Submitted by Terence Blackett

PURPOSE BEYOND THE CURSE: Reclaiming Barbados’ Future from the Shadows of Violence

Philosophical Anchor: Søren Kierkegaard’s “Purity of Heart is to Will One Thing” meets Dr. King’s “Letter from Birmingham Jail” – “Truth as the unstoppable current that either drowns the deceitful or carries the courageous…”

PREFACE

DEDICATED TO MY WIFE’S FAMILY WHO LOST A YOUNG MAN 25 YEARS YOUNG TO GUN VIOLENCE ON SATURDAY NIGHT 26TH JULY 2025 @ SCARBOROUGH, CHRIST CHURCH – A STONE’S THROW AWAY FROM THE POLICE STATION

Joshua chapter 7, verse 13, weaves an existential, ethical, and communal reflection into a foreboding, ancient warning: “There is an accursed thing in the midst of thee…”

The Weight of Hidden Brokenness: A Preface to Divine Admonition

These words pierce through ‘millennia’ not merely as ancient judgment, but as an eternal mirror held to the human condition. At their core lies a truth both devastating and liberating: no collective – whether nation, community, or soul – can flourish while harbouring unaddressed “Corruption, Vice or Malevolent Intrigue”. The “accursed thing” is more than Achan’s stolen plunder; it symbolizes the unconfessed fracture festering beneath the surface of our shared existence as modern-day sons and daughters of Abraham.

Philosophically, this passage confronts us with three irreducible realities:

• The Inescapability of Moral Entanglement

We are bound to one another in ways deeper than geography or blood. Like a poisoned root tainting the whole tree, hidden deceit, exploitation, or violence inevitably weakens the body communal. Israel’s defeat at Ai was not military failure but spiritual collapse – a reminder that societies crumble first within before falling without.

• The Illusion of Compartmentalization

Humanity’s great delusion is that we can isolate our transgressions – that private greed, silenced trauma, or systemic injustice will not metastasize. Yet the text thunders: Thou canst not stand before thine enemies. The unconfessed sin becomes the unseen crack in the foundation, guaranteeing collapse under pressure.

• The Terrible Mercy of Exposure

God’s demand to take away the accursed thing is not vengeance, but radical grace. It forced ancient Israel – and us (modern Israel) into the purifying fire of truth. For only in dragging darkness into light can healing begin. The alternative is the slow asphyxiation of the soul: a people preserving “ROT” within their walls while blaming the storm outside.

Modern Echoes of an ‘Ancient Curse’

Today, our “accursed things” wear new names:

• The normalized “GOVERNMENT” corruption eroding democracies
  • The unhealed wounds and scars of a post-traumatic historical injustice
  • The complicity in systems that dehumanize the vulnerable, punishes the weak while the rich and powerful get off scotch-free

Joshua 7:13 strips away our evasions. It declares that no army, economy, or ideology can protect a society actively preserving its own brokenness. Victory – whether spiritual, moral, or communal – demands the courage to excavate, excise and eviscerate the buried poison. Until we do, we remain like Israel of old: bewildered in defeat, praying for deliverance – while clinging to the very thing that enslaves us.

This passage is no tribal relic. It is a searing diagnosis of our shared human crisis – and the non-negotiable path to liberation. The divine ultimatum remains: “Remove the accursed thing, or remain kneeling before lesser gods…”

Introduction

The gunshots that shattered the night in Scarborough, just above Oistin’s last evening, is reminiscent of what occurred in Bayland, St. Michael, which did more than claim another young life – they tore at the soul of a nation. Leandrew “Babar” Coward, just 33 years old, was waiting for his mother when multiple bullets ended his journey, leaving behind a 13-year-old daughter and a community drowning in grief. His death is not an isolated tragedy but the latest haemorrhage in Barbados’ unrelenting crisis of violence – a crisis that tempts us to believe the island is “Cursed”. Yet embedded within this pain lies the urgent question: How does a nation historically forged in the crucible of slavery and colonialism transcend this legacy of violence to discover its unifying purpose?

