Executive Chairman of CL Financial, parent company of CLICO
Executive Chairman of CL Financial, parent company of CLICO/Trinidad Express

Barbadians in the understandable emotion of the moment should resist the irresistible urge to discuss the current bailout of CLICO by the Trinidad government in a parisian and or political manner. This approach should extend to those who resent the lavish lifestyles of the CLICO Barbados executives who are known to ride around Barbados in high-priced luxury vehicles, and we understand there is an executive jet which is for the exclusive use of Chairman Leroy Parris and others of his bidding. Perhaps in the current climate the local CLICO management maybe persuaded to behave like a company which has modestly performed in comparison to a SAGICOR.

Back in July 2007 we hinted our concerns that Trinidad and Tobago had become the hegemonist of the Caribbean. At the time former Prime Minister Owen Arthur with lead for CSME matters seemed prepared to expose Barbadian companies to the highest bidder. The Arthur approach fitted well with the Port of Spain expansionist strategy given their cash rich position derived from a petro-based economy operating in a bullish global petro-market. The end result is that our largest conglomerate BS&T, our Barbados National Bank and other home-spun entities were gobbled-up by Trinidad investors. While the advantages of the Arthur strategy made a good economic argument BU has always been concerned about our ability to cope with the downside of such a strategy i.e. the mitigation of risk associated with the heavy concentration of Trinidadian ownership in a small Barbados market.

The inability of CARICOM to date to implement CSME has seen with it the inability to harmonize a regional financial regulatory body of any significance. The implication of not doing  so is stark given the current unravelling of  T&T government’s financial bailout of CLICO. Interestingly Neal & Massy, Ansa McAL and  One Caribbean Media are other Trinidadian controlled pan-Caribbean company operating in Barbados. It seems ironic that CSME was so widely touted under the previous administration but as far as we are aware there is no legislated unitary governance structure in place to manage pan-Caribbean companies.

We have with purpose highlighted the company One Caribbean Media (OCM) to illustrate the importance of implementing a regional regulatory governance structure. BU has been a harsh critic of the concentration of media ownership in Barbados given the importance of the Fourth Estate in a working democracy. The recent bailout by the T&T government now sees OCM being 23% owned by the government of Trinidad which will immediately entitle them to seat bodies on the OCM Board. We leave it to the BU family to study the implications in the absence of clear codes of governance in the prevailing climate.

After listening to VOB’s call-in show this morning we have to agree with Dr. Justin Robinson, on the horizon may loom an opportunity for Barbadians to buyout the assets of the local CLICO subsidiary. To be honest we don’t see in the current environment how CLICO local can bounce back given the dent in its home market compounded by the global financial crisis. The government of Barbados should move hastily to preempt a marathon run on the company if it appears evident by 9AM tomorrow. We hope that the Barbados government during its informal talks with Junior Minister of Finance Mariano Browne would have signalled such a plan.

A word of caution to Prime Minister David Thompson. Your self-confessed relationship with Chairman Leroy Parris places you in a very delicate position. Our suggestion may seem ridiculous but Chairman Parris should be encouraged to cede his authority to one of the other executive officers in the company for the obvious reasons as this matter unfolds.

The BU household wishes for a good result to the CL Financial (Parent) – CLICO fumble (we are writing this on Super Bowl Sunday). After all this is a company founded by a Black man and financially modest Trinidadian Cyril Duprey at the time in 1936. In 1936 it would have taken a black man with balls to do what he did. The company through the years has been become a large player in and out of the region.

This is a company which cannot be allowed to fail.

1. Bottom line basics …When all the media propaganda goes forth, all the fear is created, all Clico Bdos policyholders come for their money and all the dust settles. Where does all the wealth go back…I’d like to suggest the pockets of the usual few and the great work that Hilary Beckles started to do back in 1989 will take a giant step back just like when the Neville Rowe establishment fell.
    You can’t blame the masses because the fear is genuine concern after seeing all the local political babble. I can just imagine the Oligarches at the top just looking on and going, “look at all those crabs in the barrel”.

It sucks what any Black successful established organisation in Barbados must go through from the educated and upper middle class society in this country. It’s amazing the lengths we go to kill that organization….tell me in Barbados how many truly wealthy black people we have in this country that own significant land and have significant cash…anytime a black man or company dares make in roads into wealth any opportunity available is used to squash and silence that entity. That my friend is the the bottomline

2. SAGICOR loses Millions but CLICO makes news.
    As an investor in SAGICOR and a policy holder of CLICO and investor of a subsidiary company I can’t understand the noise that is being spread around about the later company. SAGICOR late last year admitted in the press that they lost a small portion of money (POLICY HOLDERS FUNDS) on the overseas stock markets. A small portion ($25 million) they said based on their asset base. Now I am in no way a financial guru but that seems to be a lot of “dinero.” As far as I have heard and I have to listen to the information given by the press, CLICO has not lost any money in the Trini/Bajan issue, so my concern is, “what’s the concern . . . so far?” It causes me to think that something other than what is being said is up by the media and those who influence the same media.

