Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley will have her chance to interact with Barbados during a press conference scheduled today on Voice of Barbados (VOB) at 11AM. The press conference will be co-moderated by Stetson Babb and Peter Wickham. The BU household applauds the honouring of the commitment by Prime Minister Thompson to meet with the press on a quarterly basis. Press conferences under the previous administration were never taken seriously, journalists were often told to report to Bay Street with very little time to prepare. We urge Prime Minister Thompson to continue down this path, our democracy will be the better for it.

We will not be too harsh on our journalists at this early stage of the process, although they have appeared to be overawed during the previous two press conferences. It is time that our journalists understand that they can be respectful to our leaders and remain true to their profession-they are obligated to ask the hard questions. The inclusion of Peter Wickham in the mix today should create an interesting match-up. Peter Wickham suffered personal attacks by Mottley and the Barbados Labour Party during the last general election, some might say that it got too nasty.

A BU family member submitted the following questions which he dares our journalists to ask the Opposition Leader. After reading the questions we were reminded of that time when David Ellis read from an email during the now famous interview with former tourism Minister Barney Lynch. The email is addressed to Stetson, we believe that Stetson is capable of asking the hard questions despite operating in the same social space as Mottley.

Dear Stetson,

As I will be busy during your show I beg of you to ask the following questions of Ms Mottley for me, I will tune in to the repeat version at midnight to hear her replies. Please separate yourself from your own personal views and inquire of Ms Mottley on the Nation’s behalf and in so doing elevate your standing among the listeners of your radio station, the general public deserve the fairest treatment and you are in a position to deliver this fair treatment, please do so for our sakes and for the sake of those to come.

1. Can you inquire of Ms Mottley if she is aware with regard to the charges of corruption at the UDC, a Ministry that from all reports was a free for all, and her comments about the much touted 1,2,3 men and fees for contracts arrangements? The facts surrounding the discovery of receipts for rent collected on behalf of UDC by none other than the wife of a former Minister of a cabinet that she sat in, that Minister being Joe Atherley, where these payments never made it to the UDC but the evidence clearly points to rents being paid by tenants to Mrs Atherley but not received at the UDC???
  2. Secondly can she update us on the position with their inquiry prior to elections into the activities of Dr Leo Brewster and his girlfriend at Coastal Commission, a report was laid before them the then gov’t prior to elections and no action was taken, why was this?
  3. Why are we hearing and seeing so many cases of mismanagement at all levels of the Civil Service and gross abuse of office in many PS’s cases?
  4. What is her opinion on the proposal to remove school children from paying bus fares as we are yet to her voice a comment on this very progressive move?
  5. Can she tell us with certainty if she has the support of Mr Hammie Lashley in her role as leader of the opposition as based on his recent series of actions and contributions his stance appears at variance with hers and the party? And what actions has she taken to remedy this situation??
  6. Does she see herself as the one likely to take the BLP into its next election and if yes what then does she see the role of Mr Arthur playing ? As at present there seems to be no love lost between them and even leading into the last election the co-leader mouthings by former Prime Minister Arthur were seen as a measure to undermine her status within the party that certainly seems to have affected her status within and outside of the party?

We encourage members of the BU family to submit questions to BU which they would want to have posed to the leader of the opposition. We know that they all read the blogs!

205 responses to “Leader Of The Opposition Mia Mottley To Meet The Press”

1. One more question-She mentioned recently that the gov’t should monitor Japanese fishermen conducting operations in our waters. Was last Friday the first time she found out about this? The Japanese were fishing in our waters for the last 10 or so years. Why was nothing done about it?

2. Waiting In Vain Avatar

May I add as well to who was the person or persons awarded the work in the disaster and failed EDUTECH project ?

Does Ms Mottley personally know of these persons awarded contracts for EDUTECH and if so please state her connection to them socially or otherwise??

3. Getting it off my chest.... Avatar
    Getting it off my chest….

Perhaps we should ask her what the studies the UN did on the QEH said about the suitability of it’s current location and construction?

