Annalee Davis

Members of the BU household attended the viewing of a 30 minute documentary titled On The Map produced by Annalee Davis at Solidarity House tonight (15 July 2008). The night’s proceedings was moderated by the ubiquitous Peter Wickham. The viewing although not a full house attracted a cross section of Barbados. Before we comment on the actual 30 minute ‘piece’ we should clarify a few matters which have been given rise by tonights proceedings. Norman Faria, Barbados Guyana Consul during the feedback segment of the night’s event launched a broadside at the blogs, we believe he meant BU given our persistent blogging on the Barbados immigration issue. He called on the authorities to censor us. He referred to the vile, racist and xenophobic positions taken on the blogs regarding the issue of migrant labour with a focus on the Indo-Guyanese.

Norman Faria we hope that you are reading very carefully what we are about to write:

All of our blogs to date on the immigration issue are built on two positions 1) the lack of a managed immigration policy in Barbados and 2) the socio-impact of large inflows of Indians on a predominantly Black host population. We have reread many of our blogs on the subject of immigration and we have struggled to discern any xenophobic meanings on our part. We must admit that some of our commenters have sometimes crossed the line by engaging in racial rhetoric. However Faria, Ricky Singh and others should not mistake the comments of a few commenters to represent the views of the BU household. We believe in free speech and while we don’t condone all the comments on BU we will always seek to protect freedom of expression. We believe that Barbadians are educated enough to filter racist and xenophobic nonsense from the real fears and concerns of Barbadians. The fear was very eloquently expressed by Caribbean Broadcaster Corporation broadcaster Jewel Forde and Sydney Simmons, now retired. The issue of migrant labour is a topic which is currently occupying the many countries in the world, the developed countries being no exception.

To respond to Keith Nurse who we understand is a lecturer at the UWI and who sought to scare Barbadians by referring to the Dominican /Haiti experience by mentioning the word genocide, it will not work!

To comment on the first effort by Annalee Davis to produce, we have to compliment her on the attempt to highlight a concept which is of value to our small region, i.e. migrant labour. The Caribbean was built on the backs of migrant labour and we have no doubt that this will continue. The BU household fully supports the free movement of people within a managed immigration policy. Contained within that policy must be how ethnic populations will be absorbed by our host population. It seems like we have made this point ad nauseam since our launch but some people prefer to ignore it. The construct of the presentation was woefully inadequate to deal with such a complex topic and Davis located the story mostly in the Guyanese experience and more specifically Indo-Guyanese which led to a perceived bias by the BU household. For the benefit of Davis we should provide one glaring example. The documentary featured resident Indian lawyer Bacchus, who may have some Guyanese origin speaking to the incident dubbed ‘terrible Tuesday’. The BU family may recall that the Barbados authorities sent back 20+ Guyanese who intended to visit Barbados a couple years ago. In the film we listened to Bacchus castigating the Immigration Department and by extension the Barbados government for allowing such to occur. To our surprise the documentary failed to extract an official response from the Barbados Immigration Department to bring some balance to the issue. Instead Ms. Davis film which is a collection of disadvantaged Guyanese grieving served to build the plot for her 30 minute effort.

The feedback session which followed the viewing spanned the gamut of rubbish to insightful but that is to be expected, it is a free country. We should make mention of Ricky Singh’s contribution when he passionately asked government to reverse its current policy on immigration. Ricky seems to know more than the average Barbadian because the promised White Paper on a new immigration policy is yet to be made available for public consumption. BU took umbrage to the tone of his presentation which expressed discuss at how Barbadians and the region have been slow to adopt CSME. He also had some lashes for the media of which he is a part. Whether he likes it or not, the concerns of Barbadians are being echoed all around the Caribbean. Again the concerns of Barbadians were represented two weeks ago by the action of our Caribbean Heads to delay the roll-out of CSME until 2012 because of the very same issue for which we have concerns, movement of people.

Lastly we wish to remind Peter Wickham of the days leading up to the last general election when the Nation newspaper frustrated his effort to publish articles, the blogs assisted him in the cause. Now we have seen him betray us by agreeing with Norman Faria that the blogs need to be censored. Although he did not actually say it he did not offer a denial when Faria made the comment by co-opting his support. We take that Mr. Wickham as acquiescence. Like your former colleague Dr. Don Blackman who lauded the discussions on the blogs prior to election as healthy but recanted soon after, both of you may realize the error of your ways. To reinforce the point we had an email sent to Peter Wickham recently requesting some information to which he has refused to respond, as we said this is a departure from the recent past.

The same behaviour has occurred from someone we thought was a friend of BU, Mr. Stephen Worme of the Barbados Light and Power Company. BU will remain in the wings and quietly observe because as the Bajan saying goes, God does not like ugly.

418 responses to “Norman Faria Calls For Blogs To Be Censored While Attending Annalee Davis Rookie Attempt to Capture A Serious Topic on Film in Just 30 Minutes”

1. Negroman

The identity of bloggers are being sought by whom?

They tried that with BFP about a year ago saying that the then Government – the BLP – knew who the BFP adminstrators are as well as the bloggers – and they were going to deal with them.

Well we see the people dealt with them instead – that is, the BLP -and they got voted out.

This is why we have to support David and Underground because he and his family are taking a big risk to allow us the freedom of expression which is denied us by VOB,the Nation and CBC – so don’t take your responsibilities lightly.

There are dangerous influential forces in this country whose interests will be affected by the deportation and tightening up of the inflow of guyanese whores and pimps and low life characters as well as other immigrants.

These people from the highest to the lowest will not stop at anything to shut us up.

Everyday I realise how close we came on the 15th January 2008 to loosing our country – one bad turn and Barbados as we know it would have been no more.

