newspaperArising from an earlier blog Down By The Riverside fellow blogger from the Living In Barbados Blog expressed the view thatย  private enterprise must be allowed to manage to stay afloat and make money for shareholders (parsing). We have no problem with that position, the flip side however is that BU has the freedom to critique the genuineness of decisions taken as we perceive them. As a corporate citizen the publicโ€™s perception should be of value to the Nation Group of Companies.

We are aware that three hundred daily newspapers have gone out of business in the last 25 years in the United States. We are aware that the main reason from the drop in circulation has been because the younger readers have been tapping into Internet based sources like blogs, free online news sources etc.

Unfortunately we have to take the word of the OCM Group Chairman Sir Fred Gollop about the reason for sending home Adonijah and 20+ other media workers from the Nation Group of Companies last week. He mentioned about increase cost in newsprint blah blah blah. We have access to the OCM consolidated financial statement for 2008, what we donโ€™t know is how the Barbados companies performed vis-a-vis others in the OCM Group. We have to guess.

Livinginbarbados we read your email sent today (23/03/2009), coincidentally we had several similar websites open in the BU browser. What is obvious is that newspapers in the USA are failing because of competing news channels first and for other reasons a distant second. In Barbados there is no similar competing interest. Although the blogs have been aggressively taking up issues which mainstream media have been dragging feet, sad to say we are not yet mass-based in appeal.

It is interesting to note that when OCM was formed it was touted then that the Nation Group of companies would benefit from economies of scale. It is obvious to BU that the sending home of Nation staff immediately after declaring a profitable 2008 was insensitive and premeditated. What is tells us most of all is that Port of Spain is in control.ย  How could Harold Hoyte sit on the Board of OCM and vote to send home Adonijah?

Back to the point of this blog. Even if we concede that the cost of newsprint is on the rise, how does it explain sending home staff from VOB the radio station? Remember that according to the Systematic Survey (whatever that is) VOB and the Nation newspaper dominate the market. Couldnโ€™t management provide options to staff i.e. staff freezes, salary cuts, waive bonus payments to executive staff etc?

The characteristics of the US media are far different to what prevails in Barbados. Barbadians and West Indians generally continue to rely on newspapers as the go to news source. The majority of the advertising dollars continue to be given to the printed media. Up to now we have not seen any major change in the approach of the Nation Group of companies to show that it is willing to transform to a more interactive media form. In other words it is prepared to cut payroll to respond to the challenges ahead. We applaud their ingenuity.

Isnโ€™t it strange that the Nation Group has decided to cut relatively low level staff? We could think of several fat cats who continue to work at the Nation Group. Commonsense tells us that as the economic situation worsens we may yet see some more cuts at a company which not too long ago was proudly Bajan.

We feel some affinity to Adonijah. Do you know that Adonijah was the fourth son of King DAVID?

83 responses to “Adonijah Sent Packing By Nation Group, Read All About It!”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I can’t believe that you are feeling sorry for Nation Staffers?

These are the same people who kept Barbadians in the DARK for 14 years of Barbados Labour Party rule with all it’s nastiness.

They got what they deserve.

I would like to see the entire Nation Newspaper shut down it is nothing but a waste of paper and ink.

2. In keeping with the slogan ” Barbados jobs for barbadians first”, it means that the T&T clown Peres has also been sent walking. If I’m wrong, please tell me what bajans can do to highlight this injustice. I’m not a great lover of that scandal sheet newspaper anyhow.

3. @David
    “What is obvious is that newspapers in the USA are failing because of competing news channels first and for other reasons a distant second. In Barbados there is no similar competing interest. Although the blogs have been aggressively taking up issues which mainstream media have been dragging feet, sad to say we are not yet mass-based in appeal.”

If you live in the Internet age, you cannot say that “Barbados there is no similar competing interest”. I rarely watch television IN Barbados, yet I follow televised news very closely FROM Barbados: many US news channels are available online for free (eg Bloomberg, MSNBC, CNN, etc.). Others I know get streaming radio and TV from various Caribbean locations. Even in Barbados, we can stream VOB and CBC. We know we can get access to newspapers online. So, your argument really does not work.

