There have been some press reports which have been targeted at BU that have appeared in several fora in the last 24 hours. We will respond in time to many of the inaccuracies which appeared in those reports. We agree that if our message is not to become distorted, our blog has a responsibility to ensure that we don’t contribute to fueling hysteria around this matter. We take this opportunity to reiterate that we strongly believe in a managed immigration policy. We also believe that the impact of multi-ethnic groups on a Black host population should be studied as part of a managed immigration policy. The BU family is aware that we are reluctant to censor, however we want solution oriented discussion. The reports over the last 24 hours should have shown how extreme comments posted on BU can be used by some to extrapolate to positions which we don’t subscribe. Please be guided accordingly.

The following is a Press Release (unedited) issued by the Guyana Consul in Barbados:

The Guyana Consulate in Barbados has dismissed a Kaiteur News news story in Guyana which intimated that last Saturday night’s shooting death of a Guyanese national and the wounding of another in an apparent bungled robbery at a Barbados bar was a premeditated anti-Guyanese attack. “The Consulate has no evidence of this. I read the item in the Guyana press and it was speculative nonsense. It had persons, typically unnamed, claiming that the entertainment establishment was targeted because it was regularly frequented by Guyanese nationals. Aside from the sensationalist speculation , the gist of the report was also factually wrong. Among he errors: there were no six gunmen-only one was apparently involved. From all the available evidence at this juncture including from senior investigative officers of the Barbados police, this was an apparent case of a robbery gone wrong. There are no indications this was a hate crime against Guyanese. Indeed, Barbadians have sympathised with me about this tragedy which could happen in any country.” said Consul Norman Faria.

“As I said at the screening of the commendable movie ON THE MAP about migrant workers in Barbados , progressive and democratic forces including the left have to really get worried and decisively act when anti-foreigner sentiment and xenophobia becomes part of mainstream Barbados politics. While it cannot get directly involved in Barbadian politics, the Consulate monitors the situation and is of the view that, in the main and at this conjuncture, Barbadian political parties, grassroots institutions such as trade unions, credit unions and the churches are still made up of decent, tolerant and democratic minded Barbadians who welcome people from overseas. We sympathise with those who were offended, or earnestly feel that it led to actual racist incidents, by the anti-Guyanese inflammatory rhetoric on talk radio for example. We cannot however translate wild talk from a handful of xenophobes, encouraged by misguided certain talk show hosts themselves, into generalised anti-Guyanese sentiment,” he continued.

The Guyanese Consul went on: “The Guyana Consulate takes very seriously any reports of anti-Guyanese incidents. We have to monitor any attempts to stir up hatred and speak out when necessary. The Consulate has its responsibility and has on many occasions written radio station managements which encourage misinformed or wilful inflammatory views which can only serve to create divisions and racial hatred among working people and which undubtedly embarrasses the majority of decent, tolerant Barbadian people. Following a Consulate communication to the Barbadian police (and copied to a radio station managemnt), there have been some improvements at the stations including call screeners being more awake and responsible. It has nothing to do with freedom of speech. Those who wish to stir up racist feelings and divide people should have no freedom of speech.”

“Consul Faria at the film screening also referred to the MONITORING AND CONTROL-he never used the word CENSOR-of blogs in Barbados. This type of reference is in keeping with progressive trends overseas including in countries like Finland, Turkey and Greece. We can start with forcing those who operate the blogs to have their names and addresses publicly displayed on them. We must respect the traditional freedom of the serious and excellent media in Barbados and commend the rights of Barbadians to express their views. We must respect the Barbados government’s regulatory powers but note that private sector initiatives, perhaps from web server firms, could be a way to start. We must be sensitive and understanding towards well reasoned arguments from Barbadians about migrant workers. The bottom line is that blogs should not serve as a platform for racist and inflammatory wild talk, especially against the backdrop of the region moving towards a meaningful CSME.”

Dead in the Bay Street incident is 27 year old Christopher Anthony Griffith while proprieteress of the Hippo Bar and Caribbean Restuarant, Silochani Samuels, is now a patient at the island’s Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Faria said he has been briefed by the police on the matter, including that the post mortem should be completed on Griffith by Wednesday. Faria said he visited with Samuels at the hospital on Tuesday after the weekend shooting to give her encouragement and offer any assistance from the Consulate on behalf of the Guyana government. “Apparently, the bullet is lodged close to her heart and doctors are keeping her under observation until they make a decsion on the matter,” he said.

Asked if Barbadian police had any leads into the murder, Faria said the police told him they “has some suspects in mind” but that investigations are continuing.

263 responses to “Shooting In Barbados No Hate Crime Against Guyanese, Report Was Speculative Nonsense – Consul”

1. It is with considerable interest that I continue to moinitor all blogs posted regarding the demise of the guyanese resident ant the injury sustained by the female. It would be good if some people are able to remember the torrent of comments made by indo – guyanese resident in Barbados following Guyana’s election and the PPP victory in 1992. I was residing in Grenada at that point in time and was therefore in a position to listen to their daily tirade against the PNC and negros generally. I guess the wolves have finally been unmasked!

2. Google “Kaieteur News” today Saturday July 26 issue. Go to “Letters” and click on a long letter to the Editor written by one Dr. Randy Persaud. The headline reads : Bajans, Guyanese and the politics of hate.
    email address: Kaieteurnews @yahoo.com
    We all need to let readers in Guyana know how we feel. Earlier this week they made certain charges about us with regard to the shooting at the bar on Bay street. People, I say we need to fight back by emailing newspapers in Guyana expressing our disgust. This situation created by OWEN Arthur could get ugly.

3. David

I am not sure I understand that article.

Are all of those comments the words of norman faria in a press release?

If so that is a very long press release.I am not even sure what it is intended to do other than say that the kaeiteur newsppaer report was a pack of lies which everyone even the guyanese in barbados knew to be true.

What is contained in that article just reiterates what faria has been saying for a long time – that is, – that barbadians should be restricted on what they say about racism by indians,the impact of guyanese in barbados and as a matter of fact anything negative about guyanese.

I believe that we should look at who is feeding this ‘person – faria’ and causing him to grow big and fat – IT IS THE MEDIA!!!!

The media -GIVES FARIA ALL THE SPACE IN THE NEWSPAPER AND ON THE TELEVISION AND ON THE RADIO – HE CAN SAY WHAT HE WANTS – UNQUESTIONED ;

HIS PRESS RELEASES ARE PUBLISHED UNEDITED;

EVERY OBVIOUS BRIBE IN THE FORM OF BENCHES OR OTHER SUCH STUFF – IS HERALDED IN EVERY NEWS ROOM AS THOUGH IT IS SOME MAJOR FEAT.

So why are we giving the media a free pass on this.

Faria states quite clearly in that press release that there” should be no press freedom” – for bajans who in his mind – ‘stir up racial strife and divide”

So Faria is now’THE ARBITER’ of which bajans should be given freedom of speech.

I wonder if all those who have the power to stop this man and stop what is certain to be a backlash by the citizens – if they are really pondering what their action or inaction is doing to this society.

Show me any country,or even show me any other diplomatic representative – and not an ‘honorary or quasi’ representative like faria is – who is out there stirring up the amount of strife in the host country and being given the free reins to do it.

We have almost reached that point of ‘no return’ and those who had ears to hear and did nothing – can pat themselves on the back for the state we are in.

The direction things go from here will depend on wise,bold and courageous leadership.

Whether we have that here in barbados will be seen in the days and months to come.

