Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley will have her chance to interact with Barbados during a press conference scheduled today on Voice of Barbados (VOB) at 11AM. The press conference will be co-moderated by Stetson Babb and Peter Wickham. The BU household applauds the honouring of the commitment by Prime Minister Thompson to meet with the press on a quarterly basis. Press conferences under the previous administration were never taken seriously, journalists were often told to report to Bay Street with very little time to prepare. We urge Prime Minister Thompson to continue down this path, our democracy will be the better for it.

We will not be too harsh on our journalists at this early stage of the process, although they have appeared to be overawed during the previous two press conferences. It is time that our journalists understand that they can be respectful to our leaders and remain true to their profession-they are obligated to ask the hard questions. The inclusion of Peter Wickham in the mix today should create an interesting match-up. Peter Wickham suffered personal attacks by Mottley and the Barbados Labour Party during the last general election, some might say that it got too nasty.

A BU family member submitted the following questions which he dares our journalists to ask the Opposition Leader. After reading the questions we were reminded of that time when David Ellis read from an email during the now famous interview with former tourism Minister Barney Lynch. The email is addressed to Stetson, we believe that Stetson is capable of asking the hard questions despite operating in the same social space as Mottley.

Dear Stetson,

As I will be busy during your show I beg of you to ask the following questions of Ms Mottley for me, I will tune in to the repeat version at midnight to hear her replies. Please separate yourself from your own personal views and inquire of Ms Mottley on the Nation’s behalf and in so doing elevate your standing among the listeners of your radio station, the general public deserve the fairest treatment and you are in a position to deliver this fair treatment, please do so for our sakes and for the sake of those to come.

1. Can you inquire of Ms Mottley if she is aware with regard to the charges of corruption at the UDC, a Ministry that from all reports was a free for all, and her comments about the much touted 1,2,3 men and fees for contracts arrangements? The facts surrounding the discovery of receipts for rent collected on behalf of UDC by none other than the wife of a former Minister of a cabinet that she sat in, that Minister being Joe Atherley, where these payments never made it to the UDC but the evidence clearly points to rents being paid by tenants to Mrs Atherley but not received at the UDC???
  2. Secondly can she update us on the position with their inquiry prior to elections into the activities of Dr Leo Brewster and his girlfriend at Coastal Commission, a report was laid before them the then gov’t prior to elections and no action was taken, why was this?
  3. Why are we hearing and seeing so many cases of mismanagement at all levels of the Civil Service and gross abuse of office in many PS’s cases?
  4. What is her opinion on the proposal to remove school children from paying bus fares as we are yet to her voice a comment on this very progressive move?
  5. Can she tell us with certainty if she has the support of Mr Hammie Lashley in her role as leader of the opposition as based on his recent series of actions and contributions his stance appears at variance with hers and the party? And what actions has she taken to remedy this situation??
  6. Does she see herself as the one likely to take the BLP into its next election and if yes what then does she see the role of Mr Arthur playing ? As at present there seems to be no love lost between them and even leading into the last election the co-leader mouthings by former Prime Minister Arthur were seen as a measure to undermine her status within the party that certainly seems to have affected her status within and outside of the party?

We encourage members of the BU family to submit questions to BU which they would want to have posed to the leader of the opposition. We know that they all read the blogs!

205 responses to “Leader Of The Opposition Mia Mottley To Meet The Press”

1. Wishing In Vain Avatar

And yet another one goes before the courts for CORRUPTION and what is the link??
    You guessed it the same VECO that Glyne Bannister and Hallam Nicholls brought to Barbados to rape our treasury with both the OIL STORAGE FACILITY and the PRISON PROJECT.

Ones known to pay bribes brought here by the most dishonest bunch around, who collected bribes here ??

Let the FBI tell you!!!

Frail Cowdery pleads not guilty on corruption charges

A feeble-looking Anchorage Sen. John Cowdery, pushed into court by his lawyer in a wheelchair, today pleaded not guilty to federal corruption charges.

U.S. marshals fingerprinted Cowdery and allowed him to go free on $5,000 bond. His trial was set for Oct. 6 before U.S. District Court Judge Ralph Beistline.

The 78-year-old Cowdery faces a maximum of 15 years in prison if convicted on the bribery and conspiracy charges. He’s accused of scheming with Veco Corp. executives to try and buy the vote of a fellow state senator, Nome Democrat Donny Olson, in order to keep state oil taxes down.

Olson hasn’t been charged and says he didn’t get anything from Veco.

2. Wishing In Vain Avatar

in an attempt to get his way what would stop him from attempting to blackmail the Government of Barbados? WIV take note and ask questions.

I am not that well connected Adrian, but this type of person leaves more questions than answers.

3. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

God, you guys are such a pathetic bunch of old blowhards.

You seem much more excited by your stupid little stand-pipe squabble than by the thread topic.

BU, I really admire your tolerance, but have you not considered being more hard-line about insisting on comments staying on-topic, as is the case with many other blogs?

4. Mia was really bad in my view. She was evasive, empty, verbose and had absolutely no vision nor a legacy. She was all politician.

I have to say that David Thompson was direct and forthright. He never at any time said “I dont have the information or the file before me.”

I think Mia’s comments on the ABC are for the book. She basically admitted everything and I think she made David Thompson the hero… his credibility is 100%!

Someone needs to go to prison. And Mia chaired the Committee!!

5. reluctant nonbeliever // August 12, 2008 at 12:25 am

God, you guys are such a pathetic bunch of old blowhards.

You seem much more excited by your stupid little stand-pipe squabble than by the thread topic.

BU, I really admire your tolerance, but have you not considered being more hard-line about insisting on comments staying on-topic, as is the case with many other blogs?
    =================================

Sorry RNB, the thread topic isn’t someone that could ever excite me.

6. That sorry tail……..harem !

Mia Mottley finally admits that the the 3 S contract was handled badly by the crooked BLP gov’t !

Off course she is not a fool……for she knows what the 3 S investigations will reveal !

I hope her blp comerade in arms on this article will CUM to her AIDS !

7. Wishing In Vain Avatar

She even had the gall to state the Prison contract was quoted by herself in US dollars, in the Parliament of Barbados and she is trying to fool the masses about which currency to which she referred.