This is why I believe that if persons say they have information that is true about persons corrupting the system to aid and abet these guyanese – they should in the interest of the country speak up.

This is why we have to keep the issue on the front burner so that prime minister thompson and minister mcclean and a.g. freundel stuart understand how serious this matter is to us.

So negroman I agree with you we should not let them scare us – you go ahead and tell us a little more about what you have been hearing.

2. ADRIAN

BASELESS CHARGES

you cant convict anyone on baseless charges

provide the evidence

3. Indeed Negroman that is the case. Peter Wickham, Norman Faria, and others cannot answer the salient questions and facts presented on this blog, and are seeking to highlight the contributions that are personal, innuendo, or that can be compared to statements made by others who have been deemed to be racist. If one or two people post as anonymous then the entire BU family is said to be posting that way. If some comments are personal, then the entire blog is recast as such. Don’t be fool it is all design to shut you up. Keep posting, Keep your emotions in check, stay focus on why you are here posting, strive for consistency, and we will prevail. They don’t have the patience of conviction that you have, theirs is driven by greed, personal benefit and power, and such reasons have never been known to win over convictions base on a sense of fairness, of what is right, and of what is just. I have been on message be it on our political system, immigration, the failure of multiculturalism British style for the better part of 8 years, and i continue to see incidents that bolster my opinions.

4. ROBOT // July 18, 2008 at 10:52 am

ADRIAN

BASELESS CHARGES

you cant convict anyone on baseless charges

provide the evidence
    =================================

Sorry Robot, the evidence had been laid and the results delivered on Jan 15th. What you have today is as Fruendel Stuart said, “A naked man strip of all power” The BLP is a broken party. The politics of inclusion died with Arthur and was very evident when he spoke, and when Hammie lah spoke.

I have Fruendel’s Budgent speech which i will be placing on youtube shortly

5. Go Adrian.

Thank you for that.

Please let us know when you have posted that you tube video.

Well done.

6. When Norman Faria and Ricky Singh stops being so negative, condesending, and disparging towards the citizens of Barbados, we may start to listen to anything they have to say. When they start being honest with us and respect the sovereignty of this country and it’s right to make laws for the benefit of it’s citizens then we can start to listen to anything they say.
    They can both start by telling us what they know about the illegal guyanese labourer last named “Bossemple” who lost both hands in and industrial acident at a worksite connected to Miss Ram. Who paid for his stay at the QEH? What kind of support average Barbadians gave to that man? what happened to him? is he still in Barbados? if so who is paying for continued care? how is he able to afford to live? which country’s social services is footing the bill for him?

Here is an opportunity for you talk to us.

7. AH they will never answer those questions: annh I told you no answer!

8. CGID:

there is some truth to what you are saying
    Bajan women need to be discussed

I AM A GUARDIAN OF TRUTH

DAVID: please run something on Bajan Women
    you will be surprised or will you ?

TRUST ME I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT

T

9. CGID is now INSIGHT Avatar
    CGID is now INSIGHT

I used the CGID handle when I posted some stuff they sent out on Guyana suppression of the free press. I should NOT use that handle as I am NOT involved with CGID in NYC and do not know anyone in that organization.
    My deepest apologies to CGID, if my statements are considered as coming from their organization. I live in canada and not in NYC.

From now I will use the handle INSIGHT and hope the word is not confused with “incite”

Peace!

10. Perhaps it is best to use “FACTS” to rebut some of the mistruths posted here.

There is no comparison between Barbadians immigrating to England – in the 1960s and later – and Guyanese immigrating to Barbados now.

(1) In the early 1960s when large numbers of Barbadians immigrated to England, Barbados was a colony as such Barbados passports were stamped “British” a link with our colonial past. Britain had some responsibility to us as colonies because of benefits derived in our early history…regardless of if you like that or not. It is part of our history, it is fact.

Barbados has no such colonial responsibility to the citizens of Guyana. To compare the “status” of Barbadians immigrating to England and Guyanese to Barbados is not a true comparison. eg.

In the 1960s Barbados passports were Marked:
    British Passport
    Barbados

Inside was written: “The Governor of Barbados requests and requires in the Name of her Majesty all those whom it may concern to allow the bearer to pass freely without let or hinderance and to afford the bearer such assistance and protection as may be necessary.”

Under National Status was stamped: “Citizen of the United Kingdom and Colonies”.

A Barbados Passport NOW states:
    “These are to request and require in the name of the Governor-General of Barbados all those whom it may concern to allow the bearer to pass freely without let or hinderance and to afford him or her every assistance and protection of which he or she may stand in need.”

Ps: Note HerMajesty is not mentioned.

A Present Day British Passport States:
    “Her Britannic Majesty’s Secretary of State Requests and requires in the Name of Her Majesty all those whom in may concern to allow the bearer to pass freely without let or hinderance and to afford such assistance and protection as may be necessary.”

You can clearly see the “link” between Barbados and the UK – as was Guyana’s – but there is no similar link between Barbados and Guyana now.
    So any similarity in Immigrant status is a non-starter.

(2) The Barbadians who immigrated to England were not illegal. They were in many cases recruited with the participation of the Government of Barbados. Interviews were sometimes held in Barbados by English Nationals. eg those for the Military. For those who worked for London Transport courses were organised in Barbados to assist them with the new coinage they were expected to use. They were also recruited for London Underground and nurses for The National Healt Service. In many instances particularly those for London Transport they were met at the airport by members of the Barbados High Commission who loaned them money – which they had to sign for – to ensure they had funds before their first pay cheque. Those assisted by the Government programme had their passage paid which they had to repay…a sureity was secured in Barbados.