4. I today Saturday July 26 Kaieteur News Letters to the editor you’ll see a letter entitled “Bajans,Guyanese and the politics of hate. It is written by one Dr.Randy Persaud. Mr.Faria needs to rebut the writer in that country’s newspapers immediately instead of always trying to tell Barbadians here what to do. I am HIGHLY offended my this man.The more he halks the more furious I get. There are over 400 replies to a blog on another site pertaining to Norman Faria.

5. Clearly little Barbados needs a managed immigration policy. We cannot change the past but we can do something about the future.

Perhaps now is the time for the Barbados Government or the Guyana Consulate to tell Barbadians how many Guyanese are living here legally or illegally so that we draw informed conclusions and act wisely.

6. Why the silence in the Barbados media? As someone has written, “All that is required for evil to triumph is for good people to do NOTHING.”

7. Every thing that was said so far by fellow bloggers is TRUE. Especially nn.

We need to know how many Guyanese and any other non nationals are here.

The longer we wait the worse it is for us. Norman Faria is a CHARACTER!

He needs to check himself and see if what he is doing is benefiting his ‘country men’!

I read in the advocate earlier this week that the minority of Bajans were not against this influx of Gyanese. Who fool them? LOL!

This is a burning issue within our country today and one which needs to be addressed forthwith!

8. Norman Faria e-mail address is nfaria@caribsurf.com

Let him know how you feel about his attempt to control this country
    Also write the Guyana papers and let them know the other side of this propaganda campaign by Faria. he should be replaced by the Guyana government if they have any sense at all. He is a disgrace! Full of his own self-importance with his long-winded BS.
    ……………………………………………………….
    Norman Faria is a manipulative person who is doing no good on behalf of the Guyanese population in Barbados. Does the Guyana government realize this?

He should also realize` that this is not Guyana where the media is muzzled and the opposition media shot and banned because they oppose the government racist and discrimination again
    st black people in Guyana.

“Little napolean” Faria in his ponytail… get a life … and be gone. This is not Soviet Russia – this country is not run by a Marxist -Leninist party like the PPP.. go to hell!

9. It would appear that the Guyanese are everywhere. I met a guy recently whilst I was on holiday in London, and he also expressed his dissatisfaction with the number of Guyanese who are living illegally in his home country Antigua. This problem with the Guyanese need to be addressed at the highest levels of Caricom, it would appear that we are sitting on a boiling volcano just waiting to be unleashed. Almost every conversation, whether it be in a social setting or business, this matter of migrant labour is being discussed. However whilst we are bothering about the Guyanese labourers, other problems are arising in high places. Is there a hotel on the West Coast that got rid of its bajan managers and replaced them with Trinidadian and Jamaican.

10. Who the hell Faria talking to? Faria you are a bold face fascist. I trace my roots to my slave foreparents. No one especially an honorary consul from Guyana can tell me what to say or where to say it in my country.

Like most Barbadians I am a responsible adult carrying no hate for any one. You Faria have alienated Barbadians and placed Guyanese in a bad light. Once Guyanese or any visitor stay within the four corners of the law they are welcome. Coming and stayin here illegally is breaking Barbados law and the prescribed punishment has to be meted out.

Another thing Faria even you with selective memory can remember scores of crimes almost on a daily basis including robbery and murder committed by Guyanese against each other in Barbados. Lets wait on the Police investigation to determine whether the unfortunate Hippo crime is not more Guyanese on Guyanese violence.

You are a most unpopular person in Barbados mister Faria. We need a regulated immigration policy and we need it now. Owen Arthur bears full blame for the influx of illegals and their despicable mouth piece Faria.

11. I’ve read this article
    and wondered about free
    speculation, that it was a
    Barbadian who committed this
    crime. In this article below, they seem a
    bit too eager to accuse Barbadians of
    committing this heinous crime!

http://www.kaieteurnews.com/?p=3529

The robber’s covered face things is very Suspicious ! Perhaps they knew or was
    acquainted their robber? Why kill people that
    you’ve robbed unless you have reasons to think
    that they could easily finger you later?

It could have well, been an INSIDE
    JOB – or another guyanese patron of the bar
    or someone who was really close
    & within the same ethnic group
    setting another person up – It is STRANGE that
    they they had knowledge of who’d be in the bar
    at what time & their banking habits.

It did not have to be a Barbadian committing this crime.

It could have very well been bar patron, or a Guyanese immigrant
    setting up & pepertrating crime against
    another Guyanese living in Barbados- as they do
    often within their confines of their own
    country. Guyanese are slaughtering other guyanese on a major scale at home in their own country with armed gangs & home invasions.
    in this article it says guyana’s crime rate is
    3x that of the USA!

http://travel.state.gov/travel/cis_pa_tw/cis/cis_1133.html

If a Barbadian actually committed this crime ? they should be prosecuted to the fullest extent that the law allows

– but
    There is no need to jump to conclusions that a Barbadian actually did it, Right off the bat, like that !

& If they( the guyanese) are coming here raising Bim’s murder rates in a continuation of forming guayanese extortion gangs, or guyanese robbing
    other guyanans & trying to make Barbados into another ” little Guyana” – that some are fleeing from- by Bringing their divisive warring mess to Barbados now –as they do within the confines of their own country?

Some of them may need extensive background checks before being allowed into Barbados or be prevented from entering & being allowed to reside.

Barbados officials need to do criminal background checks on all
    seeking the immigrate to Barbados. ( guyanese, english drug users & africans too!)

12. Insight,
    I started the ball rolling. This is an email I sent to Norman Faria.

Mr. Faria,
    I am a Barbadian living in New York and I understand immigration xenophobia. I understand your desire to represent the interests of Guyanese nationals in Barbados but I cannot understand how you would want to come on radio and other areas of the press to defend those Guyanese who are coming into to Barbados illegally and contributing to the social decay of this beautiful island of mine. Do you pay attention to what goes on, especially on Friday evenings on Fairchild Street? I saw it for myself on a recent visit home. Persons from Guyana congregate on Fairchild Street drinking rum and other alcoholic beverages, littering, blocking pedestrian passage, etc. They obviously are unable to hold their liquor hence they resort to fighting. How come you do not go to Fairchild Street and speak to your Guyanese nationals and discourage them from exhibiting that type of anti-social behaviour? You attack the blogs. You want them censored. How dare you! Press freedom is being attacked in Guyana on a daily basis. How come you don’t speak to the administration in Guyana about the way journalists are being treated? I am not against migration. I am a beneficiary of such but I along with other Barbadians will not allow persons to come into Barbados and by their anti-social behaviour destroy the moral fabric of our country.

13. A few commenters inquired about the role of the media. In recent days we have seen some attempt to address the issue but we continue to sense that there is uncertainty about how they should go about it. In as much as we like to copy the USA we see that CNN has committed to running a series titled Black In America. While it does not parallel to what we need to discuss in Barbados the press in America is openly discussing race. The longer the media in Barbados cower in fear on the topic of managed immigration and the effect the ethnicity of the people flowing into Barbados, we will have this problem continue to boil.

Certainly the media in Barbados can see the propaganda being orchestrated against Barbados by the Guyana press? Tell us how can a Doctor without any evidence (which has been refuted by Guyana Consul in Barbados this morning) make the conclusion that the recent shooting in Barbados is a hate crime? To top it off the mainstream press in Guyana carried the story.

Give us a break!

14. I really wonder if most of you understand the mind games that are being played by faria and the guyanese?

It is straight out of the book.

The first thing is to hype this – guyanese are victims in barbados message -,then get the always ready,compliant, business bureau also known as the media to carry the message as highlighted by faria.

