Pastor Dr Jippy Doyle (right) on his way to spend ten years in jail for raping a 13-year-old parishioner. (Picture by Nation Newspaper Heather-Lynn Evanson)

On the 27 May 2008 BU published a blog titled Sir Richard Cheltenham’s Vanishing Act In The Jippy Doyle Affair. We were higly critical of Sir Richard Cheltenham for the role he played in frustrating the system which saw the Jippy Doyle Case delayed for seven long years. It must have been gratifying for the victim of the rape when he was today unanimously found guilty by a jury of his peers comprised of five women and four men.

The BU household can only sympathize with the 13 year old victim at the time. The mental disequilibrium she must have suffered in the intervening seven years we can only describe as undeserving. We are told that Jippy Doyle has been remanded to Dodds where our new prison is located. We take this opportunity to urge Chief Justice David Simmons to initiate an investigation into why this case was stretched-out over seven years. We also would encourage the victim to initiate legal action against the relevant government entity to redress an obvious wrong.

There is another famous case in the local court system which is approaching one year, the case of Roy Morris will be monitored in the blogosphere to ascertain if it follows the path of Jippy Doyle. In light of the discussion around Barbados about corruption in high places, we are expectant that several other high-profile cases will feature in the coming weeks and months.

Justice delayed is justice denied.

205 responses to “Jippy Doyle Goes To Prison”

1. Tell me why? is substituted by peltdown man.

Plus ca change.

2. The BU household must register that while we are happy that the victim can now try to bring closure to the episode of her life the justice system has fallen way short in this case. First Jippy was out on bail for 7 long years while he and his legal team levied all kinds of legal gymnastics to avert the course of justice. A sad case indeed, we hope some young legal looking for a meaningful thesis can show the guts to attack:

The role of Sir Richard in the Jippy Doyle rape case

3. It is time the powers that be in this country take a good look at the fastestgrowing business in Barbados; church going. Note I said “church going”. At almost every school, institution, bond house and many homes every Saturday and Sunday you can find a church assembled. The main objective for many of these is raising money, some pastors driving around in fancy SUV’s. These church get special concessions from Government, therefore I think the same gov’t has the right to see their bank account. The stories that I hear coming from some of them needs investigating. Jippy was caught but there may be many other Jippys out there. This problem needs nipping in the bud that’s if the flower has not bloom already.

4. Guyanese, chinee, whiteys, and now churchgoers who next Scout before you say what you actually feel.

“I am an inadequate and fell threatened by everyone, please help me somebody, anybody please”

5. But wanna don’ feel that Jippy get set up? He was banging the mum and the aunt and some how things end up the way they did. Make no mistake, dey had a great deal of jealously wrapped up in dis as well..! Apparently Jippy was gifted in a number of ways.

In my day thirteen year olds didn’ look too bad. Man some ah de girls man were knocking from the time dey hit eleven. Ain’ dat de truth ROK?

6. What has become of Apostle T Wayne Bishop. He used to be on my T.V ranting and raving , then BAM it is alleged he take off with a man’s wife GONE. Then there are others who had to step aside because of wrong doing. I’m watching one in Tudor Bridge. I understand that he just bought up a lot of land nearby and the church is expanding greatly. These are just a few. Since this is now a big business, my government shall treat them as such.

7. Bonny Peppa you like boredickey?

Man you even sweeter than Anjelica. Dese blogs can attract some hot ones man. I like ya, I likes ya…

8. Let’s allow ourselves a period of celebration in the hope that it’s the beginning of the demise of all the vermin who think that because Bim is a small, island they can do as they like!!

Three cheers for locking-up he backside!!

Now for the next piece of vermin!!

9. To Ai! CAn kwote Text 2 ; Faith; Georgie Porgie and all you other “bible quoting” peeps … don’t you think it’s time you creep out of the Middle Ages and get into the Present?

B* S* baffles brains and you are prime examples.