How about….

Her opinion on the need for flyover seeing that despite the highway being widened, we are STILL getting backups of traffics at roundabouts?

Or maybe….

How about representation of unions on Boards of management like the hospital?

Perhaps we might even have time for….

Or her suggestion on the most effective way for subsidies on fuel for farmers to be implemented?

We could go on and on….

4. Let the comedy hour begin. I personally want to here that stupid Jamaican from Bagatelle that needs to give the talk shows a break with her hideous accent. I also want to hear the other idiot that somehow managed to con IADB of a grant of 1.3 million dollars to run that consumer organisation he solely heads. The one and only Malcolm(I want to be somebody mon) Taitt.

5. I just looked in the kitchen cabinet and realise that I en got no popcorn. I not got to rush down the road to the corner store and get some, cause I en want 2 miss d open salvos.

6. Don't try to fool us Avatar
    Don’t try to fool us

It would be total folly for Ms. Mottley to try to attact the govt. on anything since the BLP were in office for 14 years.
    We can’t be fooled.
    Once a BLP

7. Waiting In Vain Avatar

5 nil to the people, she has had over half an hour and is yet to score a single run, very poor display so far.

She has nothing to say and it is showing she is inept in the role as leader of the opposition.

Once again she is hogging the talk show and Babb is useless and controlling.

8. She scored plenty because she ask DT to stop posturing and slurring people character and act on you innuendos,

9. As is her usual style mia mottley talking bare sh*te and saying nothing.

Peter wickham over and over again has asked her some very pointed questions and all she could do is fillibuster and spout a whole lot of empty words.

She is a complete waste of time.

I was willing to give her the benefit of the doubt and against my better judgement listen to her this morning – but she has returned with the same old tripe.

10. Ms Mottley needs to read Hamlet again, in particular those lines (posted below) given to Lord Pollonius (a windbag):

“This business is well ended.
    My liege, and madam, to expostulate
    What majesty should be, what duty is,
    Why day is day, night night, and time is time,
    Were nothing but to waste night, day and time.
    Therefore, since brevity is the soul of wit,
    And tediousness the limbs and outward flourishes,
    I will be brief: your noble son is mad:
    Mad call I it; for, to define true madness,
    What is’t but to be nothing else but mad?
    But let that go.”

11. Waiting In Vain Avatar

stop posturing and slurring people character and act on you innuendos,

No worries my friend time will deal with your corruption in due course.

You have much to answer, and you will get your time before the courts.

12. Then go ahead David WIV Thompson show us your balls

13. Waiting In Vain Avatar

The News Break may have saved mottley from further distress and confusion, after anhour and a half we are still waiting on her to give a STRAIGHT ANSWER on any question.

She has both Peter Wicham and Stetson Babb pulling out their hair, Babb is becoming more aggitated by the minute as he cannot control her ramblings, this I know I to be a fact!!!!!

14. Why the hell can’t they pin her down and give her a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ question like what other serious interviewers do all over the world.

15. Waiting In Vain Avatar

WELL, WELL, WELL this is amazing, that even the VOB news team could find nothing of substance coming from mottley worthy to report on their 12.30 news break.

If I were her I would seriously question the value of my input, when the station that is hosting her on a call in show cannot see anything in her show worthy to be presented as a midday news item.

POOR POOR POOR MOTTLEY YOU SHOULD BE LOOKING FOR HOLES TO HIDE IN, A REAL DISASTER OF A PRESENTATION BY HER.

16. Waiting In Vain Avatar

Why the hell can’t they pin her down and give her a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ question like what other serious interviewers do all over the world.

My friend even if they tried that she would ramble her way around the reply.

Babb is so frustrated with her it is starting to show thru.

17. Waiting In Vain Avatar

I have just sat thru the poorest of poor presentations by the leader of the opposition , I believe that Hammy Lashley would have contributed in a more meanful way than this verbose clown mottley did.