The Bajan papers are just dipping their toes into that online water, and gingerly. So, if they are several years behind the curve, as seems evident, how can they be defended as having done well. By contrast, online offerings from Trinidad seem further advanced.

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David (Internet connection problem, erased my name). RESUBMITTING

โ€œWhat is obvious is that newspapers in the USA are failing because of competing news channels first and for other reasons a distant second. In Barbados there is no similar competing interest. Although the blogs have been aggressively taking up issues which mainstream media have been dragging feet, sad to say we are not yet mass-based in appeal.โ€

If you live in the Internet age, you cannot say that โ€œBarbados there is no similar competing interestโ€. I rarely watch television IN Barbados, yet I follow televised news very closely FROM Barbados: many US news channels are available online for free (eg Bloomberg, MSNBC, CNN, etc.). Others I know get streaming radio and TV from various Caribbean locations. Even in Barbados, we can stream VOB and CBC. We know we can get access to newspapers online. So, your argument really does not work.

The Bajan papers are just dipping their toes into that online water, and gingerly. So, if they are several years behind the curve, as seems evident, how can they be defended as having done well. By contrast, online offerings from Trinidad seem further advanced.

5. @livinginbarbados

Understand our point. The online channel is available although not as developed as N.America but Barbadians still rely in the main on the traditional news sources. Will it change? Most likely it will but at this point to compare the behaviour of Barbadians to N.Americans is premature. There the argument to use the same factors affecting N.American print with Barbados is not accurate.

6. Scout I will ask your question again so someone can verify if BC Pires has been fired ….. wellll has he?

7. BC’s column was in Monday’s edition – columnists get anywhere from $50 to $100 per week, no great shakes huh? Speak from experience… I doubt he’ll see or sniff a guillotine.

The whopping bonuses paid to Mgr’s could be reduced, OCM dividends could be “transferred” from cash to more shares so as to retain liquidity. These are a few measures which could have been considered…

EG: When Ralph Gonsalves 1st assumed office in SVG, he took a 10% reduction in wages and asked his colleagues how much a cut will they take or does he have to legislate? To a person, they agreed on 5%, should’ve been 7 but they conceded…

You should check Mar’s Mongoose Blog for a heavily sarcastic rant over the new format of the online edition of the Nation.

8. Leave BC Pires for now. I cant believe he gets paid for the garbage in his columns.

Pires has come around after the bewsing we put in he Trinidadian ass. Last time I read him he wrote he has to be careful or we would deport him. He was right about that and for the first time he was funny.

We have taught him a lesson now lets extend to him the famous Bajan hospitality.

9. RESUBMITTING ~

BUMBLEBEE // March 22, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Good thing The Nation is not a โ€œwhite owned Companyโ€ or else these pages would be on fire and all readersโ€™ computers would explodeโ€ฆ.

10. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I will contest your argument and put the thing another way. Because overall things (in communications) are less developed in Bim compared to North America the changes for Barbados are more significant, and more leapfrogging is possible rather than step-wise. (Compare the way people go to owning more than one mobile phone even without having a landline.)

My gut feeling is that the papers and local media houses are hurting more than they let on. I know that I am no common example, but I have never listened to or watched CBC on radio or TV, because I always follow online here and abroad. I know many people here now do likewise in the work place, as that is more discreet (with headphones).

No need to beat this to death.

11. The thing to remember about financial statements is that they are reflective of what happened LAST YEAR.

It would be very unusual if the media were not affected by the recession, advertising budgets are one of the first things to get cut in times of scarcity, and this would have had a direct impact on the Nation’s revenue stream.

Further Ado would have been a journalist of some seniority (I believe he was actually an editor) so he would not have been a “low level” person as made out by some people here.