I am still awaiting her confirmation that they stole taxpayers monies in many other unworthy and ill conceived projects and programs.

8. Wishing In Vain Avatar

The more I read the more I am left with the impression that this VECO group is very much like Bizzy Williams who said he paid his first bribe over forty years ago and has never done business in this manner ever since then, VECO seems to have used his method of operation in ALL OF THEIR PROJECTS.

Businessman Weimar paid candidate to push prison

GUILTY PLEA: Fixation on building private prison brought him down.

The charging document says the candidate running in 2004 had a long relationship with Weimar, and held elected office part of that time.

Ward and Weimar were “buddies,” according to a statement that former lobbyist Bill Bobrick, who worked for Weimar, gave to the FBI in September 2006. Bobrick also has pleaded guilty in the corruption investigation. He declined to comment on Monday.

In 1997, a plan for a private prison in South Anchorage with Allvest and VECO CORP. as partners crumbled under strong public opposition. As that project evaporated, Ward emerged as the lead architect of a new plan to build private prisons in the Mat-Su and Seward.

9. Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' Avatar
    Someone said the ‘BLP Stalwart’

Why don’t you people with one-track minds stop making sordid the names of good people. Why don’t you refrain deliberately distorting Mottley’s comments. The lady, and she damn well is, says the the arrangements with 3 S were not handled in what she considered the best way. She never said it was handled badly. Moreover, she also declared that it could be held up to scrutiny. What are you all after, a modern highway that relieves most of traffic problems, or the satisfaction of saying ‘Bajan politicians are corrupt’. So many of you out there who arer 100 % upright with pristine moral and ethical consciences, rather than hide under the shadows of BU, need to declare your hands for public office. You all have the tendency to be able to identify problems, so we will crate a ministry and several agencies just for that. Remember though, at the end of the day, Barbadians want you to solve problems of cost of living; traffic congestion; labour disputes; health and education; unemployment; etc. I am sure you get my drift. I challenge most of you whose only venom is at the past government, and whose only contribution is to spot a problem, to do more for Barbados and Barbadians. Right now, I do not believe most of you are worth the shit you wipe your ultra-moral asses with. Goodbye.

10. Wishing In Vain Avatar

What are you all after, a modern highway that relieves most of traffic problems, or the satisfaction of saying โ€˜Bajan politicians are corruptโ€™.

The group you love and that you support, leaves us in no doubt that they were the most corrupt, dishonest bunch ever to sit in the House of Assembly.

Look at their track record and you tell me, no amount of name calling can or will convert you to an honest bunch, you have clearly displayed yourselves as vagabonds and thieves.

Your defense of mottley and your party is to be admired but as a party faithful one would expect as much from you but you will have a most difficult task to convince many of the rest of us who have seen thru your party of frauds.

Long live freedom of speech long live democracy
    long live the sensible people of Barbados who woke up and saw what was happening with their country, and went out and voted to restore honest in Gov’t, thereby throwing your lot of corrupt vagabonds out of office and installing a new fresh PRIME MINISTER THE HON MR DAVID THOMPSON.

11. It is time the DLP stop canvassing and start governing. I remember His Elec. The Right Hon Errol Walton Barrow Saying at a meeting, if you sell a man a truck and he can’t get it started he can do one of two things. One he can tell everyone that you sold him a truck that wouldn’t start or he can ask you how to start the truck. I hope that this administration would seek advice from the last government on areas that they are not clear. This information does not have to be used but it will help in reaching a decision. It is time this nation mature if we really want to become a first world nation

12. The scout // August 13, 2008 at 10:14 am

It is time the DLP stop canvassing and start governing. I remember His Elec. The Right Hon Errol Walton Barrow Saying at a meeting, if you sell a man a truck and he canโ€™t get it started he can do one of two things.

There is no need for one or the other, both can be accomplish at the same time. In fact i hope that they add a third dimension to the current two, so that they can be accuse of “Canvassing, INVESTIGATING, and Governing. ๐Ÿ™‚

13. Adrian
    Why would the DLP still have to be canvassing? they already have the government. Now that they are in power, investigate, convict, lock up if needed but start governing in what ever way they think best. At the end of the period, voters would decide if they did a good job or not and they would make their decision. If you cavass for too long the real time for canvassing would creep up and then they can’t stop and it would get monotonous. Voters are looking for action and governence right now.

14. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I wonder if anyone did like me today and tuned in to the debate from the Senate it was as hot as it could get without blows being exchanged.

Liz Thompson and Kerrie Simmonds were ripped to shreads by a man who can be as destructive as any when dragged into a debate none other than lashes being shared by Sen Dereck Alleyne it revolved around the debate to acquire lands in St George to be use for housing, the licks were brutal and deserving as the two lame ducks , the two that are the rejects from the last election were pressured and were found badly wanting, to the point that both Simmonds and Thompson resorted to the only place that they are comfortable in the gutter, it was at that point the President Sen Taitt brought Simmonds to order and like a spoilt child he started to sulk.

As Minister Benn stated today they are yet to come to grips with their demise and fall from grace and their eviction from office, as Ministers Benn was forced to remind Simmonds of his statement about the opposition members being 1000 lbs of blubber, that must have driven the final nail in his coffin.

Only for the Leader of Gov’t business close off by highlighting the progress already being made in the erection of 186 low income homes, and the promise of more to come and the VAT relief on first time home owners with homes up to a value of $ 150,000.00 no wonder the OPPOSITION were disjointed and out of their depth, because in 14 years of their farting around as a gov’t they failed the Nation in the delivery of low cost housing, I guess when you had to feed the frenzy of the URBAN 1,2,3, men there could never be such a thing as a low cost home.

15. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I wonder if anyone did like me today and tuned in to the debate from the Senate it was as hot as it could get without blows being exchanged.

Liz Thompson and Kerrie Symmonds were ripped to shreds by a man who can be as destructive as any when dragged into a debate none other than lashes being shared by Sen. Dereck Alleyne it revolved around the debate to acquire lands in St George to be use for housing, the licks were brutal and deserving as the two lame ducks , the two that are the rejects from the last election were pressured and were found badly wanting, to the point that both Symmonds and Thompson resorted to the only place that they are comfortable that is in the gutter, it was at that point the President Sen. Taitt brought Symmonds to order and like a spoilt child he started to sulk.

