Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley will have her chance to interact with Barbados during a press conference scheduled today on Voice of Barbados (VOB) at 11AM. The press conference will be co-moderated by Stetson Babb and Peter Wickham. The BU household applauds the honouring of the commitment by Prime Minister Thompson to meet with the press on a quarterly basis. Press conferences under the previous administration were never taken seriously, journalists were often told to report to Bay Street with very little time to prepare. We urge Prime Minister Thompson to continue down this path, our democracy will be the better for it.

We will not be too harsh on our journalists at this early stage of the process, although they have appeared to be overawed during the previous two press conferences. It is time that our journalists understand that they can be respectful to our leaders and remain true to their profession-they are obligated to ask the hard questions. The inclusion of Peter Wickham in the mix today should create an interesting match-up. Peter Wickham suffered personal attacks by Mottley and the Barbados Labour Party during the last general election, some might say that it got too nasty.

A BU family member submitted the following questions which he dares our journalists to ask the Opposition Leader. After reading the questions we were reminded of that time when David Ellis read from an email during the now famous interview with former tourism Minister Barney Lynch. The email is addressed to Stetson, we believe that Stetson is capable of asking the hard questions despite operating in the same social space as Mottley.

Dear Stetson,

As I will be busy during your show I beg of you to ask the following questions of Ms Mottley for me, I will tune in to the repeat version at midnight to hear her replies. Please separate yourself from your own personal views and inquire of Ms Mottley on the Nation’s behalf and in so doing elevate your standing among the listeners of your radio station, the general public deserve the fairest treatment and you are in a position to deliver this fair treatment, please do so for our sakes and for the sake of those to come.

1. Can you inquire of Ms Mottley if she is aware with regard to the charges of corruption at the UDC, a Ministry that from all reports was a free for all, and her comments about the much touted 1,2,3 men and fees for contracts arrangements? The facts surrounding the discovery of receipts for rent collected on behalf of UDC by none other than the wife of a former Minister of a cabinet that she sat in, that Minister being Joe Atherley, where these payments never made it to the UDC but the evidence clearly points to rents being paid by tenants to Mrs Atherley but not received at the UDC???
  2. Secondly can she update us on the position with their inquiry prior to elections into the activities of Dr Leo Brewster and his girlfriend at Coastal Commission, a report was laid before them the then gov’t prior to elections and no action was taken, why was this?
  3. Why are we hearing and seeing so many cases of mismanagement at all levels of the Civil Service and gross abuse of office in many PS’s cases?
  4. What is her opinion on the proposal to remove school children from paying bus fares as we are yet to her voice a comment on this very progressive move?
  5. Can she tell us with certainty if she has the support of Mr Hammie Lashley in her role as leader of the opposition as based on his recent series of actions and contributions his stance appears at variance with hers and the party? And what actions has she taken to remedy this situation??
  6. Does she see herself as the one likely to take the BLP into its next election and if yes what then does she see the role of Mr Arthur playing ? As at present there seems to be no love lost between them and even leading into the last election the co-leader mouthings by former Prime Minister Arthur were seen as a measure to undermine her status within the party that certainly seems to have affected her status within and outside of the party?

We encourage members of the BU family to submit questions to BU which they would want to have posed to the leader of the opposition. We know that they all read the blogs!

205 responses to “Leader Of The Opposition Mia Mottley To Meet The Press”

1. On August 26 at 12:36 WIV wrote “RODNEY MUST RATE AS THE MOST NASTY PIECE OF SLIME TO LIVE ON THIS ISLAND more on his last fraud in another chapter, he lives from one scam to the next scam, he has another scam presently running.” and promised to follow up.

So where is the follow-up????

2. So??????????Hot rumor if you “heard that what was thought as improbable happened recently. It is rumoured that a certain lady has gotten married! To a Russian at that!”

So tell us nuh. We want to read it here first. We don’t want to wait for the Sunday Sun.

3. I said on this blog somewhile ago that the 1000 lbs of blubber mottley would attempt to get married to a man to deceive the public and fulfill a need to be seen as normal and to be living a normal civil sexual life, and eventually parent a child notice I did not suggest mother a child.

She is very alert to the realisation that she is known to beat and injure her female sexual partners and her only hope to ever gain office again in 20 years is that her persona has to change radically and her wicked lesbian manner must be shelved.

4. Windbag in Pain
    You didn’t get the Bisodel did you?
    Milk of Magnesia will do just as well.
    While you at it get something for bile too.

Or could it be that you are harboring a secret passion for Mia Amor and have been turned down?

Hell hath no fury like a windbag scorned.

5. mia mottley
    will marry