clicoThe T&T based CL Financial saga rages on in Trinidad. Its configuration as a pan-Caribbean company ensures that decisions currently being taken in Trinidad will have implications for most of the countries in Caribbean where it does business. The irony of course is the lack of a harmonious regulatory framework in the region given the push to mobilize CSME. It is known that in the Caribbean we do very well at formulating policy, however we fall flat in the execution.

A recent blog submitted by BU family member TRAINED ECONOMIST has generated interesting discussion. In contrast we became turned off when we read the front page editorial which appeared in the Advocate newspaper today titled Hands Off CLICO. We found the content of the Advocate editorial interesting when compared to the contributions (RA’s comments one, two, three) by BU family member RA.

The Advocate editorial was an obvious PR plant. It is well known that Chairman Leroy Parris and Advocate owner Anthony Bryan have a good relationship. On the other hand BU family member RA has provided a dispassionate analysis of what we know about the CLICO Holding Barbados financial state. Bear in mind CLICO Holdings Barbados is a private company and has the opportunity to secrete certain financial information from the glare of public scrutiny. Does this say anything about how the Accounting Houses sign-off company books? It is interesting that the focus of RA’s analysis is not about the firefighting which is currently taking place, the focus of the analysis is to fairly analyse the financial health of CLICO Holdings.

We encourage the BU family to read the Advocate Editorial and compare the analysis offered on the BU blog to form their conclusion on the current CLICO financial struggles. What has started to emerge in recent days in Barbados is a clear politicalization of the CLICO issue. What we need is cold analysis by those trained among us to ensure that this current financial challenge is stablized quickly. More importantly we hope that it can be used as a case study to improve our financial sector.

1. Wuh Loss?

2. Wuh? // March 1, 2009 at 1:22 pm

I am reading.. but I want to say this to Royal Rumble (unemployed Sylvan Greenidge), Mia Mottley and the other critics: David Thompson is a master.
    =========================

Wuh! I would say you were dead on. Did you see Sylvan Greenidge posing his two questions to the PM tonight? ha ha ha ha ha

3. Adrian,

He looked like he ate an unboned flying fish… lol.

4. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Both He Sylvan Greenidge AKA Royal Rumble and fat boy along with that twit Taitt were dispatched to the boundary for massive sixes, why would mottley really want to send three idiots to try to discuss the peoples business??

It just about sums up her options both in and out of the House of Assembly POOR RAKEY as hell.

I understand she tried to buy the other twit Henderson Bovell but he pointly turned her down as a joker.

5. for your information, the Guyana govt is presently hunting bloggers who’ve been posting info on the collapse of Guyana’s cocaine fuelled economy
    the blog has since shut down
    http://propagandapress.org/2009/02/28/livinguyana-removed-from-blogspot-after-guyana-govt-threats/

6. Who on this blog give a “flying’ F about what your failed Guyana government is doing? stupes Um is only a matter of time before the Guyana government follows the same path as the blog.

7. Adrian Hinds,
    Oh lord, boy you sweet.
    You is a diabetick? I feel sa.

8. @Adrian H

The more we read/investigate this issue we are in no doubt that although as RA, BU commenter 1,2,3 has stated earlier on this blog there is an overlapping of interest between the political and CLICO policyholders, in our view, it has become more tilted towards the political.

We listened with great interest to Sylvan Greenidge, a former government supporter, who read from a document which was posted on this blog 🙂 on the afternoon VOB callin show. Here is another question we have for leader of the opposition Mottley. If the statutory fund was in deficit from 2005/2006 according to the Prime Minister why was a CLICO subsidiary given approval to finance the judicial centre and the coast guard facility (thanks to a BU family member)?

9. Mia is on VOB claiming she knew nothing about the deficit ha ha a lol!

I dont know boy …….. these people is something else!