As Minister Benn stated today they are yet to come to grips with their demise and fall from grace and their eviction from office, as Ministers Benn was forced to remind Symmonds of his statement about the opposition members being 1000 lbs of blubber, that must have driven the final nail in his coffin as he became even more vocal that brought the wrath of the President to him once again.

Only for more licks were to be delivered by the Leader of Govโ€™t business to close off by highlighting the progress already being made in the erection of 186 low income homes, and the promise of more to come and the VAT relief on first time home owners with homes up to a value of $ 150,000.00 no wonder the OPPOSITION were disjointed and out of their depth, because in 14 years of their farting around as a Govโ€™t they failed the Nation miserably in the delivery of low cost housing, I guess when you had to feed the frenzy of the URBAN 1,2,3, men there could never be such a thing as a low cost home.
    I am sure when the two opposition Senators have the time to recover from their share of body blows and that if they are honest with themselves they will admit to their wayward ways and will think twice before going down that path for a very long time, you got the message 1000 Lbs of Blubber and I can’t find my wife Symmonds, check the Doc he made have the right medicine to help you Symmonds and no I do not mean the blue tablet.

16. ha ha ha WIV i want to believe you man, cause my dislike fuh Liz and especially Kerrie Simmonds, a man not suited to the people friendly business of elective politics, makes me want too, but you too partisan fuh me to willfully believe your account. Any Bees listen to the debate and are willing to giver their account? ๐Ÿ™‚

17. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Would not lie to you my friend, from all reports it was cat p_ss and pepper in there yesterday.

They had a hard time defending their non delivery on many matters none more so than housing, when asked about the transfer of the Holders lands Thompson went into a long winded verbose conversation with herself trying to defend the actions of arthur (a man that fired her ) and when prodded on the cost of the bath that she awarded from her Ministry to her husband to build that raped the treasury.

Not to mention the recall by Min Benn of Symmonds statement about the 1000 lbs of blubber, it was very amusing to hear them squirm and shirk.

I know that David is usually very in touch with these happenings and would love his comments on the closing stagesof the sitting yesterday, it was a display in what goes around comes around.

18. #

Someone said the ‘BLP Stalwart’ // August 13, 2008 at 4:10 am

Why donโ€™t you people with one-track minds stop making sordid the names of good people. Why donโ€™t you refrain deliberately distorting Mottleyโ€™s comments. The lady, and she damn well is, says the the arrangements with 3 S were not handled in what she considered the best way. She never said it was handled badly. Moreover, she also declared that it could be held up to scrutiny. What are you all after, a modern highway that relieves most of traffic problems, or the satisfaction of saying โ€˜Bajan politicians are corruptโ€™. So many of you out there who arer 100 % upright with pristine moral and ethical consciences, rather than hide under the shadows of BU, need to declare your hands for public office. You all have the tendency to be able to identify problems, so we will crate a ministry and several agencies just for that. Remember though, at the end of the day, Barbadians want you to solve problems of cost of living; traffic congestion; labour disputes; health and education; unemployment; etc. I am sure you get my drift. I challenge most of you whose only venom is at the past government, and whose only contribution is to spot a problem, to do more for Barbados and Barbadians. Right now, I do not believe most of you are worth the shit you wipe your ultra-moral asses with. Goodbye.

—————————————————-

The one outstanding post in a veritable hurricane of Windbags In Pain.

19. Ru4Real, are you a Bee? independent perhaps? Did you listen to the Senate debate that is under gleefull scrutiny here? if so what is your opinion? counter Windbag in Pain nuh!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

…..Elective politics is not for me. I know my limits, Kerrie should know his too. Plus i strongly believe that being a active voter citizen that is skeptical of all politicians is a much better role to play in society. I really do! ๐Ÿ™‚

20. RU4REAL…..you are the proverbial Gingerbread Man !

Mr. Mi ass Mottley said the 3S Highway arrangement was handled badly by the last tieffing BLP administration !

And she is right…….end of story !

Albeit…… had the BLP returned to office…hmm hmm we are not too sure if she would have shown the BALLS to declare the same !

As for paying off the DEBT and housing Barbadians….since the post Jan 15 financial disclosures…..the people want to know where all the houses that the UDC claim to have built gone…..!!!

After all Mr. Mi ass Mottley was the Minister responsible for the UDC !!!!

Do we need another Sunday Brasstacks programme to get the TRUTH from…..Mr Mi ass Mottley ???

21. @ ru4real
    “What are you all after, a modern highway that relieves most of traffic problems, or the satisfaction of saying โ€˜Bajan politicians are corruptโ€™. ”
    They voted for change my friend. The highway project will now be given to Rayside Construction owned by CLICO managed by Leroy Parris (the Chairman of CBC which happens to be a communications company). Leroy Parris = Communication (what a laff!)
    They voted for free busfares and free houses after 40 yrs of Independence, duh still want freeness.
    They voted to slow down progress and go backward in time by two decades.

22. Sssssssssssssstupes!

23. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Fear not my friend all is well, I know all is not well in the ranks of the BLP but that is their problem not mine.

24. @WIV

Watching the Olympics has taken the BU household out of its routine :-). sorry we missed the fireworks!

25. The scout // August 13, 2008 at 10:14 am

It is time the DLP stop canvassing and start governing. I remember His Elec. The Right Hon Errol Walton Barrow Saying at a meeting, if you sell a man a truck and he canโ€™t get it started he can do one of two things. One he can tell everyone that you sold him a truck that wouldnโ€™t start or he can ask you how to start the truck. I hope that this administration would seek advice from the last government on areas that they are not clear. This information does not have to be used but it will help in reaching a decision. It is time this nation mature if we really want to become a first world nation
    Statements like these make me angry as hell. They make me sad too that we as a people have sunk to such a low and lap dog status that we take time to write them.

Barbados has paid the price for its supposed first world status yet it operates as a third world country.