10. BAFBFP
    Yes, I LOVES boredickey. I loves de name bad. Dah is all I loves, hear?De name. My main BU squeeze is de SCOUT. Most a de times we on de same wave-length. I LOVES Scout badddddd.
    Now, to answer your question. No, I don’t think that Jippy -de-Slimeball get set up a’ tall. He is a wutless bitch dat bobbing and weaving behind de bible like most of them. You know how some of these church members worship de ground dat dese so-called preachers walk on? The preacher-man rolling in in a brand new new brand vAhicle, yes vAhicle, not vehicle and these bitches melting in de hot sun gine to worship these devils. Now tell me who is de real ass? De ‘A ‘in vAhicle stands for
    assholes.
    How ya like ma?

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

One down, one more to go.

12. I likes ya… ya talks dirty like Anjelica. Wuna would make poor Pat shame, but ya too sweet. Scout nice, but I like them all, including Adrian Hinds who is a right wing conservative sometimes pompous $%^ and Georgie who feel he better than me, WIV who done wid the blogs, MME who know he smarter than me, BIMBRO de Englishman, Chris Hassle (I spell that right?) etc.

But you must understand that Jippy is guilty of statutory rape. He ain’ beat up de girl an’ Lord know he probably ain’ force na body ta have sex wid he. I read you to have a problem with parishioners and I am wid you all the way. 10 year is ta much..! I fell that Sir Richard Cheltenham (wah dah Sir title stand for though?) should spend some ah the time for frustrating the process…
    understand that Jippy is guilty of statuatory rape. He ain’ beat up the girl an’ Lord know he probably ain’ force na body ta have sex wid he.

13. BAFBFP,
    Tanks fa de luvs. (smooch,smooch)
    I’m not as familiar as you wid all dese bloggers, I is a new-cumma. Site?
    Are you implying dat he would have to beat up de girl for it to be more than statutory rape? Because I would imagine that he took her by surprise and maybe overpowered her in the bedroom. She was like a little lamb to the slaughter. He is a real bitch fa true doah. He supposedly up at Dodds trying to convert de inmates? Maybe that is his ploy to distract dem from mashing up he ‘botsy’. Hope it don’t work.
    Just making a wild guess………maybe the SIR in Cheltenham stands for: Sure-In-Ready.
    How ya like ma?

14. Bonny Peppa
    BAPBFP
    Thanks for your compliments, I’m blushing, my comments are just a true commentry of my philosophy.Those who think maturely would accept my way of expression; pity I can’t convert WIV to analyse things for himself and stop making a fool of himself while fighting some else’s battles.

15. Man insiders tell me dat he get set up.

Could dear if the man use he position and influence to get de girl to consent it is a legal matter and na need for all the disgust. Men do it all the time… From our vantage point, if she looked de part, and she did, tail is tail particularly when ya don’ know that ya gettin’ set up. Ask questions afterwards.

In the case of Brian Lara and his model girlfriend or Mike Tyson and his actress wife, (albeit adult on adult encounters) it is clear to me that male high profile people can easily become victims as well. How do you know for sure who is the innocent and the violated? From the age of eleven my daughter knew more about bedroom theory than me (thanks to facebook et al). A lotta dese 13 year old ‘women’ want lockin’ up too.

16. BAFBFP
    Look, you getting me scared and that don’t happen easily unless it is a lizard or frog. You frittenin me man.
    Lemme just cut to de chase, a child is a child is a child. Regardless of how good good she looks, feels or smells, a child is a child and we as adults have to protect them from themselves. I was attracted to “big able men’ in my time too but that was all. So you betta start rethinking or you might be nex’. Tek warning.
    I don’t think that gender has anything to do with doing what is right so please don’t blame the man in de male. Ask Scout if you doubt me den. I have never met a 13yr old ‘woman’. I got to start walking ’bout wid you man. Again, let me reiterate, a child is a child is a child.
    Scout,
    You make me blush too and my heart go titty-bum.(smooch, smooch)
    How ya like ma?