10. David // March 2, 2009 at 1:53 pm

@Adrian H

The more we read/investigate this issue we are in no doubt that although as RA, BU commenter 1,2,3 has stated earlier on this blog there is an overlapping of interest between the political and CLICO policyholders, in our view, it has become more tilted towards the political.
    ===========================
    Indeed David: First you must never seperate people and their motivations though not publicaly stateD,…from their comments and opinions.

….Are you aware that RA is TOM ADAMS son, Rawdon Adams? It doesn’t get any more political than that!.

11. JC // March 2, 2009 at 2:29 pm

Mia is on VOB claiming she knew nothing about the deficit ha ha a lol!

I dont know boy …….. these people is something else!

ha ha ha ha ha is she still going ahead with the no confidence motion? Um could be real comedic,…Mia fuh once conceeding that she doesn’t know something that she otherwise led persons to believe she did. Has the short man made an appearance yet? Must be still laughing his ass off. ha ha ha lol! Time tuh come out Owen,….and once again tell the people of Barbados to “cease and settle” that Mia is once again deeply hurt. ha ha ha ha

12. AH as usual you are right on the ball. Because Miss Mottley has said that OA will speak to these matters later on in the week!

Are you aware that RA is TOM ADAMS son, Rawdon Adams? It doesn’t get any more political than that!.

Wah you know that we dont know LOL!

13. […] we are convinced after listening to Mottley and the Prime Minister on the call-in show. Previous blogs have discussed the unravelling CLICO saga ad […]

14. JC i don’t live in Barbados, but Barbados lives in me. It really does. lol!

15. @ Adrian Hinds
    since you don’t live in Barbados, it’s obvious you don’t comprehend the importance of the collapse of Clico Barbados, Clico Guyana and the ramifications there after
    save your tirades for when you’re standing in front of the mirror contemplating your future

16. Thank you Adrian, is only through you and the Lord my eyes have seen, tell it like it is. God Bless, yuh meking meh laugh

17. @David and Adrian Hinds

A parting comment.

Funny how a surname prejudices opinion and prevents what might easily stand on its own from so doing.

Much of what I wrote here at BU was reproduced for a piece published a couple of days ago in the local press. News junkies and literary detectives will have spotted the obvious resemblance.

You wrote something catchy, AH, that resonates: I’m not in Barbados but it is in me. Politics covers much but does not have to be blindly partisan – whatever family chance bore you into. There is a greater issue here than a surname or who sits in government. And disinterested argument is possible.

You may not acknowledge that view for there is a consistent theme to those of your material arguments I have come across: history’s heavy hand bestows descendants – be they man, family or institution – with their antecedents’ DNA in all things. Or at least the ancient, frequently rancorous, things that enable a given contemporary issue to be sufficiently confused such that its essence is lost from view.

Inputting unspoken motives on the basis of a name, as you have done here, is merely a convenient way to dismiss argument rather than consider it. But, of course, that is your choice – whether or not you are capable of supporting the action with anything other than some idle notion that political tribalism trumps all else, every time.

I have read your stuff – intelligent, knowledgeable and witty as it sometimes can be – here and in various other blog-fora, over a long enough period to suggest that we all have our biases – even the self-professed neutrals who may not readily consider their thinking restricted by the long, emotional tentacles of prior injustices and battles.

In your case, the biases are revealed by what you have written over the years – not your name. And that is as it should be, rather than via prejudice and some cracked prism of fractional knowledge about, for example, another’s family, heritage, skin colour, income, accent, sexual orientation and so forth. Indeed, such inflexible thinking does little for the benefit of Barbados, something which we both hold close to our hearts.

That said, I submitted in good faith with (I hope) respect to all and with few, I suggest, of my own political opinions on show. Fairly certain the words, “vote BLP” did not appear anywhere and the agenda, such as it was, aimed to contribute some relatively technical financial knowledge and analysis to what is set to become part of the human cost to Barbados of a larger economic maelstrom.

I enjoyed the debate and I wish you well.

