Pastor Dr Jippy Doyle (right) on his way to spend ten years in jail for raping a 13-year-old parishioner. (Picture by Nation Newspaper Heather-Lynn Evanson)

On the 27 May 2008 BU published a blog titled Sir Richard Cheltenham’s Vanishing Act In The Jippy Doyle Affair. We were higly critical of Sir Richard Cheltenham for the role he played in frustrating the system which saw the Jippy Doyle Case delayed for seven long years. It must have been gratifying for the victim of the rape when he was today unanimously found guilty by a jury of his peers comprised of five women and four men.

The BU household can only sympathize with the 13 year old victim at the time. The mental disequilibrium she must have suffered in the intervening seven years we can only describe as undeserving. We are told that Jippy Doyle has been remanded to Dodds where our new prison is located. We take this opportunity to urge Chief Justice David Simmons to initiate an investigation into why this case was stretched-out over seven years. We also would encourage the victim to initiate legal action against the relevant government entity to redress an obvious wrong.

There is another famous case in the local court system which is approaching one year, the case of Roy Morris will be monitored in the blogosphere to ascertain if it follows the path of Jippy Doyle. In light of the discussion around Barbados about corruption in high places, we are expectant that several other high-profile cases will feature in the coming weeks and months.

Justice delayed is justice denied.

205 responses to “Jippy Doyle Goes To Prison”

1. George Lamming has in fact taught at accredited universities in the Caribbean, the U.S. and Europe. And is presently teaching at UWI.

George Lamming is NOT a fraud.

I think that you owe him an apology.

2. Jippy Doyle has been found guilty but to some it would be meaningless of he is sentenced to say 3 years? Can the lawyers and people associated with the legal profession discuss the type of sentence a Jippy might attract?

3. There is a difference between a fraudalent degree as is Jippy Doyle’s

An honorary degree given for a lifetime of intellectual achievement as is George Lamming’s

A an honorary degree given for giving a big gift to a university. As I believe that UWI has done for some business people in this community. These aare given because these gifts free up young researchers to do serious intellectual work. So holders of these honors should not be derided, although the holders understand that the honor should not be “used”

And an earned degree given for academic work of some significant depth, breadth and originality. as is the case with university professors.

4. David, Doyle is liable to imprisnment for life according to section 4 of the Sexual Offences Act 1992, but after the court is through hearing character witnesses et al., he will probably get 10-15 years.

5. #

“Doctors” // August 2, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Christian “Frauds”
    It is unfortunate that it appears that the main offenders of the “mock doctorate mania” seems to be persons pushing religion.
    My advise to these law breakers would be to desist from making fools of yourselves. If you covet the title so much, do like others . PUT IN THE TIME!. Don’t make a mockery of Christianity and provide fodder for a skeptical audience who are only too glad to have something to chew on.
    LUCILLE BAIRD – TAKE HEED!
    “APOSTLE” MARK ? – TAKE HEED!
    WES HALL – TAKE HEED!
    GEORGE LAMMING – TAKE HEED!
    OTHERS – TAKE HEED!
    We are watching you.
    Doctors – it seems that you have a bad case of “what have you mad is what have dem tame”.

You speak with very careless words and with the venom of one who is inhabited by a snake, especially against Rev. Dr. Lucille Baird. But then, darkness is always offended and scattered by light.

However I appreciate that this is a blog and many like you can freely defecate (figuratively and literally) at will, good luck to you, I hope you invest in a good toilet tissue so that you don’t end up smelling up yourself.

It would not be pleasant for you or your cronies.

6. @Juris

Thanks!

We don’t pretend to understand how a man spouting the word of God would rape a 13 year old girl and then we talk about character witnesses. Suppose that is what is meant that the law is an ASS?

7. Funny, funny, funny:

I dont give a rat’s behind what Jippy Doyle studied, nor where!

WHAT is your problem?

I just want him to be buggered.

8. J,

I apologise on the Lamming issue

9. Dear Iwatching,

I have no venom against “Rev Dr” Lucille Baird or the likes of them who hold “Doctorates”.
    Don’t know if you are one of her devotees or the holder of one of these “degrees” but don’t you feel that people (especially high profilers) should be honest?

10. J,

Just thought I would mention that in Chritian academia, honorary doctorates are given not only for lifetime acheivements but also for recognition for specific work done in the Chritian arena. For example, founding a successful church or doing extrarodinary work.

