Annalee Davis

Members of the BU household attended the viewing of a 30 minute documentary titled On The Map produced by Annalee Davis at Solidarity House tonight (15 July 2008). The night’s proceedings was moderated by the ubiquitous Peter Wickham. The viewing although not a full house attracted a cross section of Barbados. Before we comment on the actual 30 minute ‘piece’ we should clarify a few matters which have been given rise by tonights proceedings. Norman Faria, Barbados Guyana Consul during the feedback segment of the night’s event launched a broadside at the blogs, we believe he meant BU given our persistent blogging on the Barbados immigration issue. He called on the authorities to censor us. He referred to the vile, racist and xenophobic positions taken on the blogs regarding the issue of migrant labour with a focus on the Indo-Guyanese.

Norman Faria we hope that you are reading very carefully what we are about to write:

All of our blogs to date on the immigration issue are built on two positions 1) the lack of a managed immigration policy in Barbados and 2) the socio-impact of large inflows of Indians on a predominantly Black host population. We have reread many of our blogs on the subject of immigration and we have struggled to discern any xenophobic meanings on our part. We must admit that some of our commenters have sometimes crossed the line by engaging in racial rhetoric. However Faria, Ricky Singh and others should not mistake the comments of a few commenters to represent the views of the BU household. We believe in free speech and while we don’t condone all the comments on BU we will always seek to protect freedom of expression. We believe that Barbadians are educated enough to filter racist and xenophobic nonsense from the real fears and concerns of Barbadians. The fear was very eloquently expressed by Caribbean Broadcaster Corporation broadcaster Jewel Forde and Sydney Simmons, now retired. The issue of migrant labour is a topic which is currently occupying the many countries in the world, the developed countries being no exception.

To respond to Keith Nurse who we understand is a lecturer at the UWI and who sought to scare Barbadians by referring to the Dominican /Haiti experience by mentioning the word genocide, it will not work!

To comment on the first effort by Annalee Davis to produce, we have to compliment her on the attempt to highlight a concept which is of value to our small region, i.e. migrant labour. The Caribbean was built on the backs of migrant labour and we have no doubt that this will continue. The BU household fully supports the free movement of people within a managed immigration policy. Contained within that policy must be how ethnic populations will be absorbed by our host population. It seems like we have made this point ad nauseam since our launch but some people prefer to ignore it. The construct of the presentation was woefully inadequate to deal with such a complex topic and Davis located the story mostly in the Guyanese experience and more specifically Indo-Guyanese which led to a perceived bias by the BU household. For the benefit of Davis we should provide one glaring example. The documentary featured resident Indian lawyer Bacchus, who may have some Guyanese origin speaking to the incident dubbed ‘terrible Tuesday’. The BU family may recall that the Barbados authorities sent back 20+ Guyanese who intended to visit Barbados a couple years ago. In the film we listened to Bacchus castigating the Immigration Department and by extension the Barbados government for allowing such to occur. To our surprise the documentary failed to extract an official response from the Barbados Immigration Department to bring some balance to the issue. Instead Ms. Davis film which is a collection of disadvantaged Guyanese grieving served to build the plot for her 30 minute effort.

The feedback session which followed the viewing spanned the gamut of rubbish to insightful but that is to be expected, it is a free country. We should make mention of Ricky Singh’s contribution when he passionately asked government to reverse its current policy on immigration. Ricky seems to know more than the average Barbadian because the promised White Paper on a new immigration policy is yet to be made available for public consumption. BU took umbrage to the tone of his presentation which expressed discuss at how Barbadians and the region have been slow to adopt CSME. He also had some lashes for the media of which he is a part. Whether he likes it or not, the concerns of Barbadians are being echoed all around the Caribbean. Again the concerns of Barbadians were represented two weeks ago by the action of our Caribbean Heads to delay the roll-out of CSME until 2012 because of the very same issue for which we have concerns, movement of people.

Lastly we wish to remind Peter Wickham of the days leading up to the last general election when the Nation newspaper frustrated his effort to publish articles, the blogs assisted him in the cause. Now we have seen him betray us by agreeing with Norman Faria that the blogs need to be censored. Although he did not actually say it he did not offer a denial when Faria made the comment by co-opting his support. We take that Mr. Wickham as acquiescence. Like your former colleague Dr. Don Blackman who lauded the discussions on the blogs prior to election as healthy but recanted soon after, both of you may realize the error of your ways. To reinforce the point we had an email sent to Peter Wickham recently requesting some information to which he has refused to respond, as we said this is a departure from the recent past.

The same behaviour has occurred from someone we thought was a friend of BU, Mr. Stephen Worme of the Barbados Light and Power Company. BU will remain in the wings and quietly observe because as the Bajan saying goes, God does not like ugly.

418 responses to “Norman Faria Calls For Blogs To Be Censored While Attending Annalee Davis Rookie Attempt to Capture A Serious Topic on Film in Just 30 Minutes”

1. Anon you want to know what really hurt me!

I was one that canvas up and down Barbados so these people could get in!

I was the one who said there is no law or order in Barbados.

I wasn’t ones like Faria who wanted a job, benches, or nothing of the like.

I wnted proper representation and proper management within Barbados!

That was all!

