Submitted by Guyana Consul to Barbados Norman Faria

Guyana Consul to Barbados Norman Faria

Organisers of the Barbados’ Holetown Festival, which every February commemorates the arrival in 1627 of the island’s first English settlers and their African slaves, may get assistance in undertaking further research for their commendable work. This is being offered  by the Guyana Consulate in the island which suggests there is a need to acknowledge the “true, first settlers” in an  otherwise worthwhile activity.

While he lauded the upcoming  Festival, which starts this weekend,  for its educational dimension  and contributing to the important tourist sector, Guyana’s Honorary Consul Norman Faria  urged what he called a “fair, well rounded and accurate picture”.

Faria, in a Consulate release,  noted  that the first settlers were the region’s indigenous aboriginal people, popularly known as “Amerindians” (Guyana) and “Caribs” (Dominica). He noted that they had their own civilisation with several  big villages in Barbados before the Europeans sighted the 166 square mile  island.  He said that it wasn’t that long, in relative terms in peoples’ migration  patterns,   that they were reported gone from the island when the ship “Olive Blossom” arrived in 1627 with the 70 English people and ten African slaves. It was probably one  or two generations, he observed, and the first settlers may have left an agricultural  layout for the settlers to build upon, he said.  

Theories are the “Indians”   were decimated by disease from Europe or were victims of slave raiding ships. Another view is that they returned to neighbouring St.Lucia or St.Vincent from where they had departed to get to Barbados.But Faria observed, some of them may still have been in the thickly forested island’s interior when the Olive Blossom came.

Faria, who attended the Festival’s opening ceremony ceremony last year and fully supports the aims and objectives of the organisers, said the forbearers of those  aboriginal  first settlers  had come originally from what is today modern day Venezuela and Guyana after island hopping on large ocean going canoes northwards through the islands. They then came over to Barbados from what became St.Vincent or St.Lucia. One of St.Vincent’s national heroes is  a former “Carib” chief  named Chatoyer.

“We need to provide a fair, well rounded and accurate picture of the region’s settlement and the recognition of the historical contributions and achievements of the Caribbean/Latin America indigenous peoples……(Festival organisers) need to look at and act upon…correcting what may come across presently and through no fault of their own  as the skewed misrepresentative message that the people who came in 1627 were the first settlers and therefore they alone are worthy of all commemorative activities,” he said.

“(We also need) especially against the backdrop of the deepening Caribbean/Latin America integration and friendship, to acknowledge the geographical origins of the first true and authentic settlers which is the Venezuela/Guyana area. This also means acknowledging  the significant and worthwhile  cultural and material achievements which led to their essentially good human exploratory and enterprisingly settler outlook,” he added in part.

In terms of the research help, Consul Faria said the Consulate has written the Planning Committee, a private sector entity,  and talked informally with  an official offering to obtain research material through the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs in Guyana and other institutions such as the Walter Roth Museum in Georgetown…

The Guyanese Consul said he had also  put a conceptual proposal to the relevant government  ministries in  Guyana and Barbados  for the erecting of a suitable monument in Barbados recognising the  indigenous peoples’ exploratory and other contributions. This would be made by volunteer Guyanese contract workers (those on work permits) and from Guyanese and Barbadian wood and stone material.The proposal was copied to the local Venezuelan Embassy for any possible co-operation…

This would not detract from or undermine the good work of the Festival committee and the  present monument at Holetown which commemorates the 1627 arrivals, he stressed.

1. J.C
    That’s O.K. You got it off your chest. I think, in fact I KNOW Mauby Man got the message. I too felt the message but in a different way to Mauby man. Except for the abuse, I endorse every thing you said. Just ask God for forgiveness for the abuse but you are only human and we ALL sin occasionally. I know that is not you normally.

2. JC
    Jesus Christ (is that what your initial stands for?) Well, well, well, you mek day Mauby Man c^$t. look like a real jerk. I got ta look at you different from now on boe. Ya bad. I luv um.
    I now nominate you as ‘Knight of St. Andrew’. Take a f^#king bow JC. Ya good.
    I don’t normally read blogs dat long but couldn’t resist. You mo serious dan Judge Judy. You critical like a heart attack.
    Doan mind Anon, ya got to use de expletives regla (tee hee). Dah is mek um mo spicey.
    Waloss, Mauby man yu ketch ya rass-clawt yet?
    Murtherrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

3. Scout,
    Wait, wah ’bout me? You dissin me but um is aw-rite. You got bare sweet words fa JC but my back broad so I can cah de load. Is aw-rite.

4. The Scout // March 12, 2009 at 4:33 pm

Just came in from classes…… tired is hell.