I agree with you that holders of honorary degrees should not be derided. (Especialy if they were awarded by credible institutions) The public useage of that title is the issue.

11. It takes 6 to 10 years of full time study after sucessful completion of secondary school for a bright student to EARN a doctorate.

3 to 4 years for a bachelor’s degree

1 to 2 years for a master’s degree

2 to 4 years or more for a doctoral degree

Can anybody, study non-stop for that number of years??????????????????

I would get tired!!!!

Pat // August 3, 2008 at 12:04 am

Funny, funny, funny:

I dont give a rat’s behind what Jippy Doyle studied, nor where!

WHAT is your problem?

I just want him to be buggered.

Pat, you’re nasty!!!! 🙂

12. J,

I just happened to look at the link to US accreditation which you provided. It is good and a useful shortcut to understanding the US system.

13. Is it really necessary to thrash the reputation and standing in the community of honest upright citizens, who have done no wrong?…I refer specifically to the issue of doctorates. Some people of great merit have been included in this discussion, who have no valid reason to be here.

Freedom of expression brings with it responsibility, and we should exercise that responsibility; if for no other reason than to show we are worthy of that freedom. It serves no useful purpose to dredge up the names of “individuals” who have committed no crime, or seek to deceive. These people have families, colleagues, and loved ones, today being Sunday we could perhaps allow their names the rest they deserve.

14. Understandibly, there are those with honorary titles who should not be rediculed. The problem is the proliferation of individuals with bogus credentials.

15. There needs to be an honest investigation into a lot of these churches which are popping up in Barbados. I will not cast aspersions by calling names but if this nonsense is not checked we are going to end up in a situation similar to Jim Jones. Remember Guyana? A lot of these so-called evangelists are f***ing up people’s heads. One might say that situations like that cannot happen unless persons allow it but these evangelists use psychology to the max on persons who are looking for spiritual glorification since the establish church has lost that type of influence.

16. Funny funny funny Avatar
    Funny funny funny

@Pat

I dont have a problem at all.
    All I did is quoted you in one of your posts from earlier this year.

Why are you so angry?
    Is it because I am mocking your silly statement then?

You wrote then and you were quite out of order too.

You wanted to make it sound that you could understand science, but could not in any way add or subtract to the discussion then. Recently you displayed your arrogance again in your post about a former Chief Justice.

Here is the junk you wrote from which I quoted. You must admit you are/were funny funny funny.LOL LMAO

• Please, one does not have to be a medical practitioner to read and understand scientific papers. I am not, nor am I a scientist, but I have acquired a good knowledge of S&T. My journals of preference were Science, Nature, Technovation, and those infernal AAAS journals with which I was inundated. They came one every week, so that I could only follow one or two threads of research if I wanted to accomplish any work. To cut down on the extensive reading I would have my students prepare precis of some of the articles I was interested in. If after reading them the content was not clear, then I would read the article myself. (No, I am not a professor, I hired university students on a co-op program to assist me with research for my projects.)

17. Do not get me wrong I believe that Jippy Doyle is guilty and he should be sentenced to at least 5years in prison, however where is the evidence in this case to actually convict him. In my opinion there was hardly any evidence to justify Mr Doyle was guilty, only beliefs by the general public and the jury.

18. Funny funny funny Avatar
    Funny funny funny

That is a very interesting point you have made Sir.

How is it that his high powered lawyer could not get the point over to the jury that there was no evidence presented to justify that the accused was guilty?

19. So Springs, you think the victim made up everything? The towel, the bag of sweets, the $20, the call, the back roads…..give me a break! Oh, and the jury believed her.

20. Unfortunately for the pastor, his case came up at the wrong time. A little earlier or later and it would have been smooth sailing.
    Now a message has to be sent that it will not be business as usual hence the conviction. The appeal will be filed and subsequently filed away.
    Like the song said “there is no justice, just us”

21. Juris

You might be amazed at the stories heard by doctors acting for the police that could be put in a best seller.

One girl claimed a chap abducted her while buying fast food at Cheffete Fontabelle. He took her home so she could deliver the food in Black Rock while holding a gun at her back. She passed the food through the window. Then the chap took her and parked out by the flour mill down Spring garden and raped her. Then he fell asleep in the car. This enabled her to escape naked. The workers at the flour mill then clothed her with the white overalls she was wearing when she presented with the police to the doctor.

