clicoThe T&T based CL Financial saga rages on in Trinidad. Its configuration as a pan-Caribbean company ensures that decisions currently being taken in Trinidad will have implications for most of the countries in Caribbean where it does business. The irony of course is the lack of a harmonious regulatory framework in the region given the push to mobilize CSME. It is known that in the Caribbean we do very well at formulating policy, however we fall flat in the execution.

A recent blog submitted by BU family member TRAINED ECONOMIST has generated interesting discussion. In contrast we became turned off when we read the front page editorial which appeared in the Advocate newspaper today titled Hands Off CLICO. We found the content of the Advocate editorial interesting when compared to the contributions (RA’s comments one, two, three) by BU family member RA.

The Advocate editorial was an obvious PR plant. It is well known that Chairman Leroy Parris and Advocate owner Anthony Bryan have a good relationship. On the other hand BU family member RA has provided a dispassionate analysis of what we know about the CLICO Holding Barbados financial state. Bear in mind CLICO Holdings Barbados is a private company and has the opportunity to secrete certain financial information from the glare of public scrutiny. Does this say anything about how the Accounting Houses sign-off company books? It is interesting that the focus of RA’s analysis is not about the firefighting which is currently taking place, the focus of the analysis is to fairly analyse the financial health of CLICO Holdings.

We encourage the BU family to read the Advocate Editorial and compare the analysis offered on the BU blog to form their conclusion on the current CLICO financial struggles. What has started to emerge in recent days in Barbados is a clear politicalization of the CLICO issue. What we need is cold analysis by those trained among us to ensure that this current financial challenge is stablized quickly. More importantly we hope that it can be used as a case study to improve our financial sector.

1. Straight talk // February 16, 2009 at 9:10 pm (edit)

Can’t see why the Advocate has a problem, it obviously has inside information that Clico is in excellent financial health.

It should advise Mr Parris to release last year’s figures to dispel these damaging rumours.

2. I believe that CLICO should release its financial records to allay the fears of the Barbadian investors. I do not believe anything is wrong but there has been too much inuendo.

3. […] good dose of brickbats against any comment or criticism of a major financial company”, while Barbados Underground notes that “what has started to emerge in recent days in Barbados is a clear [politicization] […]

4. […] Library ← What Can We Say About The CLICO Affair? […]

5. @Tony

What would be useful is if the Supervisor of Insurance made public if all insurance companies in Barbados are meeting their statutory reserve requirements.

6. I am in possession of a document that reveals a very frightening aspect of this Clico saga.

In Clico’s financial Statement for the period ending December 31, 2007 it says at page 3, “On January 1, 1997 the Company acquired the insurance and pension portfolio of Colonial Life Insurance Company (Trinidad) Ltd, branch operations in Antigua, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Monsterrat, St. Kitts, St. Lucia and St. Vincent. To date regulatory and policyholder approvals have not yet been obtained within the respective territories”. Up to the time of posting this information no confirmation on this matter could be ascertained.

I need not tell the BU family what this means to policyholders and pension fund holders.

I have been reliably informed that the statutory reserve has not been met for some time now. In fact it is believe that the deficit now stands at approximately $500.million. Again BU family this is serious business for the business of Clico Barbados.

Neither Parris nor Thompson has been coming forward with all the facts about Clico.

7. […] wonders if there are parallels between Stanford and CL Financial: Following on the news of the CLICO Affair should we conclude that the tumultuous global financial markets maybe starting to unload on the […]

8. @Royalrumble
    “I have been reliably informed that the statutory reserve has not been met for some time now.”
    Does “some time now” include the time that your former “dear leader” was in office?

Please tell us how long they have not been meeting their statutory requirement.

9. More importantly, can we get the Supervisor of Insurance to speak to the issue regarding if insurance companies in Barbados are in breach of the statutory requirement?