No business likes to lay people off, layoffs have knock on effects on morale, operations, and even tend to raise a red flag with suppliers and creditors. It usually is a last resort of cost cutting.

12. When OCM went public in December 2006, shares were offered at $6.35 and there was a lot of hype as to the future prospects of the group, what with economies of scale etc. I believe all the shares were taken up.

Two years later, OCM shares on the local stock market have lost nearly HALF their value. The last trade (February 25th 2009) was at $3.25. What the hell is going on!!! Was the public deceived with the initial valuation of the group which put par value at $6.35?

The directors need to give shareholders some explanation. A near 50% fall in the value of shareholders’ investment in this group in just over two years is unacceptable. I can’t wait for the next annual general meeting.

13. Who are the directors?

14. Wow are we to accept that OCM could not have opted to try more creative measures to keep people employed. We are talking about a profitable entity up to 2008.

We understand veterans Ebony Tull, Patrick Ward and the whole sports desk is now history. As a news organisation where is the commitment to sports?

15. It may be of interest to note that CLICO owns 23% of the shares of OCM.

16. I am amazed at what SNI did. They let go of great people. Some of the dismissals were business and some personal. No one has yet said that they had armed security guards escorting people off the property.

17. http://www.onecaribbeanmedia.net/index.pl/hdir

No one knows how to tow the line better than female academics of the social science persuasion. They are inhuman, callous and blinkered, focussed only on academic excuses to serve a master of some sort, even if it is at the expense of co-workers. They are wearing pants now and many are sporting beards and receding-hairlines. They have even taken to using masculine names like Grenville and Michael and Terrence and Fred.

Come fah yah Worl’

18. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

No surprise. Profits before people, another foreign owned entity without a care for the social fabric of Barbados.

Wha’ yuh expeck?

Time to do like Obama in USA and, focus on BAJAN furse!

Why wunna doan stop buying dem people paper an’ save wunna money.

Time for anudder BAJAN paper to start up…

How Bout, ‘Barbados Chronicle’.

Motto:

”Real news for Barbadians”

Come on wunna wid de bucks!

19. Addo .. you need help writin’ a cayasoe dis year …?

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhh

20. Gear Box
    Ado cud name he caysoe, “Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    Wah u tink?

21. AAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

22. I know I am a crass woman (nothing like a woman scorned) but I agree with BAFBFP women normally kiss ass!

Well ………. at least most women.

23. With Starcom high advertising rates it is pricing itself out of business. The current ecomonic situation will bring Vic to his knees. He is a victim of his own greed.

24. Anyone heard Brass Tacks? Seems Scharon (with a C) “Afternoon Delight” Millington was another casualty, guy from Canada called in asking what happened to her – Ellis was to the point yet vague.

” … they parted company…” but not how or why

25. Bourne Ms. P telling off David Ellis……

26. It may be of interest to note that CLICO owns 23% of the shares of OCM.
    ____

But who owns those shares now? the government of T&T!

27. Another journalist passes on.

Denzil Agard, a former Managing Editor of the Advocate died last night. Denzil was one of those fearless editors who dealt with issues regardless of political powers. It is becoming uneasy with the amount of journalists that are died. Maybe, we can start calling them endangered species. May he rest in peace.

28. It is becoming uneasy with the amount of journalists that have died

29. Seems the word is getting out about Scharon. We wonder how is this happening : – )

We heard Ellis squirming under the cross examination today from callers. No longer can companies perform their private acts and not be held accountable. Even now the company is refusing to manage the situation professionally. If our sources are correct Scharon maybe telling it all from another place which may cause some to pine.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Is that last sentence meant to be a pun David? Like it!

31. By the way, nuh body ain’t talkin bout de 10 percent cut in salaries by Cave Shepherd’s mid and top management. I ain’t kno’ if um was cut by management or de staff mek de decision.. Wuh loss bosey leh muh know wuh hapning.

David u kno ’bout dat?