Accommodation was also provided… in the first instance. This was a properly organised affair.

There were some people – it is true – who immigrated under their own remit but the large numbers from Barbados, were as I have outlined.

Barbadians did not immigrate from a country where there was “violence” between racial groups -there was no mind-set of animosity- they brought with then only the desire to be employed. In the main Barbadians tried to merge in with their host country and be responsible citizens. There are always exceptions, but in the main that is the case.

(a) Barbadians have expressed concerns – about Guyanese immigrants in Barbados – which is their right. These concerns are based on the “tensions and violence” between ethnic groups in Guyana, from where the immigrants have come.

(b) The illegality – in some cases – of their status, which did not apply to Barbados immigrants to England.

(c) The Historical perspective as a model eg Trinidad, Guyana, Fiji and other places in the world where large numbers of Indians immigrate to a country with a majority of African descent, have later caused chaos and difficult problems to solve due to a lack of societal cohesiveness.

The above are plain unvarnished “FACTS” and no amount of name calling or efforts to intimidate will change them. I have not used one word of anger just “FACTS.”

Ps: I am not saying all Guyanese in Barbados are illegal, that is manifestly not the case. What I am saying is that there are many who are, and their numbers are sufficient to cause legitimate concerns. Those concerns in tandem with the ethnic divisions in Guyana from whence the immigrants have come, does not bode well for Barbados, in the “LONG TERM”.

If anyone can challenge me on the “FACTS” I have presented, I will address them, not “Opinion” “FACTS.”

11. Bring the facts Yardbroom…
    1. How many illegal migrants are in Barbados?
    2. Give the best guesstimate and the source?
    3. How many are Indo-Guyanese?
    4. How many are using the social services “for free”?
    5. How many are unemployed and involved in crime?
    6. How many are not contributing to society?
    BRING ON THE FACTS…
    And while you are at it…bring home every single “legal” Barbadian with a Barbadian passport from the UK, Canada, USA and the Caribbean…
    Then bring back all those Barbadians who have rights to citizenship…from Panama, Brazil, the same Guyana (black, indian and mixed), New Zealand, Australia, UK, Canada, USA, all over the Caribbean…and see if the island can accommodate all these “legal” Bajans…see if they wont pressure the social services…
    The fact of the matter is that all peoples are migratory and will shift all over the globe for one reason or the next..either forced or voluntarily…
    It’s hard to believe that these are the same black bajans that recently had donkey carts and out-houses, and went to school bare foot…now have the temerity to discriminate against other races…
    The same bajans that live in basements in Brooklyn and hide from the authorities…
    It’s no different…people are people and all migrant behavior is the same…they stick together because of cultural affinity and simply because they’re more comfortable…IT”S HUMAN NATURE…
    The planet has greater problems that require unity from all races…this is no time to be bickering over race and illegal migration…this is time for all mankind to come together and save the planet from global warming, rising sea levels, terrorism, nuclear proliferation, food shortage and all these ills.
    I hope you are around long enough to eat humble pie when your food is grown and imported from Guyana…
    What goes up must come down…and no nation will stay down for ever…
    Bring the facts…!

12. To everyone:
    The issue of “illegal immigration” in Barbados reflects what is happening all over the world today. Here in Canada there are literally thousands of illegal immigrants, and there are Barbadians among them, as Barbadians do not require visas and there is no obvious checks at airports when people leave after they have overstayed…. so many Bajans come and go freely… unlike in the US where this is not possible.

In Barbados there were no checks as well- when people left – until a few years ago… I think 9-11. Now what this has done is make Guyanese and others who have overstayed to now remain and stay longer – hoping to meet the requirements to stay permanently later. If they attempt to leave they will be discovered … and may be denies entry if they try to return. I know for a fact that tis is so.

What the government should do is tell people who have overstayed – illegals- to leave… with no questions and no penalties if they do so voluntarily. You would find then that there are a lot of “white people” and non-Guyanese who are In Barbados for years .. so it is not only a Guyanese issue. They should then institute a foolproof system based on fingerprint checking – which is readily available- to guard against people who use multiple names. They should look at the Cayman Islands who I think have a very tight system to guard against the Jamaicians and others.

A lot of what is said about the clanishness of SOME ofthe Indians is true, and this has been the case in Barbados befor the recent influx of GT Indians. I try to be objective and anytime I say anything I use the words SOME or MANY as things are never 100% The racism of the majority of the Indians in Guyana and Trinidad is available for all to see, while at the same time many who have integrated with other races.

I do not agree that it is only the “pretty hair” Indian women that makes Guyanese women so “attractive”. What about the Guyanese of African descent, and the mixed ones that make up more than half the population. Bajan men like the Afro-Guyanese as well. Guyanese have always been known for their amazing hospitality to each other and more so to strangers. Anyone who has gone to GT or who has contact with genuine Guyanese would tell you this. Even here in Canada this fact is well known – Guyanese and T&T people are “open” and friendly and more easily liked as they are “fun people”. We are more conservative!.

My Bajan brothers and sisters are loving as well, but as we well know are not as open to strangers. We Bajans are a courteous people, but we draw the line quickly. You would more easily be invited home to dinner by a GT or T&T person than a Bajan … although they may invite you to a restaurant for dinner. This is a fact! Obviously there are exceptions as in everthing I say here.

This particular thread is on immigration. I only brought up the issue of Bajan women because of Warrior’s and to some extent JC and J’s comments. Maybe DAVID should accept ROBOT’s idea, and have a thread on Bajan women. However I think it should be expanded to male-female relationships in Barbados, and how the breakdown of the family and how “missing fathers” is affecting the society. This “missing fathers” issue is becoming worldwide and should be addressed. Obama talked about it and was criticized .. people don’t wanna hear the truth!

