There have been some press reports which have been targeted at BU that have appeared in several fora in the last 24 hours. We will respond in time to many of the inaccuracies which appeared in those reports. We agree that if our message is not to become distorted, our blog has a responsibility to ensure that we don’t contribute to fueling hysteria around this matter. We take this opportunity to reiterate that we strongly believe in a managed immigration policy. We also believe that the impact of multi-ethnic groups on a Black host population should be studied as part of a managed immigration policy. The BU family is aware that we are reluctant to censor, however we want solution oriented discussion. The reports over the last 24 hours should have shown how extreme comments posted on BU can be used by some to extrapolate to positions which we don’t subscribe. Please be guided accordingly.

The following is a Press Release (unedited) issued by the Guyana Consul in Barbados:

The Guyana Consulate in Barbados has dismissed a Kaiteur News news story in Guyana which intimated that last Saturday night’s shooting death of a Guyanese national and the wounding of another in an apparent bungled robbery at a Barbados bar was a premeditated anti-Guyanese attack. “The Consulate has no evidence of this. I read the item in the Guyana press and it was speculative nonsense. It had persons, typically unnamed, claiming that the entertainment establishment was targeted because it was regularly frequented by Guyanese nationals. Aside from the sensationalist speculation , the gist of the report was also factually wrong. Among he errors: there were no six gunmen-only one was apparently involved. From all the available evidence at this juncture including from senior investigative officers of the Barbados police, this was an apparent case of a robbery gone wrong. There are no indications this was a hate crime against Guyanese. Indeed, Barbadians have sympathised with me about this tragedy which could happen in any country.” said Consul Norman Faria.

“As I said at the screening of the commendable movie ON THE MAP about migrant workers in Barbados , progressive and democratic forces including the left have to really get worried and decisively act when anti-foreigner sentiment and xenophobia becomes part of mainstream Barbados politics. While it cannot get directly involved in Barbadian politics, the Consulate monitors the situation and is of the view that, in the main and at this conjuncture, Barbadian political parties, grassroots institutions such as trade unions, credit unions and the churches are still made up of decent, tolerant and democratic minded Barbadians who welcome people from overseas. We sympathise with those who were offended, or earnestly feel that it led to actual racist incidents, by the anti-Guyanese inflammatory rhetoric on talk radio for example. We cannot however translate wild talk from a handful of xenophobes, encouraged by misguided certain talk show hosts themselves, into generalised anti-Guyanese sentiment,” he continued.

The Guyanese Consul went on: “The Guyana Consulate takes very seriously any reports of anti-Guyanese incidents. We have to monitor any attempts to stir up hatred and speak out when necessary. The Consulate has its responsibility and has on many occasions written radio station managements which encourage misinformed or wilful inflammatory views which can only serve to create divisions and racial hatred among working people and which undubtedly embarrasses the majority of decent, tolerant Barbadian people. Following a Consulate communication to the Barbadian police (and copied to a radio station managemnt), there have been some improvements at the stations including call screeners being more awake and responsible. It has nothing to do with freedom of speech. Those who wish to stir up racist feelings and divide people should have no freedom of speech.”

“Consul Faria at the film screening also referred to the MONITORING AND CONTROL-he never used the word CENSOR-of blogs in Barbados. This type of reference is in keeping with progressive trends overseas including in countries like Finland, Turkey and Greece. We can start with forcing those who operate the blogs to have their names and addresses publicly displayed on them. We must respect the traditional freedom of the serious and excellent media in Barbados and commend the rights of Barbadians to express their views. We must respect the Barbados government’s regulatory powers but note that private sector initiatives, perhaps from web server firms, could be a way to start. We must be sensitive and understanding towards well reasoned arguments from Barbadians about migrant workers. The bottom line is that blogs should not serve as a platform for racist and inflammatory wild talk, especially against the backdrop of the region moving towards a meaningful CSME.”

Dead in the Bay Street incident is 27 year old Christopher Anthony Griffith while proprieteress of the Hippo Bar and Caribbean Restuarant, Silochani Samuels, is now a patient at the island’s Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Faria said he has been briefed by the police on the matter, including that the post mortem should be completed on Griffith by Wednesday. Faria said he visited with Samuels at the hospital on Tuesday after the weekend shooting to give her encouragement and offer any assistance from the Consulate on behalf of the Guyana government. “Apparently, the bullet is lodged close to her heart and doctors are keeping her under observation until they make a decsion on the matter,” he said.

Asked if Barbadian police had any leads into the murder, Faria said the police told him they “has some suspects in mind” but that investigations are continuing.

263 responses to “Shooting In Barbados No Hate Crime Against Guyanese, Report Was Speculative Nonsense – Consul”

1. Dear Henry:

I trust that you realize that the Barbados government is in breech of the Barbados constitution by imprisoning those Africans at Dodds without charge and without trial.

And if the Barbados government abuses the constitution today to detain the Africans without charge and without trial I trust that you understand that once a government starts to act outside of the Consitution then the government feels empowered to continue doing so.

Dear Henry:

I trust that when the Barbados government starts to abuse your constitutional rights that someone will be out here to speak up for you.

You should not be congratualting the Barbados government for acting unlawfully.

You should be calling on the government to always show leadership by ALWAYS acting within the law.

When the government disobeys the law, what is to stop criminals from doing so too?

The Barbados government must lead by example.

I was extremely worried when a senior immigration official said that they -the Africans- are going to be kept in a “safe place.” Dodds is not a “safe place” Dodds is a PRISON. The same official went on to say that they Africans would not be charged. This official may be ignorant, but our Attorney General the official’s boss has been expensively educated with our tax dollars and he is certainly not ignorant.

Do you realize that this means that the Barbados government is imprisoning people without charge and without trial? Are you comfortale with this? And whey your turn comes to be imprisoned without charge or trial will you be comfortable with that also?

And I say again as I said several months ago. I do not see Immigration making any special effort to detain illegal immigrants from the U.K, the U.S. , Canada, Germany and Sweden without charge and without trial? Is is perhaps that the U.S., the U.K., Canada, Germany and Sweden would strongly object to having their nationals imprisoned without charge and without trial?

Is the Barbados government doing this to the Africans only because they know that they can get away with it?

And who will be next?

Me?

You?

Your son?

My daughter?

2. A picture is equivalent to 1000 words. Why doesn’t some blogger, take some pics of the hangout spots of the guyanese and post them on the blogs so that we get a good eye view of what we are really dealing with.

I think the pictures would say it all, cause when we are in our air-contidioned cars with the windows up and we are dining at Sandy Lane and Coral Reef we really don’t know what is actually happening in this little 2×3 island.

3. Dear Warrior:

I pass through Fairchild Street bus stand everyday, every single day. No air conditioned car for me, no meals at Sandy Lane nor Colony Club either.

What I see are lonely Guyanese men trying to cope with their lonliness by drinking copious amounts of rum, beer and stout.

The shareholders, of Banks, Guiness, and Mount Gay must be happy enough.