10. Bravo David!

11. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

have you heard that the barbados government is buying back the shares it poreviously sold ot republic bank in bnb. where is the government getting the money from?? Did the government not announce in the july budget that they were selling the remaining shares in order to upgrade the hospital

12. DD, Esq maybe the government thinks that it is more important to pump money into Clico Trinidad (in receivership) than to upgrade the QEH, or even to provide toilet paper and soap.

13. In today’s Sunday Sun we have the ludicrous and very dangerous situation of one report from Opposition Leader Mia Mottley citing documentary evidence that CLICO Barbados is currently not meeting its statutory requirement, the other report refers to a statement from CLICO Barbados stating that it IS meeting the requirement.

A glaring omission is a statement from the regulator or government to paint the true picture. We have written before that that this matter is being politicised given the person who heads CLICO Barbados (Leroy Parris, the man who we all love to talk about and make mock sport). We take heed of BU family member RA who suggested that there is overlapping interest which servers to make this matter very dangerous and has serious implications for the financial market in Barbados.

14. Donkey with flying wings Avatar
    Donkey with flying wings

see todays Nation

Power play

http://www.nationnews.com/336877283545880.php

15. We have to be very careful with this issue. If everyone who has funds in CLICO, goes for their money it will be catastrophic for all bajans and our fragile economy. Right now, this issue is being politicized for obvious reasons but at this point it serves no one purpose to see CLICO collapse regardless of your politics.

Less we are unaware, CLICO and any government will be and are in bed. If the shoe was on the other foot, a BLP government would not want CLICO to collapse either given that their investments are so wide and varied. I hope everyone in both political parties will be responsible and treat this issue carefully because we cannot readily recover from any meltdown of our financial services sector.

BC

16. @BC

We agree with you. Again this is another issue where Barbadians should feel that there is a bipartisan effort to ensure we are able to ward of financial disaster. This is critical against the global financial challenges facing no only Barbados but the world. It is a very sad position we find ourselves in. POLITICS RULE

The question we have for Mottley if you want to play politics: what were the reserve levels of CLICO just a year earlier?

17. The reserve levels a year ago are irrelevant.
    The problem is now, not a year ago.

18. The Prime Minister, the Central Bank Govenor, appointed by the previous PM, and the Supervisor of Insurance in a conspiracy with CLICO, a private company, to withhold information from Bajans?
    Are we supposed to believe that all of these people have no integrity?

I am also surprised that no mention was made of the Nation seeking verification from the Supervisor of Insurance.

I am so sick and tired of Bajan politicians. This reminds me of the early nineties.

19. This issue, like the QEH and St Leonards Boys School are political footballs of both parties.

Leroy Parris is arrogant and nor the PM is not healping Clico or the country by not being more open. However, I think Mia Mottley’s comments in todays paper are very irresponsible and she needs reigning in as well.

She might want to see the demise of the PM and Parris, however she is taking “by any means necessary” too far

20. http://www.nationnews.com/life/336878349466076.php

“It is never easy for a new political leader who is seeking to stamp his/her authority on the party to have to contend with the presence of its most recent leader especially one who was, and still is, a political force.

So that, from the standpoint of publicly receiving the support of the former leader, the meeting would have been a test for the BLP’s new leader, particularly at this time.

Self-interest first

Those last three words are always significant in the political arena as politicians are known to be driven by self-interest first and foremost.”

21. Anonymous we agree with you to a point. The reserve level one year ago exposes to the public the lack of transparency which our governments promise but never deliver. It is somewhat disingenuous for the people who were in government just over one year ago to distance themselves from the current CLICO situation.

22. @ General Lee

So do you think that if the DLP were in the Opposition they would have acted any differently?

23. BIPARTISAN, BIPARTISAN, BIPARTISAN

What is so difficult for politicians to understand about the word BIPARTISAN? The crisis facing the world is unprecedented lets get our asses in gear!

24. I think that ambitious politicans are the basically the same whether in goverment or oppostion.
    Their mouthings and actions change according to which side of the house they find themselves sitting.

The current PM used some of the same tactics when he was opposition leader.