Barbadian men are not just quick sex partners, sperm donors or monthly cheque providers. They have to be treated with respect. Not because a man is not as educated as his partner it means that he must be looked down upon. Book knowledge is not “Wisdom”, and people can improve themselves with the support of others. Bajan men are looking elsewhere for LOVE as many of their own women seem to despise them… This is not a good scene!

Some Barbadian women, like my wife, are the best! I find many of them as sexy and as seemingly sweet as women anywhere. However, thereseems to be a real problem in a society where the “best” men go elsewhere for their partners and the women are are left for each other…. with a growing alternative lifestyle that now seems to be promoted.

Maybe the women should look outside of Barbados for partners… I know there is a problem here as I have talked to many many women and men about this… and am convinced that sexual jealousy is alive and well in Bajan women when it comes to “foreigners”. The men do not seem to be bothered by this issue.

Remember..My aim is not to offend anyone … I am just trying to understand the problems we face as Bajans and regional people. .. which are becoming even more acute in a rapidly changing world.

Peace and Love!

13. Reganomics you talking bare crap, Guyana will never mount up to nothing. There is no love within that country. You want facts:

There is pure corruption in Guyana they kill blacks for fun prove me wrong!

Why has Hinckson in Guyana been in jail for so long isn’t a case of ‘just another black man’ prove me wrong!

Why is it that Black people cannot go to specific areas in Guyana is this a lie prov me wrong!

What about the black guy who has just been found in jail beaten to a pulp, prove that information wrong!

what about the black farmers in Guyana who would love to toil the land but because the indo guyanese decides he does not want him using ‘their land’ he has to SUFFER!

and you are talking crap about illegal immigrants!

We are not dealing with those persons who have done the correct thing and gone through the correct procedures so dont make us out to be asses! And if every one from all over the world come back to Barbados you would have made things worse for your friends the guyanese cause THEY WOULD DEFINITELY HAVE TO LEAVE! you silly person!

14. PEACE AND LOVE MUH BRUDDA…ya cant criticize it in Guyana den turn around and practise it…
    Dah mek sense to you?
    Turn de other cheek? Or do you want to have race riots in Barbados?
    U really tink de indians would sit back and leh people like u unfair dem? U dont tink they’d fight back with knives and guns…
    If u is a man go down black rock or wherever you say duh living and trouble dem…if u is a man go and pick a fight with de illegals and see wha gonna happen…u really tink people gonna sit back and tek u abuse…
    Guyana is filled with Bajan descendents…many of whom have intermarried with indians and have rights to bajan citizenship…you racist pig!

15. Readers

Please bear in mind if or when you are responding to the above post, that reganomics/peldownman is a white person.I say that only to put in context his remarks about bare foot black boy riding a donkey cart remarks.

Also note that on another thread today on this very blog – he has called another blogger an ‘ugly black man’ and made similar disparaging remarks as in his post above.

It makes you wonder if, he is indeed a bajan, what is causing this anger against ordinary citizens of barbados who are expressing their concerns about the loose immigration policies and the attendant problems.

I will leave yardbroom to deal with his lack of response to his citation of facts,however I will merely ask myself how someone who one supposes would like to be taken seriously can respond with this list of nonsense – asking a blogger to respond to queries which even the minister responsible or senior civil servants have thus far been unable to answer.

Our dogged determination BU family has finally found its mark – those concerned are obviously getting rattled.

16. Reaganomics says:
    I hope you are around long enough to eat humble pie when your food is grown and imported from Guyana…

The Americans have got to just as xenaphobic and racist as those Bajans. How dare them refuse to help Guyana.

————How do you say Failed State———-

US refuses to send Guyana experts

National security minister Clement Rohee said that US officials had cited “logistical and resource limitations” in turning down the request. What he did not say was that it was the latest in a long line of official diplomatic snubs from Washington, even though successive US envoys have charged the Guyanese government is not doing enough to stem the flow of narco trafficking, and the level of money laundering and organised crime in the country. (File photo)
    By Bert Wilkinson

GEORGETOWN, Guyana, July 18, 2008 – The United States government has again snubbed Guyanese authorities, this time over a request for expert help in solving the latest of three mass murders this year.

Late last month, unknown gunmen slaughtered a group of eight diamond miners
    at a camp in the southeastern Amazonian jungle, where security forces had
    been hunting a criminal gang blamed for two other sets of killings that
    clamed 23 lives since January.

Mine owner George Arokium immediately blamed security forces for carrying out the killings. He contended that the soldiers and police, who were in the general
    area and anxious to cash in on a 250,000-dollar government bounty for the capture of those responsible for the earlier murders, killed the miners by mistake after stumbling into the isolated camp about 220 kilometres from the capital, Georgetown.

Authorities have however denied involvement in the killings, saying that the Joint
    Services are highly trained and would not commit extrajudicial executions,
    even by mistake.

Officials had asked the US State Department to fly forensic experts to the
    jungle and assist in investigating exactly what had happened given Mr Arokium’s relentless claims that security forces were to blame.

After several weeks of silence, US diplomats told the Bharrat Jagdeo administration that they had no plans to send a team from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) to probe anything.

In fairly frank language, Embassy spokesman Rolf Olson said that for one
    thing, the FBI does not have such teams sitting around waiting to be rushed to crises of such a nature overseas. In addition, he said, the request was made long after local police and medical examiners had walked all over the crime scene, removed the burned bodies, picked up spent ammunition and left the remote area unprotected to intruders and nature, in the midst of the rainy season.