The Visible Curse: Landscapes of Loss and Destroyed Potential

Barbados wears its paradoxes openly. Pristine beaches mask neighbourhoods where young men like Jamar Andre Corbin (34, Fitts Village) are gunned down on their own doorsteps, and where Shawn Leo Phillips – a predator with 18 prior convictions – could rape and murder Melissa Davis, a young mother, as she travelled home by bus. This violence manifests not randomly, but along socioeconomic fault lines:

• Shattered Futures: Each victim represents unrealized potential. Coward was described by friends as “well-liked,” his death creating “a void in the Bayland“. Davis left a 7-year-old daughter who, now 21, confronts the court with the lifelong trauma of maternal loss.
  • Generational Echoes: Violence begets violence. When Coward’s daughter grows up fatherless, when Davis’s child testifies that her mother’s murderer “should not be allowed to ruin another life“, the trauma embeds itself in Barbados’ social, economic, moral, spiritual and historical DNA.
  • Systemic Vulnerability: The ease with which Phillips – a known violent offender – could reoffend after prison reveals institutional failures. Justice Greaves deemed him “an evil, dangerous stalker, rapist and murderer” who posed a “significant risk to society” – a risk the system failed to contain.

Unearthing the Roots: Beyond Curse to Historical and Structural Trauma

To dismiss this violence as mere “Curse” is to ignore the sedimented layers of history and policy that fertilize its growth. Barbados’ origins as England’s first slave-based sugar economic colony, established patterns of dehumanization and inequality that persist today:

• The Plantocracy Legacy: Founded on the ‘1661 Barbados Slave Code’ that legally categorized Africans as “heathenish, brutish, and uncertain dangerous” chattel, (harping back to so-called Enlightenment philosophers like Thomas Hobbes” – who “Hobbesian State of Nature”) was representative of the island’s internalized violence as a tool of social control. The plantation system concentrated wealth and power while fracturing community bonds – a template for modern disparities.
  • Environmental Pressures: Contemporary stressors amplify historical wounds. Barbados ranks among the world’s top 15 water-scarce nations, with tourism development straining coastal ecosystems and fisheries. The collapse of the sea egg fishery due to “overharvesting and illegal fishing” represents both ecological and economic desperation – conditions that fuel illicit economies.
  • Cultural Dislocation: Despite a 96.6% literacy rate, Barbados struggles with identity fragmentation. The transition from “Little England” (the mother country that echoes similar shambles) to “Little America” (an asinine glorification of a soon-to-be fallen empire), reflects a nation caught between colonial legacy and neoliberal globalization, eroding traditional social cohesion without replacing it with anchored purpose.

Pathways to Purpose: Reclaiming Agency Through Collective Action

Purpose emerges not by “denying the curse”, but by transforming its diabolical energy into a collective, communal agency of repentance, re-evaluation and restoration. Barbados possesses the intellectual, cultural, and institutional resources to forge such a path:

• Restorative Justice Reformation: Barbados must reimagine its justice system beyond retribution. Phillips’ case reveals the danger of releasing violent offenders without rehabilitation. Investment in prisoner education, mental health treatment, and post-release monitoring – modelled on Norway’s recidivism-reducing-approaches – could prevent such future tragedies. Simultaneously, community-based conflict mediation programs in high-violence parishes can disrupt cycles of retaliation before they escalate.
  • Healing Historical Trauma: Confronting the past is medicinal for the soul of a broken nation. Initiatives like the Barbados Museum and slave burial ground memorials should be expanded into national truth-telling processes – where schools must teach not just Caribbean history, but the psychological legacy of enslavement – as artist Risée Chaderton advocates: A clean break from colonialism is good for our self-esteem. Cultural renaissance must be more than Tuk music and Crop Over festivals – when the preservation of other African-derived resilience traditions remains untendered.
  • Youth Investment Ecosystem: Purpose flourishes where opportunity exists. Barbados should leverage its educational excellence to create:
    • Tech Incubators: Harnessing the Welcome Stamp Digital Nomad Program to mentor young Bajans in coding and entrepreneurship.
    • Environmental Stewardship: Employing youth in coastal restoration (e.g., Holetown Waterfront Project) and solar energy initiatives, aligning livelihood with national need.
    • Arts Guarantees: State-funded grants for young musicians, writers, and artists to explore narratives beyond violence and despair.