It is time that the electorate open their eyes to this reality and realise that politicans are supposed to be servants of the people and not their masters.

Until we expect and demand better from them, politics in Barbados will remain a circus.

25. Bipartisanship?
    What the hell is that?
    Idealism.
    Look at the realpolitik which is driven by human nature. Bipartisanship doesnt work unless the external threat is so great as to eradicate the whole.
    So, if one group sees an advantage in the crisis, they will seize the opportunity, and rightfully so.
    It’s like asking the races to come together; rich and poor; industrialized and developing; capital and labor.
    It wont happen. These are dialectical forces to push forward the human agenda.
    Don’t you get it?
    Get off your idealistic high horse and get real.

26. Anonymous which planet have you been living on in the last six months? A blind man can see the economic storm impacting the world, financial institutions in our region are starting to fail and several more will probably be exposed. See the indicators that our tourist markets are drying up. We can go on but the reality is that Barbados has always prided ourselves as operating at a level not compared to others. Should we wait until there is collapse to act? Get real man, the time for coming together is now, if we don’t we deserve what we get.

27. Well well well. Is political management only about the ability to manage during economic growth?
    The real test of one’s ability to manage is to pull through the rough seas.
    The real test to leadership is to inspire the whole to work together.
    Of course the global crisis is impacting upon us, however, what is even more frightening is the lack of leadership, creativity and proper management skills to get us through the rough seas.
    It has to start by admitting that the bloody country is already in a recession and stop the euphemisms.
    Then the real truth about CLICO must be told. The assets those jokers are talking about are illiquid. If there’s a run tomorrow, CLICO cannot meet it. FACT.

28. I predict that the Democratic Labour Party will remain in power for the next 10 years if the knee jerk reaction of the opposition is to try to score political points in the midst of this worldwide economical crises ..
    ANY financial institution would fold if its investors ran on it. Trying to create panic as leader of the opposition, is very irresponsible.
    She has to be extremely careful as Bajans are not foolish. CLICO did not get into this situation overnight.

29. If there is a financial meltdown in Barbados politicians will not be the ones to suffer because most of them can survive on their earnings. It is the poor people who will get hurt. Therefore Mia Mottley should curb her ambitions at this time and allow the government and people to ride out the economic situation.

The mighty USA economy stumbled and all the economic powers stumbled also, so what resources do we have not to stumble. I can see some hardships heading our way. We should follow Bizzy Williams call in today’s paper about coming together and be a strong nation.

Therefore she will not get to be Prime Minister using a tactic that will hurt poor people the most

Clico problems could not have started in 2008.The last government never spoke about the Statutory fund deficit. When did this problem start?

Was it not Mia Mottley who pushed the Kola Syrup issue and basically destroyed a black business when they got into power?

30. So wait a minute…are you all saying that Mia should keep quiet about the situation?
    Is this what you all are advocating?
    Shove it under the rug in true Bajan style! Pretend there’s no problem at CLICO!
    Pretend all is well in Barbados. Use words like economic downturn. Encourage people to spend. Talk about an economic stimulus and encourage people to spend money on imports that will pressure the balance of payments.
    I agree with you all. Mia should keep silent. She should not pressure the government into admitting the truth.
    Who gives a hoot if the DLP will be in power for 10 or 20 years. The problem is now.

31. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

If the Gov’t came clean on the Clico affair then any speculation by the Leader of the Opposition would be exposed as baseless.

While Bajans have short memories, I well remember a speech made in Haggat Hall, where the speaker excoriated a former Minister of Finance for dodgy dealings with a banker (who was employed by a Clico associated bank). The speaker’s argument then was that even if no impropriety was committed, the appearance of a conflict of interest between a Minister and another under the Minister’s regulatory oversight was warrant enough for the Minister’s removal from office.

32. Folks take a deep breath. Ask yourself what can Mia Mottley hope to gain from inciting fear and panic in Barbadians? It now pelucid that she needs a major crisis to derail the DLP before their 5 year term is up. The longer this takes to happen, the weaker she gets as LOTO. Anyway I don’t know that there is a concept of “RUN” on an Insurance company, is there? Isurance instruments tend to have furture maturity dates unlike a savings and or a checking account at a bank.