Then write the commissioner and push even more the talk about incitement,and bajans stirring racial hatred against the poor guyanese.

Of course in the meantime you invite the prime minister and any other hungry,gullible,get what dey ain’t expect minister – to every cock fight the guyanese having and you turn up with rotis,and wooden benches,and you clean round an ole lady house and fix up the flooring boards – and wham – just so – yuh got de politicians in yuh pocket.

All de meanwhile yuh got nough access in de media to push your message.

Any additional help yug get wid pushing your agenda like a peter wickham or dat white woman davis who made dat film thatwould tell lies or exggerate stories against the bajans and portray de guyanese as victims – well yuh done know dat is a bonus.

Of course in the meantime yuh got your people like one randy persaud and the kaiteur newspaper and starbrok news and others to stir up anxiety and the lies about bajan killing guyanese down in Barbados,because as Jagdeo done tell you he could only act if you get his people in guyana to start raising it as a big problem.

Next ting jagdeo on de phone to thompson telling him – like owen told de bajan immigration officers to ‘back off’ de guyanese – stop dis deportation ting right now – else he wrting to caricom to complain about barbados treatment of guyanese.

Wait,but there is still one problem remaining – dat pesky Barbados Underground Blog.

Well at least yuh got de other one BFP taken care of – they have shut up any comment there about guyanese and their racist behaviour – but the damn fly in de ointment is that Barbados Underground.

Well since you have already asked the police to shut them down,and you bowled some bouncers at dem on the VOB call in programme and in letters to the editor in the nation newspaper – and they still keep on going like the ever ready bunny – the only thing to do is:

1)Send some of your people on the site to stir up distractions and confusion and ask nough foolish questions,and once your people come on, then the bajan bleeding hearts or the sympathisers – well jump in too.

2)Then start spreading propoganda in the local guyanese press and through the bajan press that the guyanese under siege by the bajans – SOS Everybody – the guyanese under siege – they getting killed by bajans.

Well you done know commissioner Dottin the former humble servant of owen arthur is going to make sure that the guyanese brethen happy even if it means coming down on free speech of the bajans.

As regards the media – they will continue to toe the line – with a :”yes sir,no sir,2 bags full sir”.

But that damn Barbados Underground – hmmm – now how do I get my hands on them and force them to get with de programme.

I suppose I can start by sending them my press releases – and hopefully they will feel guilty enough to stop asking for a proper immigration policy and a stop to the influx of the other ehtnic groups.

Oh,and in case that doesn’t work I coutld try to frighten them bygetting others to come on the site and tell them ‘big brother’ is watching you so you better be careful what you post on this blog.

Got to do something fast,got to do something fast,got to,got,got to do sooomme thiiiing faaaaaassst – oh boy this thing is sending me out of my ****#@** mind – got me here repeating myself .

Damn Barbados Underground – now got de damn bajans actually reading and listening to what my people – the guyanese up to .

15. Michael Belle Avatar

I am a Guyanese, and like a lot of Guyanese, including the founder and subsequent leaders of the Afro-Guyanese PNC party, am of Barbadian descent.

I have visited Barbados several times and have found a generally friendly and polite people. I have had no problems at the ports of entry. It would be difficult for me to say that Bajans are anti-foreigner or anti-Guyanese or anti-Indian. I found a visible population of Indian merchants from India/Pakistan living there. And prospering there. But there has always been mild anti-immigrant sentiment in Barbados. Lucians and Vincentians have reported it to me.

I think the current concerns about the Indo-Guyanese presence need to be aired and considered from all angles in a dispassionate way.

The problems with Indo-Guyanese is now Caribbean wide. In the seventies Antigua expelled a group of Indo-G nurses after reports of their racist practices reached the government. Everywhere in the Caribbean there has been this problem. Nonetheless there are Indo-Guyanese who have integrated well.

I know Faria personally and would say this he is motivated by ideological considerations. Dr. Randy Persaud is a clown playing his political fiddle for the benefit of Indians back home. They are comforted by the thought that racial discrimination is a natural state of affairs and a condition shared by everyone. It makes them feel less guilty and jusitifies their own prejudices in their eyes.

They are good hard workers and care must be taken to separate the racists among them from the rest.

Having said that the most I can say to you folks over there is ” May God have mercy on your souls.” You don’t know what you have coming.

16. Michael Belle

Thank you for your objective and reasoned post.

However in the ineterest of concerned barbadians like myself,please help us understand:”what we have coming” here in barbados from the indo guyanese.

17. @Anonymous et al

We want to interject by suggesting that we should widen this discussion to ethic groups. It is not only indo-Guyanese, it is the Chinese as well. We have done research on this matter which we wouldn’t bore the BU family with at the moment. Studies have shown that there is a negative effect on a stable host population by large scale immigrant inflow.

We would love to see the discussion moving along those lines.

18. Faria is being the true consulate for guyana. It is natural for them to blame everybody for their misbehaviour. I disembarked from a bus by Fairchild St. yesterday late evening and had to litterally beg a group of guyanese to allow me to step on the pavement next to where the bus had stopped. I’m not against immigration but the amount of guyanese especially indo-guyanese inthis country are unacceptible. I will see to it that that imbalance is rectified as it can and is causing problems that we can ileffort. Mr Faria, put that in your pipe and smoke it. I would stop at NOTHING until Barbados is returned to BAJANS (NOT YOU)

19. Michael Belle
    Your last comment scares me” you don’t know what you have coming.” Even though I think I know what you are warning us about, coming from a black guyanese is a point to ponder.Within the last 24 hrs, you’re the second black guyanese who as express similar comments. In this girl’s case, she told me she’s returning to guyana because she don’t want to be here when “hell’s fire erupts”. Bajans it seems that a hurricane of a different type is decending on us and the political met men are not giving us not even a hurricane watch farless a warning. I would just warn you PROTECT YOURSELVES AND FAMILY

20. What we are up against.Ask that reporter Moseley from Guyana who was banned from the president’s palace because of his coverage at Head of Government Conference in Antigua.Bharat Jagdeo didn’t like what he said and he was banned.What we are up against.Ask Sharma the guyanese television owner who licence got suspended because of his criticism of the PPP government.Ask what we are up against Ask the hundred of black men & boys (if they could returned from the dead)who were murdered in the last 5 years by the Phantom Gang of Roger Khan supported by the PPP government.
    What we up against Ask the black guyanese who cannot find work because the indian businessmenwho are not employing black guyanese.What we are up against Ask the black guyanese civil servants who jobs are being taken from them and are being replace with indo guyanese.Norman Faria and his cronies dispute these facts.
    It is sickening that not a word is coming from the clowns we elect every 5 years to represent our interest.Our police force is being malign and not one word from the Commissioner or the Attorney General.Our freedom to express our views are be trample and press freedom is being curtail going by what I read in Norma Faria letter.Not one word from our Prime Minister or who ever is responsible for broadcasting.We are literally being told what we must say and not say in Barbados by a bunch of desperate hand to mouth political & economic refugees from Guyana.
    Negroman is so blasted angry after reading that so & so idiot Faria letter.Norma Faria watch it
    The time has long pass since we need strong and decisive leadership.We are not getting it from David Thompson or the DLP.If you cannot do the blasted job get the hell from government.We do not need any lackeys or weaklings and you David Thompson is appearing as a weak indecisive leader to lead us.
    This immigration matter must be dealt with in a very strong and decisive manner right now.I do not want to hear the next year things will be different I want action now.
    Norma Faria and indo guyanese are hell bent on getting what they want in Barbados and will resort to all schemes to achieve that objective.
    David Thompson & DLP government if you all are not going to act in the best interest of the majority of people who you all begged like dogs to support you all.Get the hell out.This is no joke time
    ACT OR ELSE

21. Guyanese are currently immigrating to NYC & murdering each other up there!

http://www.stabroeknews.com/news/friend-suspected-in-murder-of-ny-guyanese/

11 people killed in 20 minutes of gunfire in Lusignan Guyana
    http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20080127/carib/carib1.html

What makes Barbadian people think, that
    this type of hateful criminal behavior cannot be transported along with some of the immigrants & the same crimes start to happen right here on a monthly basis?