Transforming Historical Trauma into Modern Resilience 

Historical LegacyModern ChallengeResilience Strategy
Plantation HierarchyWealth InequalityCooperative business models; Land trusts
Cultural ErasureIdentity FragmentationDiasporan literature in schools; African history curriculum en masse
Resource ExtractionWater scarcity (60% leakage)Investment in desalination; Rainwater harvesting incentives
Social FragmentationCommunity violenceParish-level reconciliation councils

The Unfinished Work: Toward a Barbados ‘Whole Enough’ to Heal

Justice Greaves’ words to Phillips resonate nationally: Your attitude, the facts of this case, and your record clearly demonstrate that, given any opportunity, you are going to do it again. Barbados stands at a similar juncture – will it repeat its cycles, or seize this moment of republican rebirth to redefine itself?

The transformation requires courage to address uncomfortable truths:

• Confronting Corruption: The water crisis – with unmetered wells and 60% leakage rates – symbolizes governance failures enabling all other dysfunctions. Transparency in public contracts is non-negotiable.
  • Rejecting Tourism Dependence: While tourism employs 1 in 3 Bajans, overreliance creates vulnerability. Investing in medical tech, offshore education, and cultural exports diversifies the economy beyond sun-and-sand.
  • Community Guardianship: Policing alone cannot heal the Bayland or Fitts Village. Programs training “violence interrupters” from within affected communities – akin to ‘Chicago’s Cure Violence Model’ – can de-escalate conflicts before guns speak with terminal velocity.

Conclusion: The Dawn Beyond the Long Night

Leandrew Coward’s death and my wife’s niece’s son beneath indifferent stars is a summons, not a surrender. Barbados’ Curse is not fate, but unfinished history – a call to build a society where young men waiting for their mothers are shielded by community, not exposed to the “Wild, Wild West” of bullets. From the “Bussa Rebellion to the “2021 Republic Declaration, Bajans have repeatedly turned oppression into purpose. The same resilience that birthed a nation can birth its redemption. What is critical mass at this juncture, is for the nation to remember that although “GOD” maybe a Bajan – He will not tolerate our wickedness, “CORRUPTION” and the blatant sin of violence and murder!

Melissa Davis’s daughter speaks for all grieving Bajans: “I hope he is as miserable as I am”. Yet purpose arises when her pain fuels not vengeance, but a Barbados where no daughter loses her mother to violence, no child her father on a street corner. ‘Beyond the Curse’ lies a covenant: to make the island’s beauty reflect not just its coasts, but its collective soul. The work begins where Coward fell; where that young man fell last night; as his light was so cruelly snuffed out – in the space between utter despair and a vanishing dawn.

Semper Fidelis

16 responses to “Reclaiming Barbados’ Future”

1. The fact we don’t have civil society marching up and down the streets that is private sector, church, school, name it they should be marching and demanding solutions from all and sundry to win the country back. What are we waiting for?

The blogmaster recalls many years ago when the homicide tracker was inserted on BU’s bar there were comments about being alarmist and who in their right mind would count the murders. Amit saw the need to do some analysis on what was an obvious trend.

And here we are.

2. Excellent as always @ Terence.

This country has CHOSEN to create our own shiite gods, and we worship them faithfully in ALL of our financial systems, societal norms, acceptance of unrighteousness, unholy leaders, shameless legal officials… etc.
    It is SO OBVIOUS that the CREATOR has turned his back on us, that one would have to be a complete brass bowl to miss this reality.

The REAL curse is the BLINDNESS of not even being able to see our race to damnation.

The symbolic turning point remains that satanic monument that we built at the Garrison….

What a place!

3. @ David

Thank you, Big Bruh!!!

Beautifully done!!!

4. Overseas Bajan Avatar
    Overseas Bajan

My sympathy to your wife. Unfortunately, lunatics are running my beloved Barbados enabled by selfish sycophants who seem arrogant, pompous and ill advised. How did things get so bad, my wife and I returned home to vote as we were concerned how bad things were under Prime Minister Stuart. It now seems things have gone from bad to worse with prices gone through the roof, bad roads while the BLP borrowing constantly. My mum tells me how hard things are with rising prices, electricity and costly phone service as we now have to send her money more often.

Here is a quote from a newspaper in Turks & Caicos “ At least four suspects were involved in the shooting early Sunday on the island of Providenciales, but no one has been arrested, according to Police Commissioner Fitz Bailey, who called it “deeply disturbing.”

“We are now having a gangland-type slaying, and a lot of this gang violence seems to be concentrated in our Haitian communities,” Premier Charles Washington Misick told a press conference.