“It is the opinion of the FBI that not much can be achieved with this and we
    told government so in a diplomatic note,” said Mr Olson.

Later, national security minister Clement Rohee said that US officials had
    cited “logistical and resource limitations” in turning down the request. What he did not say was that it was the latest in a long line of official diplomatic snubs from Washington, even though successive US envoys have charged the Guyanese government is not doing enough to stem the flow of narco trafficking, and the level of money laundering and organised crime in the country.

The US Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) has refused requests from
    authorities to open an office here, saying the country is not secure enough for agents to operate. It services Guyana from neighbouring Trinidad and is now contemplating setting up shop in Suriname.

Two years ago, Shaheed Roger Khan, a Guyanese businessman with close ties to
    the highest levels of government, publicly admitted taping and distributing to the media politically embarrassing telephone conversations between then police chief Winston Felix and Basil Williams, a senior member of the main Opposition People’s National Congress Reform.

The government asked the FBI to analyse the tapes to determine whether the voice was the commissioner’s. Washington never reacted to the request, perhaps given the fact that Felix and then army chief Edward Collins had staged coordinated killing raids against suspected drug dealers, many with links to officialdom.

Mr Khan has also been at the centre of at least three other public snubs, one asking U.S. investigators for information pertaining to the death squad he publicly claimed to have six years ago, and another to determine whether government had in fact helped him procure the high-tech spy equipment that was used to tape Felix. Such equipment is only sold to governments.

Based on information emerging from pretrial hearings for Mr Khan in New York, the private death squad that had allegedly worked for government was responsible for 200 killings in about two years. His role is being cited by lawyers to argue that Mr Khan was a crime-fighting patriot rather than a trafficker.

Additionally, four years ago, local authorities had sent body tissues from an alleged death squad murder suspect to the US to determine how he was poisoned while under police guard in hospital. Again, the request was met with stony silence from Washington. (IPS)

17. There is unchecked mass murder in Guyana, The Guyanese authorities are unable to deal with it. Other countries are unwilling to help.

Why would we open our borders to citizens from this country? are we crazy?

18. Yardbroom:
    Your contributions are inspiring me to adopt your approach. I am now a student of yours. ha ha hah

Great response.

19. Reaganomics

(1) I “NEVER” mentioned the number of illegal Guyanese in Barbados, I am not sure if the Government knows.

(2) I do not guess it is unwise to do so, when presenting “FACTS.”

(3) I never mentioned a “NUMBER”.

(4) I “NEVER” mentioned social services.

(5) I “NEVER” mentioned CRIME.

(6) I “NEVER” said they were not contributing to society.

The rest of your comments take in the Globe, my focus was the comparison between Guyanese immigrants to Barbados and Barbados immigrants to the UK.

The issue of violence, knives and guns which you have brought to this debate is not how we do things in Barbados. It is that type of “behaviour” which is endemic in Guyana, which has brought it to the position it is now in.

Your behaviour demonstrates how right we are to hold the opinions we do. I will have no further discourse with “YOU”.

20. Listen Yardroom and you whole racist lot…

Whether you like it or not…Indo Guyanese, Black Guyanes et al are here to stay…
    They’re not leaving because no Bajan govt has the balls or gumption to put people out…
    So live with it…that’s how cultures evolve over time…people move around the globe and blend…
    YOU BLACK NAZI…get used to it…

21. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Very well said Yardbroom.

It seems like one very bitter thing in Reaganomics.

Surely the thought of spending such a long time in opposition is not getting the better of it?

I hope not because if it is, it will be long hard slog.

22. Since we are now talking about the loving Guyanese men. Let’s talk. In 1991 Seven Guyanese came to my village. A mother and her siblings, one of her siblings had a husband.

In the end her husband was a DAWG he tried to slit his wife’s throat. now you all claim that JC, negro man and crew HATE guyanese I was the first person to make sure she got to the hospital, I was the first person to say he should be locke d to hell up.

those persons came to Barbados and fitted in. One of the children went to Harrisons and is doing well. But there were a different breed in the 90s. I dont know who or what is coming now these people are something else!

23. Reaganomics.Remember 1937 white people were thinking like you.Remember what happened.
    The questions you asked Barbadians were asking for many years now and the answers were not forthcoming from the relevant authorities.Owen Arthur the degeneric had the immigration department personnel scared to give the information requested.However,we know for a fact that thousands of illegal immigrants many guyanese are in Barbados today.We see them in Bridgetown,We see them in our villages and communities That is a FACT
    They are renting houses with only three bedrooms and sometimes have at least 15 or 20 of them in that house.They are living in converted pig pens.Them are the facts stupid Reaganomics.
    Reaganomics yes we blacks had pit toilets and donkey carts.However,we maximise the oppurtunities open up to us by our leaders especially Errol Walton Barrow and we improved our lot.Today many black people have nice cars, SUVs, live in nice homes and have the standard of living comparable to the white who enslaved ,unfair ,murdered and torture us.That have people like envious and full of rage
    Reaganomics your remarks and behavior will not daunt us we have a mission and it will be fulfill.
    Europeans are cannibalistic and disease ridden.
    Europeans were accustomed to eating fellow europeans that is why you will see that europeans love their meats rare with blood in it that is a FACT The cannibalistic instincts are still there.They are impoverished hungry,starving europeans in Europe today.Bulgaria,Romania,Poland to name a few .We blacks in Barbados have a better higher standard of living than a lot of whites in many europeans countries and even in Barbados.That has you enraged.We will do what ever is necessarily to defend the progress we have made as a people.
    Reaganomics you nor any indian,or chinese or any other white could scare black people anymore those day are over.
    Like Yardbroom you are on permanent ignore.