17. Don’ get scared… when you have a daughter like I do you become painfully aware that “a child is a child is a child”; ya jus’ got to modify ya definition of “a child” (and by quite a bit).

This image of “young lady” that we so love to foster and promote has in my life time, been far more the exception than the rule. And with co-education and all, girls compete at being more boyish than boys. They fight (with knives and bits of board), cuss, ‘tief, lie, you name it. And this happens in the “Older” and “Newer” Secondary Schools with alarming regularity. Too many of dese 13 year olds really ain’ nah saints.

Sorry Bonny, but I sure you don’ like me nah more …at least fah the time being!

18. So we because we see this happenning in society we have to lower our standards today and allow our children to act that way hmmm. bull s***1 shupes I still respek ya lol just dont agree with you!

19. Let’s look at the flipside of dis. I’m sure de Hallelujah Chorus (Carlos et al) will agree with me.

Let’s forgive Jippy for his fall for he’s merely mortal man of flesh and bones.

The Lord has placed him at Dodds to do his work there and I’m sure Jippy understands this.

He now has no rent, no bills, no temptation, no pussy! He has ten longgggggggg years to worship the Lord morning, noon and night.

What more can a man of God ask for.

If he’s a true man of God he’ll understand that ten years is no time when compared to eternity and that his spirit is already connected to eternity.

So he should be happy, blessed are those who are persecuted.

Jippy, do God’s work. You are in a most spiritual place.

Let’s pray that this young lady forgive you for that will put your soul at ease.

Over to the Hallelujah Chorus.

20. Wuh?…..I caan shake muh tamborine?

21. He should be locked up for life!!!!!!!!

22. Oh sweety, dat’s not nice. 10 years is quite just!

23. Dear BAPBFP:

Maybe you should spend a little less time blogging and a lot more time supervising your children

24. Bonnie Peppa,

I agree with you. Dont mind BAPBFP. He just making jokes.

I think Jippy Doyle should have gotten 15 years with the cat. No parole for good behaviour. I hope he get gang raped up dey at Dodds.

BAPBFP

For a while there it seemed to me that you were going to come all over the place. hahaha. Yuh better keep yuh daughter way from dese preecher men.

Me, I dont believe in dem. There is nothing they can do for me that I cant do for myself. I am now reading the Dead Sea Scrolls and believe me, these preachers dont know what they are talking about. It is the history of the time that will explain the Bible lore and they dont know the history. Everything has to be in context of the times.

By the way, are you two timing me? or is the three timing?

25. @ Pat

Why would you wish this on Jippy?
    Isnt his punishment enough?

I’m sure he’s happy.

Dont wish bad for the man. Let him do God’s work up there! That’s a good place to spread the gospel.
    Besides, there’s no collection on Sundays so he has to be pious.

26. Pat,
    And I thought you were sexy…” gotten 15 years with the cat. No parole for good behaviour. I hope he get gang raped up dey at Dodds” man you ain’ sexy, you WILD!!! Yaeah baby…

27. Oh God J,
    If I couldn’t blog dese chil’ren would sen’ me mad chile…

28. Good forenoon ones and alls.
    Now, Mr.BAPBFP,
    You would have to consult Mr.Oxford or Mr.Webster for the definition of ‘child’. While I have all sons, I have grandaughters and heavens forbid if anyone even touched one of them inappropriately. Oh shite, it would rain hell fire from de skies. We have to mold our daughters into ‘young ladies’ . It comes with the environment and discipline they receive from an early age.That goes for the ‘young men’ also.I have no problem with co-ed. I am a product of that and I can only remember one instance at Secondary school I have to put some ‘licks’ on a fella for touching my breast. He is a lawyer today.I am all for the system. It works. They have to interact at university, workplace, church etc. so co=ed is just the stepping stone. And remember that there has been a break down in the moral fabric of society today on the whole.
    You crazy or wah? I still LUFFS you but not like Scout. J hit you very hard but as usual, you did able to ‘bounce’ back.
    Anonymous, I love your sarcasm. He won’t only be spreading de gospel up there though, he got to spread dem legs and leh dem get at dah ‘botsy’ good man.
    Pat, I know that BAPBFP is only teasing cause I know that if it was his daughter, we the BU family would have to go and stand bail for him, only thing is there’s no bail for premeditated murder, so BAPBFP, ya ass would be grass, just like Jippy. Cah’dear.
    And remember, I lovess wunna all esp. de Scout.
    How ya like ma.