He called on the Haitian community to cooperate with police, saying some of them know how guns are being smuggled into the Turks and Caicos Islands.

“What is happening here is unlike anything we’ve ever seen before,” he said. “This is not a situation we should accept.”

“The shooting comes as the archipelago cracks down on illegal immigration. An estimated 10,900 Haitians live in the Turks and Caicos Islands, representing a third of the territory’s population. Around 80% of Haitians live in Providenciales, and 20% have permanent residency, according to the United Nations humanitarian affairs office.”

Someone needs to tell Prime Minister Mottley, she needs to cool her horses for she seems to be playing to a global audience without any care for the concerns of the persons in Barbados. If she continues she will destroy Barbados and bring shame to herself and to every Bajan. Take heed madam prime minister for tongues are wagging about what is now touted as inept leadership at home while you wax eloquently globally.

5. @OB

What you have cited seems to be a pervasive trend across (as you called it – the (“archipelago”) of slave-holding islands, that are seeing a complete metastasis of historical violence (BLACK ON BLACK) fuelled by “GUNS, DRUGS, MONEY & of course a complete breakdown of law & “ORDER” within societies where “NO ONE” seems to be able to get a grip on what’s going on!!!

When I was told what was really going on with families who have lost “LOVED ONES”, my questions were simple:

(1) “WHY ARE SPECIFIC LAWYERS IN BARBADOS FUELLING THIS MADNESS?”
    (2) “WHY ARE PERSONS OF INTERESTS ALLOWED TO ROAM FREE WITHOUT ACCOUNTABILITY?”
    (3) WHY ARE FELONS ALLOWED TO SPEND THE MINIMUM AMOUNT OF TIME LOCKED UP & THEN RELEASED TO PERPETRATE MORE VIOLENCE?”
    (4) WHY ARE KNOWN #Gangstaz CALLING THE SHOTS ( #NoIntendedPlayOnWords ) WITH ZERO ACCOUNTABILITY – TO POINT WHERE IT SEEMS THEY HAVE POLIETICIANS IN THEIR BACK POCKETS?”
    (5) Finally, is it time for the #MottleyCrewGOV* to call a “STATE OF EMERGENCY” on the island of Barbados – with “THE BARBADOS DEFENSE FORCE” moved out of their barracks & into the streets??? Is it not time for those #FatBasterds to do some work of remedying the violence??? Or they also “FEARFUL” of their skins???

DO I HAVE TO DO THE UNTHINKABLE & USE THE ORGANS OF THE BRITISH, EUROPEAN, CANADIAN & AMERICAN GOVs TO OPEN UP A PANDORAS BOX AS TO WHAT IS REALLY GOING ON THE ISLAND OF BARBADOS???

If accountability means letting the world know what’s “REALLY” going on – how long before “TOURIST TRAFFIC” is affected, if nothing is done???

No one can “SPIN” their way out of this!!!

THERE IS AN “ACCURSED THING” ON THE ISLAND OF BIM – IT MUST BE SURGICALLY REMOVED BEFORE FURTHER METASTASIS DAMNS EVERYTHING & EVERYONE TO HELL

#ImDone

#ThankYouBruh

6. @TB

A reminder that crime, particularly with guns was declared a public health crisis by Caricom a few years ago. Have we seen the type of action taken except by a few countries in the region to suggest we are serious?

7. How will a recent decision by Caricom to permit free movement of Caricom nationals impact our crime situation? As one of the so-called ‘magnet’ countries Barbados should expect an influx of visitors- not withstanding we are a high cost destination.

https://www.caribbean-council.org/caricom-advancing-with-free-movement-treaty-amendments/ CARICOM advancing with free movement, treaty amendments – The Caribbean Council

8. 13 SIGNS OF A WEAK PERSON AS POSITED BY MY BIG BRUV – AYAZ ALI

1. Can’t say “NO.”

2. Always watching adult videos.

3. Thinks they can’t change their problems.

4. Controlled by their bad habits.

5. Talks behind people’s backs a lot.

6. Can’t take feedback well.

7. Easily swayed by what others think.

8. Has trouble taking action.

9. Blames others for their unhappiness.

10. Chooses fun over important things.

11. Doesn’t take charge of what they do.

12. Feels bad about themselves.

13. Doesn’t keep in touch with us.

THIS IS PART OF THE “CURSE” AFFECTING BLACK FOLKS TODAY

Weak-minded individuals are also “RIDDLED” by F.E.AR (False Evidence Appearing Real) – they refuse to stand for “SOMETHING” of any substantive value – thus they fall for everything around them!!!