But there are equal or greater numbers of rum beer and stout drinking Bajan men there.

And none of the Bajan men seem anxious to go home to their wives and children.

The Guyanese men are here without wives or children so of course they are lonely. And lonely men tend to drink. or do other foolishness. It isn’t a Guyanese thing only. It is a suffering human thing.

What I wonder is keeping the Bajan men there? getting drunk, smoking, gambling and talking nonsense? Why don’t they go home to their wives and children?

My own brother a good rural Christian working class Bajan migrated to England in 1960. He was 21. Many years later he told me that in his first year or two there he was so desperately lonely that he went to the only English prostitute in town who in 1960 England was willing to service black men. The line of her Lonely (new) Londoners customers went around the block. He told me that at the time that so many customers had gone before him that he almost “slipped off the deck”. Maybe Warrior one of the whore’s other customers was you, or your daddy, or your brother, or your uncle or your grandfather. My brother is now 69, happily married to one woman for 38 years and father of wonderful well brought up adults. New immigrants in their lonliness sometimes do what they would not otherwise do.

Lonliness is a hell of a thing.

I am all for managed migration because well managed migration will encourage migration by families and not migration by lonely single men and women.

It is time that all countries including ours stopped looking at migrants as so many units of cheap labour and to see migrants for the human beings that they are.

Desperately lonely HUMAN beings.

4. And Warrior poor people tend to drink in public. I hope that you don’t think that poor people should be penalized for drinking (in public) when rich people who drink in clubs and hotels are not so penalized.

If we are so anxious topenalize heavy drinking (which does indeed cause great social, medical and economic harm) how come we have not yet been able to have proper anti drinking and driving legislation on the books. Most other have had such legislation on the books for more than 40 years, but still we dither, and this dithering is both a DLP and a BLP thing. And still we permit our mostly young men to go out drinking and to driving and to kill and main themselves and others.

Dear Warrior:

We gotta tek de beam outta we own eye first before we attempt to take the mope out of the eyes of others.

5. And when we get anti drinking and driving legislation on the books to enforce the law.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver is a politician.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver is a policeman.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver is a priest.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver is a lawyer.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver is a judge.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver went to Caw’mere wid we.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver is in the same lodge as we.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver is we own son, or we own daughter.

Enforce the law when the drink driver goes to the same church as we do.

Enforce the law the drunk driver went to primary school wid we.

Enforce the law when the drunk driver does play cricket wid we on Saturdays.

Otherwise we mekking bare sport.

6. Dear J

Add to your list ‘Drivers high on marijuana and cocaine”. You can easily identify the imbiber because he is on Fairchild Street among friends drinking and chatting. You will have a hard time finding the puffers and snorters who don’t need company to take their drugs. Wow!! you might have to enforce the law against the law-makers.

7. J, I do not always agree with many of your comments.I think we should be able to agree to disagree.However,on this occassion I must concur with you on the position of the Africans being lock up indefinitely with out being charge.The government acted in a very highhanded manner with the African issue earlier this year.The action of the government was reprehensible to say the least.I am very piss off with the governemnt handling of that issue.I agree with you that if it was some North American,Canadian,or European national those people would have put up at the Hilton or some other posh hotel and every one of their needs would have be taken care of with urgency.The case with Africans that is another story.As a result of that incidence I being a member and supporter of the DLP have started looking at the this DLP governemnt in a difference light.I am accustomed attending emancipations day activities for a very long time,however I will not be attending this year activities because I do not want to hear our Prime Minister David Thompson & DLP talk about anything African or black.I do not believe in deciet or hyprocrisy and this governemnt in its short period in office is going down that road.
    On the issue at hand this issue is being intellectualise and Negroman cannot handle that.All I am seeing are too many indo guyanese and non-nationals in Barbados and I want them out especially the indo -guyanese.I am not concern with figures statistics and the like.
    TOO MANY INDO-GUYANESE ARE IN BARBADOS GET THEM OUT.

8. @ Negroman

Eventhough Reaganomics dont agree wid ya, Reaganomics too like ya. U is de only body who dont hide behind theories and fanciful words. U position was clear from day one and u sticking to u guns (no pun intended). Ya does mek me laff out loundly each and every time.
    But ya know, de ting we fear de most in life we does gotta confront.
    Wha u wid do if one o u children dated an indo-guyanese?
    Oh lord!
    Or supposed one o u children win a scholarship and study overseas and marry another race?
    U mussee would gotta conuption!

9. To answer your question David, the first thing that should be done is for one to know how many illegal persons are in Barbados. Secondly, round them up and send them back.

Let them go through the correct channels, and we would then choose who will be beneficial to our country!

The Canadian farm program is very sucessful; and one does not find persons on a regular basis running from their job or bringing over their entire family. Therefore, this government can learn from that country’s policy.

10. SEND ALL OF THEM HOME THEM WE WOULD NOT HAVE ANY CONFUSION,
    IF THEY ARE THE LAND WITH SIX RIVERS OR WATER OR WHAT EVER LET THEM LIVE THERE ,NOT BOUT HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

11. I’m not a bleeding heart, nor do I don’t take 6 for 9.
    I will always put My Family’s well-being FIRST!

There’s a legal & illegal way of doing things
    and conning good people and habitually bucking the rules as a way of life.!

The ones here legally are fine.

If they want to reside here, they need to go through the PROPER
    channels & get a CRIMINAL background check & clearance FIRST!
    It’s the least that they can do !

The Africans who were imprisoned had a chance to go home
    the legal way without penalty, they chose to “thumb their noses at the Government’s offer ” to be repatriated
    to chose to abscond – If Ghana can imprison Frank E. Duncan ( a ringleader) upon his
    return to Ghana, from Barbados for fraud & bilking his countrymen out of money?

“CEO dupes Barbados returnees”
    http://www.thestatesmanonline.com/pages/news_detail.php?section=1&newsid=6376

then Bim can imprison the conniving remaining Africans – who CHOSE to break the local laws, by remaining here by choice illegally!

If Ghana can kick thousands of Liberian refugees out of It’s country around the same time they wanted to play the ” stranded tourist with bugs on their beds situation” with Bim up in the media…

then what’s good for ” goose is good for the gander.”
    [April 2008]

“Ghana court decides Liberian refugees should go back home ”
    http://en.afrik.com/article13370.html

The problem that I have with illegal immigrants, is that some of them are criminals & here to do things illegally- they don’t have good intentions.
    It’s Why they don’t wish to use to proper channels & methods to immigrate.

Some could be wanted for criminal charges back in their homeland!
    Some could be rapist or murderers, gangmembers while they are not being monitored or tracked in Barbados system – leaving innocent families
    at risk of being scammed or Worse.!

The Protection of My Family, My 84 year old Mother and My Children from CRIME or exploitation- overrules the interests of ALL of the illegal who are not being monitored, because they are here illegally
    in Barbados today.

as for dodds?

Chances are We will again, be paying their way
    back home to Africa, taking money from our own children’s mouths – because they refused to go back with their group, when they had the chance to dos so without penalty.