“The writing is on the wall.”

When Barbados turns into
    another little Guyana with all of it’s many Problems, the ethnic & religious infighting, the racial prejudice against blacks,
    the gang violence, mass murder, home invasions & extortion, the overall crime ?

When the Guyanese finally take over the
    Barbadian Culture & start to Dominate Political structure here with their causes?

I will uproot My Family & definately leave this island !

Our Political leaders are standing by letting this happen.
    They are not monitoring & holding the disruptive illegals accountable for their actions.

The Government needs to purge and immediately repatriate
    those who are here ILLEGALLY, along with those with criminal records and those are being disruptive to Bajan society.

“This is BARBADOS, It’s not Guyana! “

22. Michael Belle Avatar

There are Indian minorities in Grenada, St Lucia, St Vincent, Jamaica, Martinique, Guadeloupe and Suriname as well as T-T and Guyana.

Nowhere has the Indian group inter-bred itself into extinction. Though there has been mixing in some places. There is both anti black racism and natural preference and other reasons for this.

Meaning that you will have a permanent and multiplying Indian population.

1) Sociological reports indicate that once they have reached a certain critical mass they vote as a group and restrain social mixing to the group.
    2) You Bajans will, in the eyes of my descendants, become those islanders who ended up chained in the cane-fields and sweeping the streets of a once black island. The Indian will forver see you as an inferior.
    3) Seen as an inferior you will be treated as such. Second class citizens, whatever your education and whatever you socio-economic status you will be seen as the racial inferior of the Indian shop girl and doorman. You will be treated as such.
    4) Your claims of discrimination will be dismissed as the mumblings of a few malcontents who don’t know their place.
    5) Discirmination in employment will result in 100% Indian enclaves in industry, commerce and agriculture. See what has happened in Guyana.

6) Discrimination in housing will result in Indian enclaves in this or that part of the island.

7) They will become allies of the local whites in the racial hieracrchy that exists in the Caribbean.

8) Then they will start banning any sign of protest in the media they control and will start importing other Indians to run things.

9) If for any reason they get political power then cat eat your dinner. You will in turn join the lines of immigrants to other countries.

10) By that time they will be applauding the systematic murder of your grandchildren by people they arm and pay.

But what is worse than all of this is the open contempt with which you will be treated.

This is what happened in Guyana. But, warning. It has not happened in all of the Caribbean countries I mentioned.

Why?

Accordinmg to a Dutch professor, Hoetenk, the only thing that saved them is that they stayed a small minority. What happened in Trinidad is a lesson. The way they were contained in Suriname is to give them a part of the government, guaranteed seats in parliament or their minority will make the country impossible to govern.

They claim they have specific needs – religion, culture, inter-marriage>>>> which dictates their behaviour.

By the time we look at the 22nd century, if Indian immigration is unchecked they will attempt to do what Panday did in Trinidad, try to create a coalition with other Indo parties (in Panday’s case Guyana) to make sure they never leave power.

Fortunately for the Trinidadians, the minority exploded itself in a waste of greed and racism and corruption. Fortunately for Suriname, the military intervened at the right time in the eighties. Unfortunately for Guyana, the numbers were against us.

23. The issue which is emerging from the comments is suggesting that behaviours will be imported to affect the stable host population if in existence in the immigrant (source) population.

The other point suggest that indians and we have seen it in the Chinese population as well are clannish. If this behaviour is consistent and the immigrant population is unchecked is it reasonable to assume that social cohesion within the groups in the host population should be managed?

This concern is not being xenophobic but more about proactively managing groups which are predisposed to acting out unique characteristics. We have different customs, religions, foods etc.

24. Michael Belle Avatar

You got that right.

I met Bajan immigrants in the islands. From Panama to Cuba to the Dominican Republic to the small islands Bajans hit the road over the last century seeking work and a relief from hard times.

Many Bajans stayed and left their descendants. I just met a man from Panama. His family is of Bajan/Jamaican descent. Bajans have no right to hate immigarnts.

As I said earlier, I do not know Bajans as haters of foreigners. I was surprised to read that Guyanese are being put at the back of the bus. The influx of foreigners did not prevent the island from doing well economically over the last 40 yuears. In the sixties Barbados and Guyana were at the same level economically. Now Barbados is ahead.

Growing up in Guyana there was my neighbour Bajan Virgie, St Lucians, Grenadians etc living around me. I never heard, I repeat, never heard an anti foreigner comment from my fellow Guyanese. Guyanese are hospitable and therefore find shocking the rejection they experience in the Caribbean.

While we have exported lots of professionals, we exported our batches of thieves, loose women and racists also. Each of these categories is concentrated in a certain ethnic group. For a long time the thieves were mostly Afro and the murderers Indo, the lawyers Afro and the doctors evenly distributed between the two groups. But, for example, business people would be mostly Indo>>>etc.

Managed immigrations would mean determining what the island needs and from which group it can take its needs.

Bajan migrants to the islands were a lot of policemen at one stage, a lot of skilled artisans at another, a lot of unskilled apprentices earlier etc. Similarly, Guyanese immigration to Barbados has changed from the seventies.

Julian Rogers, Fernandes, Clairmonte Taitt to youngsters like Jermaine Forrester etc, only to mention the media figures everyone will know, are of Guyanese descent. None of these have ever seen the origins as a block to integration and progress.

I repeat that it appears to me that there must be a new type of immigration, either in numbers, in social and ethnic character, occupation level, criminal behaviour etc, that must be combining with other factors to create the unease in Barbados.

I am sure the figures exist and may have been published in the papers, so tell me how many Guyanese have come? 25 000? At 10 percent of your population the level of tolerance in any population is touched. But look at some other countries. Look at St. Thomas, where natives are now a minority. Look at St Martin where natives are now a minority. They seem to be living and prospering.

So for me the problem is not one of migration, the Caribbean has seen migration for work as a permanent feature -Aruba/Curacao, the Spanish nations, Trinidad oil fields etc…. The list is long.

Your problem would appear to be justified fears about the ability of some immigrants to integrate.

We note however that the earlier Indian merchants and the few Syrians we find everywhere were never seen as a threat.

25. Your problem would appear to be justified fears about the ability of some immigrants to integrate. We note however that the earlier Indian merchants and the few Syrians we find everywhere were never seen as a threat

Michael the problem is multi-faceted. Like you accurately wrote Barbadians have embraced immigration for years. For Barbadians to be accused as xenophobes really hurts, it does almost to tears. My neighbour is a Trinidadian who has made his home in Barbados for almost 30 years now.

Our Prime Minister along with many of his ministers have alluded to an underclass which Barbados is in danger of creating out of the problem-because we don’t have a managed immigration policy. The truth is we don’t think this is about the Guyanese per se but at the large numbers of that particular group which is visible to all. It has become scary for many Barbadians. Having made the observation they can’t ignore the fact that racial tension has divided Guyana for years now between the two groups indo and Black.

Wouldn’t it be great if some of our intellectuals and media houses can debate this issue. Then aagin they have to debate this issue because CSME will never fly against the current fear/concern.

