Submitted by Yardbroom
trident

We are allowing standards to drop in Barbados, appealing to short term popularity rather than moral standards, honesty, decency and being …Law abiding.  “Some” of our Administrators are falling into an unholy alliance and trying to lead from behind.  They are confident of a cohort who will come to their aid accusing opponents of a “Colonial Mentality”. To refute the charge standards have dropped some have given examples of degrading behaviour and licentiousness on a wide scale in villages that they lived in as boys/girls in Barbados.  From the accounts they have given, I obviously lived in a different village…I do not say this with any regret.

We have taken this new mantra – colonial mentality – to such a level that commenters are being accused of hypocrisy by people who do not know them.  To substantiate such a charge they would have to bring evidence of hypocritical behaviour but there is no need for such “truth” to get in the way in this new anything goes society. The advocates of this short term expediency inveigle us of the need for a whorehouse in every street…why not they argue, let us not be uptight about it, get it out in the open.  Men have always paid for sex.  Marijuana should be legal they say it is better than tobacco and less dangerous, even “more natural”.  They cannot see the contradiction “natural” a human being inhaling smoke, that is natural.

In this new limitless utopia of mayhem one Lothario supported later by others said a particular hairstyle – nothing against the hairstyle – “was good because he could get a lot of women”.  A five minute “tryst” quickly forgotten even before the beach towel was shaken, under a palm tree on a “secluded beach” defined who he wanted to be.  To disagree with such “noble aspirations” ensures you are labelled as having a colonial mentality.

People of many races and colours have suffered at the hands of colonialism, yet they have forged forward to position themselves in the forefront of economic growth and development.  It is not by accident that the emerging new world order will encompass Nations that were once disadvantaged as a result of colonialism.

If the comments often made by “some” here are reflective of general society – thank God they are not – we are constantly blaming colonialism for everything which confronts us, for which decisive clear thinking is required.

A few of us carry around this “imaginary carapace” of colonialism in our heads to be used for our failings.  We seem not to notice that the actions we take and the decisions we make often account for our success or failure; short term sacrifice for long term gain determines our position in the scheme of things, it has nothing to do with colonialism.

Honesty, discipline, respect for the Law – not the bits we select – good order – with the hand of fairness for all – should be supported and encouraged… our schools need that direction.  If we fail to grasp this simple logic and rely on feeble excuses thus concentrating our minds only on the colonial “past” we will not achieve the objectives we are capable and thus render the aspirations of our young people unobtainable.  Not pleasant reading but it is true.

52 responses to “The "Imaginary" Yoke Of Colonialism Which Bedevils Us In Barbados And How It Has Affected The Thinking Of "Some" People”

1. I have said it very often and I will say it again:

We need to teach our people our history.
    I want to see adult education to cover all aspects of our history. W e will not be liberated until we know our history.

We have individuals strutting around the place and engaging in all sorts of activities denuded by their lack historical insight. It is so unbelievable, I cant understand how we can exist in such a state. Every major societal problem that confronts us has its origin in our history. Knowing our history would help to provide us with solutions.

Of course other things would have to be done to support and make the exercise meaningful but the teaching of history is fundamental.

How can we survive ?

One of my concerns is TOO MUCH FAT-on de road-

The origin of this Fat thing can be found within our history and knowing our history can point us to a solution.
    Not so long ago people used things such as weight gaining products to get FAT.

Why did this happen ??

2. On totally unrelated subject

Who is Verseewild-or Versewildless or whatever is the nomenclature
    what is Versewildless al about ?

3. Asiba
    You came on as the first blogger, talk a bunch of crap and then try changing the topic? If you don’t have a meaningful contribution to make, just shut ya trap. Have a good night, I mean no harm, just speaking my mind.

4. Yardbroom
    I totally agree with you, the moral standards which our ancestors have taught us seem to have gone through the window and replaced with greed, arrogance, selfishness and careless sex. Only yesterday I was told that there is this new thing in Barbados call, “wife swoping”. You go to a party and at a given time the fellows exchange wife/girlfriends and go off to have fun.This country sick, we’re going to the pits. Bajans take stock of yourselves, we’re heading down a steep slippery path to destruction.

5. Yardbroom

What are you really saying? I think you struggled on this one. I want to point out one thing though, our mindset is about failure. It seems that some feel that in order for them to succeed the majaority must fail.

