

21. Submitted on 2009/04/02 at 3:56pm

How come no one talked about the armed security that escorted people out of starcom. That was sick. is this what we’ve come to…people that the staffers worked with for 30+ years escorted off the premises.

While it is a bitter pill to swallow to see long serving employees escorted of the premises in the way Ebony Tull, Ward et might have been it is a standard HR procedure nowadays.

22. Negro man I dont buy papers anymore either them aint gettin my money ….

23. Thanks for the empathy and advice. Give thanks, Asiba. Carson C. Cadogan, please understand who makes policy. “Staffers” all over the world are in disagreement with policies their managements make and practise. JAH LIVETH AND REIGNETH FOR IVER IN EARTH, ZION AND THE HEART OF MAN

24. @adonijah

Hope you are holding up?
    You maybe feeling a sense of betrayal.
    Maybe you have taken the blow on the cheek like a man and is moving on, we hope this is the case.
    Your comments says alot but you know what they say when you work for an organization ‘its not YOURS.”
    All the best and feel welcome to join the BU family, doan mind Carson, he cyant help 🙂

25. adonijah
    Bless-up.

26. @David

“How come no one talked about the armed security that escorted people out of starcom.”

What armed security? Private? Police? I know we have armed private security but I have only seen it used when transporting money to and from banks etc.

27. Batons are armament too…!

28. Read today that OCM profits are down 33% in the first quarter compared to previous year. It says that it has taken steps to respond, we all know the response Mr. Gollop – sending home people!

Question for you: How profitable are the Barbados operations compared to the others?

OCM profit down 33%
    Curtis Rampersad

Saturday, May 2nd 2009

One Caribbean Media Ltd has posted a profit before tax of $13.3 million for its first quarter ended March 31, 2009.

This was 33 per cent less than the $20 million recorded in the corresponding quarter a year earlier, OCM chairman Sir Fred Gollop said in a statement on the media group’s unaudited results yesterday.

The decline was attributed to OCM’s 12.3 per cent lower revenues of $104.4 million compared to a year earlier. Profit attributable to shareholders of $9.6 million was less than the $14.6 million in 2008.

Gollop said the global economic and financial environment continued to deteriorate during the first quarter of 2009, and the effects of the global recession were adversely impacting all regional economies.

"In addition, the collapse of the Antigua-based Stanford Group and the intervention by the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago into CL Financial Ltd to protect the depositors of CLICO and related financial institutions added to market uncertainty," he said in the statement.

In this environment, the Group’s performance for the first quarter ended March 31 was in contrast to the buoyancy of the first quarter of 2008, Gollop said.

OCM has already undertaken a review of its operations and has begun to make appropriate adjustments in response to the evolving market situation across the region, Gollop said.

"We are confident our strategies will enable OCM to cope with the current market challenges while allowing the group to take advantage of opportunities for growth and expansion," he added.

OCM owns and operates the Trinidad Express Newspapers and television station CCN TV6, as well as nine radio stations in Trinidad and countries across the region, including Barbados, Grenada and St Lucia.

29. @David@Ado.

The Nation stinks. The fact that Ado could devote his life to the Nation and be sent packing shows a complete lack of HR policy, indeed any policy. They now need a PR agaency and not Al Hart either. CMC could not give two shites about Bajans and most everybody wukking in Bados is a non national. David, I agree that GOD REST HIS SOUL, Denzil was no fearless journalist, he was an ordinary reporter. I have not come across a fearless journalist yet unless it is a blogger. Why? They are afraid of victimisation at work, in society. Bajans have to stop pandering and start boycotting fuh real.

I have had enough. Why they don’t send home Roxanne Gibbs and Vivian Anne Gittens. Is Roy Morris, the alleged rapist still on the payroll.

Who jah bless, no man curse, Ado will survive

30. The firing of Ado given the quality of the pool at the Nation should have raised many questions. The fact that it has not is indictive of where we are.

31. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

ACCORDING TO INFO REACHING THE ADVISER,

Shite is happening in other areas of work such as the Public Service; private sector companies owned by a certain conglomerate and a certain ‘used to be monopoly’

Bajans just take things though, so people will just take it in stride.

We are accustomed to a hard life
    -no light -no water ), no indoor plumbing, chiggers, chinks, small houses, no money, no shoes on our feet, patchy clothes, old clothes, hand me downs, smut lamps, rocky roads, pot holes, mud in the roads, cart roads, 7th standard education, scrubbing with white wood, ham at xmas only e.t.c

So nothing can get we down, we are accustomed to it, Bajans will survive so bring on the shit, we can handle it.

32. RE ; donkey carts, marl roads, chiggers, chinks, smut lamps, etc.:

The writer has septh. Thank God that Barbadians can still express the real life that we anad our foreparents have endured. We have come a long way. To think that our people are being escorted off the primises! that is what happens in corporate America. Foreigners at VOB? IWILL HAVE TO STOP TRYING TO FIND THE STATION FROM HERE IN THE USA. I am praying for my country. Watch out for hurricane Bill.
    Take care of yourselves.

33. I congratulate, magnificent idea and it is duly