RJH Adams

18. @RA

It is very unfortunate that you would latch on to the comment(s) of one person when they are others who commended your contributions. For what it is worth BU recognizes the dispassionate way you attempted to explain the CLICO business. We hope you reconsider your position.

19. I found the exchange between RA and Trained Economist to be of a very high standard and contributed much to my understanding of the many issues surrounding the Clico matter. Adrian Hinds with his shallow narcissistic manner could only reveal the identity of RA as his major contribution to the debate.

20. Wuh if you this thin skin some might wonder wuh part uh Tom rob off pun you. I have read your contributions, well written as usual, with a lot of bluster and needless complexity, but what came through clearly everytime was the comparison to Sagicor. Now i am a simple minded man and i choose to see your comparison as making the case for clico policy holder to, ..not wait, not trust the GoB approach to protecting their interest and to move their policies with haste to Sagicor. I could not in good concience hold my tongue on that. Not with the account of Douglas Lynch and his other goons deliberate denial of the majority policholders having a say in the running of THEIR company, as the concept of mutualization so allowed.

I remain convince that your submission were timely,only to further doubt, fear and panic, and to assist in the destruction of CLICO. I really do believe this, and as such they were viewed by me to be political in nature. I refuse to look at anyone’s comment in some “sterile” envoirnment.

21. JC,
    How you know that RA is Tom’s son? I frighten ah you now. I closing all my windows and drawing my curtians.

22. Adrian Hinds writing about himself posted “Now i am a simple minded man…”. I can only say “Hear Hear! I agree. Confession is good for the soul!”

23. Anonymous // March 2, 2009 at 10:20 pm

I found the exchange between RA and Trained Economist to be of a very high standard and contributed much to my understanding of the many issues surrounding the Clico matter. Adrian Hinds with his shallow narcissistic manner could only reveal the identity of RA as his major contribution to the debate.

Did i really reveal RA? Really!!! I read all of his comments on this blog, wasn’t I suppose to do so ? Only you were? then saw a nationnews article with identical view points attibuted to one Rawdon Adams, it was that simple. I have seen others pick up the similarities between postings with different “handles” and conclude that they belong to one person, PiedPiper is really good at this. I have never been able to do so and never really had any wish for such a skill, and it is insulting for Mr. Adams to suggest that I, being a BAJAN could be a NEWS JUNKIE simply for reading the national newspaper of Barbados, and silly to suggest that I could be anything “literary”, let alone a detective. Did he not see the many grammar and spelling mistake that I commit, and has he not been made aware that i am a security guard and janitor, making me one of those bajans that Errol Barrow question whether i have a Good mirror image of myself?

YOU DID NOT HIDE IN WRITING TO THE NATIONNEWS, AND I DID NOT GO SEARCHING OR INVESTIGATING YOU TO FIND YOUR ARTICLE IN A BAJAN NEWSPAPER. But nevertheless i understand the need to now position yourself as a victim.

The truth about his leaving the blog is mostly likely caught up in the turn of events in the CLICO POLITICAL FIGHT.

24. Anonymous // March 2, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Adrian Hinds writing about himself posted “Now i am a simple minded man…”. I can only say “Hear Hear! I agree. Confession is good for the soul!”

ha ha ha wuh i can’t love life an be ashamed of muhself. I am nothing to most, but I am all I can ever be to me. RA shouldn’t be this thin skin, I learn not be in part by watching Tom.

25. BAFBFP // March 2, 2009 at 10:33 pm

JC,
    How you know that RA is Tom’s son? I frighten ah you now. I closing all my windows and drawing my curtians.

Me or AH no really and truly I dont care who you are as long as you have given some valuable and valid points to any dicussion on the blogs you could be rumplestiltskin for all I care!

Let the sunshine come in do lol!