The more I listen to her the more I realise how much she loves the sound of her own voice.

One empty vessel..

18. Why do Kellman feels that he is obliged to defend DT policies when he is not even a minister of the cabinet, do he like abuse or is he trying to win brownie points with DT. Twice this week the first time was regarding the hospital issue and now NHC. How can you defend the construction of wood houses increasing by $30,000 and electrical costs increasing by $6,000.oo.

19. Let us be fair and agree that it was up to Stetson Babb and Peter Wickham to question Mottley in a way to ensure that she delivered on the questions asked. Stetson tried but gave up half way through the program in frustration and Wickham for some strange reason was very lack luster.

Mottley has always been a stellar debater and on today’s show she used those skills to telling affect. Some people maybe turned off by her ‘run at the mouth’ style but it is one which she has used over the years to intimidate questioners.

We felt she came over as disingenuous on the UDC issue, she in fact became a little agitated. The other issue regarding the St. Joseph Hospital provided her the opportunity to move Barbadians forward by summarizing for the taxpayers of Barbados the contents of the report. She would have read it we are sure before it mysteriously disappeared.

20. Acomplete waste of everyone’s sunday lunchtime.

Is anyone any the wiser, on any subject.

Very poor format and direction from VOB.

Environmentally, enough wind to power Lamberts along with zero emissions of substance.

Was she ever responsible for anything in her various portfolios.

A case of Me-err me-err… not Mia culpa.

21. The St. Joseph hospital report did not disappear Freundel was saying he was going to bring the findings to the public why hasn’t he

22. I will listen to the repeat tonight but what I am reading here on the blog about her presentation does not surprise me. She is very evasive.

23. Darnley.L.Pinder Avatar
    Darnley.L.Pinder

i agree she is evasise in answering question unlike the pm who categorically stated that cabinet has approved the expansin of the hospital. She is also unlike Estwick who stated straight to the point that cabinet has approved building a new hospital.

24. A popcorn almost went down ma windpipe mon triggered by what ma ears heard from MIA’s mouth.
    Q: Do you feel any personal responsibility for the prison burning down?
    A: NO
    “A Minister does not keep guard and clock in at six o’clock the morning and lock down the prison. We are responsible for making sure that once things happen that we take action. It is like being responsible for every individual action of the fifteen hundred policemen in the Royal Barbados Police Force.Neither the Commissioner nor I cannot be.Once you have people taking action that is in breach of what they are supposed to do then you hold them accountable. What we tried to do is that once the prison burnt that we kept the country safe and that we make sure that nobody escaped”.
    I want to know the answer top my own question. Where does the buck stop. Especially when Gordon Mathews had warned her that something was going to go down at Glendairy and there was a need for urgent attention there.
    All ma popcorn gone mon.

25. Boredickey;

Could it be that Veco were at a loose end after completing the Oil Terminal, and building a new prison sounded like a good earner.

Only problem, how to get rid of the old one?

26. @Redds

Go and do some research and you can start by reading this link. To the best of our knowledge we repeat that the St. Joseph Hospital Report has gone missing.

27. I’m not sure if we all listened to the same program but there were several points on which Mia said she not only agreed with the Government but was sympathetic to them. So to dismiss her as a complete waste of time would be to dismiss those points on which she agreed with the govt.
    She must also be commended for accepting the mistakes made by the BLP and the fact that she lamented that the QEH was not in a better position as well as constitutional reform.
    She also spoke to the difficulty that both administrations faced since the 1970s in passing ITAL esp in a small society with limited persons willing to serve at the public level.
    And she took the moral high ground by stating that political tribalism should not descend on the public sector everytime there’s a change of govt. When questioned by Peter as to whether or not the same thing did not occur under the BLP she admitted this and further stated that at this stage of our maturity with a limited pool of persons we need to move beyond such a practice.
    IMHO, Mia showed a level of maturity and a continued sense of pride and loyalty in the best interest of Barbados without reneging on her party’s core ideological positions.