We don’t need colonialism to blame. You know that the most juicy story is one about some black man that fail or make himself an idiot. We talk about others as though we are saints.

Now if that is not colonial slave mentality I don’t know what is… and if that is not being under the colonial yoke, then Ras I’Akobi Maloney should be alive because that fireman would not have call rapid response.

6. WOW !!

7. What a nonsensical post by Yardbroom but so typical of what has happened since the BLP was tossed from office. Yardbroom and BU were very effective before the election in addressing specific wrongdoing by the BLP and Arthur. Hardwood Housing comes to mind.

With the election of the DLP, however, the focus of BU and the published articles turned from targeting specifics of wrongdoing in government to general discussions of philosophy and history. Articles became carefully choreographed to avoid directly criticizing the new government.

BU’s readers need to take a trip down memory lane and read some of the articles from 18 months ago to fully appreciate the change that happened in this blog the day that Thompson became PM.

The celebration of the election of the DLP government here at BU never ended. BU and most of the DLP regulars here do not hold the current government up to the scrutiny and standards that they demanded from the BLP.

8. How it bedevils “some” people sounds so condescending and pharisaical. “Oh no, not me, I am not like other men”. Why are you using the “rod” of anti- colonialism to beat those who disagree with you, Yardbroom?

9. Yardbroom I usually am an avid supporter and reader of yours however ……… not this time.

In order for one to know onesself one must know their past. full stop!

10. We are allowing standards to drop in Barbados, appealing to short term popularity rather than moral standards, honesty, decency and being …Law abiding.

Yardbroom, I believe I know precisely, who ur referring to and one of them is n’t very, far from here, either, it’s just that I’m not mentioning any names, this time, but I so, DO, agree with u!!

11. What happened with Hardwood Housing? Thompson waived documents around like he waived the cheque that Arthur put into his personal bank account.

Nothing done in both cases. Why not?

12. Dear BU,

1. I am minding my business.

2. With the utmost respects and in all humility, should not “Yardbroom” [Yoke of Colonialism et seq] and other contributors insert some “examples” to aquaint readers with aspects of what is being said?

3. That is the essence of good writing. No offence intended

13. Yardbroom, I’ve just noticed your interesting use of the term, “‘imaginary’ yoke” and guess u might have had very, interesting reasons for using the term, ‘imaginary’!! Perhaps, u would care to elaborate!!

14. Why do ya all bother to entertain that clown Yardbroom?

Shupes!

15. @ The Rev O G Butler Dec 12, 2008 at 10:53 am

I do not recall seeing your name on BU before, if I should have forgive me. With regard to your question (2) examples:

Topic :Has Barbados Lost Its Innocence?
    @ Anonymous Nov 13, 2008 at 11:33pm
    I quote…”When Yardbroom aint pon some moralistic campaign he does be pon de good old days bandwagon. He backing off de moralistic nonsense since he get lambaste bout all de bulling priests and de jippy doyles of this world”…

Topic: Is This What We Want Barbados
    @ Johnie Too Bad Dec 10, 2008 at 11:42 am

I quote…” Pied Piper, I don’t propose to make the case for the religious right or the church, god knows they are enough of our churchmen doing their thing with or to their flock”…

Topic Dreadlocks: A Common Sense Approach and Nonsense.
    @ RE Engineer Dec 3, 2008 at 2:29pm
    Quote: …” It also amuses me the number of white tourists that come to this island for a roll in the hay with a big black dreadlocked man”…

Topic: Marijuana The Law and Police Enforcement in Barbados
    @ROK Nov 28 2008 at 3:13pm
    Quote…”The smoking of marijuana can be mainly considered an act against oneself. While this may be so for other substances, and may be an argument for them too, I distinguish Marijuana from them by the fact that it is grown naturally while all the rest are man-made and dangerous not just to the person but to society. Marijuana does not extend there at all”…

Topic: Is this What We want In Barbados?
    Anonymous Dec 9 2008 at 1:36 am
    Quote…”We want the right to pick fares without anyone telling us hogwash about what is morally right or wrong”…

…”stop making a big do about nothing. It’s only sex! If people selling it and buying it, then that’s there business”…

@ Centipede Dec 9, 2008 at 9:08
    In response to another commenter. Quote…”By the way- your wife is a whore. You don’t want to hear that. And you are a whore. You may not get paid in cash, or you may not pay cash–but it is a quid pro quo situation…
    Wise up…”

May I offer a simple definition of a whore: prostitute or promiscuous woman.
    Promiscuous: indulging in casual relationships.