2. I can’t believe how unbelievably ridiculous this immigration situation has become after reading the latest articles from Nation news,from since when can a FOREIGN consulate facilitate immigration procedures for Barbados ?,& it almost sounds like a form of amnesty,unless I’m reading this wrong.

http://www.nationnews.com/story/292996136799718.php

“Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados Norman Faria revealed to the SUNDAY SUN yesterday that the consulate has forwarded a proposal to the Ministry of Labour in Guyana’s capital, Georgetown, to look at what steps could be taken to start the process from there.

Last week, Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Haynesley Benn suggested a proper registration system should be put in place so migrants from Guyana would no longer have to avoide officials from the Immigration Department.

He suggested that migrants register with the consulate, which could then expedite work permits and extensions of stay with Barbados’ Immigration Department.

Faria said such a system, once properly structured, would be “mutually beneficial” to the host country and the migrant workers. ”

&

“Faria said the consulate would continue to organise town hall type meetings where resource persons from the Labour Department and National Insurance Scheme could brief Guyanese on the latest procedures.”

Foreign nationals who ARE NOT Citizens or Legal residents of Barbados should NOT be entitled to such benefits.Just a few facts concerning Immigration laws in Barbados.

-Any Barbados Citizen can object to the Immigration department concerning a foreign national being given a work permit for a job that they may qualify for.

-NIS[National Insurance] is meant only for those who are legally in the country

-Citizens & Permanent residents children should be the only people who are in the schools,These are the laws of Barbados.

3. @Jay

We have taken note and we can only surmise that there maybe a handshake agreement between the two governments (Guyana and Barbados) which is a legacy of the Arthur government. Perhaps it has to do with two issues 1)driving wages down in our construction sector and 2) the issue of oil prospecting in waters which but and bound Guyana.

This is an opinion which has emerged to explain the unexplainable. We will continue to monitor the posturing on both sides until Minister McClean comes clean on this issue. Part of the delay from the minister responsible for immigration was the lack of authority she had in law to make policy positions on immigration. The recent amendment to the immigration law has corrected the problem.

4. I said on July 19, 2008:

“PS: There will be “charm offensives” soon – after the racist chants – by certain groups the psychology and mind games will begin, just smile and be concious of them, but let the “FACTS” and honesty speak for themselves.”

I lay no claim to being a visionary, but benches!! I never thought we could be bought so cheaply. I almost feel insulted, but at least the message is clear…Bajans…sit down and shut up!

5. Iam telling you Jay each of those ministers of the DLP government say something different on the immigration issue.

At the risk of repeating myself here,I will again advise mr thompson that it is more than enough time for him to spell out what his current and future policy on immigration is.

He needs to suspend all granting of citizenship and permanent residences indefinetly until he can determine what the optimum population for barbados should be ;taking into account projections for our finite land space,finite water supply,finite garbage capacity,limited financial resources for education,health care roads etc.

He needs to determine what projection with regard to returning nationals and their off springs he is going to make allowance for.

He needs to put a cap on the number of caricom nationals coming from each country to work in barbados and have it based on a skill based requirement.X number from guyana in these sectors,X number from st kitts etc.

Overhaul the work permit system,and in this regard maxine mcclean statement last week is a step in the right direction.

Today jagdeo is saying he is training his guyanese people to take up jobs in these caribbean countries – I think he really means barbados – and when they arrive he wants them to be treated right.

Of course he didnot speak about the drain on the receiving country’s foreign exchange which would happen as they guyanese send back most of their money to guyana.

Well excuse me mr jagdeo – you really believe all caribbean leaders are as foolish as barbados to allow themselves to be dictated by a semi-literate consul general or a racist indian president of a failed state?

Jagdeo you don’t think that these caribbean leaders are engaged in forward planning and are already taking into consideration the fact that every year thousands of their citizens will be leaving secondary and tertiary institutions and will be looking for work?

You think these proud,patriotic jamaicans and vincentians and antiguans – really want to send their children to school to be taught by these sub standard,can’t speak properly guyanese teachers;or
    You think they want their hospitals to be over run with all these guyanese nurses or corrupt,killing machine guyanese policemen?

Further more since we and all those who are on top of things know that you reserved the best – whether it is scholarships,government contracts,positions in the civil service etc – for your indian guyanese people – who should we expect will be going on the training scholarship that you spoke of eh?

Of course – your people the indo guyanese – who will then be flooding in barbados teaching service,barbados police service,barbados nursing service ,as doctors and whatever else – thus in effect getting around the possible closing off of illegal indo guyanese by barbados with the proposed new immigration policy.

Now they will be targeting legal positions – and I guess some of our ministers could expect to find at their doorsteps – a couple more of those purple heart benches,or a few pounds of your bangamari fish – and if they want it even a few of their greasy hair,diseased indian women.

All in an effort to build caribbean frienship of course – nothing at all to do with flooding out barbados with guyanese.

Man in time to come even the sons and daughters of returning nationals in Canada,USA,Britain and Bermuda and elsewhere will not be able to get a look in here in barbados – far less a piece of the rock to rest pon.

In time to come…….

6. Faria is concerned, however, that a registration system could be used against the workers as well. “What we should guard against is that such a system would be used to take jobs from hard-working, enterprising Guyanese or others or penalise them in any way.”

He also noted that an honorary consulate, or any other mission, cannot get too closely involved in work permit applications, since that is a matter between the potential employee, employer and the Immigration Department.

———————————————————–

Has the DLP gone mad? Do they know what they are doing they are HURTING BAJANS !