Scout I sincerely apologise! I mean it too I wrote from my heart. I normally dont be like that …………

5. JC
    You ‘pologize a-reddy. Tek um lite. All is well.

(ppsssssssssssssttttttttt) gih Mauby Bark a nedda ‘blessin’ fa ma.

6. Apologies people for lack of response. I’ve been very busy moving house. I did take some time to read your responses and all I have to say is…that’s the spirit!!! Lol. What was that? You nearly had a what? a ‘kanniption’?? J What I think you meant to say was ‘conniption’. A little advice, if you’re going to throw what we call in the UK ‘a wobbly’, or ‘conniption’, come prepared and consult a dictionary beforehand. I think I might have mentioned this already in an earlier post. Apart from that, I’m impressed. One of you actually had something constructive to say! It had passion, tension, intrigue… ok maybe not intrigue but minus all the swearing…I kinda liked it. But you have the wrong impression of me JC.

First of all, in no way would I even dare to suggest that we should give up the remainder of what control we have left to outsiders. I am still at al loss as to how you came to that conclusion. You have mis-interpreted what I said. I would only be a fool to suggest something like that. My intention was not to try and talk down to you or anyone or to belittle anybody (although some of the people leaving the sorts of comments on this site, you can’t help but talk down to some if they put themselves down there in the first place!). Those people need re-educating it seems.

But that was some real passion! I don’t think I’ve seen so much cursing in a one blog, but I don’t disagree with what you’re saying. I only wish to remind those who leave abusive remarks to keep them to themselves and to add something constructive to try and rectify a significant problem rather than resort to primitive name-calling. We are better than that aren’t we?

As for the so-called ‘Great’ Britain …. I always failed to realise what was so great about it. It doesn’t surprise me that the english would stick the word ‘great’ before its countryname. It’s almost like calling your daughters Faith and Charity. You’d hope that they’d be ‘faithful’ and ‘charitable’ in nature but in fact what you’d end up with is an unfaithful and promiscuous daughter and her greedy younger sister, respectively lol. Ok ok, I’m poking fun 🙂 I think it’s played down nowadays and this place is often referred to as the ‘United Kingdom’. Still has an air arrogance about it though I feel. Yes the UK had an empire once upon a time, as did other nations but like all empires they are destined to crumble. It’s history is filled with atrocity, I see no ‘greatness’ in it, just a heap load of misery, mostly directed at other people in other countries. I’m sure Guyana is no angel either.

We are all equal, despite those who might try to impress upon you otherwise. For decades black people have been made to feel inferior in some way or another. It’s a sad fact but many of us still feel that way in this day and age! Terms like British Black sound ridiculous to me. I don’t know what it means. I was born in the UK yes, but I am black and African, (with some white and Spanish thrown in as well!) At least African Americans reference their African origins. But strange that a Jew, even if he happens to be born in any other country other than Israel, he still calls himself a Jew. Not a British-Jew or American-Jew, just plain – Jew. Even ‘Caribbean’ or ‘West Indian’ does not apply to us. But I don’t want to go off-topic here.

I don’t know where you get the impression that I ‘want to lick their asses’ as you put it. I know I’ve had to kick a few in my time, especially in my more youthful days.

Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, etc are ALL heroes of mine too. Not sure about Bob Marley or Peter Tosh, great music artists yes, but obviously not in the same league as King or X. Goes without saying really. I respected Mr King’s cause hugely as it was much like Gandhi’s approach in that a solution to a problem can always be reached peacefully. Saying that I also respect the great Malcolm X for what he did and what he tried to accomplish. Their efforts helped pave the way for many of us. They were great leaders.

I loathe people who make silly assumptions and who jump to conclusions! Surely you could see the errors in what many people have said here. The C-R-A-P that my parents had to endure when they arrived in the UK, the signs on windows that read ‘No Blacks, No Dogs, No Irish’? which you clearly stated, I know all about that too. I know where you’re coming from. I think it’s just a case of us getting off on the wrong foot so to speak.
    I was starting to think that all the knowledgeable people had stopped commenting leaving the stragglers to vent their spleen at the ‘invaders’. But amongst their verbal abuse I could hear their frustrations only too loud and clear. Just wish they would do it without sinking to a nasty low. But if we were all the same I guess the world would be a boring place wouldn’t it? Please don’t believe for a second that I am a man who does not cuss or swear. Heaven forbid! Lol. I can cuss just as much as the next man, or woman! The difference is I don’t need to curse to get my point across. If I come across as condescending then…. just deal with it! I’m sure there’s someone a lot worse than me.

I appreciate that was all written from the heart. So no apology necessary JC. We are here to share our views. I know I angered you but it was not my goal to irritate or frustrate. Apologies to anyone I may have offended but I also give as good as I get, just like yourself JC.