Our forbears did “NOT” survive 400 years (1625 – 2025) of “MADDENING VIOLENCE”, “MASS INCARCERATION” & “SUBHUMAN ABNEGATION” because they were weak – they survived & thrived under the weight of “THOR’S HAMMER”!!!

So please, pray tell, what has happened to us as their “PROGENY” & “POSTERITY”???

We know the answers, as a supposedly “EDUCATED” bunch of folks – but we are also lacking in “BACKBONE” & “COURAGE” to assault the “WALLS @ Ai” & to bring the walls come crashing down!!!

The “PREZ” of El Salvador ( #NayibBukele ) was not “FEARFUL” – so he did the “UNTHINKABLE” & look at his country today!!! Crime dropped by 90+%; peace on the streets & folks are getting on with life!!!

For those who do not know, according to the AP (Associated Press) – “Not all nations had published their 2024 annual homicide totals, but the 1.9 homicides per 100,000 in population that Bukele said had been achieved would put it below what any Latin American country had reported in 2023. More than 83,000 people have been arrested since, the majority “JAILED WITHOUT DUE PROCESS”. Bukele has said that 8,000 people who were innocent have been released…”

WHAT HAPPEN TO OUR BALLZ???

HOW IS THIS “CURSE” BROKEN WITHOUT DIVINE INTERVENTION????????????

IF SOMETHING DOESN’T HAPPEN QUICK – WE ARE ALL DOOMED TO THE HISTORICITY OF WHAT IS CITED IN THE BIBLICAL NARRATIVE OF #Habbakuk, chapter 1, verses 2 – 17; 2: 2-4!!!

Here’s my BRO – #StephenASmith who says it better than I can in regards to what is happening in #AmeriKKKa (A NOW IMPORTED PHENOMENON INTO THE CARIBBEAN) & elsewhere, by #Gangstaz who thrive off of “FEAR & DEATH” – eating our sons & daughters as cited 2 Kings, chapter 6 & 7!!!

WE ARE ROYALLY SCREWED IF FOLKS DO NOT STAND UP!!!

#ImDone

9. @ David

I completely concur with what you are suggesting – however, GOV* is by the “PEOPLE” & “FOR THE PEOPLE”, is it not???

What happens when the “PEOPLE” are in such “AGONY” because the state organs are no longer functional???

“CHEAP TALK” ain’t cutting it Bruh!!!

TIME 4 REAL ACTION!!!

PUT THE MILITARY ON THE STREETS!!!

THIS IS A STATE OF EMERGENCY – TIME 4 MARTIAL LAW!!!

10. @TB

At such time there will be a spring, nobody knows the ‘tipping point’. Sensible people have to continue to fight for justice and allow the chips to fall.

11. @DAVID

“At such time there will be a spring, nobody knows the ‘tipping point’. Sensible people have to continue to fight for justice and allow the chips to fall…”

(a) “AT SUCH A TIME” – “If not now, then when?” “If not us, then who?” Will there ever be a right time? IS THAT NOT DEFEATISM???

(b) “THERE WILL BE A SPRING” – Sorry Brotha, I “CANNOT” see any “GREEN SHOOTS” -for as Scripture opined: “THE SUMMER IS ENDED & THE HARVEST IS PAST & WE ARE NOT SAVED” (Jeremiah 8:20)… We have approached the “DAWG DAYZ OF THE WINTER EQUINOX”!!! Shall we all “DIE” of hypothermia (the basest form of HYPOCRISY*)???

(c) “NOBODY KNOWS THE TIPPING POINT” – oh, #CmonMan!!! As I stated before, this is “CRITICAL MASS”!!! You do NOT* need a PhD in Physics to understand the lbf/in2!!!

(d) “SENSIBLE PEOPLE” – Please, for the “LOVE OF GOD”: Pray tell us all, “WHERE THEY ARE”??? #InGOV; #InReLIEgion; #InEconomicSphere; #InArts; #InEntertainment; #InAcademia; #OnTheStreets – WHERE BRUH???