The above notes give a background to the submission and are not meant as an attack on the individuals quoted. Submissions are about ideas and debate, individuals are less important.

With regard to your 3rd point: good writing.
    Good writing is like a good “Sermon” it is either very good or sometimes awful you never know what you are going to get until you are sitting in church…then it is too late.
    I hope the above have adressed your concerns.

16. Yardbroom, did u not notice that I, too, asked u a question or is there some other reason for your not answering it? I hate to think you’re being deliberately, ignorant!!

17. Yardbroom // December 12, 2008 at 4:35 pm

With regard to your 3rd point: good writing.

Good writing is like a good “Sermon” it is either very good or sometimes awful you never know what you are going to get until you are sitting in church…then it is too late.

I hope the above have adressed your concerns.

This round is yours Yardbroom. ha ha ha ha, he, he, he, he. Wuhloss…..

18. @ 199
    It was an oversight, I am never intentionally discourteous – deliberately ignorant? yes! – but not discourteous.

Imaginary in this context means it is only in the mind of those who wish to see it, it being omnipotent colonialism.

19. Yardbroom

I am willing to argue that once it is in the mind it is real. Moreso, it is real becsue our laws support, the judicial system support it, our politicians treat us as though it exist and make decisions that are based colonial principles; the status quo holds up a colonial approach to governance.

The colonial yoke is real but I agree we have the power to remove it. Why is this not being done? Why do we continue to steep ourselves in it?

20. @ROK

Do you accept that other peoples have had thousand of years to grow as a people and in the scheme of things we maybe still suffering from growing pains?

21. What is wrong with teaching our history ?

What is wrong with such a call

22. Why cant people see the need to teach us our history.

Why would my call disturb anybody

23. @David

I agree that peoples, nations, races have had thousands of years to grow. I do not accept that we are suffering from growing pains. That would be to not recognise that we are Africans with thousands of years of history.

The only thing we suffering from is a political will to accept our Africanity and secondly, the sweets of corruption that comes with colonialism seem too hard for our politicians to let go. Not only Barbados, but the colonial Caribbean.

More of this needs to happen:
    http://bangospeaks.blogspot.com/2008/12/sa-rallies-behind-president-mugabe.html

24. Asiba,

Keep saying it. The more we hear it the more we will come to believe it and someday in the not too distant future, we will do something about it.

25. The colonial yoke is real but I agree we have the power to remove it. Why is this not being done? Why do we continue to steep ourselves in ——BY—-ROK

It is not being done because we have not done what we should have done long time ago. Knowing your history is important. Knowing your history is Liberating . Simple fact Appreciating of the other person within our society can be enhanced by us knowing our history. In this society for example, we would get to see the origins of certain problems and why the problems developed in the first place. We would be in a better position to correct such problems.

Though it seems simplistic to some , what I alluded to above re FAT and overeating has its origin in our experience during slavery. Just think about it. This is not crap.

Isn’t slavery blamed for the village ram attitude of some of our men ? If we were to take our men back on a journey through history and show them why this came about and if we were to preach to and convince them about the virtues of monogamy, my contention is that we would see a change. Show them that they do not have to continually prove themselves as men by demonstrating this behaviour of going around breeding women and leaving children to be reared by single mothers-

My submission is that this would go a long way to solving a few problems.

This is my perspective —-I dont mean to offend anyone—-what the hell who gets offended thats their frigging business

26. Asiba

I want to take you on with this monogamy thing. I have no problem with what you are saying, but I would replace the word monogamy with the word fidelity or loyalty.

You see, I just posted a piece which related the example of two female attorneys who got married to the same man and lives under the same roof.

My idea is that whatever the living arrangements, the man (or the woman for that matter) should not go outside it.

As an advocate for the teaching of our history in schools, you should know that Africa has not been traditionally monogamists. You only have to go back to Mary and Joseph in your own Bible.

So where did this Monogamy come from? What is its purpose? I hope “you” don’t get offended. I am sure that you would agree that there are women who would share a man and there may be some men that could share a woman… and that if that is what suits them, who should deny them?

Before I go any further, I would want to hear your comment. Also I answered the question in a post above but it was moderated because of the link in it. See two posts above; refresh your page first.