This case did not reach the courts.

Then there was the case of the lad who visited the lass when all her siblings were out playing and her parents off working. A little brother tacked back, and cried out. The poor lad was sent to hide in the clothes cupboard, where he was found by the police when they were summoned. The lad was in a state of poor oxygenation, as you would imagine.

This case also did not reach the courts.

Then there was the case where the girl’s mom went to check on her daughter in her bedroom and found a man in the room, who escaped through the same window by which he entered the room.

This case did not reach the courts either.

Many girls cry rape when caught! Many fellas are unfairly sent to court and jail.

I am not saying that this is the case with Jippy. Just reminiscing a bit.

22. I know, Dr Boobie, many men are unfairly sent to jail for rape….in this case the girl’s story was not that incredible though.

23. Springs and Juris,
    You seem to have some doubts about this case. Did he have sex with the girl? If yes, the case is over because even if she in reality consented according to law she could not have given consent at the age of 13, so don’t let us fool ourselves.

24. Woe to all of you! can I invite you to read Jerimiah 42 to 51. Isreal was being punish by GOD, for her sins! Yet GOD punished all the nations that mocked, went against,and spoke evil of her. Also read John 8, about the adulterous woman! Woe to you who is casting the first stone, yet your life is full with sin!

Read Genisis 39 to 42, Judges 16, any of the accounts of Jesus death in the first four books of the new testament.

I have one question for all of you though. Were any of you there? Just because a jury decided unamousely that Reverend Doyle is guilty, does not prove that he is guilty! CLASIC PUTS IT WELL, AH WASN’T THERE ,AH ONLY HEAR! I too have a daughter, and Iam not taking any sides, but I think that this is time for prayer, for both this young girl and Rev Doyle.

Any way as I said be fore nothing happens by accident! LET GOD ARISE AND LET ALL HIS ENEMIES BE SCATTERED.

25. These Bible toting bloggers really mek ya sick doh!!

Jippy was found guilty by a jury of his ‘peers’ based on the evidence and testimony given. this is how the law works whether we like it or not.The Victim was 13 at the time, so whether she asked for it or not, she was under age and he, being pastor should have known better.
    People like him are supposed to set examples in society but instead he seems to be what he would preach against on any Sunday.
    Evanchef would have us believe that because we werent there, it could be hearsay.
    Where were you when Jesus was being crucified?
    Where were you when God was punishing the nations?
    You believe in a book, written years ago, which is the biggest hearsay event in history without so much as a second thought on its accuracy, yet you find it hard to accept that Jippy could somehow be guilty………Time for prayer is right….I pray he can plait corn row!!

26. As I said Juris I do believe Jippy Doyle is guilty but I know of many cases where the woman or girl cries rape when she is caught. I believe this girl and her mother took 4 months to report this case because they were trying to get some money out of Jippy but when that didnt work out they decided to pursue the case.

27. No. The mother was shocked when she found out from a member of her church. Girls who are sexually assaulted often do not tell anyone. It may be a form of post traumatic shock disorder. Men who do or see bad things in warfare often do not talk about them either. So it is not a Bajan thing nor a female thing.

28. Dear Evanchef:

Indeed this did not happen by accident. Jippy sent the mother to town to buy flowers and when he knew that her children were at home alone he sent for the young girl. Yes indeed. It was DELIBERATE.

And don’t quote Bible passages to try to frighten people.

We know that our true and living God is a good God. Our God is not a scary monster out to get us.

29. The former fast bowler now bowling for Jesus Christ will soon also label himself as DR. somebody. His ego is so big its toxic. This is the same man who used to live large years ago driving brand new Ford Escorts at that time and was even accused of stealing bank funds. He does not own a home but shacks up with an eldely lady in Sweet Bottom St.George. Last year while he was sick and in hospital, he fired a regular pray warrior on the early morning radio show, because he could not get access to her money. He has a replacement and at the end of each broadcast will ask for what he terms “a love gift” for a copies of his cd’s’ The term love gift is American televangelist twang.

30. If you are talking about courtney selman,I think you should know that his mother’s home is in sweet bottom.

Perhaps that elderly lady he is shacking up with is his mother.