(E) “HAVE TO CONTINUE TO FIGHT FOR JUSTICE”: I thought “JUSTICE” was both “DEAD ON THE STREETS” & between the sheets; IN THE COURTS OF SO-CALLED LAW & IN EVERY OTHER FACETS OF LIFE??? Oh, my bad: it is now “JUST” to SELL CHILDREN; GENOCIDIALLY KILL PALESTINIANS INDISCIMINATELY WITHOUT A WORD OF CENSURE OR REPRISAL WHILE NOT A SINGLE ACTION IS TAKEN (ok); EMPLOYERS CAN DO AS THEY PLEASE TO EMPLOYEES WITHOUT RECOURSE TO JUSTICE; “let me stop this “CURSED” list, right here – right now”!!!

(F) “ALLOW THE CHIPS TO FALL” – if by “CHIPS” you assert some philosophical phenomenon or in my mind – “the souls of dead men” WHO ARE “MARTYRED” for being in the wrong place at the wrong time, or the “STUFF” you deep fry in hot seed oils – then ingest with its acrylamide & all its transgenic factors – then I am at a lost to try & fathom your statement!!!

#ImDone

12. @TB

You have defined what tipping point is by your cynicism and skepticism. Keep fighting, the struggle is real.

13. @Terrence Blackette, every time a persons dies violently, we must all accept we are but one person away, from it happening to us. Mainstream media, has failed our society. Role models have all but disappeared, due to the politics of inclusion. Our society has become one, where the majority now put political loyalty, and their access to varying forms of largesse above speaking truth to power.

“ Humanity’s great delusion is that we can isolate our transgressions – that private greed, silenced trauma, or systemic injustice will not metastasize. Yet the text thunders: “Thou canst not stand before thine enemies“. The unconfessed sin becomes the unseen crack in the foundation, guaranteeing collapse under pressure.
    The Terrible Mercy of Exposure
    God’s demand to “take away the accursed thing“ is not vengeance, but radical grace. It forced ancient Israel – and us (modern Israel) into the purifying fire of truth. For only in dragging darkness into light can healing begin. The alternative is the slow asphyxiation of the soul: a people preserving “ROT” within their walls while blaming the storm outside.
    Modern Echoes of an ‘Ancient Curse’
    Today, our “accursed things” wear new names:
    The normalized “GOVERNMENT” corruption eroding democracies
    The unhealed wounds and scars of a post-traumatic historical injustice
    The complicity in systems that dehumanize the vulnerable, punishes the weak while the rich and powerful get off scotch-free”

Our country is one where the lines are blurred, between who can be trusted, and who cannnot be, determining who is truly a sincere friend or foe, is difficult to discern. When I inspect the obituary pages on Sunday’s I am reminded how fragile life.is And how many accept its better to help make Barbados a better place rather than selfishly sell their conscience at the expense of an orderly society just to get ahead.

Those bold enough to stand up and risk personal attacks must continue to responsibly write, with the hope that our missives may in some way pick the conscience of individuals. To not only do what is selfishly right for their political masters, but act unselfish to help create an orderly society for generations to come.

Corruption is now an endemic social cancer and the absence of “qui in equitatem venit, cum clean manibus veniat.” has lead to comedic relief on political platforms during campaigns by the two main political parties. A kettle on a wood fire cannot call a saucepan on a wood fire in any seriousness, black.

Lets those who got sense to accept that perfection is an elusive quality, be bold enough, and speak truth to power, and not push deceit. Met two individuals last week, who I am convinced have cognitive brain disorders, and sought to justify their political parties as perfect while justifying the incompetence of their respective party’s by claiming the other party did the same!

14. Allahu Akbar!!

Thank you @ David of BU, for making it possible fo the bushman to become aware that persons such as ‘Retired’ exist in Brassbados.
    Just when Bushie had decided that every shiite is LOST, the above post tells us that at least ONE brass bowl Bajan can ACTUALLY see….and that there may be more…

Reminds Bushie of a time spent at a VERY COLD university where BBs of the bushman’s hue were a rarity…
    Then one day another BB walked by, …and the whole world took on a new meaning.

Thank you @Retired.
    Amen to all you said!

What a world,
    …and what a time to be in it.

15. @ Retired

Mr Wellington – Headmaster at Foundation Boy’s School taught us “LATIN” in 5th Form during those years of 1975 – 76 & I often wondered then – what was the “LOGIC” in doing such a “DEAD SUBJECT” – then I grew up & everything changed!!!