After a very, very, very small article in the press about the money SAGICOR lost and the fact that I and other investors had a decrease in our return on our investments no NOISE was kept about SAGICOR losing the $25 MILLION, no NOISE.

Now because of the size of the company I felt ok and comfortable that my investment is safe but again CLICO loss not a cent and they are being brandished all around the press every day with convenient politicians weighing in on the situation and causing panic for the Barbadian public with this non issue( my thinking).

Were they not concerned for the investments public and policy holders of SAGICOR? I don’t know because I didn’t hear their voices . . . at all. Could it be because CLICO is a black managed company and it has grown too large for some, especially only being around for a few years in comparison to SAGICOR’S over 150 years?
    I believe without a doubt that my two investment companies are in great shape financially and we should not allow propaganda to influence us in prematurely moving our investments from neither company.

3. CLICO take over of Rayside blocked Cow , Bizzy and their ilk from completely monopolising the road building and construction industries. At least Parris is good for something.
    ——————————————–
    Pity that Rayside is such a crap road builder though.

4. THE PERFECT RECIPE FOR
    SABOTAGE
    “POLITICS & PROPAGANDA”
    What was meant to be destroyed has only become stronger. Clico Holdings Barbados has withstood the storm of politics and propaganda. This in my mind has unearthed some striking events and some unanswered questions.
    The former Prime Minister of Barbados Mr. Owen Seymore Arthur has recently made a statement saying, “Government must come clean on the Clico issue”. Under the Arthur administration, Marion Williams, the Governor General of the Central Bank of Barbados, a lady with unquestionable character was chosen for that office, which successfully governs over all financial institutions in Barbados. This regulatory system in Barbados which is enforced by the Central Bank can boost of having the third best regulated system in the world, Canada first and Chile second. This is the same system that makes it absolutely imperative that Banks, Credit Unions and Insurance Companies fulfill their statutory requirements in order to protect the interest of customers, share holders, and investors. This is the same regulated system that Mr. Arthur had so much confidence in just over a year ago. I can agree with you Mr. Wickham, without a shadow of a doubt there is “something fishy”. Clico Holdings Barbados has to abide by the rules, regulations and restrictions of the Central Bank if not Clico runs the risk of insolvency, as a result giving the Central Bank the legal right to close the doors of Clico . That being the case, the Governor General of the Central Bank of Barbados and the Supervisor of Insurance has said in unison that Clico has fulfilled it’s statutory requirements so there was no need to panic. The Central Bank took it a step further by putting their money $10m where their mouth is.
    The most amazing phenomenon is that Sagicor in Barbados lost millions dollars US last year because their investments were exposed in the US market where the genesis of the financial crisis took place, and not one word was uttered on the radio stations. White? Sorry I meant why? Not one word of concern came from the opposition leader, the former Prime Minister, Douglas Skeete or any of the so called educated intellectuals of Barbados. Why?
    A few years ago Julie “N” was on track to becoming the next BS&T. What happen? Cleverly engineered espionage by the conglomerates who felt threaten? Who knows!
    Apart from Clico, are there any other black owned conglomerates in Barbados?
    Can anyone out there source the book entitled, “The Mutual Affair”? This book had the same affect in Barbados that the book “Satanic Verses” had on the eastern world, unmasking bitter truths. Whatever happened to the strong an authoritative voice of Mr. Beckles? What about Gladstone Yearwood? The publisher of Lighthouse Communications.
    These are only a few of the striking events and unanswered questions the injustices of recent has unearthed in my mind.
    The one question I can surely answer, Can Clico become the wealthiest conglomerate in the region? The famous words of Barrack Obama come to mind, “Yes we can, yes we can”.

5. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

I am no economist nor financial expert but this Clico problem continues worry me. Today the Trinidad Express reports that the Governor of the Trinidad Central Bank says that the situation is worse than they thought!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161439751

6. David Howell esq. Avatar

Many can learn from the serious losses posted by many large financial firms in the USA,,,,and now CLICO. Whereas, CLICO grew to be bigger than life itself in Trinidad…perhaps its management choices did not keep up with the pace. It is one thing to bring to the marketplace innovative investment vehicles pay up to 8% per year for a $1 Million Dollar investment for 2 years. That is the easy part! How did CLICO intend to earn these dividends for its clients? Investing in Florida Real Estate debacles did not help their cause either.

Quite often, a company just becomes too big to manage. One might say: “Big ideas with so-so management. We all know that the bigger government becomes the less effective it usually is. The same with a company. CLICO should go back to doing what it does best…which is…………

7. ‘Trained Economist’, I just noticed your wonderful name but wondered whether it was possible to be an economist without being trained?!!

Hand Technician, pride gun kill u!! u know wha I mene!!

8. ‘Trained Economist’, is on a par with ‘Little Boy’, ‘Negroman’ and others. Amazing but, singularly, BARBADIAN!! 🙂

Have a nice Barbadian day!!