26. Allison // February 11, 2009 at 12:27 pm

SAGICOR loses Millions but CLICO makes news.
    As an investor in SAGICOR and a policy holder of CLICO and investor of a subsidiary company I can’t understand the noise that is being spread around about the later company. SAGICOR late last year admitted in the press that they lost a small portion of money (POLICY HOLDERS FUNDS) on the overseas stock markets. A small portion ($25 million) they said based on their asset base. Now I am in no way a financial guru but that seems to be a lot of “dinero.” As far as I have heard and I have to listen to the information given by the press, CLICO has not lost any money in the Trini/Bajan issue, so my concern is, “what’s the concern . . . so far?” It causes me to think that something other than what is being said is up by the media and those who influence the same media.

After a very, very, very small article in the press about the money SAGICOR lost and the fact that I and other investors had a decrease in our return on our investments no NOISE was kept about SAGICOR losing the $25 MILLION, no NOISE.

Now because of the size of the company I felt ok and comfortable that my investment is safe but again CLICO loss not a cent and they are being brandished all around the press every day with convenient politicians weighing in on the situation and causing panic for the Barbadian public with this non issue( my thinking).

Were they not concerned for the investments public and policy holders of SAGICOR? I don’t know because I didn’t hear their voices . . . at all. Could it be because CLICO is a black managed company and it has grown too large for some, especially only being around for a few years in comparison to SAGICOR’S over 150 years?
    I believe without a doubt that my two investment companies are in great shape financially and we should not allow propaganda to influence us in prematurely moving our investments from neither company.

27. I wonder where this RA lives though. (the lt) Leslie Barrow became a B so there is nothing to say that RA has an obligation to remain on a particular side of the fence. This Thompson-Mottley power struggle was predicted for years, and to be honest is panning out to be just shy of “poor rakey”. It is a shame that there was never a threat of a Barrow or Adams throwing their chips into the pot.

28. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

29. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

RA do not leave, we need you on the blog.

30. BAFBFP // March 3, 2009 at 12:39 am

I wonder where this RA lives though. (the lt) Leslie Barrow became a B.
    …………………………………………………………….
    Leslie Barrow was great Dipper daughter? Never noticed her around the political scene. Is the fat woman at UWI business school Jenine Comma her sister? Having heard Comma speak on subjects she knew very little about convinced me she is a fraud.

These jokers with political family connections use the family name to jump from DLP to BLP and vice versa following the sweets.

31. @David & TE

I meant on this thread – there is not much left to add to the debate for now. They are talking recapitalisation with either a public or private option on the table. I simply do not want to descend here into a manufactured debate sitting within the realm of fantasy.

@Adrian Hinds

I wish my prose, feelings or victim status were the problem. Entertaining stuff.

I speak to your argument exclusively in the following, not the personality whom I have never met but with whom I’d readily share a few Banks’ – anyone who has paid the price of emigrating has my admiration.

Virtually your entire line of attack, such as it is, is constructed around what appears to be a deep-seated emotional need to relate perceived historical injustices and events to the contemporary – however tenuous the linkages. With fervour bordering, to this point, on insensibility to reason you imply or state straight out:

* Sagicor is some sort of neo-Plantocratic tool of oppression
    * Clico is the champion of the working class
    * Adams junior is part of an insidious conspiracy to destroy Clico because…he is an Adams

You may draw psychological comfort peddling this historic fundamentalism; and I am content you lay it out for all to judge – transparency works in most things, not only for Clico. But these remain visceral positions, not reasoned ones.

It is said a lie gets half way around the world before the truth even rolls out of bed and puts on its trousers. Here I substitute “lie” with “inexactitude” for I doubt the former was your intent.

You said:

“Now i am a simple minded man and i choose to see your comparison as making the case for clico policy holder to, ..not wait, not trust the GoB approach to protecting their interest and to move their policies with haste to Sagicor.”