26. Michael Belle

A million thanks for your exposition on the ‘true nature of the person of indian descent’.

You have clearly articulated what a few of us were struggling to highlight,but thank goodness you an afro guyanese who is currently living in guyana can point by point show us the dangers that lie ahead.

Remember BU family what he said about the coming together of the white people with the indians – just watch for the signs – it has already started in some instances here in barbados – analee davis is just one small example of this.

I am going to read your post over and over again,and I hope if any of the government ministers are reading this blog that they too read michael belle’s post over and over again – a word to the wise is enough!

Like I have said in an earlier post a monster is at our door – knocking- whether he gets in depends on who opens that door.

Thank you again michael belle for confirming to us that we were not imagining things and spouting hot air.

Take that norman fartier – take that peter wickham and annalee davis – take that VOB – take that roxanne gibbs – take that barbados workers union and leroy trotman – take that commissione Dottin – take that david estwick and chris sinckler – put that in your pipe and smoke it.

You – who told us we were xenophobic and stirring up racial hatred.

David/BU

Your post above is sounding very apologetic to me.

So that you understand the chineese influence is bad,but the indian influence is much more sinister,evil and far reaching.

We are playing with dynamite here and we need to shut this down real soon.

This is the legacy of the BLP and Billie Miller in particular.

It was she who opened the door for the patels and the adams,and who entered into the mini bus business with her special friend sabida adams – one of the adams of Adams store.

Billie Miller has pushed this multi ethnic thing from the inception and has opened many doors for these indians – doors she never even opened a crack for her loyal voters of cats alley,reed street,murphy pasture and the orleans.

Those black iggrunt fools were only useful for voting her in – so that she could realise her dream of making Barbados look like the United Nations.

The bottom line is there must be immediate deportations of ALL illegal persons – chineese,portugeese,itilianeese,guyanese – whoever.

We have to watch the growing number of jamaicans coming in to barbados and the types of jamaicans that are coming.Low lifers and criminals.

It is as though the word has gone out around the world – come ye,come all,everyone to Barbados – the land where you would be given more rights than the locals,where you will easily get a job as the black bajans are displaced,and even if you are illegal the government will give you free education and health care.

Come everyone,the doors are wide open.

Anonymous we have been accused of some things in our short existence that one more accusation is water of a duck’s back. We prefer to keep our eyes on the total picture.

27. David

You see how annalee davis is destroying barbados good name overseas.

This writer michael belle from guyana has just stated that he didnot know that guyanese were being put off the bus or put at the back of the bus.

He obviously believed what was put in a barbadian film by a barbadian woman – annalee davis – claiming to know of factual events happening across barbados.

No one has publicly challenged her yet and her film according to what is being said in the guyana press is being shown in the USA and perhaps elsewhere in the world,and is being requested in Guyana for the guyanese president jagdeo to use.

This is dangerous,dangerous,dangerous and I believe either the minister of Home Affairs Mr Stuart or the primr minister needs to intervene and do something about these dangerous lies that Analee Davis is spreading all over the world.

Obviously she wants to make a name for herself internationally and be the newest ‘michael moore’ – but certainly not on the back of barbados well earned respect and distinction.

Scout your prediction appears to be coming to pass.

28. Come on David you know how much I of all persons appreciate you and the work you do.

My comment was an observation and not an accusation – a big,big,difference.

I was just wondering if faria – or like rawle eastmond stated last year – ‘forces in high places’ -were getting to you.

29. The following is taken from Annalee Davis blog after a screening of her 30 minute piece in Jamaica. We find the comment relevant:

In the discussion to follow the screening, one viewer felt that Barbadians saw themselves as a population under a lot of pressure and that the migration into Barbados has added to concerns about coastal lands being taken from locals by foreigners. Another commented on the need for an educated approach to this dilemma and it might be just a matter of statistics to show people that they are not in fact being overrun by foreigners. Someone from Taiwan spoke about the similarity in Taiwan with their immigrant labour.

By the way Annalee we noticed that you don’t have Barbados Underground listed on your side bar, must be an oversight!

30. David

Could you tell me what you think annalee davis agenda is?

Why is she taking this ‘film’ to the USA,Jamaica, and wherever else.

The work according to all who have seen it,is of a very POOR QUALITY.

So again I ask what is annalee Davis – real agenda.

Does her film show any one with an opposite view,or does she show any official on the record in the film commenting on her claims.

I hope the prime minister is paying close attention and takes some action before this get out of hand.

31. it’s not an isolated case, but a trend with
    the latest intra-Caribbean scam where the
    thugs from another island or country
    illegally immigrants to the much smaller islands- to try to run things, overpopulate & intimidate the locals! a recent article coming out of Miami stated – the anti caribbean immigrant sentiment’s definitely against the use of caripass use from those coming from particularly, Jamaica & Guyana to infiltrate other smaller more stable islands of the Caribbean.

are the concerns totally unfounded?

in St. Maarten…

St. Maarten is currently having a problem
    with Jamaican immigrants
    forming gangs & committing crimes
    on their island.

St Maarten cries for visa restrictions on Jamaicans

Reports coming out of St Maarten, that has a population of just over 80,000, said that at least 11 Jamaicans have been arrested over the last few weeks, six in the last two weeks, in connection with armed robberies or who are members of gangs operating in the 36-square mile island.

“An estimated 20,000 PEOPLE are said to be LIVING ILLEGALLY on the island.”

Will Barbados continue to procrastinate on it’s
    lax immigration policy towards the guyanese and other illegals who are currently residing here until it gets this bad?????

32. Michael Belle Avatar

To tell the truth, I cannot belive that Guyanese or anyone else is being put at the back of the bus. I think this must be an exaggeration or a lie. For the Jamaican influx and another case of managing immigration, please look to the Cayman Islands, once poor now rich and a magnet for Jamaicans. They have had to deal with this.

Look also at Bermuda but especially at Puerto Rican attitudes towards people from the DR. There is an immigration problem all over the Caribbean. The Dutch dealt with it in Aruba and Curaco by giving temporary work permits that could hardly be transformed into permanent. As a result those islands which had massive immigration in the thirties to fifties and sixties, have basically no big foreign population. The question is, does Barbados need population transfer or only labour transfer?

To manage Guyanese immigration, visas were demanded for Guyanese in Anguilla and the BVI. A BVI politician told me the Indians started their racism and they then started to refuse them settlement or work permits. So, as I said, a study of ways the Indian factor and the immigrant factor has played would be a good introduction to the Bajan case.

Cayman Islands like Aruba choose to exclude black workers and recruited in Latin America etc. This is a case of islands choosing the race of people they saw as compatible. Will Barbados do the same. ? Do you want an all black island? Will this be morally acceptable? As David says, the statisticians and social analysts have to discuss this openly with the politicians.

If they don’t then it is only natural for the people to express their fears in whatever way and at whatever level they can. And it would be only natural for those fears to be amplified by rumour and lack of information.

What is the population capacity of the island? What are current and future labour needs? etc. A study needs to be done. Perhaps it has been done and the BLP is hiding it somewhere. Anyway I have always been sympathetic to the BLP so don’t get me wrong.

Prosperity brings immigration problems as it brings envy or obesity or inflation and loss of coastal lands etc. The question is what is your government doing. ? Barbados is efficiently run at many levels and the GEMS of Barbados project, a development bank etc were far reaching moves that gave economic breaks to locals. I am sure the same kind of social planning can solve the labour problem.