24. Hey WIV…wassup you monkey!
    It’s not politics…I dont even vote…blacks cant run any country successfully…
    If the BEES are smart they’d let the likes of you and all you diehard idiots…bring the race issue to its head…they’d let ya all go out there and start to riot and kill one or two indo-guyanese…and see what trouble you gonna have on your hands…
    You really think Bdos is a world unto itself…you dont realize that Black bajans live next to indo guyanese in New York or in Toronto…u really think that in 2008 u can isolate the issue to Barbados…YOU MONKEY…

25. Reaganomics // July 18, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Listen Yardroom and you whole racist lot…

Whether you like it or not…Indo Guyanese, Black Guyanes et al are here to stay…
    They’re not leaving because no Bajan govt has the balls or gumption to put people out…
    So live with it…that’s how cultures evolve over time…people move around the globe and blend…
    YOU BLACK NAZI…get used to it…

–“People move around the globe and BLEND” —

what do you mean by blend? do you means as in to combine or mix so that the constituent parts are indistinguishable from one another?

If yes then all that are in Britain today are British as they are British citizens right?

How do you define “Multicultural” as in Britain is a multicultural society? are all of today’s British citizens indistinguishable from one another?

When i use the “Blend” in my own sojourn in NA i am referring to “assimilating”

When Al qaeda uses it in it’s training manual it means to, not stand out, as not to be different. Blend in.

If Britain is a multicultural society then your statement can be challenged.

what says you????

26. Reaganomics // July 18, 2008 at 4:30 pm

You really think Bdos is a world unto itself…you dont realize that Black bajans live next to indo guyanese in New York or in Toronto…u really think that in 2008 u can isolate the issue to Barbados…YOU MONKEY…
    This question makes no sense to me, but it is not likely that there is any large scale co-residentcy between Bajan yankees, and indo-guyanese in the diaspora. My God you can’t even find many Afro and indo guyanese playing cricket on the same team in NY. Roger Sidi a white american immigration lawyer said that he found muslim guyanese hang with other muslims, Afro muslims get along with everyone, and those with Hindu accentry stick to themselves as they seem to have been dismissed by traditional Hindu Indians.

27. “Reaganomics.Remember 1937 white people were thinking like you.Remember what happened.”

What happened Negroman? What happened? Read the history…some broken windows in town and black people killing each other…like Brixton, like LA? Blacks killing each other…
    You dare not drive up through any of those cart roads lined with palm trees, cuz ya still friten fuh white people. De white people would shoot ya, den get a black lawyer like Grantley Adams to defend them and say dat dey shoot ya all becuz they thought it was a monkey picking limes…
    What riots what? All you do is kill each other…
    SHUT UP…love yaself first and stop hating…

28. @Negroman… My appologies…

I had promised you a response to your above. And I actually spent quite a bit of time composing one.

However… I’m afraid that things have deteriorated here at BU to such a point that I simply do not consider it worthwhile continuing a debate on this particular subject.

Let me please, however, state that there is actually no such thing as anonymity on the Internet. (This isn’t entirely true, but one must be *very* knowledgeable to achieve it — methodologies I’m not inclined to share…)

Further, there is a reasonable limit to free speech, recognized throughout the world. Hate crimes, the inciting of same, or even the discussion of same, cross this limit.

Trust me when I tell you (from inference, not knowledge) that this site *is* being monitored, by agencies who know who you are.

Think I’m trying to scare you? Consider this:

1. Do you visit any other blogs from the workstation you’re posting here from?

2. Do you access your e-mail from the same workstation?

3. Do you run any Google or other searches?

4. Do you use MSN, Yahoo, Skype or any other form of communications?

5. Do you use the same web browser to access any other sites?

The NSA, for example, have the ability to intercept vast amounts of data from the North American networks. When their interests are drawn, they are even believed to be able to break HTTPS encrypted traffic.

And (anyone) who can intercept your traffic can tell where HTTPS traffic terminates, even if they can’t determine the “payload”. A simple temporal analysis of the posts takes care of the rest…

Again, as I stated above, for your own self interests, consider this.

Best regards to all….

29. Negroman take stock from Yardbroom’s approach and follow through as you suggested. Let not the likes of this person rile you up to prove something. We are winning the argument in the great tradition of Margaret Thatcher, with Yardbroom leading the way. Let our facts, command of the issues and our convictions base on right and wrong be our guide. Don’t succumb to the taunting of anyone.

30. Chris Halsall you are threatening us aren’t you? Negro man tell Chris Halsall that we are bajans and everyone knows how we feel about this at work and play.

I have no problems of getting in front of persons and letting them know that I am not racist or xenophobic, but I am a barbadian and I know when somebody is threatening me and I have the right to open my mounth and SAY SO!

I could be in a church a chapel court whereever!

Come with another threat please!

Imagine you all have the audacity to question my love for my country and want me to shut up because of nasty threats!

My children must be free to say what they have to say with out persons like Chris Halsal and crew telling me to respect them or else, yet they not respecting me!

That is not fair you all are playing a serious game!

31. Wow,I can’t believe the hatred in the latter part of this thread.

All illegal immigrants should be deported permanently,period.

32. To all fellow bloggers I can see that these persons are trying to irritate us so they can then claim that we are racist, this is not our agenda crew!

We are here to make sure our children have afuture and that persons who enter Barbados go through the legitimate channels! Therefore we are in this thing for one cause!