You “choose” indeed. Read again my lines and you will see, if you “choose” to:

* More than one acknowledgement that the gov explicitly protected the policyholders from the start

* No reference to the trustworthiness or not of the government. I stated that the view Clico Intl Life is sound is almost certainly wrong and this has proved to be the case. But saying someone is wrong is not the same as saying that they are untrustworthy.

* It is frighteningly delusional to allege Sagicor vs Clico is a theme in my contributions that “came through clearly everytime”. Everytime? A commenter raised it not me. Possibly my clearest message of all was not to “move” to Sagicor but something close to the polar opposite. But why let a tabloid conclusion be stopped by the facts? My exact words – and perhaps they were what you had in mind when describing the prose as needlessly complex – were “for clarity’s sake, let me add I would avoid the sector”. In English this means, when it comes to investing in Sagicor or any insurer, “avoid the sector”. In Bajan, “doan get into dat, man”.

* I take the comments on my timing “to assist the destruction of Clico” as I would timing at the crease – I wish I had such potent ability (nb: destroying Bajan jobs is not currently one of my ambitions, destroying the Eng attack in Port of Spain is). Choosing to write at BU, with all due respect to David, does not quite draw the audience of a public meeting in Carlisle Bay car park. And to my certain knowledge I do not dictate when the Nation or the Advocate will choose to print columns. And again, as mentioned several times before, I said what Clico needed was a recapitalisation. Not “destruction”. Inconvenient for your fantastic position but there it is.

That you “choose” to see these views for what they are not is, I suggest, something neither rhyme nor reason will alter. You speak of not viewing matters in a “sterile” context. Yet yours is about as sterile and artificial as is conceivable. Still, this is at least consistent with your use of the terms “conviction” and “refusal”, the most representative motifs of a style of illogic running through the conspiracist paranoia of your arguments.

Leaving this thread for now is resignation to the fact that emotional dogma is never persuaded away from its propaganda and always finds a way to fits the story to pre-fabricated conclusions.

Miscellaneous:

1) I pass over most of the hysteria decorating your case but stop at the notion of “news junkie” as an insult. It is the opposite (I am one), not some back-hander on your admirable capacity for reading the national press or blog-jumping promiscuity. But possibly you have learnt less than you imagine about thin skinnedness.

2) Interesting article on Sagicor’s losses you point to. It is the same style as that which prompted the commenter to ask me for my views on the firm. The awkward answer which you “choose” to ignore is that the difference in leverage between the two is what makes Clico’s position dangerous. Sometimes complexity is not so needless after all.

32. Adams
    You didnt have to hit the foolish idiot so hard. It aint his fault that he cant understand English. I doubt he can understand most of what you said, even though it was a beautiful piece of prose written logically by someone with a brain.

It will be most interesting to read his puerile response.

33. @RJH Adams

Appreciate your feedback. We are a simple blog with a simple but clear purpose, to bring PEOPLE obviously of a Bajan flavour to knock heads by discussing issues to move us along the continuum of knowledge.

We are fortunate to have people on BU who occupy all backgrounds, the debate becomes robust/muscular at times but given your lineage that should not be a problem 🙂

34. Man RA yuh shouldn’t hit muh suh hard. ha ha ha dam how do you expect me to respond to all of that? The truth is that i did read all of your contributions and found them to be very sound. But I could not help being mischevious even if it meant receiving the lashes you have thrown my way. So i cherry picked the few comments that i could, to blow them up into something that would get most people going. I wanted to see what you were made off and may bitten off more than i could chew, so be it. However i am still not absolutely convince away from the belief, that your visit to Bajan media at this time isn’t calculated, and I don’t think anyone can move me away from my views on sagicor no matter that a man like Bullets (Sir Hillary) now sits on the board. Sometime belief has no basis in reality. lol! I don’t drink Banks beer nuh more, How about scotch? ha ha ha ha

Your rise to the challenge was nostalgic for me. I know such is not your intent, but sometimes it is very difficult to hide who we are.