28. “I want to know the answer top my own question. Where does the buck stop. Especially when Gordon Mathews had warned her that something was going to go down at Glendairy and there was a need for urgent attention there.”

Mia’s response was absolutely correct and there were several measures put in place at Glendairy before the fire. However, despite the warnings, how could any Minister, BEE or DEE, avoid the fire.
    Let’s draw a parallel to the world’s most powerful nation and all the warning signs the US govt had be4 9/11 including a previous bombing under the Clinton administration. Yet the tragegy of 9/11 occurred. So for all the best of intentions of trying to be proactive, there are random events against which we have no control and the best response is how best to contain the damage.
    And all must agree that Mia handled the the Glendairy aftermath in superd fashion. There were no escapes, citizens did not feel unsafe and very very very quickly a new prison was built.
    Maybe we need to burn down the QEH!

29. Anonymous, you MUST be joking….

When she said that she felt no personal responsibility for the prison burning down I personally was only surprised that she told the truth.
    In fact, she did not quite say, but suggested that she was in fact GLAD, since they had been contemplating building a new one….’

Now if BU family will recall, the prison did not burn down initially… In fact it burned down AFTER the BDF and police forces had secured the place, confined prisoners to a fenced area and surrounded them with guns….hmmmmmm

…. the leader of the opposition is, to my mind, a classic example of a lotta long talk and no substance, and was clearly a central part of the disgraceful infelicities perpetrated by the last administration.

The BLP should do themselves and Barbados a favour by keeping a low profile for the next two years -while we try to forget their record , and while the DLP accumulate their own set of foolishness for us to deal with…

30. Can you believe that fat windbag mottley trying to tell us that 80% debt – to – GDP ratio is good?

Can you believe that she saw nothing wrong with the mounting debts that they the BLP left for our children to pay years down the road?

Just the way the callers questioned her,and the way the interviewers showed their clear frustration with her lies and evasion and rambling tactics – to me told the whole story.

Can you believe that mia mottley said that under the last government,the BLP had a managed migration policy?

Look Boredicky pass me some of dem pop corn do,cause this is really ‘saturday night at the movies’ – or sunday lunch time matinee.

Bare mek believe and acting.

I hope the BLP – including owen and all the rest of them realise – that though bajans might be passive they ain’t foolish.

This blp corrupt and wicked acts against the people of barbados will never be forgotten.

History will tell the story.

When peter wickham asked her what was the BLP legacy – that tripe shooter said – a reduction in cost of living.

Wuhloss,a bellyful a laughs.

31. Waiting In Vain Avatar

the leader of the opposition is, to my mind, a classic example of a lotta long talk and no substance, and was clearly a central part of the disgraceful infelicities perpetrated by the last administration.

It could not be said any better, as always mottley belives her lies and is so warped to expect John Public to follow suit, what she has failed to grasp is we the people have found our voices after the 14 years in submission and her nonsense will not be allowed to past unchecked.

I thought that VOB failed miserably in this show and that they are sadly lacking for people with investigative minds to carry out interviews, Stetson Babb was at sea and failed terribly at having a grip on the running of the show, had he had the courage he should have pointed out to mottley that he was running the show and she needed to respect his calls for a time out.

Maybe he felt at a loss knowing his party lines to try to censor his party leader.

32. Waiting In Vain Avatar

Lets be honest here guys, did anyone of you expect more from mottley????

She as has been displayed in her time in gov’t has been a proven molestor of all the various ministeries she has held, none of them has she left a positive stamp on they are all the worst for wear after her passing than before her passing, Culture, AG, Education they have all been abused and left in shambles.

If she made NO positive contribution while as member of a money powerful gov’t what contribution you expect of her after becoming the part time leader of the opposition???

Even a more empty one is my suggestion, she is filled with masculine hot air and no substance has been my reading of her for a long time now even as a minister my opinion has been made even firmer now that she is the part time leader of the opposition, Hammy stay near you may have a shot of becoming the future leader of the BLP.