What is this foolishness that I am hearing just now they will be in the civil service and all over Barbados!

Where will we the citizens of Barbados go? Mr. Thompson! Are you Mad? I will never vote again if this madness continues!

I was the first to say that those who do not vote makes life hard for me! But although i have voted my life seems to have gotten doubly harder!

I wonder who will be laughing come election time!

If I feel I will go back on my word I will make sure that I am out of the island! I will not vote for this party if they do not get out these illegal foreigners!

I am going to make sure my friends dont either!

You all sold out for benches!

DISGUSTING!

7. It is interesting that Consul Faria has recommended to his government to donate benches. On behalf of the BU household we want to say that we find the gesture highly offensive and insensitive. The symbolism of the ‘bench’ has negative feelings for us because of the accusations through the years by Guyanese of being made to sit on benches at GAIA. Nowadays with the new airport we believe that they sit on chairs in an air conditioned room.

We will bite our lip as Yardbroom has suggested until Minister McClean speaks to this issue. Let it be understood that the issue of a managed immigration policy is a sovereign one. This BS about Guyana submitting a proposal on tracking Guyanese labour is unacceptable and we will blog about it in the future based on how this unfolds. It continues to piss the BU household off no end that people would want to confuse a call for managed migration with being anti-CSME/anti-integration.

8. In this next Nation news article the President of Guyana basically admits to exporting the problems of Guyana by using his fellow nationals.HOW is this suppose to build up Guyana if you don’t TRY to keep a skilled workforce ?
    http://www.nationnews.com/life/292996144150281.php

“President Jagdeo explained that his country’s economic and social profile had forced it to adopt a “practical” training policy which would prepare people for national needs and for emigration.

Giving a skill

“I will give Guyanese a skill so that they can function in any part of the world where they go. That’s how I see my task. I don’t have an option of training them and keeping them at home. That was a different era when you stopped people from travelling. I don’t want to get back to that. My task is to give them skills, hope they would stay, and if they don’t stay I would have enough.” ”

I know this may sounds strange,but it almost looks like Guyana is holding the smaller islands hostage until they get what they want in their own country just by reading these two articles alone objectively.

I use to be Pro-CSME since it sounded good in theory[if it was well managed],but the reality is that NO new immigration regulations should be implemented until the current ones are enforced.I believe that if the current P.M Thompson wants the peoples’ blessing on CSME he should seriously & thoroughly enforce the current laws until the illegal immigration problem is reasonably under control,which obviously will take a lot longer than the 2015 deadline for implementation of CSME.

Since the Bahamas will not be implementing any form of the so called “Free movement” I just realized that the only two countries in Caricom making well over $10,000 a year minimum implementing the “Free movement” aspect of CSME is none other than Barbados & Trinidad,can anyone else not see the recipe for disaster in this ?

I think I also realized why most Guyanese nationals may also be choosing Barbados as their destination,judging by a few technical points.

-Historically, a lot of former Bajans went to the Commonwealth of British Guyana for work.Facing hard times & struggles now in modern day Guyana some seek to repatriate with Barbados as 2nd & 3rd generation bajans/guyanese,BUT only for economic reasons.This is absolutely wrong & hence why I think Citizenship should be denied for those who currently do NOT have at least one parent who is not a Permanent resident or Citizen of Barbados.

-Barbados & Trinidad are not only closer to Guyana but it would also make ticket prices cheaper for Guyanese nationals to enter both countries.Especially with ticket prices on the rise & oil becoming more of the problem with airlines,tickets would still be relatively cheap than say exporting the Guyanese population to Europe or even the U.S[definitely not going to happen].

-The Final reason is the basic fact that the Bajan dollar is tied to the US dollar 1:2.A T & T dollar is 1:6.2.Money ALWAYS speaks louder than words.If you do the calculations a T&T dollar=34 Guyana dollars, while a Bajan dollar=103 Guyana dollars.That should FULLY explain why they are going to Barbados.

@ Anonymous;The last one,

I couldn’t agree with you more
    ——–
    David said:
    This is an opinion which has emerged to explain the unexplainable. We will continue to monitor the posturing on both sides until Minister McClean comes clean on this issue. Part of the delay from the minister responsible for immigration was the lack of authority she had in law to make policy positions on immigration. The recent amendment to the immigration law has corrected the problem.
    ——————————-
    LOL,I wonder if that would be a good idea though,can you imagine if the BLP got back in with powers you described ?
    ————-
    JC said:

DISGUSTING!
    ————–
    I am glad you only read that article even our boiling point can felt as far as Jamaica.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/html/20080719T160000-0500_138058_OBS_CARICOM_ENTERPRISE_IN_DANGER_.asp

9. Indian Investors will be investiong more in this region. Read this article from Caribbean 360:

http://www.caribbean360.com/News/Business/Stories/2008/07/17/NEWS0000006072.html

10. A Policy of Lunacy:

We have a Prime Minister in Jagdeo Of Guyana, who has outlined a policy of exporting, as he says skilled workers to other countries, including Barbados.

May I ask in the case of Barbados ,what is our skilled workforce expected to do, when the Guyanese are competing for our jobs.

Barbados is not a country with NO unemployment. This is an insidious policy by Jagdeo to export Guyana’s problems – which he seems incapable of solving – under the guise of CSME.