Thank you for your observational analysis…

The Latin phrase you’ve shared: “qui in equitatem venit, cum clean manibus veniat” – translates: “WHO COMES TO EQUITY, MUST COME WITH CLEAN HANDS”!!!

Similar phraseology can be found specifically in Psalm 24:3, which states: “WHO* may ascend the “MOUNTAIN” of the Lord? The ONE* with clean hands and a pure heart”…

This passage emphasizes the importance of moral purity & righteousness in approaching God – but also, if the “COMMANDMENT” states that we are to “LOVE” our neighbour as ourselves, & there are many who “ASK” – but who is my neighbour? Then I will let YESHUA THE MESSIAH answer that pertinent question, based on Mark 12: 28-34; Deut. 6:4-5 & Lev 19:18!!!

For me, based on the “LAW OF 1st MENTION: my 1st neighbour is my “WIFEY”- then everyone else falls in behind that precious woman!!!

Your citation evokes a very serious principle, rooted in both Roman Law & English Equity Jurisprudence, & is far more than a “LEGAL DOCTRINE”. It carries profound philosophical weight – a timeless meditation on “JUSTICE”, “INTEGRITY”, & the “MORAL” conditions for appealing to fairness itself!!!

It is a woven philosophical premise, drawing from “ETHICS”, “METAPHYSICS”, & “HUMAN NATURE”…

The “OVERARCHING” premise sees “CLEAN HANDS” as “EXISTENTIAL CURRENCY” – for
    “EQUITY” is not merely a “COURT OF LAW”; it is “GOD’S THRONE ROOM OF COSMIC BALANCE”. To stand before the “THRONE” & to plead for “FAIRNESS”, “REDRESS”, or “MERCY” – one must first be “CLEANSED OF MORAL DEBT”!!!

Why???

Because equity is “RELATIONAL JUSTICE”. It does not exist in abstraction. It breathes only in the space between beings who recognize their shared stake in integrity!!!

YOU CANNOT TEACH THIS STUFF IN THE SO-CALLED HALLOWED HALLS OF POLIETICAL INTRIGUE*, STUFFY ACADAMIA* OR EVEN WITHIN THE DYSFUNCTIONAL RELIEGIOUS CHURCH SYSTEM

The #LingeringBurden of having #UncleanHands is that your hands carry the “GUN-POWDER” residue of every choice: “CORRUPTION”, “DECEPTION”, “CRUELTY”, “VIOLENCE”, “MURDER”, “GREED” – along with “ALL” the other “DEADLY SINS”!!!

To approach “EQUITY” while “STAINED” is to commit a 2ND* sin: HYPOCRISY*!!!

#PleaseForgiveMyAcademicBentHere

Philosophy has long warned us:

PLATO: Injustice corrodes the soul!!!
    KANT: Treat others as ends, not means!!!
    AFRIKAN UBUNTU: “I AM* because WE* ARE.”

DUTTY* HANDS reveal a fractured self – unfit to demand wholeness from the world!!!

EQUITY* is nothing more than #SacredReciprocity – “EQUITY” is not a “WEAPON” for the entitled – IT IS A COVENANT”!!!

You may seek fairness only if you honor it…

You may ask for “BALANCE” only if your own “SCALES” are JUST & true…

To come with “CLEAN HANDS” is to acknowledge – you do not deserve what you have not “EARNED” & you cannot “RECEIVE” what you “REFUSE TO GIVE”!!!

SO SIMPLE BUT SO COMPLEX

The #RitualOfCleansing is not “SELF-RIGHTEOUSNESS”, (I HEAR THE FOLKS IN THE CHURCH SCREAMING) – it’s accountability!!!

Before approaching #EquitysAltar, you must confess your “DEBTS” – (Socrates: “KNOW THYSELF”), & “RESTORE” what was taken (Zoroastrian ASHA*: #CosmicOrder)!!!

VOW TO DO NO FURTHER HARM (#HippocraticHumility)!!!

Only then do your hands become “VESSELS” – not “TOOLS 4 TAKING”, but “INSTRUMENTS OF TRUST”!!!

HAVE ANY OF YOU READ THE BOOK BY KHALIL GIBRAN ENTITLED #TheProphet – IT IS NOT JUST LEBANESE PROSE & SEMANTIC POETRY – IT IS SOUL FOOD!!!