At least we know you care about poor people so unlike mottley and her $ 150.00 parties that she collected $ 150,000.00 in ticket sales from the prison builder VECO no wonder she was not concerned about the cost overrun on the project by nearly $ 100 million because she was benefitting from their donations.

She also pulled the most amazing lie today when she stated her quote was stated in US $ and not in Bds $ for the prison, one sick and compulsive liar.

33. I too wondered how Wickham and Babb let that quote in US$ pass. In a report to the House of Assembly? Why should one quote in US$?

34. People all!

Be quiet and calm and let Mottley talk all de bovine excrement it wants to talk.

Let it think that you are fools.

Let it have a sense of false security in its ability to fool the people.

Then ACT at the time that action is needed.

Then it will know that the populace is not quite as stupid as it thinks we are.

Dont let it raise your blood pressure. It has no power now to DO BS, it can onlt TALK BS now.

So let it TALK freely until the time when the PEOPLE WILL ACT FREELY TOO.

35. Waiting In Vain Avatar

I am amazed when I heard it slide by, then again she may feel if she keeps saying the same thing over and over people will start to believe it.

To come on radio and suggest that she would work with any and everyone is comical to say the least when by her own actions she made certain to fill each ministry with her own including many that were not qualified for the post but once they shared the same bed was all that was required.

When I say this I speak with the knowledge and with the fact, ask her about their wild weekend romps at Little Bentley House ask her or any of her ilk like Debbie Hughes or Moe.

36. Waiting In Vain Avatar

IT is IT MALE or is IT FEMALE you did not state???

37. WIV

I do not know Sir.
    Being a scientist I try to be as accurate as possible.

Since I do not know, I have to err on the safe side and say IT Sir!

38. Depending on how one writes a story, the basic salient points could be buried.
    I refer to today’s Sunday Nation dated August 10th 2008.
    The headline reads:”Harder times ahead”. and it is penned by the New York-based North American Editor, short hand BLP yardfowl Tony Best.
    His article begins: “Barbadians can brace for harder times that could continue well into next year”.
    Tony! We know this; its a world-wide thing.
    He continues:”Inflation is expected to remain high, while unemployment is set to rise marginally. Economic growth is only expected to be marginal, between 2.5 percent this year and two percent in 2009.
    But don’t panic, the island isn’t facing any economic crisis”.
    The way you wrote the piece Tony, could have caused a fickle mind to panic, you know..the egg head type.
    It is known Tony, that most newspaper readers barely get past the first three paragraphs in any article. Hence, the way you started the piece said nothing new.
    Hell Tony, the scoop was right there on your tape recorder from the interview you did with Richard Francis, a top analyst at Standard & Poor’s, the credit rating agency.
    The real news Tony, is that Mr.Francis said Barbados is NOT facing an economic crisis.
    That should have been your lead sentence Tony. All these years in journalism and you still cannot identify pertinent news.
    We have your BIG MOUTH pprotege Mia running around the country saying otherwise Tony. She CANNOT argue with Mr.Francis because all during the BLP ousted government he was giving his critique to their pleasure.
    Mr Francis has given the Thompson administration a performance grade of A-minue or B+ for its handling of the economy in its first seven months in office. He said David’s “pragmatic policies” and COMPETENT ECONOMIC MANAGEMENT should prevent any fiscal catastrophe.
    “We are going to have to wait and see how the government handles it going forward, but so far so good”, said Mr.Francis.
    He also said that so far the Thompson administration is following pragmatic policies and with the international reserves actually increasing that’s a positice sign.
    He praised the government for removing the oil subsidies – a good move – he said.Mr.Francis is of the view that the falling oil prices worldwide would ease the pressure on Barbados.
    Do you get my drift Tony?????????????
    I EXPECT BETTER FROM YOU next time…yah hear?