We’ve paid the price with our children’s future, the health and wealth of our citizens, our unique culture, our good name and our good character in the international arena. Any crook can now find a safe haven in Barbados.

Why the hell would the DLP have to seek advise from the BLP.

The only advise I would want from them is :-

Where to find all the stolen public funds.

Where to find the misappropiate public protperties and resources.

Where to find all the BLP bare necked chickens .

Mia Mottley and the BLP should not be before the media trying to continue their mamagiming of the Barbadian people but before some tribunal and tried for the offenses, abuse of the citizens, public funds and resources, postions of trust and responsibility and countless crimes to what ever degree they were committed, tried and jailed appropriately.

I would like to say this to Prime Minister David Thompson, unless you give the citizens of Barbados some satisfaction and recourse in this area it will always be an open wound on the annuls of history of this great Nation Barbados and for even more so for us Barbadians living abroad.

Wunnah mek muh belly hurt muh, especially when this dicussion has gone off topic and there seem to be no way of getting at these ole rascals, they have to pay dearly for what they have done to Barbados

26. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David, It was almost laughable to listen to Liz Thompson and Kerrie Symmonds squirm in their mess, from what I heard I doubt if Symmonds has the ability to be an opposition Senate member and so to Liz Thompson in particular Symmonds displayed utter arrogance towards the President who was extremely generous in his rulings with this idiot, my advice to Symmonds is to be aware that the country is listening to your comments very critically and you are not doing a lot to promote yourself or your party with your bombastic aggressive and uncouth manner.

27. Wishing In Vain Avatar

MORE VECO CORRUPTION DID IT HAPPEN HERE AS WELL?????

Prosecutors lay out new information against Stevens

By ERIKA BOLSTAD and LISA DEMER
    ebolstad@adn.com, ldemer@adn.com

New information filed late Thursday by federal prosecutors says Sen. Ted Stevens made more than $100,000 in profit off a Florida real estate deal after a friend secretly loaned him $31,000 interest-free to buy a condominium.

The condo deal came to light in a motion describing what sort of evidence federal prosecutors plan to introduce in their case against him.

Stevens, 84, was charged last month with failing to disclose more than $250,000 in gifts from the former Alaska-based oil services company, Veco Corp. The trial is scheduled for September.

Stevens failed to report the personal loan in the condo deal when he filed his 2001 Senate financial disclosure forms, prosecutors said in their motion.

Court filings filed late Thursday also reveal other new evidence that prosecutors intend to use to prove Stevens didn’t just make innocent paperwork mistakes when he failed to disclose the value of Veco’s renovations to his Girdwood home.

They say he also failed to disclose that Bill Allen, the former Veco CEO, installed a backup generator — at Stevens’ home and at the senator’s request — that Stevens never paid for.

In the same motion, prosecutors also allege Allen provided a new Jeep Cherokee to Stevens’ daughter in 2005 and that Stevens asked Veco for help getting a job for an unnamed son and grandson.

There are “multiple instances of Allen providing, at Stevens’ request, things of value to benefit two of Stevens’ children and one of Stevens’ grandchildren,” proseuctors say.

Prosecutors said other evidence they plan to introduce will include “communications between Stevens and a personal friend that demonstrates Stevens’ consciousness of guilt.”

ADVERTISEMENT

Prosecutors said in their motion that in February 2001, Stevens and his wife, Catherine, signed a contract to buy a condominum in a complex whose developers included a personal friend of the senator’s.

Under the terms of the contract, the Stevenses agreed to purchase a $360,000 unit in a yet-to-be constructed building, prosecutors said. They were required to put down a 10 percent deposit of $36,000, prosecutors said.

But Stevens paid only $5,000 at the time, prosecutors said. The remaining $31,000 was paid for instead by Stevens’ friend, who prosecutors said wrote a check to an escrow company “under the name and for the benefit of Theodore and Catherine Stevens.” The check was written April 9, 2001, according to the motion. The friend is not named.

On Aug. 21, 2001, prosecutors said Stevens’ friend wrote him a letter saying that the company had found a buyer for the “garden apartment” who was willing to pay $515,000. Stevens could expect to profit by $129,250 from it, his friend wrote, and “specifically referenced the fact” that they had covered the $31,000 shortfall on the deposit for the Stevenses, prosecutors said.

It was only after they had an agreement to sell the condo that Stevens repaid the $31,000 deposit, prosecutors said. On Sept. 12, 2001 (the day following the terrorist attacks) prosecutors said that Stevens asked someone on his Senate staff to send a $15,000 check drawn on his personal checking account to the development company. Prosecutors said that Stevens asked for a second check of $16,000 to be sent on Dec. 11, 2001.

Senate ethics rules requires that senators disclose any liabilities greater than $10,000, and Stevens did not disclose the personal, interest-free loan, prosecutors said.

“Although Stevens’ knowingly carried debt on a $31,000 interest-free loan from a personal friend for more than 10 months during 2001, Stevens did not list such a liability on his 2001 financial disclosure form.”

His financial disclosure from 2001 does, however, show that he owned real estate in Aventura, Fla., valued between $100,000 to $250,000. Aventura, a beach town, is between Miami and Fort Lauderdale.

The condo flip described by prosecutors is similar to thousands of similar transacations made in Florida at the height of the real estate bubble. Those deals fueled a paper real estate boom that eventually crashed and led to one of the highest foreclosure rates in the nation and a decline in property values.

Many people made money by putting a deposit on an condominum that was under construction — or proposed. Often, before ground was even broken, the original buyers would turn around and sell the condo to a new buyer, at a substantial profit.

Prosecutors also describe a second new vehicle — a 2005 Jeep Cherokee — given to Stevens’ daughter, Lily. Back in 1999, Bill Allen, then the chief executive of oil field and construction company Veco Corp., bought a new Land Rover Discovery and traded it to Stevens for a 1964 Mustang and $5,000, the indictment against Stevens says. Prosecutors say it was worth much more. Stevens wanted it for his dependent child, the indictment says. Then, in 2005, Allen and Stevens started talking again about the Land Rover, the new filing says.