29. Jippy should have gotten life! I knew it, I knew it, the present Prime Minister of Barbados grandfather was born in Guyana, and last year when I asked you all if there was not a Guyanese connection with Mr. Thompson due to the fact that my ancestors knew his ancestors, you all said NO. OK I said, no Guyanese cinnection you all should know, since he is you all leader. Well it turns out that he does have Guyanese connections, but you all sole intent here is anti Guyanese sentiments so his Guyanese connections are just a blur to you. OK, but I know I was right, and as for Jippy he should be put away for life.

30. I think Jippy should get the max for his foolishness. Too short a time he has now…the man just looks like the devil’s own to me and should be locked up.

Let’s hope that he’s not made out to be a christ by his followers….stupid questions like are you clearing the way for the king….I think they need their heads clearing of the gunk that’s loaded there in.

Justice prevails….and de E…..Chef could answer to that.

31. Now its time for my re appearance. You all sat and wished for the worse but God is not like man. Only his body was imprisoned but not his soul and when he comes out what more can you do to him. He paid his time whether guilty or innocent. Maybe now you will be on to the next thing to occupy your warped minds

32. Dear Pure Life you wrote “Maybe now you will be on to the next thing to occupy your warped minds”

And I write “there is nothing pure about Jippy. He is the one with the warped mind and I sispect that you too are impure and warp minded.”

33. Pure Life,
    You fa real? You sound like a blasted idiot. “his body is imprisoned but not his soul” What de ass you mean by dat, idiot? You say it is time for your re appearance, well leh me tell ya sumting, you could re disappear. You come back talking shite and sounding like Jippy’s accomplice.
    You ever heard that it is better to keep ya mout shut and let people think dat you’re an idiot than to open it and prove dem wrong? Well you just do dat, so re disappear. OK?
    How ya like ma?

34. Pure life,
    I meant to say and ‘prove dem right, not wrong’.

35. J and Bonny peppa, you just proved that I am right regarding your warped minds. Unto the pure all things are pure and to the defile..well I think by your own language, comments and accusations that you know which caterogy you fit into. So enough on that. You all had your say on the matter with Jippy. The man is in prison and will continue the work he started, after all wasn’t that what Madame Riefer told him she was sending him there to continue?! Your accusations, rumors etc is nothing more than Pharisee behavior. My warning to all of you including J and Bonna Peppa is take heed less you fall. Stop hiding behind these blogs with your vicious attack and rumors..isn’t that the position of a coward? Are you afraid that you might get a law suit for defamation of character? My prayer is that you wouldn’t be judged according to your own standards… MAY GOD HELP YOU IF YOU WERE! So yes, I can re-disappear now

36. i going wid jippy

37. PureLife,
    Trust me, Jippy’s attack on dat innocent young lady was more severe and life altering than any attack on him here by any of us.
    You’re probably another of the religious fanatics running around spouting a lot of shite and quoting scriptures and verses but living a totally different life and trying to mislead idiots.
    As far as I know almost all the bloggers on BU use a pseudonym and it has nothing to do with ‘ fear of a lawsuit for defamation’, ya foolish bitch.
    Go and re disappear now or hybernate.
    How ya like ma?