They Chose to break the law. There are consequences for breaking laws. If Dodds happens to be apart of that? So be it.
    They are thumbing their noses at our system.

At least they are not in China.
    They’d have to do time, work it off & pay their OWN way home.

“Agonizing Ghanaians in China Cry for Help”
    few weeks after the Government of Ghana spent thousands of dollars to airlift so-called stranded Ghanaian tourists from Trinidad and Tobago, another set of Ghanaians, this time in far away China is calling on government to save them from Chinese detention camps.
    “I wish to send this information from China to you concerning the rampant arrests and detention of Ghanaian citizens in China”, Mike Adom, one of the stranded Ghanaians in China alleged in an email to Public Agenda on May 27.”In one of the cities in China here called Guangzhou there are a lot of Ghanaians in prison just because of over staying.

http://allafrica.com/stories/200806021249.html

some of the Ghanaian people are still making a big running joke out of
    Barbados about the “stranded farce” & how we ( the Bajan citizenss)
    were made to pay for their repatriation! When some in their own country
    could care less & were on to the tourist immigration scam.

July 18th article, Humphrey reveals Akuffo-Addo’s Incompetence
    dealing with “stranded tourist”

http://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/artikel.php?ID=147012

12. a different island Bermuda and a reverse Ghanaian scam.
    The Tour Agency left them high & dry at Gatwick after they paid for their tour to
    Ghana.

Some leopards don’t change their spots
    duping and trying to give you six
    – exploiting, playing on your
    intelligence & sympathy while telling you, “it’s nineMy Caribbean Brother”!

it seems that When the shoe is on the other foot, it’s hard to get them to pay up, return the courtesy showed
    to them while “stranded” abroad.

it’s not all, but it’s a great many…

It’s why background checks are necessary
    to surmise character & intent
    for illegals and those you wish to
    business with in another countries
    especially the Tours.

It’s called being Preventative!

Ghana fraud ruins woman’s reputation

a tour organiser has been left $87,000 out of pocket after a Ghanian business partner took her money and left her party of 20 stranded in London, leaving her to pick up the tab.

http://www.royalgazette.com/siftology.royalgazette/Article/article.jsp?articleId=7d87e3330030003&sectionId=60

13. Focus: Birmingham riotsThe new colour of British racismBehind the riots lies vicious hostility between the Asian and African-Caribbean communities in Birmingham, reports crime correspondent Mark Townsend
    The Observer, Sunday October 30 2005 Maybe his compassion was exhausted, but the reality suggests that Makaveli had always disliked black people. Either way, within hours of arriving from Pakistan after helping survivors of the Asian earthquake, he was brawling with African-Caribbeans on the streets of Birmingham. It felt natural; all his friends agreed with him that these people were the lowest form of humanity.
    ‘They come in our shops, but can’t stop stealing something. Niggers can’t help it, they have a dirty gene. They are the lowest of the low,’ hissed Makaveli. The 26-year-old spat furiously at the pavement and nodded east along Lozells Road, beyond the huddle of Asian-owned shops, to where the Rastafarians sometimes gathered.

Inside Simply Veg, a group stood beside huge spears of sugarcane, papaya and jars of Ethiopian myrrh. The mood was tense, the talk of slavery, oppression, of a black community without hope. But their stories suddenly sounded different. Their oppressors were no longer solely white. Now they felt subjugated by another race; the Asians.

‘We’ve had centuries of slavery. Now the Asians want to take over here,’ said Rob, a Jamaican, slamming the grocery counter. ‘Black people need a break, but things are getting bad.’ Outside, across the bustling Lozells Road, down into the red-bricked terracing of the local estates, lies a reminder of what bad can actually mean. On the doorstep of 59 Carlyle Road, lilies and carnations smother a plastic sheet weighed down with bricks.

Here, 23-year-old Isiah Young-Sam was stabbed to death during last Saturday’s race riots as he wandered home; the yellow petals are a dark pointer to the new reality of race crime in Britain. The worst riots to afflict Britain’s second city for 20 years challenge the most fundamental assumption of multicultural Britain – that racism is principally a white vice. Almost 40 years after Enoch Powell talked of ‘rivers of blood’ just two miles from where Young-Sam was murdered, a community has broken down. Powell’s inflammatory rhetoric warned that immigration would inspire strife, but few predicted that the immigrants would turn on each other.

Only a few experts had observed that the scramble for the scant resources of Britain’s deprived inner cities was a catalyst for conflict between competing communities. For the vast majority, particularly the government, racism remained a strictly black and white issue. Even the Commission for Racial Equality has failed to research the issue of inter-ethnic racism. For its part, the Home Office is accused of ignoring repeated warnings of conflict between black and Asian communities from its most senior strategist into race relations.

Marian Fitzgerald, now a criminologist at the University of Kent, identified the fracture lines that led to last weekend’s clashes, not just in Birmingham, but throughout the UK. The rioting around Lozells Road, which left two dead in more than 200 separate violent incidents, followed a single, still unsubstantiated, rumour that 18 Asian men had gang-raped a 14-year-old black girl in a beauty parlour.

The allegation may have been the catalyst, but in Lozells Road they had been predicting a bloody night for years. Thirteen months ago a message that appeared on a black website warned that ‘Birmingham’s Asian and ethnic African are becoming increasingly polarised’. The author felt Asians were becoming ‘more aggressive’ and that the ‘daily spiritual, and sometimes physical, face-offs’ between the two communities had left ‘indelible scars on the soul’. Violence, the emailer concluded, was inevitable. For years Lozells had been hailed as a vibrant example of the melting pot that defines urban Britain. Yet for many who lived in the tight terracing north of Birmingham’s bright new centre, the area had become a racial tinderbox.

As with most previous riots, the tension had its roots in the trivial. For the black community of north Birmingham it was the manner in which Asian shopkeepers handed back their change. Already smarting over the fact that most local businesses had been snapped up by Asian entrepreneurs, a common complaint among African-Caribbeans was the treatment by shopkeepers.

‘They throw the change at us as if we’re lower-class citizens’. Rob raised his left arm above his head and flung a 10p into his right palm. ‘Like that. They won’t even touch us.’

Those beside him in Simply Veg nodded. To the Asian community, such complaints are mired in envy. ‘We can work 16-hour days. We pay tax. We own the shops. They’re jealous,’ Makaveli said.

That the everyday rituals of capitalism became such a source of discontent is apt; experts agree that the rioting stemmed from the economics of inequality. For decades, the African-Caribbean community watched as the Asian community bettered itself. Of the 50 or so stores on Lozells Road, 90 per cent are Asian-owned. But the competition runs deeper. Amid the deprivation of Lozells, the two communities scrap for dwindling government support in housing, jobs and community projects. Asian shopkeepers rarely employ blacks; similarly, the few African storeowners can wait days for the next Pakistani patron.

In response, the African-Caribbean community of Lozells is calling for a total boycott of Asian shops. Dani arrived in Birmingham from Jamaica in 1960. He remembers when he had Asian friends. ‘They became millionaires, we became beggars,’ the 65-year-old said wearily.