“Allen offered to get Stevens’ daughter a new car in exchange for the 1999 Land Rover, and Stevens agreed,” prosecutors assert. Allen talked more with Stevens and his daughter and agreed to buy a red 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee and trade it to the daughter, the filing says.

“Although the 1999 Land Rover transaction was between Allen and Stevens, the 2005 automobile transaction occurred instead between Stevens’ daughter and a Veco employee, for the purposes of hiding Allen’s involvement in the transaction,” the court document says.

On July 15, 2005, Allen wrote a personal check for $35,000 to the employee, the document says. The same day, the employee wrote a personal check to an Alaska car dealership for the Cherokee. The SUV was registered to the Veco employee and shipped to Seattle by Veco.

According to prosecutors, Veco then flew the employee to Seattle to pick up the vehicle and drive it to Berkeley, Calif. Lily Stevens went to law school there.

The prosecutors say Stevens transferred the title of the Land Rover to his daughter on Aug. 1, 2005. On Sept. 1, 2005, his daughter transferred the Land Rover, along with $13,000, to the Veco employee in exchange for the Cherokee, prosecutors say. But the Land Rover was worth just $9,000 by then, the filing says.

28. Wishing In Vain // August 15, 2008 at 1:44 am

David, It was almost laughable to listen to Liz Thompson and Kerrie Symmonds squirm in their mess, from what I heard I doubt if Symmonds has the ability to be an opposition Senate member and so to Liz Thompson in particular Symmonds displayed utter arrogance towards the President who was extremely generous in his rulings with this idiot, my advice to Symmonds is to be aware that the country is listening to your comments very critically and you are not doing a lot to promote yourself or your party with your bombastic aggressive and uncouth manner.

You don’t realize that Kerrie Simmonds has an anger problem. I don’t know if it came from being teased alot about his girlie girlie voice but he needs to deal with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

29. Wishing In Vain Avatar

He displayed very poor class in his handling of this matter.

I would say that they have a long time to adjust to the Senate some suggest that they will not make the required adjustment and that they will fall by the wayside.

30. I Watching
    As you said, you live abroad so you’re going by hearsay from poliyical fanatics from both sides.Whenever a government in Barbados is changed, there is always scandle about malgovernment from the new party fanatics. I’m not saying that the rumours are true or lie, until the ruling government put things in place to investigate and if necessary proscecute some person/persons it would be good if you blowhards would find something sensible to blog about. All of you are sounding stupid, like a potstarver dog with muf bark and no bite. When you’re challenged, you put your tail between your legs and look for shelter. Grow up, stop behaving like a little brat. All them politician are friends and are usually at each others house parties that you are noy or would not be invited to. I witness this on a yearly basis. That’s why I look down a middle line and forget the party thing.

31. Scout I agree with you! However, if politicians want us to look at them in a whole new diferent light i would advise them to LOCK UP SOMEBODY!

I always say if my friends can go to jail so can these damn people! You mean to tell me that we will never have JUSTICE in Barbados!

If I do something I will have to suffer the consequences as well as my children! What makes these people so special!

Look, anybody will tell you I call every body sir at work I dont give a shite who you are, you could look and smell like a blasted bear you are human; SCOUT THESE PEOPLE WANT LOKING UP simple!

Young people aint foolish na more hear SERIOUS THING !

32. We find it interesting that Stetson Babb who was one of the moderators on the program which hosted the leader of the opposition felt they did a good job posing the questions. Peter Wickham the other host while hosting a subsequent program commented that the the leader of the opposition avoided the hard questions and sought to distance herself from the former administration.

You be the judge!

33. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Bill Allen waiting for ‘ax to fall’
    MONEY NO PROBLEM: Former Veco CEO still has millions but not the power.

By RICHARD MAUER
    rmauer@adn.com

Two Alaska state legislators bribed by Bill Allen for a pittance of his wealth are broke and behind bars, and two others who are likewise accused are preparing expensive criminal defenses. Sen. Ted Stevens faces criminal charges over alleged gifts from Allen, and Allen’s contributions to Rep. Don Young are part of an ongoing federal investigation.

So what has Allen, the source of all that trouble, been up to since he pleaded guilty to bribery and conspiracy on May 7, 2007?

The former chairman of the defunct oil services company Veco has yet to see a day in jail. His sentencing has repeatedly been delayed as he continues to cooperate with federal prosecutors and the FBI in their ongoing inquiry into Alaska corruption. It was recently pushed back again, to February 2009.

In the meantime, Allen and members of his family have suddenly found themselves cash rich. The sale of Veco to Denver-based CH2M Hill 11 months ago produced a windfall of $146 million divided among privately held Veco’s six owners, chief among them Allen and his three grown children.

According to sales documents, the estimated payment to each of the children was about $30 million before taxes; they were told to each set aside about $8.5 million for the IRS, the documents said. Allen’s share, through his Shelby Trust, was estimated to be about $7 million.

ADVERTISEMENT

The family has kept control of another $70 million in former Veco assets that CH2M Hill didn’t want, including ownership or uncollected accounts of several foreign subsidiaries, the documents said. The current status of most of those properties and assets couldn’t be determined.

A JET AND RACE HORSES

The three children earlier were beneficiaries of Allen’s plea deal with the government — they received immunity from prosecution for any crimes uncovered in the long-running investigation. No such crimes have been disclosed or alleged by the government in any public case file.

In January, seven months after his plea, Allen and two of his three children became the new owners of a twin-engine executive jet. While the price that newly created Allen Transportation LLC of Anchorage paid for the 30-year-old plane couldn’t be determined, its Aircraft Bluebook value is around $2 million. The British-made Hawker HS125 700A seats between eight and 11 passengers.

Since taking delivery Jan. 10, the Allen jet has been flying about the West. While there’s no way to know from public records whether which, if any, members of the Allen family was actually on board a given flight or whether the jet was being chartered to someone else, the plane made numerous trips to cities with the homes of their many relatives and to airports near racetracks and other attractions, according to FAA records. All of Allen’s children are licensed to own racehorses by the state of New Mexico.

Allen is free on an unsecured $10,000 bond and has no passport restrictions — unlike Stevens, who was forced to give up his passport at his arraignment last month. A special typewritten requirement that Allen get written court approval each time he wanted to leave Alaska was scratched out on Allen’s conditions for release signed by U.S. District Judge John Sedwick more than a year ago..