This is a policy – in the case of Barbados – of short term imagined benefits against long term social destruction. Jagdeo has himself said he cannot solve his country’s problems… and he has no intention of trying. Does this mean this infinite policy of export of labour with no tangible reciprocal benefits to Barbados should be accepted.

Jagdeo said:” it was impossible to stop the exodus of professionals and highly skilled Guyanese”.

People in the main immigrate because of limited opportunities at home. If Guyana could be made a better preposition Guyanese would not wish to immigrate in the numbers they do. Most countries try to improve to make staying at home a better preposition.

Jagdeo by his own admission has therefore given up on Guyana, why should Barbados pay the price for his lack of proper goverance.

11. Ah JC I guess you got screwed n January 15th. What were you doing walking ’bout saying that there was no law and order in this country? You know that that was never true. True some people broke the law but to walk ’bout and tell people there was no law and no order???

Hell you got screwed JC.

12. I was the first to say that those who do not vote makes life hard for me! But although i have voted my life seems to have gotten doubly harder!

the truth shall set you free lol

13. Within the last 5 years Barbados has seen the reappearance of “Rooms for Rent” signs not only in the slums where they were popular in pre-Independence era , but also in developed areas. Unfortunately my party , the BLP turned a blind eye to this retrograde step in our development and I hope that the DJT administration would correct it post- haste . Mr. Faria, in case you don’t know, Barbadians are renting two bedroom, single bathroom houses to one Guyanese for 2000 dollars per month. He or she in turn collects 100 dollars per head from 10 or more Guyanese tenants per week. Bedrooms don’t matter to the occupants since they use hammocks in every room. At the end of the month, the smart Bajan collects 2000 dollars tax-free and smart Guyanese pockets 2000 dollars profit. With an arrangement like this, Guyanese con-men would tell Jagdeo that conditions are improving in Barbados.

14. Why is it that other CARICOM countries can abide by their laws and deport illegal immigrants but when Barbados does it is deemed as racist and xenophobic???? Why is it that the only name Jadeo et al can call in their non-sensical rhethoric is Barbados?????

It is time that Bajans put their money where there mouths are. we still have the economic power. Buy from blacks, join together and start businesses ,give work to blacks.
    When people label us as lazy put them in their place. That was the excuse to open the floodgates…and now look ….our birthright gone for nine benches (Only Bout Hey)

Lets start a register of competent Bajan artisans so that pesons looking for workers know where to find them. It makes no sense to pay an illegal immigrant a few dollars less and then have increase taxes, job losses and pay cuts to build more schools and polyclinics for their children.
    Lets tell Jadeo improve living conditions in his country and keep his nationals at home to build up his country. We have lots of skilled persons here already.

This whole situation is ridiculous, I am beginning to get very suspicious. hmmmm I suppose its not bothering the upper class at the moment…Guess they are happy sipping tea in their gated communities. But this lil island have very few places to hide as our ancestors found out in the hard way. So beware

A word to the wise….. nine benches will not change our minds…. we will continue to agitate for a proper Immigration Policy that can only benefit Barbados and not pull us down…THAT IS THE ONLY OPTION. Please stop using CSME as an excuse this is not CSME this is utter MADNESS….

15. J and Reddds you all r pathetic at least i tried ; What did you all do perhaps kiss somebody’s ass/ Well at least I have the guts to say that i was duped unlike you all.

there still is no law and order in Barbados nbecause of his Lordship Owen c ur way to a rum bottle!

He started with no more immigration policy He started allowing persons from Jamaica Trinidad and God knows where else make ‘US’ shite!

I thank God that I am unlike the Guyanese when I get my degree and move on I hope I can still hear you on the blogs heckling people that is if you are still allowed in BARBADOSTAN LOLLLLLL HA HA HA AHA HAHAH!

16. According to the report 80% of Guyanese are flowing out of Guyana because of the lack of economic opportunity, This is a direct contradiction of what Faria stated on the radio last Friday when he spoke to the improving economy of Guyana. The reality is there is an exodus of people from Guyana i.e.a brain drain. Against this background can we ask Jagdeo a stupid question. How do you expect? But we all know the answer don’t we, it is called remittances.

The government of Barbados need to come clean with Barbadians. Barbadians are peace loving people and generally have no problem accommodating any one coming here to better themselves, but we will not stand for this crap from Faria et al. Only last week Jagdeo to the rest of the Caribbean to go to hell at his handling censoring of local journalists.

17. What I cant understand is how the Barbadian politicians can be so stupid as to hurt their people for other persons. These people know nothing about loyalty; hence the runnig!

Moreover, we bajans like we think that it will affect some and not everyone. It is not about B, d,L,O, We are all BAJANS! I say it at work daily no matter what we give of our best as Bajans!

18. It is painful reading today’s paper the articles by Norman Faria and Bharat Jagdeo.The arrogance and deceit of those two are too much to bear.It is incredible the nonsense I read in the paper today.I believe those two have information we dont have at least that is what it lok like after reading those two articles.
    I believe the government is willing but many factors are fustrating the efforts in formulating this new immmigration policy.I had a talk with a former parliamentarian in the last administration and he indicated that this present government is actually fooling the people because nothing could really be done to restrict the influx of guyanese into Barbados.He said it is an effort in futility.The external forces are to great for Maxine Mcclean to resist.
    After listening to him I am more determine that we must let our leaders know that we want to see result in the shortest possible time.I want this government to proof him wrong.An ultimatum must be given to this government that maybe witin the next three months we want to see tangible evidence that action is on the way with the large exodus of illegal immigrants out of Barbados.I want it to be a national event highlighted in press on a daily basis that illegal immigrants are being deported by the plane loads.If this is done then I will and thousand of Barbadians will know that this government is serious and committed to the efforts of having a structure and organise immigration policy.I am tired with the long talk I want action.
    PM Thompson and Minister Mcclean Negroman is giving the governement three (3) months to start the process of expelling thousands of illegals immigrants especially the unwanted humbugs the indo guyanese.