35. @RA, tell de truth though. You claim to have read my comments on other blogs, what other blogs would these be? Did we ever had an exchange before?

Everybody claims tuh know this online fool from some past forum or blog, but I remain non-wiser as to who anyone might be! dah don’t seem fair. lol!

36. Don’t Worry Lionel I am committed to publishing my copy of the Mutual affair, online, and uh aint care wuh Bullets gine say or do.

[quote]
    Lionel // February 13, 2009 at 2:22 pm

THE PERFECT RECIPE FOR
    SABOTAGE
    “POLITICS & PROPAGANDA”
    What was meant to be destroyed has only become stronger. Clico Holdings Barbados has withstood the storm of politics and propaganda. This in my mind has unearthed some striking events and some unanswered questions.
    The former Prime Minister of Barbados Mr. Owen Seymore Arthur has recently made a statement saying, “Government must come clean on the Clico issue”. Under the Arthur administration, Marion Williams, the Governor General of the Central Bank of Barbados, a lady with unquestionable character was chosen for that office, which successfully governs over all financial institutions in Barbados. This regulatory system in Barbados which is enforced by the Central Bank can boost of having the third best regulated system in the world, Canada first and Chile second. This is the same system that makes it absolutely imperative that Banks, Credit Unions and Insurance Companies fulfill their statutory requirements in order to protect the interest of customers, share holders, and investors. This is the same regulated system that Mr. Arthur had so much confidence in just over a year ago. I can agree with you Mr. Wickham, without a shadow of a doubt there is “something fishy”. Clico Holdings Barbados has to abide by the rules, regulations and restrictions of the Central Bank if not Clico runs the risk of insolvency, as a result giving the Central Bank the legal right to close the doors of Clico . That being the case, the Governor General of the Central Bank of Barbados and the Supervisor of Insurance has said in unison that Clico has fulfilled it’s statutory requirements so there was no need to panic. The Central Bank took it a step further by putting their money $10m where their mouth is.
    The most amazing phenomenon is that Sagicor in Barbados lost millions dollars US last year because their investments were exposed in the US market where the genesis of the financial crisis took place, and not one word was uttered on the radio stations. White? Sorry I meant why? Not one word of concern came from the opposition leader, the former Prime Minister, Douglas Skeete or any of the so called educated intellectuals of Barbados. Why?
    A few years ago Julie “N” was on track to becoming the next BS&T. What happen? Cleverly engineered espionage by the conglomerates who felt threaten? Who knows!
    Apart from Clico, are there any other black owned conglomerates in Barbados?
    Can anyone out there source the book entitled, “The Mutual Affair”? This book had the same affect in Barbados that the book “Satanic Verses” had on the eastern world, unmasking bitter truths. Whatever happened to the strong an authoritative voice of Mr. Beckles? What about Gladstone Yearwood? The publisher of Lighthouse Communications.
    These are only a few of the striking events and unanswered questions the injustices of recent has unearthed in my mind.
    The one question I can surely answer, Can Clico become the wealthiest conglomerate in the region? The famous words of Barrack Obama come to mind, “Yes we can, yes we can”.

37. […] Supervisor Of InsuranceThe Illegal Immigration Problem In Barbados: A Time-Bomb Waiting To ExplodeWhat Can We Say About The CLICO Affair?Prime Minister David Thompson To Meet The Press, AGAIN!When Is A Chicken Wing Not A Chicken […]

38. “The government has implicitly guaranteed policy holders and the accusations of political panic mongering ought to take account of that.”

That being the case R Adams, what’s the point? Are you just jerking off on words? Or did Mia call out an Adams to bat simply to let Owen know she has pedigree?

Tell us.

39. AH that is the question that my friends and I were asking today we dont understanding the deafening silence.

You think they have been bought …….

Oh God I hope not all of those who would have stood up for their belief have disappeared with migration ……

like yourself and GP and God knows how many more ……..