Though Allen still owns his home near downtown Anchorage, a property valued at $571,400, he now spends some of his time in Roswell, N.M., according to his attorney, Bob Bundy, and to people who know him there.

Dick Cappellucci, a New Mexico licensed horse trainer from El Paso, Tex., who used to work for Allen’s son, Mark Allen, and once owned a race horse with Mark, said Bill Allen is living on his son’s Double Eagle Ranch. The county lists the ranch as a 46-acre property.

Mark Allen himself “is building a fancy, fancy place over there,” Cappellucci said.

Prosecutors say that Bill Allen is cooperating with their ongoing investigation. He has been the star witness at the trials of Reps. Pete Kott and Vic Kohring and will certainly testify against Stevens if that case goes before a jury.

Allen could eventually face a sentence of nine to 11 years.

In the meantime, at least some of the Allen family spending has been in the public arena. Because horse racing is highly regulated, the family’s activity in that industry is easier to track than their ongoing construction or oil-field work overseas.

Last August, about a week before the Veco sale was consummated, Mark Allen, 49, spent nearly $726,000 for eight horses at the Ruidoso Select Quarter Horse sale in New Mexico, one of the breed’s premiere events. His Double Eagle Ranch, in Roswell, paid the highest price for any horse at that sale — $460,000 for a colt, according to Ruidoso Downs, the track that conducts the sale. The month before he bought a New Mexico-bred thoroughbred for $7,500.

So Long Birdie, a winning but injured thoroughbred once owned by a partnership that included Ted Stevens and nine of his friends, including Bill and Mark Allen, is now exclusive Allen property, according to Double Musky restaurateur Bob Persons, who managed the partnership. So Long Birdie stands at stud at the Buena Suerte Equine Clinic neighboring the Double Eagle Ranch, where his services fetch $2,000 a mare, according to the clinic’s Web site.

The horse partnership that once owned the horse was Alaska’s Great Eagle LLC in deference to Stevens, a WWII transport pilot. Persons said in March that the Allens bought So Long Birdie from the others.

Recently, the Allens have been showing up big at horse sales, Cappellucci said. “They’ve spent a lot of money in the horse business.”

The Allens have also been spending money closer to home. Through Sting Ray LLC, a company organized in November 2007, the four Allens bought the Little Su Lodge and a Cessna airplane based there for about $720,000, according to a sales document obtained by the Daily News. The property had been owned by Allen’s neighbor in Anchorage, Jim Weeks.

TREASURY INVESTIGATION

Veco was sold last Sept. 7 to the engineering and construction firm CH2M Hill, an employee-owned company, and the formal stock-purchase agreement was filed publicly with the Securities and Exchange Commission. That document and other records connected with the sale obtained by the Daily News showed that the Allen family and two former Veco executives, Roger Chan and Peter Leathard, owned shares in Veco either directly or through trusts.

The Veco owners shared in the proceeds according to their ownership percentages, with the Allen family together holding more than 80 percent, according to sales documents.

According to the CH2M Hill purchase agreement, the total value of the sale was $380 million. But after adjustments, assumptions of debt and the issuance of $15 million in CH2M Hill stock to Veco employees who joined CH2M Hill, the owners were left to divide $146 million in cash. Another $70 million was withheld but payable by 2010 — a guarantee against hidden or unexpected issues arising.

Among those issues: Veco could still be charged criminally as a corporation. Allen has testified he tried to get immunity for the company but couldn’t. In its SEC filing, CH2M Hill said such an event would be “potentially detrimental to CH2M HILL’s reputation in the business community or impact our future business operations.” The new owners said they would continue to cooperate with ongoing investigations and have had a “productive dialogue” with the U.S. Justice Department.

In other documents produced for the sale, Veco disclosed it was also being investigated by the Treasury Department related to its projects in Sudan, run by an overseas Veco subsidiary. The U.S. government has limited sanctions against Sudan as a result of the conflict in its Darfur region, but the nature of the inquiry couldn’t be determined. A treasury spokesman declined to comment.

IMMUNITY FOR ALLEN CHILDREN

While Allen couldn’t make an immunity deal with prosecutors for Veco, he was able to protect his family, according to his plea bargain. Assuming Allen cooperates fully, “the government will not charge Allen’s son Mark Allen, or other family members of Allen with any criminal offense arising out of the government’s investigation or that have been disclosed to the government,” the plea agreement says.

The family’s legal exposure, if any, could not be determined. Messages left on the phones of Allen’s children — Tammy Kerrigan, Mark Allen and Shannon West — were not returned.

Allen’s attorney, Bob Bundy, said, “He put it in there — that was in the plea agreement — but I don’t know that his kids were really in any jeopardy.”

All three children and their spouses or ex-spouses were major campaign contributors in Alaska over the years. David Anderson, a nephew of Bill Allen who grew up with Mark Allen, his cousin, in Kenai, said that Allen used to reimburse his and Mark’s campaign contributions, a violation of Alaska law. Allen’s indictment says that Veco, Allen and two unnamed top executives — but not family members — violated state and federal law by reimbursing executives for campaign donations. Allen described what prosecutors called Veco’s “special bonus program” in testimony in one of the bribery trials last fall, but wasn’t specific about who gave money.

“NOT A VERY HAPPY SITUATION”

Millions of dollars of Veco assets were not included in the sale to CH2M Hill. A spokesman for the Denver company, John Corsi, said CH2M Hill was not interested in subsidiaries that didn’t operate in the energy sector, such as the Veco construction company that built a prison in Barbados, made infamous in an FBI recording of former House Speaker Pete Kott asking Veco for a job as warden there.

CH2M Hill shunned Veco energy assets in two countries with U.S. trade sanctions, Sudan and Syria. It didn’t want Ingeniera Veco de Venezuela, where Hugo Chรกvez, the fiery anti-U.S. president holds power.