I put myself in the place of an Afro Guyanese immigrant. Everywhere we are a burden on the relatively small population of the islands. Okay, let’s realise that many of these people need compassion. Let us realise also that they will come with their faults. There must be some faults that you are unable to tolerate. Neither should the immigrant become a second class citizen nor should the natives become second class citizens. Do Barbadians want to play host to a population that detests blacks? Onthe other hand, let us not generalise, a lot of Indian girls, including some I know, married Bajan guys.

Bajans guys are supposed to be decent, generous, adore straight hair, curry-lovers by nature, good fathers, easy to manipulate etc. This is what the girls saw. Were they right?

33. Rand and Faria are two fascist indians from Guyana. When the PPP win power in 92,you would have thought we were gonna be in heaven. 16 years after and Guyana is the hell hole of the Caribbean. Why don’t they just fix Guyana so people don’t have to migrate their. They are practically running a dictatorship in Guyana.

But I don’t feel sorry for you Bajans, you should have supported Hoyte and the oppositions in Guyana to foster a more democratic culture there. In the early 90s when I was there you treated black Guyanese like dogs,now this.

You will loose your country.

34. Take a little time and continue to inform ourselves:

http://www.caribvoice.org/CaribbeanDocuments/Indians.html

35. I am extremely pleased that persons like Michael Belle,Guyana Man,Henry,Insight and others are finally telling it like it is.

I think out of all of them so far michael belle seems the most credible.

You want to know why I am glad – because finally we are getting the word from the horses mouth so to speak.

Norman Faria’s propoganda is now being countered – and I wonder what chris sinckler, or david estwick and kellman and even the media are now saying.

Michael belle’s post so far is the most balanced, non partisan,credible explanations I have read so far.

And you know what – he is not trying to pretend he is something he is not – he is up front about him being an afro guyanese who has spent time in barbados.

He has brought facts and information that frankly at times is new to me like – the deportation of indo guyanse nurses from antigua because of their racist attitudes,and the racist behaviour of indo guyanese in the British Virgin Island (BVI) which resulted in the door there being shut against them as well as the happenings in St marteen where not only jamaicans but guyanese are being deprted because of criminal behaviour.

Rest assured michael belle – bajans have always opened their arms to persons from other islands – st lucians,dominicans,vincentians, guyanese and jamaicans.

The persons who came back in the 70s and 80s were skilled decent caribbean people – not this lot that’s coming to our shores from guyana and jamaica.

And yes,bajan men seemed enamoured with the straight hair indian women at first because these indian women were so loose that they were willing to do anything to stay.

Many tricked bajan men who only have themselves to blame.

This however is changing as more and more a guyanese partner especially an indo guyanese partner is seen as to something to be looked down upon – something of low value.

36. BU you need to investigate the scam where ignorant Barbadian men are renting Guyanese women for the weekend, just like a car. Is true!

We always had prostitutes bout here but I tellya.

37. I think one should be VERY careful when dealing with the issue of race,having said that I think the priority should be to deal with the illegal immigration problem in Barbados first & then have these debates at a later date,otherwsie the main message is lost.I believe the country should handle matters that are of National priority & importance to the Citizens of Barbados & this illegal immigration problem certainly is.

I understand that the majority of illegal immigrants are of a particular nationality/ethnic group BUT that is absolutely NO reason to run afoul of Barbados law.I think that any self respectable Bajan know that we have always welcomed foreigners to our island for quite a long time but our welcoming mat is only a temporary one NOT a permanent one.

This idea of s00000 many temporary foreigners entering Barbados & deciding to live in the country on a permanent basis just because they THINK they can is a DIRECT challenge to Barbados’ sovereignty & its immigration laws,NOT to mention being AIDED by THEIR OWN GOVERNMENT & HAVING A BAJAN-BORN native ASSIST THEM as a ‘Honorary consul’ member in an official capacity,as I’ve asked before does anyone not see the absolute hypocrisy in this matter ?

Upholding & enforcing Barbados’ immigration laws should be an absolute NO-BRAINER.Any person in the Barbados Parliament who calls themselves “Law-makers” do not deserve that title if they are not willing to uphold the office that they have & their SWORN OATH to the Citizens of Barbados to uphold that office.

Action from the DLP led government is certainly due,but I also believe it should be done with due diligence so that we learn from the mis managed immigration policy that is currently in place.If any sort of Amnesty should be given then it should be CLEARLY temporary with absolutely NO path to Barbados permanent residency or Citizenship & those illegally would also forfeit any future CSME benefits to the country for life should it ever be implemented.I’m for a consensus that places Barbados & its Citizens first while mitigating any unnecessary fallout that the country could suffer due to the Tourism dependent economy.

Time is certainly running out & I think everyone here & in the DLP government knows that.External forces not only from within Caricom but also beyond could make it a LOT more difficult.

http://www.brazzilmag.com/content/view/9637/1/

” Brazil’s Lula Wishes to Integrate Latin America and the Caribbean
    Written by Newsroom
    Saturday, 26 July 2008

Brazilian president Lula The President of Brazil, Luiz Inรกcio Lula da Silva, extended an invitation to Latinamerican and Caribbean leaders to discuss regional integration and development in a meeting scheduled for December 16 and 17 in the northeastern Brazilian city of Salvador, in the state of Bahia.

The announcement was made during a banquet to honor Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister, Patrick Manning.

“We believe integration must extend to include Central America, Mexico and the Caribbean,” said Lula. “South America’s integration is a strong tool for Latinamerican and Caribbean integration, to help us overcome the burdensome legacy of inequalities.”

The Brazilian president has made regional integration one of the pillars of his administration’s foreign policy, “I’d do everything possible,” to achieve the union of South American countries has become a constant phrase in his speeches.

The coming meeting in Salvador “is an excellent opportunity for Latinamerica and the Caribbean to discuss how to best coordinate the different integration efforts to which we all belong.”

Addressing PM Manning Lula da Silva said that this process needs an association agreement between Mercosur (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay) and the Caribbean Community, CARICOM, which includes the English speaking countries of that region.

He advanced that during the second half of 2008, when Brazil holds the pro tempore Mercosur chair he will propose a technical meeting between the two blocks to get discussions going. ”

The question of what to do with not only the illegal immigration problem in Barbados,but also CSME must be dealt with post haste.I got to admit the P.M. is going to have a huge responsibility in the coming ~6-8 months

38. Michael Belle Avatar

Barbados is, like Montserrat, one of the cases that demographers study. Barbados population has hovered at around 200 000 to 250 000 for decades due to immigration by Bajans.

Immigration into Barbados , as Anon has pointed out, is not what it was two decades ago.

But I am wondering who is complaining. Normally, the rich don’t complain. The immigrants provide them nannies and gardeners and construction workers and pliable labour. They are in no way a threat. The immigrant influx also means there are more people for their supermarkets, travel agencies, furniture stores etc. They prosper as the island prospers and have no reason to complain.

In general the middle classes are more vulnerable. If the immigrant is a professional and potential rival they start to fight to keep him out. However, if it is immigrant semi skilled or skilled labour the middle class can afford to improve their standard of living by employing the labour.

The people who complain are generally the working class fearful that the bread they share as it falls from the master’s table may well be gobbled up by the hungry immigrants huddled on the floor. We therefore have to understand that in many cases neither the crime nor the economic consequences of labour affect the political or economic elite.

So in no Caribbean island except where the case is not simply economic, but cultural, has the elite responded other than sporadically to immigration problems.

They might clean up the place a little before elections. Otherwise immigrants come and go as long as the economy can tolerate them.

Is this the case in Barbados? Who is complaining, the poor losing jobs?