40. AH, the record will show that I asked RA to make the comparison with Sagicor and he gracefully obliged. If you do not like his response and his analysis perhaps you can advance facts to refute them.

RA, I have been trying to find your recent Nation article online but the search facility does not seem to work properly on the revamped Nation website. Could you provide the article or a link to it?

41. Sorry, the anonymous post above is mine.

42. A. Hinds is such a …simpleton but then again I would only be paraphrasing his opinion of himself. His pathetic response to the scolding from Adams, re “I wanted to see what you were made off and may bitten off more than i could chew, so be it” was only too typical of an insufferable blowhard.

43. JC what question?

@Brutus what facts? Adams is an apologist for sagicor. No coincident that he has now surface, no coincidence that his opinions are pro Sagicor Anti Clico. He is a Adams and he should be proud of it, as i will surely continue to link him to his Father’s reputation. De hammer aint fall yet. He is but the son of a notorious man!

@Anon, without a doubt Adams has not done anything to stop this blowhard. I am still here, still willing to challenge any and all. You got game? lol

44. @Wow & David

Thanks

@Adrian Hinds

It gives hope to see the door of reason open – even if you are keeping the security chain latched as tossing around words like “apologist”. What you think of Sagicor is rightly your business. But please don’t try to tell me what I think of them.

No, we have never had an exchange before. And how nice it would be to be taken at my word concerning reading your comments before: BFP before you were ridiculously banned (writing that under correction) and I stopped reading them; and Barbados Forum are two that spring to mind. And no, I have no wish to “stop’ the “blowhard” opinionating.

Prefer XO.

Of course there is calculation in writing here and to the press. Just not the sort you settled on. The public were not being fully informed of profound weaknesses in CF Financial and Clico Intl Life – they are both terribly exposed. Policy cannot be made successfully on issues where key information is lacking. And into the vacuum seeped politics, clouding much.

Now ICBL is in talks. That’s a good thing and it will be interesting to see the result given ICBL’s Bermudian parent, BF&M, is not much larger than Clico Intl Life. ICBL’s asset base, though, is two and a half time smaller than Clico Intl Life’s.

@Brutus

I’ll send the original it to David rather than take up space here with it, assuming he does not object to serving as a mailbox.

@Wuh?

*Sigh*. There are motivations other than the poetic and political ones you offer. In fact, you said it well enough yourself in related thread, just before claiming Clico was “safe”:

“This is about Barbados and jobs and investment. I am glad that our citizens are above the petty fray in this issue and ignore your silly commentators who have personal vendettas and acrimony.”

Admirable words everyone ought to try to live up to.

45. But where did you come from in the Nation all of a sudden and why now when Mia is under pressure for bringing a nonsensical motion?

Where were you for 14 years? These are valid question. Did Clico spur you and why? This appears to be AH’s line. I support it.

Your selective ignorance on Sagicor – although it was a point PM Thompson spoke about – tells a story.

Did David Thompson start the crisis? How long did this condition with Clico exist? Did you write to the Trinidad Guardian and Express when CL Financial had troubles? Or the London Times or Telegraph (where your mother originates and Ipresume you have some affinity) when Lehman’s and Northern Rock had problems?

46. Here is the article written below by Rawdon Adams as it appeared in the Advocate Newspaper on March 1. It also appeared in the Sunday Sun.

Several life insurers in Canada have been placed on negative review or downgraded in the last two weeks. The UK’s Financial Services Authority recently asked its life insurers to stress test their portfolios for fear that the sector is incapable of surviving more financial market shock. And US life insurance stocks – previously considered bastions of prudence – collectively fell 72% late last year on fears that their capital bases are also becoming dangerously unstable.

Yet in Barbados 38,000 policy holders – in an island with not many more than double that number of households – are being told, on the basis of accounting data nearly 14 months old and a regulatory regime described yesterday by the IMF as lacking adequate supervision, that a local firm in the same business is weathering the storm comfortably. And this despite the additional concern posed by the acute solvency problems of its ultimate parent, CL Financial.