That community elders are encouraging tension is no surprise to those monitoring the situation. Frank Reeves, of Race Equality West Midlands, describes a meeting between community leaders last week that was riven by self-interest rather than reconciliation. A cycle of rumour, bigotry and suspicion has intensified in the wake of the riots. For every story of a black schoolboy beaten by 20 Asians there is one such as that from Makaveli’s best friend, Abdul, whose brother was killed two years ago; caught in the crossfire of a shoot-out between black gangs in the nearby streets.

So endemic is gangland culture that when several doctors from the nearest hospital were required for front-line medical duty during the Iraq war, they already possessed the skills required for treating gunshot wounds.

Further violence appears a question of when, not if. ‘I get the impression people are getting tooled up,’ Reeves admits. The police presence suggests as much. Around 600 police a day have been drafted in to keep order on the maze of streets around Lozells Road. Recent website postings earmark Eid, the Asian festival this Friday that signals the end of the Islamic holy month of Ramadan, as a flashpoint.

One entrant on a black power website reads: ‘Pakistanis are marked for death. The blacks have had enough of Pakistanis running things up there.’ The bigotry is never exclusive. One Asian site glorifies the alleged rape: ‘Big up the Pakis dat tapped the nigger bitch in Brumland. We had the upper hand on them ever since the abolishment of slavery.’

Even now, it is unclear where the rape allegation originated from. Suggestions that it was concocted by the black community are unconfirmed. What is certain is that the rumour was perfect for a riot; a poisonous Chinese whisper that gained horror and currency with every repeat. Reeves describes the allegation as a ‘textbook classic’ and that it was no accident it centred around a shop run by Asians selling black beauty products.

The supposed victim was an illegal immigrant who will not come forward, a detail that also tapped into African-Caribbeans disquiet over immigration laws. ‘The British took us as slaves to the Caribbean and now they won’t even let us in,’ said Paul, 40.

Similarly, the allegation seemed to corroborate a long-standing suspicion among the black community that Asian men gang-rape their women. ‘They have been raping black girls for centuries,’ said Maxine Goldman, 28. ‘They make them wear hijabs, wrapping them up to their eyeballs.’

Despite a police investigation finding no evidence of the rape, the black community is adamant it is true. In turn, the Asian community believes the ‘rape’ was conceived as an excuse to attack their shops.

Whatever proves true, half the community is complaining that its traditional voice – pirate radio – is being persecuted. DJ Warren G made the mistake of broadcasting the rape allegations he had heard in a barber’s shop. The price would be personal – within days his former schoolfriend Young-Sam was dead – and professional as police continue to investigate claims that his repeating of a rumour was incitement to disorder.

But little may change; the 1985 riots in Handsworth proved that. The people of Lozells agree that the carnations of Carlyle Road will not be the last.
    ———————————————————–

This is for all those who think that I am crazy, racist and xenophobic.

The Media is not doing their job at all!

This is a story from one of the leading Newspapers in England.

14. I am teaching my child certain values that I believed in and I would say he is similar to his father.I am not telling him to hate other races but to know that the black race is despise and hated by all the othe races.That is a fact that cannot be disputed.I let my child know that I want black grand children.I do not want any mix up half caste that do not know if he is white,black,chinese,indian or whatever.
    I stated before and I will say it again I believe in the purity of the races.The black race is the only race that do not want its offspring to look like them.Mixing the races is wrong.It is challenging god.God created each and every race with its own peculiar characteristics. Negroman does not want any mixed race children or Grand children.If my son ever had to marry outside of his race I will write him out of the inheritance and I will not recognise his children.I am one strong proud black man of African stock and I want my grand children to be like wise.I do not want any mixed race children.
    I am fearful that the way we are going with all the other ethnic groups comming into Barbados and inter breeding and producing mixed race babies.Those children are going to be in a unfortunate position because they do not have any identifiable race to link with.
    Iwant to see real black people in Barbados no mixed race.

15. Guyana is a staging ground for illegals all over the world trying to get into other countries. They can easily,like one two get a Guyana passport,supplied by the crooked corrupt government official and into Barbados they are tomorrow.

Living next to Guyana is like living next to Mexico as the US finds itself. And with all the manpower the US have Mexicans are still coming in there.

You think about little Barbados with only 166 miles what would happen when this is full invasion mode.

16. It has started people; black people are not going to put up with this shit anymore.

It is unfair for persons to come and think that they run things! They never come an socialise they always come to conquor.

This story sounds familiar. Remember the Guyanese are claiming that we BAJANS are jealous of them! Therefore that gives them the right to come here and take over LOL!

Minister McClean DO YOUR JOB MAM!

We in trouble, SERIOUS TROUBLE!

Scout warned us history warned us and now this excerpt from the Guardian newspaper has warned us!

I have taught my children that NO ONE is better than them and they are BLACK!

My children should not have to fight for equality in Barbados MY BLASTED FOREPARENTS earned and gave them that right!

These people have decided that bajans are stupid and we should walk away from every thing that is OURS!

Well ehhhhh wrong answer!

17. My goodness JC

I knew of the Birmingham riots but I had not read that piece.

That article in the U.K. Observer newspaper is so true – it is chilling.

Already we are seeing it here in those indian stores in Swan street and how they treat blacks – in particular working class blacks – where one indian storeowner even pushed a black, bajan girl out of his store some time back.

Also on this blog or BFP many months ago a blogger wrote about how an indian store owner made insulting remarks to his young afro bajan female sales clerk in the bloggers presence – and she the blogger was also was black – but the indian man could not cared less.She of course walked out.

How many other black bajans would do the same and not only walk out – but don’t patronise these indian stores.

What is happening in birmingham will be replicated in barbados unless mr thompson intervenes now.

Otherwise the royal barbados police force will not have enough police men and women.

Margaret Knight please speak to your son for us.

Consider also, the sterotype the indians have of the black,note how the article says the indians would not offer employment to the blacks,neither would they patronise the black shops.

Yet obviously the blacks continued to go into the indian shops becuase that is the only way the blacks were able to recieve the treatment they did from the indian storeowners – that is throwing the change at the black customers.

As negroman said earlier a lot of people come on this site and try to intellectualise this very serious and dangerous situation we are facing – and talk rubbish about benefits of immigration,or even human rights.

They now even got BU sounding real cautious and careful about how they say what.At least however, BU has been consistent in saying that the impact of other ethnic groups coming into barbados must be taken in to very careful consideration.

JC,if you can perhaps you can email this article to david ellis at VOB and Jewel Forde at CBC,also email the article to Barbados Free Press(BFP).

That report is frightening.

Thanks very much JC.

I hope you noted what was happening on this blog all yesterday.

On another point,reading articles on Fiji I came across this senate speech in October 2001 where:

A senator who chaired the Fijian constitutional review committee “accused the immigrant races(ie indians) of undermining the fijian identity through legal means and the manipulation of the constitution.”