32. Only a BLP yardie would call denzil agard a journalist ‘who dealt with issues regardless of political parties’.

Denzil agard was a nasty slimy man blp operative who carried the water for the blp and used his pen in a nasty vindictive way against any one he thought was anti-blp or who the blp wanted him to take down.

David ellis in a not so subtle way today said that agard and jeanette layne clarke used their pen like a cudgel against some so much that they caused fear.

33. David Ellis would not respond to the suggestion that directors of Caribbean companies could easily persuade share holders to hold strain on their demands while they pursue a course to maintain jobs within the operation โ€œat this timeโ€. He skirted the fact that it was an option that could have been pursued by OCM instead of rushing to cut jobs. Free and Fair expression of views my ass.

Georgie
    We need some pine to claen up teh river…

JC
    Yah still crass, so now you admit it..! Crass…!

34. I had to laugh when I heard a BT promo demanding accountability & transparency after Hurricane Helen rope-a-doping Ellis and him dodging more than the proverbial Artful…

35. CHEE THANKS!

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

RJR cuts staff

Just over 30 employees of the Radio Jamaica Group (RJR) were sent home today as the fallout from the global economic turmoil continues to hit local firms.

After reporting worrying numbers through the first three quarters of the financial year RJR had warned of the possibility of cutting staff as part of efforts to reduce expense.

Among the persons sent home are veteran journalists, Kathy Barrett, who was the Deputy Group Head of News and Current Affairs; Projects Manager for Television Jamaica Limited, Michael Sharpe; and Simon Crosskill, the Group Head of Sports.

At least three other managers were among those sent home.

Source:=
    jamaica-gleaner

37. I as very sad to hear of Adonijah being sent off, not only has the Nation dismissed an iconic journalist but the entertainment industry has lost a valuable friend…

He should use his following and talent to start writing his own blog

38. VOB’s response since this thing in Wall Street broke was NOT to drop advertising rates. Instead they used the dead time to advertise themselves more.

What a bunch of pussies.

39. It is the capitalist approach and to be fair it is not practiced by Nation Group only. Protect shareholder value at all cost! It is the model which has the world where it is now.

40. @ David

Hocus pocus

The “Capitalist Approach” includes a sense of corporate responsibility and a sense that to oppose serious public concern and stated Government policy may result in a public relations night mare for the company. Share holders in companies โ€œall over the worldโ€ are people too; the overwhelming majority of whom in any event are combined as a minority class of share holdings and benefit very little from companies sticking rigidly to this bottom line policy. They would benefit more from people continuing to support the company as opposed to them being pissed off by the companyโ€™s image and turning to the competition.

In any event, the โ€œCapitalist Approachโ€ in the Caribbean has divorced itself in many areas to that found in the rest of the world. Had that not been so our Banks would have taken on the same kind of risk as those in the US for example.

Are you sure that your last name is not Ellis? Yah soun’ jus’ like he…!

41. The thing about this “Capitalist Approachโ€ argument as it applies to our following the rest of the world is that the markets in the Caribbean are too small to promote the development of serious industrialisation. These โ€œbusinessesโ€ are simply privately owned social services that contribute very little to industrial development. Why the f**k should their interests be so vigorously protected. Shit they only represent a net loss in foreign exchange reserves anyway.

42. BAFBFP

Are you saying that David/BU is David Ellis?

Wuh?

43. The nation a Pan-Caribbean company sent home 20+ people. LIME a Pan-Caribbean company sent home people. Today we heard that Sagicor another company which is Pan-Caribbean and wider sent home 40+ people. What is clear is livinginbarbados is proving to be correct. The bottomline reigns supreame.

Here is an article which appeared in the Jamaican Observer today.

Most firms concerned about improving profits rather than saving jobs – Capri

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

The Caribbean Policy Research Institute (CaPRI) is suggesting that as local businesses anticipate positive results from Government’s recent stimulus package, the majority envisage improvements in their profits and less about the saving of jobs.