Apparently, Sir, some today claim it is “unpatriotic” and “scaremongering” to point these things out. Better that we all “pull together”. That is a difficult task when it is not clear in which direction to pull. The surest way to waste the public purse in this matter is to omit the step of defining the problem accurately, transparently and on the basis of timely data (unfortunately absent in this case). An accurate diagnosis will help forge consensus and a way forward.

With that spirit in mind the key financial facts are these:

1. All life insurers do similar things: take in premium income; check
    to ensure policyholders are not suddenly living to be 150; control
    expenses; and optimise their investment portfolios. It is no shock
    they invest predominantly in the same international instruments
    and mirror each other’s fortunes.
    2. Clico International Life, some argue, is being singled out for
    attention on political grounds. That may be true but the fact –
    and it is a fact unless its 2007 accounts are wrong – is that they
    are financially levered at twice the level of rival Sagicor and so
    half as capable of absorbing financial shocks: for every $1 of
    capital from the owners on the balance sheet there are over $15 of
    assets.
    3. Bearing in mind the parallel that individuals rarely secure more
    than 3 times their income to buy a house, being levered 15 times
    means a less than 7% decline in the value of one’s assets destroys
    100% of one’s capital base.
    4. Leveraging a balance sheet that high that works well in rising
    markets but disastrously in falling ones. And financial markets
    fell faster in 2007 and 2008 than at any time since the Great
    Depression periods of 1937-1938 and 1929-1932. 15 times leverage,
    therefore, is today a somewhat imprudent position to occupy.
    5. The firm’s international bond holdings of $341m at end 2007, over
    30% of all its assets, contain a great deal of what is termed
    “investment grade” debt (IG). IG debt covers a broad church of
    issuers: US sovereign and agencies, emerging markets, mortgages,
    credit, high yield and so on. While Clico does not usefully detail
    its portfolio composition it is a fact that the returns from these
    different types of debt sat between +8% to –20% in 2008.
    6. The suggestion that Clico’s regional and local property assets
    offer it some kind of protection from the economic storm is
    disingenuous. Not only are these assets illiquid and stressed,
    they do not add up to much more than half the value of the more
    important debt security portfolio.

Sir, the Government has explicitly guaranteed policyholders on several occasions. The remaining question suggested by the points above is what to do with an under capitalised and over leveraged private local insurer. Waiting in the hope the assets recover – in the regulatory jargon this is termed “forbearance” – is risky given the severity and length of this downturn. The prudent alternative is a re-capitalisation.

Re-capitalising a private firm caught out badly with an inappropriately aggressive financial structure raises pointed questions about its management and its strategy. And these, generally, are questions best resolved by those injecting the capital. They take the risk and they decide on replacing, or not, management and strategy – much as Clico did with some of its own local acquisitions.

If these capital-scarce times demand a public solution, rather than the preferable private one, let it be informed by a bipartisan bloc. All the more so if the choice is an indirect, sleight-of-hand solution such as the mooted public re-purchase of Barbados National Bank equity. Imaginative, but a proposal that in these hugely uncertain financial times – for banks above all others – carries the very serious risk to taxpayers of overpaying.

Yours faithfully,

RJH Adams

24 February 2009

47. Straight talk Avatar

Give us the username and password for the link, or post it as a submission.

Sorry about that ST we fixed the link!

48. poppet exterminator Avatar
    poppet exterminator

RJH Adams, I pass my mantle over to you, a worthy opponent of poppets.

49. Oh lawd Wuh?!

come fuh some scratch grain! As your name suggests, these financial issues are waaaay too high for you. You are clearly more comfortable with topics such as who was a better cook, Dipper Barrow or Cammie Tudor or whether Contone should have won de peoples choice award.

50. As your name suggests, these financial issues are waaaay too high for you.

______

Anonymous,

What about your name? Real creative though!