#BreachTheWalls of your minds!!!

The #ParadoxOfMercy & the “POWER OF PARADOX” will open your eyes!!!

What of the guilty? The broken? The human?

True “EQUITY” holds a paradox like a “MIRROR” – showing that “MERCY” is possible only for those who acknowledge their stain – for “GRACE” flows only to hands open in surrender – not “FISTS CLENCHED IN DENIAL AROUND AN INSTRUMENT OF DESTRUCTION & DEATH”!!!

For even the prodigal son “WASHED” in humility, before his father embraced him (THOUGH STINKING TO HIGH HEAVENS)!!!

The #UnavoidableMirror holds up our “CROOKED VISAGE” (even Michael Jackson knew this) – for to seek “EQUITY” with unclean hands is to stand before a mirror and demand it reflect light while you hold a knife or a “GUN” in the “DARKNESS” of night & in the shadows of your own “DEPRAVITY”!!!

“EQUITY” sees through us all – for it knows that the hands that grasp at justice while clutching hidden sins will only tighten their own chains!!!

SO COME NAKED (as Gibran states)
    COME EMPTIED (as Scripture warns)
    COME CLEAN (as the Author of Life bids)

“For what is “EQUITY”, if not the final echo of the justice we first offered the world?”

This is not “LAW” – it is the oldest covenant of being human…

#ImDone

16. EVEN ON THIS PLATFORM – WE DO NOT NEED SAINTS*; WHAT WE NEED ARE THOSE WHO ARE BRAVE ENOUGH & COMPLETELY WILLING TO WASH IN PUBLIC

#TallOrder, you ask???

“The “COMING REVOLUTION” will not be “FUNDED BY DIRTY MONEY”, it will be led by clean consciences, & won by unstained souls…”

It will be built by those willing to get their hands wet – scrubbing their own “FILTH” first”!!!

“CLEAN HANDS” means “EQUITY” isn’t a card to play – it’s a currency you mint daily through “MORAL” integrity!!!

IN LAW: it kills hypocritical claims.

IN POLIETICS: it exposes performative morality.

IN ETHICS: it forces alignment between your cries for fairness and your conduct.

When #ModernLawFare in the #CourtsOfInjustice “SMELL STINK OF HYPOCRISY” – NO AMOUNT OF BLUE SOAP WILL WHITEN WHAT’S ALREADY BLACKEN BY FILTH!!!

The principle of “CLEAN HANDS” isn’t just a relic of equity courts. It’s a “SCALPEL” for “DISSECTING HYPOCRISY”, “POWER”, & “MORAL BANKRUPTCY” in modern law, politics, & personal ethics!!!

The #BroaderLens show that “Law without integrity is tyranny with a gavel”!!!

Judges & “LAWYERS” deny petitions not due to “PROOF”, but because “DUTTY HANDS” forfeit moral standing!!!

SURELY, IT’S TIME TO LOCK UP JUDGES, SOLICTORS & BARRISTERS – SEND THE DIRTY BASTERDS 2 QUANTANAMO BAY!!!

#PoLIEticsIsATheater 4 #UncleanHands – where #LobbyistsWriteLaws & #PoLIEticians pass “green” laws while taking fossil fuel “BRIBES” & donations!!!

Public consequence, plummets & trust collapses!!!

Voters see “JUSTICE” as transactional & the philosophical verdict is:

“A system where the umpire bets on the game cannot call strikes”!!!

Nations imposing “HUMAN RIGHTS” sanctions, while selling weapons to dictators – 4 if your hands drip blood, you lose the right to preach peace OR 2 DEMAND a “Nobel Peace prize”!!!

Don’t point at stains when your “OWN” sleeves are soiled!!!

Unclean hands poison the well of fairness!!!

The clean hands doctrine demands that you acknowledge your DIRT* (e.g., “I’ve made mistakes, but this is different”). Repair what you broke before demanding repair! For your fight for equity must cost you something. Otherwise, it’s mere performance!!!

THE TIME HAS COME TO REBUILD TRUST IN BARBADOS – ANY FURTHER EROSION & DEPLETION WILL BE TANTAMOUNT TO SUBSIDENCE – EQUIVALENT TO A 8.0 ON THE RICHTER SCALE FOLLOWED BY A TOWERING TSUNAMI

#StayTuned