I fully expect a law suite by CLICO against Mia unless she is correct.

33. But what is the issue here?

Mia contends that a fund required by the Insurance act is short 93 million dollars

Thompson contends that fund requires “assets” and that dollars is but one kind of asset.

WHAT DOES THE LAW SAY?
    ———————————————-
    the Statutory Fund, required by Section 25 of the Insurance Act Cap 310 of the Laws of Barbados, was a fund in which the insurance company must place in trust, enough assets to match their liabilities so as to protect policy holders, in the event of there being financial difficulties that would make it difficult for the insurance company to meet its obligations to policy holders.

————————————————

Again Mottley seems to grasping at straws to save her fading political leadership life.

34. Adrian part of the issue as we understand it is the issue of CLICO insurance offering high interest rates for deposits to back their annuity plans. It is a run on these deposits as well as those at their mortgage company that are of concern.

35. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

Posturing is the political way, and whichever party is in power this would have been expected. So it be know banks do the same thing that CLICO has been doing i.e investing liquid assets (your cash deposits) in stocks, bonds, lending out the money, misc investments, etc…, the only differences being, a) banks are not as generous with the interest rates and b) the deposits are acquired for predetermined period by the isurance (investment) companies. Neither CLICO nor any bank can withstand a charge of customers demanding (their) money back.

36. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

***correction second line above should read: So it be known,…

37. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

Royal Rumble and more propaganda, seems you are always in time to see stuff or have some secret document.

38. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

…or should I call you Kofi “outted at BFP”

39. This is so ridiculous. If you all have so much confidence in CLICO Barbados, then why don’t you all go tomorrow and take policies with CLICO? While you are all at it, please transfer your mortgages to CLICO or invest your savings in their mutual funds or RRSP.
    If Mia is blowing hot air, then you all should demonstrate the confidence you all have in CLICO with your own money.
    I’m willing to bet that not a single one of you is bold enough to put money in CLICO.
    As for the the jackass who asked if there can be a run on CLICO, please explain to them that if policyholders lose confidence and decide to cash in their policies, that’s a run.
    If the public cash in on other investment instruments offered by CLICO, then that’s a run.

40. Adrian Hinds, any person can cash in there life insurance policy for the current cash value, they will lose but some people say they don’t have a future put down and they will cut their losses.

This comment is sure to send people running to Clico to get their money, if I had a policy their I would.

Unless the PM and Parris come clean this is just another political football issue and to be honest i don’t know if the general public will believe much of what they say now anyhow, they let this issue drag on too long

41. If there’s so much confidence in CLICO Barbados, then somebody from CLICO should come out and state how much new business they’ve underwritten in the last two weeks.
    CLICO Barbados should prove to us that they’re liquid and solvent and that there are no cash flow problems.
    The half-truth put out in their latest paid advertisement is so unconvincing that it’s risible.
    Their credibility is dead and the PM would do himself a big favor to distance himself from them like how Obama distanced himself from Rev. Wright.

42. Thanks M and Anon, Indeed I can be a Jackass. 🙂 Have not had a traditional like insurance policy in 20 years. Couldn’t recall how they work.

43. But are they not similarities between AIG and CLICO with regards to their size, and importance to the economies in which they reside? I think so. Has there been a policy holder and pension fund run on AIG? However Investers have fled. AIG is curently a penny stock, trading at about 54 cents per share.

If I were Clico policy holder and held some of it’s shares as well, I would sell the shares and hold the policy.

44. In today’s Nation the PM has again said a lot of nothing with regards to this Clico affair. Instead he is pointing to all Clico’s assetts, Sam Lord’s, Villa Nova etc. and also the fact that another major Insurance company had to carry out a major assett evaluation is not helping the Insurance industry.

Do these people not realise the serious implications their statements have for the country?