27. Asiba not a damn thing ain’t wrong with what you are asking for!

I was reading in the paper a couple months back that a white couple came to Barbados and wanted to find some black relatives. These people were so fussy; however, I started to think suppose some Africans from the West Coast of Africa decided to come and look for their relatives, and approached us and said we are your family and tried to prove to us that they were indeed family. I was wondering if we would be as happy as those persons were……hmmmm…..

Not a thing wrong with what you are asking Asiba Not a damn thing!

28. @ROK

Wasn’t that Africanity severely influenced by the Eurocentricity caused by the bondage experience? What are we missing? You can’t be seeing it as a continuum?

29. The Africanity was more like severely compromised. Of course their is continuum; our music, the way we do things in a distinctly African way. Our sense of justice; the Landship, etc. We hid it and continue to hide it but it is there. We feel it and it surely is different to what we are taught.

30. Yardbroom // December 12, 2008 at 7:04 pm

@ 199
    It was an oversight, I am never intentionally discourteous – deliberately ignorant? yes! – but not discourteous.

Imaginary in this context means it is only in the mind of those who wish to see it, it being omnipotent colonialism.

Er, yes, thank u Yardbroom. I rather knew that that was what u meant but hoped ud elaborate on why YOU, in particular, consider it to be only, imaginary, i.e. why r the others wrong and u right!!

31. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-still 2 much FAT on the road // December 12, 2008 at 10:40 pm

Why cant people see the need to teach us our history.

What’s the miracle-cure which u suppose that ‘teaching us our history’ is going to produce!! Instant millionaires??

32. If we were to take our men back on a journey through history and show them why this came about and if we were to preach to and convince them about the virtues of monogamy, my contention is that we would see a change.

Maybe, I’m mistaken, but I’m pretty, sure I’m not, but African men ( WHO LIVE IN AFRICA) are, in my experience, among the most promiscuous, men in the world and most, polygamous so, I don’t know what u expect we can learn from them, not to mention that AFRICA is the continent with the biggest AIDS problem in the world, which hardly, supports your argument of marital, fidelity!!

33. 199
    you have completely missed the point and have demonstrated exactly why it is crucially important for us to know our history.

I am calling on the Prime Minister of Barbados to deal with this matter. If the Prime Minister wants to really make a mark, now is the time; here is the opportunity.

34. Rok

If I were to agree with you,-IF- , I would say monogamy and then fidelity because you creep before you walk.

Yes I understand where it came from but within the context of our Caribbean space, we have to determine what exactly is good for us and we must be informed and guide by our history-it should be drilled into heads-yes drilled. One of the things the europeans understand was drills.

What I see ultimately is the improvement of humankind in all aspects, particularly with regards to all of our relationships with each other.

First, we study our history then we understand that we are not lesser beings. Next we regain the confidence to move forward because this confidence was undermined and maligned by the historical experience of the de-humanising act of european/caribbean slavery.

When I look around today I continue to see indications of a lack of awareness of our history manifesting in many ways, I continue to see that lack of confidence exhibited. Some of us take for granted that what is -is ok : this is how it should be and this is how it will be as if change never happens so we fail to mount a challenge.

I take the issue of FAT again. Not that I want to attack or irritate anyone but I have chosen this as an avenue into the subject. It is my avenue, my perspective-just a tool to argue a point one of many others by different persons–no offense to anyone-(it also helps in promoting the song-)

I see the FAT thing it so much as representing this lack of awareness and this lack of connection and understanding of our history. Why would people desire to get FAT. where did the image of the FAT jolly person living in a big plantation house, sitting around doing nothing, dressed in finery-(jacket an tie etc)-the epitome of success while the slave in the field toiling and slaving for little reward——where did this image come from ?—–incidentally our pre-occupation with aquiring the BIG house has its origins here also. This is why you have BIG houses nowadays with just one person -mostly a lot of women –living inside——–
    ‘The BIG house Syndrome.’

All of these things have their origins within the European versus the African way of life and their origins: Europe with its bitter cold meant that every man had to look out for himself to stave off that bitter winter; he had to acquire things, he had to hoard-saving for the rainy day-hence the mentality–he had to develop certain skills of survival-exploiting other people, ruthless in a desperate survival of the fittest kinda way etc

The African on the other hand was free to roam, picking up and moving when the time came-vibrant and reflective of the sunshine and life of the climate and surroundings-no need to hoard anything -subsistence living –given to dancing music and a celebration of life-keeping life simple -developing certain skills. So when Europeans described Africans as lazy and not wanting to work, you understand where the idea came from.