33. Chris Halsall thanks for the information.I agreed with you that the postings to this blog has fallen to a low.I will admit that I could share some of the blame.
    This issue I am very passionate about and sometimes I allowed my emotions to get the better part of me.I know that the internet is not fool proof and information could be gather to determine where emails are coming from.Nevertheless,I remain committed to my views on this issue and no threat of investigation will deter me.
    This immigration matter must be dealt with in a manner that will satisfy us Barbadians.
    Fellow bloggers I am asking please ignore stupid Reaganomics.He is trying to derail us.Put him on permanent ignore.

34. Chris Halsall said:

Trust me when I tell you (from inference, not knowledge) that this site *is* being monitored, by agencies who know who you are.
    —————————-

This is an ABSOLUTE Fallacy.Agencies in the US have better things to do with their time than to monitor a website about an issue concerning a small island.The main thing that the U.S. is concerned about now is Terrorism & US internal security…..plain & simple.

BTW,I DO live in the US.

35. I let Chris Hasell write his nonsense. The Government of Guyana can’t even get the US authorities to pay them any attention. Leaders in the Caribbean have come to realize that the US does not take them serious. I fail to see a US ISP being subpoena to issue records to satisfy the request of foreign lawyers or to prosecute some one base on foreign laws. Nonsense and fear mongering, but i still think that Negroman should contain and control his emotions. We are winning the argument.

36. @Negroman… I appreciate your *immediate* above. And I understand where you’re coming from. I’m also Bajan, and am also very passionate about our beautiful country and region.

@Jay & Hinds… My above is not a fallacy. The monitoring is done by computers, not humans. It is automated; the systems raise alerts when they find things of interest and/or concern. And they keep extensive, and long-term, logs…

I’m definitely not trying to threaten anyone. I just want you all to be aware of what is likely the case. Do a little on-line research if you don’t believe me (but do it from a friend’s (or, better yet, an enemy’s) computer…. )

37. It is best and in the interest of all Bajans that we are having this discussion “NOW”, rather than in forty years time.

It is this one simple fact that we can be thankful for. The peace of Barbados has been established on simple dynamics, not by design but by accident. Due to the small size of Barbados it does not take a great movement of populations or great change in societal mindset to breakdown what is established.

Once that behaviour is changed, it will be difficult, if not impossible to re-establish it.

You often do not appreciate what you have, until you have lost it.

We are at the Cross Roads in our History, we can either make wise decisions. or do nothing and be resigned to our fate.

In a country that has shed so many tears, felt so much pain, if only our silent cane fields could speak. I wonder what they would make of this. How many of our brothers have often looked to the sky for deliverance, could they, but believe not that we have it.

We could surrender it so freely.

38. We will never surrender it so freely, Yardbroom. Why do you think we have decided to have one voice and that is the voice of facts.

I agree that we are at the cross roads. We voted for change. Therefore we wait on our leaders to do what is right for Barbados!

Owen Arthur if you read this blog you will realise what an injustice you have done to persons who had trusted you with their birthrights and Xs.

39. Ah,that is what you were talking about.All US servers log IP’s & maybe some surfing habits BUT that is mainly done by US companies,not really the agencies.The agencies will only get involve if an actual CRIME has taken place & Barbados request’s help in that department but as I’ve said that will likely not be possible since terrorism is the MAIN thing the US is after right now.

40. The above message was @ Chris Halsall.If the Barbados government does ask for US help,they likely won’t get it.The reality is that the US government is focusing a good majority of its resources on protecting the US homeland not chiding in the affairs of a non-terrorism related foreign government.

41. @Jay…

I am *not* talking about ISP server logs. I’m talking about NSA’s logs (or, more accurately, datasets)…

How often do you, or anyone who posts here, enter the US? I personally avoid going there whenever possible, because every time I do I get *extensively* searched. (I had one case where two searched my bags, while a third held their gun…)

(No body-cavity searches yet, thank goodness, but I’m fearful… 9-)

42. Chris Halsall
    You surprise me, you are purposely setting hares running for no reason’ I noticed a few days ago you specifically targeted Negro Man, and then you followed that up with an attempt to divert the thread.

I welcome your advise to fellow bloggers, but to suppose the US is interested in bloggers discussing illegal immigration to Barbados is stretching it a bit.

Thanks all the same, I take the advise with the same worth as that behind the advise.
    Many Thanks
    Yardbroom

43. 18, 2008 at 6:51 pm

@Jay…

I am *not* talking about ISP server logs. I’m talking about NSA’s logs (or, more accurately, datasets)…

How often do you, or anyone who posts here, enter the US? I personally avoid going there whenever possible, because every time I do I get *extensively* searched. (I had one case where two searched my bags, while a third held their gun…)

(No body-cavity searches yet, thank goodness, but I’m fearful… 9-)

I live in the US, been to several countries, been search once in Canada out may be 300 trips, never been search on reentering the US. I have been searched everytime i enter Barbados.

….I thought your concern was about saying negative things about Barbadian politicians.

44. Everyone

Norman faria is on VOB call in programme right now.

He is now talking about the problems ILLEGAL guyanese are telling him they have of getting their children into our schools.

He also said he spoke to david estwick about getting health care for his people and david estwick has told him to speak to his operatives in the ministry of health.

Dennis kellman is now on speaking.

Marsha hinds at the outset listed a lot of things the callers could not talk about,that is,race,religion,etc because of the broadcasting regulations – re incitement etc.

The funny thing is the very things that she is saying that callers cannot speak to on VOB – callers to CBC radio freely speak on those issues of race and religion and never ever can be accused of inciting anyone.

VOB thinks we are foolish,but we know they have their agenda.

Tonight’s programme is another public relations propaganda for norman faria,where everyone skirts the issue and nobody can say how they really feel.