Also, if immigrants pay taxes and buy food and otherwise create and spend wealth then their contribution to the coffers of the social welfare, education and health system etc, balances off their cost.

Is this the case with you guys.

But this is only the economic factors. The cultural/racial factors have shown that no amount of PR solve these problems. Idi Amin threw the Indians and Persians out of Uganda, the Cayman and Aruban pre-selection solves another cultural/racial problem. In Barbados you may have an economic fear coming from a certain class of citizens. Is the cultural fear represented by the Indian influx linked to the economic threat or not?

39. Fellow bloggers
    I’m glad that afro-guyanese are speaking out. You are probably saying that you are hearing little from me. I had promise at one stage to stop posting because I don’t think the message was really getting through coming from a bajan. You are now hearing it from native afro-guyanese. i still hold the view that I’ll make sure my family and I are equipped to RUN from this place when the hurricane strikes. God help this country if our leaders play cold turkey and hide their heads. Thanks afro-guyanese, I’ve been saying a lot of what you’re saying now but many people didn’t believe me. I’ll sit back and hope that you bring the message and that my people would wake up before it’s too late. Time is running out

40. We’re in the midst of a political/ethnic invasion and we’re partying. Remember Mac Fingal’s tune “2009.” No radio station dare play that tune now.

41. We’re in the midst of a political/ethnic invasion and we’re partying. Remember Mac Fingal’s tune “2009.” No radio station dare play that tune now. Mac you are a prophet; I salute you.

42. Michael belle

You have joined the debate late but there are numerous posts on the guyanese issue here at Brbados Underground – where you will read of horrific experiences bajan suffered at the hands of guyanese.

My reason for responding to you is because I can relate to a lot of what you are saying and I am sensing a genuine need to understand what is happening here.

Initially in the late 80s and early 90s afro guyanese were welcomed because of their bajan ancestry.

However the decent middle class and working class guyanese started to be replaced by rif raff guyanese.
    At the same time under the previous BLP administration a large number of racist,unskilled,dishonest indo guyanese started rushing in along with the imported agricultural workers and a few construction workers.

As you well know historically artisans in guyana were mainly of african descent.However a lot of indo guyanese as usual always looking to scheme – came to barbados claiming to be carpenter and masons when they hardly knew how to hold a hammer.

They took unsuspecting bajan homeowners money and mucked up the jobs and then left the bajans holding the bag and having to look for more money to pay the bajan artisans to correct the work – this made bajan artisans really angry with the bajan homeowners for not giving them the work in the first place, and the guyanese scam artists for the problems they were causing.

Then the indian guyanese men started colluding with corrupt immigration officers and others to bring under age and adult indian women to prostitute themselves here – to the point where even the barbadian prostitutes themselves complained to the local newspaper about the guyanese women undercutting them in their fees, and doing the most unimaginable and unacceptable (even by their standards) acts.

Barbados which had a squeaky clean reputation internationally was then cited by the USA as a country that engaged in human trafficking – all because of the guyanese.

Further, poor working class bajans who were accustomed to renting a small house for their family found themselves competing with guyanese who would offer say $700.00 for the house instead of the asking price of $500.00 per month, but without the landlord knowing – the guyanese would then rent out the 3 bedrooms at 200.00 each with 2 persons in each room.

Also,indo guyanese women came and tricked foolish black bajan men( who they would never look at in guyana) – but convinced the bajan men that they were in love with them , and got them to marry them – then as soon as they got their papers – they divorced the bajan,brought in their guyanese indian man and their children and run out the bajan man out of his house.

Many times the bajan men had previously run out his bajan wife and children for these indo guyanese women.

These said indian women and some afro guyanese ones too, would target the old lonely pensioners,and wriggle their way into their affections and their homes – and before you knew it, they got the old people to turn over their property to them.

Many guyanese women boast above giving their bajan lovers Aids so they could take it back to their bajan wives.

The guyanese maids (note I am not saying all of them) as soon as they stepped into your house would either start begging the homeowner for things or steal your stuff.

Most of the times they did not know how to even clean a house properly.

If you have a husband in the house -well they would start making moves on the husband.

Like with everything – there are exceptions to these examples,but michael belle I have tried in the briefest way possible to paint a picture of just a few of the horror stories experienced by bajans at the hands of some scheming guyanese that have turned the bajans off.

Other bloggers may wish to add to the list.

Of course there are going to be stories of bajans scheming guyanese too,but what has raised bajans’ anger is the large numbers that are here – the pressure they are putting on the schools and health services – which although they are here illegally and have not paid taxes – they want free access to the bajan tax payers dollars funded schemes.

Pressure on water supply,pressure on the garbage disposal,pressure on the housing stock,pressure as they compete for jobs and drive down the wages – bargaining for less – pressure on transport – and add to that the indo – afro racial history of conflict – and their dishonest manipulative behaviour – and you know we sitting on a keg that is about to be blown up.

43. Every right-thinking Bajan knows that there are too many Guyanese (Afro and Indo) on this small island. Both races have bad apples among them. Let us deport them post haste. The ones who are in farming are doing a fantastic job . They can remain here with contract-worker status but the unskilled ones serving gas at petrol stations or selling rotis should be sent packing on the next available plane.

I don’t know how many of the BU family visit the Cheapside Market on weekend .For the information of those who don’t,the presence of the Indo Guyanese has driven down the prices of vegetables to suit the pockets of Bajans who suffer from chronic maladies like hypertension and diabetes. The Bajan hawkers are price gougers. Can you imagine soursops being sold at 4 dollars per pound?….. Rotten Bajan sweet potatoes 4.50 per pound…….plantains 2.50 per pound……’string’ beans 6 dollars per pound and cristophenes 5 dollars per pound? What is special about beans and cristophenes that they are fetching such ridiculous prices? If you visit the Indo-Guyanese stall, you can get green, red and yellow vegetables at far reduced prices. I hope that Ms McClean would allow these bona fide immigrants to remain on the island on a contractual basis.

44. Anon et al,

Something you should never forget. Indo Guyanese would not permit an invasion of their communities by people of other ethnic groups. In the years when the West Indian Federation was being planned the Indo-Guyanese leader Dr Cheddi Jagan was desperately and vehemently against the idea.

Why.

Because free movement of Afro West Indians would dilute his racial majority in the country and weaken its block vote power. This is not opinion. This is history. He later tried to explain it away but Forbes Burnham never forgave him and his followers the hatred they had of the idea.

Then, later, when Burnham looked at the situation in Haiti (and probably the situation at home) and raised the idea of bringing in Caribbean people to settle in the country on agricultural land, the Jagan party was violently opposed.

When Guyana was short-listed as a site to resettle some Cambodian political refugee communities, the Jagan party was against. They said the Hmong people were fighting the party’s fellow communist in Indochina.

When Afro Guyanese converts to Islam started going to the Mosques in Guyana the reception was so bad that a separate mosque had to be built for the blacks.

All this is fact. The Indo Guyanese have a hard time accepting others among them . The reasons are political and cultural. It is easy to understand that the great grand children of Indian immigrants want to keep their culture. Unfortunately the culture has developed an anti-African element.

Something else need to be said. We can generalise about a group’s behaviour but we have to be careful to not let discrimination against that group take root and possibly harm decent and good people in that group.

This is the dilemma we have. We cannot hate Indians as a group. There are good people among them. Unfortunately, the culture is one of exclusion because they are still a self-conscious immigrant group. Blacks who immigrate to London or New York also tend to like to live among themselves. But they will not see those who live in other communities as inferiors.