Unfortunately these and other stereotypical views have continued down the years.

The europeans did serious damage to the minds of the Africans to justify slavery

why has these myths prevailed ?-

ANSWER: We have not taught our history and we are going nowhere fast-acquiring material things is not all-going to university and getting qualified to get a job or promotion just to get more money to buy material things is not all-we need to t wake up and get conscious—or get conscious and wake up-which is it ?

Remember this is my view, it is not gospel, it is just one man’s perspective and it was written spontaneously and it is long -not meant to offend but to promote discussion that leads to action

-so lets have discourse with rancour-please !

35. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-still 2 much FAT on the road // December 13, 2008 at 5:42 am

you have completely missed the point

Anybody can say that anytime but, how about PROVING how I’ve missed, it!!

FAT?? Now what’s all that nonsense!!

36. Asiba,

I must admit that I have not been there for a while. Yes, the harsh reality of the cold meant that each man had to have his food supply, and furthermore, so as not to be cooped up in a small space during the winter, they built lavish houses so as to have more warm space or sheltered area to roam in.

So here come capitalism. It reminds me of the cricket and the ants. The ants toiled all day during the summer to hoard food in preparation for the summer, while the cricket was dancing and basking in the sun. When winter comes along the cricket had no food and I imagine, became the slave to the ants in order to earn his food/keep.

37. Asiba,

I want to enter the monogamy vs. polygamy discussion. I am remembering Scout here too because the monogamy argument is what is licking us.

This brings us back to roles within the family. You know of course that in polygamous relations the rule is that the wife chooses the second wife??? For obvious reasons too. If the two wifes don’t get along and if the first wife does not feel a part of the decision, then it will all break down.

What western society has done is remove this option from the family. Of course, I believe that the idea of the extended family has its roots in the idea of polygamy.

A child, for example, belonged to the village and would be cared for in the Village or by a villager when it is outside the home.

A woman may want her husband to marry another woman for any amount of reasons. First, in lieu of hiring a maid, maybe if there are many children in the family.

It may also be an economic consideration because three of four working together will certainly beat two and hence, you have a family that is much better off and enjoy a higher standard of living and self sufficiency.

I am not going to rule out polygamy as something that can happen. You see, when you place polygamy into the equation, the picture is much clearer and more understandable.

The man is head of the household but what the woman says (goes) has tremendous influence… a wise man would hardly go against the consensus of his two (or more) wives.

I challenge you to view the historical perspective in the context of polygamy and you will see that what the Bible says makes great sense, whereas, given the propensity of the man to impregnate women, it can’t make sense in a monogamous world.

For example, in a monogamous world, society has to protect the woman but in a polygamous world that would have to be turned around. Not only that, in a polygamous world, divorce would more than likely be eliminated.

38. @ 199 Dec 13, 2008 at 3:49am

I gave a personal perspective of what I believe to be the case. In doing so I was careful to note “some” because there are others who feel as I do, and some who do not.

In certain issues it is not a question of being dogmatic and right with others being wrong. The object of a Submission – in some cases – is to tease out opinion and stimulate debate. During the course of debate opinions may become reinforced others can change. You don’t necessarily have to agree with an opposing view but you are able to see the reasoning which lead him/her to their position.

You can also have great respect and sometimes admiration for someone despite having a contrary view. During this exchange there is no need for invective – certainly on my part – but I must take cognizance of how others wish to conduct their affairs…which is their right.

The past does not change Colonial or not it is “fixed”…it will be so for a thousand years and more. Will we be still blaming our “colonial past”.

We can influence the future, it is the influence we have on the future which will determine or success or failure.

If we give our young people ready excuses some will use them. We have to change that mindset.

I am not aware that you have stated your position, but whatever it is , I am prepared to accept it in good faith.

39. Yardbroom, there is nothing wrong with blaming our colonial past. There is nothing else to blame. The thing is to say it often enough to do something about it. Just that we seek the answer within the same colonialism that we are blaming. Makes no sense to blame it and then embrace it.