39. Waiting In Vain Avatar

I do not know Sir.
    Being a scientist I try to be as accurate as possible.

Since I do not know, I have to err on the safe side and say IT Sir!

Like many others, we too are made to wonder????

40. Stuff that down your craw you BLP pessimists.
    You have 5 years to learn proper governance.

41. You have 25 years not 5
    25 years in opposition

42. Waiting In Vain Avatar

Stuff that down your craw you BLP pessimists.
    You have 5 years to learn proper governance.

I think you really mean a min of 15 years my friend, after there vile actions on the people of Barbados and more exposure to come to light I think that the Barbadian people will judge them for what ther are FRAUDS, CROOKS, THIEVES, VAGABONDS and MOLESTORS both of our treasury and of the female sex.

43. I saw Jippy Doyle well dressed in his pin-stripes on his way to the St.Phillip[ Hilton the other day.
    I hope to see the same soon for all those who raped the public purse as bold- faced as they were……..a disgrace. It reminds me of Antigua.
    I hope the government reserves a part of Glendairy for any over-crowding at Dodds to hold these thugs.

44. It would please the BU household no end if the BU family were to lift the debate. State your points with back-up!

45. Darnley.L.Pinder Avatar
    Darnley.L.Pinder

I think you really mean a min of 15 years my friend, after there vile actions on the people of Barbados and more exposure to come to light I think that the Barbadian people will judge them for what ther are FRAUDS, CROOKS, THIEVES, VAGABONDS and MOLESTORS both of our treasury and of the female sex.

WIV,is this the same reason the same people of barbados kept the dems in opposition for 14 years?

46. It would be out of character for Mottley to talk straight. She’s good at “pretty talk” but when you analyse it, she says nothing.

The press and other media in this country are afraid – fearful of having stories pulled because they were deemed ‘anti-government’ and anti- establishment. Editors are also fearful of having advertising taken away if a story should upset the wrong person.

Journalists in newsrooms know the real story but their hands are tied for fear of having the food snatched from their mouths. I commend a site such as this for highlighting the real issues happening in political life and the wider society.

Wonder if the lawyers are watching. Some of the stuff on here is HOT !

47. WIV so you telling me that David Thompson is ever so holy, you telling me that he don’t have a skeletons that could trip and fall out he closet. I sure they are a few out there that could lift up his, Freundel Stuart and Ronald Jones skirts and if I miss any help me out, because the streets do talk. I for one don’t believe the picture that you trying to paint of this man, he could front with his manhead St. Lucian beard all day.

48. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Much to the credit of the PRIME MINISTER THE HON MR.DAVID THOMPSON he has led by example with his openess and his frank discussion with Journalist and the media and I would have hoped they would now realise that there is a breath of fresh air blowing threw this nation and the affairs of this nation are no longer under the thugs that made up the last gov’t.

The press are free to ask prying questions of the Prime Minister he answers them so if he answers them why not feel free to ask probing questions of mottley, it maybe more about fear for One Caribbean Media than the laws of Barbados, the fear of being dismissed by Gollop, Fernandes or Gittens is a powerfull reason not to upset them, sad but true.

It is very sad when we submit to this type of behaviour and set aside our stands for the will of a few.

49. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Redds you are as empty as mottley showed us she was today,.

Maybe she should have sent you or that fraud Henderson Bovell to do the show today it would have been six of one and half a dozen of the other.

When you come to grips with the reality that you and your party has no creditability whatsoever and cannot speak with any seriousness on matters pertaining to governance or management of the affairs of this island , you failed this country massively and the people have rejected you and you style, it will be a long while before you will be taken seriously and listened to again.

Did you listen to the call in show today out of all the callers only one person semi supported your party all others were critical of her and by extension of you, not my doing my friend but your own doing.

I trust you also noticed how many questions she talked around and never addressed none moreso that early on when asked about the former pm’s role and Hammy’s role in the opposition, it was like if they were not asked of her.

50. WIV, why you running all those paragraphs for little old me lol