45. A bunch of illiquid assets that aint worth wha paddy shoot at. Any smart person in their right mind would know that CLICO cannot get true market value for those assets.
    Yet, we would prefer the LOTO to say nothing and keep her mouth shut.

46. Fine thread.

Few points to contribute:

* The government has implicitly guaranteed policy holders and the accusations of political panic mongering ought to take account of that

* Insurance companies can suffer runs but these tend to be rare due to redemptions penalties and loss of tax breaks . Property & Casualty premiums are the “stickiest” for insurers. Clico Intl Life is, of course, mainly life insurance.

* Some care needs to be taken not to fixate on the statutory fund argument. Much of this debate boils down to how certain items are treated by the accountants (eg unrealized gains/losses on property, fair value vs market value on fixed income etc etc). These are frequently “value judgements”. For example, the regulator is probably (and rightly given his interests) taking the view for now that Clico asset values will recover with time. In the jargon this is “forbearance” and is entirely normal during times of stress.

* As a result interested parties ought to consider the other ways solvency can be looked at above (1) regulatory solvency, eg: (2) net worth under generally accepted accounting principles; (3) economic value as an operating entity; (4) liquidation value; (5) “commercial” solvency, most usefully for insurers (in my view) when measured by the rating agencies (though they use judgements too)

The irony is that Clico Intl Life may well pass (1), (2) and (3) but almost certainly fails on (4) [which is an extreme test of its assets but still useful] and is probably approaching dire straits faces on (5) what with confidence hitting continuing premiums as well as new ones where potential customers may prefer Sagicor (for example)

Now, when looking at Clico Intl Life in this context it is CRITICAL to take into account its leverage (which, for info, is more than double Sagicor’s). That is a great place to be when asset prices are rising but dreadful when they drop. As I have said in other comments Clico Intl Life, notwithstanding the limits of “forbearance”, will need new capital if its asset base has declined ~7% in the last 13 months since it last reported. It is the nearest thing to a racing certainty (in the prevailing economic conditions) that they are looking for it from both private and public sources at this moment (bear in mind that implicit government guarantee).

Like someone who takes on a mortgage close to his income capacity in good times thinking house prices only rise, in a downturn the pressure to find additional capital to satisfy the debt liability (now larger than the value of the property) is great. And the threat of losing the house ever present as a result of the imprudence.

The aggressive leverage at Clico Intl Life was a management choice – and a questionable one at that. That should be part of the debate. Not to destroy reputations but to inform the way forward.

47. Trained Economist Avatar

Here is an Interesting Article from the TT press.

Oh no CLICO

William Lucie-Smith

Monday, February 9th 2009

The Governor of the Central Bank and a variety of other commentators have done an excellent job of explaining why the CLICO disaster was inevitable and self-inflicted. Typically a life insurance company has long term liabilities and a portfolio of assets carefully matching the cash flow profile of those liabilities.

In CLICO however, there were long term investments in real estate, equities, petrochemical plants and loans to CL Financial funded by short term deposits. The credit crunch meant that despite paying premium rates, the available funding began to shrink.

At the same time ammonia, methanol, equity and property prices started to fall, putting a double squeeze on the group. This was not just bad luck but the inevitable demise of a high risk business strategy which broke all the rules.

Such strategies were successful in a growing and inflationary economy with high petrochemical prices, but when the group hit the perfect storm of declining asset values and cash flows, and a shrinking availability of credit they were doomed to fail. It is foolish to suggest the global recession did not contribute significantly to the demise, but it is also quite clear the business model was high risk and dangerously flawed.

Of course the rule makers (not necessarily the regulators who enforce the rules) are not blameless. The Hindu Credit Union had the same business strategy, taking deposits to finance long term investments, which were often bad investments. They appeared to break the credit union regulations but despite unease, they were not stopped.