40. What I find amusing is how we perjoratively designate things. Those things or actions that are of long standing use are either traditional or colonial regardless of origin i.e. traditional if these are ‘good’: colonial if these are deemed ‘bad’.

41. Devil

Everything in context. one can say traditionally “colonial” or “African”. So when one says traditional it has to be in some context. We may get mixed up with origin, of course.

42. From the moment Adam tried ‘passing’ the buck, and sought to blame God his creator, for the ‘free’ will choice he made to disobey Him, “The woman whom You gave to be with me, she gave me of the tree, and I ate.” (Gen. 3:12).

Notice also, what Eve said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.” (v.13b).

Neither Adam nor Eve had the fortitude, courage, to be honest and take full responsibility for their respective ‘free-will’ choices they made, BUT, rather attempted to ‘blame’ God.

Thus, began the Adamic syndrome of ‘passing’ the buck, and IT has never stopped from then until this very day.

Mankind, in his ‘fallen’ sinful, depraved condition must find someone to blame for his bad decisions, etc, etc.

No where is this malady more evident, than in little children, boys and girls, regardless of colour, class, ethnicity and so on; just observe them playing, what ever, they ‘blame’ lie, cheat, are selfish, everything short of murder!

One never has to teach a child to do anything ‘wrong’ why not? Because we ‘all’ come out of our mother’s womb as ‘sinners’ we DO NOT become ‘sinners’ because we ‘sin’ NO, we SIN because we ‘all’ are sinners; its inherent in our very nature, passed on from Adam, the first liar, and SINNER.

What’s my point? Well, this discussion on blaming Colonialism, as some do, is a ‘Red-Herring’ passing the buck, it just does not work. BUT, passing the buck and ‘blaming’ someone is deeply rooted in our SIN nature, rather than standing up and taking accountability for our own choices, mistakes, whatever!

ALL of our history, can only be truly understood by looking carefully at the true ‘origin’ of mankind.

Yes, cultural aspects certainly play in part in our behavior, BUT, the real cause and source of all that first went wrong, is found only in God’s account as recorded in Genesis.

43. Yardbroom, I thank u for trying to answer my question and giving me your reasons for using the word “some” in your article. However, I was more interested in your use of the word ‘imaginary’, i.e. do u yourself, see the ‘yoke’ as being imaginary or do YOU perceive it as being real and a real, obstacle to our progress??

44. David,

If 199 come back with the foolishness he start with, you should ban him. We now know that he can do better.

45. @ ROK…

Leave 199 alone.
    He comes on BU and stirs up silly debates, then goes on BFP and insults and criticizes David, calling him all sorts of names.
    He is just another BFP lackey who seems hell bent on discrediting BU.
    Has anyone noticed that BU seems to be in BFP’s crosshairs recently?
    From the ‘Seasons Greetings’ affair to the so called encouragement of BWWR to harass the Knox family.
    I say let him stay, don’t ban him, we all see him now for what he really is…..a 2faced lackey!!

46. Technician’s obviously, got nothing better to do today and fancies a rant!! Go ahead, my dear fellow. I have n’t the time for your nonsense. I’m sure that David’s quite capable of speaking for hiimself and has said nothing on the issue. I’m sure David can take a little rib-tickling from time to time without losing his marbles!!

I’d still be interested in a reply from Yardbroom, though!!

47. BTW, I’m not 100% convinced that BFP really, meant that criticism, so far away from Christmas and consider it may have been their own wind-up, of David!!

Technician was the only one to get a hysterectomy over it!!

Yardbroom, if ur unable to answer the question, I’ll quite understand!!

48. Poor you, 199..

Now they have the lackey doing PR/ damage control too.

Your hypocrisy has no bounds

49. ROK // December 13, 2008 at 4:48 pm

If 199 come back with the foolishness he start with, you should ban him. We now know that he can do better.

Thank u ROC, I’ll try and remember always, to be serious when I visit a Barbadian site however, it is n’t easy for me as being happy is an intrinsic and perhaps, the dominant aspect of my personality!

Technician, simply won’t be happy, until we’re all gunga-smoking, smashed-out-of-our-brains, dribbling, rasta, muggers which I don’t propose to allow us to become, at least, not without a fight!!

50. Technician // December 13, 2008 at 9:07 pm

Poor you, 199..

Now they have the lackey doing PR/ damage control too.

Correspondingly, I assume that YOU’RE doing DAVID’S PR for him!! Did he ask u to!!