Fat Pork, sorry but I just don’t understand what the hell you’re saying half the time. I know that our ancestors had their own native language beaten out of them and were forced to speak English, so we the descendants know English too as a result. So, at least speak it correct so I can figure out what you’re talking about 🙂

7. Mauby Bark (bitter)
    I can use my native bajan dialect or if you’d prefer, I can use the ‘Queen’s’ english. I have an “A” grade in English. Believe it or not. Do you understand ‘Cockney’? Is that English?
    So here’s to you in dialect or standard, in reference to your response to JC:

Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

8. @ Mauby Man I have already apologised for my abuse and maybe I was out of place ……

I really did mean kaniption it is my own bajan word that I have created please remember that when the Low Germans came to England raiding and finally conquoring the United Kingdom in the 5th Century, only a few original words remained that truly belonged to the Britons such as basket and pool. LOL

So therefore I think I can create my own words as well that is how the world is ……… nothing stays the same.

I have watched and read about the life of Peter Tosh and believe me he was a STEPPING RAZOR. Fah real, you need to know some of the Caribbean heroes mauby man ha ha lol. (I have a feeling you wont agree). I have a feeling that you loooove to offend, is that how you live? Do you take pleasure in seeing others squirm lol I think you do Mr. Devils Advocate LOL!

9. JC
    I am surprised that you offered an apology to Mauby Man and others for your matter of fact response to the diatribe Mauby Man wrote.

Mauby Man article wasn’t really total diatribe because some of his points I agreed with totally.However,he came over as arrogant & conceited.He believes he is the only one who has a great command of the “Queen English”.Mauby Man comes over as an individual who has escaped these small islands, gone to the the “Mother Country”and is now throwing scorn & condemnation on these small islands.

Mauby Man many of us on this blog has a great grasp for English.We want to express our feeling on issues affecting us and on many occassions we either are in a rush,posting from our work places or we really do not have the time to properly read over what we are posting.Many bloggers articles contained grammatical errors including Your truly because I am no English expert.
    Are you so small minded that you are going to nit pick at simple grammatical mistakes.

JC,you did an exceptional job on the fool Mauby Man and you had no right apologising to him.If any apologies were forth coming those apologies should be directed to David the owner of this blog.JC you had all rights to express your feelings in the way you choose.

Mauby Man I will like you to read up on the recent history of Guyana especially since 1994 after the election of the Indian dominated PPP government and the horrors that Black Guyanese endure on a daily basis from the Indo-Guyanese in Guyana.I want you read up on phantom gang in Guyana that killed over 200 hundred Black men & boys in Guyana over the last 6 years or so.Read up on the firing of Black civil servants and replacing them with Indo-Guyanese.Read up on horrors Black people are going through while seeking employment in Guyana.

Mauby Man,Black Barbadians know about the horrors our fellow Black Guyanese brothers & sisters are going through in Guyana and we are determine that the racial conflicts in Guyana will not be transferred to
    Barbados

Mauby Man you can stay up in England with your pompous self and endure the racist bull shit from the disease,half make,smelly, killing Europeans.We Blacks in Barbados will continue to defend this Black Country.Barbados is Black Man Country and we will fight until last man drop for Barbados to remain this way.

We want no disease ridden,stinking,people in Barbados.

10. …hmmm. Lots of emotions here. Am I responsible for being born where I was born? Do each of us chose which country we would like to be born in? Can I be blamed for being a Guyanese? I guess that I also fit into the category of people that you are all referring to. Dear God, please help me to love all people regardless of their race, creed, ethnicity or nationality. Help me please. I feel so sick after reading these blogs.

11. ahhhh I like your name Mr. Optimist, however I dont want you to deny your nationality. I want you to condemn the behaivour of your people and your Government.

I cannot love persons who are manipulative and I refuse to apologise for the things that I have said.

What you need to do is to prove Negroman, myself and others on this blog whom have expressed themselves WRONG about all the things that we have said.

You find it strange that we are willing to speak the truth well I have a prayer for you

Lord help the guyanese to get a better leader, one who is not racist.
    Help them to get enough money to go back home so that they can stop rob old men and women of their homes and pensions.

Dear Lord help those in Guyana who are suffering because of the unfairness, hyp0ocrisy and wickedness of the government to rise up like a mighty storm and wash them away

Amen.

12. Optimist,for most it doesn’t have anything really to do with WHERE you’re born,but why most from a particular country choose to reside in ONE country ILLEGALLY.

To make matters worse certain caricom nationals also advocate like Barbados is theirs,even their Government representatives play a huge role in this while jobs in Barbados now go predominately to certain caricom nationals while the average Barbados citizen can barely make ends meet.I fully expect wages/salaries in Barbados to decline over this year due to the contracting of the Barbados economy.

Do you understand why there is resentment now ?I’m sure there are other ways a person to vent their frustration,but in times like these that would be extremely difficult.