31. I sent you an earler message on the Topic of Mia and David Thompson, PM.

You are using loose scatter-shot verses of scipture which have you coming over as an under educated fanatic.

The cout has spoken. If he is guilty, don’t you thnk that God is powerful enough for him (Doyle) to win the appeal? ( I am sure he will appeal) I am sure this would vindicate the power and magnanimity of the Lord.

Let’s get real. Not judging anyone, but do you think that everyone who preaches is a saint?
    The same Bible you quote so often somewhere says that “not all that say Lord, will be saved “(my emphsis)

You do your cause no good when you seem to be supporting a man who has been convicted in the court of law (which you support. You said that leaders are set up by God) without any controversies surrounding the case.

32. Anonymous I did not name the so-called evangelist. In my earlier submission re. the Garden State Parkway in New Jersey where the evangelist said he was doing 90mph and managed to get his passenger to commit his soul to Jesus. First of all if anyone was driving me that fast I would commit my soul also. Secondly, any Bajan living overseas will tell you the evangelist was a liar. The speed limit on the parkway at that time was no more than 55mph and in NJ the state troopers wait for speeders in the bushes especially black people going down south to the Carolinas or Florida. As a matter of fact the troopers were even accused of racial profiling at one time. Evanchef! You are a religious fanatic. If it was your daughter you should be singing a different tune. People like you try to scare others into thinking that God is going to do such bad things to us that we should all be scared and submit. You will turn people off from religion when you condone wrongdoing and or try to ram it down people’s throat. People like you Evanchef are the ones who make the Jippe’s possible. I know of a few like him and I am sure you do too. Unlike you Evanchef, I don’t trust anyone who tells me “God told me to tell you!” I figure that God would tell me himself since we are all sinners, correct? I hope Jippe gets that pin-stripped suit ripped off his pathetic back and that he gets buggered at Dodds. This guy even tried to bed the girl’s sister I hear. A year old girl up against a man with his then power. Shame on you Evanchef, shame on you.

33. A 13 year old girl up against contd……

34. I hope Jippe gets that pin-stripped suit ripped off his pathetic back and that he gets buggered at Dodds. T

————————–
    eh eh !
    kinda rough man !

35. From 21 & up to being a pastor in a few months and getting ready to do his doctorite. To lead flag person in the WAlk Holy band. Where is he now? Barbados has the most denominations in the region if not the world per capita. Over 140 with a total of about 1500 meeting places/churches. Every school, community center, any place possible, is taken on Sundays and saturdays. The main purpose seems to be to get a “piece of the pie.” Soon after opening a church and attracting a sizeable congregation, the next thing is a SUV. Barbados, take stock we’re becoming an evil society and there is danger in toying with the Almighty. Jippy Doyle is just the first in a string of devient “pastor” to be exposed. There is also some spiritual wickedness in some of the more established churches. i hope they all clean up their act, it is this that is causing the young people to shy away from church.

36. So true scout…….I was raised in the church and I have seen more evil there than out in the streets.
    Envy,Greed…Lust etc.
    Religion……what a Joke!!

37. True dat scout and tech ha ha ha although it is sad it is funny how you guys said it!

38. Life has a way of dealing with evil people.

It is not for us to wish Jippy Doyle harm or to pull down others we feel need to have one of life’s levelling experience.

All we need to do is to try and live each day God gave us as best as we can and hope and pray temptation doesn’t make us become “evil people” ourselves.

Jippy Doyle and all those “evil people” in the church we like to criticise and pull down just need us to live as upright a life as we can and they will find their way, …. if indeed they have lost it.

… its all to do with the concept of being our brother’s keeper.

39. Talk all your talk about Jippy, but this man was a master with great influence. For example:
    -High school drop out
    -Leaving a regular chuch to form his own
    -Guiding a congregation of followers
    -Sporting diamonds and gold
    -Having his own TV ministry
    -Being referred to publicly as “Doctor”
    -Earning esteem and praise in the community

Now tell me, isn’t this man gifted?

40. Scout,
    That’s why I said earlier there has to be a serious investigation into these so-called churches which just pop up. We are going to have a Jim Jones-cult like situation if we are not careful. An investigation should start with the so-called church in Cavans Lane.