Some of Veco’s oil field assets in Russia were also retained by Allen and the others, as was a construction business in Canada and an engineering company in Mexico. They retained the Times Publishing Co., which publishes the conservative voiceofthetimes.net, $5,300 in gold nuggets, and real estate owned by Veco in Homer, Kenai, Fairbanks and Slana. They also kept the 34-acre yard at 101 E. 100th Ave in Anchorage where the Veco subsidiary Norcon had a facility. The Anchorage assessor valued that property at $10.2 million this year.

Veco International LLC, formed in Austin, Texas, on Aug 31, 2007, is one of the companies created to accept the assets that Allen and the others are retaining, according to the public sales agreement. Another is AEL LLC of Seattle, which got most of the real estate and other assets, and MST Ventures Inc., also of Seattle, which will attempt to collect receivables in Sudan and Syria, the documents say

Tom Corkran, a former Veco official, continued on as AEL general manager and MST president. He declined to answer questions about the sale earlier this year and couldn’t be reached recently. Anchorage lawyer David Bundy, who represented Veco in the sale and filed the papers in Texas for Veco International LLC, didn’t return a call left at his office.

Allen’s personal defense lawyer, a former U.S. Attorney for Alaska, Bob Bundy, said Allen’s legal troubles created a huge opportunity for CH2M Hill.

“He took a pretty big haircut because of all of this,” Bundy said. “Whatever people think of the events of 2006, the fact is that Allen built the company, going from nothing to a company that was doing a billion worth of business, and then he had to sell at a fire sale price because of all the trouble he got in.”

Allen didn’t have to direct $15 million from the sale toward CH2M Hill stock for Veco employees, but did anyway, Bundy said.

Bundy said Allen doesn’t have much to do these days.

“He’s just kind of marking time — he’s just kind of waiting for the ax to fall, that’s all,” Bundy said. “He went from a guy who was leading a pretty good life, being a CEO with people respecting him, to somebody that’s just waiting now. It’s not a very happy situation.”

34. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Court battle over secret export commissions claimsยท Company accused of circumventing bribery law
    ยท Ex-manager denies kickbacks and fraud

Read Jonathan Danos’s defence here

Read Mabey’s writ hereDavid Leigh and Rob Evans The Guardian, Wednesday January 2 2008 Article historyOne of the richest families in Britain is being accused in a courtroom battle of circumventing anti-bribery laws.
    The Mabey family firm, whose worldwide empire is based on exports of steel bridges, is accused by its former sales manager of misconduct in sales to Jamaica, the Dominican Republic and Panama.

The former manager, Jonathan Danos, says that large secret payments of “commissions” to middlemen were artificially split to make them look smaller, and thus avoid official scrutiny.

In all three countries, there was no competitive bidding for contracts, profits were alleged by him to be exceptionally high, and the money had to be borrowed from commercial banks, adding to the heavy debts of poor countries.

Many of Mabey’s sales are backed by the British taxpayer. The loans were guaranteed by the Export Credits Guarantee Department (ECGD), which is part of the Department of Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform.

While Danos is making accusations against the company, he himself is being sued by the firm for allegedly pocketing hundreds of thousands of pounds for himself in corrupt kickbacks on the deals.

Mabey got a freezing order preventing the sale of Danos’s luxury home in Notting Hill, west London, last year and went to court. The high court said in a preliminary hearing there was “strong prima facie evidence” of fraud by him.

But Danos, who was awarded the MBE in 2000 for services to British exports, has denied all the claims, and retaliated by filing a detailed account of the devices he alleges were used by the firm to get around anti-bribery laws passed by the British government.

Excessive commissions are a common means of passing on bribes. As a result, British and US authorities generally frown on payments above 5%.

Danos claims that he was ordered to divide an 8.5% commission to be passed to a Jamaican businessman, Deryk Gibson, into two parts – a commission of 5%, and another 3.5% for non-existent “local services”. He was also ordered, he alleged, to similarly split a 17% commission for a deal in the Dominican Republic, where the agent is named as a local businessman, Gilberto Pagan. In a third set of deals, in Panama, commissions were paid at 15%, he alleged, to a bank account in the Bahamas allegedly controlled by another agent, Rogelio Dumanoir.

The Jamaica allegations will be particularly dismaying for the ECGD. Its advisory council conducted a special review of the ยฃ17m Jamaica guarantee in 2003, under pressure from anti-corruption campaigners, and concluded: “There is no great cause for concern.”

The then trade minister, Richard Caborn, said at the time: “I am pleased … This work will benefit the people of Kingston and rural areas”.

A Mabey director, Richard Glover, later unsuccessfully tried to persuade the ECGD that the firm should be allowed to keep its agents’ identities secret.

He wrote in 2005: “Exporters should be free to pay legitimate commissions to their agents without the burden of the obligation to provide ECGD with details that are often confidential and commercially sensitive.”

In his court filings, Danos paints in rarely seen detail a picture of a company that regularly paid huge sums to confidential agents to make sales around the world, although he does not directly accuse them of bribery. He says the firm’s founder, Bevil Mabey, who is 90, “established close relationships with high-level officials … and even in some cases vice-presidents and presidents”.

But when Britain passed an anti-bribery law in 2001, the founder’s son, David Mabey, changed the company’s procedures. Danos says he was told the “artificial split” in commission was “as a result of a need to comply with” the law, the Anti-Terrorism Crime and Security Act 2001. US lawyers gave advice, Danos claimed, that commissions above 5% would also lead to suspicions by the US authorities of “bribery or inducements”.

The Mabey companies have previously been accused by anti-corruption campaigners of overcharging for sales of bridges and flyovers in the Philippines and Papua New Guinea.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2008/jan/02/scamsandfraud.money

35. test

36. Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' Avatar

To my new friends such as WIV and JC and all others who share their similar views. Truth is I am amused at your departure from reality. Have you been following the governance of Barbados since the 15th of January? Are you not disturbed that apart from broken promises, procrastination, and more accusations, little has been done to bring relief to ordinary Barbadians? I know for sure, that the more David appears on national television or radio, the more Mia will take a chunk out of his self-immortalised demeanour. The more mistakes made by the government, the more the people will realise that a rescue mission will become necessary and by extension vote for the party that has managed the affairs of this country best over the last 40 years. Press on Mia, and to be fair, good luck to the Dems and David.

37. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Sen. Stevens loses bid to move trial to Alaska

By ERIKA BOLSTAD
    ebolstad@adn.com

WASHINGTON — A jury in Washington, D.C., will determine whether Sen. Ted Stevens lied on financial disclosure forms about gifts and home renovations he allegedly accepted from an oil services company and its owner.

http://www.adn.com/news/politics/fbi/stevens/story/499537.html

38. @Someone said the ‘BLP Stalwart’

Your name suggest that you would be inclined to spout the usual partisan political rhetoric.

Should we remind you that all through the Caribbean the people have voted for change?

Should we also remind you that in recent months global economies have been buffeting in the turbulence caused by rising oil prices etc?

Should we remind you that social commentators have been suggesting that this is a good time to be in opposition?

How can you make statements which suggest that any incumbent government and particularly the BLP would have been able to wave a magic wand and overcome the global economic challenges of today?

39. Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' Avatar

To David,

If there is one thing that I admire and appreciate is the value for our democratic institutions. Hence, I accept a vote of change at this time or at any other time. Nevertheless, this has to be balanced realistically to balance out the costs and benefits. To date, the Dems are sliding deeper into the red and unfortunately this impacts on the lives of ordinary Barbadians in a negative way. The Dems issued a challenge, they received the support of the majority of voters, and I see no reason why they should speak of global changes as a reason to abandon what they told the people. Certainly part of the challenge for governance had to be a capacity to read economic trends, make forecasts based upon sound knowledge. Now if we are admitting that the Dems have failed to do this, this is the beginning of their demise. The Dems are not well placed for effective governance, what we are seeing is a government depending upon other winds of change to direct its course; there is simply no compass, no one with a relatively clear-cut vision of moving forward the collective interests of this country.
    Finally, I am not saying that the BLP would not have had to face similar difficulties. I am contending that the BLP has always showed the resolve to think matters through, to project a definitive vision, and as demonstrated in the post-September 11 debacle the need to ensure that the social fabric is not tainted with gross unemployment. Yes, the challenges are there, but the Dems answers are increased taxation and the Bees have always answered by saying, “let people have and keep their jobs, while we fight to contain other pressing issues.” Any discerning judge David, would more than likely come to the conclusion that supports my assessment of the two parties over the last 40 years. They have both worked hard, but since Barrow, the Dems have never nor will they ever be the same. Cheers and good luck. I still trust that the Dems do a job good enough that saves peoples’ jobs, protects the marginalised, and overall expands the potential of this great country called BARBADOS.

40. Wishing In Vain Avatar

David when this clown comes out of his dream world and returns to the real world he will realise that the people of barbados have spoken loudly and clearly and they rejected them and their party for gross corruption, see todays Nation re more corruption at NHC every day another case manifest itself.

41. “I still trust that the Dems do a job good enough that saves peoplesโ€™ jobs, protects the marginalised, and overall expands the potential of this great country called BARBADOS.”

Well this is wishful thinking. The stupid DEMS have increased taxes and offered free bus fare thinking that this will make them popular.
    What the idiots have not calculated is that the bus fleet cannot handle the load.
    And in today’s press we see that 1000 Bajans will be out of work since the PSVs are getting rid of the conductors.
    This means potentially 1000 persons with children. Let’s assume that these 1000 persons have at least 2 dependents. That’s 3000 Barbadians that are affected.

This is what the caring DLP did in 6 months of office. Let them keep it up. We need the BLP back at the helm in 4 yrs to save us from this group of idiots.
    Job number one is still jobs.
    This is the change people voted for on Jan 15th and they’re surely getting it.

42. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Do you really want to return to your massive corruption????

Have you not come to grips with the number of special audits and forensic audits now running ???

Do you not remember the 1, 2, 3 men of URBAN ????

43. Th sacking of the conductors is a bad idea.
    This will lead to yet more traffic problems.
    Drivers who have to concentrate on taking fares as well as driving will either stop longer in the road ( since all bus drivers in Barbados are allergic to bus stop lay byes) or have more accidents as they attempt to drive whilst making sure fares are paid /correct..

44. Wishing In Vain Avatar

How sad can it really get in relation to the corruption that was the BLP in their last term in office.

I have now been given information that a group consisting of a five well known people conspired to defraud we the honest hard working citizens of this island to the tune of $ 20 million in one land deal.

The lands concerned are those 20 odd acres of NHC lands that were attempted to be transferred to that gang of crooks named above, this transaction is alleged to have taken place on the 10 th of JAN 2008 that is right 5 days before they were kicked out of office, this land has a commercial value of about Bds $ 25 million but Farley and Owing Arthur conspired to transfer it to a group of friends for the meager sum of Bds $4 million, I sincerely hope that Dennis Cadogan did not dabble in the monies of THE CENTRAL BANK where he worked.

RODNEY MUST RATE AS THE MOST NASTY PIECE OF SLIME TO LIVE ON THIS ISLAND more on his last fraud in another chapter, he lives from one scam to the next scam, he has another scam presently running.

WIV we have had to touch-up this comment for the obvious reasons.

45. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I appreciate your comment but I can assure you that Dennis Cadogan among others are a sick dishonest bunch give it the next few days and the body of this story will be exposed, it is a sad reflection of our values when the Minister of Housing and lands can dishonestly dispose of valuable lands belonging to the crown to himself and his friends for a fraction of the real value of the lands.

Rodney Wilkinson is a fraudlent dishonest clone of Owing Arthur we need to ask him about his latest fraud to the tune of
    $ 280,000.00 ???????

46. Wishing In Vain Avatar

This is yet another classic example of the wholesale corruption that Owing encouraged and took part in.

Mottley is not blameless either as she to knew and condoned his actions not to mention her own actions of collecting from the corrupt owners of VECO the tiny sum of $ 150,000.00 towards her private party.

And they have the GALL to declare their assets as if we are all idiots and brainless.

At least we have the brains to know when we are being shafted by a corrupt bunch of crooks like Mottley, Clarke, Marshall, Lynch and Arthur.

47. I heard that what was thought as improbable happened recently. It is rumoured that a certain lady has gotten married! To a Russian at that!

WIV get on the case and report back to BU! Where are you when we need you?