Even kellman going out of his way to be syrupy sweet – saying that the government is not about dealing with the micro issue – perhaps meaning the social impact of immigrants – but will be dealing with the macro issue,that is – investment in guyana.

David all the talk that marsh hinds-layne gave at solidarity house is absent here.

She has not raised one of the issues which you seemed to suggest she raised on Tuesday.

I think we as a people must not think that this battle is over – the people who have been voted in – that is the politicians – cannot be trusted until we see what we are asking for implemented.

What dennis kellman said just now was far less stringent than what he said in the 5:30 news about barbados being a small country,and it is the 6th densely populated in the world ,and the immigrant impact on housing and schools.

Nothing so just now – all syrup.

Can you believe this shite – marsha hinds the moderator just challenged a caller who ask faria if it is fair that we should have to compete with our scarce natural resources with guyanese.

That two faced marsha hinds just asked the man how he knows bajans are competing with guyanese for our resources.

This is why people I don’t trust my bajan people.

This is also why peltdownman can say with confidence that bajans will not join together and do anything against the guyanese matter.

Finally norman faria in reply to a question just said that he doesnot believe that there should be any cap on the number of guyanese coming to barbados.

Boy,oh boy.

45. We must admit that listening to Faria on VOB at the moment is very painful, very painful indeed. We will say more later we are fed-up at the moment.

In the House of Assembly recently MPs elected by Barbadians have voiced concerns during the amendment to the immigration law but VOB would conspire with Faria to broadcast hogwash where we hear Faria arrogantly dismissing the concerns of Barbadians..

We would want to ask Kellman how can we invest in Guyana in the social and political unstable climate which currently exist.

46. @Everyone…

I’m trying to give you a heads up. Open and healthy debate is wonderful. I’m trilled the Blogs are here to fill a needed void. However, several posts here crossed the line. All I’m saying is, let’s keep it civil and productive.

BTW, if you still don’t think you’re being monitored, please check this out: http://epic.org/privacy/profiling/tia/ And this is just what’s public…

The US doesn’t care what you say about our politicians. They *do*, however, care about stability wherever they have interests….

47. Oh Lord Barbados is getting into the mode of riot. Marsha you are something else,I saw her quarrelling when Faria was saying that bajans need to shut up on the blogs!

She was saying that they were not dealing with the issues!

I listening to Marsha and I dont believe her she is a dangerous person!

Oh my God!

48. That blasted fraud marsh hinds layne got me so blasted vex I feel I could do something serious right now.

Could you believe that shite marsha just tell a man that it is not true that the guyanese are impacting on the over crowding in the schools.

That idiot just contradicted chris sinckler,prime minister thompson and even kellman who all say that the overcrowding caused by guyanese children means that the government now has to build more schools.

I mean tonight that person acting as though she is the consul general norman faria.Shutting down discussion,and rebuking persons when ever norman faria is willing to answer the question.

David and JC you got me questioning what you tell me about marsha layne’s contribution on tuesday.

Bajans you see what you up against?

That woman actually closed off by saying this is what talk radio should be doing putting the other side – she fuh real – what she really meant to say – was this is what vob talk radio does – putting the only side – the guyanese side.

Marsha hinds – my dear – walk good hear.

I telling you all watch kellman,watch sinckler,watch ronald jones,watch eastwick,watch suckoo and sealy.

We are not sure that these DLP politicians really going to do what they tell us – it will be bare trouble out here if they don’t listen to we bajans.

Barbados full of two-faced people – man we got to do the donkey work for ourselves and for our children hear.

49. Faria and Ricky Singh have been successful enough in Barbados (heaven knows why they are still here) that they can permanently return to Guyana and educate their brothers and sisters about the pros and cons to living as a denizen or citizen of Barbados. I have made it my mission to personally call the Immigration Dept for any person I suspect to be an illegal immigrant. We are an under populated but densely populated country with meaningless trash who, because of their status cannot contribute to the NIS, etc. The people use our hospital, roads, and take our money out of the island. Because of their status they cannot contribute to the development of Barbados. Years from now, we will not have enough young people working to support the old age pensioners but yet the island will be over populated with people making no contribution to our treasury and NIS. It is unfair, its like 100 people pouring money into a sack for their use, only to realize that their money has to also support 800 others who never made a contribution. Those Guyanese in
    prominent positions in Barbados should look beyond the present. Guyana is a rich country – Barbados can drop into one of Guyana’s rivers and get lost, yet every Guyanese expects to plant their foot on this little island and bring they filth with it, (their Obeah and all the crap they do the naive Bajan man). The Bajan uneducated male should by now recognized how priceless his birthright is and hold on to it like gold. It is easier for a Barbadian than Guyanese to have citizenship should they desire, in England, America or a European country. Our standard of living is way higher than Guyana. They come here and bring they unsanitary habits to this island. All in all they are jealous especially of the Bajan women. Indian Guyanese do not mix with black Guyanese in Guyana. Is it not strange that they (Guyanese Indian women) come here and hook up with Bajan black men? If we bajans truly understood how valuable our island is, we would make every effort to block our island from being polluted by these degenerates (the illegal Guyanese, Chinese, Africans etc).

50. Marsha did say all of those things and more! She was hopping mad she is dangerous very dangerouus!

Anon! why you all listening to VOB I turned off my radio every since it is only when I came on the blogs that i realised what was goin on that I decided to listen!

Anon dont give up some people think they have won but I will not give up!

Although we told Owen Arthur to pull back with CSME he refused to listen now we find ourselves in a nasty rut and I dont know what can be done!

Owen Arthur has left this administration a legacy of PROBLEMS!

I dont want to see Mr. Arthur’s name on a piece of paper!

Bajans wannah gine get mek SHITE!

My children are in trouble!