41. John
    While each of us have our own cross to carry and each of us is accountable to God for ourselves, Should we then ignore the rest of the world? Yes, we are all our brother’s keepers, so when we see them going astray we need to warn them and try to set them on the right path not to encourage or cover up for they wrongdoings. Too many pastor freaks are allowing these people to do as they please. Christianity for some of them is just a money making affair. Question : Do they please taxes or even VAT? or are they under the umbrella of religion?
    Oh, you can’t take VAT out of “God’s”money that is blessed but you can buy SUV. This is a loophole that needs to be plugged.

42. “Doctors” // August 5, 2008 at 8:59 am

Talk all your talk about Jippy, but this man was a master with great influence. For example:
    -High school drop out
    -Leaving a regular chuch to form his own
    -Guiding a congregation of followers
    -Sporting diamonds and gold
    -Having his own TV ministry
    -Being referred to publicly as “Doctor”
    -Earning esteem and praise in the community
    -Being a RAPIST

Now tell me, isn’t this man gifted?
    ———————————————————

Oops you forgot one

43. Take a glass of vinegar, and leave it expose, for the whole day. later ask some one who don’t have a clue what you pour into that glass, tell you what is in the glass by just looking at it. Bet you that person say that it is water!

Yes the courts found the man guilty, but wait a minute didn’t Potiphar found Joseph guilty also? Oh! How many person has been found guilty, although they were innocent? My God why are you judging this man because of his love for Christ?

By the way I have never been to the Dominion Life Centre, but you know what all of you seems to be clueless when it comes to the mind of GOD! Let us say for real that he did rape the girl. do you think God would hold this against him if he repents
    Another question that you can throw at me is; How comes he is so innocent, yet God has allowed him to go to jail? As i said before nothing happens by accident, God is the greatest of planners, he always has a plan! Again I repeat myself let the first man with out sin, cast the first stone!Oh how many of you said free Jahcure? How many of you went to the two shows he did in Barbados? I thought so! You all need deliverance!

44. Evanchef…you really need a life!!

Whether or not God holds it against him is a matter for Jippy and his maker. The point is, that along with your God’s rules, he still has to face society’s rules, which is why we have courts and laws.

To even compare this to the Jah Cure case really sums up your desperation to defend the indefensible. Regardless of what others thought of Jah Cure, HE DID HIS TIME!!

Let Jippy do his NOW….he should have all the time to repent up there and maybe save some souls for bonus. It would look nice on his resume in a couple years.

45. poor jippy doyle

“big up a man like jippy doyle”

i heard these words on a c d from a dj

wondered about that

46. evanchef
    It is people like that has persons like Doyle believing that they are above the law. Yes, there is forgiveness for Doyle but first he MUST admit his sin, then repent, then ask God for forgiveness. When he does this God would raise him up to be a beacon of light for him. The alternative is that he if he tries to accept his sin he would be cast out into the sharks at Dodds who would enjoy HAPPY HOUR with him.

47. If he tries NOT to accept his sins.

48. Evanchef,
    Are you for real? The next thing you are going to say is that the girl was wutless. Let’s say for argument sake that the girl was ” wutless” and she “consented” to having sex. The Laws of Barbados state that a 13 years old CANNOT CONSENT TO HAVE SEX. Case closed. Keep quiet with that holier than thou attitude. Jippy Doyle took advantage of that girl. To be honest with you if she were my daughter he would not have been facing trial. A lot of religious persons in Barbados regardless of their denomination abuse under age girls and get away with it. THIS HAS GOT TO STOP!!!

49. “Tony Hall // August 6, 2008 at 10:09 am

Evanchef,
    Are you for real?… A lot of religious persons in Barbados regardless of their denomination abuse under age girls and get away with it.”

Tony Hall, that is a very sweeping statement that you obviously can document as being objectively true. Correct? Got proof? Evidence that will stand up in court? If not…

50. Diaspara-ite
    Many years ago a Rev from a prominent denomination in this country, shocked me. He said when he was a priest, the young girls would come to him on Saturday to confess. He would make his play with them as part of the so-called confession. His reason, when they grow old and they walking the street, they have to respect him because he is the one who broke them in. I lost ALL the respect I had for him. In his words “when they see him, they would remember those days and they have to speak to him.”
    This corruption was going on for years, it is now escalating and getting out of hand. This has to stop, plus the young people now are more open to talk. The young girls then would have been afraid to tell their parents because in most cases they would not believe the girl against the priest.