19. I thank God that I am unlike the Guyanese when I get my degree and move on I hope I can still hear you on the blogs heckling people that is if you are still allowed in BARBADOSTAN LOLLLLLL HA HA HA AHA HAHAH!

move on to where, and get lost in the crowd, you getting worked up now on this 166 sq. miles,

20. JC, I know I am going to kick myself for asking this question but you need to be challenged for this statement”I thank God that I am unlike the Guyanese” this statement alone troubles me.

21. Negroman…u r smtgh else…! LMAO
    U r a real serious fella!!!

22. Redds take it how you want to take it sweetie!

23. Dear JC:

Nobody can’t run me, many have tried and all have failed.

I can show you the banana tree under which my navel string is buried.

I ain’t scared and I ain’t going nowhere.

NOBODY can’t run me outta Barbados

24. The land mass of Guyana does not cause problems. It is the attitude of the people of Guyana to each other and ethnic tensions which does. It is not rocket science to deduce therefore, that if those people immigrate in large numbers to a particular country , you also export the racial division and problems associated with them.

When CSME was contemplated the idea – I believe – was a free flow of skilled labour between member states. It surely could not have been envisaged, that ONE country would take it upon itself to export its people…on a production line basis, as Jagdeo has said, he intends.

One commenter here has tried to shift the debate about illegal immigration to Indian investment. This should be quickly knocked on the head.

Mauritius had Indian investment, as a result of the Indian indentured labourers who immigrated there. What has developed over time is that the now majority Bhoijpuri – Hindu – approximately 68% of the population has an entrenched position, against the 27% Creole – African – with most of the Creoles living in poverty and complaining of race discrimination. I have previously mentioned the race problems in Trinidad, Guyana, and Fiji. I will not repeat them now. HISTORY tells us there is “ALWAYS” a pattern, in this type of immigration.

The idea of economic investment in a tourist reliant country like Barbados, should “always” be closely examined, with a long term view of the society which results from it.

Economic benefits and investment are meaningless in the case of Barbados if it happens that as a result of it:

(a) People are being kidnapped and held for ransom.
    (b) People are murdered in the streets.
    (c) Robbery is rife.
    (d) Darkness at night always spell danger.
    (e) Businesses even small shops have armed guards.
    (f) The rich are fearful of their safety and sleep in guarded compounds, guns at the ready…never a guard against social discord.
    (g) The poor think of robbery as a natural way of life.
    (h) The papers daily report and picture blood soaked bodies in various physical contortions.
    (i) People justify evil acts because the victim is another race.

Barbados depends on tourists in large numbers, people will not visit us if we have a reputation for the above. The few brave souls that do, will be locked away in hotels far from ordinary Bajans. The tourists dollars and pounds will not reach the ordinary citizens.

This debate is widening in scope but should not be allowed to run into tributaries of mud…Barbados’ future is at stake. The main fact is that a mass influx of illegal, naturally undocumented immigrants cannot be of benefit to Barbados in the “long term”. It should be manifestly obvious to anyone, that is the case.

There are a few self motivated individuals, whose desire is to slither up to rewards and social positions of influence, on the BACKS of ordinary Bajans, it should not be allowed to happen. The country will pay a heavy price for such deceit.

25. J I am glad that you said that but probably; you know of a cave that will suit you just fine when these illegal foreigners come and take over (they have already started).

One thing Imust say i love your feirce love and pride for for your country! (just kidding)

On a serious note; J we might not agree on many things but it is good to know that not a boy can run you! Very Good!

However, I am very frustrated to see that no matter what facts we Bajans give these impostors. They seem to forge ahead as if we do not matter!

With the sweat of our brows we have built this country and now Persons who know nothing about loyalty are able to come and take over this is SICKENING!

Keep that fighting spirit J!

Peace!

26. Don’t you realise Fartier and Jagdeo behaving as though they have a right to Barbados? If a programme is to be put in place how dare Fartier to write to his gov’t to devise a system for those parasites to swarm this country. Jagdeo saying that we are embracing the guyanese. It seem somebody working some guyanese voodoo pun we. Everyday i am seeing our country’s carpet being pulled from under our feet and all we doing is talking and talking, this will happen until Fartier and crew ban us from complaining. We’re on the final chapters of this drama, the end will come fast and furious. The next chapter is to embrace those hindu and muslim festivals that are celebrated in guyana. Have you seen how the guyanese are riding some-one on a bicycle? This was unlawed until the influx of guyanese, now the police does nothing about it. Even the bajan fellows copying the habit. We dooooooom, sad to say

27. Something BIG will soon happen in G.T. ( Fairchild Street bus stand stalls). It is customary for a bunch of indo-guyanese to start drinking as friend then end up drunk and fighting bad bad bad, even to the point of trying to stab-up each other. I’ve seen that over and over in guyana on fridays and saturdays. There is a volcano about to erupt and bajans walking pass it undisturbed.