I know most who come to Barbados will try to do so legally but should at anytime they choose to illegally reside in the country at any time they should be deported,period.There can be absolutely NO excuses for anyone who is irresponsible enough to not follow the rules & laws of the country they immigrate to.What makes it worse is that I’ve also read reports lately that Barbados is being used mainly as a staging ground to move on to other countries which makes this problem MUCH worse as this now burdens the island’s reputation abroad & could affect business in many sectors making it worse for locals.

13. “You find it strange that we are willing to speak the truth…” JC, I do not find it strange indeed. When I said ‘lots of emotions here’ I meant that words cannot express how you feel. Indeed many of you have been hurt by Guyanese, and that your expressions may seem justifiable. But please, I do not wish to change my nationality on any grounds. However, if we all continue to spurn out venom on each other, what results would we have? This will not solve the problems. I agree with some of the readers that you need to take the issues to the public medium (newspaers, radios etc), but bashing a nationality definitely will not solve the problem. I pray that Guyanese would again become a proud people and uphold their dignity whereever they chose to live. Thanks for the prayers, but I do not agree that the behaviours of some Guyanese should merit the defamation on an entire country and its people.

14. Jay, I do not support illegals being in any country. What I abhor, is the blatant defamation of all Guyanese, those in Guyana, those who reside legally in Barbados and legally in the rest of the world and contribute to its development. I do not agree that all Guyanese indulge in immorale behaviours. there are still decent minded Guyanese in this world.

15. Really those who left are very few because 100 French men cant be wrong I myself have supported Guyanese at some point in time. Only recently I was castigated for hiring a Guyanese.

We are not saying that some are not sincere and honest, but it seems as if in Guyana there are like a generation of vipers and a waste of time and that is the truth I refuse to say anything different.

Prove us wrong and then we will apologise right now uh uh it aint working they will sell their children to stay here and that is the lowest of the low TO ANY BAJAN!

16. @Optimist

I think you should also read this article concerning what is going on in Guyana on a technical basis.This maybe the very reason why Bajans would like to restrict Guyanese of all forms because they do not want to see the same thing to happen in Barbados.

http://www.kaieteurnews.com/2009/03/18/the-%e2%80%9ccriminalized-state%e2%80%9d-and-the-%e2%80%9cincestuous-state%e2%80%9d-in-guyana/

“This is a sociological fact. This economic deformity has no parallel in the English-speaking Caribbean. It is a pathological descent into the worst kind of degenerate politics that is found only in banana republics. It is the most horrible manifestations of failed post-colonial territories.
    But Peeping Tom was unable to detect the parallel existence of “the criminalised state” with the “incestuous state.” We are talking about a hydra-headed degeneracy. Governmental facilitators have allowed and processed the wealth accumulation of their incestuous links (in this context, the scope for ethnic trouble is really scary but more on that later).
    But these governmental facilitators have corrupted “the state” through the labyrinth of drug connection, money laundering and the underground economy. Included in the underground economy are ‘friends” of the governmental oligarchs who are engaged in smuggling from fuel to beer to canned foods.
    Joseph O’Lall had to die of a massive heart attack. It was inevitable. One is amazed that he didn’t die the same day he was instantaneously dismissed from his job. He told me that he believed that his zeal in tracking down and arresting people who were engaged in smuggling led to his downfall.
    But listen to what he relayed to me when I put a realpolitik question to him as I interviewed him in his home weeks before his heart attack killed him off. I said, “But why invoke the wrath of powerful people in ‘the government’ by going after their friends?”
    O’Lall was the kind of person that in common parlance we say is “wild.” He looked at me with fire in his eyes and said; “I don’t care whose friends they are, I doing a job, comrade.”
    I fired back: “But look what happened to you.” His response was, “I coming back comrade.” He went back to where we all come from –dust.”
    ————————————
    Sometimes I wonder if this why the retired Chief immigration officer Kenrick Hutson in Barbados died……

17. @ Jay
    at least someone on here is reading!

i find that most of the anti.Guyana crowd on this site have real juvenile understanding of what’s taking place in Guyana and should do some more reading of Guyana papers [yes!! a shock to most am sure] to learn more so that some of your comments will be based on facts and you in turn will comprehend the nature of the monster that is the Guyana govt

18. nelly avila moreno
    We don’t want B/dos to become another Guyana, hence the intolerance of such an influx. Let the other C/bean Heads deal with Guyana and come to some sort of resolution. Migrating in their thousands on my 166sq.mls will not solve their problems but rather create some here. That is like a man getting pissing drunk to drown his sorrow. What he is actually doing, is creating another one. Something needs to be done for or with Guyana and fast to stop them from fleeing their country in such numbers. You got any solutions?
    stuupseeeeeeeeeeee.