38. Dear BU,
    1. What does BFP mean- or is it BPF?
    2. Re: TV-evangelist case. Hear what a critic told Bishop Vibert Lowe [ retired school principal, of PBA] and follow the response. Critic: “I see they got one of your fellows. Bishop Vibert Lowe: “The havent got me. [Could] a woman pull me down? I’d rather die and go with the Lord.”

39. I received a Cartibbean text mssg indicating Tim Slinger was suspended from the Nation – true or what?

40. Ai! Kan Kwote text 2 Avatar
    Ai! Kan Kwote text 2

Look CENTIPEDE, I can see you are anti-Biblical but if you had attended ANY type of school and had bothered to read what I typed you would have realised my statement was laced with satire and sarcasm…or do I have to explain what that is too? I will put it in a MODERN way for even you to understand though, I hope Jippy get BULL in prison AGAIN and end up at the MENTAL AGAIN! wunna ent hear bout dah?

41. Ai! Kan kwote text 2
    Any punishment meted out to Jippy is very deserving. I personally would like to beat up
    he ‘balls’ wid a sledge hammer.
    He too wicked and deceiving. Tek dah.
    Ya likes ma?

42. Dear Pure Life you wrote ” God is not like man. Only his body was imprisoned but not his soul… He paid his time whether guilty or innocent.”

Jippy has been found GUILTY by a jury of his peers.

He has not yet paid his time.

He has 10 long years in which to pay time

43. Dear Pure Life you wrote “J and Bonna Peppa is take heed less you fall. Stop hiding behind these blogs with your vicious attack and rumors..isn’t that the position of a coward? Are you afraid that you might get a law suit for defamation of character?”

So is Pure Life your real name or are you hiding too?

What lawsuit what? Nobody can’t sue me for saying that Jippy Doyle is a rapist, because JIPPY DOYLE IS A RAPIST. And you are a deluded womn.

44. J,
    look, doan waste na moe time responding to Pure Life cause from he/she/it arguments you could conclude dat he/she/it is a Pure Ass.

Ya likes ma?

45. Ah boy, I in hey convertin’ people, doing de Lard’s wuk…yes sah

46. Jippy Doyle,
    You get convert too cause Jippy Doyle, de Televangelist is now Jippy Doyle, de bulla. How ya botsy feel now? A gun send a small jar a vaseline fa ya and put a lil contact cement in it fa good measure. Ya hear? God bless.
    Ya likes ma?

47. I GLAD JIPPY DOLE GET LOCK UP,ALL HE WANT IS SOME VASELINE ONCE A WEEK,AND A CENTIPEDE(10inch) bite on he testicles every 3mnths

48. ERROL MAYERD

Lord have mercy, ma belly, ma back, hold ma, a gun fall. Ya got ma ‘crying’. Ya funny. A centipede bite every 3mths? De water runnin’ down ma face. Ya got ma ‘crackin-up” Luvs ya.
    Ya likes ma?

49. Amazed... wow!! Avatar
    Amazed… wow!!

I am amazed at the number of lawyers barbados has,,.. suddenly all of you are lawyers..I read like 30 of these comments and I ask myself ” do these people think for one minute that they are invincible? now none of you was there either was there any evidence but yet based on what u are heard around the town and what the girl said, and the evil in your minds… you already became judge, jury and executioner. dont u think that your peers with your same biases sat in that same jury.? all it takes is for 9 of you here to have been on the jury.. and he would have been convicted either way…remember the evil you wish for someone will come right back to you… maybe not you but your children or your children childrens… cause what u sow you reap… and if Jippy Doyle is reaping what he sows the only persons that know that is he, the girl and the Almighty.. the same way you heard he was in hospital on a ward.. someone concocted that and wunna ran with it.. what else could have been concocted… amazed, amazed,,.. I have children so i dare not wish bad for any of you or anyone for that matter…wow!! if he is appealing lets wait until the case goes before the real judges not evil minds like yours.

50. Why does the Nation newspaper have to feature a middle spread about Jippy Doyle?

Is this about resurrecting his ministerial career?