CaPRI yesterday revealed that 70 per cent of businesses interviewed in a survey expected improvement to their bottom line while only 15 per cent would shed less jobs.
    Rapley. problems could arise if the private sector was seen to be saying let us keep our profit while every body else tighten their belts

Government unveiled a stimulus package last December as the global economic crisis mounted that included a cut in customs user-fees, reduction in the GCT threshold and a cut in dividend taxes to shield businesses and save jobs.

President of CaPRI Dr John Rapley yesterday contended that a perception of a grasping private sector, interested only in their bottom line could in fact work against an effective social partnership that was critical in an economic recovery.

According to Dr Rapley arriving at a workable social partnership in the present recession was a possibility but problems could arise "if the private sector was seen to be saying let us keep our profit while every body else tighten their belts".

CaPRI members vice- chairman Dr Damien King, Latoya Richards and Dr Rapley, were making a presentation on the topic – Jamaica faces economic crisis: How Government can respond – at the PSOJ chairman’s forum held at the Pegasus Hotel in Kingston.

Richards said that government’s stimulus package would see it forgoing revenue of approximately $2.2 billion or 0.2 per cent of GDP over a six-month period.

That revenue, she argued, would be able to train 2,000 police officers, 30,000 HEART trainees or 135,000 pupils in early childhood education.

44. Damn blood suckers these private sector companies.

Have no social conscience these people.

All they can do ,some of them that is – is take,take take.

People like Bizzy,Parravicino and others locally owned company understand the need to keep people working,but companies like lime and one caribbean and four seasons – even sagicor – they snatch all the concessions they get from government and then shed jobs.

By the way david/BU – any connection to david ellis?

45. Let me Jump in hey Avatar
    Let me Jump in hey

Hope you guys like this one!
    This is priceless, and pertinent!

Corporate Plan. โ€

Dear Employees,

Due to the current financial situation caused by the slowdown in the
    economy, Management has decided to implement a scheme
    to put workers of 40 years of age and above on early retirement. This
    scheme will be known as RAPE (Retire Aged People Early).

Persons selected to be RAPED can apply to management
    to be considered for the SHAFT scheme (Special Help After Forced
    Termination). Persons who have been RAPED and SHAFTED will be
    reviewed under the SCREW programme (Scheme Covering Retired-Early Workers).
    A person may be RAPED once, SHAFTED twice and SCREWED as many times
    as Management deems appropriate. Persons who have been RAPED could get
    AIDS (Additional Income for Dependants & Spouse) or
    HERPES (Half Earnings for Retired Personnel Early Severance).

Obviously persons who have AIDS or HERPES will not be SHAFTED or
    SCREWED any further by Management.

Persons who are not RAPED and are staying on will receive as much SHIT
    (Special High Intensity Training) as possible. Management has always
    prided itself on the amount of SHIT it gives employees. Should you feel
    that you do not receive enough SHIT, please bring this to the attention of
    your Supervisor, who has been trained to give you all the SHIT you can
    handle.

Sincerely,

The Management

46. Anonymous,

I believe that we shoud give due respect to the dead, but I can’t help but agree with you, re’ Agard. He was a political operative who was certainly far from being this “fearless journalist” that someone earlier tried to make out.

47. @ Anonymous

David Ellis most certainly would have the time on his hands to manage a blog. In fact it was Ellis who was the first to mention the fact that there was such a thing as blogs in Barbados. The problem is that managing a blog requires technical hands on skill. The Ellis that I know is just a “mouter”. Straight up.

David BU is White anyway, though he may claim otherwise…!

48. Public Service Announcements my arse.
    Big Vic is killing that company with his greed. Now they keeping a cruise , are they celebrating the departure of members of staff. How is that for bad timing ?

49. Bajan // March 27, 2009 at 5:39 am

Now they keeping a cruise , are they celebrating the departure of members of staff. How is that for bad timing ?
    ————————————————–
    Sagicor had their Awards ceremony last Saturday nite and made people redundant on Thursday