28. WASP

You have made a sensible proposition – Barbados should set up a registry of bajan artisans so that barbadians and others if they so wish can make their selection of artisans from,and in the process put their money where their mouths are .

Surely the ministry of labour – labour department can do something like this – or if they are unwilling to restrict it to bajan born and bred artisans – then another credible bajan can do the job.

You would think that the unions would be in the fore front of this sort of project – but they are too busy playing politics and kissing people’s boxies.

In the case of the barbados workers union – they will I’m sure want to involve norman faria and the guyanese workers and not restrict it to bajans.

I wonder how come the bajan workers in that union have not been asking themselves some serious questions about the union’s lack of action – not just words – but its inactivity on the whole migrant labour matter.

It goes beyond leroy trotman and the union: saying migrant workers should not be exploited and should not work for less than bajan workers.

That is too damn wishy – washy – and a cop- out.

The real problem here in our country barbados is that we don’t have a black nationalist – someone who will speak to the interests of black bajans and will take up the fight on behalf of his people and will be fearless and relentless.

If you suggest something like this listen to the judases recoiling in horror as they tell you:’oh no you cannot speak just to issues that affect balck people – what about the chineese and the indians and the syrians and jews and whites?’

People who already have their interest being served by the black lackey politicians mind you.

Right now all we really have are some yellow bellied politicians who are more interested in paying their mortgages and getting a new BMW (free if possible) – and the sad truth is – the other ethnic groups realise this.

So the cineese and the indians and the lebaneese and the whites all trudge up to the offices of these ministers of government who surprise,surprise can have time to make an appointment for them,but let one of his die-hard constituent who hit the road for him during political campaigning – try to get an appointment then the minister suddenly becomes unavailable or is not in office.

This sort of thing requires more than talk or more than us posting here – it requires action and it requires leadership.

Who will stand up for us?

Who will speak out for us?

Who will die if needs be for us?

A cause that is worth fighting for is a cause that is worth dying for.

Negroman may be in the smallest of minority today,but 10 years hence,as more negromen are formed through the fires of hardship and financial and social deprivation – then you would have created feelings which have hardened over time and are difficult to break.

Amnesty to illegals,social services benefits to illegals,citizenship on the current basis to non – nationals – are not options to be considered.

The members of the democratic labour party government on the question of immigration – like the question of hanging – are at odds with the wishes of the people of barbados.

From the debate in parliament the only persons who struck me as being in line with – or sympathetic to – the majority bajan view were:freundel stuart,james paul and stephen lashley in the house – and maxine mcclean in the senate.

Where do we go from here people?

29. They are many more Negromen out there trust me. I am echoeing the cries of thousands of Barbadians who have to tussle with non-nationals both legal and and illegal for the few jobs available today.That is resulting in the rising tension betweeen locals and non-nationals. I can feel the tension.
    The good image of Barbados worldwide is about to be tarnish if this matter is not address in a manner that is satisfactory to all Barbadians.Enough is enough.Non-nationals should be complimenting our work force not competing with us for scarce jobs.It is unfair.I I have friends and some relatives who are hunting for jobs and cannot find any but we have a set of non- nationals working at the expense of Brbadians. Do any reasonable person expect that this nonsensense will continue and the people will accept it.
    Recent criminal activities have indicated that the people are incline to start the process of social unrest.I do not condone crime but being from a poor,poverty stricken background I understand the reasons why some people would participate in criminal activity.It is not easy being marginalised and oppurtunities are not available.
    To the leaders of Barbados the tranquility of nation is about to change.Please listen to the cries of the people.Deal with this immigration issue now.

30. Mr. Singh I read with great discomfort what you implied in relation to CSMe!

I really HAVE TO GET PERSONAL!

I will not apologise for it either.

My questions:

Are you a patriot of any country;

You see Mr. Singh I have a problem with persons like you. I was made to understand that you were in Barbados for 25 years or perhaps more. And although you know sir, that bajans are very patriotic and (funny) persons you are still forging ahead with your rattles of CSME.

I realise in Barbados you and especially your family are above the law! However, in the court of the people you have been found GUILTY!

Guilty of Treason, ignorance and moreso no patriotism. You yourselve have never embraced us bajans and our norms and culture; you refuse to accept and understand how we as a people think! You have never socialised with the masses. Burnham and Tom made you run!

I have a challenge for you why dont you go back to Guyana and deal with Jagdeo (you and him I hear are big friends) make him deal with the serious problems within ‘your’ country and society as a whole!

How dare you and the likes of you decide that you will try to insult bajans intelligence.

Newsflash Sir,

IT AINT WORKING!

31. mr. Singh has a lot of talk in b’dos now that tom dead. Tom would have had him on a slow boat back to guyana ever since

32. I’m calling again on anyone with influence who reads these blogs to organise an open forum where we can deal in an organised fashion the problems with the illegal immigration and the influx of guyanese into b’dos. I’m afraid if this is ignored the reprocussions can be violence. There is a strong groundswell that is being fanned by stupid remarks made by Faria and Singh. To try muzzling bajans will only lead to violence. Please take my advice before it’s too late. If you are a patriotic bajan, avoid any unwanted disturbance because all bajans would be negatively effected. He that have ears to hear; let them hear.