As to the scam artists among Guyanese, with immigration you get the good with the bad. Pity the poor Bajans. But I am sure that, with the number of foreigners in the country Bajans also know good Guyanese living there.

The social infrastructure (water lights etc) need to be upgraded if it cannot support a ten percent increase in population. Immigration has to be planned for. In Many countries internal immigrant from one region ot another, often for economic reasons, raises the same problems. They are not unbeatable problems. What is harder to deal with is the social. Perhaps Indians will lose the characteristics that make integration difficult. But that is almost impossible. They are religious people and their religions set up barriers both WITHIN AND OUTSIDE of their communities. Both internal barriers and the external boundaries exist. Meaning not everybody can get in for marriage and socialising. Their Hindu religion has many wonderful principles and their culture is generally a good and positive thing. But in the deformed version that has survived it is a danger to them and to all that they touch.

45. Part of the problem has been contributed to by our own politicians supported by the civil servants. For example no statistics have ever been made public as to the break-out of the immigrants in Barbados. Mia Mottley when she was Attorney General had promised but now she is the leader of the opposition and we are none the wiser. The Chief Immigration Officer seems to be a real puppet because we have not heard him on the issue at all.

All Barbadians have to go by are our perceptions and observations which support the view that our country is being overrun with illegal immigrants. When we put this on top of our land becoming unfordable, cost of living going up and the many other societal pressures, Barbadians are starting to speak-out. Unfortunately the media in Barbados remain muzzle on theis issue.

46. Chuckles above is a good example of what is wrong with the immigration debate. He or she wants the cheap vegetables. He or she doesn’t care about Bajans who may want a gas station attendant, carpenter or Guyanese doctor.

Everyone wants only his kind of immigrant. As I said, there is usually no consensus because differences of class and lifestyle mean that in the receiving country there is no agreement on the role immigrants pay.

A little prosperity brings pride and suddenly Barbadians, among the world’s champion emigrants, don’t want any immigrants in their house. Not only is this absurd, but it fails to recognise that immigration is inescapable in the modern world. Labour needs in every country decides that. If you have a population with few people of working age then you need labourers. Or too many old people you need to import doctors. Or computer people for your development. A huge country like the USA with 4 per cent unemployment still lets in and recruits immigrants.

Immigration is not the problem, its the anxieties of poor folk, bad and badly managed immigration and a lack of public preparedness to deal with the presence and consequences.

You let 10 000 English people here and every one of them will be looking for a Bajan gardener or a Bajan housemaid and to be called My Lord. It does not matter that he is unqualified. He understands his social status. Bajans also understand and accept his social status.

As everywhere else you know that immigrants coming there with money to invest are welcome. The poor are not. The stupid and racist poor are even less so.

St Martin is a good example. After the hurricane of 1995 when the Haitians left because there was no work and no tourism, the natives started to bawl. Why,? They had been making money renting to foreigners, selling to foreigners, paying low wages to foreigners. They had foreigners to clean the island. When they left the native saw what he had become dependent on and how it helped the economy.

When the foreigners left the economic depression that gripped the island showed them that the problem was not immigration. It was a complex of factors that had to do with the economic pull exerted by the island and the contribution of immigrants to the economy and the fact that they occupied spaces in the labour market that the natives were unwilling or unqualified to fill.

Chuckles,

Bajans don’t grow greens? They don’t prefer Bajan grown greens. How c0me Bajans are preferring to give all those jobs to foreigners.? No Bajan applicants? What is the unemployment rate and what is the proportion of foreigners in the labour force? Get me some facts and stop with the greens story. Start to grow your own greens.

47. David,

Rising costs for homes when the housing market is limited is a major problem. It is one of the major effects of sudden population increase due to immigration. Usually after the construction industry picks up more houses are built because land owners see money in renting and building.

I was just in a country where the natives of a certain city can no lonegr afford even to rent a home. The problem is that foreigners are buying up the real estate. Its not poor foreigners. The rise in housing costs for renters is a problem that comes with some types of economic growth. The government was short sighted and should have built more social housing for natives. If I remember Barbados has social housing schemes. The government of some European countries have also done so to park the immigrants .

If Barbadians are getting richer land and house prices will go up. For whom is it going up, renters or homeowners? Do immigrants have money to buy? I know Guyanese who own homes. As for the rental market, a policy of rent control can work. If land is scarce then what percentage of Bajans are homeowners already and are they the ones buying the land or is it the immigrants? There is no country that gets richer and the cost of living does not go up. Check house rent prices of the developed world which we all aspire to have our couuntries enter,

What percentage of his wages Bajan’s have to pay in rent? My sister is a prof in NY. She pays almost 40 percent of salary as rent.

48. Michael Belle

The youngsters would tell you ‘get fuh real”. You most probably would buy vegetables at any price as long as the Guyanese are deported. You most probably are self employed , where you can spend two hours in the garden on morning and two hours in the evening. It would appear as though you can afford to pay a water bill in excess of 60 dollars per month. Theory theory theory. I suggest that you join me in the market next Saturday morning and ask the Bajan patrons if they can afford to do back-yard gardening.

49. INDIAN GUYANESE Avatar
    INDIAN GUYANESE

The comments I read here are Hilarious!
    I live in Linden, where historically Indians had been slaughtered, raped and burnt in the 60′ after Burnham let loose his “dogs of war” on them. Likewise, it is the popular slogan of the late President Hoyte’ “Slow fia” by encouraging blacks to burn down Indians homes and businesses.
    Really I was intruged by Dr. Randy Persaud’s lettter today to visit this blog.
    Babrados is no doubt not the place for Guyanese.
    There are many bad eggs in every society and you would find Guyanese, both Indo and Afro,who would want to go abroad in serach of their fotune = whether it is Trinidad, Little puny Barbados or the wider world in Canda ,the USA or the UK.
    What is preposterous though, is that ignorant Bajans treat Guyanese, both Afro and Indo as dirt and they are whining now, because their crimes have been exposed.
    In the Burnham and hoyte years of PNC Black dictatorships , where were the voices in the carribbean which rose up against the wicked and evil government of the then PNC ??
    Guyana is the only country in this part of the world where Indians are in the majority,thoug it might not be a huge margin.
    That is our fortune.
    Because in a democracy,we can rule our country and we should = otherwise we will see the same revengful, hateful behavious like the ones on your blog in Barbados. (sic)
    It is time you grow up Bajans.
    Guyana will once again become the “Bread Basket” of the Carribeen and you know who gorw the food in Guyana = Indians.
    You know who cotrol the economy in Guyana = Indians.
    You kno who make up the majority of the workforce of the sugar and rice production of Guyana = Indians.
    The Afro Guyanese are mainly in the blue- collared jobs they inherited from the PNC era, especially in the Army, Police, Nursing, Teaching and civil service.
    There was no “Press Freedom” in the PNC era of Dictatorship in Guyana which lasted for 28 years. Yet no one shouted foul from puny Barbados or any other Carribean country.
    Ask Rickey Singh (an Indian). he will tell you why he had to leave Guyana during the PNC rule.
    Maybe the immigration should set up a bench at the “Cheddi jagan International Airport” and when Bajan enter thiscountry sit them down on it and name it the Bajan bench , the same way you treat Guyanese (both black and Indian) in Barbados.
    Guyana has changed a lot.
    Indian and Afro Guyanese have integrated. There are intermarriages but few.
    It is an Indian tradition to marry in their race and religion.
    If Bajans do not have tradition and religion, then let it be.
    God Bless Guyana = the land of many waters and tghe land of SIX people (races)

50. Deport Guyanese now or have a managed immigration policy or you will loose your country.