The senator claimed that multi-cultarilism clashed with the cultural realities of the country.

Another senator Tava described the coup which occurred in 2000 ( the year before) – of being a blessing in disguise and accused indians of ‘rejecting indigenous identity’.

There are some black outside but white inside house negroes who no matter how much you try to alert them to the dangers of this influx of other ethnic gropus – will continue to pontificate and throw out nonsensical arguments – in the misguided notion that they is how a ‘world citizen should behave and sound’.

Lord help us.

18. What in my comments need moderation.I am only expressing my opinons on a subject matter.I have not called anyone’s name or maligned anyone.Are you sending me a message that I should not continue to make a contribution.Let Negroman know the position

19. Check for my article too BU.

20. […] of two immigrants in Barbados, Living Guyana believes that Guyanese are being targeted, while Barbados Underground posts a statement from the Guyana Consul, which dismisses the notion that the “apparent […]

21. @ Negroman

Please continue to make your contributions. They’re frank and honest.
    Reaganomics actually finds them very telling. U have the guts 2 say what many others think.
    However, Reaganomics does not support your position.

22. We as a people need to be more unified. I would like some help in finding a reknowned qualified BLACK ENT Specialist to take my son too.

Can any fellow blogger help me to find a suitable person. I use to always go to an Indian ENT, since he was very good.

But you want to know what; since I have decided to educate myself, I have realised that these people dont like us AT ALL!

And I am not paying a RED CENT to anyone who dont like me and my kind!

Mr. Faria check ya self!

23. Imagine had not for us black people where would these Indians be; I WILL NEVER BUY NOTHING FROM AN INDIAN STORE EVER AGAIN!

Thanks Anon, they think that they dealing with stupid persons ha ha ha!

I gine show them how ignorant I can get on with my money!

Think that when they buy a goat or some sh*** from you that they save a whole nation! Want to come on this site and tell us a whole heap of BS and think it worth something!

We are waking up that is the newsflash if you all INDIANS think that you all can talk doown to us think again!

Not a cent a mine! I will make sure that I Email this information to everyone I know so that they can see how much you hate us!

24. Reganomics honestly I did not really wanted to respond to you.I put you on ignore.However,I must give in.Thanks for the encouaraging words.I will continue to make my contributions.What I write is what I believe in.I speak from my heart.I have no problem with you not agreeing with me.We could agree to disagree.
    I state my position on this issue and it will not change.
    Reganomics you talked about multiculturism and to replace hate with love .I want you to read JC’s comments on the riots in Birmingham and make a response.

25. JC

Black ENT specialist

1)Dr Vincent Clarke – 6th ave belleville –
    TEL – 4275362

2) Dr Marquis Dowell -1st ave worthing
    Tel – 436 -9368

Excellent choices.

26. Thanks a million!

27. JC

Another black ENT Doctor

Dr christopher Maynard – 9th ave cnr George st

Tel # 429 – 5618

JC

I don’t go to any indian doctor,any indian professional,and on very few occasions have I patronised an indian store when I absolutely couldn’t help it.

However they on a total band right now.

I put my money where my mouth is.

28. JC queried “I would like some help in finding a reknowned qualified BLACK ENT Specialist to take my son too.”

I can recommend 3 excellent ENT specialists:

Dr J Marquis Dowell
    Dr Chris Maynard
    Dr Vincent Clarke

Check the phone book for contact info.

29. Anonymous that the way to go my brother.Follow Negroman and boycott indians businessess.While we are at it boycott chinese businesses too.What happened and is happening to our unfortunate black brothers & sisters in Birmingham,England will happen to us in the not to distance future if we do not minimize the numbers & economic & financial might that the indian group is amassing in Barbaos.We must utilise our might which is our numbers.Fellow black brothers & sister do not only use our might only at election time to change from one clown party to the next clown party but use it to send the correct message to our business leaders in Barbados respect us or we will withdraw our support.The financial & economic viability of the whites,indians & chinese are in the hands of us blacks.Without us they cannot survive in black Barbados.We must always remeber this.
    Let start the ball rolling by boycotting indian & chinese businessess.Do like Negroman seek out black businesses and make your purchases.
    The anti-blacks,token blacks and all black people what happened to those black in Birmingham,England it could happen to any one of us.They do not discriminate base on social status,educational capabilities,financial situation and the like .Once you are of African stock they will discriminate against you.
    BLACK PEOPLE WAKE UP LET TAKE OUR PLACE IN THIS WORLD.NO RACE IS SUPERIOR TO OUR

30. Michael Belle Avatar

Anon:

Where were you hiding yesterday evening ? I hope you took my words to heart. You guys should realise one thing. Nothing you are saying today was not said by our African ancestors when Indians started coming to Guyana.

Immigration is difficult to stop.

Reaganomics. I sent you an e mail . Never got a reply.

Remember Tom Adams. I know the Indian girl that was managing him up to his death. When the Indians came back in power in 1992 she ran back to Guyana and got a work with the same racist government ruling the country now. She used to work for CANA.

Look up “Thomas Carroll” on the internet. He was in charge of giving visas at the US embassy in GT. The Indians soon were managing him. He was giving them visas and they were giving him girls and money. The Feds had to jail him. It was during his time that most Indians entered the USA.

If Tom could have been managed we don’t know who is really running immigration in Barbados today. May God have mercy on your souls.

31. Michael Belle Avatar

Check “Thomas Carroll in Guyana” to get the full news

32. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

There are Intelligent and not so intelligent people who blog. Then there are the dunces and stooges.
    Many Bajans have written utterly nonsensical Racial tirades against Guyanese with such Hate and venom, that any decent minded person reading their blogs, might deduce that “little dot Barbados” might be the forbidden Isle!
    On the other hand, some Guyanese have blogged their party, racial hatreds here and thus literally ” hung their dirty linen in the public!”
    There are those in the Private Media who are there just to oppose Government in Guyana, whether it is a deed done good or bad,t hey just oppose.
    The agenda of most of the Private media here in Guyana, is to oppose the government and to create such a hysteria, that an innocent person reading some of the “Private” newspapers in Guyana would believe that Guyana is becoming like “Iraq!”
    This is a far cry from the truth.
    In the entire world, violence is on the upsurge.
    The western media, with its open-ness is also contributiing to this sipral in violence by creating such scenarios in the minds of the General Viewers, that people would most certainly take sides in every situation, whether it is the “Israeli/Palestine” issue, the Bosnian/Serbian, India/Pakistan, Tamil Tigers/Sri Lankan Government, Huttu /Tutsi, Mugabe/His opposition, Hilary Clinton/Obama issues, etc. etc.
    This a natural Human reaction.
    However when certain people reach extremes and incite hatred ,violence and anarchy, things would certainly get out of hand and most of the time, the innocent people will lose their lives, properties or livelihood!
    Economies would be lost or destroyed.
    Cultures would be at risk, would certainly change and the populace would be traumatised.
    Guyana is not different and the present Government is certainly doing a better job than the past government of the PNC.
    This definitely does not mean that another Party or group of people would not emerge who would do better than the PP or the PNC or the AFC.
    The AFC is a sad case. It is made of of the left- overs and rejectes from the PPP or the PNC.
    The most important factor inGuyana is that we have SIX distinct races.
    East Indian, people of African origin, Portuguese, Chinese, Amerindian and a few (other) European.
    The npresent generation , unlike the Burnhamites or the Jaganites, do not give much importance to race.
    It is a phenomenon of the past.
    It seems as thouch you in Barbado have more of a hysteria with Race than we Guyanese. Thisis why Indo Guyanese have reached there , simply for Economic reasons. Not because “little dot Barbados” is better than Guyana. Certainly not!
    Guyanese are ingenious in the sense that they live abroad and send remittances to build a better life in Guyana when they eventually return.
    However some people from the old regimes are bent of spreading fear and violence. So you see the upsurge inViolence and business and businessmen being attacked daily, simply to rob them and to create a state of panic and hysteria.
    Guyanese would certainly rather go to the USA, Canda or the UK rather than go to any other islands in the West Indies.
    Imagine Guyana is so big that we have not even occupied quarter of the country as yet.
    Tek half , leave half!

33. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

There are Intelligent and not so intelligent people who blog. Then there are the dunces and stooges.
    Many Bajans have written utterly nonsensical Racial tirades against Guyanese with such Hate and venom, that any decent minded person reading their blogs, might deduce that “little dot Barbados” might be the forbidden Isle!
    On the other hand, some Guyanese have blogged their party, racial hatreds here and thus literally ” hung their dirty linen in the public!”
    There are those in the Private Media who are there just to oppose Government in Guyana, whether it is a deed done good or bad,t hey just oppose.
    The agenda of most of the Private media here in Guyana, is to oppose the government and to create such a hysteria, that an innocent person reading some of the “Private” newspapers in Guyana would believe that Guyana is becoming like “Iraq!”
    This is a far cry from the truth.
    In the entire world, violence is on the upsurge.
    The western media, with its open-ness is also contributiing to this sipral in violence by creating such scenarios in the minds of the General Viewers, that people would most certainly take sides in every situation, whether it is the “Israeli/Palestine” issue, the Bosnian/Serbian, India/Pakistan, Tamil Tigers/Sri Lankan Government, Huttu /Tutsi, Mugabe/His opposition, Hilary Clinton/Obama issues, etc. etc.
    This a natural Human reaction.
    However when certain people reach extremes and incite hatred ,violence and anarchy, things would certainly get out of hand and most of the time, the innocent people will lose their lives, properties or livelihood!
    Economies would be lost or destroyed.
    Cultures would be at risk, would certainly change and the populace would be traumatised.
    Guyana is not different and the present Government is certainly doing a better job than the past government of the PNC.
    This definitely does not mean that another Party or group of people would not emerge who would do better than the PP or the PNC or the AFC.
    The AFC is a sad case. It is made of of the left- overs and rejectes from the PPP or the PNC.
    The most important factor inGuyana is that we have SIX distinct races.
    East Indian, people of African origin, Portuguese, Chinese, Amerindian and a few (other) European.
    The npresent generation , unlike the Burnhamites or the Jaganites, do not give much importance to race.
    It is a phenomenon of the past.
    It seems as thouch you in Barbado have more of a hysteria with Race than we Guyanese. Thisis why Indo Guyanese have reached there , simply for Economic reasons. Not because “little dot Barbados” is better than Guyana. Certainly not!
    Guyanese are ingenious in the sense that they live abroad and send remittances to build a better life in Guyana when they eventually return.
    However some people from the old regimes are bent of spreading fear and violence. So you see the upsurge inViolence and business and businessmen being attacked daily, simply to rob them and to create a state of panic and hysteria.
    Guyanese would certainly rather go to the USA, Canda or the UK rather than go to any other islands in the West Indies.
    Imagine Guyana is so big that we have not even occupied quarter of the country as yet.
    Tek half , leave half!

34. The blogs attract the good and bad those intelligent must pick some sense from it all. What the comments on this blog reflect is the several positions which people hold whether we agree are not.

We read an artcile in the Advocate today penned by a Nicholas Cox whose accused BU as being racist and xenophobic, really sad. We read his article twice and had to shake our head in sadness. The article was devoid of any analytical thinking. Cox elected to write about the virtuous concept of integration, immigration and CSME which we all agree. Where he was woeful was in identifying the barriers and the lack of structures which continue to undermine the vision.

35. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

@ Negroman.
    The late Julius Nyerere of tanzania and his socialist government were unable to control the prowess of the “Indian Elite Entrepreneurs” from the Hindus, Khojas, Bohras and Ismailis ( the latter all Muslims) communities.
    This might be news to you, but Nyrere tried to contain them and their business prowess by passing a law known as the “Arusha Declaration”, thereby nationalizing their businesses to the extent that he nationalised their houses (LOL)
    If you go to Dares Salaam, Tanga, Morogoro, Arusha or any small town in Tanzania, you would see a big green “patch ” on such buildings which were owned by Indians.
    You will find written in “Kiswahili” = “Nyumba Shirika la Taifa ya Tanzania”
    Literally put= it means houses belonging to the National housing authorities of Tanzania!
    At that time, there was a huge Indian population but after the “Declaration of Arusha” they migrated in droves to the U.K. in particular and to Canada.
    Most of them are doing well in these countries but Tanzania suffered tremendously economically.
    The Tanzanian shillingi is not worth a bit.
    The same thing happened to Uganda when dictator Idi Amin tried to get rid of the Indians and the economy collapsed.
    They literally begged the Indians to return.
    In Barbados, you have some elite “Indian Businessmens” who are either “Bohras” , Gujrati or in some cases Sindhi and these people are unlike Guyanese East Indians.
    They even look down their noses to Guyanese East Indians or Trinidad Indians.
    You should visit Africa.
    Go to Burundi or Rwanda and see how Huttus and Tutsis treat each other with hatred.
    Read the news and see what happened to Zimbabweans in South Africa.
    They are all “blackmen”.
    Hatred breeds hatred.
    There is no end to the cycle.
    Change your attidudes and save your little “Puny Nyuni Barbados” before ” climate change” brings the flood and you would rush to Guyana for a piece of land.
    By the way Dean Barrow is looking for land in Guyana for Bajans to farm.
    We would welcome you in Essequibo, Demerara or Berbice to farm.
    We have lots of land and a huge heart to share with Bajans and other West Indians.
    Guyanese will survivie. We always have! Whether Afro or Indian.
    The racial tensions only come to fore during the elections or if the opposition want to force the government to do something their way.
    Salama na Kwa Heri!
    Mpaka ya kuonana!

36. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

@ Negroman.
    The late Julius Nyerere of tanzania and his socialist government were unable to control the prowess of the “Indian Elite Entrepreneurs” from the Hindus, Khojas, Bohras and Ismailis ( the latter all Muslims) communities.
    This might be news to you, but Nyrere tried to contain them and their business prowess by passing a law known as the “Arusha Declaration”, thereby nationalizing their businesses to the extent that he nationalised their houses (LOL)
    If you go to Dares Salaam, Tanga, Morogoro, Arusha or any small town in Tanzania, you would see a big green “patch ” on such buildings which were owned by Indians.
    You will find written in “Kiswahili” = “Nyumba Shirika la Taifa ya Tanzania”
    Literally put= it means houses belonging to the National housing authorities of Tanzania!
    At that time, there was a huge Indian population but after the “Declaration of Arusha” they migrated in droves to the U.K. in particular and to Canada.
    Most of them are doing well in these countries but Tanzania suffered tremendously economically.
    The Tanzanian shillingi is not worth a bit.
    The same thing happened to Uganda when dictator Idi Amin tried to get rid of the Indians and the economy collapsed.
    They literally begged the Indians to return.
    In Barbados, you have some elite “Indian Businessmens” who are either “Bohras” , Gujrati or in some cases Sindhi and these people are unlike Guyanese East Indians.
    They even look down their noses to Guyanese East Indians or Trinidad Indians.
    You should visit Africa.
    Go to Burundi or Rwanda and see how Huttus and Tutsis treat each other with hatred.
    Read the news and see what happened to Zimbabweans in South Africa.
    They are all “blackmen”.
    Hatred breeds hatred.
    There is no end to the cycle.
    Change your attidudes and save your little “Puny Nyuni Barbados” before ” climate change” brings the flood and you would rush to Guyana for a piece of land.
    By the way Dean Barrow is looking for land in Guyana for Bajans to farm.
    We would welcome you in Essequibo, Demerara or Berbice to farm.
    We have lots of land and a huge heart to share with Bajans and other West Indians.
    Guyanese will survivie. We always have! Whether Afro or Indian.
    The racial tensions only come to fore during the elections or if the opposition want to force the government to do something their way.
    Salama na Kwa Heri!
    Mpaka ya kuonana!

37. So Patriotic Guyanese, youa re saying it is better to suffer Indian racism, than the economic void that would be left if racist indians were to leave? Good thinking.

38. Ha, I couldnt have said it better!

39. Jagdeo PPP regime in guyana has sent out their P.R. persons to paint this lovely – ‘we are all one family’ pie in the sky nonsense.

40. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

@HA
    You whine so much!
    Our people in Africa are killing, slaughter each other because of their tribal differences, which might seem as merely minor differences to us.
    Tribes, dialects, cutoms, traditions etc. mean a lot to Africans.
    When Gahnians from the Ashanti or Fante tribes ( whom we glorify in Guyana and the broader West Indies) come to our countries, they speak in their own dialects and they look down upon us in disdain!
    They refer to the Afro Carribean people as “sons of slaves” and treat us as their subjects and they our master.
    You want more racism??
    The White man knew what he had to do.
    Divide and rule.
    It is still happening.
    Until and unless people of African descent identify their weaknesses and improve their lives, laying the blame on another people will continue and our hate never ends.
    In the USA and Canada it is the White man who is at fault for our weaknesses, our failures.
    In Guyana it is the Indian.
    we should consider that the Amerindians are the original people of Guyana, yet they have been sidlined by the previous regime of Burnham.
    This present government has recognised their rights and they have Amerindian Ministers in the govenrment and Amerindian in all walks of life in Guyana now.
    We should give everyone a fair chance and let the law govern us all.
    It will guarantee peace and prosperity for all.
    One of the greatest weakness of the African in the diaspora is that the White man gave the Black man his pagan religion, which he himself has long ago deserted BUT the Black man is hoping for white Jesus to deliver him.
    Keep on hoping.
    We have to come to task with stark realities before we lose whatever sense of reasoning we have left.
    Improve our educations and skills and Indians will respect us for that!
    Salaam nyingi na kwa heri mpka ya kuonana!!

41. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

@HA
    You whine so much!
    Our people in Africa are killing, slaughter each other because of their tribal differences, which might seem as merely minor differences to us.
    Tribes, dialects, cutoms, traditions etc. mean a lot to Africans.
    When Gahnians from the Ashanti or Fante tribes ( whom we glorify in Guyana and the broader West Indies) come to our countries, they speak in their own dialects and they look down upon us in disdain!
    They refer to the Afro Carribean people as “sons of slaves” and treat us as their subjects and they our master.
    You want more racism??
    The White man knew what he had to do.
    Divide and rule.
    It is still happening.
    Until and unless people of African descent identify their weaknesses and improve their lives, laying the blame on another people will continue and our hate never ends.
    In the USA and Canada it is the White man who is at fault for our weaknesses, our failures.
    In Guyana it is the Indian.
    we should consider that the Amerindians are the original people of Guyana, yet they have been sidlined by the previous regime of Burnham.
    This present government has recognised their rights and they have Amerindian Ministers in the govenrment and Amerindian in all walks of life in Guyana now.
    We should give everyone a fair chance and let the law govern us all.
    It will guarantee peace and prosperity for all.
    One of the greatest weakness of the African in the diaspora is that the White man gave the Black man his pagan religion, which he himself has long ago deserted BUT the Black man is hoping for white Jesus to deliver him.
    Keep on hoping.
    We have to come to task with stark realities before we lose whatever sense of reasoning we have left.
    Improve our educations and skills and Indians will respect us for that!
    Salaam nyingi na kwa heri mpka ya kuonana!!

42. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

There was a time in Guyana if you were found with one potato you were sent to jail.
    We had no wheaten flour and had to eat “rice flour” and ” cassava flour”. Our black people got “white mouth” and a host of diseases.
    The Indians survived, got their peas (dholl), potatoes and flour from Suriname and Venezuela.
    Nobody in the West Indies came to our help.
    Burnham was the Kabaka, remember .
    He literally punished the Black people.
    If anyone was found with a single US dollar. He was jailed.
    Times have changed.
    We must come together and forge a union with intelligent people and rule our countires wisely to survive the onslaught of the Europeans.
    Grow more food I say and the good lord will provide.
    Mwenyezi Mungu awe nasi.
    Salaam na kwa heri mpaka baadaye!

43. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

There was a time in Guyana if you were found with one potato you were sent to jail.
    We had no wheaten flour and had to eat “rice flour” and ” cassava flour”. Our black people got “white mouth” and a host of diseases.
    The Indians survived, got their peas (dholl), potatoes and flour from Suriname and Venezuela.
    Nobody in the West Indies came to our help.
    Burnham was the Kabaka, remember .
    He literally punished the Black people.
    If anyone was found with a single US dollar. He was jailed.
    Times have changed.
    We must come together and forge a union with intelligent people and rule our countires wisely to survive the onslaught of the Europeans.
    Grow more food I say and the good lord will provide.
    Mwenyezi Mungu awe nasi.
    Salaam na kwa heri mpaka baadaye!

44. Dear Michael Belle:

You are talking nonsense about “Indians managing Thomas Caroll” as though Thomas Carroll was a mindless puppet.