Similarly CLICO was allowed to take short term deposits and call them executive flexible premium annuities although they were not truly insurance policies. CLICO was used as a cash cow to finance the long term and high risk investments of the CL Financial empire. This built up a huge mismatch of tenor between liabilities and assets that the regulations and regulators could not control. Inadequate regulations allowed gross abuse of fundamental risk management principles. Revised legislation, after the event, will give the supervisory authorities much greater power over regulated institutions.

In a real sense the chaos that would result from the inability of CLICO to meet its liabilities necessitated the decisive action by the Central Bank and Ministry of Finance. To be sure the intention of the Central Bank is to bail out depositors and policyholders, not bail out the companies themselves. This will protect investors and preserve the integrity of the financial system. The companies being “taken over” are CLICO, British American, CLICO Investment Bank and CMMB. The rest of the CL empire will presumably continue to fend for itself.

The debate in Parliament has been disappointing. While Keith Rowley raised pertinent issues both the Leader of the Opposition and the Prime Minister were embarrassing in their comments on what should be a bi-partisan issue.

Basdeo Panday has been stating that this is a conspiracy by the Government to take over CLICO as an act of political revenge. There is no real evidence for the idea that such a disaster was deliberately provoked by political malice.

The action taken by the Central Bank is entirely appropriate in response to the inability to meet obligations as they fall due. Ideas that money should be lent to CLICO to bail them out are flawed and ignore the governance issues, the flawed business model, the complex inter-company loans and the need for a renewal of confidence. The Prime Minister compounded the foolishness by focusing on his ability to access confidential records to see who paid for the Pandays’ apartment in London. This was so crass that it is no wonder people were shaken by the thought that Government wanted to take control of Republic Bank. This is foolishness at a time the Governor is attempting to restore confidence.

The Central Bank has made the excellent decision to recruit Euric Bobb to supervise the arduous task of de-leveraging CLICO. This is a tough task because of the massive debt owed by CL Financial to CLICO and the vast illiquid assets owned by CLICO that will need to be monetised.

There is certainly no public interest need for Government to take ownership and control of shares in Republic Bank, OCM, Agostini’s, Methanol Holdings, Angostura, or any of CLICO’s assets. The Government will be well advised to back away from that thought. Nevertheless there will be a need for an orderly disposal of shares that preserves the integrity of the financial system and provides liquidity to the depositors and policyholders.

It may be necessary to require depositors to take a cut in interest rates and a stretch out of the tenor of all deposits to, say, a year in consideration for the Central Bank guarantee of their principal. This will give some time for the full assessment of assets and liabilities to determine what shortfall, if any, exists and the best method of obtaining full value for the vast array of assets in CLICO, without disrupting the operations of those investee companies.

The CL group will now face a multitude of challenges as the Duprey brand has been badly tarnished. This must be very disheartening for Lawrence Duprey who, despite his failings as a manager, did have a massive vision for his group and did contribute greatly to the development of industry in the Caribbean. Hopefully a chastened and smaller CL will survive and prosper. There will be many challenges ahead as many of the investments will have to be sold in a very difficult market.

48. @ RA

The basic question still remains when you cut through all that you’ve said.

How much new business do you think CLICO Barbados has underwritten in the last two weeks and is likely to underwrite in the near future?

Would you put your money there now?

It boils down to confidence.

Work out the next logical steps when there’s such a loss of confidence and give me the answers.

49. @Anonymous,

I do not know if you saw this the thread below but it contains a good deal of useful info as well as my more complete opinion of Clico Intl Life:

(http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/perplexed-by-clico-comments-duprey-republic-bank-cmmb-bail-out/#comments)

In my comment above – and in that other thread – I have said continuing and new business will suffer. And no, I would not put my money in.

But this is putting the cart before the horse. The point is this: the company is too highly leveraged in a period of massive – massive – asset destruction; has written business in 2007 probably too aggresively; has dubious loans to CL Financial outstanding; etc etc (the thread has full detail).

Before any action whatsoever by clients and potential clients this is a recipe for recapitalisation all on its own.

Any ongoing lack of confidence is a symptom – not a cause – and merely hastens that outcome.

50. Agreed with you 100% RA