33. Scout I agree with you wholeheartedly.

When I heard on Baxters Road that 2 Guyanese had died!

Some persons thought it was the best news.
    I didn’t;

This is just the beginning, if these persons who are n authority do not come up with a planned immigration policy, they will not be a hole for anyone to hide Barbados is just too small!

I do not want a society in which my children will have to deal with bold racism or have to be vying for jobs although they are qualified because persons more prefer someone Indian or foreign. I find that to be very unfair.

If anyone of importance is reading this please talk to those who can make laws because I can see that Barbaos is doomed if this situation continues every where you go you here people whizzying and I can feel the animosity building!

34. I just read that in China the authorities have asked bars not to sell to black people & Mangolians because they are pimps,prostitutes & thieves.Well well well.We are in Barbados embracing and accepting these bastards and embracing them.
    I hope David Thompson and his government are observing these developments.The whole world is racist against black people .
    The time has come when we as black nations must build a powerful black empire.We must build strong governemnts,strong institutions,strong economies.We must make our best brains work for the improvement of the black world.Our survival on this earth rests with us having strong institutions to defend our interst.we must bargain from a position of strength not going cap in hand begging other people for aid.
    The black race must recognise that our survival does not depend on assimilation with other races or depending on the hand outs from North America,Europe or Asia.We must have a united Africa with strong economies,strong armies and technology that will be able to protect us from our enemies.Until we have a strong nation state the treatment that is meted out to us now by ALL the races will continue.
    BLACK PEOPLE GET UP LET US BUILD A STRONG NATION STATE.
    REMEMBER THE GRAET MARCUS GARVEY -RACE FIRST

35. BU family don’t despair, slowly but surely the truth about the untenable open door immigration policy is emerging. Did anyone hear the news today that the police is concerned about a certain group of people on Swan Street who has the storekeepers scared? Did the BU family hear in the news that the Police will be clearing the sidewalks in Fairchild Street and other places by arresting people if they have to? Did the BU family listen to Mike Browne on the call-in program today being forced to let callers discuss the Guyanese issue because Stetson Babb kept asking the production crew to keep callers online so he could have a conversation?

Do not be ashamed to be a patriotic Barbadian who wants to protect Barbados from those in our midst driven by greed and idealism. This is our country built on the backs of Barbadians and the government should reflect the will and soul of its people.

The vox populi must be heard!

36. I listened to the news item and smiled to myself.The panic button is setting in.As I said bajans are slowly rising up out of their slumber.The breaking of the Royal Shop show window I believed sent shock waves through out the indian and white business community in Bridgetown.It made them get up and take stock of themselves.We are not the docile and timid Barbadians of yesteryear.
    It is unfortunate that human life was lost in robbery at that guyanese restaurant in Bay Street.Condolences to the family of the deceased.
    I hope the authorities are viewing these happenings because this is only the beginning.I am analysing the mood of Barbadians and it teeming with anger and bitterness against non-nationals especially guyanese indo-guyanese in particular.
    I do not want my beloved Barbados image tarnish and our mayor industry damage permanently which is tourism as a result of the authorities not working in the interest of the people on issues that are of fundamental importance to us.
    I will say again people want to see ACTION on this immigration like yesterday.

37. JC, Negroman,Pat and others
    Let us bombard the airwaves today and onwards with a request to air our views about the immigration problem re; guyanese. Only when we make a concerted effort to be heard on air would they realise that we are getting desperate. Negroman, I know you don’t like VOB, neither do I, but if we can force their hands, let’s do it. Unity is strength. PLEASE HELP.

38. At that point in time when the call show is on I am at work. However, my friends and i have come up with a better way to make bajans more aware of this scary situation.

At first we taught about the petition but someone made a better suggestion. So dont worry we young people willl do our part. We have to be like Bu and be secretive so no more infromation!

We will do our part!

You make sure to call, I will be listening to you and others come on Bajans there is a new opportunity of investment in the air!

It is the investment in our children’s future!

39. David & readers

You see how dangerous these guyanese people are?
    In the kaeitur newspaper (see sidebar) today, relatives of the indo guyanese woman shot this weekend in aby street, are saying that she was killed by bajans because she used to stand up for guyanese aginst the bajans – and that it was not a robbery.

These lying people are also saying it was hardly covered in the news.

Can you believe that lie – when we know that both VOb and Cbc radio and CBC T.V and the nation newspaper carried the story yet guyanese here in barbados sending back news to guyana saying that story was hardly covered.

I hope readers will also pick up on something in that article which typifies the rotten behaviour of these indo guyanese woman.

The article says she is in a relationship with the griffith guy whose was killed – he is 26 years she looks to be at least 45.

However she is married to a bajn man called sammuels who complains to the barbadian police force whnever they raid the bar looking for illegal guyanese.

You notice who is the upholder in all of this?

Obviously that has to be a marriage of convenience for her to remain in barbados.

Then she gets property possibly through using the black bajan as a front – and he as a bajan is then sent to remonstrate with the police whenever the police carry out their duties through raids – all the while she is having a relationship and carrying on with her guyanese man.

I wonder if the gunmen really went looking for the bajan man instead of the guyanese?