Nobody was “managing” Thomas.

The problem was not the Indians.

The problem was that Thomas was not managing himself.

Thomas committed fraud and was fired and imprisoned.

Nobody “managed” him into fraud.

Thomas’ own greed led him into committing multiple acts of fraud.

You are talking racist nonsense. You are talking as though Indians are all powerful and the rest of us are mindless puppets.

Most of us past the age of adolesence may be offered a bribe or see an opportunity to commit fraud. Most of us recognize dishonesty when we see it. Some of us choose the dishonest route. Some of us choose the straight and narrow. But NOBODY can cause us to commit fraud against our will. You do have a will of your own, don’t you Michael?

Or are you a mindless puppet?

You may be but I most certainly am not.

45. Patriotic Guyanese you cannot lecture me on African history.I know more African history than you will ever know.You are pathetic.
    I just witness a scene in Bridgetown where two Indo-Guyanese men were fighting and the police arrested both of them and hassled them off to Coleridge Street.I felt so happy.Hopefully two less Indo-Guyanese to worry about.Many bloggers mentioned the horrible behavior of Indo-Guyanese and Guyanese in general after the consumption of alcohol.That atrocious behavior is being bought over here in Barbados by those nuisances.
    I forgot to mentioned I had some talk with some parliamentarians recently.After that talk I am concern that the government is not really committed to this immigration issue.One parliamentarian asked if Barbadians are having problems with Indo-Guyanese in Barbados.I had to asked him where he is living.I had to asked him if this is not an issue that was a hot topic for the last 5 years or so.He had the gall to asked me if Indo-Guyanese are impacting on Barbadians lives.I was shocked.I told him that there are construction sites hiring only Indo-Guyanese and not local blacks or Caribbean blacks.
    These are the type of clowns we have as parliamentarians today.I think we need to get back to grassroot community leaders such as Hamilton Lashley to be our leaders.Hammie La knows our pain because he comes from among us.Those middle class snobs who live in their enclaves and never had to struggle a day ,never knew about a pit toilet,never knew how it feels like waking in the morning with no breakfast and nothing for the children to eat will never know our pain.We have those idiots as our leaders. N o wonder they are divorce from the harsh realities that affecting thousands of black Barbadians daily.I am sick and tired of those sort of people representing my interest.I am talking about the likes of Mia Mottley,Richard Sealy,David Thompson,Kerry symmonds,Dale Marshall,Esther Byer-Suckoo and the lot.They do not understand the plight and sufferation thousands of black Barbadians go through every day.I know it because I live it previously and my heart go out to the rest who did not had the opportunity to improve their lot.
    Indo-Guyanese and other immigrants from the Caribbean and elsewhere are taking away jobs from us and our politicians are unaware.What the hell we put you all jokers there for.
    David Thompson & DLP government it appears that this government is pandering to the big financiers of the party.That is the whites,Indians,& Chinese.Remember that group only make up a small percentage of the population of Barbados.Them CANNOT win you an election and make you a Prime Minister.It is we the thousands of black Barbadians that you will have to depend on for your job as Prime Minister.
    ACT ON THIS IMMIGRATION ISSUE OR ELSE WE WILL GET RID OF YOU

46. Dear Michael:

Your stupid argument reminds me of those stupid people who claim that a young girl’s short or tight dress “causes” men to committ sexual offenses. Or the stupid Jewish/Christian/ Muslim argument that Eve “caused” Adam to eat the forbidded fruit and to sin.

Nonsensical statements.

If the young girl’s dress is short or tight, then cross the street and walk on the other side.

If Eve offered Adam the forbidden fruit. Adam was under no obligation to accept. He could have said “no thanks”

It is time that we all grow up and accept responsibiity for our own sin, instead of saying, “Eve made me do it” “the young girl made me do it” or even “the Devil made me do it”

Grow up Michael.

Nodoby can “manage” you into crime or sin.

We all sin of our own free will.

Many of us commit crime of our own free will.

Bribery requires an offer.

And bribery requires an acceptance.

And the offer and aceptance CANNOT come from the same person.

It takes 2.

47. Dear Negroman:

“the horrible behavior of Indo-Guyanese and Guyanese in general after the consumption of alcohol.That atrocious behavior is being bought over here in Barbados by those nuisances.”

The statement in quotes is yours not mine.

And it is a LIE so say that drunken bad behaviour is being brought to Barbados by Guyanese Indians.

Dear Negroman:

I do not know in which sheltered enclave you grew up or in which sheltered enclave you are now living .

In fact I am pretty certain that you are not Bajan and that you do not live in Barbados.

But in the working class 100% Bajan community in which I was born in the 1950’s public drunkeness was commonplace, especially on weekends.

There was the father of many children, who always took off all of his clothes when he was drunk and staggered about stark naked in front of the Sunday school children. His mother was black and his daddy was a white plantation owner.

There was at least one man who killed another in a drunken argument.

There were the husbands who publicly cursed and beat their wives and children.

There were the men who assaulted each other with knives.

There was the man who sat down drunk on the shop step on the Saturday night and never woke up.

There were the men sho tried to feel-up (sexually assault) the women and adolesent girls when they went to the shop to buy groceries.

None of this was good.

But none of it is new either.

Don’ blame the Guyanese Indians for importing drunken mis-behaviour.

We Bajans have always known how to be publicly drunk and disorderly.

Unfortunately we did not need anyone to teach us drunken mis-behaviour.

And I my village was just an ordinary rural working class Bajan village in the 1950’s and onwards.

48. @ J

U only have to analzye de folk songs of Bdos and your points will be underscored.

“Everytime uh pass yuh pull @ me (bis)
    Uh goin’ tell mih mama dont send me down hey”

Translation: An older man assaulting a younger girl.

“John gih cow water, John gih de cow mash, be4 de cow could holler, John gih de cow wupsee wupsee bang bang.

TRANSLATION: Some believe that John foop de cow (LMAO) but we not sure if John was black, white or mixed. It’s hardly ulike that John was indian.

Reaganomics just thought to lighten up the debate a bit.

49. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

Negroman:=
    Wish me away as pathetic but as the elderly Akan people say, if the snake is infront of you and is about to strike you, should you close your eyes , pretending it is not there anymore, with the hope that it would not attack, does not in reality mean that it would not strike you!!
    It certainly will strike you and you would have to wake up to reality.
    You should read more “Anancy stories”.
    They all originated from Ghanian folklore.
    Salama na kwa heri mpka baadaye!

50. PATRIOTIC GUYANESE Avatar
    PATRIOTIC GUYANESE

Negroman:=
    Wish me away as pathetic but as the elderly Akan people say, if the snake is infront of you and is about to strike you, should you close your eyes , pretending it is not there anymore, with the hope that it would not attack, does not in reality mean that it would not strike you!!
    It certainly will strike you and you would have to wake up to reality.
    You should read more “Anancy stories”.
    They all originated from Ghanian folklore.
    Salama na kwa heri mpka baadaye!