40. The Scout I will support your effort but calling the programmea and speaking to those clowns will be a bit too much for me.I really do not know if I could generate enough energy to actually lift a telephone and talk to those idiots at VOB.It might begging a bit too much.I have enough confidence in you that you will do an excellent job and articulate our concerns effectively.I might try to get in.
    As all could see these people are getting desperate and will resort to all types of schemes,diversionary tactics and the like to fustrate the efforts of the authorities.
    The message is resonating with all Barbadians from all strata of the society and we are making progress with this imigration issue.
    KEEP THE HEAT ON THOSE BASTARDS

41. Kaieteur News – Guyana.

Report on murder in Barbados at Guyanese owned bar where a Guyanese man was killed and the bar owner, aGuyanese woman, seriously injured.
    They report a comment by an observer that the 7.00 pm attack by two masked men, did not look like a robbery as later in the night would have been more lucrative. To them it looks like revenge on the bar owner for her pro-Guyanese stance.

Comments, by relatives and friends are quoted in the article speculate that this attack reflects the growing hatred for Guyanese in Barbados and Indo-Guyanese in particular.

What do you blogers think after reading this article!!! is this the stsrt of the “ethnic cleansing” that some are calling for?
    See link below:

http://www.kaieteurnews.com/?p=3313

42. If it was ethnic cleansing why did the men run off with an undisclosed sum of money? This appears to be work of nasty criminals. The RBPF do a good job bringing these low life to justice and I anticipate they will soon collar these murderers. Like many Bajans my concern is the amount of illegals here and the negatives that can evolve from that. However I am for law and order. Let us support government in their quest to manage immigration and enforce the law. The open door policy of Owen Arthur is coming back to haunt us.

43. We the bloggers kept on begging government to look into this issue I myself kept on asking for better immigration policies.

No one listened, I am not blaming this government but I am telling you if proper immigration policies were in place this shit would not have happened.

I am sorry for the family.

However, I have problems with the accusations which are being pointed at us bajans.

Why dont they talk about the behaivour of this Guyanese woman she proves all of the points that we were making day in and day out.

Insight I think you are being dangerous with your accusations. Years before this blog was established, tension and problems were revealing itself. NO ONE LISTENED!

The people of Barbados begged Mr. Arthur to listen!

NO ONE LISTENED!

Adn now you blame the people of Barbados for this murder? why dont you quarrel with the lady for her deviant acts! Moreover, how do you know that a bajan killed her where is the PROOF!

We have given our proof and this lady PROVED us right!

No one should have to die like this! I am truly sorry but dont blame us bajans! I was the first to ask if it was true and to say that I am sorry for this lady!

I just want proper immigration policies!

44. How dare you people come to Barbados and think that you can blame us for your bad behaivour this is not good enough!

45. That article has me in shock….how dare they say that because she believed in the rights of guyanese here in barbados that she was shot, why couldnt it be someone of her own kind that did it…they are looking for someone to blame but they blame themselves….if it is that bajans hate guyanese to the extent of killin them why aren’t there any more stories of this nature or even worse……you bajans really see thier way of thinking….stupse

46. This is IT. I have reach the limit with these people. If my reading of what’s happening is right, there will be serious upheavel in this country pretty soon. I hope bajans are ready for any potential troubles in the island. We, over the years, have been speared the ravages of a hurricane, sad to say there is a racial hurricane about to hit this island. this is when you will have to prove your patriotism.

47. Talkaholic
    You don’t seem to understand these people. In bajan terms ” dem ready to pick a noise”. what is funny is that I warned everybody about what these people method of operation is. They are going to try an destabilise this country and what is a better time to do but at Crop-over when the whole world is focused here. They will try to appear as the innocent downtrodden persons.It irks me to the bone.

48. I’ve made the story from the Kaieteur newspaper available to the VOB station’s Stetson Babb and to the Press Secretary of the P.M. I’m VERY disturbed by the propaganda that is coming out of guyana. I AM READY to defend this country to the MAXXX. I warn you that this would happen.

49. The Scout,Negroman is fully behind you.I have had enough.The time has come to draw the lines.
    All the descriptions we have used to describe those people are true,true,true..
    That story has being twist around and given a different complexion.It is not surprising.Those guyanese have not even allow our police force to carry out a proper investigation before shouting out about racism and a lot of nonsense.As you said they want to appear as the unfortunate victims and bleeding heart black Barbadians are so gullible many of us will fall for the trap.we must remain vigilant.
    Norma Faria,Ricky Singh and Bharat Jagdeo must be held responsible for the escalating rising tension between the Barbadian blacks and the indo-guyanese.Those three have taken Barbadians for fool for avery long time.The foolishness that is constantly coming out of the mouths of those three jackasses is making Barbadians enraged.It has me hostile against all indo-guyanese.
    I am not advocating violence but it seems we are heading in that direction.A show down between black Barbadians and Guyanese especially the indo-guyanese.
    Prime minister David Thompson,Maxine McClean and the rest this situation is getting out of control and disaster might visit this country.

50. Scout

I heard you today on VOB and I was very pleased that you kept your word.

I almost missed you because I was not really paying too much attention.However what really upset me is that I couldnot hear almost all of what you said because mike brown cut off most of it.

Even when you tried to express your concern with where the country seems to be heading and the need for the government to intervene now – that part was also so badly chopped up – that it really was shameful.

I think David and BU family that the time has arrived when letters or a petition should be sent to the minister of broadcasting who happens to be the prime minister David Thompson about our right to free speech on VOB being infringed under the guise of the broadcasting regulations and license.

What say you all.